غريزة البقاء وطريقتي القتال

غريزة البقاء وطريقتي القتال
الصورة عن طريق DreamyArt

غريزة البقاء هي العنصر الأساسي في المقدس. لا يجب الخلط بينه وبين الخوف من الموت. الخوف من الموت ينشأ من قلة الحب.

الحب يقودك إلى التحدث إلى المطر والأنهار والأشجار والمنحدرات والطيور. إنه يقودك إلى طريق مشترك ، إلى شركة عالمية قادرة ، بدورها ، على تصور الإرادة لتختفي في كل شيء ، لإعطاء نفسه ، والتمتع بعدم الثبات الذي بدونه سيكون من المستحيل إعطاء نفسه في كل لحظة. غريزة البقاء على قيد الحياة هي تأكيد عدم الثبات ، حيث يتم تأكيد كل شيء في هذا العالم بفضل نقيضه ، والقوة التي يتعين بذلها تحتاج إلى مقاومة.

يرتبط الخوف من الموت بالفكرة الخادعة عن النفس كفرد منفصل عن الكل. يخاف المرء من الموت عندما يتلاشى وهم الانفصال عن الكل.

الحرية في الحياة هي بلا شك حياة بلا خوف. الخوف اللاواعي من الموت يؤثر على كل جانب من جوانب السلوك البشري ؛ العلاقة مع الآخرين وأنفسنا تقوم عليها.

الخوف من الموت هو اللاعب الرئيسي في علاقاتنا مع شركائنا ومع المال ؛ إنها ظروف شديدة لحالتنا الصحية النفسية والجسدية ونوعية الراحة وعادات الأكل وخيارات بسيطة وكبيرة في الحياة. عندما يكون الخوف الباطن من الموت قوياً للغاية ، فإننا نعيش على متن طائرة تحليلية وعقلية بحتة تكون الأفكار فيها عقيمة ، في حين أن أفكار الخوف تكون مليئة بالحب والخصوبة في غياب الخوف.

على مر القرون ، خلقت التقاليد المختلفة بلا شك تقاليد متخيلة مختلفة تكيفت معها الشعوب بلا وعي. الأفراد يخضعون للحكم والقياس والقابلية للتنبؤ طالما تعمل رموز الخلفية الثقافية الخاصة بهم داخلها تلقائيًا ، حتى ترشيح تصوراتهم وتجبرهم على الرؤية والاستماع واللمس والشم والتذوق وفقًا لمجموعة معينة من القيم التي تتوافق الحواس - العمليات الذهنية - مع الوظائف القياسية والإجابات الشائعة لتلك الثقافة. من وجهة نظر جدلية ، الحرية هي التحرر من شيء ما ، لذا فإن إمكانية الحرية لدينا مرتبطة بوجود عالم غير حر.

حساب ميزة الشخصية وعيوبها

إن عوامل الخير والشر ، الصحة والمرض ، وما إلى ذلك ، التي يركز عليها العقل ، مستحثة اجتماعيًا. تنتقل الطبيعة نحو الجمال ، وليس الخير ، وهو مفهوم ابتكره العقل البشري. لتحقيق القوة ، يخلق العقل مقياسًا خاصًا به من القيم بهدف جعل الطبيعة والجسم قابلاً للتحكم ، وقابل للقياس ، ويمكن التنبؤ بهما ، ويمكنهما التحكم فيهما.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يتم استخدام المعرفة المستخدمة لتحقيق القوة والسيطرة - وليس الحب وإعطاء الذات - من خلال النظريات التي تعبر عن نوع من الدراية الفنية ، والتي تهدف إلى السلطة. هذه الدراية التقنية هي معرفة النموذج العقلي للواقع ، وليس بالواقع الطبيعي ، وهو الفراغ الخالص ، وعدم الثبات ، وإعطاء الذات ، والجمال ، والحب. ليس صحيحاً أن نذكر أن الواقع الطبيعي غير معروف ؛ يمكن معرفتها من خلال الحب ، من خلال أن تصبح ما هو معروف.

مشكلة المعرفة التقنية التي تهدف إلى التحكم هي أنه يمكن التلاعب بالنظريات الداعمة. لأن مفاهيم الخير ، الصحة ، والحقيقة هي مجردة ، وبالتالي يمكن التلاعب بها. عندما يبذل المرء مجهودًا للتفكير في صحة الفرد أو صحته ، لا يفعل ذلك في الواقع فكر في رفاه الفرد أو صحته على الإطلاق ، بل فكر في صحة وصحة النظام الذي يحدد نماذج الصحة والرفاهية.

لذلك يمكن تقسيم العالم بشكل أساسي إلى فئتين من الناس: أولئك الذين يؤمنون بالقيم الاجتماعية ويحترمونها ، وأولئك الذين فهموا أن هذه القيم ليس لها سبب لوجودها في الطبيعة. في الفئة الأخيرة ، نجد السحرة والفنانين والنساكين والزاهدين والرهبان والأشخاص الروحيين.

الانحراف

قد يُعتقد أن التحرر من التنويم المغنطيسي الناتج عن قيم الخير والشر ينطوي على خطر كبير ، يتمثل في الانزلاق نحو الانحراف ، وهو الافتقار إلى السيطرة كما هو الحال في الجنون والجشع والانحراف والشيطان.

كل هذه الصفات هي نتيجة لتفاقم السيطرة والضغط على قيم الخير والشر ، وليس من الحرية. يتم قمع الطاقات الطبيعية عن طريق ممارسة التحكم العقلي بدافع الخوف وعدم وجود الحب والجمال. عندما يتم الضغط على قوى النفس النفسية بشكل مفرط ، ينشأ نوع من الذهان ، حيث ينجرف الفكر بلا هوادة نحو التعطش إلى السلطة والانحراف وغير ذلك من المظاهر المنحرفة.

في مجتمعنا ، تسير إمكانية تحقيق القوة جنبًا إلى جنب مع نفسية متأثرة بالجنون الواضح. عندما لا يتم التعرف على الآلهة ، التي هي أقوى قوى نفسية لدينا ، أفكارنا ، بل يتم قمعها ، ينتهي بهم المطاف بإفراط في السيطرة على العقل والسيطرة على الواقع بطريقة مدمرة.

التوازن في النفس والعالم

الآلهة تتجاوز مجال الفردية. يجب أن نفكر في الآلهة بعبارات غير شخصية. إذا هبت الآلهة عقول بعض الأفراد ، مما دفعهم إلى ارتكاب جرائم بشعة باسم نظريات دينية أو اقتصادية أو سياسية مجنونة ، فهذا بلا شك لأن هناك أفراد آخرين في جزء آخر من العالم يقومون بقمع الطاقات الطبيعية بقوة ، الفشل في التعرف على البعد الوحشي للنفسية في محاولة للسيطرة على الطبيعة والعالم.

يجب النظر إلى التوازن في النفس وفي العالم بعقل خالٍ من الشعور بالفردية والمادية. مثلما يمكن التغلب على شخص ما من خلال قوى نفسيته التي يحاول قمعها خوفًا ، فإن العالم يغلب عليه الطاقات التي يريد السيطرة عليها.

طريقتان للقتال

العطاء الذاتي هو العاطفة النهائية ، والتي هي أنقى تعبير عن الحب. المعركة الطبيعية من أجل البقاء هي مظهر من مظاهر الجمال ، خالية من الذنب أو التحامل. يقاتل الأفراد تحت التلاعب ، تنطلق منه نظريات الخير والسيئة ، الصواب والخطأ ، الصواب والخطأ.

الشخص الحكيم ، الشخص الروحي ، ليس الشخص الذي لم يعد يحارب ، بل الشخص الذي يناضل من أجل الحب. مثل هذا الشخص لا يعاني من الصراع ، ولا يضعف من ضربات العدو ، ولا يغضب من العدو ، ولا يشعر بالحكم أو بالذنب. مثل هذا الشخص لا يقاتل من أجل نظام ولكن من أجل الروح.

الروحاني الحقيقي ، تمامًا مثل أرجونا في بهاجافاد جيتا ، لا يتخلى عن القتال. إنه يعلم أن كل شيء مثالي تمامًا كما هو ، في الواقع لا يوجد شيء يمكن تغييره في العالم. يعبر عن نفسه في معركة لإظهار الجمال ، تمامًا كما يعبر الفنان عن نفسه في عمل فني. معركة الروحاني ، مثل معركة الفنان ، لا تؤدي إلى المعاناة بل إلى التجدد المستمر.

الشخص الحر يناضل من أجل عاطفة الحب. المعركة خلاقة وليست مدمرة. يحارب الفرد بشدّة من أجل تحقيق منفعة شخصية ، دون أن يدرك أن العقل الذي يحسب إيجابيات وسلبيات الشخصية هو ، في الواقع الفعلي ، أداة يمكن التلاعب بها. وبالتالي فإن هؤلاء الأفراد يقاتلون من أجل النظام ، حتى عندما يعتقدون أنهم يقاتلون ضده.

الصحة والمرض

عندما يصاب شخص حر بالمرض ، فإنه يتساءل عن نوع المشاعر التي سيحدثها المرض. هؤلاء الأشخاص يتعمقون في مرضهم بحثًا عن المشاعر المكبوتة: يبحثون عنها ، ويحبونها ، ويطلقونها ، ويعيشونها ، ويسمونها إلى نشوة الحب بين الكائن البشري والإلهي. يتعرف الأفراد الأحرار على المرض على أنه دعوة للظلال. ويمشون بشجاعة نحو تلك الظلال.

تظهر هذه الظلال عندما يتم كسر توازن بدائي ، نظام عالمي ، ويجب إعادة تأسيسه. الجمال هو الانسجام بين النور والظل والموت والحياة والحلم والاستيقاظ.

عندما يتم تحطيم هذا الانسجام لأنه ، على سبيل المثال ، قد نسي المرء روحه غير المرئية وتجاوز القيم المادية للعالم ، ثم استحقت الروح من عالم الخفي ، وصوتها يظهر في العالم المرئي في شكل المرض ، وعدم الارتياح ، وصعوبة.

الشخص الروحي يدرك هذا ويحتفل بدعوة الروح عن طريق المغامرة في الظل ، وإعطاء نفسه العواطف التي تأتي مع هذا ، والذهاب عن بعد مع التجربة المقلقة التي يقدمها الذات ، أن الجمال هو.

الأفراد الاجتماعيين يريدون فقط لتهدئة نداء الروح وتخدير صوت الآلهة ، والتي يتم التعبير عنها من خلال أجهزتهم الخاصة. الوظيفة الحتمية لأي علاج هي تهدئة تأثير الروح على الحياة ، والسيطرة - أي وهم القوة - على الجسم والطبيعة.

يختار الفرد الاجتماعي عمومًا المسار العلاجي. الشخص الحر يختار عمومًا المسار الجمالي. قد يواجه كل من الأفراد نفس الأحداث ؛ على سبيل المثال ، قد يختار كلاهما الجراحة أو الدواء. ما يختلف هو الطريقة التي يعيش كل واحد الحدث. بسبب الخوف ، يكافح الفرد الاجتماعي المرض للحفاظ على السيطرة على جسده وعقله وحياته وطبيعته. في مواجهة نفس المرض ، يحارب الشخص الروحي من أجل إعادة التوازن بين الظاهر وغير المرئي ، لإعادة القوة إلى الروح.

طقوس الشفاء

في كل مرة يتم كسر التوازن البدائي أو النظام العالمي ؛ في كل مرة تتعامل مع الطبيعة -الصفقة بين بوسيدون ومينوس- يتم خيانة ، في كل مرة يفشل فيها الجمال ، ثم مرض ، أو اضطراب ، أو اضطراب ، أو مشكلة تنشأ ، والتي تتمثل مهمتها في وضع الأمور في نصابها الصحيح.

وبهذا المعنى ، فإن أمراضنا واضطراباتنا وعدم ارتياحنا ومشاكلنا هي في الحقيقة أكبر تراثنا: فهي صوت روحنا الذي ينادي من عوالم الخفي والعالم وراء هذا العالم.

بمجرد كسر التوازن على كلا الجانبين ، تبرز المشكلة حول مكان توجيه انتباهنا الواعي: نحو مينوس ، "أنا" الذي يريد السيطرة والقوة ، أو نحو بوسيدون ، الطبيعة.

في الحقيقة ، لا يمكن حل هذه المشكلة إلا من خلال إعادة التوازن بين "أنا" والطبيعة ومن خلال تطوير الوعي الذي يتركز بشكل جيد بين الأضداد. في الازدواجية واحد طغت. الازدواجية تعني إما الإقامة فقط في العقل أو الإقامة فقط في التجربة الطبيعية.

خذ على سبيل المثال شخصًا مصابًا بالسرطان يقرر تكليف إدارة صحته بما يسمى بالعلوم الطبية فقط. سيكون قد اختار من جانب واحد تفويض العناية بصحته لمبدأ خارج نفسه - الأطباء والمخدرات والجراحة - مبدأ علاجي يستند إلى نموذج عقلي للواقع يكون فيه الجسم كائنًا ماديًا.

ولكن سيتم أيضًا اتخاذ خيار مماثل من جانب واحد وغير متوازن إذا قرر الشخص ترك الطبيعة تسير في مسارها دون أن تنجز طقوسًا حقيقية ومناسبة للشفاء ، تكمن فقط في إمكانية أن يشفي الجسم نفسه.

ينطوي مسار التشابه دائمًا على طقوس لإعادة التوازن المفقود. يجب أن ينظر إلى هذه الطقوس من قبل كل جانب من جوانب الشخص: الجسم ، والمشاعر ، والعقل. هذا يعني أنه يجب أن يمس الإيماءات والعاطفة والفكر. يجب أيضًا أن يُنظر إلى أسلاف الشخص المريض على أنه من طقوس السلطة ، سواء كانوا يقيمون في هذا الجانب أو ذاك من العتبة العظمى. يجب أن يكون الطقوس قوية لمواجهة المعلومات الواردة من النظام الاجتماعي والأسري للشخص المريض ، والخلفية الثقافية ، وقبل كل شيء التقليد التخيلي. طقوس لديه لإقناع ، بالضيق ، يهز ، سبى.

هناك بلا شك تقليد غربي خيالي وتقليد خيالي شرقي ، ويختلفان. بالنسبة لشخص ينتمي إلى المجموعة البورمية التبتية Eng القبلية ، التي تعيش في كوخ في وسط الغابة في ميانمار مع تقليد لحيوي بدون تغيير يعود إلى عصور ما قبل التاريخ ، كانت طقوس الشامانية تركزت على التضحية من الديك ، وضرب طبل ، والنشوة نشوة يمكن أن تكون فعالة للغاية. بالنسبة لشخص ذي تقاليد غربية تخيلية مثل تقاليدنا ، يمكن أن تكون الجراحة طقوسًا قادرة على إعادة التوازن المفقود. ما هو مهم حقًا يحدث داخل الشخص المريض ويكمن في القدرة على تحويل حدث درامي إلى طقوس للتضحية ، حيث قد يستسلم "أنا" ، العقل ، ويجوز للشخص كله الاستسلام لسر الغموض ، وبالتالي إعادة التوازن المفقود.

لذلك ، ليس العلاج بحد ذاته فعالًا ، بل الطريقة التي يتم بها اختباره. هذا ما يفسر احتمال مواجهة شخصين مصابين بالمرض نفسه وفي نفس المرحلة ، يخضعان لنفس العلاج ، لتشخيصين مختلفين.

يصبح العلاج طقوس في لحظة التضحية الطقوس ، و sacrum facere ، عندما يتم إرجاع الثور الأبيض (رمز القوة) إلى بوسيدون (رمز ألوهية الطبيعة) بواسطة مينوس (رمز "أنا") ، وبالتالي إعادة التوازن بين الإنسان والطبيعة.

إذا تم تنفيذ الطقوس أثناء المرض ، فإن الأخير يصبح فرصة لمدى الحياة لتحرير الإنسان. يمكن تطبيق نفس الملاحظات على المرض على المشكلات العقلية والاضطرابات العاطفية ، وبشكل عام على مشاكل الحياة ومشاكلها.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
التقاليد الداخلية الدولية. © 2019.

www.innertraditions.com.

المادة المصدر

الأم المانترا: اليوغا الشامانية القديمة من عدم الازدواجية
سيليني كالوني وليامز

الأم المانترا: اليوغا القديمة الشامانية من عدم الازدواجية من قبل سيلينا كالوني وليامزمخبأة في قلب كل التقاليد الروحية والباطنية تقريبًا تكمن التعاليم القوية لـ Mantra الأم. حافظت مبادروها على تقنيات توسيع وعيها لآلاف السنين. إن هذا التقليد ، الذي نشأ في الممارسة القديمة لليوغا الشامانية ، يسمح لنا برؤية التعقيد الكامل للواقع. إنه يساعدنا على رؤية كل من المرئي وغير المرئي ، والانتقال إلى ما وراء وعي الازدواجية الذي يحدّ بنا إلى العالم المادي فقط. بالعمل في هذه الحالة المتصاعدة من الوعي غير العادي ، يمكننا أن نرى ما وراء أنماط البرمجة وأنماط السلوك اللاوعي ونفهم إمكانياتنا وصلاحياتنا. عن طريق إزالة كل الخوف ، فإنه يسمح لك أن تحب نفسك تماما كما كنت.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الورقي و / أو تنزيل إصدار Kindle.

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هذا المؤلف

عن المؤلف

سيلين كالوني وليامزسيليان كالوني ويليامز ، حاصل على درجة علمية في علم النفس والماجستير في كتابة الشاشة ، قام بتأليف العديد من الكتب والأفلام الوثائقية حول علم النفس والإيكولوجيا العميقة والشامانية واليوغا والفلسفة والأنثروبولوجيا. طالبة مباشرة لجيمس هيلمان ، درست ومارست التأمل البوذي في صوامع غابات سريلانكا ، وهي مبادرة لتعليم اليوغا التانتريك. وهي مؤسس ومدير معهد الأناجيل في سويسرا. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت في https://selenecalloniwilliams.com/en

فيديو / مقابلة مع سيلين

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Survival Instinct and The Two Ways Of Fighting

The Survival Instinct and The Two Ways Of Fighting
Image by DreamyArt

The survival instinct is the fundamental component of the sacred. It is not to be confused with the fear of death. The fear of death arises out of a lack of love.

Love leads you to talk to the rain, the rivers and the trees, the cliffs and the birds; it leads you onto a common path, to a universal communion able, in turn, to conceive the will to vanish into everything, to give oneself, and to enjoy the impermanence without which it would be impossible to give oneself in every instant. The sur­vival instinct is the assertion of impermanence, inasmuch as everything in this world is asserted thanks to its opposite, and a force to be exerted needs a resistance.

The fear of death is tied to the deceptive idea of oneself as an indi­vidual separate from the whole. One’s fear of death diminishes as the illusion of being separate from the All dissolves.

Freedom in life is undoubtedly a life lived without fear. The unconscious fear of death influences every aspect of human behavior; the relationship with others and ourselves is founded on it.

The fear of death is a main player in our relationships with our partners and with money; it strongly conditions our state of psycho-physical health, daily stress, quality of rest, eating habits, and minor and major choices in life. When the subconscious fear of death is very strong, we live on a purely analytical and mental plane where ideas are sterile, whereas in the absence of fear ideas are full of love and fertile.

Over the centuries, the differing traditions have undoubt­edly created differing imaginal traditions to which the populations have unconsciously adapted. Individuals are governable, measurable, and pre­dictable as long as the symbols of their own cultural background act within them automatically, even filtering their perceptions and forcing them to see, hear, touch, smell, and taste according to a given set of val­ues that align the senses—mental operations—with the standard func­tions and answers common to that culture. From a dialectic point of view, freedom is freedom from something, so our possibility of freedom is tied to the existence of a world that is not free.

The Calculation of Personal Advantage and Disadvantage

The parameters of good and evil, health and illness, and so on, on which the mind focuses, are socially induced. Nature moves toward beauty, not goodness, which is a concept created by the human mind. To achieve power the mind creates its own scale of values with the aim of making nature and the body controllable, measurable, predictable, and governable.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The knowledge used to achieve power and control—not love and self-giving—is exerted through theories that express a technical kind of know-how, which is aimed at power. This technical know-how is the knowledge of a mental model of reality, not of natural reality, which is pure emptiness, impermanence, self-giving, beauty, love. It is not correct to state that natural reality is unknowable; it is knowable through love, through becoming that which is known.

The problem with technical knowledge aimed at control is that the supporting theories can be manipulated. Because the concepts of good, health, and truth are abstract they can thus be manipulated. When one makes an effort to think about one’s own well-being or health, one doesn’t actually think about one’s own well-being or health at all but rather about the well-being and health of the system that determines the models of health and well-being.

So the world can essentially be grouped into two categories of people: those who believe in social values and respect them, and those who have understood that such values have no reason to exist in nature. In the latter category we find magicians, artists, hermits, ascetics, monks, and spiritual persons.

Deviation

The freedom from the hypnotism generated by the values of good and evil might be thought to imply a great risk, that of slipping adrift toward deviation, which is a lack of control such as in madness, greed, perversion, Satanism.

All these traits are the consequence of the exacerbated control and pressure of the values of good and evil, not of freedom. The natural energies are suppressed by the exertion of mental control out of fear and the lack of love and beauty. When the psyche’s natural forces are overcompressed, a sort of psychosis arises, with thought drifting inexorably toward the thirst for power, perversion, and other deviant manifestations.

In our society, the possibility of achieving power goes hand in hand with a psyche affected by lucid madness. When the gods, which are our most powerful psychic forces, our ideas, are not recognized but repressed, they end up over-running the mind and taking hold of real­ity in a devastating manner.

Balance in the Psyche and the World

The gods transcend the sphere of individuality. We must think of the gods in depersonalized terms. If the gods blow the minds of cer­tain individuals, leading them to commit heinous crimes in the name of crazy religious, economic, or political theories, it is without doubt because there are other individuals in another part of the world who are strongly repressing natural energies, failing to recognize the wild dimen­sion of the psyche in an attempt to dominate nature and the world.

Balance in the psyche and in the world is to be considered with a mind free from the sense of individuality and materialism. Just as a person can be overcome by the forces of his own psyche, which he tries to repress out of fear, so is the world overridden by the very energies it wants to control.

The Two Ways Of Fighting

Self-giving is the ultimate emotion, which is the purest expression of love. The natural fight for survival is the manifestation of beauty, devoid of guilt or prejudice. Individuals fight under manipulation, trig­gered by the theories of good and bad, right and wrong, true and false.

A wise person, a spiritual person, is not one who no longer fights but one who fights for love. Such a one doesn’t suffer the conflict, is not weakened by the blows of the enemy, is not angry with the enemy, is not feeling judgment or guilt. Such a person doesn’t fight for a system but for the soul.

The true spiritualist, just like Arjuna in the Bhagavad Gita, does not give up the fight. He knows that everything is perfect just as it is, that actually there is nothing to change in the world. He expresses himself in battle to manifest beauty, just as an artist expresses himself or herself in a work of art. The battle of the spiritualist, like that of the artist, does not give rise to suffering but instead to continual regeneration.

The free person fights for the emotion of love; the battle is creative, not destructive. The individual fights laboriously for personal advantage, without realizing that the mind that is calculating the personal pros and cons is, in actual fact, a tool that is and can be manipulated. Consequently such individuals fight for the system, even when they believe they are fighting against it.

Health and Sickness

When a free person falls ill he or she wonders what kind of emotion the illness will bring with it. Such persons delve into their own illness to search for the repressed sentiment: they look for it, love it, free it, live it, and sublimate it into the ecstasy of love between the human being and the Divine. Free individuals recognize the illness as the call of the shadows. And they bravely walk toward those shadows.

The shadows beckon when a primeval balance, a universal order, has been broken and needs to be reestablished. Beauty is harmony between light and shadow, death and life, dreaming and awaking.

When this harmony is shattered because, for example, one has for­gotten one’s invisible soul and has over-pursued the material values of the world, then the soul beckons from the world of invisibility, and its voice appears in the visible world in the form of disease, unease, and difficulty.

The spiritual person recognizes this and celebrates the call of the soul by venturing into the shadows, giving oneself up to the emotions that come with this, going the distance with the troubling experience that self-giving is, that beauty is.

Social individuals only want to sedate the call of the soul and anes­thetize the voice of the gods, which are expressed through their own organs. The imperative function of any therapy is to soothe the soul’s impact on life, keeping control—that is, the illusion of power—over body and nature.

The social individual generally chooses the therapeutic path. The free person generally chooses the aesthetic path. Both individuals may experience the same events; for example, both may choose surgery or medicine. What differs is the way each one lives the event. Pushed by fear, the social individual fights the illness to maintain control over one’s own body, mind, life, and nature. Facing the same illness, the spiritual person fights to reestablish the balance between visible and invisible, to give back power to the soul.

The Ritual of Healing

Every time the primeval balance or universal order is broken; every time the deal with nature—the deal between Poseidon and Minos—is betrayed, every time beauty fails, then an illness, an unease, a distur­bance, or a problem crops up, which has the task of putting things right.

In this sense our sicknesses, our disturbances, our unease, and our problems are indeed our biggest heritage: they are the voice of our soul calling from the realms of invisibility, the world beyond this world.

Once the balance has been broken on both sides the problem arises of where to direct our conscious attention: toward Minos, the “I” that wants control and power, or toward Poseidon, nature.

In truth, this problem can only be solved by reestablishing the bal­ance between the “I” and nature and by developing an awareness that is well centered between the opposites. In duality one is overwhelmed. Duality implies either residing only in the mind or residing solely in the natural experience.

Take, for example, a person diagnosed with cancer who decides to entrust the management of his health solely to the so-called medical science. He will have made a unilateral choice of delegating the care of his health to a principle outside himself—doctors, drugs, surgery—a therapeutic principle based on a mental model of reality in which the body is a material object.

But a similar unilateral and unbalanced choice will also be made if a person decides to let nature run its course without having accom­plished a true and proper healing ritual, confiding solely in the possibil­ity that the body heals itself.

The path of sameness always implies a ritual for the reestablishment of the lost balance. This ritual must be perceived by every aspect of the person: body, feelings, and mind. This means that it must touch on gesture, emotion, and thought. It must also be perceived as a ritual of power by the sick person’s ancestors, whether they reside on this or that side of the Great Threshold. It has to be a powerful ritual to face up to the information coming from the sick person’s social and family system, cultural background, and above all imaginal tradition. The ritual has to impress, upset, shake, enchant.

There is undoubtedly a Western imaginal tradition and an Eastern imaginal tradition, and they differ. For someone belonging to the Tibetan Burmese Eng tribal group, living in a hut in the midst of the forest in Myanmar with an unaltered animist tradition going back to prehistoric times, a shamanic ritual centered on the sacrifice of a rooster, the beating of a drum, and ecstatic trance can be extremely effective. For a person with a Western imaginal tradition like ours, surgery can be a ritual capable of reestablishing the lost balance. That which is really important goes on inside the sick person and lies with the ability to turn a dramatic event into a ritual of sacrifice whereby the “I,” the mind, may surrender, and the whole person may surrender to the mys­tery of invisibility, thus reestablishing the lost balance.

So it is not the cure itself that is effective but rather the way in which it is experienced. This explains why two people with the same illness and at the same stage, undergoing the same treatment, may face two differing prognoses.

The cure becomes rite at the moment of the ritual sacrifice, the sacrum facere, when the white bull (symbol of power) is returned to Poseidon (symbol of nature’s divinity) by Minos (symbol of “I”), thus reestablishing the balance between human and nature.

If the rite is performed during the illness, the latter becomes the chance of a lifetime for the liberation of a human being. The same observations on illness can be applied to mental problems, emotional unrest, and, generally speaking, to life’s troubles and problems.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Inner Traditions International. ©2019.

www.innertraditions.com.

Article Source

The Mother Mantra: The Ancient Shamanic Yoga of Non-Duality
by Selene Calloni Williams

The Mother Mantra: The Ancient Shamanic Yoga of Non-Duality by Selene Calloni WilliamsHidden at the heart of nearly all spiritual and esoteric traditions lies the powerful teachings of the Mother Mantra. Its initiates have preserved its consciousness-expanding techniques for millennia. Originating in the ancient practice of shamanic yoga, this tradition allows us to perceive the full complexity of reality. It helps us see both the visible and the invisible, moving beyond the consciousness of duality that limits us to only the material world. Operating in this heightened state of non-ordinary consciousness, we can see beyond our subconscious programming and behavior patterns and understand our possibilities and powers. By removing all fear, it allows you to love yourself exactly as you are.

Click here for more info and/or to order this paperback book and/or download the Kindle edition.

More Books by this Author

About the Author

Selene Calloni WilliamsSelene Calloni Williams, with a degree in psychology and master’s in screen writing, has authored several books and documentaries on psychology, deep ecology, shamanism, yoga, philosophy, and anthropology. A direct student of James Hillman, she studied and practiced Buddhist meditation in the hermitages of the forests of Sri Lanka and is an initiate of Shamanic Tantric Yoga. She is the founder and the director of the Imaginal Academy Institute in Switzerland. Visit her website at https://selenecalloniwilliams.com/en

Video/Interview with Selene

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)