لماذا تحذيرات على المناخ شرارة نفي العدوانية

لماذا التحذيرات على المناخ شرارة نفي العدوانية

Aيجادل كتاب جديد بأن تهديدات الموت وإساءة استعماله توضح كيف يتم تشويه سمعة تغيير المناخ بطريقة لا مثيل لها في تاريخ العلم.

إذا لم تعجبك الرسالة حول تغير المناخ ، فيبدو أن الإجابة هي إطلاق النار على الرسول.

وفقا لكتاب جديد من قبل محامي البيئة المخضرم جورج مارشالالآلاف من رسائل البريد الإلكتروني المسيئة - بما في ذلك مطالبه بالانتحار أو "إطلاق النار ، وإيواءها وإطعامها للخنازير ، مع عائلتك" - استقبلها عالم المناخ مايكل مان ، مدير مركز علوم نظام الأرض بجامعة ولاية بنسلفانيا ، الذي رسم ونشرت "الرسم البياني عصا الهوكي"يرسم ارتفاعًا حادًا في متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة العالمية.

دعا جلين بيك ، المعلق على قناة فوكس التلفزيونية ، علماء المناخ إلى الانتحار. ا مدون إنكار المناخ دعا مارك مورانو أن مجموعة واحدة من علماء المناخ تستحق "أن تكون علانية للجلد". ووجد الراحل ستيفن شنايدر اسمه وعلماء المناخ اليهود الآخرين على "قائمة الموت" التي يحتفظ بها موقع أمريكي نازي جديد.

شيء غريب جدا يحدث

كما يشير مارشال في بلده استيعاب، جامعة مانعة، كثيرا كتاب للقراءة، لا حتى التفكير في ذلك: لماذا يتم السلكية أدمغتنا إلى تجاهل تغير المناخ، وهو أمر غريب جدا يجري.

إن علم الأحياء الدقيقة الثوري في لويس باستور يعمل على الوقاية من الأمراض لم ينتج عنه التفكير في كيفية استخدام المسدس. لم يكن جوناس سالك بحاجة إلى تقوية منزله نتيجة للعمل على تطوير لقاح شلل الأطفال.

علماء آخرون موثوقون ومحترمون. لكن الطريقة التي يعامل بها علماء المناخ الآن ، هي بدون موازٍ في تاريخ العلم: "لقد تم إعدادهم للقيام بهذا الدور في قصة مناخية ، يبدو أنها لا تستطيع دحض تغير المناخ دون تشويه صورة الناس نحذرنا من ذلك ".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ننسى ، إذا استطعت ، الأشخاص الذين يبدو أنهم يشفقون على هذه الردود الغاضبة. لا يمكن التغلب على تغير المناخ أو التخفيف منه إلا من خلال العمل - وهناك الكثير من الأسباب التي تجعل عددًا كبيرًا من الأشخاص يوافقون على ما يجب فعله ثم يفشلون في الإصرار على تنفيذه.

دان جيلبرت، وهو طبيب نفساني الذي فاز بجائزة كتاب العلوم للجمعية الملكية في 2007 مع دراسة الألغاز من السعادة، ويقول ان تغير المناخ هو شيء غير المرجح أن تضرب الخوف في قلب الإنسان على أي حال. ومن غير شخصي، فمن تدريجي، فمن غير أخلاقي، وأنها ليست - أو لا يبدو أن - يحدث الآن.

"التهديد البعيد والمجرّد والمتنازع عليه لا يملك فقط الخصائص الضرورية لتعبئة الرأي العام بجدية "

وقد أشار باحثون آخرون إلى الاتجاه المزعج ، الذي يشترك فيه جميع البشر ، في تصديق ما يريدون تصديقه. وعلاوة على ذلك ، فإن تغير المناخ ليس (التهديدات بالقتل والخيالات العامة للجلد جانباً) قضية فورية أو عاطفية. يقول الحائز على جائزة نوبل: "إن التهديد البعيد والمجرّد والمتنازع عليه لا يملك الخصائص الضرورية لتعبئة الرأي العام بجدية". دانيال كانيمان.

هناك صعوبات أخرى. متى ، على سبيل المثال ، هل ستحدث الأشياء الفظيعة؟ كيف تقوم بتعبئة الرأي العام حول الجدال مع الجداول الزمنية غير المؤكدة والنتائج غير الدقيقة والألغاز الحقيقية حول تكاليف وفوائد أي أعمال؟ ويقول مارشال إن أحداً لا يسير على الإطلاق تحت راية تقول إن "100 قبل أشهر من تحول الصعاب إلى احتمالية أكبر للتعليقات".

مارشال أسس شبكة معلومات التوعية المناخ و (COIN) ، ومقرها في أكسفورد ، إنجلترا. وهو محارب قديم في Greenpeace و Rainforest Foundation ، وليس هناك الكثير من الشك حول ما يفكر فيه ويعرف أنه حقيقي.

لكن جاذبية هذا الكتاب هي أنه يتيح للآخرين التحدث. يدرس الثنائي السياسي المزدوج الذي يبدو أنه يصيب بعض الهيئات التشريعية في الولايات المتحدة. إنه يستمع إلى المشككين ، والقلق ، وعمالقة النفط ، ومنظري المؤامرة ، ومن المشاهير في الحملة البيئية ، وغيرهم ممن يستحضرون صور الموت والحمى والتدخين.

ويشير إلى جامعة أكسفورد معهد المستقبل للإنسانيةالتي استطلعت آراء خبراء أكاديميين بشأن المخاطر العالمية ، ووجدت تقديراً "لإحتمال 19 في المائة أن تنقرض الكائنات البشرية قبل نهاية القرن".

سلوك الإيثار

يبدو أن عنوان هذا الكتاب واتجاهه وأعباءه يحمل في طياته فشلًا كونيًا في مواجهة الأزمة المقبلة. لكن ، بالطبع ، يسحب مارشال الآس قرب النهاية.

الدببة القطبية-11-12

ويخلص إلى أنه على الرغم من أن أدمغة البشر قد تكون متشددة في عدم القلق بشأن ما قد يحدث أو لا يحدث خلال جيلين ، فإنها تتمتع أيضًا بقدرة هائلة على السلوك الاجتماعي الداعم والمؤيد للإيثار.

"إن تغير المناخ هو بالكامل ضمن قدرتنا على التغيير". هو يقول، "إنه أمر صعب ، لكنه بعيد عن المستحيل".

من الجيد معرفة. وينتهي الكتاب ببعض النصائح الجدية حول كيفية تقديم الدعوى لاتخاذ إجراء - وبدلاً من عقوبة الإعدام ، نحصل على نصيحة سخية بأحرف كبيرة. ويذكرنا بأن تغير المناخ يحدث هنا والآن. وهو يحث الناشطين على خفض ECO-STUFF ، وخاصة الدببة القطبية.

يقترح مارشال أننا بالفعل نحاول احتواء الاحترار العالمي المتوسط ​​إلى 2 ° C. يقتبس جون Schellnhuber ، مدير معهد بوتسدام لبحوث التأثيرات المناخيةالذي أخبر الأستراليين: "الفرق بين درجتين إلى أربع درجات هو الحضارة الإنسانية". نعم ، هل تفكر في الأمر.

- شبكة أخبار المناخ

عن المؤلف

تيم رادفورد ، صحفي مستقلتيم رادفورد صحافي مستقل. كان يعمل ل الحارس ل32 عاما، لتصبح (من بين أمور أخرى) خطابات رئيس التحرير، محرر الفنون، المحرر الأدبي ورئيس تحرير العلم. فاز رابطة كتاب العلوم البريطاني جائزة للكاتب العلوم من السنة أربع مرات. خدم في لجنة المملكة المتحدة لل العقد الدولي للحد من الكوارث الطبيعية. وقد ألقى محاضرات عن العلوم والإعلام في عشرات المدن البريطانية والأجنبية.

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرىكتاب بهذا المؤلف:

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرى
تيم رادفورد.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون. (كتاب أوقد)

رشح InnerSelf الكتاب:

لا تفكر حتى في الأمر: لماذا يتم توصيل أدمغتنا لتجاهل تغير المناخ
جورج مارشال.

لا تفكر حتى في الأمر: لماذا يتم سداد أدمغتنا لتجاهل تغير المناخ بواسطة جورج مارشال.لا حتى التفكير في ذلك يتعلق الأمر بالتغير المناخي وبالميزات التي تجعلنا بشرًا وكيف يمكننا النمو ونحن نتعامل مع أكبر تحد واجهناه على الإطلاق. من خلال المشاركة في القصص والاعتماد على سنوات من أبحاثه الخاصة ، يجادل المؤلف بأن الإجابات لا تكمن في الأشياء التي تجعلنا مختلفين ونبعدنا عن بعضنا ، بل بالأحرى في ما نشاركه جميعًا: كيف يتم توصيل أدمغتنا البشرية - تطورينا أصولنا ، تصوراتنا عن التهديدات ، مواقعنا العمياء المعرفيّة ، حبّنا لرواية القصص ، خوفنا من الموت ، وأعمق غرائزنا للدفاع عن عائلتنا وقبيلتنا. بمجرد أن نفهم ما يثير ، يهددنا ويحفزنا ، يمكننا إعادة التفكير في تغير المناخ وإعادة تصوره ، لأنها ليست مشكلة مستحيلة. بدلا من ذلك ، يمكننا أن نتوقف إذا استطعنا جعله هدفنا المشترك وأرضنا المشتركة. الصمت والتراخي هما الأكثر إقناعا من الروايات ، لذا نحتاج إلى تغيير القصة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Why Warnings on Climate Spark Aggressive Denials

Why Warnings On Climate Spark Aggressive Denials

Anew book argues that death threats and abuse illustrate how climate change messengers are being demonised in a way that is without parallel in the history of science.

If you don’t like the message on climate change, it seems that the answer is to shoot the messenger.

According to a new book by veteran environmentalist George Marshall, thousands of abusive emails − including demands that he commit suicide or be “shot, quartered and fed to the pigs, along with your family” – were received by climate scientist Michael Mann, director of Pennsylvania State University’s Earth System Science Centre, who drew and published the “hockey stick graph”  that charts a steep rise in global average temperatures.

Glenn Beck, a commentator on Fox TV, called on climate scientists to commit suicide. A climate denial blogger called Marc Morano claimed that one group of climate scientists deserved “to be publicly flogged”. And the late Stephen Schneider found his name and that of other Jewish climate scientists on a “death list” maintained by an American neo-Nazi website.

Something Very Strange Is Going On

As Marshall points out in his absorbing, all-embracing, immensely readable book, Don’t Even Think About It: Why Our Brains are Wired to Ignore Climate Change, something very strange is going on.

Louis Pasteur’s revolutionary microbiology work on disease prevention never resulted in him having to think about how to use a gun. Jonas Salk never needed to fortify his house as result of working on the development of a polio vaccine.

Other scientists are trusted and respected. But the way climate scientists are now treated, Marshall argues, is without parallel in the history of science: “They have been set up to play that role in a climate storyline that, it would seem, cannot refute climate change without demonising the people who warn us about it.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Forget, if you can, the people who seem to be whipping up these furious responses. Climate change can only be met or mitigated by action − and there are plenty of reasons why a very large number of people nod in agreement about what must be done and then fail to insist that it is done.

Dan Gilbert, a psychologist who won the Royal Society’s science book prize in 2007 with an examination of the puzzles of happiness, says that climate change is something unlikely to strike fear in the human heart anyway. It is impersonal, it is gradual, it is amoral, and it isn’t – or doesn’t seem to be – happening now.

A distant, abstract, and disputed threat just doesn’t have the necessary characteristics for seriously mobilising public opinion”

Other researchers have pointed out the alarming tendency, shared by all humans, to believe what they want to believe. Furthermore, climate change is not (death threats and public flogging fantasies aside) an immediate or an emotional issue. “A distant, abstract, and disputed threat just doesn’t have the necessary characteristics for seriously mobilising public opinion,” says the Nobel laureate, Daniel Kahneman.

There are other difficulties. When, for instance, will the awful things start to happen? How do you mobilise public opinion on an argument with uncertain timescales, imprecise outcomes and real puzzles about the costs and benefits of any actions? No one, Marshall says, is ever going to march under a banner of that says “100 months before the Odds Shift into a Greater Likelihood of Feedbacks”.

Marshall founded the Climate Outreach and Information Network (COIN), based in Oxford, England. He is a veteran of Greenpeace and the Rainforest Foundation, and there isn’t much doubt about what he thinks and knows to be true.

But the appeal of this book is that he lets others talk. He examines the political doublethink that seems to infect some legislatures in the US. He listens to the sceptics, the worriers, the oil giants, the conspiracy theorists, the celebrity environmental campaigners, and the other ones who invoke imagery of death, fever and smoking ruin.

And he refers to the University of Oxford’s Future of Humanity Institute, which polled academic experts on global risk, and found an estimate of a “19 per cent probability that the human species will go extinct before the end of the Century”.

Altruistic Behaviour

The title, direction and burden of this book seem to augur almost apocalyptic failure to confront the coming crisis. But, of course, Marshall pulls out an ace near the end.

polar bears-11-12

He concludes that while human brains may be hard-wired to not worry about what may or may not happen in two generations, they also have an immense capacity for pro-social, supportive and altruistic behaviour.

“Climate change is entirely within our capacity for change,”  he says, “It is challenging, but far from impossible.”

That is good to know. And the book ends with some serious advice about how to make the case for action – and instead of capital punishment, we get generously shouty advice in capital letters. CLIMATE CHANGE IS HAPPENING HERE AND NOW, he reminds us. And he urges campaigners to DROP THE ECO-STUFF, especially the polar bears.

Marshall suggests that we really do try to contain global average warming to 2°C. He quotes John Schellnhuber, director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, who told the Australians: “The difference between two and four degrees is human civilisation.” And, yes, do think about it.

Climate News Network

About the Author

Tim Radford, freelance journalistTim Radford is a freelance journalist. He worked for The Guardian for 32 years, becoming (among other things) letters editor, arts editor, literary editor and science editor. He won the Association of British Science Writers award for science writer of the year four times. He served on the UK committee for the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction. He has lectured about science and the media in dozens of British and foreign cities. 

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolutionBook by this Author:

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolution
by Tim Radford.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. (Kindle book)

InnerSelf Recommended book:

Don't Even Think About It: Why Our Brains Are Wired to Ignore Climate Change
by George Marshall.

Don't Even Think About It: Why Our Brains Are Wired to Ignore Climate Change by George Marshall.Don’t Even Think About It is both about climate change and about the qualities that make us human and how we can grow as we deal with the greatest challenge we have ever faced. With engaging stories and drawing on years of his own research, the author argues that the answers do not lie in the things that make us different and drive us apart, but rather in what we all share: how our human brains are wired—our evolutionary origins, our perceptions of threats, our cognitive blindspots, our love of storytelling, our fear of death, and our deepest instincts to defend our family and tribe. Once we understand what excites, threatens, and motivates us, we can rethink and reimagine climate change, for it is not an impossible problem. Rather, it is one we can halt if we can make it our common purpose and common ground. Silence and inaction are the most persuasive of narratives, so we need to change the story. 

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…