Как возиться в саду создает Time Warp

Как возиться в саду создает Time Warp
Деталь из «Уход за садом» (без даты) Роберта Льюиса Рейда (1862–1929). Фото предоставлено Википедией

Что не нравится в садоводстве? Это отличный способ выбраться из дома, отвлечься от повседневных дел и проявить свою креативность. Это хорошо для вашего здоровья, независимо от вашего возраста, и садоводы, как правило, счастливее в среднем. Но садоводство - это больше, чем просто расслабляющее хобби. Исследования психологии предполагают, что уход за садом может иметь почти магический эффект, даже изменяя ход времени.

Я люблю садоводство - я создаю или переделываю сад каждый раз, когда переезжаю в другой дом, доставляя растения из одного места в другое, а также создавая вещи заново. Садоводство - это часть того, кто я есть. Моя семья привыкла исчезать в саду по выходным. Как только я там, время останавливается; Я могу быть там с утра до ночи, не замечая проходящих часов.

Я не одинок. Многие садоводы прошлого и настоящего имеют описано тот же самый опыт выключения от их занятой жизни или неприятностей, когда они находятся в саду или во дворе. Сад и садоводство - это уединение, уход от ежедневных нагрузок. Люди имеют сказал мне, что их сад становится «спасением», и они были бы лишены его.

Выключение не только из-за отсутствия мышления, но и из-за восприятия самого времени.

Садоводы обычно говорят, что время в саду короче, чем на самом деле; этот запланированный час просто ускользает. Начало и конец садоводства зависит от задач в этот день или физических ограничений, таких как падение темноты. При этом время переходит от объективного времени к субъективному или природному времени. Такие задачи, как прополка или проверка прогресса, нескончаемы; Стрижка травы бывает эпизодической - это происходит регулярно, но каждый раз задача конечна. Естественное время зависит от восхода и заката солнца, а также от времени года, определяемого чем-то за пределами нас самих. Это измеряется временем, которое требуется для прорастания семян и превращения их в морковь или васильки, или появлением любимых птиц. Работа с природой время отключает меня и других садоводов от навязанных извне ритмов деятельности, перемежающихся событиями, такими как поездка на работу, встречи или приемы пищи.

Время, стоящее на месте, является неотъемлемой частью психологического явления, называемогопоток». Поток - это высоко сфокусированное психическое состояние, связанное со счастьем, благодаря которому люди увлекаются и настолько погружаются в деятельность, что не замечают ничего другого, включая течение времени. Это описание соответствует моему опыту в саду. Поток ставит процесс активной вовлеченности в центр внимания, наряду с размытием границы между собой и деятельностью. Концепция потока может объяснить привлекательность опыта садоводства, но она не говорит нам, что привлекает людей в сад в первую очередь, и почему так много в конечном итоге зацепило.

Возможно, сам сад должен сыграть свою роль: соблазнить нас посмотреть, что могло произойти в наше отсутствие и что нужно делать дальше. Это делает сад интригующим и увлекательным, переключая наше мышление на природную среду. Фактически, «обаяние» является одним из аспектов теории восстановления внимания (АРТ), разработанной американскими психологами по окружающей среде Рэйчел Каплан и Стивеном Капланом и представленной в их книге. Опыт природы (1989). ИСКУССТВО описывает, как люди предрасположены взаимодействовать с миром природы и находить его расслабляющим или восстанавливающим. ИСКУССТВО - это то, что природа делает для нас, и, таким образом, говорит о том, что нужно зацепиться. Центральное место в теории занимает идея о том, что взаимодействие с природой помогает нам оправиться от ощущения умственной усталости или перегрузки.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


NАура привлекает наше внимание. Пчелы, гудящие на лаванде, шелестящие листья, мимолетные облака или бутоны, распускающиеся в цветы, могут «очаровать» нас. Они отвлекают наше внимание от наших собственных забот в мир природы в саду. Если природа по своей природе интересна, чем больше люди работают с ней, тем больше они увлекаются ею и тем меньше их отвлекают другие вопросы. В свою очередь, они становятся более довольными садоводством. Идея удовлетворения или счастья, кажется, возвращает нас к течению. Однако, в дополнение к «увлечению», процесс восстановления, описанный ART, требует «отсутствия», «степени» и «совместимости». В совокупности эти элементы помогают объяснить, как садоводы полностью завязывают в саду и почему их чувство времени может измениться.

Физически убегая изнутри наружу, находясь где-то мирно вдали от дома или офиса, где я чувствую солнце или ветер на спине, отдыхает сам по себе. Это жизненно важный аспект садоводства для меня, и он отражает элемент «отсутствующего» искусства. Релаксация означает, что уровень гормонов стресса сниженныйТаким образом, восстановительный эффект является как физиологическим, так и психологическим. Даже быть в течение очень коротких периодов времени укрепляющий, Каковы бы ни были их размеры, сады перенесут вас в совершенно другой мир. Однако, чтобы получить еще более сильную психологическую выгоду, ART говорит, что места также должны иметь «протяженность».

Степень - идея, что сады связаны физически и фактически с другими частями жизни садовника, их прошлым, настоящим и будущим. Экстент настраивает сад как хранилище для воспоминаний и эмоций, место, где пересекаются разные времена. Например, я всегда сажаю Алхемилла Моллис или женская мантия в моем саду, не только потому, что я очарован тем, как ее листья держат капли дождя, но и потому, что она напоминает мне о моих дедушке и бабушке. Когда я вижу МоллисЯ слышу, как мой дед произносит его имя, и помню, как он всегда находил это смешным. Семейная и личная история часто всплывает в разговорах людей об их садах или наделах. Воспоминания могут проявляться и в физическом садоводстве. Человек, с которым я беседовал по поводу его надела, понял, что, когда он копал, он делал те же движения, что и в подростковом возрасте, работая в литейном цехе, и это сразу же возвращало его к его молодости.

Запечатленная память этого человека о прошлом также демонстрирует то, что ART называет «совместимостью». Для него физическая активность была психологически и эмоционально значимой, а садоводство совместимо с тем, кем он был и что он может сделать в настоящем. Совместимость - это время и способность выполнять вещи, которые имеют отношение к делу. Выращивание свежих продуктов совместимо с вашей ролью поставщика для семьи, в то время как выращивание хризантем для идеального цветения может быть совместимо с желанием моего соседа выиграть приз.

Садоводство - это расслабляющее и полезное хобби. Это дает возможность сбежать и поразмыслить о наших повседневных делах и насладиться интенсивностью очарования. Но это больше, чем это. Психологическая сила садоводства проистекает из досягаемости сада здесь и сейчас. Я утверждаю, что разные и сложные формы времени непрерывно взаимодействуют через сад и садовника. Прошлое, настоящее и будущее сталкиваются на клумбе, соблазняя садовника потерять себя в удовольствии «потока». Пусть кто-то еще переживает за обедAeon counter - не удалять

Об авторе

Гарриет Гросс - профессор психологии, а также исполняющая обязанности про-канцлера и глава Колледжа искусств в Университете Линкольна в Великобритании. Ее последняя книга Психология садоводства (2018).

Эта статья была первоначально опубликована в геологический период и был переиздан в Creative Commons.

ИНГ

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Учись влюбляться
Учимся заводить любовь
by Нэнси Уиндхарт
Компания, которую вы держите: учиться выбирать выборочно
Компания, которую вы держите: учиться выбирать выборочно
by Доктор Пол Napper, Psy.D. и доктор Энтони Рао, доктор философии

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Компания, которую вы держите: учиться выбирать выборочно
Компания, которую вы держите: учиться выбирать выборочно
by Доктор Пол Napper, Psy.D. и доктор Энтони Рао, доктор философии
5 мифов о луне
5 мифов о луне
by Daniel Brown

How Pottering About In The Garden Creates A Time Warp

How Pottering About In The Garden Creates A Time Warp
Detail from Tending the Garden (undated) by Robert Lewis Reid (1862-1929). Photo courtesy of Wikipedia

What’s not to like about gardening? It’s a great way to get outdoors, away from everyday routines, and to exercise your creativity. It’s good for your health, whatever your age, and gardeners tend to be happier on average. But gardening is more than just a relaxing hobby. Psychology research suggests that tending to a garden can have an almost magical effect, even changing the passage of time.

I love gardening – I make or remake a garden every time I move house, bringing plants from one place to another while also creating things anew. Gardening is part of who I am. My family are used to me disappearing into the garden at weekends. Once I’m there, time stands still; I can be out there from morning to night without noticing the hours passing.

I’m not alone. Many gardeners past and present have described the same experiences of switching off from their busy lives or troubles when they’re in the garden or yard. The garden and gardening are a retreat, an escape from daily pressures. People have told me that their garden becomes a ‘salvation’ and they would be bereft without it.

Switching off is not solely about not thinking – it is about the perception of time itself.

Gardeners usually say that time in the garden is shorter than it actually is; that planned hour simply slips away. The beginning and end of gardening depends on the tasks that day, or physical limitations such as darkness falling. In the process, time passes from objective clock time to subjective or nature’s time. Tasks such as weeding or checking on progress are neverending; mowing the grass is episodic – it happens regularly, but each time the task is finite. Natural time relies on sunrise and sunset, and seasons, determined by something beyond ourselves. It is measured by the time it takes for seeds to germinate and become carrots or cornflowers, or the arrival of favourite birds. Working with nature’s time disconnects me and other gardeners from externally imposed rhythms of activity punctuated by events such as commuting, meetings or meals.

Time standing still is integral to the psychological phenomenon called ‘flow’. Flow is a highly focused mental state associated with happiness, whereby people get carried along and become so absorbed in an activity that they don’t notice anything else, including the passage of time. This description matches my experience in the garden. Flow puts the process of active engagement centre-stage, along with a blurring of the boundary between self and activity. The concept of flow might explain the attraction of the gardening experience, but it doesn’t tell us what draws people out into the garden in the first place, nor why so many end up hooked.

Perhaps the garden itself has a role to play: tempting us out to see what might have happened in our absence and what needs doing next. This makes the garden intriguing and fascinating, switching our mindset on to the natural environment. In fact, ‘fascination’ is one aspect of attention restoration theory (ART), developed by the US environmental psychologists Rachel Kaplan and Stephen Kaplan, and introduced in their book The Experience of Nature (1989). ART describes how humans seem to be predisposed to engage with the natural world, and to find it relaxing or restorative. ART is about what nature does for us, and thus speaks to this notion of getting hooked. Central to the theory is the idea that engaging with nature helps us recover from feeling mentally depleted or overloaded.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Nature captures our attention. Bees buzzing on lavender, rustling leaves, passing clouds or buds unfurling into flowers can ‘fascinate’ us. They draw our attention away from our own concerns into a world of nature in the garden. If nature is intrinsically interesting, the more that people work with it, the more they become drawn in, and the less they are distracted by other issues. In turn, they become more satisfied by gardening. The idea of satisfaction or happiness seems to bring us back to flow. However, in addition to ‘fascination’, the restoration process described by ART requires ‘being away’, ‘extent’ and ‘compatibility’. These elements combined help to explain how gardeners get completely wrapped up in the garden, and why their sense of time might shift in the process.

Physically escaping from inside to outside, being somewhere peaceful away from home or the office, where I can feel the sun or wind on my back, is relaxing in itself. This is a vital aspect of gardening for me, and reflects the ‘being away’ element of ART. Relaxation means that levels of stress hormones are reduced, so the restorative effect is as much physiological as psychological. Even being away for extremely short periods is restorative. Whatever their size, gardens take you into a totally different world. However, to have an even more powerful psychological benefit, ART says that places should also have ‘extent’.

Extent is the idea that gardens are connected physically and virtually to other parts of the gardener’s life, their past, present and future. Extent configures the garden as a repository for memories and emotions, a place where different times intersect. For instance, I always plant Alchemilla mollis or lady’s mantle in my garden, not only because I am fascinated by the way its leaves hold raindrops, but also because it reminds me of my grandparents. When I see A mollis, I hear my grandfather saying its name and remember how he always found it funny. Family and personal history often pop up in people’s conversations about their gardens or allotments. Memories can be manifested by physical acts of gardening, too. A man I interviewed about his allotment realised that, when he was digging, he was making the same movements as when he was a teenager working in a foundry, and it took him back immediately to his younger self.

This man’s embodied memory of the past also demonstrates what ART calls ‘compatibility’. For him, being physically active was psychologically and emotionally meaningful, and gardening is compatible with who he was and what he can do in the present. Compatibility is about having the time and ability to accomplish things that are personally relevant. Growing fresh food is compatible with your role as a provider for the family, while nurturing chrysanthemums to a perfect bloom could be compatible with my neighbour’s desire to win a prize.

Gardening is a relaxing and rewarding hobby. It provides an opportunity to escape and reflect away from our daily routines, and to relish the intensity of fascination. But it is more than that. The psychological power of gardening derives from the garden’s reach beyond the here and now. My contention is that different and complex forms of time are continuously interacting through the garden and the gardener. Past, present and future collide in a flowerbed, enticing the gardener to lose themselves in the pleasure of ‘flow’. Let someone else worry about lunch.Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Harriet Gross is professor of psychology, as well as acting pro vice chancellor and head of the College of Arts, at the University of Lincoln in the UK. Her latest book is The Psychology of Gardening (2018). 

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

ing

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…