الأطالس الجديدة تكشف عن آثار المناخ والطقس

الأطالس تكشف عن تأثيرات المناخ والطقسImage: Hannes Grobe 20: 05 via Wikimedia Commons

واثنين من الأطالس الجديدة الأدلة البصرية واضح لإحداث تغيير المناخ والأحوال الجوية المتطرفة يمكن أن يكون على الناس والممتلكات.

بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين يجدون صعوبة في تصديق الأرض حقا هو ارتفاع درجة حرارة، وأدلة بصرية جديدة تكون متاحة قريبا - وهما الأطالس، واحد يظهر بوضوح تراجع الجليد في القطب الشمالي، وغيرها من الثمن الاقتصادي تفرض بسبب الطقس الشديد البشرية و.

النسخة 10th من أطلس الجغرافية الوطنية للعالم سيتم نشره على 30 September 2014. يقول الجغرافي ، جوان خوسيه فالديز ، المنشور الجغرافي للناشر ، إن الانخفاض في الجليد الجليدي المتعدد السنوات الذي استمر لمدة صيفين ، هو ملحوظ جدا بالمقارنة مع الإصدارات السابقة التي تعتبر أكبر تغير واضح منذ تفكك الاتحاد السوفييتي.

"تسمع تقارير في كل وقت في وسائل الإعلام حول هذا الامر". واضاف "حتى لديك خريطة ورقية في يدك، والرسالة لا فعلا ضربت المنزل." ويعتقد الأطالس "عيون الناس مفتوحة ل ما الذي يحدث في العالم".

وتقول وكالة ناسا قد جليد البحر القطبي الشمالي تتراجع في السنوات 30 الماضية أو نحو ذلك من 12٪ كل عشر سنوات. (على الأرض يزداد بشكل ملحوظ التغيير. الربيع والخريف على جليدية غرينلاند تحسنت بأكثر من 3 درجة مئوية، على الرغم من لم تتغير درجات الحرارة في الصيف)

وفقا لوكالة ناسا عملية IceBridge أصبح الجليد البحري الآن أرق بنسبة 50٪ مقارنة بالعقود السابقة ، حيث انخفض من متوسط ​​سماكة 3.8 متر (12.5 feet) في 1980 إلى 1.9 m (6.2 ft) في السنوات الأخيرة. وقد مثلت 2014 ثالث أدنى مستوى للجليد البحري لهذا الشهر في سجل الأقمار الصناعية ، الولايات المتحدة مركز القومي لبيانات الجليد والثلوج (NSIDC) يقول.

دعم الذات تذوب

يتم تسريع فقدان الجليد من خلال ما يسميه العلماء بالتغذية الراجعة الإيجابية: إن الاحترار في حد ذاته يغذي نفسه. يعكس الجليد الرقيق الضوء بشكل أقل فعالية من الجليد السميك ، مما يسمح لمزيد من ضوء الشمس ليتم امتصاصه من قبل المحيط ، مما يزيد من ضعف الجليد ويسخن المحيط أكثر.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


كما يؤدي ذوبان الجليد إلى ردود فعل أخرى. والثلج الرقيق هو أكثر انبساطا ويقول العلماء إن هذا يسمح بتراكم الأحواض الذائبة على السطح مما يقلل من انعكاس الجليد ويمتص المزيد من الحرارة.

في أطلس "ناشيونال جيوغرافيك" ، يظهر الجليد المتعدد السنوات ، والذي يعد أقدم ، ككتلة بيضاء كبيرة ، مع الحد الأقصى لجليد البحار - الثلج الذي يذوب ويعيد التجميد في كل موسم - مبين بخط بسيط. تُظهِر هذه الطبعة أن مساحة الجليد المتعدد السنوات أصغر من ذي قبل.

ويقول بعض العلماء إن الأطلس يجب أن يظهر منطقة الجليد الكلية في نهاية فصل الصيف في القطب الشمالي ، بما في ذلك الجليد المتبقي الذي تشكل حديثا في الشتاء الماضي. يتم قياس هذا الحد الأدنى الكلي للغطاء في سبتمبر ، في حين يتم قياس الحد الأقصى للغطاء الإجمالي في مارس ، في نهاية فصل الشتاء.

ويقول المنتقدون إن إغفال الحد الأدنى من التغطية يعني عدم ظهور الجليد قبل عام أو أقل. لكن صانعي الخرائط يقولون إنهم لا يظهرون الحد الأدنى لأن هناك فقط الكثير من المعلومات التي يمكنهم تضمينها دون إرباك المستخدمين.

هناك أيضا انتقادات لاعتماد الأطلس على سنة واحدة (يستخدم الإصدار الجديد بيانات 2012 ، وهو عام منخفض للغاية للغطاء الجليدي). يقول النقاد أن هذا ربما يزيد من التأكيد على الاتجاهات طويلة الأجل. ولكن إذا تم عرض 2013 ، وهو عام يحتوي على مزيد من الجليد ، فقد عارضه صانعو الخرائط ، فربما يقل ذلك عن الاتجاه نحو ارتفاع درجات الحرارة.

الانحدار الحاد

المنشور الثاني ، أطلس الوفيات والخسائر الاقتصادية من الطقس والمناخ والماء المتطرفة 1970-2012هو عمل ال المنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية (WMO) و مركز البحوث حول وبائيات الكوارث (CRED) من الجامعة الكاثوليكية في لوفان (UCL) في بلجيكا.

ويقول إن الكوارث الناجمة عن مثل هذه التطرف تتزايد على الصعيد العالمي ، وتقتل الناس وتبطئ التنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية بالسنوات أو العقود. ويشير المؤلفان إلى أن الفترة المشمولة ، شهدت كوارث 8,835 و 1.94 مليون وفاة و 2.4 تريليون دولار أمريكي من الخسائر الاقتصادية الناتجة عن الجفاف ودرجات الحرارة القصوى والفيضانات والأعاصير المدارية والأوبئة الصحية ذات الصلة.

تبدأ الاستعدادات في جنيف ، سويسرا ، في 14 يوليو للمشاركة في المؤتمر العالمي الثالث للحد من مخاطر الكوارث ، الذي سيعقد في اليابان في مارس 2015 من قبل الأمم المتحدة.

وصرح يوخن لوثر من المنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية لشبكة أخبار المناخ: "ليس بالضرورة عدد الأحداث المتطرفة التي تتزايد ، ولكن تزايد التعرض والضعف الذي يحولها إلى كوارث ، وكذلك الإبلاغ عنها بشكل أفضل مما كان عليه في الماضي."

الأمم المتحدة تقرير التقييم العالمي بشأن الحد من مخاطر الكوارث 2013 وقال إن الخسائر المباشرة وغير المباشرة الناجمة عن الأخطار الطبيعية من جميع الأنواع قد تم التقليل من قيمتها بمقدار النصف على الأقل بسبب مشاكل في جمع البيانات.

- شبكة أخبار المناخ


عن المؤلف

اليكس كيربي هو صحفي بريطانياليكس كيربي صحفي بريطاني متخصص في القضايا البيئية. عمل في مجالات مختلفة في هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) لسنوات 20 تقريبا وتركت بي بي سي في 1998 للعمل كصحفي مستقل. وقال انه يوفر أيضا مهارات إعلامية التدريب للشركات والجامعات والمنظمات غير الحكومية. وهو أيضا حاليا مراسل البيئي ل بي بي سي نيوز أون لاينواستضافت بي بي سي راديو 4"سلسلة بيئة الصورة، تكلف الأرض. يكتب أيضا ل الحارس . شبكة أخبار المناخ. يكتب أيضا عمود منتظم ل بي بي سي الحياة البرية مجلة.


وأوصت كتب:

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقالية

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقاليةأكثر من ثلاثين خبيرا كشف علامات مثيرة للقلق من نظام تحت ضغط. وهي تحدد ثلاثة الضغوطات الاعتبار الأول: الأنواع الغازية، وتنمية القطاع الخاص من الأراضي دون وقاية، وارتفاع درجة حرارة الجو. سوف التوصيات الختامية تشكيل المناقشة في القرن الحادي والعشرين حول كيفية مواجهة هذه التحديات، ليس فقط في المتنزهات الأمريكية ولكن لمناطق الحفظ في جميع أنحاء العالم. قراءة للغاية ويتضح تماما.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "يلوستون الحياة البرية في المرحلة الانتقالية" على الأمازون.

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنة

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنةمن قبل إيان روبرتس. يروي بخبرة قصة الطاقة في المجتمع، والأماكن "السمنة" بجوار تغير المناخ باعتبارها مظاهر لنفس الشعور بالضيق الكواكب الأساسية. يقول هذا الكتاب المثير أن نبض الطاقة المستمدة من الوقود الأحفوري بدأت عملية تغير المناخ الكارثية ليس فقط، ولكن أيضا دفعت الإنسان العادي صعودا توزيع الوزن. وهو يقدم ويقيم للقارئ مجموعة من الاستراتيجيات دي كربنة الشخصية والسياسية.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "وفرة الطاقة" على الأمازون.

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرة

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرةالتي تود ويلكنسون وتيد تيرنر. رجل الأعمال وقطب الاعلام تيد تيرنر يدعو ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري التهديد الأكثر خيمة التي تواجه البشرية، ويقول إن كبار رجال الأعمال في المستقبل سوف يتم سكها في تطوير الطاقة المتجددة الخضراء، البديلة. من خلال عيون تيد تيرنر، ونحن نعتبر طريقة أخرى للتفكير في البيئة، والتزاماتنا لمساعدة الآخرين المحتاجين، والتحديات الخطيرة التي تهدد بقاء الحضارة.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر ..." على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

New Atlases Reveal Climate and Weather Impacts

Atlases Reveal Climate And Weather ImpactsImage: Hannes Grobe 20:05 via Wikimedia Commons

Two new atlases provide clear visual evidence of the effect climate change and extreme weather can have on people and property.

For people who find it hard to believe the Earth really is warming, new visual evidence will soon be available – two atlases, one showing graphically the retreat of Arctic ice, the other the human and economic price exacted by extreme weather.

The 10th edition of the National Geographic Atlas of the World is to be published on 30 September 2014. The publication’s geographer, Juan José Valdés, says the reduction in multi-year ice – ice that has survived for two summers – is so noticeable compared with previous editions that it is the biggest visible change since the breakup of the USSR.

“You hear reports all the time in the media about this,” he said. “Until you have a hard-copy map in your hand, the message doesn’t really hit home.” He believes atlases “open people’s eyes to what’s happening in the world.”

The Arctic sea ice has been retreating in the last 30 years or so by 12% each decade, NASA says. (On land the change is even more marked. Spring and autumn on the Greenland icecap have warmed by more than 3°C, although summer temperatures have not changed)

According to NASA’s Operation IceBridge the sea ice is now as much as 50% thinner than in previous decades, falling from an average thickness of 3.8 metres (12.5 feet) in 1980 to 1.9 m (6.2 ft) in recent years. May 2014 represented the third lowest extent of sea ice for that month in the satellite record, the US National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) says.

Self-Supporting Melt

The ice loss is accelerated by what scientists call a positive feedback: the warming in effect fuels itself. Thin ice reflects light less effectively than thick ice, allowing more sunlight to be absorbed by the ocean, which further weakens the ice and warms the ocean even more.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The melting ice also triggers another feedback. Thinner ice is flatter and scientists say this allows melt ponds to accumulate on the surface, reducing the ice’s reflectiveness and absorbing more heat.

In National Geographic’s atlas the multi-year ice, which is older, is shown as a large white mass, with the maximum extent of sea ice – the pack ice that melts and refreezes each season – shown by a simple line. This edition shows the area of multi-year ice is strikingly smaller than previously.

Some scientists say the atlas should show the total ice area at the end of the Arctic summer, including the remaining ice newly formed in the previous winter. This total minimum cover is measured in September, while total maximum cover is measured in March, at the end of winter.

Omitting the minimum cover means ice one year old or less is not being shown, the critics say. But the mapmakers say they do not show the minimum extent because there is only so much information they can include without confusing users.

There is also criticism of the atlas’s reliance on a single year (the new edition uses 2012 data, an extremely low year for ice cover). The critics say this probably over-emphasises long-term trends. But if 2013, a year with more ice, is shown, the mapmakers counter, it could under-emphasise the trend towards rising temperatures.

Steep Underestimate

The second publication, the Atlas of Mortality and Economic Losses from Weather, Climate and Water Extremes 1970-2012, is the work of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED) of the Catholic University of Louvain (UCL) in Belgium.

Disasters caused by such extremes, it says, are increasing globally, killing people and slowing economic and social development by years or decades. The period covered, the authors say, saw 8,835 disasters, 1.94 million deaths and US$2.4 trillion of economic losses resulting from droughts, extreme temperatures, floods, tropical cyclones and related health epidemics.

Preparations start in Geneva, Switzerland, on 14 July for the third World Conference on Disaster Risk Reduction, to be held in Japan in March 2015 by the United Nations.

Jochen Luther of WMO told the Climate News Network: “It’s not necessarily the number of extreme events that is increasing, but the increasing exposure and vulnerability that turns them into disasters, as well as better reporting of them than in the past.”

The UN’s Global Assessment Report on Disaster Risk Reduction 2013 said direct and indirect losses from natural hazards of all kinds had been underestimated by at least half because of problems with data collection.

Climate News Network


About the Author

Alex Kirby is a British journalistAlex Kirby is a British journalist specializing in environmental issues. He worked in various capacities at the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) for nearly 20 years and left the BBC in 1998 to work as a freelance journalist. He also provides media skills training to companies, universities and NGOs. He is also currently the environmental correspondent for BBC News Online, and hosted BBC Radio 4's environment series, Costing the Earth. He also writes for The Guardian and Climate News Network. He also writes a regular column for BBC Wildlife magazine.


Recommended Books:

Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition

Yellowstone's Wildlife in TransitionOver thirty experts detect worrying signs of a system under strain. They identify three overriding stressors: invasive species, private-sector development of unprotected lands, and a warming climate. Their concluding recommendations will shape the twenty-first-century discussion over how to confront these challenges, not only in American parks but for conservation areas worldwide. Highly readable and fully illustrated.

For more info or to order "Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition" on Amazon.

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatness

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatnessby Ian Roberts. Expertly tells the story of energy in society, and places 'fatness' next to climate change as manifestations of the same fundamental planetary malaise. This exciting book argues that the pulse of fossil fuel energy not only started the process of catastrophic climate change, but also propelled the average human weight distribution upwards. It offers and appraises for the reader a set of personal and political de-carbonising strategies.

For more info or to order "The Energy Glut" on Amazon.

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet by Todd Wilkinson and Ted Turner. Entrepreneur and media mogul Ted Turner calls global warming the most dire threat facing humanity, and says that the tycoons of the future will be minted in the development of green, alternative renewable energy. Through Ted Turner's eyes, we consider another way of thinking about the environment, our obligations to help others in need, and the grave challenges threatening the survival of civilization.

For more info or to order "Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest..." on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}