Comment développer le courage et sortir de votre zone de confort

visage de femme flottant dans l'eau
Image Joey Velasquez (image colorisée par InnerSelf)


Rapporté par Marie T. Russell. 

Version vidéo

Le courage n'est pas l'absence de peur mais plutôt la décision
que quelque chose d'autre est plus important que la peur.
                                                          -FRANKLIN D. ROOSEVELT

Le courage ne consiste pas à être intrépide face à une situation effrayante. C'est la volonté d'aller de l'avant ou d'agir— malgré ta peur. Il s'agit de trouver la volonté de combler le fossé entre l'endroit où vous êtes et l'endroit où vous voulez être, même si y arriver semble intimidant.

Au fil des années, j'ai appris que peu importe combien de fois j'agis avec courage, je peux toujours compter sur deux choses :

  1. j'aurai peur.

  2. Je dois être assez courageux pour agir de toute façon, même si c'est difficile ou si cela signifie rompre avec les attentes des autres quant à ce que je dois faire.


     Recevez le dernier par courriel

    Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Avoir le courage d'aller de l'avant malgré la peur est toujours un travail difficile et un processus de croissance sans fin.

Le courage de sortir de votre zone de confort

Nous avons probablement tous entendu cette définition couramment citée de la folie : faire la même chose encore et encore, en attendant un résultat différent. Cela s'applique également à la construction de courage. Si vous ne sortez jamais de votre zone de confort et que vous continuez à vous entourer des mêmes personnes, des mêmes perspectives et des mêmes normes, vous ne vous étirez jamais de manière à vous encourager à faire de grands pas dans votre vie. Vous continuerez à jouer la sécurité et vous n'apprendrez jamais à être courageux.

Y a-t-il une situation dans votre vie maintenant que faut du courage pour aller de l'avant ?

Quoi pourrait-il ressembler à prendre des mesures spécifiques ?malgré ta peur ?

Le lauréat de la Médaille d'honneur présidentielle, Desmond Doss, était un objecteur de conscience qui a été enrôlé dans la Seconde Guerre mondiale et tenu de servir dans une certaine mesure malgré ses convictions. Au départ, il a été l'objet de moqueries de la part d'autres soldats pour ses convictions religieuses inébranlables et son refus de porter ou d'utiliser une arme. Plus tard, cependant, il servait comme infirmier de campagne sur l'île d'Okinawa lorsque son unité a été la cible de tirs violents des Japonais. L'unité était piégée au bord d'une falaise et ses camarades soldats ont été exposés et abattus à un rythme alarmant. Plutôt que de se recroqueviller ou de courir, Doss a rapidement installé une civière innovante à l'aide de cordes et de poulies pour abaisser ses camarades blessés le long de la falaise où ils pourraient être éloignés de leur position avancée et soigner leurs blessures. Combattant sans défense et sans armes, il risquait une mort presque certaine alors qu'il faisait tomber près de cinquante hommes de la falaise, leur sauvant la vie.

Ce n'est qu'un exemple de courage implacable dans des conditions extrêmes. Des exemples comme Desmond Doss peuvent alimenter nos niveaux d'énergie et nous inspirer à aller de l'avant dans des situations beaucoup moins dangereuses.

Le courage est important pour trois raisons :

1. Le courage vous amène là où vous voulez être

Vous pouvez avoir de grands rêves, créer votre vision, découvrir vos passions et trouver des mentors qui vous soutiennent, mais si vous ne trouvez jamais le courage de croire en vous et de faire ce premier pas, vous n'arriverez jamais là où vous voulez aller. Vous devez être prêt à quitter ce qui est sûr et confortable afin de laisser de la place à tout le reste. Vous devez être prêt à rompre avec les soi-disant « amis » qui veulent rejeter vos rêves ou vous retenir.

2. Le courage alimente la prochaine fois

Agir lorsque vous savez que quelque chose est infaillible ne nécessite pas de courage. Mais tenter quelque chose, même en sachant que vous pourriez échouer, est la clé pour apprendre qu'il n'y a pas de honte à échouer. Chaque échec est simplement l'occasion de se rendre compte qu'il est possible de se relever après une chute, d'apprendre de l'expérience et bien sûr de corriger. Beaucoup de gens formidables ont connu des échecs et se sont rétablis. Comme eux, vous pouvez apprendre de vos expériences et faire mieux la prochaine fois. Le courage est ce qui alimente l'élan pour se relever et faire mieux la « prochaine fois ».

3. Le courage se construit sur lui-même

Plus nous montrons et pratiquons le courage, plus nous gagnons en confiance. Et plus nous gagnons en confiance, moins nous devenons craintifs. La vie personnelle et professionnelle de tout individu présente inévitablement des défis et des opportunités qui semblent intimidants. Faire face à chacun d'eux de manière proactive, un par un, peut vous aider à littéralement vous entraîner à avoir du courage face à ces défis. Plus vous réussissez à utiliser votre courage pour avancer vers votre prochaine étape, plus vous aurez de chances d'apprendre à voir à quel point vous êtes vraiment résilient.

Comment puis-je développer le courage?

Étape 1. Pratiquez

La meilleure façon d'être plus courageux est de continuer à essayer. Entraînez-vous à faire preuve de courage de petites et grandes manières et vous constaterez bientôt que la peur diminue un peu à chaque fois, même si elle ne disparaît jamais complètement.

Etape 2. Entourez-vous de personnes courageuses

Pensez aux cinq personnes avec lesquelles vous interagissez le plus souvent. Sont-ils courageux ? Sortent-ils de leur zone de confort des risques pour progresser vers leurs objectifs ? Passer du temps avec d'autres qui nous encouragent à sortir de nos zones de confort est essentiel. Lorsque nous trouvons un groupe de personnes qui vivent courageusement, nous nous nourrissons de leur force et apprenons que nous pouvons commencer à encourager les autres à être également courageux.

Etape 3. Sachez ce que vous appréciez

Lorsque vous savez ce qui est important pour vous, les choses pour lesquelles vous pensez qu'il vaut la peine d'être défendu, il est un peu plus facile de trouver le courage d'agir. Dans l'histoire précédente de Desmond Doss, il défendait ses valeurs et agissait conformément à elles malgré le ridicule initial constant de ses pairs. Il a su faire preuve de courage sans compromettre ses valeurs profondes, et il a réussi bien au-delà de ce que l'on aurait pu attendre de lui.

Etape 4. Soyez responsable

Nous n'avons en aucun cas droit à la réussite dans la vie. Personne ne vous doit un travail ou une meilleure opportunité. Votre destin sera le résultat de ce que you faire, alors apprenez tôt que blâmer vos lacunes sur les autres ne mènera pas au succès. Pointer du doigt n'est jamais productif. La seule façon de réussir personnellement est de comprendre que vous êtes le seul à pouvoir vous amener vers vos rêves, puis de trouver des moyens de vous tenir responsable de prendre ces mesures.

Etape 5. Soyez à l'aise avec l'échec

L'échec est le meilleur professeur que nous puissions avoir. Alors, n'en ayez pas peur. Soyez intelligent dans ce que vous poursuivez, mais acceptez les échecs lorsque vous pouvez en tirer des leçons.

Laquelle de ces cinq idées vous parle le plus ?

Sur quoi pourriez-vous commencer à travailler aujourd'hui pour développer plus de courage dans vos choix de vie ?

Mon histoire

En 2013, j'ai eu l'idée de créer une fête militaire et un événement d'action de grâce pour les anciens combattants de ma ville. J'ai vu un besoin, alors je l'ai laissé rouler dans ma tête pendant un moment. Je l'ai finalement écrit comme un objectif. Il a ensuite figuré sur ma liste d'objectifs pendant quelques années avant que j'en dise quoi que ce soit à qui que ce soit.

Je savais que je n'avais aucune formation ou expérience militaire, et je ne savais même pas comment organiser une telle célébration. Je n'avais qu'un désir de montrer ma gratitude à tous ceux qui avaient tant sacrifié et servi notre pays. Quelqu'un viendrait-il ? Est-ce que les gens penseraient même que c'était une bonne idée ? Et s'il y avait déjà eu des événements comme celui-ci ? Et si personne ne faisait partie d'un comité de planification avec moi ? Et si l'événement n'était pas bien reçu et que je ne trouvais pas de personnes pour le soutenir ?

La peur est ce qui m'a empêché d'avancer.

Mais après avoir revu périodiquement ma liste d'objectifs et m'être rappelé que je n'avais encore rien fait avec cette idée, j'ai trouvé le courage de faire mon premier pas : en parler avec un ami pendant le déjeuner. Je lui ai parlé de ma vision et de la façon dont je pensais que nos anciens combattants de la région bénéficieraient de quelque chose comme ça, et j'ai demandé s'il serait intéressé à m'aider à comprendre comment créer l'événement. Il a dit oui!

Cette seule action m'a donné le courage de discuter du concept avec un autre ami, puis un autre ami. À partir de là, nous avons constitué un comité directeur pour aider à créer le plan et à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour atteindre notre objectif, et l'événement a été lancé environ un an et demi plus tard en 2016. Aujourd'hui, l'Action de grâce des Forces armées est un événement à guichets fermés. réunissant près de 750 personnes chaque année. Il a collecté une somme d'argent importante pour les causes de soutien aux anciens combattants dans l'ouest du Michigan, et il sert également d'événement éducatif pour les élèves du secondaire de la région. L'événement s'étend maintenant à d'autres villes.

Je me suis inspiré d'autres personnes qui avaient déjà créé de nouveaux événements caritatifs qui maintenant, année après année, font une différence dans leurs communautés. Cela m'a aidé à trouver la confiance dont j'avais besoin pour faire mon premier pas en avant. Je sais aussi que mes expériences précédentes – lorsque je me suis entraîné à dépasser la peur de faire quelque chose de nouveau ou de différent – ​​m'ont aidé à trouver le courage d'aller de l'avant, un petit pas gérable à la fois.

Il est facile de regarder en arrière maintenant et de voir comment mon courage face à une idée plutôt intimidante a payé. Mais, il est également important de noter qu'il m'a fallu deux ans pour avoir cette première conversation avec mon ami. J'étais ici, un homme d'affaires de cinquante ans qui avait réussi, mais j'étais toujours aux prises avec les mêmes peurs et insécurités fondamentales que nous avons tous lorsque nous envisageons d'essayer quelque chose de nouveau.

C'est un autre exemple de la façon dont j'ai appris que développer le courage est un voyage qui se construit sur lui-même au fil du temps. Les gens ne deviennent pas soudainement courageux. Nous ne commençons pas tout à coup à agir avec courage dans toutes les situations. Nous grandissons et apprenons toujours, et la pratique continue nous pousse à devenir plus courageux à chaque fois.

Je vis toujours avec des doutes sur ma capacité à atteindre mes objectifs et mes rêves chaque jour. Nous faisons tous. Le courage vient de trouver une façon d'agir malgré avoir ces peurs.

À TON TOUR

Considérez cette citation de Sheryl Sandberg à la lumière de ce que vous avez appris dans ce chapitre : « Veuillez vous demander : que ferais-je si je n'avais pas peur ? Et puis va le faire.

Quelles sont les deux premières mesures que vous pourriez prendre cette semaine pour être plus courageux dans votre vie ?

Premières étapes d'action :

1) ------------------------------------------------ ----------------

2) ------------------------------------------------ ----------------

Mesures à prendre

Où se manifeste le manque de courage dans votre vie ? Pensez à vos amis et pairs actuels :

Énumérez ceux qui ont de grands objectifs :

-------------------------------------------------- --------------

-------------------------------------------------- --------------

-------------------------------------------------- --------------

Dressez la liste de ceux qui pourraient vous empêcher (intentionnellement ou non) de poursuivre vos rêves et de vous fixer des objectifs plus ambitieux dans votre vie :

-------------------------------------------------- --------------

-------------------------------------------------- --------------

-------------------------------------------------- --------------

Revoyez vos échecs et défis passés. Qui ou quoi avez-vous blâmé? Réfléchissez profondément à la façon dont vous pourriez vous éloigner de vos luttes, défis ou mauvais traitements passés qui vous retiennent aujourd'hui et comment vous pouvez vous diriger vers un avenir plus responsable où vous écrivez votre propre succès. Comment pourriez-vous choisir de gérer différemment les défis futurs ?

 * * * * *

Creuser plus profondément - Ressources

LIS

  • Unbroken: Une histoire de survie, de résilience et de rédemption de la Seconde Guerre mondiale par Laura Hillenbrand
  • L'habitude du courage : comment accepter vos peurs, libérer le passé et vivre votre vie courageuse de Kate Swoboda et Bari Tessler
  • Le cahier d'exercices du défi du courage : créer une culture du courage par Cindy Salomon

LISTEN

  • Akimbo : Un podcast de Seth Godin
  • Andy Molinsky : La psychologie pour sortir de sa zone de confort sur L'état d'esprit incomparable

REGARDE

  • Invictus. Celui-ci raconte l'histoire vraie du courage de Nelson Mandela à croire qu'une idée simple pouvait unir tout un pays.
  • Brené Brown: L'appel au courage-Netflix. Dans ce documentaire de 2019, Brené Brown explique ce qu'il faut pour choisir le courage plutôt que le confort dans la culture d'aujourd'hui.
  • Comment développer votre courage | Cindy Solomon — TEDxSonomaCounty 

© 2020 par Peter Ruppert. Tous les droits sont réservés.
Reproduit avec la permission de l'auteur.
Éditeur: Credo House Publishers

Source de l'article

Limitless: neuf étapes pour lancer votre vie unique
par Peter G. Ruppert

couverture du livre: Limitless: Nine Steps to Launch Your One Extraordinary Life par Peter G. RuppertCe livre a été écrit pour ceux, jeunes et moins jeunes, qui ne veulent tout simplement pas se contenter du statu quo ou du « assez bien » et ont des rêves qu'ils veulent poursuivre, pas abandonner. Basé sur des recherches sur des personnes accomplies et sur ses propres expériences personnelles de réussites et d'échecs, Peter G. Ruppert fournit un guide étape par étape pour aider les lecteurs à avoir un impact positif sur la trajectoire de leur propre avenir. Rempli d'exemples concrets pour chaque étape, de ressources d'apprentissage supplémentaires pour approfondir et d'un récapitulatif de style classeur après chaque chapitre, Peter Ruppert fournit un programme simple mais puissant pour que les lecteurs puissent lancer le leur illimité la vie.

 Pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre, cliquer ici. Également disponible en livre audio et en édition Kindle.

A propos de l'auteur

photo de Peter RuppertPierre Ruppert est le fondateur et PDG d'i-Education Group, qui gère plus de 75 académies Fusion and Futures pour les élèves de la 6e à la 12e année dans des environnements de classe à un étudiant et à un enseignant. Vétéran de l'industrie de l'éducation depuis 20 ans, il a ouvert plus de 100 écoles et en a acquis plus de 25 autres. Il a été président et chef de la direction d'organisations dans les secteurs des écoles privées, des écoles à charte et de l'éducation préscolaire, et a siégé au conseil scolaire de son école publique locale pendant 5 ans. Il vit avec sa famille à Grand Rapids, Michigan. 

En savoir plus sur https://peteruppert.com/ 
 


Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Plus d'articles de cet auteur

Vous Aimeriez Aussi

LANGUES DISPONIBLES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

Icône facebooktwitter iconyoutube iconicône Instagramicône pintresticône rss

Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

L'inspiration quotidienne de Marie T.Russell
 

VOIX INNERSELF

vue transparente du haut du corps avec des rayons de lumière
Miracles et rémissions en utilisant l'harmonisation avec le corps
by Ewald Kliegel
Notre corps est comme un orchestre dans lequel les orgues jouent la symphonie de la vie avec les plus grands…
visage de lion regardant les étoiles
Horoscope de la semaine actuelle: du 2 au 8 août 2021
by Pam Younghans
Ce journal astrologique hebdomadaire est basé sur les influences planétaires, et offre des perspectives et…
silhouette d'une fille haute sur une balançoire au crépuscule surplombant un lac brumeux
Faire l'expérience des êtres élémentaires : vérité ou fantasme ?
by Thomas Mayer
Comment vivez-vous les êtres élémentaires ? Pouvez-vous consciemment y arriver? Et comment tu…
groupe de personnes chevauchant les rapides dans un radeau
Le pouvoir de l'impuissance : chevaucher les rapides de la vie
by Barry Vissell
Ce qui marche vraiment, c'est pour moi d'accepter mon impuissance, mon impuissance, que j'ai vraiment très…
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
by Robert Jennings, Innerself.com
La Nouvelle-Écosse est une province canadienne d'environ 1,000,000 XNUMX XNUMX d'habitants et notre comté d'origine en Floride compte…
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
by Marie T. Russell
« Il a tellement de chance ! Elle gagne toujours ! Je n'ai tout simplement pas de chance ! Ces déclarations vous semblent familières ? Ont-ils…
visage de femme flottant dans l'eau
Comment développer le courage et sortir de votre zone de confort
by Pierre Ruppert
Le courage ne consiste pas à être intrépide face à une situation effrayante. C'est la volonté de bouger...
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez.
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez
by Amy Fish
Il faut avoir le courage de vivre. Cela comprend apprendre à demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou…

Nouvelles attitudes - nouvelles possibilités

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Marché
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. Tous les droits sont réservés.

How To Develop Courage and Move Out of Your Comfort Zone

face of woman floating in water
Image by Joey Velasquez (image colorized by InnerSelf)


Narrated by Marie T. Russell. 

Video version

Courage isn’t the absence of fear but rather the decision
that something else is more important than fear.
                                                          —FRANKLIN D. ROOSEVELT

Courage is not about being fearless in the face of a scary situation. It is the willingness to move forward or take action— despite your fear. It’s about finding the will to bridge the gap between where you are and where you want to be, even when getting there seems daunting.

Over the years, I’ve learned that no matter how many times I act courageously, I can still count on two things:

  1. I will be afraid.

  2. I need to be brave enough to act anyway, even if it’s difficult or means breaking away from other people’s expectations of what I should do.

Having the courage to move ahead despite fear is always hard work and is a never-ending growth process.

The Courage To Move Out Of Your Comfort Zone

We likely have all heard this commonly quoted definition of insanity: doing the same thing over and over again, yet expecting a different result. This applies to building courage as well. If you never get out of your comfort zone, and instead continue surrounding yourself with the same people, the same perspectives and the same norms, you’ll never stretch yourself in ways that encourage you to take big leaps in your life. You’ll continue to play it safe, and you’ll never learn to be courageous.

Is there a situation in your life now that requires courage to move forward?

What might it look like to take specific action—despite your fear?

Presidential Medal of Honor winner Desmond Doss was a conscientious objector who was drafted into World War II and required to serve in some capacity despite his beliefs. Initially, he was the object of ridicule from other soldiers for his staunch religious convictions and refusal to carry or use a weapon. Later, however, he was serving as a field medic on the island of Okinawa when his unit came under extreme fire from the Japanese. The unit was trapped on the edge of a cliff, and his fellow soldiers were exposed and being gunned down at an alarming rate. Rather than cower or run, Doss quickly rigged an innovative stretcher using ropes and pulleys to lower his wounded comrades down the cliff where they could be moved away from their forward position and get their injuries treated. A defenseless, unarmed combatant, he risked almost certain death while he took nearly fifty men off the cliff, saving their lives.

This is just one example of possessing relentless courage under extreme conditions. Examples like Desmond Doss can fuel our energy levels and inspire us to move forward in much less treacherous situations.

Courage is important for three reasons:

1. Courage gets you where you want to be

You can have big dreams, create your vision, discover your passions and find supportive mentors but if you never find the courage to believe in yourself and take that first step, you’ll never get where you want to go. You must be willing to leave what is secure and comfortable in order to allow room for everything else to happen. You have to be willing to break away from so called, “friends,” who want to dismiss your dreams or hold you back.

2. Courage fuels the next time

Taking action when you know something is failure-proof doesn’t require courage. But attempting something, even when knowing you might fail, is the key to learning that there is no shame in failure. Every failure is simply an opportunity to realize that it is possible to get up after you fall, learn from the experience and course correct. Many great people have experienced failure and recovered. Like them, you can learn from your experiences and do better next time. Courage is what fuels the impetus to get back up and do better the “next time.”

3. Courage builds on itself

The more we display and practice courage, the more we gain confidence. And the more we gain confidence, the less fearful we become. Any individual’s personal and professional lives inevitably present challenges and opportunities that seem daunting. Facing each of these proactively, one by one, can help you literally practice having courage in the face of these challenges. The more you find success in using your courage to build toward your next step, the greater the chance you’ll learn to see how resilient you really are.

How Can I Develop Courage?

Step 1. Practice

The best way to be more courageous is to keep trying. Practice exercising courage in both small and big ways and you’ll soon find that fear gets a bit smaller each time—although it never completely goes away.

Step 2. Surround yourself with courageous people

Think about the five people you interact with most often. Are they courageous? Do they take risks out of their comfort zones to progress toward their goals? Spending time with others who encourage us to step out of our comfort zones is essential. When we find a group of people who live courageously, we feed off of their strength and learn that we can begin to encourage others to be courageous as well.

Step 3. Know what you value

When you know what’s important to you—the things you believe are worth standing up for—it’s a bit easier to find the courage to take action. In the previous story of Desmond Doss, he stood by his values and acted in accordance with them despite constant initial ridicule from his peers. He was able to be courageous in a way that didn’t compromise his deeply held values, and he succeeded well beyond what anyone would have expected of him.

Step 4. Be self-accountable

We are in no way entitled to success in life. No one owes you a job or a better opportunity. Your destiny will be a result of what you do, so learn early that blaming your shortcomings on others isn’t going to lead to success. Pointing fingers is never productive. The only way to finding personal success is understanding that you are the only one who is going to be able to move you toward your dreams and then finding ways to hold yourself accountable to take those actions.

Step 5. Get comfortable with failure

Failure is the best teacher any of us could have. So, don’t be afraid of it. Be smart about what you pursue, but embrace failures when you can learn from them.

Which of these five ideas resonates with you most?

What could you start working on today to develop more courage in your life choices?

My Story

Back In 2013, I had an idea to create a military celebration and thanksgiving event for veterans in my city. I saw a need, so I let it roll around in my head for a while. I finally wrote it down as a goal. It then sat on my goals list for a couple of years before I said anything to anyone about it.

I knew I had no military background or experience, and I wasn’t even sure how to pull off such a celebration. I only had a desire to show appreciation for all those who had sacrificed so much and served our country. Would anyone come? Would people even think it was a good idea? What if there were already events like this out there? What if no one would serve on a planning committee with me? What if the event wasn’t well-received, and I couldn’t find people to support it?

Fear is what kept me from moving forward.

But after periodically reviewing my goals list and being reminded that I hadn’t done anything with this idea yet, I found the courage to take my first step: talking with a friend about it over lunch. I told him about my vision and how I felt our area veterans would benefit from something like this, and I asked if he’d be interested in helping me figure out how to create the event. He said yes!

That single action gave me the courage to discuss the concept with another friend and then another friend. From there, we put together a steering committee to help create the plan and take the actions necessary to realize our goal, and the event launched about a year and a half later in 2016. Today, the Armed Forces Thanksgiving is a sold-out event attended by nearly 750 people each year. It has raised a significant amount of money for veteran’s support causes across West Michigan, and it also serves as an education event for high school students in the area. The event is now expanding to other cities.

I took inspiration from others who had previously created new charitable events that now, year after year, make a difference in their communities. This helped me find the confidence I needed to take my first step forward. I also know that my previous experiences—when I’ve practiced pushing past the fear of doing something new or different—helped me find the courage to move forward one bite-sized, manageable step at a time.

It is easy to look back now and see how my courage in the face of a rather daunting idea paid off. But, it’s also important to note that it took me two years to even have that first conversation with my friend. Here I was, a fifty-year-old, successful business professional, yet I still struggled with the same basic fears and insecurities we all have when we consider trying something new.

It is another example of how I’ve learned that developing courage is a journey that builds on itself over time. People do not suddenly become courageous. We don’t just suddenly start to act courageously in all situations. We’re always growing and learning, and continued practice moves us toward becoming more courageous each time.

I still live with doubts about my ability to achieve my goals and dreams every day. We all do. Courage comes from finding a way to act despite having those fears.

YOUR TURN

Consider this quote from Sheryl Sandberg in light of what you’ve learned in this chapter: “Please ask yourself: What would I do if I weren’t afraid? And then go do it.”

What are two first action steps you could take this week toward being more courageous in your life?

First action steps:

1) ----------------------------------------------------------------

2) ----------------------------------------------------------------

ACTION STEPS

Where does a lack of courage show up in your life? Think about your current friends and peers:

List those who have big goals:

----------------------------------------------------------------

----------------------------------------------------------------

----------------------------------------------------------------

List those who might be holding you back (intentionally or unintentionally) from pursuing your dreams and setting bigger goals in your life:

----------------------------------------------------------------

----------------------------------------------------------------

----------------------------------------------------------------

Revisit your past failures and challenges. Who or what have you blamed? Think deeply about how you could move away from your past struggles, challenges or mistreatments that are holding you back today and how you can move toward a more self-accountable future where you write your own success. How might you choose to handle future challenges differently?

 * * * * *

Dig Deeper - Resources

READ

  • Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand
  • The Courage Habit: How to Accept Your Fears, Release the Past, and Live Your Courageous Life by Kate Swoboda and Bari Tessler
  • The Courage Challenge Workbook: Creating a Culture of Courage by Cindy Solomon

LISTEN

  • Akimbo: A Podcast from Seth Godin
  • Andy Molinsky: The Psychology of Getting Out of Your Comfort Zone on The Unmistakable Mindset

WATCH

  • Invictus. This recounts the true story of Nelson Mandela’s courage to believe that one simple idea could unite an entire country.
  • Brené Brown: The Call to CourageNetflix. In this 2019 documentary, Brené Brown discusses what it takes to choose courage over comfort in today’s culture.
  • How to Build Your Courage | Cindy Solomon— TEDxSonomaCounty 

©2020 by Peter Ruppert. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the author.
Publisher : Credo House Publishers

Article Source

Limitless: Nine Steps to Launch Your One Extraordinary Life
by Peter G. Ruppert

book cover: Limitless: Nine Steps to Launch Your One Extraordinary Life by Peter G. RuppertThis book was written for those, young and old, who simply don’t want to settle for the status quo or for “good enough” and have dreams they want to chase, not give up on. Based on research of accomplished people and his own personal experiences of successes and failures, Peter G. Ruppert provides a step-by-step guide to help readers positively impact the trajectory of their own future. Filled with real life examples for each step, extra learning resources to dig deeper, and a workbook style recap after each chapter, Peter Ruppert provides a simple yet powerful program so readers can launch their own limitless life.

 For more info and/or to order this book, click here. Also available as an Audiobook and a Kindle edition.

About The Author

photo of Peter RuppertPeter Ruppert is founder and CEO of i-Education Group, which operates over 75 Fusion and Futures Academies for grades 6-12 in one student, one teacher classroom environments. A 20-year veteran of the education industry, he’s opened over 100 schools and acquired more than 25 others. He’s been president and CEO of organizations in the private school, charter school, and early education industries, and sat on his local public school board for 5 years. He lives with his family in Grand Rapids, Michigan. 

Learn more at https://peteruppert.com/ 
 


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

INNERSELF VOICES

full moon over Stonehenge
Horoscope Current Week: September 20 - 26, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
a swimmer in large expanse of water
Joy and Resilience: A Conscious Antidote to Stress
by Nancy Windheart
We know that we're in a great time of transition, of birthing a new way of being, living, and…
five closed doors, one pained yellow, the others white
Where Do We Go From Here?
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Life can be confusing. There are so many things going on, so many choices presented to us. Even a…
Inspiration or Motivation: Which Works Best?
Inspiration or Motivation: Which Comes First?
by Alan Cohen
People who are enthusiastic about a goal find ways to achieve it and they do not need to be goaded…
photo silhouette of mountain climber using a pick to secure himself
Allow The Fear, Transform It, Move Through It, and Understand It
by Lawrence Doochin
Fear feels crappy. There is no way around that. But most of us don't respond to our fear in a…
woman sitting at her desk looking worried
My Prescription for Anxiety and Worry
by Jude Bijou
We’re a society that likes to worry. Worrying is so prevalent, it almost feels socially acceptable.…
curving road in New Zealand
Don't Be So Hard On Yourself
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Life consists of choices... some are "good" choices, and others not so good. However every choice…
man standing on a dock shining a flashlight into the sky
Blessing for Spiritual Seekers and for People Suffering from Depression
by Pierre Pradervand
There is such a need in the world today of the most tender and immense compassion and deeper, more…
How Do We Measure Happiness?
How Do We Measure Happiness?
by Barbara Berger
Our happiness depends on whether we believe something is good or bad. But most people are not aware…
Why Bother Making An End of Life Plan?
Why Bother Making An End of Life Plan?
by Jane Duncan Rogers
Let’s face it, there is never going to be a good time to address anything to do with dying, death…
Where Terrorism Ends: Starting From the Inside Out
Where Terrorism Ends: Starting From the Inside Out
by Alan Cohen
When you use fear, guilt, threat, or punishment to control someone who bothers you, you add to the…

MOST READ

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
by Jackie Cassell, Professor of Primary Care Epidemiology, Honorary Consultant in Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
The precarious economies of many traditional seaside towns have declined still further since the…
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
by Barbara Berger
One of the biggest things I've discovered working with clients everyday is how extremely difficult…
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
by Sonja Grace
As you experience being an earth angel, you will discover that the path of service is riddled with…
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
by Susan Campbell, Ph.D.
According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught…
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
by Lucy Delap, University of Cambridge
The 1970s anti-sexist men’s movement had an infrastructure of magazines, conferences, men’s centres…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…
Taking A Step Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
Stepping Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
by John Ptacek
We spend our lives immersed in a flood of thoughts, unaware that another dimension of consciousness…
image of the planet Jupiter on the skyline of a rocky ocean shore
Is Jupiter a Planet of Hope or a Planet of Discontent?
by Steven Forrest and Jeffrey Wolf Green
In the American dream as it's currently dished up, we try to do two things: make money and lose…

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.