Les tempêtes de pluie soulèvent un problème de poussière dans l'air

Les éclaboussures de gouttes de pluie sont une source inattendue de fines particules de sol dans l'atmosphère. Image: Elvis Payne via FlickrLes éclaboussures de gouttes de pluie sont une source inattendue de fines particules de sol dans l'atmosphère. Image: Elvis Payne via Flickr

L'analyse des échantillons d'air montre que l'effet nettoyant des fortes pluies est diminué par les particules organiques qui se répandent dans l'atmosphère à partir du sol.

Les chercheurs ont identifié un inattendu générateur de la fine poussière organique qui souffle dans le vent. Ils le blâment sur les gouttes de pluie.

Des chercheurs de deux laboratoires nationaux aux États-Unis et de collègues rapport dans Nature Geoscience journal que minuscules sphères vitreuses de matériau à base de carbone trouvés dans l'air sont les résidus de pluie qui éclaboussent le sol.

Ayant observé l'effet après une tempête de pluie puissante dans 2014, les scientifiques ont regardé encore et encore, et ont ensuite testé le résultat une fois de plus avec l'aide d'un arroseur de jardin. L'impact de la pluie sur le sol et la végétation a produit des particules organiques volatiles, mais de petite taille mais détectables.

«L'idée de la production d'aérosols par la pluie, beaucoup moins solides, ne figurait sur aucun radar», explique l'une des chercheuses, Mary Gilles, chercheuse à la division des sciences chimiques du Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, En Californie.

Machines mondiales

"La pluie nettoie l'atmosphère; il ne m'était pas venu à l'idée de penser à la pluie comme un mécanisme permettant de produire des particules solides à partir du sol. "

La poussière, les aérosols et autres particules fines jouent un rôle important dans la machinerie mondiale. Les chercheurs ont déjà établi que la poussière soulevée par le vent aide à fertiliser la vie marine et fournit des minéraux essentiels aux forêts tropicales brésiliennes.

Les aérosols de poussière, de suie et de sulfate produits naturellement et provenant des cheminées d'usine et des échappements d'automobiles jouent un rôle dans modérer les climats en filtrant la lumière du soleil et en fournissant des noyaux autour desquels les nuages ​​peuvent se former.

Les particules polluantes provenant de la combustion de combustibles fossiles ont toujours été lié à la maladie humaine et la mort prématurée.

Un ensemble de scientifiques a récemment jumelé des peintures historiques d'effets atmosphériques à des les données des éruptions volcaniques Pour démontrer que la violence naturelle peut non seulement changer le climat, elle peut même changer la façon dont les artistes perçoivent le monde à leur sujet.

"Ces particules ont un ensemble unique de propriétés physiques et chimiques et peuvent avoir un effet important sur le climat de la Terre"

Et la poussière et la suie des incendies de forêt en Europe et aux États-Unis ont même été lié à l'accélération de l'écoulement de l'eau de fonte de la calotte glaciaire du Groenland.

L'hypothèse intuitive a toujours été que la poussière en suspension dans l'air commence par la sécheresse ou le feu, suivie par des vents qui pourraient soulever des particules dans l'air et les maintenir en l'air.

Mais les chercheurs américains ont recueilli des échantillons d'air après que la pluie ait balayé Lamont, Oklahoma, en mars 2014, pour trouver une fine brume de minuscules sphères visqueuses ou vitreuses de particules carbonées - si minuscules que 100 côte à côte correspondrait à la largeur d'un humain. des cheveux - qui avaient littéralement été éclaboussés dans l'air par des gouttes de pluie en cascade.

Les particules - elles doivent avoir flotté vers le haut dans les bulles d'air qui se sont formées lorsque la pluie a frappé le sol - constituaient les deux tiers du matériau dans les échantillons d'air et ne pouvaient provenir que de la végétation en décomposition et des microbes du sol.

Expériences d'irrigation

Les chercheurs ont testé l'origine des particules avec une partie de la haute technologie maintenant disponible pour la science: un microscope à absorption de rayons X basé sur le synchrotron, un microscope électronique à balayage, un microscope à ions hélium et un microscope électronique à transmission.

Ils ont également échantillonné des collections de deux autres orages et ont mené ce qu'ils ont appelé «nos expériences d'irrigation» avec un arroseur de jardin pour confirmer que «l'impaction intensive de l'eau» était tout ce qu'il fallait pour élever la poussière.

La recherche fournit encore un autre exemple de l'intrication et de la complexité de la machinerie climatique de la planète. La façon dont les minuscules fragments de matériel provenant des prairies, des champs et des champs de blé jouent alors un rôle important dans la recherche sur le climat reste ouverte.

"C'est un nouveau mécanisme pour amener le carbone du sol dans l'air", explique Alexander Laskin, chercheur principal à la Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. "Ces particules ont un ensemble unique de propriétés physiques et chimiques et peuvent avoir un effet important sur le climat de la Terre." - Climat Nouvelles du Réseau

A propos de l'auteur

Tim Radford, journaliste indépendantTim Radford est un journaliste indépendant. Il a travaillé pour The Guardian pour 32 ans, devenant (entre autres choses) lettres éditeur, rédacteur en chef des arts, éditeur littéraire et rédacteur scientifique. Il a remporté le Association of Science Writers britanniques prix pour écrivain scientifique de l'année quatre fois. Il a siégé au comité britannique pour le Décennie internationale de la prévention des catastrophes naturelles. Il a donné des conférences sur la science et les médias dans des dizaines de villes britanniques et étrangères.

La science qui a changé le monde: l'histoire inédite de l'autre révolution de 1960Réservez par cet auteur:

La science qui a changé le monde: l'histoire inédite de l'autre révolution de 1960
par Tim Radford.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon. (Livre Kindle)

Rainstorms Raise An Airborne Dust Problem

Splashes from raindrops are an unexpected source of fine soil particles in the atmosphere. Image: Elvis Payne via FlickrSplashes from raindrops are an unexpected source of fine soil particles in the atmosphere. Image: Elvis Payne via Flickr

Analysis of air samples shows that the cleansing effect of heavy rainfall is diminished by organic particles spattering up into the atmosphere from the soil.

Researchers have identified an unexpected generator of the fine organic dust that blows in the wind. They blame it on raindrops.

Researchers from two national laboratories in the US, and colleagues, report in Nature Geoscience journal that tiny, glassy spheres of carbon-based material found in the air are the residue from rain spattering on the soil.

Having observed the effect after one powerful rainstorm in 2014, the scientists looked again and again, and then tested the result once more with help from a garden sprinkler. The impact of rain on soil and vegetation produced vanishingly small but detectable organic airborne particles.

“The idea of rain producing aerosols, much less solid ones, just hadn’t been on anyone’s radar,” says one of the researchers, Mary Gilles, staff scientist in the chemical sciences division at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, California.

Global machinery

“Rain cleans the atmosphere; it hadn’t occurred to me to think of rain as a mechanism to produce solid particles from soil.”

Dust, aerosols and other fine particles play an important role in the global machinery. Researchers have previously established that windblown dust helps fertilise marine life and delivers vital minerals to the Brazilian rainforests.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Dust, soot and sulphate aerosols produced naturally and from factory chimneys and car exhausts play a role in moderating climates by filtering sunlight and by providing nuclei around which clouds may form.

Polluting particles from fossil fuel combustion have been consistently linked to human illness and premature death.

One set of scientists recently matched historic paintings of atmospheric effects with known data from volcanic eruptions to demonstrate that natural violence can not only change the climate, it can even change the way artists perceive the world about them.

“These particles have a unique set of physical and chemical properties and may have a substantial effect on the Earth’s climate”

And dust and soot from forest fires in Europe and the US have even been linked to the accelerating flow of meltwater from the Greenland icecap.

The intuitive assumption has always been that airborne dust begins with drought or fire, followed by winds that could lift particles into the air and keep them aloft.

But the US researchers collected air samples after rain swept through Lamont, Oklahoma, in March 2014, to find a fine mist of tiny viscous or glassy spheres of carbon-based particles – so tiny that 100 side by side would match the width of one human hair – that had literally been splashed into the air by cascading raindrops.

The particles – they must have floated upwards in air bubbles that formed as the rain hit the soil – made up two-thirds of the material in the air samples and could only have come from decaying vegetation and soil microbes.

Irrigation experiments

The researchers tested the origins of the particles with some of the high technology now available to science: a synchrotron-based X-ray absorption microscope, a scanning electron microscope, a helium ion microscope, and a transmission electron microscope.

They also sampled collections from two other rainstorms and conducted what they called “our irrigation experiments” with a garden sprinkler to confirm that “intensive water impaction” was all it took to raise the dust.

The research provides yet another example of the intricacy and complexity of the planet’s climatic machinery. How the tiny fragments of material from grassland, farmyard and wheat field then play into the bigger picture of climate research remains open.

“This is a new mechanism for bringing carbon from the soil into the air,” says Alexander Laskin, senior research scientist at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. “These particles have a unique set of physical and chemical properties and they may have a substantial effect on the Earth’s climate.” – Climate News Network

About the Author

Tim Radford, freelance journalistTim Radford is a freelance journalist. He worked for The Guardian for 32 years, becoming (among other things) letters editor, arts editor, literary editor and science editor. He won the Association of British Science Writers award for science writer of the year four times. He served on the UK committee for the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction. He has lectured about science and the media in dozens of British and foreign cities. 

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolutionBook by this Author:

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolution
by Tim Radford.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. (Kindle book)

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…