كان 60 ٪ من النساء السود يقتلن من قبل الشرطة غير مسلحين

كان 60 ٪ من النساء السود يقتلن من قبل الشرطة غير مسلحين

وفقا لدراسة جديدة للبيانات على مستوى البلاد ، من المرجح أن يكون السود ، وخاصة النساء ، غير مسلحين عندما يقتلون من قبل الشرطة أكثر من غير السود.

كما تظهر هذه المخاطر زيادة في أقسام الشرطة مع وجود أكبر من الضباط غير البيض ، وتقرير الباحثين.

"... يصبح شعار" رفع الأيدي ، عدم إطلاق النار "لحركة ما بعد فيرغسون أكثر أهمية عندما تقول" اسمها "أيضًا."

اكتشاف رئيسي ل الدراسة هو أن ما يقرب من 60 في المئة من النساء السود اللاتي قتلهن رجال الشرطة كانوا غير مسلحين في وقت التفاعل.

الدراسة هي الأولى في سلسلة من التقارير من الجارية تفاعلات مميتة مع الشرطة (FIPS) مشروع بحثي ، يتضمن مساهمات من خبراء الصحة العامة والإحصاء الحيوي في المستشفيات والجامعات.

في حين أن احتمالات قتلهم من قبل الشرطة عند عزلهم كانت نفسها تقريباً بالنسبة للذكور السود والبيض ، فإن النسبة العالية من النساء السود غير المسلحين الذين قُتلوا على أيدي الشرطة زادت بشكل كبير من الاحتمالات الإجمالية للسود غير المسلحين.

يقول الباحث الرئيسي أوديس جونسون ، الأستاذ المساعد في التعليم وعلم الاجتماع في واشنطن: "إن تحليلنا يخلص إلى أن شعار" رفع الأيدي ، عدم إطلاق النار "لحركة ما بعد فيرغسون يصبح أكثر أهمية عندما تقول" اسمها "أيضًا. جامعة سانت لويس.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"ومع ذلك ، كانت احتمالات حدوث حالة وفاة غير مسلحة بالنسبة للأميركيين السود ككل عبارة عن 6.6-to-1 مذهل ، أي أكثر من ضعف الاحتمالات الموجودة في العديد من الدراسات الوطنية الأخرى التي أنجزت في العقود الأخيرة".

تم إطلاق الحركة الاجتماعية "قول اسمها" في 2015 للفت الانتباه إلى وفاة ريكا بويد المقيمة في شيكاغو وغيرها من النساء السود غير المسلحات اللواتي قُتلن أثناء التفاعل مع الشرطة. هذه الدراسة هي الأولى التي تقدم بيانات صلبة لدعم تأكيد الحركة على أن النساء السود يواجهن مخاطر عالية من تعرضهن للقتل على يد الشرطة.

الجهود حتى الآن

كما تشير الدراسة إلى أن العديد من التكتيكات التي تم تنفيذها للحد من العنف الذي تمارسه الشرطة ، مثل استخدام كاميرات الجسم وتنويع قوات الشرطة بإضافة المزيد من الضباط غير البيض ، لم تفعل الكثير لتقليص عدد القتلى في تفاعلات الشرطة.

يقول جونسون: "لقد زادت الوكالات التي لديها المزيد من الضباط الملونين بشكل ملحوظ من احتمالات وقوع ضحايا غير مسلحين ، مما يشير إلى أن المستويات الحالية لتنوع الوكالات ليست قادرة على تحقيق التغيير".

"نوصي بالحذر في تفسير هذه النتيجة لأن بياناتنا لا تتعقب سباق أفراد الشرطة المرتبطين بكل حالة وفاة. وبالتالي ، لا يمكننا أن نقول ما إذا كانت تصرفات ضباط الألوان تزيد بشكل مباشر من احتمالات الوفيات غير المسلحة للمجموعات العرقية / العرقية. "

يعتزم المشروع إصدار تقريرين آخرين عن النتائج ذات الصلة في الأشهر القادمة.

وفاة 1,700 في الأشهر 20

تتضمن قاعدة بيانات FIPS تفاصيل حول تفاعلات 1,700 القاتلة مع الشرطة التي حدثت في الولايات القضائية عبر الولايات المتحدة خلال فترة 20-month من مايو 2013 إلى يناير 2015.

ويقدر الاحتمالات الديموغرافية للوفيات التي تحدث أثناء التفاعل مع الشرطة على أساس موقع التفاعل وخصائص وكالة إنفاذ القانون الاستجابة المحتملة.

تتضمن النتائج الأخرى من التقرير الأول ما يلي:

  • ما يقرب من 94 في المئة من الذين قتلوا على يد الشرطة هم من الرجال. حول 46 في المئة بيضاء؛ حول 22 في المئة لديها تاريخ من تعاطي المخدرات أو المرض العقلي.
  • تتراوح أعمار الأفراد غير المسلحين الذين قُتلوا على يد الشرطة في قاعدة البيانات من 5 إلى أكثر من 100 سنة ، بما في ذلك الأشخاص الذين كانوا 101 و 103 و 107.
  • أكثر من 57 في المئة من النساء الأميركيات من أصل أفريقي قُتلن أثناء عزلهن ؛ كان الرجال البيض أقل احتمالاً لأن يكونوا غير مسلحين عندما قتلوا تحت 20 في المائة.

أكثر من مجرد قائمة من تفاعلات الشرطة القاتلة في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، قاعدة بيانات FIPS تحتوي أيضا على ثروة من البيانات السكانية وإنفاذ القانون ذات الصلة التي تسمح للباحثين بتحليل الوفيات في سياق الظروف المحلية. جمع الباحثون في قاعدة البيانات خلفية عن كل حالة من خلال مجموعة من السجلات العامة ، بما في ذلك حسابات وسائل الإعلام ، وشهادات الوفاة ، ونعي.

بالإضافة إلى إحصاءات التعداد الأمريكية عن الموقع الذي حدثت فيه الوفاة ، تتضمن FIPS بيانات حول ممارسات إنفاذ القانون المحلية وموظفي الشرطة المستمدة من إدارة تطبيق القانون والمسح الإداري (LEMAS) ، وإحصائيات الجريمة من برنامج الإبلاغ الموحد للجرائم في مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي.

تجمع بيانات LEMAS التي تم جمعها من قبل مكتب الإحصاء العدلي من وكالة 2,800 ووكالات تطبيق القانون المحلية ، تفاصيل حول مجموعة واسعة من الموضوعات: مسؤوليات الوكالة ، نفقات التشغيل ، الوظائف الوظيفية للموظفين المحليين والمدنيين ، رواتب الموظفين والأجور الخاصة ، الديموغرافية خصائص الضباط وسياسات الأسلحة والدبابات ومتطلبات التعليم والتدريب والحواسيب ونظم المعلومات والمركبات والوحدات الخاصة وأنشطة الشرطة المجتمعية.

وجاء دعم مشروع قاعدة البيانات FIPS من تمويل البذور المكعبة الصحية العامة من معهد الصحة العامة في جامعة واشنطن. الباحثون الآخرون المشاركون في المشروع هم من كلية الطب بجامعة واشنطن. جامعة نيويورك؛ هارفارد TH تشان مدرسة الصحة العامة. جامعة سانت لويس جامعة ولاية نيويورك الجاموس. وجامعة ويك فورست.

مصدر: جامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = judicial reform؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

60% Of Black Women Killed By Police Were Unarmed

60% Of Black Women Killed By Police Were Unarmed

Black people, especially women, are more likely to have been unarmed when killed by police than non-blacks, according to a new study of nationwide data.

This risk also appears to increase in police departments with a greater presence of non-white officers, report the researchers.

“…the ‘hands up, don’t shoot’ slogan of the post-Ferguson movement becomes most relevant when you also ‘say her name.'”

A key finding of the study is that nearly 60 percent of black women killed by police were unarmed at the time of the interaction.

The study is the first in a series of reports from the ongoing Fatal Interactions with Police (FIPS) research project, which includes contributions from public health and biostatistics experts at hospitals and universities.

While the odds of being killed by police when unarmed were about the same for black and white males, the high percentage of unarmed black women killed by police significantly increased the overall odds for unarmed blacks.

“Our analysis finds that the ‘hands up, don’t shoot’ slogan of the post-Ferguson movement becomes most relevant when you also ‘say her name,'” says lead researcher Odis Johnson, associate professor of education and of sociology at Washington University in St. Louis.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“Nonetheless, the odds of an unarmed fatality for black Americans as a whole was a staggering 6.6-to-1, more than double the odds found in several other national studies completed in recent decades.”

The “say her name” social movement was launched in 2015 to draw attention to the death of Chicago resident Rekia Boyd and other unarmed black women killed during interactions with police. This study is the first to provide hard data to back up the movement’s assertion that black women face a high risk of being killed by police.

Efforts so far

The study also suggests that many tactics implemented to curb police violence, such as the use of body cameras and diversifying police forces by adding more non-white officers, have done little to reduce the number of people killed in police interactions.

“Agencies with more officers of color had significantly increased odds of committing unarmed fatalities, suggesting that current levels of agency diversity are not capable of achieving change,” Johnson says.

“We recommend caution in interpreting this result since our data does not track the race of the police officers connected to each fatality. Thus, we are unable to say whether the actions of officers of color directly increase the odds of unarmed fatalities for racial/ethnic groups.”

The project plans to issue two more reports on related findings in coming months.

1,700 deaths in 20 months

The FIPS database includes details on about 1,700 fatal interactions with police that occurred in jurisdictions across the United States during a 20-month time period from May 2013 to January 2015.

It estimates the demographic odds of a fatality occurring during an interaction with police based on the location of the interaction and the characteristics of the likely responding law enforcement agency.

Other findings from the first report include:

  • Nearly 94 percent of those killed by police are men; about 46 percent are white; about 22 percent had a history of drug abuse or mental illness.
  • The ages of unarmed people killed by police in the database range from 5 to more than 100 years old, including people who were 101, 103, and 107.
  • More than 57 percent of African-American women were killed while unarmed; white men were the least likely to have been unarmed when killed at just under 20 percent.

Much more than a listing of fatal police interactions around the country, the FIPS database also contains a wealth of related demographic and law enforcement data that allows researchers to analyze the deaths in the context of local conditions. Database researchers gathered background on each case through an array of public records, including media accounts, death certificates, and obituaries.

In addition to US Census statistics on the location where the fatality occurred, FIPS includes data about local law enforcement practices and police staffing drawn from the Law Enforcement Management and Administrative Survey (LEMAS), and crime statistics from the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reporting program.

Collected by the Bureau of Justice Statistics from about 2,800 state and local law enforcement agencies, the LEMAS data offers details on a wide range of topics: agency responsibilities, operating expenditures, job functions of sworn and civilian employees, officer salaries and special pay, demographic characteristics of officers, weapons and armor policies, education and training requirements, computers and information systems, vehicles, special units, and community policing activities.

Support for the FIPS database project came from the Public Health Cubed Seed Funding from the Institute of Public Health at Washington University. Other researchers involved in the project are from Washington University School of Medicine; New York University; Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health; Saint Louis University; SUNY Buffalo; and Wake Forest University.

Source: Washington University in St. Louis

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=judicial reform;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…