الذهن

كيف يمكن لليقظ والرقص تحسين الصحة العقلية

الذهن والرقص الصحة العقلية 4
 أثناء التدريب على التدخلات القائمة على اليقظة والعلاج بحركة الرقص ، أصبح من الواضح أن قشرة حسية جسدية تعمل بشكل جيد ومتطورة قد تساعد الناس على تجربة العالم وأنفسهم بشكل أعمق. (صراع الأسهم)

مثل عقال مخملي سميك ، فإن القشرة الحسية الجسدية أقواس عبر الجزء العلوي من الدماغ من أعلى أذن إلى أخرى.

لقد وقعت في حب الدماغ كطالب جامعي وواصلت مهنة في علم الأعصاب ، لكن لسنوات كنت أتجاهل هذا الهيكل إلى حد كبير ، حيث بدا أنه يشارك "فقط" في معالجة الأحاسيس الجسدية. في رأيي ، هذا يعني أنها لم تكن رائعة مثل المناطق المتورطة في العاطفة أو الوظيفة الإدراكية العليا.

ومع ذلك ، خلال العقد الماضي ، أثناء تدريبي على التدخلات القائمة على اليقظة والعلاج بحركة الرقص ، أدركت أن قشرة حسية جسدية تعمل بشكل جيد ومتطورة قد تساعدنا على تجربة العالم وأنفسنا بشكل أعمق وكامل. قد يثري تجربتنا العاطفية ويحسن صحتنا العقلية.

لعقود من الزمان ، كانت القشرة الحسية الجسدية تعتبر مسؤولة فقط عن معالجة المعلومات الحسية من أجزاء الجسم المختلفة. ومع ذلك ، أصبح من الواضح مؤخرًا أن هذه البنية تشارك أيضًا في مراحل مختلفة من معالجة المشاعر ، بما في ذلك يميز, توليد وتنظيم العواطف.

علاوة على ذلك ، تم العثور على تغييرات هيكلية ووظيفية في القشرة الحسية الجسدية لدى الأفراد المصابين بالاكتئاب والقلق والاضطرابات الذهانية. تشير هذه الدراسات إلى أن القشرة الحسية الجسدية قد تكون هدفًا للعلاج لبعض مشاكل الصحة العقلية ، وكذلك للتدابير الوقائية. اقترح بعض الباحثين حتى التعديل العصبي للقشرة الحسية الجسدية التحفيز المغناطيسي عبر الجمجمة or التحفيز العميق للمخ.

ومع ذلك ، قبل أن نقرر استخدام تقنية اجتياحية ، قد نرغب في التفكير في التدخلات القائمة على اليقظة أو العلاج بحركة الرقص أو الأساليب الأخرى التي تركز على الجسم في العلاج النفسي. تستخدم هذه الطرق الجسم بالكامل لتعزيز الوعي الحسي والتنفس والحركي. هذه العوامل يمكن أن تعزز الوعي الذاتي العام ، مما يساهم في تحسين الصحة العقلية من خلال إعادة التنظيم المحتملة للقشرة الحسية الجسدية.

الأهمية الوظيفية للقشرة الحسية الجسدية

واحدة من الصفات المذهلة للقشرة الحسية الجسدية هي اللدونة الواضحة - القدرة على إعادة التنظيم والتكبير بالممارسة (أو ضمور بدون ممارسة). هذه اللدونة أمر بالغ الأهمية عندما نفكر في التدخلات القائمة على اليقظة والعلاج بحركة الرقص لأنه ، كما ذكرنا سابقًا ، من خلال العمل مباشرة مع أحاسيس الجسم والحركة ، يمكننا تعديل القشرة الحسية الجسدية.

جانب آخر مهم هو صلاته العديدة بمناطق أخرى من الدماغ. بعبارة أخرى ، تتمتع القشرة الحسية الجسدية بالقدرة على التأثير في مناطق الدماغ الأخرى ، والتي بدورها تؤثر على مناطق أخرى ، وما إلى ذلك. الدماغ مترابط بشكل كبير ولا يعمل أي جزء من أجزائه بمعزل عن الآخر.

تتلقى القشرة الحسية الجسدية معلومات من الجسم كله ، بحيث يعالج الجزء الأيسر من القشرة المعلومات من الجانب الأيمن من الجسم والعكس صحيح. ومع ذلك ، فإن نسبة القشرة المخصصة لجزء معين من الجسم تعتمد على أهميتها الوظيفية وليس حجمها المادي.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

على سبيل المثال ، يتم تخصيص نسبة كبيرة من القشرة الحسية الجسدية لأيدينا ، وبالتالي فإن مجرد تحريك أيدينا والشعور بها قد يكون خيارًا مثيرًا للاهتمام للعلاج بالرقص لمن يعانون من تقييد الحركة.

تتوسط القشرة الحسية الجسدية (اللمس ، الضغط ، درجة الحرارة ، الألم ، إلخ) ، الحس العميق (معلومات الوضعية والحركة) والإدراك الداخلي (الأحاسيس داخل الجسم ، غالبًا ما ترتبط بحالة الجسم الفسيولوجية ، مثل الجوع والعطش) ، على الرغم من أنها دور في الوعي الداخلي هو جزئي فقط.

القشرة الحسية الجسدية والعاطفة

يمكن لرائحة أو أغنية أو صورة أن تجلب فجأة إلى الذهن حدثًا مدفونًا ومنسيًا بعمق. وبالمثل ، فإن الشعور بملمس - مثل الكشمير - على بشرتنا ، أو تحريك أجسامنا بطريقة معينة (مثل القيام بانحناء خلفي ، أو التأرجح ذهابًا وإيابًا) يمكن أن يفعل الشيء نفسه وأكثر. يمكن أن يجلب الذكريات المكبوتة إلى السطح ، تثير ردود فعل عاطفية ، وتخلق تحولات في الحالة. هذه إحدى القوى الخارقة للتدخلات القائمة على اليقظة والعلاج بحركة الرقص.

هذا الرد بوساطة القشرة الحسية الجسدية، تمامًا مثل ردود الفعل العاطفية والمعرفية لأغنية ما يتم التوسط فيها عبر القشرة السمعية ، ويتم التوسط في ردود الفعل تجاه الروائح عبر القشرة الشمية. ومع ذلك ، إذا توقفت المعلومات عن التدفق على المستوى الحسي البحت (ما نشعر به ، ونسمعه ، ونرى ، ونذوق ، ورائحة) ، فسيتم فقد جزء كبير من العواقب العاطفية والمعرفية.

تأتي بعض الأدلة من دراسات التأمل والتدخلات القائمة على اليقظة ، والتي غالبًا ما تتضمن ممارسة مسح الجسم و / أو العودة إلى الأحاسيس الجسدية كمثبتات في التأمل.

لقد عرف المعالجون بالرقص / الحركة والممارسون المتمركزون حول الجسد عن هذه العلاقة بين الموقف / الحركة والعاطفة / الإدراك منذ بداية المجال. لقد حدد علماء الأعصاب الآن - ولا يزال تقريبًا - الشبكات العصبية المتورطة. على سبيل المثال ، يظهر البحث علاقة بين تطوير حساسيتنا الحسية وتنظيم العواطف.

تأتي بعض الأدلة من دراسات التأمل والتدخلات القائمة على اليقظة ، والتي غالبًا ما تتضمن ممارسة مسح الجسم (الانتباه إلى أجزاء من الجسم والأحاسيس الجسدية في تسلسل تدريجي ، على سبيل المثال من القدمين إلى الرأس) و / أو العودة إلى الجسد. الأحاسيس كمراسي في التأمل.

بشكل عام ، تُظهر الدراسات أن الأشخاص الذين يتدربون على فحوصات الجسم و / أو يطورون وعيًا حسيًا بالتنفس (الشعور بالنفس الذي ينتقل عبر فتحات الأنف والحنجرة وما إلى ذلك) أقل تفاعلًا وأكثر مرونة. يتم التوسط في هذا التأثير ، جزئيًا على الأقل ، من خلال القشرة الحسية الجسدية.

الآثار السريرية

نظرًا للدور الناشئ للقشرة الحسية الجسدية في الانفعالات والمعالجة المعرفية ، فليس من المستغرب أن توجد تغييرات في بنية ووظيفة هذه المنطقة من الدماغ في العديد من مشاكل الصحة العقلية ، بما في ذلك الاكتئاب والاضطراب ثنائي القطب وانفصام الشخصية.

على سبيل المثال ، لوحظ انخفاض في سمك القشرة وحجم المادة الرمادية في القشرة الحسية الجسدية لدى الأفراد المصابين باضطراب اكتئابي كبير (خاصة تلك التي تظهر في وقت مبكر) وفي الاضطراب الثنائي القطب. في الفصام ، لوحظ انخفاض مستويات النشاط في القشرة الحسية الجسدية ، خاصة في المرضى غير المعالجين.

قد يساعدنا تنشيط القشرة الحسية الجسدية على التواصل مع أجسادنا وتنمية حساسيتنا وحساسيتنا وقدرتنا على الشعور بالمتعة. هذه هي الطريقة التي يمكن أن يساعد بها التحرك الذهني والرقص بوعي والتأمل مع الجسد كله الناس على تنظيم عواطفهم والتواصل مع أنفسهم والعالم بشكل أكثر عمقًا وفاعلية.

نبذة عن الكاتبالمحادثة

أدريانا مندريكأستاذ بقسم علم النفس جامعة الأسقف

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

Sedna وعالمنا الناشئ
Sedna وعالمنا الناشئ
by سارة فاركاس
سيدنا هي إلهة البحر الإنويت ، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم أم أو عشيقة البحر وإلهة ...
علامات عدم المساواة 9
لقد تراجعت الولايات المتحدة بشكل كبير في التصنيف العالمي الذي يقيس الديمقراطية وعدم المساواة
by كاثلين فريدل
قد تعتبر الولايات المتحدة نفسها "زعيمة للعالم الحر" ، لكنها تعتبر مؤشرًا للتنمية ...
شاب يتأمل خارج
كيف تتأمل ولماذا
by جوزيف سيلبي
يمنحنا التأمل وصولاً أكبر إلى الحقائق غير المحلية: رفع المشاعر وتنسيقها ، ...
أمراض المناطق المدارية 9
لماذا قد لا تكون أمراض المناطق المدارية في أوروبا نادرة لفترة أطول بكثير
by مايكل هيد
حمى الضنك ، عدوى فيروسية تنتشر عن طريق البعوض ، مرض شائع في أجزاء من آسيا واللاتين ...
جدة تقرأ لحفيديها
حكاية جدة الاسكتلندية عن الاعتدال الخريفي
by إلين إيفرت هوبمان
تحتوي هذه القصة على القليل من أمريكا فيها وقليلًا من أوركني فيها. أوركني في…
أنظمة الطاقة الشمسية المنزلية 9 30
عندما تنطفئ شبكة الطاقة ، هل يمكن أن توفر الطاقة الشمسية لمنزلك؟
by ويل جورمان وآخرون
في العديد من المناطق المعرضة للكوارث وانقطاع التيار الكهربائي ، بدأ الناس في التساؤل عما إذا كان الاستثمار في الأسطح ...
سلم يصل الى القمر
اكتشف مقاومتك لفرص الحياة
by بيث بيل
لم أفهم حقًا عبارة "لا تقل أبدًا" حتى بدأت أدرك أنني ...
جسدي خياري 9 20
كيف بدأت البطريركية وهل سيتخلص منها التطور؟
by روث ميس
النظام الأبوي ، بعد أن كان إلى حد ما في تراجع في أجزاء من العالم ، عاد إلى وجوهنا. في…

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Mindfulness

How Mindfulness And Dance Can Improve Mental Health

mindfulness and dance mental health 4 27
 While training in mindfulness-based interventions and dance movement therapy, it became clear that a well-functioning and developed somatosensory cortex may help people experience the world and themselves more deeply. (Shutterstock)

Like a thick velvety headband, the somatosensory cortex arcs across the top of brain from just above one ear to the other.

I fell in love with the brain as an undergraduate student and pursued a career in neuroscience, but for years I had largely ignored this structure, since it appeared to be involved “only” in processing of bodily sensations. In my mind, that meant it was not as fascinating as areas implicated in emotion or higher cognitive function.

However, over the past decade, during my training in mindfulness-based interventions and dance movement therapy, I’ve come to realize that a well-functioning and developed somatosensory cortex may help us experience the world and ourselves more deeply and completely. It may enrich our emotional experience and improve our mental health.

For decades, the somatosensory cortex was considered to only be responsible for processing sensory information from various body parts. However, recently it became apparent that this structure is also involved in various stages of emotion processing, including recognizing, generating and regulating emotions.

Moreover, structural and functional changes in the somatosensory cortex have been found in individuals diagnosed with depression, anxiety and psychotic disorders. These studies suggest that the somatosensory cortex may be a treatment target for certain mental health problems, as well as for preventive measures. Some researchers have even suggested neuromodulation of the somatosensory cortex with transcranial magnetic stimulation or deep brain stimulation.

However, before we decide to use an invasive technology, we may want to consider mindfulness-based interventions, dance movement therapy or other body-centred approaches to psychotherapy. These methods use the entire body to enhance sensory, breath and movement awareness. Those factors can enhance overall self-awareness, which contributes to improvement of mental health through potential reorganization of the somatosensory cortex.

Functional significance of the somatosensory cortex

One of the amazing qualities of the somatosensory cortex is its pronounced plasticity — the ability to reorganize and enlarge with practice (or atrophy without practice). This plasticity is critical when we consider mindfulness-based interventions and dance movement therapy because, as mentioned above, through working directly with the body sensations and movement, we can modify the somatosensory cortex.

Another important aspect is its numerous connections with other areas of the brain. In other words, the somatosensory cortex has a power to affect other brain regions, which in turn affect other regions, and so on. The brain is heavily interconnected and none of its parts acts in isolation.

The somatosensory cortex receives information from the entire body, such that the left part of the cortex processes information from the right side of the body and vice versa. However, the proportion of the cortex devoted to a particular part of the body depends on its functional importance rather than its physical size.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

For example, a large proportion of the somatosensory cortex is devoted to our hands, and so just moving and feeling our hands might be an interesting option for dance therapy for those with restricted mobility.

The somatosensory cortex mediates exteroception (touch, pressure, temperature, pain, etc.), proprioception (postural and movement information) and interoception (sensations inside the body, often related to the physiological body states, such as hunger and thirst), although its role in the interoceptive awareness is only partial.

The somatosensory cortex and emotion

A scent, a song or an image can suddenly bring a deeply buried and forgotten event to mind. Similarly, feeling a texture — like cashmere — against our skin, or moving our body in a certain way (such as doing a backbend, or rocking back and forth) can do the same and more. It can bring repressed memories to the surface, provoke emotional reactions, and create state shifts. This is one of the superpowers of mindfulness-based interventions and dance movement therapy.

This response is mediated via the somatosensory cortex, just like emotional and cognitive reactions to a song are mediated via the auditory cortex, and reactions to scents are mediated via the olfactory cortex. Nevertheless, if the information stopped flowing at a purely sensory level (what we feel, hear, see, taste and smell), then a significant portion of the emotional and cognitive consequences would be lost.

Some evidence comes from studies of meditation and mindfulness-based interventions, which often involve the practice of body scans and/or returning to bodily sensations as anchors in meditation.

Dance/movement therapists and body-centered practitioners have known about this connection between posture/movement and emotion/cognition since the inception of the field. Neuroscientists have now delineated — still roughly — the implicated neural networks. For example, research shows a relationship between developing our sensory sensitivity and emotion regulation.

Some evidence comes from studies of meditation and mindfulness-based interventions, which often involve the practice of body scans (paying attention to parts of the body and bodily sensations in a gradual sequence, for example from feet to head) and/or returning to bodily sensations as anchors in meditation.

Overall, the studies show that people who train in body scans and/or develop sensory awareness of the breath (feeling the breath travelling through the nostrils, throat, etc.) are less reactive and more resilient. This effect is mediated, at least partly, through the somatosensory cortex.

Clinical implications

Given the emerging role of the somatosensory cortex in emotion and cognitive processing, it is not surprising that alterations in the structure and function of this brain region have been found in several mental health problems, including depression, bipolar disorder and schizophrenia.

For example, reductions in the cortical thickness and the gray matter volume of the somatosensory cortex have been observed in individuals with major depressive disorder (especially those with early onset) and in the bipolar disorder. In schizophrenia, lower levels of activity in the somatosensory cortex have been observed, especially in unmedicated patients.

Activating the somatosensory cortex may help us connect to our bodies, develop our sensitivity, sensuality and capacity to feel pleasure. That is how moving mindfully, dancing consciously and meditating with the whole body may help people regulate their emotions and connect with themselves and the world more deeply and meaningfully.

About The AuthorThe Conversation

Adrianna Mendrek, Professor, Psychology Department, Bishop's University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

books_mindfulness

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

baseball player w;ith white hair
Can We Be Too Old?
by Barry Vissell
We all know the expression, "You're as old as you think or feel." Too many people give up on…
is it covid or hay fecer 8 7
Here’s How To Tell If It's Covid or Hay Fever
by Samuel J. White, and Philippe B. Wilson
With warm weather in the northern hemisphere, many people will be suffering from pollen allergies.…
climate change and flooding 7 30
Why Climate Change Is Making Flooding Worse
by Frances Davenport
Although floods are a natural occurrence, human-caused climate change is making severe flooding…
inflation around the world 8 1
Inflation Is Spiking Around The World
by Christopher Decker
The 9.1% increase in U.S. consumer prices in the 12 months ending in June 2022, the highest in four…
made to wear a mask 7 31
Will We Only Act On Public Health Advice If Someone Makes Us?
by Holly Seale, UNSW Sydney
Back in mid 2020, it was suggested mask use was similar to seat belt wearing in cars. Not everyone…
sage smudge sticks, feathers, and a dreamcatcher
Cleansing, Grounding, and Protecting: Two Foundational Practices
by MaryAnn DiMarco
Many cultures have a ritualistic cleansing practice, often done with smoke or water, to help remove…
overcoming lonliness 8 4
4 Ways To Recover From Loneliness
by Michelle H Lim
Loneliness isn’t unusual given it’s a natural human emotion. But when ignored or not effectively…
changing peoples minds 8 3
Why It’s Hard To Challenge Someone’s False Beliefs
by Lara Millman
Most people think they acquire their beliefs using a high standard of objectivity. But recent…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.