هل يمكن القراءة عن جائحة التسبب في فيروس كورونا؟

هل يمكن القراءة عن جائحة التسبب في فيروس كورونا؟

القصص الصحية المخيفة حول COVID-19 تتدفق من البوابات الإعلامية كل دقيقة. قد تتسبب هذه في "آثار nocebo" - حيث نصبح أكثر مرضًا لأننا نتوقع ذلك ، على عكس التأثير الوهمي الأكثر شهرة حيث نصبح أقل مرضًا بسبب توقعاتنا. هذه يمكن أن يكون يحدث الآن على نطاق واسع.

على الرغم من أن البيانات حول آثار nocebo في الوباء ليست متاحة بعد ، فإننا نشك في أن هذه التأثيرات منتشرة ، بناءً على أدلة من حالات مماثلة. خذ بعين الاعتبار ما يلي:

1) في عام 2010 ، نشر منظمو حملات مكافحة الرياح في أستراليا أخبارًا حول "متلازمة توربينات الرياح" التي تسببها الأشعة تحت الصوتية المسموعة الفرعية التي تولدها التوربينات. في الوقت نفسه ، لاحظت السلطات الصحية أ عدد متزايد من الشكاوى - خفقان القلب والصداع والغثيان - التي تتوافق بشكل وثيق مع متلازمة توربينات الرياح. ومع ذلك ، وجد الباحثون بسرعة أن الشكاوى تتركز في المناطق التي لها تاريخ من الحملات المضادة للرياح. الموضوعات التجريبية التي تم تخصيصها بشكل عشوائي لمشاهدة الأخبار المخيفة حول أضرار مزارع الرياح ذكرت زيادة الأعراض، حتى في وجود أشعة تحت صوتية. وخلص الباحثون إلى أن متلازمة توربينات الرياح سببها التضليل وليس التوربينات الريحية.

هل يمكن القراءة عن جائحة التسبب في فيروس كورونا؟ متلازمة Windturbine هو تأثير nocebo كلاسيكي. fokke baarssen / Shutterstock

2) في عام 2018 ، وجدت دراسة أن الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في البلدان التي لديها المزيد من نتائج بحث Google حول الأحداث الضائرة للعقاقير المخفضة للكوليسترول كانوا أكثر عرضة للإبلاغ عن عدم تحمل الستاتين. استنتج مؤلفو الدراسة ذلك التعرض ل ساهمت المعلومات عبر الإنترنت في هذه الآثار الضارة.

3) في دراسة كبيرة فحصت وفاة 28,169 بالغ صيني أمريكي في كاليفورنيا ، باحثون وجدت أن الأشخاص الذين فهمهم علم التنجيم الصيني أنهم عرضة بشكل خاص لظروف معينة - بحكم سنة ولادتهم - ماتوا في وقت أبكر (1.3-4.9 سنة) من الأشخاص الذين لديهم نفس الظروف المولودة في سنوات أخرى. وخلص الباحثون إلى أن "العوامل النفسية والثقافية" (الإيمان بالتنجيم الصيني) أثرت على معدل الوفيات.

اختبار إيجابي لـ COVID-19 ، مقترنًا ببعض الأعراض الأولية وأخبار صحية لوسائل الإعلام ، يمكن أن تتفاقم السعال والحمى والآلام وضيق التنفس. قد تؤدي الصدمة التي تسببها المعلومات السلبية حتى إلى الوفاة في المرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض شديدة من خلال تفاقم أمراض القلب أو التأثير على الجهاز التنفسي الذي هاجمه الفيروس بالفعل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


من بين أولئك الذين لا يعانون من المرض ، يمكن للخوف بعد تجربة أعراض خفيفة (ربما نزلات البرد) أن يؤدي إلى تفاقم الأعراض وحتى دفعهم لزيارة المستشفى ، حيث يمكنهم بالفعل التقاط الفيروس - أو مرض آخر. العزلة الاجتماعية المفروضة في العديد من البلدان ، والمعروف عنها مرتبط بالمرض والموت، يمكن أن تفاقم هذه الآثار.

موت الفودو: كيف يعمل nocebo

نحن نفهم المزيد والمزيد حول كيفية عمل تأثيرات nocebo. يمكن أن تؤدي المعلومات السلبية المشحونة عاطفيًا من مصدر موثوق إلى جعل الشخص يتوقع أعراضًا سلبية مثل الألم أو ضيق التنفس. ثم ، مثل نبوءة تحقق الذات التوقع نفسه يمكن أن يسبب الأعراض. ترتبط هذه التوقعات مع إنتاج الناقلات العصبية التي تسبب حساسية متزايدة للألم ومجموعة متنوعة من الأعراض الأخرى. الخوف والقلق تصعيد هذه العملية.

في الحالات الأكثر تطرفًا من "الموت النفسي" - أو "موت الفودو" - ينشط الخوف الاستجابة للقتال أو الهروب. وينتج عن ذلك من بين اشياء اخرى، تسارع معدل ضربات القلب ورفع ضغط الدم. في بعض الحالات ، يمكن أن يؤدي إلى عدم انتظام ضربات القلب (عدم انتظام ضربات القلب) وحتى انهيار الأوعية الدموية، حيث يتم توفير الدم غير الكافي للأوعية الدموية وتنهار حرفيا.

تكون تأثيرات Nocebo أكثر وضوحًا في الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مرض محدد جيدًا ، مثل العدوى الفيروسية ، حيث الأعراض الحالية و الوعي التعرض للخطر يؤدي إلى تضخم الأعراض.

نحن نفترض أنه من المحتمل أن تكون هناك اختلافات ثقافية في تأثيرات nocebo في جائحة COVID-19. تختلف طريقة تواصل الصحافة ووسائل الإعلام ، وطريقة انتقال الأخبار بين الناس ، باختلاف البلدان. كما أن الطريقة التي يتصور بها الناس المعلومات المتعلقة بالصحة ويتفاعلون معها محدد ثقافيا، وكذلك استراتيجيات التكيف والمواقف تجاه الخوف والموت. على سبيل المثال ، وجدت الأبحاث الأولية حول تصور خطر COVID-19 ذلك الرجال الألمان الكبار أقل خوفًا من الفيروس مقارنة بالرجال الأصغر سنًا ، وقد تم وصفهم بأنهم يتصرفون "بهدوء وبشكل مناسب" في الظروف الحالية.

قد تفسر الخصوصية الثقافية لتأثيرات nocebo جزئياً الفرق المذهل في معدلات الوفيات التي تم تسجيلها عبر البلدان والمجموعات العرقية. وقد تبين أن هذه تختلف من 2.7 ٪ في ألمانيا إلى 13.2 ٪ في إيطاليا إلى 5.1 ٪ في الولايات المتحدة و 13.4 ٪ في المملكة المتحدة ، مع وجود اختلافات أخرى بين المجموعات العرقية داخل نفس البلد.

عندما تؤخذ جميع التفسيرات التقليدية للاختلافات في معدلات الوفيات بعين الاعتبار ، هل يمكن للعوامل النفسية والثقافية أن تقدم تفسيراً إضافياً لمعدلات الوفيات المنخفضة في ألمانيا ، عند مقارنتها ببلدان مثل إيطاليا؟ وستكون الدراسات المستقبلية التي تجمع بين البيانات الوبائية والاجتماعية عبر البلدان قادرة على التحقيق في التنوع وتأثيره السريري في الوباء.

كيفية تقليل تأثيرات nocebo

وجدت تجربة تقارن الأسبرين مع سلفينبيرازون لعلاج أمراض القلب أن المرضى الذين قيل لهم عن الآثار الجانبية كانوا ست مرات أكثر لتسرب من المحاكمة بسبب الآثار الجانبية. تظهر عشرات الدراسات الأخرى أن الآثار الجانبية السلبية أقل عندما يكون المرضى لم يتم إخباره عن الآثار الجانبية. نحن لا نقترح أن امور مخيفة حول COVID-19 مخفيًا ، ولكن بدلاً من ذلك يتم تخفيف الآثار المحتملة التي تسببها القصص الإخبارية المخيفة.

على مستوى السياسة ، يمكن أن يتخذ ذلك شكل رسائل حكومية ، وهياكل الدعم العاطفي التي تهدف إلى إعادة تشكيل تصور المخاطر لدى المرضى. على المستوى الفردي ، الحد من استهلاك الوسائط السلبية من المرجح أن يقلل من تأثيرات nocebo.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيريمي هاويك ، مدير برنامج أكسفورد للتعاطف ، جامعة أكسفورد وجوليو أونغارو ، زميل أبحاث ما بعد الدكتوراه ، الأنثروبولوجيا ، كلية لندن للاقتصاد والعلوم السياسية

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

Could Reading About The Coronavirus Pandemic Cause Harm?

Could Reading About The Coronavirus Pandemic Cause Harm?

Scary health stories about COVID-19 pour out of the media floodgates every minute. These might be causing “nocebo effects” – where we become more ill because we expect to, as opposed to the better-known placebo effect where we become less ill due to our expectations. This could be happening on a large scale just now.

Although data about nocebo effects in the pandemic is not yet available, we suspect these effects are prevalent, based on evidence from similar cases. Consider the following:

1) In 2010, anti-windfarm campaigners in Australia spread news about “wind turbine syndrome” caused by sub-audible infrasound generated by turbines. At the same time, health authorities noticed a growing number of complaints – heart palpitations, headaches, nausea – that corresponded closely with those of the wind turbine syndrome. Yet researchers quickly found that complaints were concentrated in regions with a history of anti-windfarm campaigning. Experimental subjects that were randomly allocated to watch scary news about the harms of windfarms reported an increase of symptoms, even in the presence of sham infrasound. Researchers concluded that wind turbine syndrome was caused by misinformation rather than wind turbines.

Could Reading About The Coronavirus Pandemic Cause Harm? Windturbine syndrome is a classic nocebo effect. fokke baarssen/Shutterstock

2) In 2018, a study found that people living in countries with more Google search results about statin adverse events were more likely to report statin intolerance. Authors of the study concluded that exposure to online information contributed to these adverse effects.

3) In a large study examining the death of 28,169 Chinese-American adults in California, researchers found that people who were understood by Chinese astrology to be particularly susceptible to certain conditions – by virtue of the year of their birth – died significantly earlier (1.3-4.9 years) than people with the same conditions born in other years. Researchers concluded that “psycho-cultural factors” (belief in Chinese astrology) affected mortality.

A positive test for COVID-19, combined with some initial symptoms and alarming mass media health news, could aggravate coughs, fever, pains and breathlessness. The shock caused by negative information might even precipitate death in severely ill patients by aggravating heart disorders or affecting the respiratory system already attacked by the virus.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Among those without the disease, fear following the experience of a mild symptom (perhaps of a common cold) could exacerbate the symptoms and even prompt them to visit the hospital, where they could actually catch the virus – or another disease. The social isolation imposed in many countries, well known to be linked to illness and death, could exacerbate these effects.

Voodoo death: how nocebo works

We are understanding more and more about how nocebo effects work. Emotionally charged negative information from an authoritative source can make someone expect a negative symptom such as pain or breathlessness. Then, like a self-fulfilling prophecy, the expectation itself can cause the symptom. These expectations are associated with the production of neurotransmitters that induce an increased sensitivity to pain and a wide variety of other symptoms. Fear and anxiety heighten this process.

In more extreme cases of “psychogenic death” – or “voodoo death” – fear activates the fight-or-flight response. This results in, among other things, accelerated heart rate and raised blood pressure. In some cases, it can lead to arrhythmia (irregular heartbeats) and even vascular collapse, where insufficient blood is supplied to blood vessels and they literally collapse.

Nocebo effects are more pronounced in people with a well-defined disease, such as a viral infection, where existing symptoms and the awareness of being at risk leads to symptoms becoming amplified.

We hypothesise that there are likely to be cultural variations in nocebo effects in the COVID-19 pandemic. The way the press and media communicate, and the way news travels among people, differ across countries. Also, the way people perceive and react to health-related information is culturally specific, as are coping strategies and attitudes towards fear and death. For instance, preliminary research on COVID-19 risk perception found that old German men are less afraid of the virus than younger men, and have been described as behaving “calmly and appropriately” in the current circumstances.

The cultural specificity of nocebo effects might partly explain the striking difference in mortality rates that have been recorded across countries and ethnic groups. These have been shown to vary from 2.7% in Germany to 13.2% in Italy to 5.1% in the US and 13.4% in the UK, with further differences among ethnic groups within the same country.

When all conventional explanations for differences in mortality rates are taken into account, could psycho-cultural factors offer an additional explanation for the lower mortality rates in Germany, when compared with countries such as Italy? Future studies combining epidemiological and sociological data across countries will be able to investigate the diversity and clinically significant of nocebo effects in the pandemic.

How to reduce nocebo effects

A trial comparing aspirin with sulfinpyrazone for treating heart disease found that the patients who were told about side-effects were six times more likely to drop out of the trial because of side-effects. Dozens of other studies show that negative side-effects are lower when patients are not told about side effects. We don’t propose that the scary things about COVID-19 be hidden, but rather that the likely nocebo effects caused by scary news stories be mitigated.

At a policy level, this could take the form of government messaging, and structures of emotional support aimed at reshaping risk perception in patients. At an individual level, limiting the consumption of negative media is likely to reduce nocebo effects.The Conversation

About The Author

Jeremy Howick, Director of the Oxford Empathy Programme, University of Oxford and Giulio Ongaro, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Anthropology, London School of Economics and Political Science

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)