هل هناك طريقة صحيحة لتفسير الأحلام؟

holding up a mask of a man's face
الصورة عن طريق جيرد التمان
 


رواه ماري ت. راسل

نسخة الفيديو

أهم شيء يجب مراعاته فورًا هو أنه لا توجد طريقة صحيحة لتفسير الحلم ، لأن التفسير ، وهو شكل من أشكال الترجمة ، شخصي تمامًا. أتذكر مهمة في دورة اللغة الصينية حيث كان علينا ترجمة قصيدة بعنوان "المهر الأبيض". تم تسليم خمس ترجمات مختلفة وقال المعلم إن كل واحدة منها صحيحة. تقدم ترجمة الأحلام أو تفسيرها نفس المشكلة. ومع ذلك ، ستجد أن بعض الطرق لتفسير الأحلام مفيدة أكثر من غيرها لأحلام معينة.

الشيء التالي الأكثر أهمية الذي يجب مراعاته هو أنه عندما تمنح الآخرين السلطة لتفسير أحلامك ، فإنك تشتري معتقداتهم وتوقعاتهم وتحيزاتهم وتحيزاتهم بدلاً من معتقداتك. ما قد يقولونه عن أحلامك قد يكون مفيدًا وقد لا يكون مفيدًا ، لكنه لا يمكن أن يكون جيدًا كما قد تعتقد أنت نفسك ، لأنها في النهاية ك أحلامهم وليست أحلامهم.

الأحلام كاستعارة

A استعارة هي كلمة أو عبارة تستخدم لوصف شيء لا تنطبق عليه بشكل مباشر. يمكن تفسير العديد من الأحلام بهذه الطريقة. الغوص بعمق في المحيط يمكن أن يرتبط بالغوص بعمق في العقل الباطن للفرد ؛ قد يعني الارتفاع في المصعد الرغبة في الارتقاء بالنفس ؛ قد يعني فقدان المفاتيح الخوف من عدم القدرة على حل مشكلة ؛ يمكن أن تشير قضايا الملابس إلى العادات ، منذ ذلك الحين عادة هي أيضًا كلمة قديمة تعني الملابس ، أو يمكن أن تشير إلى التستر على شيء ما أو الكشف عن شيء ما ؛ قد يكون التبول هو الحاجة للتخلص من شيء سام في حياتك ؛ وما إلى ذلك وهلم جرا.

تفسير العموم

هذا شيء يمكن القيام به. كل ما عليك فعله هو النظر إلى سلوكك وسلوك الآخرين في حلمك ، وكذلك الأشياء التي تتفاعل معها ، وتفسيرها بنفس الطريقة التي تفعلها لما يحدث في Waking Life ، متجاهلاً أي غرابة. مواجهة العقبات قد تعكس الإحباط الذي تشعر به. يمكن أن تمثل التقاطعات اختيارات عليك القيام بها. قد يعني الأصدقاء المساعدة المتاحة ، وقد يكون الأعداء ظروفًا أو حتى أشخاصًا في طريقك. فيما يلي بعض الأمثلة المحددة.

أنا في حفلة كبيرة. في مرحلة ما ، أركب دراجة نارية في جولة وأواجه شخصًا ما.

هذا يعني أنني سئمت من التواجد مع الناس وأريد بعض الوقت بمفردي ، لكنني أعترض على ذلك مع شخص ما.

أنا في مؤتمر مع زوجتي ، وصديقة ، وامرأة أخرى جذبتني إليها والتي تشبه ميغان فوكس. نتناول العشاء جميعًا في مطعم بقاعة المؤتمرات على طاولة مكونة من طاولات أصغر حجمًا باللونين الأسود والأبيض. في صباح اليوم التالي نزلت أنا وزوجتي لتناول الإفطار في نفس المكان ، فقط هي من تختار طاولة مختلفة. نحن الوحيدون في المطعم وعلينا انتظار الآخرين.

من الواضح أنني أحب زوجتي ، وأنا أحب صديقتي ، وأعتقد أن ميغان فوكس جذابة. من الواضح أيضًا أن زوجتي تفضل أن تكون بمفردها معي.

حلم طويل يتورط فيه رجل ذو شعر داكن في الثلاثينيات من عمره أخفى زوجته المتوفاة ، مرتديًا فستانًا أحمر ، في مدرجات ملعب ، وركب حصانًا مع شخص آخر في الجبال.

ليس لدي أدنى فكرة عما يدور حوله كل هذا.

تفسير حلم القاموس

قواميس الحلم هي قوائم بالرموز التي تظهر في الأحلام ومعانيها حسب من وضع القائمة ، وهناك العديد والعديد من القوائم ذات المعاني المختلفة لنفس الرموز. على سبيل المثال ، في إحدى القوائم ، يمثل ظهور الدب في حلمك أشياء مثل علاقة الأم أو الحماية ، وفي أخرى قد يمثل الاستقلال والقوة والموت والتجديد. هذه ، بالطبع ، ليست سوى ما يعتقده مؤلفو القوائم عن الدببة. حتى عندما تنص القائمة بوضوح على أن هذه الرموز قد لا تنطبق عليك ، يتم تقديمها كما لو كانت رموز مطلقة.

ومن المثير للاهتمام ، أنني وجدت أنه إذا اخترت أحد هذه القواميس واستخدمته حصريًا لتفسير أحلامك ، فإن أحلامك ستميل بقوة إلى التوافق مع القائمة. هذا ، حتى تحصل على ما أسميه حلم الاختراق ، حلم يرفض الامتثال وهذا يربكك تمامًا. اختيار أحد أحلامي عشوائيًا ، دعنا نرى كيف يمكن لقائمة واحدة أن تفسرها:

أنا مع امرأة آسيوية في حديقة أحاول الوصول إلى مكان لشراء تذاكر لركوب من نوع ما. أرى نساء أخريات يسلكن طريقًا مختصرًا عبر قلم دجاج محجوز ، لذا أتبعهن. عندما أدخل الحظيرة ، يوجد أكثر من دجاج - هناك أوز غير سعيد يجب أن أتجاوزه وقبل الافتتاح البعيد مباشرة ، يجب أن أمشي فوق كومة من الدجاج والأوز وأقول "آسف يا شباب".

وفقًا للقاموس الذي اخترته ، فإن الشيء الآسيوي يعني "اليقظة الروحية والحكمة والحدس". المرأة إما "تشير إلى جوانبك الأنثوية أو إلى والدتك" أو "تشير إلى الإغراء والشعور بالذنب". الحديقة هي "هروب مؤقت من الواقع" و "تجديد وتأمل وروحانية". تمثل التذكرة "السعر الذي يتعين عليك دفعه لتحقيق أهدافك". الركوب "يرمز إلى مسار واتجاه حياتك". لا يوجد معنى لنوع القلم في حلمي في هذه القائمة. لا معنى للدجاجة أيضًا ، لكن ارتداء بدلة الدجاج "يعني أنك تفتقر إلى الثقة في نفسك". يمكن أن يعني الإوز "ميلك للذهاب مع الحشد" أو "أنك على أسس جيدة". لكن التعاسة أو الحزن على شخص آخر "قد يكون انعكاسًا لمشاعرك." يشير المشي فوق شيء ما ، أي المشي بسهولة ، إلى "تقدم بطيء ولكن ثابت نحو أهدافك".

لذلك ، وفقًا للقائمة ، في وقت هذا الحلم ، "كنت أجمع بين الجوانب الأنثوية الخاصة بي مع الصحوة الروحية من خلال تجديد التأمل والروحانية وكنت على استعداد لدفع الثمن للمضي قدمًا في طريقي في الحياة. لتحقيق ذلك ، كنت أتغلب على افتقاري إلى الثقة بالنفس وميلي إلى مواكبة ما يريده الآخرون من أجل تحقيق أهدافي ". ليس سيئًا حقًا ، لكن لأكون صادقًا ، لم أكن بحاجة إلى حلمي أن يخبرني بذلك.

التفسير الموازي

في الواقع ، لقد أغريني هذا حقًا. الفكرة هي أنه أثناء الحلم ، ينطلق جزء ضئيل من أنفسنا (أطلق عليه ما تريد) لاستكشاف عوالم بديلة ، أحيانًا كمراقب وأحيانًا كمشارك. قد يكون لهذه العوالم قوانين فيزيائية مختلفة عن العالم الذي اعتدنا عليه ، وهذا من شأنه أن يفسر العديد من الخصائص الغريبة للأحلام. قد تكون بعض العوالم مختلفة جدًا بحيث لا يمكننا الارتباط بها ، وهذا من شأنه أن يفسر سبب نسياننا لها بهذه السرعة أو عدم قدرتنا على تسجيلها.

إذا كنت من محبي الفيزياء البعيدة أو الخيال العلمي أو الخيال ، فهناك الكثير مما يعجبك في هذا التفسير.

تفسير شاماني

الفكرة الشامانية الأساسية هي أن كل شيء حي ، مدرك ، ومتجاوب ، والذي يجب أن يشمل الأشخاص الذين يحلمون ، والأماكن ، والأشياء. الشامان مرتاحون في التحدث إلى الأشجار والصخور والرياح والجبال وما إلى ذلك ، والاستماع إليهم أيضًا. يمكنهم فعل الشيء نفسه مع جميع الأشياء والشخصيات وحتى الأحداث في الحلم.

لقد وجدت أن إحدى أكثر الطرق ثاقبة لتفسير الحلم هي أن تدخل نفسك في حالة لطيفة وهادئة من الوعي اليقظ وعينيك مغمضتين ، وتتذكر الحلم ، واسأل الأجزاء المختلفة من الحلم عما يفعلونه ولماذا . يمكنك حتى التحدث إلى الحلم ككل والسؤال عما يدور حوله. بمجرد أن تتغلب على أي مقاومة لـ "غرابة" إجراء محادثة مع الأحلام ومحتواها ، فقد تتلقى بعض الاكتشافات الرائعة.

في التحليل النهائي

جميع أنظمة تفسير الأحلام تقريبًا منحازة نحو تعلم شيء عن أنفسنا حتى نتمكن من تحسين أنفسنا جسديًا وعاطفيًا وعقليًا أو ، في بعض الحالات ، معنويًا. من المفترض أن تحدث لغرض التوجيه ، ولكن نظرًا لأن الأحلام عادة ما تكون مختلفة جدًا عن تجربة حياة اليقظة العادية ، يشعر الكثير من الناس بالحاجة إلى "خبراء" يمكنهم إخبارنا بما تعنيه وما نحتاج إلى القيام به. غالبًا ما يتم تفسيرها على أنها دروس من كائنات أعلى أو أجزاء غامضة من أنفسنا.

لا شيء من ذلك منطقي بالنسبة لي. يمكننا أن نتعلم بوعي من حياة اليقظة أكثر بكثير مما نتعلمه من محاولة إيجاد معنى غامض في الحلم. تفسير الأحلام يمكن أن يكون ممتعًا ، لكن معظم الناس يتعايشون جيدًا بدونه.

© 2017، 2020 بواسطة سيرج كينج. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
طبع بإذن من الناشر
Bear & Co ، بصمة من Inner Traditions Intl.
www.innertraditions.com

المادة المصدر

تقنيات الحلم: العمل مع أحلام الليل وأحلام اليقظة والأحلام المجردة
بواسطة سيرج كاهيلي كينج

book cover: Dreaming Techniques: Working with Night Dreams, Daydreams, and Liminal Dreams by Serge Kahili Kingيمكن للأحلام أن تغير حياتنا بطرق عميقة وملموسة. في هذا الدليل لإتقان فن الحلم ، يستكشف الدكتور سيرج كاهيلي كينج ، تقنيات لتسخير قوة الأحلام من أجل الشفاء والتحول وتغيير تجربتك للواقع. بالاعتماد على تحليله لأكثر من 5,000 من أحلامه وكذلك أحلام الطلاب والعملاء من ما يقرب من 50 عامًا من العمل السريري ، يقوم بفحص أنواع الأحلام الليلية التي لدينا ، وكيفية تذكرها بشكل أفضل ، وكيفية الاستفادة منها لتحسين صحتنا ورفاهيتنا ، وكيفية تفسيرها. يستكشف الكتاب أيضًا أحلام اليقظة بعمق ، بما في ذلك الخيال ، والصور الموجهة ، والتأمل ، والرؤى ، والمشاهدة عن بُعد ، ويوفر تقنيات لاستخدام أحلام اليقظة للشفاء والبصيرة والإبداع. 

لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا. متوفر أيضًا كإصدار Kindle. 

عن المؤلف

photo of Serge Kahili King, Ph.D.سيرج كاهيلي كينج ، دكتوراه ، هو مؤلف للعديد من الأعمال حول Huna و Hawaiian Shamanism ، بما في ذلك شامان الحضرية و شفاء فوري. حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في علم النفس وتلقى تعليمه في الشامانية من قبل عائلة كاهلي في كاواي وكذلك من قبل الشامان الأفارقة والمنغوليين. وهو المدير التنفيذي لشركة Huna International ، وهي شبكة عالمية غير ربحية من الأفراد الذين كرسوا أنفسهم لجعل العالم مكانًا أفضل. يعيش في جزيرة هاواي الكبيرة. قم بزيارة موقعه على الإنترنت http://www.huna.net/

المزيد من الكتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف.
 


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

أصوات INNERSELF

full moon over Stonehenge
أسبوع الأبراج الحالي: من 20 إلى 26 سبتمبر 2021
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
a swimmer in large expanse of water
الفرح والمرونة: ترياق واع للتوتر
by نانسي الرياح
نحن نعلم أننا في فترة انتقالية رائعة ، ولادة طريقة جديدة للعيش ، و ...
five closed doors, one pained yellow, the others white
أين نذهب من هنا؟
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
يمكن أن تكون الحياة مربكة. هناك الكثير من الأشياء التي تحدث ، الكثير من الخيارات المقدمة لنا. حتى ...
Inspiration or Motivation: Which Works Best?
الإلهام أم الدافع: أيهما يأتي أولاً؟
by آلان كوهين
يجد الأشخاص المتحمسون لهدف ما طرقًا لتحقيقه ولا يحتاجون إلى تحفيز ...
photo silhouette of mountain climber using a pick to secure himself
اسمح للخوف وقم بتحويله وتحرك من خلاله وافهمه
by لورانس دوتشين
الخوف يشعر بالجنون. لا توجد وسيلة حول ذلك. لكن معظمنا لا يستجيب لخوفنا في ...
woman sitting at her desk looking worried
وصفتي للقلق والقلق
by جود بيجو
نحن مجتمع يحب القلق. القلق منتشر للغاية ، يكاد يكون يبدو مقبولًا اجتماعيًا ...
curving road in New Zealand
لا تكن قاسيا على نفسك
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
تتكون الحياة من اختيارات ... بعضها خيارات "جيدة" والبعض الآخر ليس جيدًا. لكن كل خيار ...
man standing on a dock shining a flashlight into the sky
نعمة للباحثين عن الروحانيات وللذين يعانون من الاكتئاب
by بيير Pradervand
هناك مثل هذه الحاجة في العالم اليوم من أكثر حنان ورحمة هائلة وأعمق ، أكثر ...
Here We Are! Together We Can Do Anything!
نحن هنا! معا نستطيع أن نفعل أي شيء!
by سارة الحب مكوي
كيف نستمع ونتعلم من بعضنا البعض ، بخبراتنا ومعتقداتنا المختلفة للغاية حول ...
How To Arrive Consistently at Extraordinary Insights
كيف تصل باستمرار إلى رؤى غير عادية
by كيم تشيستني
على الرغم من أن الحدس قد يبدو ، في البداية ، بعيد المنال ، ولا يمكن التنبؤ به ، وغامضًا ، إلا أنه ليس بطبيعته ...
soul at helm
السماح لروحك بالوقوف على الدفة وتوجيه مصيرك
by آلان كوهين
غذاء الروح يجلب القيمة الحقيقية للحياة. يمكنك أن تتجول من طريق روحك ، لكن لا يمكنك ...

الأكثر قراءة

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
كيف ترتبط الحياة على الساحل بضعف الصحة
by جاكي كاسيل ، أستاذ وبائيات الرعاية الأولية ، استشاري فخري في الصحة العامة ، كلية الطب في برايتون وساسكس
تدهورت الاقتصادات المحفوفة بالمخاطر للعديد من المدن الساحلية التقليدية أكثر منذ ...
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
القضايا الأكثر شيوعا لملائكة الأرض: الحب والخوف والثقة
by سونيا جريس
عندما تختبر كونك ملاكًا أرضيًا ، ستكتشف أن مسار الخدمة مليء ...
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
كيف يمكنني أن أعرف ما هو أفضل بالنسبة لي؟
by باربارا بيرجر
أحد أكبر الأشياء التي اكتشفتها في العمل مع العملاء كل يوم هو مدى صعوبة ...
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
الصدق: الأمل الوحيد لعلاقات جديدة
by سوزان كامبل، دكتوراه
وفقًا لمعظم العزاب الذين قابلتهم في رحلاتي ، فإن وضع المواعدة النموذجي محفوف بالمخاطر ...
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
ما أدوار الرجال في سبعينيات القرن الماضي ، يمكن أن تعلمنا الحملات المناهضة للتمييز الجنسي عن الموافقة
by لوسي ديلاب ، جامعة كامبريدج
كان لحركة الرجال المناهضة للتحيز الجنسي في السبعينيات بنية تحتية من المجلات والمؤتمرات ومراكز الرجال ...
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
علاج شقرا الشفاء: الرقص نحو البطل الداخلي
by غلين بارك
مشاهدة رقص الفلامنكو متعة. راقص الفلامنكو الجيد ينضح بثقة كبيرة بالنفس ...
Taking A Step Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
يخطو نحو السلام بتغيير علاقتنا بالفكر
by جون بتاتشك
نقضي حياتنا منغمسين في فيض من الأفكار ، غير مدركين أن هناك بُعدًا آخر للوعي ...
image of the planet Jupiter on the skyline of a rocky ocean shore
هل كوكب المشتري هو كوكب الأمل أم كوكب السخط؟
by ستيفن فورست وجيفري وولف جرين
في الحلم الأمريكي كما هو مزعج حاليًا ، نحاول القيام بأمرين: كسب المال وخسارة ...

اتبع InnerSelf على

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Is There a Right Way of Interpreting Dreams?

holding up a mask of a man's face
Image by Gerd Altmann
 


Narrated by Marie T. Russell

Video version

The most important thing to consider right off is that there is no right way to interpret a dream, because interpretation, a form of translation, is entirely subjective. I remember an assignment in a Chinese language course where we had to translate a poem called “The White Pony.” There were five different translations turned in and the teacher said every one of them was correct. Translating or interpreting dreams presents the same problem. However, you will find that some ways to interpret dreams are more useful than others for specific dreams.

The next most important thing to consider is that when you give others the authority to interpret your dreams, you are buying in to their beliefs, expectations, biases, and prejudices, instead of yours. What they may say about your dreams might or might not be useful, but it can never be as good as what you yourself might think, because, after all, they are your dreams, not theirs.

Dreams as Metaphor

A metaphor is a word or phrase used to describe something to which it does not directly apply. Many dreams can be interpreted in this way. Diving deeply into an ocean can relate to diving deeply into one’s subconscious; rising high in an elevator could mean a desire to elevate oneself; losing one’s keys might mean the fear of not being able to unlock a problem; clothing issues could refer to habits, since habit is also an old word for clothing, or it could refer to covering up something or revealing something; urination might be the need to get rid of something toxic in your life; and so on.

Commonsense Interpretation

This is something anyone can do. All you have to do is to look at your behavior and the behavior of others in your dream, as well as the things you interact with, and interpret them the same way you would for what happens in Waking Life, ignoring any strangeness. Encountering obstacles could reflect frustrations you are feeling. Intersections could represent choices you have to make. Friends could mean available help, and enemies could be conditions or even people in your way. Here are some more specific examples.

I am at a big party. At some point I take a motorcycle for a ride and have a confrontation with someone.

This means that I am tired of being with people and I want some alone time, but I’m having a conflict about it with someone.

I am at a conference with my wife, a female friend, and another woman I am attracted to who resembles Megan Fox. We all have dinner in an eatery at the conference hall at a table composed of smaller tables that are black and white. The next morning my wife and I come down for breakfast to the same place, only she chooses a different table. We are the only ones in the eatery and have to wait for the others.

Obviously, I love my wife, I like my female friend, and I think Megan Fox is attractive. Also obviously, my wife would rather be alone with me.

A long dream involving a dark-haired man in his thirties who hid his dead wife, wearing a red dress, in the bleachers of a stadium, and rode off on a horse with someone else into the mountains.

I haven’t a clue as to what this was all about.

Dream Dictionary Interpretation

Dream dictionaries are lists of symbols that appear in dreams and their meanings, according to whoever made the list, and there are many, many lists with different meanings for the same symbols. For instance, in one list the appearance of a bear in your dream represents things like a mother relationship or protection and in another it might represent independence, strength, death, and renewal. These, of course, are only what the authors of the lists think of bears. Even when a list states clearly that these symbols may not apply to you, they are given as if they are absolutes.

Interestingly, I have found that if you pick one of these dictionaries and use it exclusively to interpret your dreams, your dreams will have a strong tendency to conform to the list. That is, until you have what I call a breakout dream, one that refuses to conform and that confuses you completely. Picking one of my dreams at random, let’s see how one list might interpret it:

I’m with an Asian woman in a park trying to get to a place to buy tickets for a ride of some kind. I see other women taking a shortcut through a screened chicken pen, so I follow them. When I enter the pen there are more than chickens—there are unhappy geese that I have to get past and just before the far opening I have to walk on top of a pile of chickens and geese and I say “Sorry, guys.”

According to the dictionary I chose, something Asian signifies “spiritual awakening, wisdom and intuition.” A woman either “refers to your own female aspects or your mother” or “indicates temptation and guilt.” A park is “a temporary escape from reality” and “renewal, meditation and spirituality.” A ticket represents “the price you need to pay to attain your goals.” A ride “symbolizes the path and direction of your life.” No meaning for the type of pen in my dream is given in this list. No meaning for a chicken is given, either, but wearing a chicken suit “implies that you are lacking confidence in yourself.” Geese can mean “your tendency to go with the crowd” or that “you are well grounded.” But unhappiness or sadness for someone else “may be a projection of your own feelings.” Walking on top of something, that is, walking with ease, signifies “a slow, but steady progress toward your goals.”

So, according to the list, at the time of this dream, “I was combining my female aspects with a spiritual awakening through a renewal of meditation and spirituality and willing to pay the price to move forward on my path in life. To bring this about I was overcoming my lack of self-confidence and my tendency to go along with what others want in order to achieve my goals.” Not bad, really, but to be honest, I didn’t need my dream to tell me that.

The Parallel Interpretation

Actually, I am really tempted by this one. The idea is that during dreaming, some insubstantial part of ourselves (call it whatever you want) goes off exploring alternate worlds, sometimes as an observer and sometimes as a participant. These worlds may have different laws of physics than the world we are used to, and this would explain many of the strange properties of dreams. Some worlds may be so different that we can’t relate to them, and this would explain why we forget them so fast or are unable to record them.

If you are a fan of far-out physics, science fiction, or fantasy, there is a lot to like about this interpretation.

A Shamanic Interpretation

A fundamental shamanic idea is that everything is alive, aware, and responsive, which would have to include dream people, places, and things. Shamans are comfortable with talking to trees, rocks, wind, mountains, and so on, and listening to them as well. They can do the same with all the objects, characters, and even events in a dream.

I have found that one of the most insightful ways to interpret a dream is to get yourself into a nice, quiet state of awake awareness with your eyes closed, recall a dream, and ask the different parts of a dream what they are doing and why. You can even talk to the dream as a whole and ask what it is all about. Once you get over any resistance to the “weirdness” of having a conversation with dreams and their content, you might receive some fascinating revelations.

In the Final Analysis

Almost all dream interpretation systems are biased toward learning something about ourselves so that we can improve ourselves physically, emotionally, mentally, or, in some cases, morally. They are supposed to occur for the purpose of guidance, but since dreams are usually so different from ordinary Waking Life experience, many people feel the need for “experts” who can tell us what they mean and what we need to do. Quite often they are interpreted as lessons from higher beings or mysterious parts of ourselves.

None of that makes any sense to me. We can consciously learn far more from Waking Life than we can from trying to find some obscure meaning in a dream. Interpreting dreams can be fun, but most people get along fine without it.

©2017, 2020 by Serge King. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher
Bear & Co, an imprint of Inner Traditions Intl.
www.innertraditions.com

Article Source

Dreaming Techniques: Working with Night Dreams, Daydreams, and Liminal Dreams
by Serge Kahili King

book cover: Dreaming Techniques: Working with Night Dreams, Daydreams, and Liminal Dreams by Serge Kahili KingDreams can change our lives in profound and tangible ways. In this guide to mastering the art of dreaming, Serge Kahili King, Ph.D., explores techniques to harness the power of dreams for healing, transformation, and changing your experience of reality. Drawing on his analysis of more than 5,000 of his own dreams as well as those of students and clients from his almost 50 years of clinical work, he examines the types of night dreams we have, how to remember them better, how to make use of them to improve our health and well-being, and how to interpret them. The book also explores daydreams in depth, including fantasy, guided imagery, meditation, visions, and remote viewing and provides techniques for using daydreams for healing, insight, and creativity. 

For more info and/or to order this book, click here. Also available as a Kindle edition. 

About the Author

photo of Serge Kahili King, Ph.D.Serge Kahili King, Ph.D., is the author of many works on Huna and Hawaiian shamanism, including Urban Shaman and Instant Healing. He has a doctorate in psychology and was trained in shamanism by the Kahili family of Kauai as well as by African and Mongolian shamans. He is the executive director of Huna International, a non-profit worldwide network of individuals who have dedicated themselves to making the world a better place. He lives on the Big Island of Hawaii. Visit his website at http://www.huna.net/

More books by this Author.
 


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Having The Courage To Live Life and Ask For What You Need Or Want.
Having The Courage To Live Life and Ask For What You Need Or Want
by Amy Fish
You need to have the courage to live life. This includes learn­ing to ask for what you need or…
full moon over a hot air balloon
Fear Unceasing or Life Abundant? Blue Moon Cycle in Aquarius
by Sarah Varcas
The period beginning with this first full moon (24 July 2021) and ending with the blue moon (22…
Horoscope Week: July 19 - 25, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: July 19 - 25, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
photo of stinging nettle flowers
Have You Talked to the Weeds in Your Garden Lately?
by Fay Johnstone
As an herbalist I have a very different view of weeds than the average gardener who can’t abide…
The Four Communication Rules and Violations, with an Emphasis on Listening
The Four Communication Rules and Violations, with an Emphasis on Listening
by Jude Bijou
I've found all good communication boils down to just four simple rules. Whether it's with our…
picture of a man writing on sheets of paper
Channeling As A Healing Tool and Its Impact On Grief
by Matthew McKay, PhD.
When my boy died, I had no belief that the dead could talk to us. At best, they seemed gone in…
Digital Distraction and Depression: The 21st Century Scourges
Digital Distraction and Depression: The 21st Century Scourges
by Amit Goswami, Ph.D.
We now have ever-expanding ways to distract and consume attention through the new digital opiate of…
holding up a mask of a man's face
Is There a Right Way of Interpreting Dreams?
by Serge Kahili King
When you give others the authority to interpret your dreams, you are buying in to their beliefs,…

MOST READ

hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil image of children
Death Denial: Is No News Good News?
by Margaret Coberly, Ph.D., R.N.
Most people are so strongly habituated to death denial that when death appears they are caught…
Having The Courage To Live Life and Ask For What You Need Or Want.
Having The Courage To Live Life and Ask For What You Need Or Want
by Amy Fish
You need to have the courage to live life. This includes learn­ing to ask for what you need or…
Writing letters by hand is the best way to learn to read
Writing letters by hand is the best way to learn to read
by Jill Rosen, Johns Hopkins University
Handwriting helps people learn reading skills surprisingly faster and significantly better than…
test your creativity
Here's how to test your creativity potential
by Frederique Mazerolle, McGill University
A simple exercise of naming unrelated words and then measuring the semantic distance between them…
spraying for mosquito 07 20
This new pesticide-free clothing prevents 100% of mosquito bites
by Laura Oleniacz, NC State
New insecticide-free, mosquito-resistant clothing is made from materials researchers have confirmed…
holding up a mask of a man's face
Is There a Right Way of Interpreting Dreams? (Video)
by Serge Kahili King
When you give others the authority to interpret your dreams, you are buying in to their beliefs,…
Digital Distraction and Depression: The 21st Century Scourges
Digital Distraction and Depression: The 21st Century Scourges
by Amit Goswami, Ph.D.
We now have ever-expanding ways to distract and consume attention through the new digital opiate of…
photo of stinging nettle flowers
Have You Talked to the Weeds in Your Garden Lately?
by Fay Johnstone
As an herbalist I have a very different view of weeds than the average gardener who can’t abide…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.