إليك ما يجب أن تعرفه عن الجانب المظلم لـ Creator Economy

عيب الاقتصاد الخالق 6 29
 التعرض المستمر للمتابعين يعني الضغط المستمر على المؤثرين لصنع المحتوى. Rawpixel.com / شترستوك

A استطلاع 2019 وجدت أن الأطفال يفضلون أن يكونوا من مستخدمي YouTube على أن يكونوا رواد فضاء. تصدرت عناوين الصحف وأدت إلى الكثير من التذمر بشأن "الأطفال هذه الأيام". لكن ليس من المستغرب أن - يصل إلى 1.3 مليون في المملكة المتحدة - يريدون تحقيق دخلهم من خلال إنشاء محتوى على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

تم تقدير سوق المؤثرين العالمي ليكون ذا قيمة 13.8 مليار دولار (11.2 مليار جنيه إسترليني) في عام 2021. تستحق الشخصيات المؤثرة مثل Zoella و Deliciously Ella 4.7 مليون جنيه إسترليني و 2.5 مليون جنيه إسترليني على التوالي. حوالي 300,000 شخص تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 و 26 عامًا تستخدم بالفعل إنشاء المحتوى كمصدر دخل وحيد لهم.

إن أنماط الحياة التي نراها يتم الإعلان عنها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي جذابة ، ولكن هل تؤثر على مسار وظيفي قابل للتطبيق؟ تحت السطح الخارجي اللامع يكمن الدخل غير المستقر ، وعدم المساواة في الأجور على أساس الجنس والعرق والإعاقة ، وقضايا الصحة العقلية. في بحثي مع المؤثرين في السفر ومنشئي المحتوى ، لاحظت هذه التأثيرات ، والتي يجب أن يكون الشباب الذين يأملون في أن يصبحوا مؤثرين على دراية بها.

سيكون المؤثرون الناجحون أول من يدعي أن أي شخص يمكنه النجاح في هذه الصناعة. تعرضت المتسابقة في Love Island التي تحولت إلى شخصية مؤثرة مولي ماي هيغ لانتقادات بسببها قول أن كل شخص "لديه نفس الـ 24 ساعة في اليوم" ، لأنه في الواقع ، قلة من الناس "يصنعونها" ماليًا كمؤثرين.

تبحث خبيرة اقتصاد وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي Brooke Erin Duffy في وظائف مدوني الموضة ومدوني الفيديو والمصممين. في كتابها (لا) يتقاضون رواتبهم للقيام بما تحب، كشفت عن فجوة كبيرة بين أولئك الذين يجدون وظائف مربحة كمؤثرين وأي شخص آخر. بالنسبة لمعظم الأشخاص الذين يحاولون أن يصبحوا مؤثرين ، غالبًا ما تصبح مشاريعهم العاطفية لإنشاء المحتوى عملاً مجانيًا للعلامات التجارية للشركات.

في تقرير أبريل 2022، حددت لجنة البرلمان والثقافة والإعلام والرياضة (DCMS) التفاوت في الأجور كقضية رئيسية في صناعة المؤثرين. هناك فجوات في الأجور على أساس الجنس والعرق والإعاقة. يشار إلى تقرير DCMS دراسة 2020 من مجموعة MSL، وهي شركة علاقات عامة عالمية ، وجدت فجوة في الأجور العرقية تبلغ 35٪ بين المؤثرين البيض والسود.

بدأ Adesuwa Ajayi ، كبير المواهب والشراكات في AGM Talent ، حسابًا على Instagram باسم فجوة دفع المؤثرين لتسليط الضوء على هذه الفوارق. يوفر الحساب منصة حيث يشارك المؤثرون قصصًا مجهولة حول تجاربهم في التعاون مع العلامات التجارية. بالإضافة إلى الفوارق العرقية ، كشف الحساب أيضًا عن فجوات في الأجور يعاني منها المعاقون وذوي النفوذ من مجتمع الميم.

كما أشار تقرير DCMS إلى "نقص منتشر في دعم العمالة وحمايتها". معظم المؤثرين يعملون لحسابهم الخاص ، وغالبًا ما يعانون من عدم تناسق الدخل ونقص الحماية التي تأتي مع العمل الدائم - مثل استحقاق أجر مرضي وعطلة.

تتفاقم مخاطر العمل الحر في الصناعة المؤثرة بسبب غياب معايير الصناعة وقلة الشفافية في الأجور. غالبًا ما يُجبر المؤثرون على تقييم قيمتها الخاصة وتحديد رسوم عملهم. نتيجة لذلك ، غالبًا ما يقلل منشئو المحتوى من قيمة عملهم الإبداعي ، وينتهي الأمر بالعديد منهم إلى العمل مجانًا.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

قوة المنصات

غالبًا ما يكون المؤثرون أيضًا تحت رحمة الخوارزميات - برامج الكمبيوتر وراء الكواليس التي تحدد المنشورات التي يتم عرضها وترتيبها للمستخدمين. تشارك المنصات القليل من التفاصيل حول الخوارزميات الخاصة بها ، لكنها تحدد في النهاية من وماذا يكتسب الرؤية (والتأثير) على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

في عملها مع مؤثرات Instagram، خبيرة الخوارزميات كيلي كوتر تسلط الضوء على كيف أن السعي وراء التأثير يصبح "لعبة رؤية". يتفاعل المؤثرون مع النظام الأساسي (وخوارزميته) بطرق يأملون أن تتم مكافأتها بالظهور. في بحثي ، وجدت أن المؤثرين يشاركون لحظات حميمة وشخصية بشكل متزايد من حياتهم ، وينشرون بلا هوادة في محاولة للبقاء على صلة.

يعد تهديد الاختفاء مصدرًا دائمًا لانعدام الأمان بالنسبة للمؤثرين ، الذين يتعرضون لضغوط مستمرة لإطعام المنصات بالمحتوى. إذا لم يفعلوا ذلك ، فقد "تعاقبهم" الخوارزمية - حيث يتم إخفاء المنشورات أو عرضها في أسفل نتائج البحث.

أزمة الصحة العقلية

يؤدي التواجد المستمر عبر الإنترنت في النهاية إلى واحدة من أكثر القضايا انتشارًا في صناعة المؤثرين: مخاوف الصحة العقلية. يمكن للمؤثرين الاتصال بمساحات عمل النظام الأساسي والجمهور في أي وقت من النهار أو الليل - بالنسبة للكثيرين ، هناك لم يعد هناك فصل واضح بين العمل والحياة. إلى جانب الخوف من فقدان الرؤية ، يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك إلى عمل المؤثرين بشكل مفرط ومواجهة مشكلات الصحة العقلية مثل الإرهاق.

تعرض الرؤية عبر الإنترنت أيضًا منشئي المحتوى لخطر إساءة استخدام الإنترنت - سواء فيما يتعلق بمظهرهم أو ما يفعلونه (أو لا ينشرون) ، ولكن أيضًا التصورات السلبية للتأثير كمهنة. يمكن احتمال إساءة الاستخدام عبر الإنترنت يؤدي إلى مشاكل الصحة العقلية والجسدية، بما في ذلك الاكتئاب والقلق وتشوه الجسم واضطرابات الأكل.

على الرغم من أن كونك مؤثرًا قد يبدو جذابًا لعدد متزايد من الناس ، إلا أن الجانب السفلي المظلم للصناعة يحتاج إلى إظهاره وتحسينه من خلال تنظيم التوظيف المعزز والتغيير الثقافي الذي تقوده الصناعة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

نينا ويلمنتباحث مشارك ، قسم الجغرافيا ، جامعة يورك

أسرار الزواج الكبير من تشارلي بلوم وليندا بلومأوصى كتاب:

أسرار الزواج الكبير: الحقيقة من الأزواج الحقيقيين حول الحب الدائم
من جانب تشارلي بلوم وليندا بلوم.

يستخلص بلومز الحكمة في العالم الحقيقي من الأزواج غير العاديين 27 إلى إجراءات إيجابية يمكن لأي زوجين اتخاذها لتحقيق أو استعادة ليس فقط زواج جيد ولكن واحد عظيم.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

طفل يبتسم
إعادة تسمية واسترداد المقدس
by فيليدا أنام حير
المشي في الطبيعة ، تناول الطعام اللذيذ ، الشعر ، اللعب مع أطفالنا ، الرقص والغناء ، ...
أطفال فضوليون 9 17
5 طرق لإبقاء الأطفال فضوليين
by بيري زورن
الأطفال فضوليون بشكل طبيعي. لكن القوى المختلفة في البيئة يمكن أن تثبط فضولهم بشأن ...
مذبح الاعتدال
عمل مذبح الاعتدال ومشاريع الاعتدال الخريفية الأخرى
by إلين إيفرت هوبمان
الاعتدال الخريفي هو الوقت الذي تصبح فيه البحار قاسية مع حلول رياح الشتاء. وهو أيضًا ...
النقود الرقمية 9 15
كيف غيرت النقود الرقمية طريقة عيشنا
by دارومير رودنيكيج
بعبارات بسيطة ، يمكن تعريف النقود الرقمية على أنها شكل من أشكال العملة التي تستخدم شبكات الكمبيوتر من أجل ...
مثل الجينات ، تنتقل ميكروبات أمعائك من جيل إلى آخر
مثل الجينات ، تنتقل ميكروبات أمعائك من جيل إلى آخر
by Taichi A. Suzuki و Ruth Ley
عندما رحل البشر الأوائل من إفريقيا ، حملوا معهم ميكروبات أمعائهم. يتحول،…
الإقلاع عن التدخين 9
لماذا يجب أن تتحدث إلى رئيسك في العمل قبل "الاستسلام الهادئ"
by كاري كوبر
الإقلاع عن التدخين الهادئ هو اسم جذاب ، شائع على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، لشيء ربما يكون لدينا جميعًا ...
الطاقة المتجددة 9
لماذا ليس من المنافي للبيئة أن تكون لصالح النمو الاقتصادي
by إيوين ماكلولين وآخرون
في خضم أزمة تكلفة المعيشة اليوم ، هناك العديد من الأشخاص الذين ينتقدون فكرة الاقتصاد ...
إخفاء التضخم 9
3 طرق تغير الشركات منتجاتها لإخفاء التضخم
by أدريان بالمر
هناك بعض التغييرات في المنتجات التي يمكن للشركات القيام بها لمحاولة طيها بهدوء ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Here’s What You Should Know About The Creator Economy’s Dark Side

drawback of creator economy 6 29
 Constant exposure to followers means constant pressure on influencers to make content. Rawpixel.com / Shutterstock

A 2019 poll found that children would rather be YouTubers than astronauts. It made headlines and led to plenty of grumbling about “kids these days”. But it’s not surprising that young people – up to 1.3 million in the UK – want to make their income by creating social media content.

The global influencer market was estimated to be worth $13.8 billion (£11.2 billion) in 2021. Individual influencers such as Zoella and Deliciously Ella are worth around £4.7 million and £2.5 million, respectively. Some 300,000 people aged 18-26 are already using content creation as their sole income source.

The lifestyles we see advertised on social media are enticing, but is influencing a viable career path? Underneath the glossy exterior lies precarious income, pay inequality based on sex, race and disability, and mental health issues. In my research with travel influencers and content creators, I have observed these impacts, which young people hoping to become influencers should be aware of.

Successful influencers will be the first to claim that anyone can make it in the industry. Love Island contestant-turned-influencer Molly Mae Hague was criticised for saying that everyone “has the same 24 hours in a day”, because in reality, few people “make it” financially as influencers.

Social media economy expert Brooke Erin Duffy researches the careers of fashion bloggers, beauty vloggers and designers. In her book (Not) Getting Paid To Do What You Love, she uncovered a huge gap between those who find lucrative careers as influencers and everyone else. For most people trying to become an influencer, their passion projects of content creation often become free work for corporate brands.

In an April 2022 report, Parliament’s Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) committee identified pay disparity as a key issue in the influencer industry. There are pay gaps on the basis of gender, race and disability. The DCMS report referred to a 2020 study from MSL group, a global public relations firm, which found a racial pay gap of 35% exists between white and Black influencers.

Adesuwa Ajayi, senior talent and partnerships lead at AGM Talent, started an Instagram account called Influencer Pay Gap to highlight these disparities. The account provides a platform where influencers anonymously share stories about their experiences of collaborating with brands. In addition to racial disparities, the account has also exposed pay gaps experienced by disabled and LGBTQ+ influencers.

The DCMS report also noted a “pervasive lack of employment support and protection”. Most influencers are self-employed, often experiencing inconsistent income and a lack of protection that comes with permanent employment – such as entitlement to sick pay and holiday.

The risks of self-employment are exacerbated in the influencer industry by an absence of industry standards and little pay transparency. Influencers are often forced to assess their own value and determine fees for their work. As a result, content creators often undervalue their own creative labour, and many end up working for free.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Power to the platforms

Influencers are also often at the mercy of algorithms – the behind-the-scenes computer programs that determine which posts are shown, in which order, to users. Platforms share little detail about their algorithms, yet they ultimately determine who and what gains visibility (and influence) on social media.

In her work with Instagram influencers, algorithms expert Kelley Cotter highlights how the pursuit of influence becomes “a game of visibility”. Influencers interact with the platform (and its algorithm) in ways which they hope will be rewarded with visibility. In my research, I found that influencers shared increasingly intimate and personal moments of their lives, posting relentlessly in a bid to stay relevant.

The threat of invisibility is a constant source of insecurity for influencers, who are under constant pressure to feed platforms with content. If they don’t, they may be “punished” by the algorithm – having posts hidden or displayed lower down on search results.

Mental health crisis

Constant online presence ultimately leads to one of the most pervasive issues of the influencer industry: mental health concerns. Influencers can connect to their platform workspaces and audience at any time of day or night – for many, there is no longer a clear separation between work and life. Coupled with the fear of losing visibility, this can lead to influencers working excessively and facing mental health issues such as burnout.

Online visibility also places content creators at risk of significant online abuse –- both in relation to how they look or what they do (or don’t post), but also negative perceptions of influencing as a career. The potential of online abuse can lead to mental and physical health issues, including depression, anxiety, body dysmorphia and eating disorders.

Although becoming an influencer may look appealing to more and more people, the industry’s dark underside needs to be made visible and improved through enhanced employment regulation and industry-led cultural change.

About The Author

Nina Willment, Research Associate, Department of Geography, University of York

Secrets of Great Marriages by Charlie Bloom and Linda BloomRecommended book:

Secrets of Great Marriages: Real Truth from Real Couples about Lasting Love
by Charlie Bloom and Linda Bloom.

The Blooms distill real-world wisdom from 27 extraordinary couples into positive actions any couple can take to achieve or regain not just a good marriage but a great one.

For more information or to order this book.

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

baseball player w;ith white hair
Can We Be Too Old?
by Barry Vissell
We all know the expression, "You're as old as you think or feel." Too many people give up on…
is it covid or hay fecer 8 7
Here’s How To Tell If It's Covid or Hay Fever
by Samuel J. White, and Philippe B. Wilson
With warm weather in the northern hemisphere, many people will be suffering from pollen allergies.…
climate change and flooding 7 30
Why Climate Change Is Making Flooding Worse
by Frances Davenport
Although floods are a natural occurrence, human-caused climate change is making severe flooding…
inflation around the world 8 1
Inflation Is Spiking Around The World
by Christopher Decker
The 9.1% increase in U.S. consumer prices in the 12 months ending in June 2022, the highest in four…
made to wear a mask 7 31
Will We Only Act On Public Health Advice If Someone Makes Us?
by Holly Seale, UNSW Sydney
Back in mid 2020, it was suggested mask use was similar to seat belt wearing in cars. Not everyone…
sage smudge sticks, feathers, and a dreamcatcher
Cleansing, Grounding, and Protecting: Two Foundational Practices
by MaryAnn DiMarco
Many cultures have a ritualistic cleansing practice, often done with smoke or water, to help remove…
changing peoples minds 8 3
Why It’s Hard To Challenge Someone’s False Beliefs
by Lara Millman
Most people think they acquire their beliefs using a high standard of objectivity. But recent…
overcoming lonliness 8 4
4 Ways To Recover From Loneliness
by Michelle H Lim
Loneliness isn’t unusual given it’s a natural human emotion. But when ignored or not effectively…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.