شرب القهوة والشاي أثناء الحمل قد يكون سيئاً لصحة طفلك

الصحة

شرب القهوة والشاي أثناء الحمل قد يكون سيئاً لصحة طفلك

amenic181 / شترستوك

الكافيين هو أكثر المواد ذات التأثير النفساني استخدامًا في العالم. ومستويات الاستهلاك المتوسطة ، تعتبر جيدة لصحتك - أو على الأقل ليست سيئة لصحتك. ومع ذلك، شواهد تشير إلى أن تناول الكافيين أثناء الحمل قد يكون سيئًا بالنسبة للطفل. لنا الدراسة الاخيرة يضيف إلى تلك الأدلة.

أردنا أن نعرف ما إذا كان هناك صلة بين تناول الكافيين الأمهات ونتائج الولادة السلبية في السكان حيث الشاي هو المصدر الرئيسي للكافيين. للقيام بذلك ، استخدمنا البيانات من دراسة الأتراب الأيرلندية. زودتنا البيانات ، حول النساء الأيرلنديات من 1,000 ، بالمآخذ الغذائية المعتادة من المنتجات التي تحتوي على مادة الكافيين أثناء الحمل المبكر. قمنا بمطابقتها مع سجلات المستشفى الخاصة بحديثي الولادة من النساء للحصول على معلومات حول حجم الولادة وعمر الحمل عند الولادة.

كان الشاي مصدر الكافيين الغالب (48٪) ثم القهوة (39٪). أظهر تحليلنا ، الذي نشر في المجلة الأمريكية للتغذية السريرية ، وجود علاقة ثابتة بين كل من القهوة والشاي والكافيين ونتائج الولادة السلبية. في أعلى مجموعة استهلاك للكافيين ، كانت مخاطر ولادة الأطفال الذين يعانون من انخفاض الوزن عند الولادة بشكل غير طبيعي أو عمر الحمل القصير عند الولادة أعلى بنحو مرتين. كانت النتائج مماثلة بغض النظر عن مصدر الكافيين.

الوقت لمراجعة مستويات الموصى بها المدخول؟

في حين أن القهوة هي المصدر الرئيسي للكافيين في معظم أنحاء العالم (حول 100mg لكل كوب) ، فإنه من غير المعترف به أن الشاي يحتوي على كمية كبيرة من الكافيين أيضًا (حول 33mg لكل كوب).

طرق التخمير وأنواع القهوة والشاي تؤثر على محتويات الكافيين. على سبيل المثال ، يكون محتوى الكافيين أعلى في القهوة المخمرة منه في القهوة الفورية ، وهو أعلى في الشاي الأسود منه في الشاي الأخضر. لذا فإن النتائج التي توصلنا إليها قد تكون لها آثار مهمة على الصحة العامة في البلدان التي يستهلك فيها الكثير من الشاي الأسود ، مثل أيرلندا والمملكة المتحدة.

يختلف مستوى مدخول الكافيين الموصى به أثناء الحمل باختلاف المنظمات الصحية والبلدان. ال منظمة الصحة العالمية توصي باستهلاك أقل من 300mg في اليوم. في المقابل ، منظمات مثل هيئة سلامة الغذاء في أيرلندا و الكلية الأمريكية لأطباء النساء والتوليد يوصي بتناول أقل من 200mg في اليوم. ومع ذلك ، تظهر دراستنا زيادة خطر حدوث نتائج الولادة السلبية حتى بالنسبة لمستوى استهلاك الأمهات أقل من هذه المستويات الموصى بها.

هل يجب على النساء الحوامل الامتناع عن تناول الكافيين؟

شرب القهوة والشاي أثناء الحمل قد يكون سيئاً لصحة طفلكيرتبط استهلاك الكافيين أثناء الحمل بانخفاض وزن المواليد. فرانسوا إتيان دو بليسيس / شاترستوكبصرف النظر عن حجم الولادة الأصغر وقصر فترة الحمل ، فقد تم ربط تناول الكافيين الأمومي بالنتائج السلبية الأخرى للطفل ، مثل انخفاض معدل الذكاء. لكن هذه النتائج ، بما في ذلك تلك الخاصة بنا ، هي من دراسات قائمة على الملاحظة ، ولا يمكن للدراسات القائمة على الملاحظة أن تثبت أن الكافيين يسبب هذه النتائج ، فقط بوجود رابط بينهما. لإثبات العلاقة السببية ، سيحتاج العلماء لإجراء تجارب معشاة ذات شواهد. ومع ذلك ، فإن القيام بذلك قد يعتبر مشكوكًا فيه أخلاقياً.

حتى تظهر أدلة أكثر تحديدا ، من الحكمة على الأقل الحد من تناول الكافيين أثناء الحمل أو عند التخطيط للحمل. ليس من المعترف به جيداً أن الشاي يحتوي على كمية كبيرة من الكافيين ، لذا يجب أن يؤخذ استهلاكه في الاعتبار عند محاولة الالتزام بحدود تناول الكافيين خلال فترة الحمل.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

لينج وي تشن ، زميل أبحاث ما بعد الدكتوراه في علم الأوبئة والحياة الغذائية ، كلية جامعة دبلن

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=pregnancy diet;maxresults=3}

الصحة
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Drinking Coffee And Tea During Pregnancy May Be Bad For Your Baby's Health

Drinking Coffee And Tea During Pregnancy May Be Bad For Your Baby's Health

amenic181/Shutterstock

Caffeine is the most commonly used psychoactive substance in the world. And at average consumption levels, it is considered to be good for your health – or at least not bad for your health. However, emerging evidence suggests that consuming caffeine during pregnancy may be bad for the baby. Our latest study adds to that evidence.

We wanted to know if there is a link between maternal caffeine intake and negative birth outcomes in a population where tea is the main caffeine source. To do so, we used data from an Irish cohort study. The data, on about 1,000 Irish women, provided us with the usual dietary intakes of caffeinated products during early pregnancy. We matched these with hospital records of the women’s newborns to get information on the birth size and gestational age at birth.

Tea was the predominant caffeine source (48%) followed by coffee (39%). Our analysis, published in The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, showed a consistent link between both coffee and tea caffeine and adverse birth outcomes. In the highest caffeine consumption group, the risks of delivering babies with abnormally low birth weight or short gestational age at birth were about two times higher. The results were similar regardless of the caffeine source.

Time to revise recommended intake levels?

While coffee is the main source of caffeine in most parts of the world (about 100mg per cup), it is less recognised that tea contains a significant amount of caffeine, too (about 33mg per cup).

Brewing methods and types of coffee and tea influence their caffeine contents. For example, caffeine content is higher in brewed coffee than in instant coffee, and it’s higher in black tea than in green tea. So our findings have potentially important public health implications in countries where a lot of black tea is consumed, such as Ireland and the UK.

The recommended caffeine intake level during pregnancy differs across health organisations and countries. The World Health Organisation recommends an intake of less than 300mg per day. In contrast, organisations such as The Food Safety Authority of Ireland and The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists recommend an intake of less than 200mg per day. However, our study shows an increased risk of adverse birth outcomes even for a maternal consumption level lower than these recommended levels.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Should pregnant women abstain from caffeine?

Drinking Coffee And Tea During Pregnancy May Be Bad For Your Baby's HealthCaffeine consumption in pregnancy is linked with low birth weight. Francois Etienne du Plessis/ShutterstockApart from smaller birth size and shorter gestational duration, maternal caffeine intake has been linked to other negative outcomes for the child, such as a lower IQ. But these findings, including our own, are from observational studies, and observational studies cannot prove that caffeine causes these outcomes, only that there is a link between them. To prove causation, scientists would need to conduct randomised controlled trials. However, to do so might be deemed ethically dubious.

Until more definitive evidence emerges, it is prudent to at least limit caffeine intake during pregnancy or when planning to conceive. It is not well-recognised that tea contains a significant amount of caffeine, so its consumption should also be taken into consideration when trying to adhere to the guideline caffeine intake limit during pregnancy.The Conversation

About The Author

Ling-Wei Chen, Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Nutritional and Life Course Epidemiology , University College Dublin

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=pregnancy diet;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…