Bottled Baby Food: Teuer, weniger nahrhafte und Nicht Umweltfreundlich

Baby-Babynahrung: teuer und weniger nahrhaft

Es ist interessant, dass wir in einer Gesellschaft leben, in der das, was wir Babynahrung nennen, wirklich nur Nahrung ist, die püriert, verarbeitet, in winzige Gläser gefüllt und mehrere hundert oder sogar tausend Prozent im Preis erhalten hat. Der weltweite Markt für Babynahrung war im 25 2008-Dollar wert und wird von 37.6 mit 2014-Prozenten des in Nordamerika ausgegebenen Geldes voraussichtlich $ 37 Milliarden wert sein.

Wenn Sie die Zutaten von Babynahrung betrachten, sind die Kosten wirklich astronomisch. Eine Schachtel Bio-Haferbrei kostet 40-Cent pro Unze oder $ 6.40 pro Pfund, aber Bio-Haferflocken kosten etwa $ 1.50 pro Pfund, was bedeutet, dass Sie mehr als viermal so viel für das Etikett für Babynahrung bezahlen und ein wenig extra mahlen . Ein Glas Bananen-Babynahrung kostet 30 Cent pro Unze, aber es ist nicht schwer, Bananen zu finden, die nur geringfügig mehr kosten als das Pfund, was bedeutet, dass Bananen-Babynahrung fast zehnmal so viel kostet wie frische Bananen, die mehr Ballaststoffe enthalten Ernährung, weil sie nicht verarbeitet wurden.

Babynahrung, insbesondere für ältere Babys, kann auch Wasser und Füllstoffe enthalten, was bedeutet, dass es weniger Nahrung enthält als die gleiche Menge des gleichen Lebensmittels, das frisch gegessen wird. Babynahrung ist im Wesentlichen ein Convenience-Essen, aber viele Eltern glauben, dass etwas Besonderes dabei ist.

Marketer gegen Gesundheit und Wirtschaft

In den 1950s-Vermarkter überzeugten Mütter, dass sie anfangen sollten, Babies in sehr jungen Jahren feste Nahrung zu geben, normalerweise im Alter von zwei Wochen, aber manchmal so jung wie nur wenige Tage alt. Neu geschaffene Baby-Cerealien und Babynahrung wurden püriert, um eine Erstickungsgefahr zu vermeiden. In der Tat wurden Babyflaschen für pürierte Lebensmittel entwickelt, damit Babys ihre Karotten oder Apfelmus absaugen können.

Schließlich hat die medizinische Wissenschaft die Empfehlung, so früh mit Feststoffen zu beginnen, komplett umgestellt, dass Babys in den ersten sechs Lebensmonaten nur noch Muttermilch benötigen. Etwa um die Mitte des ersten Jahres, wenn Babys anfangen, sich für feste Nahrung zu interessieren und sich selbstständig zu machen, können Sie ihnen einfach ein kleines bisschen Püree anbieten, wie zum Beispiel einen Teil einer Banane oder Süßkartoffel . Die ersten Male, die Sie es anbieten, messen Sie einfach das Interesse und die Fähigkeit des Babys, Nahrung um den Mund wirklich zu bewegen und es zu schlucken.

Es wird empfohlen, nur ein Nahrungsmittel pro Woche einzuführen, damit ein Nahrungsmittel, wenn es eine allergische Reaktion auslöst, identifiziert werden kann. Geben Sie dem Baby nicht das erste Mal zu viel - ein Esslöffel ist reichlich - denn zu viel könnte eine Verdauungsstörung verursachen. Sie brauchen keine ausgefallene Babynahrungspüree Maschine oder sogar einen Mixer oder Küchenmaschine.

Wie man sein eigenes "Baby-Essen" macht

Eine Gabel kann verwendet werden, um viele gekochte Speisen, einschließlich Butternuss oder Eichelkürbis, Karotten und weiße Kartoffel, sowie die bereits erwähnte Banane und Süßkartoffel zu zerkleinern. Regelmäßiges Apfelmus, das für den Rest der Familie gekauft oder hergestellt wurde, kann auch an Babys verfüttert werden, ebenso wie regelmäßig gekochtes Haferflocken. Da Körner jedoch eher eine allergische Reaktion auslösen und schwerer verdaulich sind, ist es besser, sie der Diät hinzuzufügen, nachdem Sie bereits einige Früchte und Gemüse eingeführt haben.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Während des größten Teils des ersten Lebensjahres des Babys liefert Milch die Mehrheit der notwendigen Nährstoffe, und wenn das Baby älter wird, werden feste Nahrungsmittel allmählich den größten Teil der Milch ersetzen. Als unsere Babys ein Jahr alt waren, aßen sie fast alles, was der Rest der Familie aß, abgesehen von kleinen, harten Lebensmitteln, die eine Erstickungsgefahr darstellen könnten, wie Nüsse und rohe Karotten.

Einfachheit macht Babynahrung einfacher und weniger teuer

Bottled Baby Food: Teuer, weniger nahrhafte und Nicht UmweltfreundlichEs ist einfach, die Ernährung des Babys in die Mahlzeiten der Familie zu integrieren. Wenn Sie Banane einführen, schneiden Sie ungefähr einen Zoll davon ab, zermahlen Sie es mit einer Gabel, und bieten Sie es Ihrem Baby an. Sie können den Rest der Banane essen. Wenn Sie Süßkartoffeln für Ihr Baby einführen möchten, backen Sie eine Nacht lang Süßkartoffeln für das Abendessen der Familie. Schneiden Sie ein kleines Stück Süßkartoffel ab und zerdrücken Sie es mit einer Gabel für das Baby, wenn Sie essen. Bewahren Sie den Rest der Süßkartoffel für drei oder vier Tage in einer abgedeckten Schale im Kühlschrank auf. Für das nächste Angebot der Süßkartoffel des Babys, schneiden Sie gerade ein kleines Stück wieder ab, zerquetschen Sie es und bieten Sie es Ihrem Baby an.

Sie können das gleiche für weiße Ofenkartoffeln, gekochte Karotten und Winterkürbis tun. Es besteht keine Notwendigkeit für Sie, mehrere Bananen oder Kartoffeln zu zerquetschen oder zu zerquetschen und sie einzeln in den Gefrierschrank zu legen. Füttern Sie Ihr Baby einfach mit frischem Futter, während Sie den Rest Ihrer Familie füttern.

Baby-Babynahrung: nicht umweltfreundlich

Babynahrung ist nicht umweltfreundlich. Da Babys Nahrungsmittel essen können, die für den Rest der Familie gekocht wurden, stellt fast jeder Behälter mit Babynahrung Energie und Ressourcen außer den auf Reisen verbrauchten Ressourcen dar, was einen winzigen Prozentsatz der aktuellen Produktion ausmachen würde.

Sogar auf Reisen können Sie Lebensmittel bestellen, die Ihrem Baby gefüttert werden können, wie zum Beispiel eine gebackene Kartoffel oder Süßkartoffel, die Sie vor dem Füttern mit Ihrer Gabel zermahlen, so wie Sie es zu Hause tun würden. Die meisten Babynahrungsprodukte sind heute in nicht wiederverwertbaren Behältern verpackt, anstatt in den Glasbehältern von damals.

Sparen Sie Geld durch die Beseitigung von im Geschäft gekauftem Babynahrung

Ersparnis: Wenn Sie Ihrem Baby im ersten Monat nach Beginn der Feststoffe jeden Tag zwei 70-Cent-Behälter mit Babynahrung verfüttern, ergeben sich für den Monat etwa $ 40. Wenn das Baby mehr isst, werden die Kosten jeden Monat steigen.

Wenn das Baby sieben Behälter der Säuglingsnahrung für ältere Babys isst, mit einem durchschnittlichen Kosten von 85 Cent pro Behälter, sind die monatlichen Kosten $ 178.50. Diese Kosten können fast vollständig eliminiert werden, wenn Sie den Kauf von Babynahrung einfach vermeiden.

© 2012 von Deborah Niemann-Boehle. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
Nachdruck mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Herausgebers,
New Society Publishers. www.newsociety.com


Dieser Artikel wurde mit freundlicher Genehmigung aus angepasst Kapitel 3 des Buches:

Ecothrifty: Billiger, Greener Choices für ein glücklicheres, gesünderes Leben
von Deborah Niemann.

Ecothrifty: Billiger, Greener Choices für ein glücklicheres, gesünderes Leben von Deborah Niemann.Eine für alle, die sich jemals gewünscht hat, eine grünere Leben leben, aber gedacht, dass es zu teuer wäre, zeitaufwendig oder schwierig must-read, wird dieses handliche, komplette Anleitung zeigt Ihnen, wie kleine Veränderungen können einen großen Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt haben und speichern Sie Tausende von Dollar an, während die Verbesserung Ihrer Lebensqualität.

Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen und / oder, dieses Album zu bestellen.


Über den Autor

Deborah Niemann, Autor: Ecothrifty - Billiger, Greener Choices für ein glücklicheres, gesünderes LebenDeborah Niemann ist ein homesteader, Schriftsteller und Autarkie-Experte, der ausgiebig präsentiert auf Fähigkeiten für das Leben ein selbständiger Leben. Sie hat Vieh über 10 Jahre angehoben und ist der Administrator eines beliebten Online-Forum und sozialen Netzwerken auf Nigerian Dwarf Milchziegen konzentriert. Sie ist die Autorin von Homegrown und Handmade: A Practical Guide to selbständiger Wohnzimmer, und Ecothrifty: Billiger, Greener Choices für ein glücklicheres, gesünderes Leben. Deborah und ihre Familie produzieren alle ihre eigenen Fleisch, Eier und Milchprodukte, während ein Bio-Garten und Obstgarten Obst und Gemüse liefern.

Weitere Artikel des Autors.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Bottled Baby Food: Expensive, Less Nutritious, and Not Eco-Friendly

Bottled Baby Food: Expensive and Less Nutritious

It is interesting that we live in a society that has this thing we call baby food, which is really just food that has been pureed, processed, put into tiny jars, and marked up several hundred or even a thousand percent in price. The global baby food market was worth $25 billion in 2008 and is expected to be worth $37.6 billion by 2014 with 37 percent of that money spent in North America.

When you look at the ingredients of baby food, the cost is truly astronomical. A box of organic baby oatmeal costs 40 cents per ounce, or $6.40 per pound, but organic rolled oats cost about $1.50 per pound, which means you are paying more than four times as much for the baby food label and a little extra grinding. A jar of banana baby food costs 30 cents an ounce, but it is not hard to find bananas that cost only slightly more than that per pound, meaning that banana baby foods cost almost ten times as much as fresh bananas, which have more fiber and nutrition because they have not been processed.

Baby food, especially that made for older babies, may also contain added water and fillers, meaning that it has less nutrition than an equal amount of the same food eaten fresh. Baby food is essentially a convenience food, but many parents are led to believe there is something special about it.

Marketers vs. Health and Economy

In the 1950s marketers convinced mothers that they should start giving babies solid foods at a very young age, usually by two weeks of age, but sometimes as young as only a few days old. Newly created baby cereals and baby foods were pureed to avoid a choking hazard. In fact, baby bottles were developed for pureed food so that babies could suck down their carrots or applesauce.

Eventually medical science completely turned around the recommendation for starting solids so early, realizing that babies need only breast milk for the first six months of life. Around the middle of the first year, when babies are starting to show an interest in solid foods and are able to sit up on their own, you can simply offer them a tiny bit of mashed food, such as part of a banana or sweet potato. The first few times you offer it, you are simply gauging the baby's interest and ability to actually move food around the mouth and swallow it.

Introducing only one food per week is recommended so that if a food causes an allergic reaction, it can be identified. Don't give the baby too much that first time — a tablespoon is plenty — because too much could cause a digestive upset. You don't need a fancy baby food puree machine or even a blender or food processor.

How To Make Your Own "Baby Food"

A fork can be used to mash up many cooked foods, including butternut or acorn squash, carrots, and white potato, as well as the banana and sweet potato already mentioned. Regular applesauce purchased or made for the rest of the family can also be fed to babies, as well as regular cooked oatmeal. However, because grains are more likely to cause an allergic reaction and are harder to digest, it is better to add them to the diet after you have already introduced a few fruits and vegetables.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

For most of the baby's first year, milk provides the majority of the necessary nutrients, and as the baby gets older, solid foods will gradually replace most of the milk. By the time our babies were a year old, they were eating almost everything the rest of the family was eating, except for small, hard foods that could be a choking hazard, such as nuts and raw carrots.

Simplicity Makes Baby Food Easier and Less Expensive

Bottled Baby Food: Expensive, Less Nutritious, and Not Eco-FriendlyIt is easy to incorporate baby's diet into the family meals. When introducing banana, slice off about an inch of it, mash it with a fork, and offer it to your baby. You can eat the rest of the banana. When you want to introduce sweet potato to your baby, bake sweet potatoes for the family's dinner one night. Cut off a small piece of sweet potato and mash it with a fork for the baby when you're eating. Store the rest of the sweet potato in the refrigerator for three or four days in a covered dish. For the baby's next offering of sweet potato, just cut off a small piece again, mash it and offer it to your baby.

You can do the same thing for white baked potatoes, cooked carrots, and winter squash. There is no need for you to mash up several bananas or potatoes or squash and put them in the freezer in individual servings. Simply feed fresh food to your baby just as you feed the rest of your family.

Bottled Baby Food: Not Ecofriendly

Baby food is not ecofriendly. Because babies can eat foods that have been cooked for the rest of the family, almost every container of baby food represents wasted energy and resources except those used when traveling, which would represent a tiny percentage of current production.

Even when traveling it is possible to order foods that could be fed to your baby, such a baked potato or sweet potato that you mash with your fork before feeding just as you would if you were home. Most baby food today is packaged in non-recyclable containers, rather than the glass jars of yesteryear.

Save Money by Eliminating Store-Bought Bottled Baby Food

Savings: If you feed your baby two 70-cent containers of baby food every day the first month after starting solids, it will add up to about $40 for the month. As the baby eats more, the cost will continue to go up every month.

If the baby is eating seven containers of the baby foods for older babies, with an average cost of 85 cents per container, the monthly cost will be $178.50. This cost can be eliminated almost completely if you simply avoid buying baby food.

©2012 by Deborah Niemann-Boehle. All rights reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New Society Publishers. www.newsociety.com


This article was adapted with permission from Chapter 3 of the book:

Ecothrifty: Cheaper, Greener Choices for a Happier, Healthier Life
by Deborah Niemann.

Ecothrifty: Cheaper, Greener Choices for a Happier, Healthier Life by Deborah Niemann.A must-read for anyone who has ever wanted to live a greener life but thought that it would be too expensive, time-consuming, or difficult, this handy, complete guide will show you how small changes can have a huge environmental impact and save you thousands of dollars, all while improving your quality of life.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.


About the Author

Deborah Niemann, author of: Ecothrifty -- Cheaper, Greener Choices for a Happier, Healthier LifeDeborah Niemann is a homesteader, writer and self-sufficiency expert who presents extensively on skills for living a more self-reliant life. She has raised livestock for over 10 years and is the administrator of a popular online forum and social network focused on Nigerian Dwarf dairy goats. She is the author of Homegrown and Handmade: A Practical Guide to More Self-Reliant Living, and Ecothrifty: Cheaper, Greener Choices for a Happier, Healthier Life. Deborah and her family produce all of their own meat, eggs and dairy products, while an organic garden and orchard provide fruit and vegetables.

More articles by this author.

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
by Dena Merriam
I was born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty (25 CE-220 CE) into a family of ardent Daoists who…
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
Seeking out a community of healing, being exploited in it, perhaps assuming the shame and…
Horoscope Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Being A Better Person
Being A Better Person
by Marie T. Russell
"He makes me want to be a better person." As I reflected on this statement later, I realized that…
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Socially respected behavior is learned behavior and some of it (for instance, table manners) varies…
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
by Lawrence Doochin
When we are in community, we automatically fall into service to those in need because we know them…
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
by Jason Redman
Ambushes don’t just happen in combat. In business and life, an ambush is a catastrophic event that…

MOST READ

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
by Maryon Stewart
Many women assume that when their menopause symptoms stop, they are on safe ground. Sadly, we face…
image
IRS hitting you with a fine or late fee? Don't fret – a consumer tax advocate says you still have options
by Rita W. Green, Instructor of Accountancy, University of Memphis
Tax Day has come and gone, and you think you filed your return in the nick of time. But several…
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
by Annie Curtis, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences
When microorganisms – such as bacteria or viruses – infect us, our immune system jumps into action.…
A teen reads her phone with a confused look on her face
Why teens have a hard time finding truth online
by Stanford
A new national study shows a woeful inability by high schoolers to detect fake news on the internet.
From deadly enemy to covidiots: Words matter when talking about COVID-19
Words matter when talking about COVID-19
by Ruth Derksen, PhD, Philosophy of Language, Faculty of Applied Science, Emeritus, University of British Columbia
So much has been said and written about the COVID-19 pandemic. We’ve been flooded with metaphors,…
image
The mystery of long COVID: up to 1 in 3 people who catch the virus suffer for months. Here's what we know so far
by Vanessa Bryant, Laboratory Head, Immunology Division, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute
Most people who get COVID suffer the common symptoms of fever, cough and breathing problems, and…
Planning the Burial: Anticipating Possible Problems and Blessings
Planning the Burial: Anticipating Possible Problems and Blessings
by Elizabeth Fournier
In addition to the emotional and spiritual aspects of funerals, there are always logistical and…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.