Pourquoi les avertissements sur le climat Spark Aggressive Denials

Pourquoi les avertissements sur le climat Spark Aggressive Denials

AUn nouveau livre affirme que les menaces de mort et les abus illustrent comment les messagers du changement climatique sont diabolisés d'une manière sans parallèle dans l'histoire de la science.

Si vous n'aimez pas le message sur le changement climatique, il semble que la réponse est de tirer sur le messager.

Selon un nouveau livre de vétéran environnementaliste George MarshallDes milliers de courriels abusifs - y compris des demandes de suicide ou d'être «fusillés, coupés en quatre et nourris avec les membres de votre famille» - ont été reçus par le spécialiste du climat Michael Mann, directeur du Earth System Science Center de l'Université d'État de Pennsylvanie. et publié le "graphique de bâton de hockey"Qui enregistre une forte hausse des températures moyennes mondiales.

Glenn Beck, un commentateur de Fox TV, a appelé les scientifiques du climat à se suicider. UNE blogueur du déni du climat Marc Morano a affirmé qu'un groupe de climatologues méritait "d'être flagellé publiquement". Et le regretté Stephen Schneider a trouvé son nom et celui d'autres scientifiques du climat juif sur une "liste de mort" maintenue par un site Web néo-nazi américain.

Quelque chose de très étrange se passe

Comme Marshall souligne dans son absorption, qui embrasse tout, immensément livre lisible, Ne pensez même pas à ce sujet: Pourquoi nos cerveaux sont câblés d'ignorer les changements climatiques, quelque chose de très étrange se passe.

Le travail de microbiologie révolutionnaire de Louis Pasteur sur la prévention des maladies ne l'a jamais amené à réfléchir à la façon d'utiliser une arme à feu. Jonas Salk n'a jamais eu besoin de fortifier sa maison à la suite du travail sur le développement d'un vaccin contre la poliomyélite.

D'autres scientifiques sont fiables et respectés. Selon Marshall, le traitement des climatologues est sans équivalent dans l'histoire de la science: «Ils ont été créés pour jouer ce rôle dans un scénario climatique qui, semble-t-il, ne peut réfuter le changement climatique sans diaboliser les gens qui nous en avertir. "


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Oubliez, si vous le pouvez, les gens qui semblent fouetter ces réponses furieuses. Le changement climatique ne peut être atteint ou atténué que par l'action - et il y a de nombreuses raisons pour lesquelles un très grand nombre de personnes approuvent ce qui doit être fait et n'insistent pas pour que cela soit fait.

Dan Gilbert, Un psychologue qui a remporté le prix du livre scientifique de la Royal Society en 2007 avec un examen des puzzles de bonheur, dit que le changement climatique est quelque chose peu probable que semer la peur dans le cœur humain de toute façon. Il est impersonnel, il est progressif, il est amoral, et ce ne sont pas - ou ne semble pas être - passe maintenant.

« Une menace lointaine, abstraite et contestée n'a tout simplement pas les caractéristiques nécessaires pour mobiliser sérieusement l'opinion publique "

D'autres chercheurs ont souligné la tendance alarmante, partagée par tous les humains, à croire ce qu'ils veulent croire. De plus, le changement climatique n'est pas (des menaces de mort et des fantaisies de flagellation publique de côté) un problème immédiat ou émotionnel. "Une menace lointaine, abstraite et contestée n'a tout simplement pas les caractéristiques nécessaires pour mobiliser sérieusement l'opinion publique", explique le lauréat du prix Nobel, Daniel Kahneman.

Il y a d'autres difficultés. Quand, par exemple, les choses horribles commenceront-elles à se produire? Comment mobilisez-vous l'opinion publique sur un argument avec des échelles de temps incertaines, des résultats imprécis et de véritables énigmes sur les coûts et les avantages de toute action? Marshall, dit-on, ne marchera jamais sous une bannière qui dit «100 mois avant que les chances ne changent en une plus grande probabilité de feedbacks».

Marshall a fondé le Sensibilisation climatique et Réseau d'information (COIN), basé à Oxford, en Angleterre. Il est un vétéran de Greenpeace et de la Rainforest Foundation, et il n'y a pas beaucoup de doute sur ce qu'il pense et sait être vrai.

Mais l'attrait de ce livre est qu'il laisse les autres parler. Il examine la double pensée politique qui semble infecter certaines législatures aux États-Unis. Il écoute les sceptiques, les inquiets, les géants pétroliers, les théoriciens du complot, les militants environnementaux célèbres, et les autres qui invoquent l'imagerie de la mort, de la fièvre et de la ruine fumante.

Et il se réfère à l'Université d'Oxford Futur de l'Institut de l'Humanité, qui a sondé des experts universitaires sur le risque global, et a trouvé une estimation d'une «probabilité de 19 pour cent que l'espèce humaine disparaîtra avant la fin du siècle».

Comportement altruiste

Le titre, la direction et le fardeau de ce livre semblent présager un échec presque apocalyptique face à la crise à venir. Mais, bien sûr, Marshall sort un as près de la fin.

ours polaires-11-12

Il conclut que même si les cerveaux humains peuvent être câblés pour ne pas s'inquiéter de ce qui peut arriver ou ne pas se produire dans deux générations, ils ont aussi une immense capacité de comportement pro-social, de soutien et d'altruisme.

"Le changement climatique est entièrement dans notre capacité de changement" il dit, "C'est un défi, mais loin d'être impossible."

C'est bon à savoir. Et le livre se termine par de sérieux conseils sur la façon de plaider en faveur de l'action - et au lieu de la peine de mort, nous recevons des conseils généreusement honteux en majuscules. LE CHANGEMENT CLIMATIQUE SE PRODUIT ICI ET MAINTENANT, nous rappelle-t-il. Et il exhorte les militants à abandonner l'ECO-STUFF, en particulier les ours polaires.

Marshall suggère que nous essayons vraiment de contenir le réchauffement moyen global à 2 ° C. Il cite John Schellnhuber, directeur du Institut de Potsdam pour la recherche sur le climat, qui a dit aux Australiens: "La différence entre deux et quatre degrés est la civilisation humaine." Et, oui, y penser.

- Climate News Network

A propos de l'auteur

Tim Radford, journaliste indépendantTim Radford est un journaliste indépendant. Il a travaillé pour The Guardian pour 32 ans, devenant (entre autres choses) lettres éditeur, rédacteur en chef des arts, éditeur littéraire et rédacteur scientifique. Il a remporté le Association of Science Writers britanniques prix pour écrivain scientifique de l'année quatre fois. Il a siégé au comité britannique pour le Décennie internationale de la prévention des catastrophes naturelles. Il a donné des conférences sur la science et les médias dans des dizaines de villes britanniques et étrangères.

La science qui a changé le monde: l'histoire inédite de l'autre révolution de 1960Réservez par cet auteur:

La science qui a changé le monde: l'histoire inédite de l'autre révolution de 1960
par Tim Radford.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon. (Livre Kindle)

InnerSelf recommandée livre:

N'y pensez même pas: pourquoi nos cerveaux sont-ils branchés pour ignorer le changement climatique?
par George Marshall.

N'y pensez même pas: pourquoi nos cerveaux sont-ils branchés pour ignorer le changement climatique par George Marshall.Ne pensez même pas à ce sujet est à la fois sur le changement climatique et sur les qualités qui font de nous des êtres humains et comment nous pouvons grandir en affrontant le plus grand défi auquel nous ayons jamais été confrontés. Avec des histoires engageantes et des années de sa propre recherche, l'auteur affirme que les réponses ne se situent pas dans les choses qui nous différencient et nous éloignent, mais plutôt dans ce que nous partageons tous: comment nos cerveaux humains sont connectés - notre évolution origines, nos perceptions des menaces, nos angles morts cognitifs, notre amour de la narration, notre peur de la mort, et nos instincts les plus profonds pour défendre notre famille et notre tribu. Une fois que nous comprenons ce qui nous excite, nous menace et nous motive, nous pouvons repenser et réimaginer le changement climatique, car ce n'est pas un problème impossible. Au contraire, nous pouvons en arrêter une si nous pouvons en faire notre objectif commun et notre terrain d'entente. Le silence et l'inaction sont les plus persuasifs des récits, nous devons donc changer l'histoire.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Warnings on Climate Spark Aggressive Denials

Why Warnings On Climate Spark Aggressive Denials

Anew book argues that death threats and abuse illustrate how climate change messengers are being demonised in a way that is without parallel in the history of science.

If you don’t like the message on climate change, it seems that the answer is to shoot the messenger.

According to a new book by veteran environmentalist George Marshall, thousands of abusive emails − including demands that he commit suicide or be “shot, quartered and fed to the pigs, along with your family” – were received by climate scientist Michael Mann, director of Pennsylvania State University’s Earth System Science Centre, who drew and published the “hockey stick graph”  that charts a steep rise in global average temperatures.

Glenn Beck, a commentator on Fox TV, called on climate scientists to commit suicide. A climate denial blogger called Marc Morano claimed that one group of climate scientists deserved “to be publicly flogged”. And the late Stephen Schneider found his name and that of other Jewish climate scientists on a “death list” maintained by an American neo-Nazi website.

Something Very Strange Is Going On

As Marshall points out in his absorbing, all-embracing, immensely readable book, Don’t Even Think About It: Why Our Brains are Wired to Ignore Climate Change, something very strange is going on.

Louis Pasteur’s revolutionary microbiology work on disease prevention never resulted in him having to think about how to use a gun. Jonas Salk never needed to fortify his house as result of working on the development of a polio vaccine.

Other scientists are trusted and respected. But the way climate scientists are now treated, Marshall argues, is without parallel in the history of science: “They have been set up to play that role in a climate storyline that, it would seem, cannot refute climate change without demonising the people who warn us about it.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Forget, if you can, the people who seem to be whipping up these furious responses. Climate change can only be met or mitigated by action − and there are plenty of reasons why a very large number of people nod in agreement about what must be done and then fail to insist that it is done.

Dan Gilbert, a psychologist who won the Royal Society’s science book prize in 2007 with an examination of the puzzles of happiness, says that climate change is something unlikely to strike fear in the human heart anyway. It is impersonal, it is gradual, it is amoral, and it isn’t – or doesn’t seem to be – happening now.

A distant, abstract, and disputed threat just doesn’t have the necessary characteristics for seriously mobilising public opinion”

Other researchers have pointed out the alarming tendency, shared by all humans, to believe what they want to believe. Furthermore, climate change is not (death threats and public flogging fantasies aside) an immediate or an emotional issue. “A distant, abstract, and disputed threat just doesn’t have the necessary characteristics for seriously mobilising public opinion,” says the Nobel laureate, Daniel Kahneman.

There are other difficulties. When, for instance, will the awful things start to happen? How do you mobilise public opinion on an argument with uncertain timescales, imprecise outcomes and real puzzles about the costs and benefits of any actions? No one, Marshall says, is ever going to march under a banner of that says “100 months before the Odds Shift into a Greater Likelihood of Feedbacks”.

Marshall founded the Climate Outreach and Information Network (COIN), based in Oxford, England. He is a veteran of Greenpeace and the Rainforest Foundation, and there isn’t much doubt about what he thinks and knows to be true.

But the appeal of this book is that he lets others talk. He examines the political doublethink that seems to infect some legislatures in the US. He listens to the sceptics, the worriers, the oil giants, the conspiracy theorists, the celebrity environmental campaigners, and the other ones who invoke imagery of death, fever and smoking ruin.

And he refers to the University of Oxford’s Future of Humanity Institute, which polled academic experts on global risk, and found an estimate of a “19 per cent probability that the human species will go extinct before the end of the Century”.

Altruistic Behaviour

The title, direction and burden of this book seem to augur almost apocalyptic failure to confront the coming crisis. But, of course, Marshall pulls out an ace near the end.

polar bears-11-12

He concludes that while human brains may be hard-wired to not worry about what may or may not happen in two generations, they also have an immense capacity for pro-social, supportive and altruistic behaviour.

“Climate change is entirely within our capacity for change,”  he says, “It is challenging, but far from impossible.”

That is good to know. And the book ends with some serious advice about how to make the case for action – and instead of capital punishment, we get generously shouty advice in capital letters. CLIMATE CHANGE IS HAPPENING HERE AND NOW, he reminds us. And he urges campaigners to DROP THE ECO-STUFF, especially the polar bears.

Marshall suggests that we really do try to contain global average warming to 2°C. He quotes John Schellnhuber, director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, who told the Australians: “The difference between two and four degrees is human civilisation.” And, yes, do think about it.

Climate News Network

About the Author

Tim Radford, freelance journalistTim Radford is a freelance journalist. He worked for The Guardian for 32 years, becoming (among other things) letters editor, arts editor, literary editor and science editor. He won the Association of British Science Writers award for science writer of the year four times. He served on the UK committee for the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction. He has lectured about science and the media in dozens of British and foreign cities. 

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolutionBook by this Author:

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolution
by Tim Radford.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. (Kindle book)

InnerSelf Recommended book:

Don't Even Think About It: Why Our Brains Are Wired to Ignore Climate Change
by George Marshall.

Don't Even Think About It: Why Our Brains Are Wired to Ignore Climate Change by George Marshall.Don’t Even Think About It is both about climate change and about the qualities that make us human and how we can grow as we deal with the greatest challenge we have ever faced. With engaging stories and drawing on years of his own research, the author argues that the answers do not lie in the things that make us different and drive us apart, but rather in what we all share: how our human brains are wired—our evolutionary origins, our perceptions of threats, our cognitive blindspots, our love of storytelling, our fear of death, and our deepest instincts to defend our family and tribe. Once we understand what excites, threatens, and motivates us, we can rethink and reimagine climate change, for it is not an impossible problem. Rather, it is one we can halt if we can make it our common purpose and common ground. Silence and inaction are the most persuasive of narratives, so we need to change the story. 

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…