حياة التغييرات

الانهيار أم الاختراق؟ اختيار موقفنا

الانهيار أم الاختراق؟ اختيار موقفنا
الصورة عن طريق بلجاتي ريحان فهرزي 

لكل نكسة ، ابحث عن فرصة. هذا بيان استفزازي ، يصعب قبوله عندما تشعر بالخيانة أو الخزي أو في أعماق الحزن أو الفقد. عندما تفقد وظيفتك ، أو أن شريكك قد انسحب منك ، أو ارتكبت أسوأ خطأ في حياتك ، كيف يمكنك قبول فكرة أنه من خلال ما تسقط ، يمكنك النهوض؟

عندما تشعر بالسحق بسبب جائحة عالمي أعاق حياتك وربما كلفك صحتك أو مصدر رزقك أو قدرتك على تنفس الهواء النقي في الخارج بدون قناع للوجه ، فما الهدية التي يمكنك أن تجدها في هذا الموقف؟

ليس لديك ما تخسره بالمتابعة كأنماعلى الرغم من المظهر ، قد يكون هناك هدية في الخسارة. يمكنك أن تقول لنفسك ، "حسنًا. نزل ذلك عبر الأنبوب. هذا الباب مغلق. انتظر دقيقة. إذا كان هذا الباب مغلقًا ، فأين الباب الذي قد يُفتح؟ "

رولينج ، التي عانت من الرفض مرارًا وتكرارًا قبل أن تجد ناشرًا على استعداد لتحمله هاري بوتر، ضعها على هذا النحو في خطاب التخرج لعام 2013 في هارفارد:

"من المستحيل أن تعيش دون أن تفشل في شيء ما ، إلا إذا كنت تعيش بحذر شديد لدرجة أنك ربما لم تعش على الإطلاق - وفي هذه الحالة ، تفشل بشكل افتراضي. . . . إن معرفة أنك خرجت أكثر حكمة وأقوى من النكسات تعني أنك ، بعد ذلك ، آمن في قدرتك على البقاء. لن تعرف نفسك حقًا أبدًا ، أو قوة علاقاتك ، حتى يتم اختبار كليهما بسبب الشدائد ".

قد ترغب في النظر في حالات الأشخاص الذين تعرضوا للضرب الوحشي من قبل الحياة فقط لكي يقوموا مرة أخرى ، ويظهر لنا أنه يمكن أن يكون هناك هدية عظيمة في الجرح. أفكر في هارييت توبمان ، أشهر موصلة للسكك الحديدية تحت الأرض ، والتي ساعدت مئات العبيد الهاربين على الهروب إلى الحرية في الشمال في السنوات التي سبقت الحرب الأهلية الأمريكية. في سن الحادية عشرة تقريبًا ، كادت أن تموت عندما أصيبت في جبهتها بوزن رصاصي يبلغ وزنه XNUMX رطل ألقاها مشرف غاضب. حملت الندبة لبقية حياتها.

كان من آثار الجرح أنها طورت شكلاً من أشكال الخدار الذي تطلب منها أن تأخذ "نومًا" قصيرًا ومفاجئًا في منتصف أي نوع من النشاط. خلال تلك "النوم" رأت رؤى تبين لها الطرق وممرات الأنهار والبيوت الآمنة التي كانت قادرة على توجيه العبيد الهاربين إليها ، وتجنب ممتلكات أصحاب العبيد.

الانهيار أو الاختراق

في طريق التحول ، تصل إلى نقطة تنكسر فيها أو تخترقها. في بعض الأحيان يكون الانهيار شرطًا للاختراق.

في الخامسة والعشرين ، كان المتسلق البريطاني جو سيمبسون يتسلق الوجه الغربي لسيولا غراندي ، وهو جبل في جبال الأنديز في بيرو. بالقرب من القمة ، سقط وكسرت ساقه ، واضطر شريكه إلى تركه على سفح الجبل. لقد اقترب جدا من الموت.

التفكير في كيفية تطور حياته لو كان ليس كتب في لقاء وثيق مع الموت على الجبل لمس الفراغ,


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

"كنت سأستمر في تسلق طرق أكثر صعوبة وأصعب مع مخاطر أكبر في كل مرة. بالنظر إلى عدد الأصدقاء على مر السنين ، لست واثقًا من أنني سأعيش اليوم. في تلك الأيام كنت متسلق جبال مفلسًا ، ضيق الأفق ، فوضويًا ، كاشطًا وطموحًا. لقد فتح الحادث لي عالماً جديداً بالكامل. بدونها لم أكن لأكتشف المواهب الخفية في الكتابة والخطابة ".

قد يتطلب الأمر قدرًا معقولاً من وقت كرونوس لتقدير ما أسماه رالف والدو إمرسون "تعويضات الكارثة". كتب أن مثل هذه التعويضات تصبح واضحة "بعد فترات طويلة من الزمن. إن الحمى ، والتشويه ، وخيبة الأمل القاسية ، وفقدان الثروة ، وفقدان الأصدقاء ، تبدو في الوقت الحالي خسارة غير مدفوعة ، وغير قابلة للدفع. لكن السنوات المؤكدة تكشف عن القوة العلاجية التي تكمن وراء كل الحقائق ".

التصور الصاعد

يقال أن المرض هو الشكل الغربي للتأمل. قد تكون الكارثة بوابة عالمية للتحول ، إذا كنا قادرين على التعرف على الفرصة التعليمية ، واغتنامها ، واستخدامها للاختراق بدلاً من الانهيار.

لم يسجل الإمبراطور الفيلسوف ماركوس أوريليوس أفكاره للنشر أو الأجيال القادمة. كتبها كمذكرات لنفسه ولم يتصل بها Meditations، وهو عنوان منحه محرر لاحق كثيرًا. لو رأيته يصوره ريتشارد هاريس في الفيلم مجالد, أنت تعلم أن ماركوس (حتى لو سمحت بالمبالغة في الكتابة) لم يعيش حياة فيلسوف مجرد كرسي بذراعين ولم يكن محظوظًا في شخصية عائلته أو دولة إمبراطوريته المحاصرة.

ومع ذلك ، في خضم المشاجرة ، كتب ليؤسس ويحافظ على منظور الشاهد للأحداث الشائكة من حوله ، صاغ مبدأين يبدو لي أنهما قواعد أساسية للحياة. الأول هو أن حياتنا مصبوغة بألوان خيالنا.

والثاني يذهب على النحو التالي: "قد يتم إعاقة أفعالنا. . . ولكن لا يمكن أن يكون هناك ما يعيق نوايانا أو تصرفاتهم. لأننا نستطيع التكيف والتكيف. العقل يتكيف ويتحول إلى أغراضه عقبة أمام تصرفنا ". باختصار: "إن العائق أمام العمل يدفع إلى الأمام. ما يقف في الطريق يصبح هو الطريق ".

يا لها من دعوة رائعة للتغلب على استجابتنا الانعكاسية للشدائد والبحث عن فرصة في العقبة والهدية في التحدي!

لا يتعلق الأمر بإخبار نفسك أن كل شيء جيد. حول يصنعون انها جيدة.

اختيار موقفنا وتعديل تصوراتنا

العقبة في حد ذاتها أقل أهمية من كيفية رؤيتنا لها والاستجابة لها. لدينا القدرة على اختيار موقفنا وتعديل تصوراتنا. في الطرف الآخر من الطيف الاجتماعي للإمبراطور ، نصح فيلسوف رواقي آخر ، العبد السابق إبيكتيتوس ، أنه عندما تواجه عقبة ، نحتاج إلى التراجع وإلقاء نظرة رائعة وفاحصة: "لا تدع قوة الانطباع عندما يضربك لأول مرة يزعجك عن قدميك. قل لها: انتظر لحظة ، دعني أرى من أنت وماذا تمثل. دعني أضعك على المحك ".

قد لا يكون هذا سهلاً عندما تكون عالقًا في عاصفة الحزن أو الغضب أو خيبة الأمل المريرة التي تأتي في مواجهة خيبة أمل أو جرح أو خسارة أو عار أو خيانة. قد نضطر إلى الكفاح من أجل الارتقاء إلى منظور الشاهد ورؤية الصورة الأكبر. يصبح هذا أسهل عندما نتبنى ممارسة النظر إلى الماضي في حياتنا لمعرفة ما إذا كان هناك شيء جيد ناتج عن موقف سيء.

التحدي والهدية: اختيار قصصنا

هناك هدية في كل تحد. لقد دعوت المشاركين في إحدى خلواتي للتفكير في وقت التحدي في حياتهم الذي يعتقدون ، بعد فوات الأوان ، أنه قد يكون قد جلب هدية كبيرة. وقد ألهم هذا البحث الذاتي العميق ومجموعة غنية من التجارب الكبيرة والصغيرة التي توضح فكرة أن العقبة قد تكون هي الطريق.

لتحقيق أحلام كبيرة ، يجب أن نتعلم الخروج من القصص القديمة المتعبة المنسوجة من الفشل الماضي وتاريخ العائلة والإدراك المحدود والدخول في قصص أكبر وأكثر شجاعة. ونريد أن نتعامل مع كل يوم على أنه فرصة لاختيار قصة جديدة أو إنشاء قصة جديدة. هذا مهم للغاية عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتغلب على الأشياء السيئة وتحويل الشدائد إلى تعليم.

قبل جائحة فيروس كورونا ، قضيت نصف أيامي في السفر حول ورش العمل الرائدة في العالم ، وواجهت الكثير من المطبات على طول الطريق: تأخيرات الرحلات الجوية ، وفقدان الاتصالات ، والإقامة الليلية غير المجدولة في فنادق المطارات. كانت إستراتيجيتي للبقاء هي البحث عن قصص جديدة في كل رحلة. غالبًا ما أسأل الشخص الغريب بجواري في مقعد الطائرة ، "ما قصتك؟"

أنتج هذا بعض الردود المدهشة. لقد لاحظت أن أفضل القصص يتم إنشاؤها عندما يحدث خطأ ما. عندما تكون خارج الجدول الزمني ، أو عندما يفوتك اتصالك أو تم تبديل خط سير الرحلة ، تدخل طاقة المحتال. إذا كان بإمكانك تجنب إظهار اضطراب الشخصية من النوع أ والتوقف عن القلق بشأن شيء لا يمكنك إصلاحه ، فقد تجد نفسك مستمتعًا بفرصة لقاء رائعة ستمنحك قصة جديدة ليومك. 

في مدح الكتل

قد تكون الكتل التي نواجهها على طرقنا - سواء كانت في أنفسنا أو في ظروفنا أو في كليهما - معلمين ومساعدين ، فضلاً عن كونها جزءًا من دورات الحياة. يمكن أن تدفعنا الكتلة إلى اكتشاف اتجاه جديد ، وتحفزنا على تطوير مهارات جديدة وشجاعة وقدرة على التحمل ، أو تقودنا إلى إعادة النظر إلى ما يهم حقًا في الحياة. قد نجد أن العقبات التي نواجهها في مسارات حياتنا يمكن أن تنقذنا من الأخطاء المعقدة ، وتجعلنا نلقي نظرة أطول على قضايانا ، وتشجعنا على تغيير الاتجاه وملاحظة الخيارات الأفضل.

قد ندرك حتى أن اليد الخفية تضع بعض هذه العقبات في طريقنا. إذا تمكنا من إجراء التعديلات اللازمة في المواقف ، فقد نجد ، مثل ماركوس أوريليوس ، أن "ما يقف في الطريق يصبح هو الطريق".

أنا لا آتي لأدفن الكتل ، ولكن لأمدحها. أنا أتحدث عن مطبات السرعة التي نواجهها على طرق الحياة. تبدو أحيانًا مثل جدران من الطوب الصلب أو جبال في طريقنا. في بعض الأحيان نشعر أننا وصلنا إلى باب لا يفتح ، مهما كنا نضغط بشدة أو مهما حاولنا العديد من المفاتيح.

ذات مرة كان لدي هذا الشعور بالضبط ، بأنني أتيت إلى باب في حياتي لن يفتح. اعتقدت أن كل ما أريده يقع خلف هذا الباب. لكنني ببساطة لم أستطع المرور. شعرت بالإحباط والإرهاق من المحاولة ، وجلست على كرسي مريح بعد ظهر أحد الأيام وفجأة راودتني رؤية تلقائية لوضعي. رأيت نفسي أضرب حتى تلطخت مفاصلي بالدماء على باب كبير من خشب البلوط محاط بالحديد. نعم ، هكذا كان الأمر.

بدأ مقطع فيلم صغير يتكشف في وعيي. لقد كان نوعًا من أفلام الأحلام حيث لا تكون مراقبًا فحسب ، بل يمكنك الدخول مباشرة إلى الحدث. عندما انزلقت إلى وضع نفسي الثانية ، شعرت بنوع من الوخز في مؤخرة رقبتي. استدرت - الآن داخل الرؤية بالكامل - لأرى شخصية محتال أنيقة تلوح لي من مسافة إلى يميني. كان يقف في منتصف ممر. وخلفه كان مشهد رائع الجمال ، مع منزل جميل على تل فوق بساتين مليئة بالفواكه والأشجار المزهرة في إزهار كامل. كنت أعرف ، في تلك اللحظة ، أن كل ما كنت أبحث عنه كان يمر عبر هذا الممر.

وبينما كنت أتحرك نحوه ثم من خلاله ، استدرت لمحاولة فهم القصة بأكملها. لقد لاحظت شيئين. وبينما كانت إحدى يديه ، كان حارس البوابة يشير إليّ باتجاه ممر الفرص ، بيد أنه كان يمسك الباب الذي رفض إغلاق الباب بإحكام. خلف ذلك الباب كان هناك ما يشبه الزنزانة ، مكان للحبس. كنت أضيع طاقاتي في محاولة عبثية لوضع نفسي في المكان الخطأ.

حملت التوجيه من هذه الرؤية ، بمنظورها الدرامي والموضوعي ، إلى حياتي على الفور. تركت العمل في مشروع معين وأنهيت علاقة مهنية معينة. سرعان ما وجدت نفسي ، بمعنى إبداعي ، في ذلك المكان الرائع للأشجار المزهرة.

لقد تعلمت من هذه التجربة شيئًا أعتقد أنه وثيق الصلة بنا جميعًا في أوقات معينة من التحدي في الحياة. عندما تشعر بأنك محجوب بشكل ميؤوس منه ، تحقق مما إذا كانت الكتلة هي بالفعل إشارة لاختيار طريقة أفضل للمضي قدمًا. وراء تلك الكتلة التي تبدو مستعصية على ما يبدو ، قد يكون حارس البوابة الذي يعارض تقدمك على المسار الذي اختاره عقلك اليومي من أجل دفعك إلى الالتفاف وإيجاد طريقة أفضل.

يمكن أن تكون كتلنا أصدقاء لنا

هذه ليست سوى واحدة من الطرق التي قد تكون كتلنا أصدقاء لنا. قد نكون على الطريق الصحيح ، لكن هذا المسار قد يتضمن تحديات هي اختبارات ضرورية ، تتطلب منا تطوير الشجاعة والمهارات للمضي قدمًا. كما قال ديون فورتشن ذات مرة ، قد تكون الكتلة بمثابة "كتلة دفع" ، مثل تلك المستخدمة من قبل العدائين في بداية السباق.

في كل عتبة رئيسية في رحلات حياتنا ، من المحتمل أن نواجه شكلاً من أشكال Dweller on the Threshold ، وهي قوة تتحدىنا للشجاعة والارتقاء إلى مستوى جديد. في مواجهة مثل هذا التحدي - والمقاومة الداخلية التي تأتي معه - لدينا خيار. يمكننا الانهيار أو الاختراق.

أنا أؤيد الاختراق. ستعلمنا الممارسة عندما يتطلب ذلك المضي قدمًا ، على الرغم من الكتلة ، وعندما نحتاج إلى تغيير الاتجاه والالتفاف حول الكتلة.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
جديد المكتبة العالمية، نوفاتو، كاليفورنيا. © 2020 بواسطة موس روبرت.
www.newworldlibrary.com
أو 800-972-6657 تحويلة. 52.

المادة المصدر

تزايد الأحلام الكبيرة: إظهار رغبات قلبك من خلال اثني عشر سرًا من أسرار الخيال
بواسطة روبرت موس.

تزايد الأحلام الكبيرة: إظهار رغبات قلبك من خلال اثني عشر أسرار من الخيال لروبرت موس.تزايد الأحلام الكبيرة هي دعوة شغوفة وعملية لاجتياز بوابات الأحلام والخيال للتغلب على الأوقات الصعبة ، والشروع في مغامرات السفر دون مغادرة المنزل ، وتنمي رؤية لحياة غنية وقوية للغاية تريد أن تترسخ في العالم. تعتبر الأحلام ، ذات الأهمية الحيوية اليوم أكثر من أي وقت مضى ، أداة متاحة للجميع.

للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.  متاح أيضًا كإصدار Kindle وككتاب مسموع.

المزيد من الكتب كتبها هذا الكاتب.

عن المؤلف 

روبرت موس، كاتب المقال: اكتشاف جوانب النفس التي تبحث في مرآة التارو

روبرت موس وُلد في أستراليا ، وبدأ افتتانه بعالم الأحلام في طفولته ، عندما كان لديه ثلاث تجارب قريبة من الموت وتعلم لأول مرة طرق الأشخاص التقليديين الذين يحلمون من خلال صداقته مع السكان الأصليين. وهو مبتكر مدرسة الأحلام النشطة ، وهي توليفة أصيلة من أعمال الأحلام الحديثة والممارسات الشامانية والصوفية القديمة. يقود ورش عمل شهيرة في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بما في ذلك تدريب لمدة ثلاث سنوات لمعلمي Active Dreaming ودورات عبر الإنترنت لشبكة Shift. قم بزيارته عبر الإنترنت على www.mossdreams.com.

فيديو / مقابلة مع روبرت موس: تنمية الأحلام الكبيرة وإظهار رغبات قلبك | أنت أنت

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

أصوات INNERSELF

مجموعة من الأفراد متعددي الأعراق يقفون لالتقاط صورة جماعية
سبع طرق لإظهار الاحترام لفريقك المتنوع (فيديو)
by كيلي ماكدونالد
الاحترام له مغزى عميق ، لكنه لا يكلف شيئًا لتقديمه. فيما يلي الطرق التي يمكنك من خلالها التوضيح (و ...
الفيل يمشي أمام غروب الشمس
نظرة فلكية عامة وتوقعات الأبراج: 16 - 22 مايو 2022
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
صورة ليو بوسكاليا من غلاف كتابه: العيش والمحبة والتعلم
كيف تغير حياة شخص ما في بضع ثوان
by جويس Vissell
تغيرت حياتي بشكل كبير عندما أخذ شخص ما تلك الثانية للإشارة إلى جمالي.
صورة مركبة للخسوف الكلي للقمر
نظرة فلكية عامة وتوقعات الأبراج: 9 - 15 مايو 2022
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
05 08 تطوير التفكير الرحيم 2593344 مكتمل
تنمية التفكير الرحيم تجاه الذات والآخرين
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
عندما يتحدث الناس عن التعاطف ، فإنهم في الغالب يشيرون إلى التعاطف مع الآخرين ... من أجل ...
رجل يكتب رسالة
كتابة الحقيقة والسماح للعواطف بالتدفق
by باربارا بيرجر
تدوين الأشياء طريقة جيدة لممارسة قول الحقيقة.
زوجان شابان يرتديان أقنعة واقية ويقفان على جسر
جسر للشفاء: عزيزي فيروس كورونا ...
by لورا أفرسانو
يمثل جائحة فيروس كورونا تيارًا في مجالات الواقع النفسية والجسدية لدينا ...
صورة ظلية لشخص يجلس أمام كلمات مثل الحنون ، اليقظة ، القبول ، إلخ.
الإلهام اليومي: 6 مايو 2022
by ماري تي ، راسل ، InnerSelf.com
أي نوع من المعلمين يعيش في رأسك؟
إحياء المبدع النار مكافآت بنا مع الطاقة والطاقة
إحياء المبدع النار مكافآت بنا مع الطاقة والطاقة
by نورا كارون
داخل أنفسنا نمتلك بذور إبداع عظيم. عادة ما نخاف من قوتنا الخاصة ...
الانفصال ليس عن البرد والبعيد
الانفصال ليس عن البرد والبعيد
by نورا كارون
أثناء نشأتي واجهت الكثير من المشاكل في إبعاد نفسي عن مشاكل الآخرين. كان لدي كل ...
الثقة بالنفس هو دليلنا الوحيد على المسار غير المرئي
الثقة بالنفس هو دليلنا الوحيد على المسار غير المرئي
by تشارلز ايزنشتاين
مع تقدم العمر ، بدأ ملايين الأشخاص في الانتقال من العالم القديم إلى العالم الجديد. هو - هي…

الأكثر قراءة

05 08 تطوير التفكير الرحيم 2593344 مكتمل
تنمية التفكير الرحيم تجاه الذات والآخرين (فيديو)
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
عندما يتحدث الناس عن التعاطف ، فإنهم في الغالب يشيرون إلى التعاطف مع الآخرين ... من أجل ...
التسوق عندما يحبك الله 4 8
كيف يؤدي الشعور بحب الله إلى تقليل الإنفاق على تحسين الذات
by جامعة ديوك
المسيحيون الروحيون أو المتدينون هم أقل عرضة لشراء منتجات تحسين الذات ...
مادة النخالة الرمادية والبيضاء 4 7
فهم مسألة الرمادي والأبيض في الدماغ
by كريستوفر فيلي ، جامعة كولورادو
دماغ الإنسان هو عضو يزن ثلاثة أرطال ويظل لغزًا إلى حد كبير. لكن معظم الناس سمعوا ...
العيون تتنبأ بالصحة 4 9
ما تكشفه عيناك عن صحتك
by باربرا بيرسيونيك ، جامعة أنجليا روسكين
طور العلماء في جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان دييغو ، تطبيقًا للهواتف الذكية يمكنه ...
صورة قدم شخص حافي يقف على العشب
ممارسات التأريض واستعادة اتصالك بالطبيعة
by جوفانكا سياريس
لدينا جميعًا هذه الصلة بالطبيعة والعالم بأسره: بالأرض والماء والهواء و ...
05 08 تطوير التفكير الرحيم 2593344 مكتمل
تنمية التفكير الرحيم تجاه الذات والآخرين
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
عندما يتحدث الناس عن التعاطف ، فإنهم في الغالب يشيرون إلى التعاطف مع الآخرين ... من أجل ...
رجل يكتب رسالة
كتابة الحقيقة والسماح للعواطف بالتدفق
by باربارا بيرجر
تدوين الأشياء طريقة جيدة لممارسة قول الحقيقة.
صورة ليو بوسكاليا من غلاف كتابه: العيش والمحبة والتعلم
كيف تغير حياة شخص ما في بضع ثوان
by جويس Vissell
تغيرت حياتي بشكل كبير عندما أخذ شخص ما تلك الثانية للإشارة إلى جمالي.

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Life Changes

Breaking Down or Breaking Through? Choosing Our Attitude

Breaking Down or Breaking Through? Choosing Our Attitude
Image by Belajati Raihan Fahrizi 

For every setback, look for opportunity. That is a provocative statement, hard to accept when you feel betrayed or shamed or in the depths of grief or loss. When you have lost your job, or your partner has walked out on you, or you have made the worst mistake of your life, how can you accept the idea that by what you fall, you can rise?

When you feel crushed by a global pandemic that has put a hold on your life and may have cost you your health or your livelihood or your ability to breathe fresh air outside without a face mask, what gift can you find in the situation?

You have nothing to lose by proceeding as if, despite appearance, there may be a gift in the loss. You can try saying to yourself, “Okay. That went down the tube. That door closed. Wait a minute. If that door closed, where’s the door that might be opening?”

J.K. Rowling, who suffered rejection again and again before she found a publisher willing to take on Harry Potter, put it this way in her 2013 commencement speech at Harvard:

“It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all — in which case, you fail by default. . . . The knowledge that you have emerged wiser and stronger from setbacks means that you are, ever after, secure in your ability to survive. You will never truly know yourself, or the strength of your relationships, until both have been tested by adversity.”

You may want to consider the cases of people who have been savagely beaten down by life only to rise again, showing us that there can be a tremendous gift in a wound. I think of Harriet Tubman, the most famous conductor of the Underground Railroad, who helped hundreds of fugitive slaves to escape to freedom in the North in the years before the American Civil War. At about age eleven, she was nearly killed when she was hit in the forehead by a two-pound lead weight hurled by an angry overseer. She carried the scar for the rest of her life.

One of the effects of the wound was that she developed a form of narcolepsy that required her to take short and sudden “sleeps” in the middle of any kind of activity. It was during those “sleeps” that she saw visions showing her the roads and river fords and safe houses to which she was able to guide escaping slaves, avoiding the slave owners’ posses.

Breaking Down or Breaking Through

On a path of transformation, you come to a point where you break down or you break through. Sometimes the breakdown is a condition for the breakthrough.

At twenty-five, British climber Joe Simpson was climbing the west face of Siula Grande, a mountain in the Peruvian Andes. Near the top, he fell and broke his leg, and his partner had to leave him on the mountainside. He came very close to death.

Reflecting on how his life would have unfolded had he not had a close encounter with death on the mountain, he wrote in Touching the Void,

“I would have gone on to climb harder and harder routes taking greater risks every time. Given the toll of friends over the years I’m not confident I would be alive today. In those days I was a penniless, narrow-minded, anarchic, abrasive and ambitious mountaineer. The accident opened up a whole new world for me. Without it I would never have discovered hidden talents for writing and public speaking.”

A fair amount of Chronos time may be required to appreciate what Ralph Waldo Emerson called “the compensations of calamity.” He wrote that such compensations become apparent “after long intervals of time. A fever, a mutilation, a cruel disappointment, a loss of wealth, a loss of friends, seems at the moment unpaid loss, and unpayable. But the sure years reveal the remedial force that underlies all facts.”

Upending Perception

It’s been said that illness is the Western form of meditation. Calamity may be a universal gateway to transformation, if we are able to recognize the educational opportunity, seize it, and use it to break through rather than break down.

The philosopher emperor Marcus Aurelius did not record his thoughts for publication or posterity; he wrote them as memos for himself and did not call them Meditations, a title bestowed by a much later editor. If you have seen him portrayed by Richard Harris in the movie Gladiator, you know that (even allowing for scripting hyperbole) Marcus did not live the life of a mere armchair philosopher and was not fortunate in the character of his family or the state of his beleaguered empire.

Nonetheless, in the midst of the fray, writing to establish and maintain a witness perspective on the broiling events around him, he formulated two principles that seem to me to be essential rules of life. The first is that our lives are dyed in the colors of our imag­inations.

The second goes like this: “Our actions may be impeded. . . but there can be no impeding our intentions or their dispositions. Because we can accommodate and adapt. The mind adapts and converts to its purposes the obstacle to our acting.” In summary: “The impediment to action advances action. What stands in the way becomes the way.”

What a magnificent invitation to upend our reflexive response to adversity and seek the opportunity in the obstacle and the gift in the challenge!

It’s not about telling yourself that it’s all good. It’s about making it good.

Choosing Our Attitude and Adjusting Our Perception

The obstacle in itself is less important than how we see it and respond to it. We have the power to choose our attitude and adjust our perception. At the other end of the social spectrum from the emperor, another Stoic philosopher, the former slave Epictetus, counseled that when presented with an obstacle we need to step back and take a cool, hard look: “Don’t let the force of an impression when it first hits you knock you off your feet. Say to it: Hold on for a mo­ment, let me see who you are and what you represent. Let me put you to the test.”

This may not be easy when you’re caught in the storm of grief or rage or bitter disappointment that comes in the face of a letdown, a wound, a loss, a shaming, or a betrayal. We may have to struggle to rise to a witness perspective and see the larger picture. This gets easier when we adopt the practice of looking back on our lives to see if something good came out of a bad situation.

The Challenge and the Gift: Choosing Our Stories

There is a gift in every challenge. I invited participants in one of my retreats to reflect on a time of challenge in their lives that they think, in hindsight, may have brought a significant gift. This inspired deep self-searching and a rich array of experiences large and small illustrating the notion that the obstacle may be the way.

To grow big dreams, we must learn to step out of the tired old stories woven from past failures and family histories and limited perception and step into bigger and braver stories. And we want to approach every day as the chance to choose a new story or create one. This is vitally important when it comes to weathering the bad stuff and turning adversity into an education.

Before the corona-virus pandemic, I spent half my days traveling round the world leading workshops, and I ran into plenty of bumps along the way: flight delays, missed connections, unscheduled overnight stays at airport hotels. My survival strategy was to look for new stories on every trip. I would often ask the stranger next to me in an airplane seat, “What is your story?”

This produced some amazing responses. I have noticed that the best stories are generated when something goes wrong. When you are off schedule, when you have missed your connection or your itinerary has been switched, a trickster energy comes into play. If you can avoid demonstrating type A personality disorder and stop worrying about something you can’t fix, you may find yourself enjoying an amazing chance encounter that will give you a fresh new story for your day. 

In Praise of Blocks

The blocks we encounter on our roads — whether they are in ourselves, in our circumstances, or in both — may be teachers and helpers, as well as part of life’s cycles. A block can drive us to discover a new direction, spur us to develop new skills and courage and stamina, or lead us to look again at what really matters in life. We may find that obstacles we encounter on our life paths can save us from compounding mistakes, make us take a longer view of our issues, and encourage us to shift direction and notice better options.

We may even come to recognize that a hidden hand places some of these obstacles in our way. If we can make the necessary attitude adjustments, we may find, like Marcus Aurelius, that “what stands in the way becomes the way.”

I come not to bury blocks, but to praise them. I am talking about the speed bumps we encounter on the roads of life. Sometimes they look like solid brick walls or mountains set in our way. Sometimes we feel we have come to a door that won’t open, however hard we pound or however many keys we try.

I once had exactly that sense, of coming to a door in my life that would not open. I believed that everything I most wanted lay behind that door. But I simply could not get through. Frustrated, exhausted by trying, I slumped into an easy chair one afternoon and suddenly had a spontaneous vision of my situation. I saw myself beating until my knuckles were bloody on a great oak door banded with iron. Yep, that’s how it was.

A little movie clip began to unfold in my consciousness. It was the kind of dream movie where you are not only the observer but can step right into the action. Slipping into the situation of my second self, I felt a kind of prickling at the back of my neck. I turned — now fully inside the vision — to see an elegant trickster-ish figure beckoning to me from some distance to my right. He was standing in the middle of an archway. Behind him was a scene of great beauty, with a lovely house on a hill above orchards heavy with fruit and flowering trees in full blossom. I knew, in that instant, that everything I was seeking lay through this archway.

As I moved toward it and then through it, I turned to try to understand the whole story. I noticed two things. While with one hand, the Gatekeeper was beckoning me toward the archway of opportunity, with the other hand he was holding the door that had refused me firmly shut. Behind that door was something like a jail cell, a place of confinement. I had been wasting my energies in a vain attempt to put myself into the wrong place.

I carried guidance from this vision, with its dramatic and objective perspective, into my life immediately. I abandoned work on a certain project and ended a certain professional relationship. I soon found myself, in a creative sense, in that wonderful place of the flowering trees.

I learned from this experience something I believe to be relevant to all of us at particular times of challenge in life. When you feel hopelessly blocked, check whether the block is actually a signal to choose a better way forward. Behind that seemingly insuperable block may be a Gatekeeper who is opposing your progress on the path your everyday mind has chosen in order to get you to turn around and find a better way.

Our Blocks Can Be Our Friends

This is only one of the ways in which our blocks may be our friends. We may be on the right path, but that path may include challenges that are necessary tests, requiring us to develop the courage and the skills to go forward. As Dion Fortune once put it, the block may be a “thrust-block,” like that used by sprinters at the start of a race.

At every major threshold in our life journeys, we are likely to encounter some form of the Dweller on the Threshold, a power that challenges us to brave up and rise to a new level. Faced with such a challenge — and the inner resistance that comes with it — we have a choice. We can break down or break through.

I am in favor of breaking through. Practice will teach us when that requires moving forward, despite the block, and when we need to shift direction and go around the block.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New World Library, Novato, CA. ©2020 by Robert Moss.
www.newworldlibrary.com
or 800-972-6657 ext. 52.

Article Source

Growing Big Dreams: Manifesting Your Heart’s Desires through Twelve Secrets of the Imagination
by Robert Moss.

Growing Big Dreams: Manifesting Your Heart’s Desires through Twelve Secrets of the Imagination by Robert Moss.Growing Big Dreams is a passionate yet practical call to step through the gates of dreams and imagination to weather tough times, embark on travel adventures without leaving home, and grow a vision of a life so rich and strong it wants to take root in the world. Vitally relevant today more than ever, dreams are a tool available to all.

For More Info or to Order This Book.  Also available as a Kindle edition and as an Audiobook.

More books by this author.

About the Author 

Robert Moss, author of the article: Discovering Aspects of the Self by Looking in a Tarot Mirror

Robert Moss was born in Australia, and his fascination with the dreamworld began in his childhood, when he had three near-death experiences and first learned the ways of a traditional dreaming people through his friendship with Aborigines. He is the creator of the School of Active Dreaming, an original synthesis of modern dreamwork and ancient shamanic and mystical practices. He leads popular workshops all over the world, including a three-year training for teachers of Active Dreaming and online courses for the Shift Network. Visit him online at www.mossdreams.com.

Video/Interview with Robert Moss: Growing Big Dreams & Manifesting Your Heart's Desires | The You-est YOU

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

INNERSELF VOICES

man and dog in front of giant sequoia trees in California
The Art of Constant Wonder: Thank you, Life, for this day
by Pierre Pradervand
One of the greatest secrets of life is to know how to constantly marvel at existence and at the…
Photo: Total Solar Eclipse on August 21, 2017.
Horoscope: Week of November 29 - December 5, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
young boy looking through binoculars
The Power of Five: Five Weeks, Five Months, Five Years
by Shelly Tygielski
At times, we have to let go of what is to make room for what will be. Of course, the very idea of…
man eating fast food
It's Not About the Food: Overeating, Addictions, and Emotions
by Jude Bijou
What if I told you a new diet called the "It's Not About the Food" is gaining popularity and…
woman dancing in the middle of an empty highway with a city skyline in the background
Having the Courage to Be True to Ourselves
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Each one of us is a unique individual, and thus it seems to follow that each one of us has a…
Lunar eclipse through colored clouds. Howard Cohen, November 18, 2021, Gainesville, FL
Horoscope: Week of November 22 - 28, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
a young boy climbing to the top of a rock formation
A Positive Way Forward Is Possible Even in the Darkest Times
by Elliott Noble-Holt
Falling into a rut doesn’t mean we have to stay there. Even when it can seem like an insurmountable…
woman wearing a crown of flowers staring with an unwavering gaze
Hold That Unwavering Gaze! Lunar and Solar Eclipses November-December 2021
by Sarah Varcas
This second and final eclipse season of 2021 began on 5th November and features a lunar eclipse in…
Recovering Our Vastness and Becoming The 5D Humans We Were Always Meant To Be
Recovering Our Vastness and Becoming The 5D Humans We Were Always Meant To Be
by Judith Corvin-Blackburn
We walk around our planet typically living, seeing, and responding from our third-dimensional…
When God Shows Up on Earth as You and Me
When God Shows Up on Earth as You and Me
by Alan Cohen
God manifests divinity by way of people. We are the windows through which heaven shines into the…
Falling Off The Pedestal: Perfection Is An Illusion
Falling Off The Pedestal: Perfection Is An Illusion
by Marie T. Russell
Sometimes we put others on pedestals – this often happens in new relationships, whether with a love…

Selected for InnerSelf Magazine

MOST READ

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
by Jackie Cassell, Professor of Primary Care Epidemiology, Honorary Consultant in Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
The precarious economies of many traditional seaside towns have declined still further since the…
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
by Sonja Grace
As you experience being an earth angel, you will discover that the path of service is riddled with…
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
by Barbara Berger
One of the biggest things I've discovered working with clients everyday is how extremely difficult…
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
by Lucy Delap, University of Cambridge
The 1970s anti-sexist men’s movement had an infrastructure of magazines, conferences, men’s centres…
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
by Susan Campbell, Ph.D.
According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught…
An Astrologer introduces the Nine Dangers of Astrology
An Astrologer introduces the Nine Dangers of Astrology
by Tracy Marks
Astrology is a powerful art, capable of enhancing our lives by enabling us to understand our own…
Giving Up All Hope Could Be Beneficial For You
Giving Up All Hope Could Be Beneficial For You
by Jude Bijou, M.A., M.F.T.
If you're waiting for a change and frustrated it's not happening, maybe it would be beneficial to…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.