Все живые цветы в конечном счете производятся от одного предка 140m Years Ago

Первый цветок из 140m Years Ago, выглядел как магнолия
Предки магнолии. И дубы, трава, помидоры, нарциссы и многое другое. Hervé Sauquet & Jürg Schönenberger

Хотя у большинства видов растений на Земле есть цветы, эволюционное происхождение самих цветов окутано тайной. Цветы - это половые органы более чем 360,000 видов растений, живых сегодня, все они получены от одного общего предка в далеком прошлом. Это родовое растение, живое где-то между 250m и 140m лет назад, произвело первые цветы в то время, когда планета была более теплой и богаче кислородом и парниковыми газами, чем сегодня. Время, когда динозавры бродили по первозданным ландшафтам.

Но, несмотря на то, что динозавры вымерли 65m лет назад, у нас есть лучшее представление о как выглядел Игуанодон чем о том, как был построен родовой цветок.

Это отчасти потому, что эти первые цветы не оставили следов. Цветы - это хрупкие структуры, которые только в самых удачливых обстоятельствах могут быть преобразованы в окаменелости. И, поскольку никакая окаменелость не была найдена спустя 140m или более лет, ученые только имели ограниченное представление о том, как выглядел бы конечный предок. До сих пор.

Большое новое исследование, проведенное международной командой ботаников, достигло лучшей реконструкции на сегодняшний день этого родового цветка. Исследование, опубликованное в Природа связи, полагается не столько на окаменелости, сколько на изучение характеристик 800 его живых потомков.

Сравнивая сходства и различия между родственными цветущими растениями, можно вывести характеристики их недавних предков. Например, поскольку все виды орхидей имеют цветы, в которых половина является зеркальным отображением другого (двусторонняя симметрия), мы можем предположить, что у их предка были двуцветные цветы. Сравнивая этих последних предков друг с другом, можно сделать шаг назад во времени и т. Д., Пока мы не достигнем основания родового дерева цветковых растений.

Так, как это выглядело?

В некотором отношении оригинальный цветок напоминает современную магнолию: она имеет несколько недифференцированных «лепестков» (технически листочки), расположенных в концентрических кольцах. В его центре есть несколько рядов половых органов, в том числе пыльцеобразующие тычинки и яйцевидные яичники. Трудно устоять перед соблазном вообразить, как древние опылители ползают по этому цветку, собирают пыльцу и бессознательно помогают растению производить семена.

Спорная сексуальная жизнь

Новое исследование помогает решить споры о том, были ли ранние цветы раздельными полами, или как мужские, так и женские репродуктивные органы были объединены в одном цвете. Предыдущие свидетельства указывали на разные ответы. С одной стороны, одна из самых ранних расходящихся линий цветущих растений, представленная в настоящее время только редким кустарником с тихоокеанского острова Новая Каледония, называемая амборелла, есть цветы, которые мужского или женского пола, С другой стороны, большинство современных видов объединяют обоих полов в одном цвете.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Все живые цветы в конечном итоге происходят от одного предка, который жил около 140m лет назад.
Все живые цветы в конечном итоге происходят от одного предка, который жил около 140m лет назад.
Hervé Sauquet & Jürg Schönenberger

Авторы исследования решают вопрос и показывают, что цветок предков был гермафродитом. Это означает, что ранние цветковые растения могут воспроизводить как мужчин, так и женщин. Комбинированные полы могут быть полезны, когда колонизация новых сред в качестве отдельного человека может быть его собственным помощником, и действительно, многие виды растений, колонизирующие отдаленные океанические острова, как правило, являются гермафродитами. Возможно, сочетание полов помогло ранним цветущим растениям вывести конкурентов из своих конкурентов.

Дьявол в деталях

Несмотря на очевидное сходство с некоторыми современными цветами, у их конечного предка есть несколько сюрпризов в рукаве. Например, ботаник давно думал, что ранние цветы имели цветочные части расположенных по спирали вокруг центра цветка, как это видно в современных видах, таких как звездчатый анис.

Новая реконструкция, тем не менее, решительно говорит о том, что ранние цветы имели свои органы не по спирали, а по серии концентрических кругов или «завитушек», как на большинстве современных растений. Однако ранний цветок имел более многочисленные завитки, предлагая, чтобы цветы стали более простыми с течением времени. Парадоксально, но эта более простая архитектура, возможно, предоставила современным растениям более стабильную основу для развития и достижения более сложных задач, таких как сложное взаимодействие с некоторыми насекомыми, как в орхидеях, или производство «цветочных головок» из десятков или сотен более простых цветов как в семье подсолнечника.

БеседаХотя теперь у нас есть хорошее представление о том, как выглядел один из самых ранних цветов, мы все еще мало знаем о том, как появился этот цветок. Подробные шаги, ведущие к его эволюции, неизвестны. Возможно, нам придется ждать открытия новых окаменелостей, покрывающих пробел вокруг 250m-140m лет назад, прежде чем мы сможем понять само происхождение самой разнообразной сексуальной структуры на планете.

Об авторе

Марио Вальехо-Марин, доцент по эволюционной биологии, Университета Стирлинга

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Похожие книги:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = история цветов; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

All Living Flowers Ultimately Derive From A Single Ancestor 140m Years Ago

The First Ever Flower From 140m Years Ago, Looked Like A Magnolia
The ancestor of magnolia. And oak trees, grass, tomatoes, daffodils, and much more. Hervé Sauquet & Jürg Schönenberger
 

Although most species of plants on Earth have flowers, the evolutionary origin of flowers themselves are shrouded in mystery. Flowers are the sexual organs of more than 360,000 species of plants alive today, all derived from a single common ancestor in the distant past. This ancestral plant, alive sometime between 250m and 140m years ago, produced the first flowers at a time when the planet was warmer, and richer in oxygen and greenhouse gases than today. A time when dinosaurs roamed primeval landscapes.

But despite the fact dinosaurs went extinct 65m years ago we have a better idea of what an Iguanodon looked like than of how the ancestral flower was built.

This is partly because these first flowers left no traces. Flowers are fragile structures that only in the luckiest of circumstances can be transformed into fossils. And, as no fossil has been found dating back 140m or more years, scientists have only had a limited sense of what the ultimate ancestor would have looked like. Until now.

A major new study by an international team of botanists has achieved the best reconstruction to date of this ancestral flower. The research, published in Nature Communications, relies not so much on fossils as on studying the characteristics of 800 of its living descendant species.

By comparing the similarities and differences among related flowering plants, it is possible to infer the characteristics of their recent ancestors. For example, because all orchid species have flowers in which one half is the mirror image of the other (bilateral symmetry), we can suppose that their ancestor must have had bilateral flowers. By comparing those recent ancestors to each other it is then possible to go a step further back in time, and so on, until eventually we reach the base of the flowering plants’ family tree.

So what did it look like?

In some respects, the original flower resembles a modern magnolia: it has multiple, undifferentiated “petals” (technically tepals), arranged in concentric rings. At its centre there are multiple rows of sexual organs including pollen-producing stamens and ovule-bearing ovaries. It is hard to resist the temptation to imagine ancient pollinators crawling in this flower, collecting pollen grains while unknowingly helping the plant to produce seeds.

A controversial sex life

The new study helps to settle the controversy about whether early flowers had separate sexes, or whether both male and female reproductive organs were combined in the same flower. Previous evidence pointed to different answers. On the one hand, one of the earliest diverging lineages of flowering plants, represented nowadays only by a rare shrub from the Pacific island of New Caledonia called Amborella, has flowers that are either male or female. On the other, most modern species combine both sexes in the same flower.

All living flowers ultimately derive from a single ancestor that lived about 140m years ago.
All living flowers ultimately derive from a single ancestor that lived about 140m years ago.
Hervé Sauquet & Jürg Schönenberger

The authors of the study settle the question and show that the ancestral flower was a hermaphrodite. This means that early flowering plants could reproduce both as a male and a female. Combined sexes can be advantageous when colonising new environments as a single individual can be its own mate, and indeed many plant species colonising remote oceanic islands tend to be hermaphrodite. Maybe the combination of sexes helped early flowering plants to outcompete their rivals.

The devil’s in the detail

Despite the apparent similarity with some modern flowers, their ultimate ancestor has a few surprises up its sleeve. For example, botanist have long thought that early flowers had floral parts arranged in a spiral around the centre of the flower as can be seen in modern species such as the star anise.

The new reconstruction, though, strongly suggests that early flowers had their organs arranged not in a spiral, but in series of concentric circles or “whorls”, as in most modern plants. The early flower had more numerous whorls, however, suggesting flowers have become simpler over time. Paradoxically, this simpler architecture may have given modern plants a more stable base upon which to evolve and achieve more complex tasks such as sophisticated interaction with certain insects as in orchids, or the production of “flower heads” made of dozens or hundreds of simpler flowers as in the sunflower family.

The ConversationAlthough now we have a good idea of what one of the earliest flowers may have looked like, we still know little about how that flower came to be. The detailed steps leading to its evolution are unknown. Perhaps we will have to wait for the discovery of new fossil flowers spanning the gap around 250m-140m years ago, before we can understand the very origin of what is the most diverse sexual structure on the planet.

About The Author

Mario Vallejo-Marin, Associate Professor in Evolutionary Biology, University of Stirling

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=history of flowers;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.