العواصف المطيرة تثير مشكلة الغبار المحمولة جواً

البقع من قطرات المطر هي مصدر غير متوقع من جسيمات التربة الدقيقة في الغلاف الجوي. الصورة: الفيس باين عبر Flickrالبقع من قطرات المطر هي مصدر غير متوقع من جسيمات التربة الدقيقة في الغلاف الجوي. الصورة: الفيس باين عبر Flickr

يبين تحليل عينات الهواء أن تأثير التطهير للأمطار الغزيرة قد تقلص بسبب جزيئات عضوية ترتشف في الغلاف الجوي من التربة.

وقد حدد الباحثون غير متوقع مولد الغبار العضوي الناعم الذي يهب في الريح. يلومونه على قطرات المطر.

باحثون من مختبرين وطنيين في الولايات المتحدة ، وزملاء ، تقرير في Nature Geoscience مجلة ذلك مجالات زجاجية صغيرة من المواد القائمة على الكربون وجدت في الهواء هي بقايا من الأمطار الرش على التربة.

بعد أن لاحظ العلماء الأثر بعد عاصفة مطرية قوية في 2014 ، نظر العلماء مرارًا وتكرارًا ، ثم اختبروا النتيجة مرة أخرى بمساعدة رشاش حديقة. أدى تأثير الأمطار على التربة والغطاء النباتي إلى إنتاج جسيمات عضوية محمولة صغيرة ولكنها قابلة للكشف.

تقول إحدى الباحثتين ، ماري جيل ، عالمة العلوم في قسم العلوم الكيميائية في جامعة هارفارد: "إن فكرة إنتاج الأهباء المطرية ، التي لا تنتج إلا صخورًا صلبة ، لم تكن على رادار أحد". مختبر لورانس بيركلي الوطني، كاليفورنيا.

الآلات العالمية

"ينظف المطر الغلاف الجوي. لم يحدث لي أن أفكر في المطر كآلية لإنتاج جزيئات صلبة من التربة ".

وتلعب الغبار والأيروصولات وغيرها من الجسيمات الدقيقة دوراً هاماً في الآلية العالمية. وقد أثبت الباحثون ذلك سابقا الغبار windblown يساعد على تخصيب الحياة البحرية ويقدم معادن حيوية للغابات المطيرة البرازيلية.

ينتج الغبار والسخام والهباء الجوي للكبريت بشكل طبيعي ومن مداخن المصانع وعوادم السيارات دورًا في اعتدال المناخ عن طريق تصفية أشعة الشمس وعن طريق توفير النوى حول الغيوم التي قد تتشكل.

وقد تم باستمرار الجزيئات الملوثة من احتراق الوقود الأحفوري مرتبطة بمرض الإنسان والوفاة المبكرة.

قامت مجموعة من العلماء مؤخرًا بمطابقة لوحات تاريخية من التأثيرات الجوية المعروفة البيانات من الانفجارات البركانية لإثبات أن العنف الطبيعي لا يمكن أن يغير المناخ فحسب ، بل يمكن أن يغير طريقة إدراك الفنانين للعالم بشأنهم.

"هذه الجسيمات لديها مجموعة فريدة من الخصائص الفيزيائية والكيميائية وقد يكون لها تأثير كبير على مناخ الأرض"

والغبار والسخام من حرائق الغابات في أوروبا والولايات المتحدة كانا كذلك مرتبطة بالتدفق المتسارع للمياه الذائبة من جليد جرينلاند.

كان الافتراض البديهي دائما هو أن الغبار المحمول جوا يبدأ من الجفاف أو النار ، تليها الرياح التي يمكن أن ترفع الجسيمات في الهواء وتبقيها مرتفعة.

لكن الباحثين الأمريكيين جمعوا عينات الهواء بعد أن اجتاحت الأمطار لامونت ، بولاية أوكلاهوما ، في مارس 2014 ، لإيجاد ضباب خفيف من الأجسام اللزجة أو الزجاجية الصغيرة من الجسيمات الكربونية - صغيرة جدًا بحيث تتطابق 100 جنبًا إلى جنب مع عرض إنسان واحد الشعر - التي تم رشها حرفيا في الهواء عن طريق قطرات المطر المتتالية.

وهذه الجسيمات ـ التي يجب أن تكون قد طفت إلى أعلى في فقاعات الهواء التي تشكلت عندما ضرب المطر التربة ـ شكّلت ثلثي المادة الموجودة في عينات الهواء ، وكان يمكن أن تأتي فقط من النباتات المتحللة والميكروبات في التربة.

تجارب الري

اختبر الباحثون أصول هذه الجسيمات مع بعض التكنولوجيا العالية المتوفرة الآن للعلم: مجهر امتصاص الأشعة السينية المستندة إلى سنكروترون ، مجهر إلكترون مسح ، مجهر أيون هيليوم ، ومجهار إلكترون انتقالي.

كما قاموا بتجميع عينات من عاصفتين مطرتين أخريين وقاموا بما أسموه "تجارب الري لدينا" باستخدام رشاش حديقة للتأكيد على أن "تأثير الماء المكثف" كان كل ما يتطلبه الأمر لرفع الغبار.

يقدم البحث مثالا آخر على تعقيد وتعقيد الجهاز المناخي للكوكب. كيف أن الأجزاء الصغيرة من المواد من الأراضي العشبية ، حقول المزارع ، وحقول القمح ، ثم تلعب في الصورة الأكبر للأبحاث المناخية تظل مفتوحة.

"هذه هي آلية جديدة لجلب الكربون من التربة في الهواء" ، ويقول الكسندر Laskin ، كبير باحث في العالم المختبر الوطني شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ. "تتمتع هذه الجسيمات بمجموعة فريدة من الخصائص الفيزيائية والكيميائية وقد يكون لها تأثير كبير على مناخ الأرض". - مناخ شبكة أخبار

عن المؤلف

تيم رادفورد ، صحفي مستقلتيم رادفورد صحافي مستقل. كان يعمل ل الحارس ل32 عاما، لتصبح (من بين أمور أخرى) خطابات رئيس التحرير، محرر الفنون، المحرر الأدبي ورئيس تحرير العلم. فاز رابطة كتاب العلوم البريطاني جائزة للكاتب العلوم من السنة أربع مرات. خدم في لجنة المملكة المتحدة لل العقد الدولي للحد من الكوارث الطبيعية. وقد ألقى محاضرات عن العلوم والإعلام في عشرات المدن البريطانية والأجنبية.

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرىكتاب بهذا المؤلف:

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرى
تيم رادفورد.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون. (كتاب أوقد)

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Rainstorms Raise An Airborne Dust Problem

Splashes from raindrops are an unexpected source of fine soil particles in the atmosphere. Image: Elvis Payne via FlickrSplashes from raindrops are an unexpected source of fine soil particles in the atmosphere. Image: Elvis Payne via Flickr

Analysis of air samples shows that the cleansing effect of heavy rainfall is diminished by organic particles spattering up into the atmosphere from the soil.

Researchers have identified an unexpected generator of the fine organic dust that blows in the wind. They blame it on raindrops.

Researchers from two national laboratories in the US, and colleagues, report in Nature Geoscience journal that tiny, glassy spheres of carbon-based material found in the air are the residue from rain spattering on the soil.

Having observed the effect after one powerful rainstorm in 2014, the scientists looked again and again, and then tested the result once more with help from a garden sprinkler. The impact of rain on soil and vegetation produced vanishingly small but detectable organic airborne particles.

“The idea of rain producing aerosols, much less solid ones, just hadn’t been on anyone’s radar,” says one of the researchers, Mary Gilles, staff scientist in the chemical sciences division at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, California.

Global machinery

“Rain cleans the atmosphere; it hadn’t occurred to me to think of rain as a mechanism to produce solid particles from soil.”

Dust, aerosols and other fine particles play an important role in the global machinery. Researchers have previously established that windblown dust helps fertilise marine life and delivers vital minerals to the Brazilian rainforests.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Dust, soot and sulphate aerosols produced naturally and from factory chimneys and car exhausts play a role in moderating climates by filtering sunlight and by providing nuclei around which clouds may form.

Polluting particles from fossil fuel combustion have been consistently linked to human illness and premature death.

One set of scientists recently matched historic paintings of atmospheric effects with known data from volcanic eruptions to demonstrate that natural violence can not only change the climate, it can even change the way artists perceive the world about them.

“These particles have a unique set of physical and chemical properties and may have a substantial effect on the Earth’s climate”

And dust and soot from forest fires in Europe and the US have even been linked to the accelerating flow of meltwater from the Greenland icecap.

The intuitive assumption has always been that airborne dust begins with drought or fire, followed by winds that could lift particles into the air and keep them aloft.

But the US researchers collected air samples after rain swept through Lamont, Oklahoma, in March 2014, to find a fine mist of tiny viscous or glassy spheres of carbon-based particles – so tiny that 100 side by side would match the width of one human hair – that had literally been splashed into the air by cascading raindrops.

The particles – they must have floated upwards in air bubbles that formed as the rain hit the soil – made up two-thirds of the material in the air samples and could only have come from decaying vegetation and soil microbes.

Irrigation experiments

The researchers tested the origins of the particles with some of the high technology now available to science: a synchrotron-based X-ray absorption microscope, a scanning electron microscope, a helium ion microscope, and a transmission electron microscope.

They also sampled collections from two other rainstorms and conducted what they called “our irrigation experiments” with a garden sprinkler to confirm that “intensive water impaction” was all it took to raise the dust.

The research provides yet another example of the intricacy and complexity of the planet’s climatic machinery. How the tiny fragments of material from grassland, farmyard and wheat field then play into the bigger picture of climate research remains open.

“This is a new mechanism for bringing carbon from the soil into the air,” says Alexander Laskin, senior research scientist at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. “These particles have a unique set of physical and chemical properties and they may have a substantial effect on the Earth’s climate.” – Climate News Network

About the Author

Tim Radford, freelance journalistTim Radford is a freelance journalist. He worked for The Guardian for 32 years, becoming (among other things) letters editor, arts editor, literary editor and science editor. He won the Association of British Science Writers award for science writer of the year four times. He served on the UK committee for the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction. He has lectured about science and the media in dozens of British and foreign cities. 

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolutionBook by this Author:

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolution
by Tim Radford.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. (Kindle book)

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…