وإليك كيف يمكن للصور عطلة الخاص بك مساعدة في حفظ الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض

إليك كيف يمكن لصور عطلتك أن تساعد في حفظ الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض
Zephyr_p / شترستوك

وانخفض عدد الحيوانات في المتوسط ​​من قبل 60 1970٪ منذ، ومن المتوقع أن حوالي مليون نوع معرضون لخطر الانقراض. مع اختفاء عدد أكبر من التنوع البيولوجي للأرض وتزايد عدد السكان ، تتزايد أهمية المناظر الطبيعية المحمية التي يتم تخصيصها للحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي. للأسف ، يعاني الكثير منهم من نقص في التمويل - حيث تعمل بعض أروع محميات الحياة البرية في إفريقيا عجز التمويل بمئات الملايين من الدولارات.

في البرية غير المسورة ، نادراً ما يكون لدى العلماء جرد للأعداد الدقيقة للأنواع في منطقة ما في وقت معين. بدلاً من ذلك ، يقومون بإجراء استنتاجات باستخدام واحد من العديد من طرق المسح المختلفة ، بما في ذلك مصائد الكاميرا واستطلاعات التتبع والطائرات بدون طيار. يمكن لهذه الطرق تقدير مقدار ونوع الحياة البرية الموجودة ، ولكنها تتطلب في كثير من الأحيان بذل قدر كبير من الجهد والوقت والمال.

توضع مصائد الكاميرا في أماكن بعيدة ويتم تنشيطها بالحركة. يمكنهم جمع كميات هائلة من البيانات عن طريق التقاط الصور ومقاطع الفيديو للحيوانات المارة. ولكن هذا يمكن أن يكلف عشرات الآلاف من الدولارات للركض ومرة ​​في البرية ، والكاميرات تحت رحمة الحياة البرية الغريبة.

تعتمد استطلاعات المسارات على المتتبعين المتخصصين ، الذين لا يتوفرون دائمًا والطائرات بدون طيار ، رغم أنها واعدة ، قيدت الوصول إلى العديد من المناطق السياحية في إفريقيا. كل هذا يجعل مراقبة الحياة البرية صعبة التنفيذ وتكرارها في مناطق واسعة. دون معرفة ما هو موجود ، يصبح اتخاذ قرارات الحفاظ على البيئة بناءً على الأدلة أمرًا شبه مستحيل.

علوم المواطن على سفاري

السياحة هي واحدة من أسرع الصناعات نموا في العالم - زار 42m الناس أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى في 2018 وحدها. يأتي الكثيرون من أجل الحياة البرية الفريدة ويقومون بجمع بيانات حفظ قيمة عن طريق هواتفهم وكاميراتهم. الصور على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تستخدم بالفعل للمساعدة تتبع تجارة الحياة البرية غير المشروعة وكم مرة يزور المناطق البرية من قبل السياح.

على الرغم من ذلك ، لا يزال السياح وأدلةهم مصدراً مهملاً للمعلومات. هل يمكن أن تساعد عطلاتك في مراقبة الحياة البرية المهددة بالانقراض؟ في دراسة حديثة، اختبرنا هذا بالضبط.

من خلال الشراكة مع أحد مشغلي الجولات السياحية في بوتسوانا ، اتصلنا بجميع الضيوف الذين مروا في نزل سفاري على مدى ثلاثة أشهر في دلتا أوكافانجو وسألناهم عما إذا كانوا مهتمين بالمساهمة في صورهم للمساعدة في الحفظ. لقد زودنا المهتمين بمسجل GPS صغير - وهو النوع الذي يشيع استخدامه لتتبع قطط الحيوانات الأليفة - حتى نتمكن من رؤية مكان التقاط الصور.

قمنا بعد ذلك بجمع الصور ومعالجتها وتمريرها من خلال نماذج الكمبيوتر لتقدير كثافة خمسة أنواع كبيرة من الحيوانات آكلة اللحوم الأفريقية - الأسود ، الضباع المرقطة ، الفهود ، الكلاب البرية الأفريقية والفهود. قارنا هذه الكثافات بتلك من ثلاثة من أكثر أساليب مسح آكلات اللحوم شيوعًا في إفريقيا - محاصرة الكاميرا ومسوحات المسار ومحطات الاتصال الهاتفي ، التي تشغل الأصوات عبر مكبر صوت لجذب الحياة البرية حتى يمكن حسابها.

قدمت الصور السياحية تقديرات مماثلة للنهج الأخرى وكانت ، في المجموع ، أرخص في التجميع والمعالجة. الاعتماد على السياح للمساعدة في مسح الحياة البرية يوفر ما يصل إلى 840 دولار أمريكي لكل موسم المسح. والأفضل من ذلك ، أنها كانت الطريقة الوحيدة لاكتشاف الفهود في المنطقة - على الرغم من قلة عدد الأشخاص الذين تم رصدهم حتى لا يمكن تأكيد كثافتهم الإجمالية.

يتم التقاط الآلاف من صور الحياة البرية كل يوم ، وأظهرت الدراسة أنه يمكننا استخدام النماذج الإحصائية لاختراق الضوضاء والحصول على بيانات قيمة للحفظ. ومع ذلك ، فإن الاعتماد على الباحثين لزيارة المجموعات السياحية وتنسيق مجموعة الصور الخاصة بهم سيكون من الصعب تكراره في العديد من المناطق. لحسن الحظ ، هذا هو المكان الذي يمكن أن يأتي فيه منظمو رحلات الحياة البرية.

يمكن أن يساعد منظمو الرحلات السياحية في جمع الصور السياحية لمشاركتها مع الباحثين. إذا تم إقران جهود السياح مع الذكاء الاصطناعي الذي يمكن أن يعالج ملايين الصور بسرعة ، يمكن أن يكون لدى دعاة الحفاظ على البيئة طريقة بسيطة ومنخفضة التكلفة لمراقبة الحياة البرية.

الصور السياحية هي الأنسب لرصد الأنواع الكبيرة التي تعيش في المناطق التي يزورها السياح في كثير من الأحيان - الأنواع التي تميل إلى أن تكون ذات قيمة اقتصادية وبيئية عالية. في حين أن هذه الطريقة ربما لا تكون مناسبة تمامًا للأنواع الأصغر ، إلا أنها لا تزال تدعم حفظها بشكل غير مباشر من خلال المساعدة في حماية المناظر الطبيعية التي تعيش فيها.

أصبح الخط الفاصل بين البرية الحقيقية والمناظر الطبيعية التي يعدلها البشر غير واضح بشكل متزايد ، ويزور المزيد من الناس الحياة البرية في موائلهم الطبيعية. هذا ليس دائمًا أمرًا جيدًا ، ولكن ربما يستطيع دعاة الحفاظ على البيئة استخدام هذه الرحلات لصالحهم والمساعدة في الحفاظ على بعض الأنواع الأكثر شهرة على كوكبنا.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

قاسم رفيق ، باحث ما بعد الدكتوراه في بيئة الحياة البرية وصيانتها ، جامعة ليفربول جون مورز

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

سرب الإنسان: كيف تنشأ مجتمعاتنا وتزدهر وتسقط

مارك دبليو موفيت
0465055680إذا غامر شمبانزي داخل إقليم مجموعة مختلفة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم قتله. لكن بإمكان أحد سكان نيويوركر السفر إلى لوس أنجلوس - أو بورنيو - دون خوف كبير. لم يفعل علماء النفس الكثير لتفسير ذلك: لقد ظلوا لسنوات يؤكدون أن بيولوجيانا تضع حداً صعبًا للغاية - حوالي 150 من الناس - على حجم مجموعاتنا الاجتماعية. لكن المجتمعات البشرية هي في الواقع أكبر بكثير. كيف ندير - إلى حد كبير - لنتوافق مع بعضنا البعض؟ في هذا الكتاب المحطم للنماذج ، يعتمد عالم الأحياء مارك دبليو موفيت على النتائج في علم النفس وعلم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا لشرح التعديلات الاجتماعية التي تربط المجتمعات. يستكشف كيف يحدد التوتر بين الهوية وعدم الكشف عن هويته كيف تتطور المجتمعات وتؤدي وظيفتها وتفشل. تجاوز البنادق والجراثيم والصلب و العاقل, سرب الإنسان يكشف كيف أن البشرية خلقت حضارات مترامية الأطراف من التعقيد الذي لا يضاهى - وما سوف تحتاجه للحفاظ عليها. متاح في أمازون

البيئة: العلم وراء القصص

بقلم جاي هـ. ويغوت ، ماثيو لابوساتا
0134204883البيئة: العلم وراء القصص هو أكثر الكتب مبيعًا لدورة العلوم البيئية التمهيدية المعروفة بأسلوب السرد الصديق للطالب وتكاملها مع القصص الحقيقية ودراسات الحالة وعرضها لأحدث العلوم والأبحاث. ال 6th الطبعة يتميز بفرص جديدة لمساعدة الطلاب على رؤية الروابط بين دراسات الحالة المتكاملة والعلوم في كل فصل ، ويوفر لهم فرصًا لتطبيق العملية العلمية على الاهتمامات البيئية. متاح في أمازون

Feasible Planet: دليل لحياة أكثر استدامة

كين كرويس
0995847045هل تشعر بالقلق إزاء حالة كوكبنا وتأمل أن تجد الحكومات والشركات وسيلة مستدامة لنا لنعيشها؟ إذا كنت لا تفكر في الأمر بشدة ، فهذا قد ينجح ، لكن هل سينجح؟ إذا تركناها بمفردها ، مع سائقي شعبية وأرباح ، لست مقتنعًا بذلك. الجزء المفقود من هذه المعادلة هو أنت وأنا. يمكن للأفراد الذين يعتقدون أن الشركات والحكومات القيام بعمل أفضل. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنه من خلال العمل ، يمكننا شراء المزيد من الوقت لتطوير وتنفيذ حلول لقضايانا الحرجة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Here's How Your Vacation Photos Could Help Save Endangered Species

Here's How Your Holiday Photos Could Help Save Endangered Species
Zephyr_p/Shutterstock

Animal populations have declined on average by 60% since 1970, and it’s predicted that around a million species are at risk of extinction. As more of the Earth’s biodiversity disappears and the human population grows, protected landscapes that are set aside to conserve biodiversity are increasingly important. Sadly, many are underfunded – some of Africa’s most treasured wildlife reserves operate in funding deficits of hundreds of millions of dollars.

In unfenced wilderness, scientists rarely have an inventory on the exact numbers of species in an area at a particular time. Instead they make inferences using one of many different survey approaches, including camera traps, track surveys, and drones. These methods can estimate how much and what kind of wildlife is present, but often require large amounts of effort, time and money.

Camera traps are placed in remote locations and activated by movement. They can collect vast quantities of data by taking photographs and videos of passing animals. But this can cost tens of thousands of dollars to run and once in the wild, cameras are at the mercy of curious wildlife.

Track surveys rely on specialist trackers, who aren’t always available and drones, while promising, have restricted access to many tourism areas in Africa. All of this makes wildlife monitoring difficult to carry out and repeat over large areas. Without knowing what’s out there, making conservation decisions based on evidence becomes almost impossible.

Citizen Science on Safari

Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries in the world – 42m people visited sub-Saharan Africa in 2018 alone. Many come for the unique wildlife and unknowingly collect valuable conservation data with their phones and cameras. Photographs on social media are already being used to help track the illegal wildlife trade and how often areas of wilderness are visited by tourists.

Despite this, tourists and their guides are still an overlooked source of information. Could your holidays snaps help monitor endangered wildlife? In a recent study, we tested exactly this.

Partnering with a tour operator in Botswana, we approached all guests passing through a safari lodge over three months in the Okavango Delta and asked them if they were interested in contributing their photographs to help with conservation. We provided those interested with a small GPS logger – the type commonly used for tracking pet cats – so that we could see where the images were being taken.

We then collected, processed, and passed the images through computer models to estimate the densities of five large African carnivore species – lions, spotted hyaenas, leopards, African wild dogs and cheetahs. We compared these densities to those from three of the most popular carnivore survey approaches in Africa – camera trapping, track surveys, and call-in stations, which play sounds through a loudspeaker to attract wildlife so they can be counted.

The tourist photographs provided similar estimates to the other approaches and were, in total, cheaper to collect and process. Relying on tourists to help survey wildlife saved up to US$840 per survey season. Even better, it was the only method to detect cheetahs in the area – though so few were sighted that their total density couldn’t be confirmed.

Thousands of wildlife photographs are taken every day, and the study showed that we can use statistical models to cut through the noise and get valuable data for conservation. Still, relying on researchers to visit tourist groups and coordinate their photograph collection would be difficult to replicate across many areas. Luckily, that’s where wildlife tour operators could come in.

Tour operators could help collect tourist images to share with researchers. If the efforts of tourists were paired with AI that could process millions of images quickly, conservationists could have a simple and low-cost method for monitoring wildlife.

Tourist photographs are best suited for monitoring large species that live in areas often visited by tourists – species that tend to have high economic and ecological value. While this method perhaps isn’t as well suited to smaller species, it can still indirectly support their conservation by helping protect the landscapes they live in.

The line between true wilderness and landscapes modified by humans is becoming increasingly blurred, and more people are visiting wildlife in their natural habitats. This isn’t always a good thing, but maybe conservationists can use these travels to their advantage and help conserve some of the most iconic species on our planet.The Conversation

About The Author

Kasim Rafiq, Postdoctoral Researcher in Wildlife Ecology and Conservation, Liverpool John Moores University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

by Mark W. Moffett
0465055680If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}