Toutes les fleurs vivantes dérivent finalement d'un ancêtre simple 140m il y a des années

La toute première fleur de 140m ans, ressemblait à un Magnolia
L'ancêtre du magnolia. Et les chênes, l'herbe, les tomates, les jonquilles et bien plus encore. Hervé Sauquet & Jürg Schönenberger

Bien que la plupart des espèces de plantes sur Terre aient des fleurs, l'origine évolutive des fleurs elles-mêmes est enveloppée de mystère. Les fleurs sont les organes sexuels de plus de 360,000 espèces de plantes vivantes aujourd'hui, tous dérivés d'un seul ancêtre commun dans le passé lointain. Cette plante ancestrale, vivante entre 250m et 140m il y a des années, a produit les premières fleurs à une époque où la planète était plus chaude et plus riche en oxygène et en gaz à effet de serre qu'aujourd'hui. Une époque où les dinosaures parcouraient les paysages primitifs.

Mais malgré le fait que les dinosaures ont disparu 65m il y a des années, nous avons une meilleure idée de à quoi ressemblait un Iguanodon que de la façon dont la fleur ancestrale a été construite.

C'est en partie parce que ces premières fleurs n'ont laissé aucune trace. Les fleurs sont des structures fragiles qui ne peuvent être transformées en fossiles que dans les circonstances les plus chanceuses. Et, comme aucun fossile n'a été trouvé remontant à 140m ou plus, les scientifiques n'ont eu qu'un sens limité de ce à quoi l'ancêtre ultime aurait ressemblé. Jusqu'à maintenant.

Une nouvelle étude majeure par une équipe internationale de botanistes a réalisé la meilleure reconstruction à ce jour de cette fleur ancestrale. La recherche, publiée dans Communications Nature, ne repose pas tant sur des fossiles que sur l'étude des caractéristiques de 800 de ses espèces descendantes vivantes.

En comparant les similitudes et les différences entre les plantes à fleurs apparentées, il est possible de déduire les caractéristiques de leurs ancêtres récents. Par exemple, parce que toutes les espèces d'orchidées ont des fleurs dont la moitié est l'image miroir de l'autre (symétrie bilatérale), nous pouvons supposer que leur ancêtre doit avoir eu des fleurs bilatérales. En comparant ces ancêtres récents, il est alors possible de remonter un peu plus loin dans le temps, et ainsi de suite, jusqu'à ce que nous atteignions finalement la base de l'arbre généalogique des plantes à fleurs.

Alors, à quoi ressemblait-il?

À certains égards, la fleur originale ressemble à un magnolia moderne: elle a de multiples «pétales» indifférenciés (techniquement tepals), disposés en anneaux concentriques. En son centre, il y a plusieurs rangées d'organes sexuels, y compris des étamines produisant du pollen et des ovaires porteurs d'ovules. Il est difficile de résister à la tentation d'imaginer de vieux pollinisateurs rampant dans cette fleur, recueillant des grains de pollen tout en aidant inconsciemment la plante à produire des graines.

Une vie sexuelle controversée

La nouvelle étude aide à régler la controverse quant à savoir si les fleurs précoces avaient des sexes séparés, ou si les organes reproducteurs mâles et femelles étaient combinés dans la même fleur. Les preuves précédentes ont indiqué des réponses différentes. D'une part, l'une des premières lignées divergentes de plantes à fleurs, représentée de nos jours seulement par un arbuste rare de l'île de la Nouvelle-Calédonie appelé Amborella, a des fleurs qui sont soit homme ou femme. D'autre part, la plupart des espèces modernes combinent les deux sexes dans la même fleur.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


En fin de compte, toutes les fleurs vivantes proviennent d'un seul ancêtre qui vivait il y a environ 140m.
En fin de compte, toutes les fleurs vivantes proviennent d'un seul ancêtre qui vivait il y a environ 140m.
Hervé Sauquet & Jürg Schönenberger

Les auteurs de l'étude établissent la question et montrent que la fleur ancestrale était hermaphrodite. Cela signifie que les plantes à floraison précoce pourraient se reproduire à la fois comme un mâle et une femelle. Les sexes combinés peuvent être avantageux lors de la colonisation de nouveaux environnements car un individu isolé peut être son propre partenaire, et en effet, de nombreuses espèces végétales colonisant des îles océaniques éloignées ont tendance à être hermaphrodites. Peut-être que la combinaison des sexes a aidé les plantes à floraison précoce à surpasser leurs rivaux.

Le diable est dans le détail

Malgré la ressemblance apparente avec certaines fleurs modernes, leur ancêtre ultime a quelques surprises dans sa manche. Par exemple, les botanistes ont longtemps pensé que les premières fleurs avaient des parties florales disposé en spirale autour du centre de la fleur comme on peut le voir dans les espèces modernes telles que la anis étoilé.

La nouvelle reconstruction, cependant, suggère fortement que les premières fleurs avaient leurs organes disposés non pas en spirale, mais en série de cercles concentriques ou "verticilles", comme dans la plupart des plantes modernes. La fleur précoce avait cependant plus de verticilles, suggérant que les fleurs sont devenues plus simples avec le temps. Paradoxalement, cette architecture plus simple a pu donner aux plantes modernes une base plus stable pour évoluer et accomplir des tâches plus complexes telles que l'interaction sophistiquée avec certains insectes comme dans les orchidées ou la production de «têtes de fleurs» composées de douzaines ou de centaines de fleurs plus simples. comme dans la famille des tournesols.

La ConversationBien que nous ayons maintenant une bonne idée de ce à quoi l'une des premières fleurs a pu ressembler, nous savons encore peu de choses sur la façon dont cette fleur est apparue. Les étapes détaillées menant à son évolution sont inconnues. Peut-être devrons-nous attendre la découverte de nouvelles fleurs fossiles couvrant l'espace autour de 250m-140m il y a des années, avant que nous puissions comprendre l'origine même de ce qui est la structure sexuelle la plus diversifiée de la planète.

A propos de l'auteur

Mario Vallejo-Marin, professeur agrégé en biologie évolutive, Université de Stirling

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = historique des fleurs; maxresults = 3}

All Living Flowers Ultimately Derive From A Single Ancestor 140m Years Ago

The First Ever Flower From 140m Years Ago, Looked Like A Magnolia
The ancestor of magnolia. And oak trees, grass, tomatoes, daffodils, and much more. Hervé Sauquet & Jürg Schönenberger
 

Although most species of plants on Earth have flowers, the evolutionary origin of flowers themselves are shrouded in mystery. Flowers are the sexual organs of more than 360,000 species of plants alive today, all derived from a single common ancestor in the distant past. This ancestral plant, alive sometime between 250m and 140m years ago, produced the first flowers at a time when the planet was warmer, and richer in oxygen and greenhouse gases than today. A time when dinosaurs roamed primeval landscapes.

But despite the fact dinosaurs went extinct 65m years ago we have a better idea of what an Iguanodon looked like than of how the ancestral flower was built.

This is partly because these first flowers left no traces. Flowers are fragile structures that only in the luckiest of circumstances can be transformed into fossils. And, as no fossil has been found dating back 140m or more years, scientists have only had a limited sense of what the ultimate ancestor would have looked like. Until now.

A major new study by an international team of botanists has achieved the best reconstruction to date of this ancestral flower. The research, published in Nature Communications, relies not so much on fossils as on studying the characteristics of 800 of its living descendant species.

By comparing the similarities and differences among related flowering plants, it is possible to infer the characteristics of their recent ancestors. For example, because all orchid species have flowers in which one half is the mirror image of the other (bilateral symmetry), we can suppose that their ancestor must have had bilateral flowers. By comparing those recent ancestors to each other it is then possible to go a step further back in time, and so on, until eventually we reach the base of the flowering plants’ family tree.

So what did it look like?

In some respects, the original flower resembles a modern magnolia: it has multiple, undifferentiated “petals” (technically tepals), arranged in concentric rings. At its centre there are multiple rows of sexual organs including pollen-producing stamens and ovule-bearing ovaries. It is hard to resist the temptation to imagine ancient pollinators crawling in this flower, collecting pollen grains while unknowingly helping the plant to produce seeds.

A controversial sex life

The new study helps to settle the controversy about whether early flowers had separate sexes, or whether both male and female reproductive organs were combined in the same flower. Previous evidence pointed to different answers. On the one hand, one of the earliest diverging lineages of flowering plants, represented nowadays only by a rare shrub from the Pacific island of New Caledonia called Amborella, has flowers that are either male or female. On the other, most modern species combine both sexes in the same flower.

All living flowers ultimately derive from a single ancestor that lived about 140m years ago.
All living flowers ultimately derive from a single ancestor that lived about 140m years ago.
Hervé Sauquet & Jürg Schönenberger

The authors of the study settle the question and show that the ancestral flower was a hermaphrodite. This means that early flowering plants could reproduce both as a male and a female. Combined sexes can be advantageous when colonising new environments as a single individual can be its own mate, and indeed many plant species colonising remote oceanic islands tend to be hermaphrodite. Maybe the combination of sexes helped early flowering plants to outcompete their rivals.

The devil’s in the detail

Despite the apparent similarity with some modern flowers, their ultimate ancestor has a few surprises up its sleeve. For example, botanist have long thought that early flowers had floral parts arranged in a spiral around the centre of the flower as can be seen in modern species such as the star anise.

The new reconstruction, though, strongly suggests that early flowers had their organs arranged not in a spiral, but in series of concentric circles or “whorls”, as in most modern plants. The early flower had more numerous whorls, however, suggesting flowers have become simpler over time. Paradoxically, this simpler architecture may have given modern plants a more stable base upon which to evolve and achieve more complex tasks such as sophisticated interaction with certain insects as in orchids, or the production of “flower heads” made of dozens or hundreds of simpler flowers as in the sunflower family.

The ConversationAlthough now we have a good idea of what one of the earliest flowers may have looked like, we still know little about how that flower came to be. The detailed steps leading to its evolution are unknown. Perhaps we will have to wait for the discovery of new fossil flowers spanning the gap around 250m-140m years ago, before we can understand the very origin of what is the most diverse sexual structure on the planet.

About The Author

Mario Vallejo-Marin, Associate Professor in Evolutionary Biology, University of Stirling

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=history of flowers;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.