Wie Computermodelle vorhersagen, wohin wir gehen, wenn die Meere steigen

Wie Computermodelle vorhersagen, wohin wir gehen, wenn die Meere steigen

Ein neuer Modellierungsansatz kann uns helfen, besser zu verstehen, wie politische Entscheidungen die Migration von Menschen beeinflussen, wenn der Meeresspiegel weltweit steigt.

Die neue Studie zeigt, dass globale politische Entscheidungen über Treibhausgasemissionen und eine Reihe politischer Entscheidungen, die bestimmen, wo Menschen in Küstengebieten leben und arbeiten, bestimmen, ob und wohin Menschen aufgrund des Anstiegs des Meeresspiegels migrieren müssen.

Die Studie zeigt auch, dass der beste Weg, die potenziellen Auswirkungen dieser Maßnahmen abzuwägen, darin besteht, neue Modelle für den Klimawandel zu erstellen und computergenerierte Vorhersagen darüber zu treffen, wie und wann sich die globalen Temperaturen und Landschaften ändern werden.

"Wir haben dieses Problem falsch gesehen ..."

"In diesem Artikel wird die Politik als Schlüssel zur Bewältigung der Auswirkungen des Klimawandels behandelt", sagt Elizabeth Fussell, Professorin für Bevölkerungsstudien am Population Studies and Training Center der Brown University. "Die Analyse der Auswirkungen aktueller und potenzieller Maßnahmen auf den Anstieg des Meeresspiegels kann reale Daten, reale Untersuchungen und reale Analysen in politischen Diskussionen auf den Tisch bringen, die unsere Zukunft gestalten werden."

Globale politische Entscheidungen werden eine wichtige Rolle dabei spielen, zu bestimmen, wie viele Menschen aufgrund des Klimawandels von der Küste abwandern, und wo diese Migranten werden gehen, sagt Hauptautor David Wrathall, Assistenzprofessor am College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences der Oregon State University.

"Wir haben dieses Problem falsch gesehen", sagt Wrathall. „Wir haben gefragt, wie viele Menschen für den Anstieg des Meeresspiegels anfällig sein werden, und unter der Annahme, dass die gleiche Anzahl von Menschen migrieren wird. In der Realität wird die heutige und künftige Politik einen starken Einfluss auf die Gestaltung der Migration haben. Die Menschen werden sich aufgrund dieser Richtlinien auf ganz bestimmte Weise bewegen. “


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Die Forscher schlagen vor, dass politische Entscheidungsträger, die verstehen möchten, wie sich ihre Entscheidungen auf die Migration auswirken, es sich nicht leisten können, mit teuren und potenziell gefährlichen Maßnahmen an schutzbedürftigen Bevölkerungsgruppen in der realen Welt zu experimentieren. Stattdessen können Entscheidungsträger die Auswirkungen realistischer politischer Alternativen mithilfe von Simulationen vorhersehen, indem sie Fortschritte bei der Berechnung und Modellierung erzielen und dabei ein breites Spektrum an wirtschaftspolitischen Maßnahmen, Planungsentscheidungen, Infrastrukturinvestitionen und Maßnahmen berücksichtigen Anpassungsmaßnahmen.

Laut Wrathall bieten einige derzeit geltende Steuervorschriften den Unternehmen Anreize, sich in der Nähe von Häfen niederzulassen, wodurch möglicherweise ganze Industriezweige angesichts des steigenden Meeresspiegels gefährdet werden könnten. Hohe Zinssätze könnten einige Hausbesitzer daran hindern, Geld zu leihen, um ihre Häuser an der Küste zu schützen, was dazu führen könnte, dass sie gehen. Und globale Entscheidungen über das Management von Treibhausgasemissionen könnte beeinflussen, wie schnell sich der Planet erwärmt und der Meeresspiegel steigt.

„Mit der Modellierung können wir alle Arten von Szenarien untersuchen, um die spezifischen Richtlinien zu identifizieren, die bei der Migration hilfreich sein können, und die Richtlinien vorhersehen, die Probleme verursachen“, sagt Wrathall.

„Unabhängig davon, welche Verluste und Schäden durch den Anstieg des Meeresspiegels verursacht werden, handelt es sich um menschliche Verluste. Daher ist es von entscheidender Bedeutung, zu verstehen, wie Menschen auf Veränderungen reagieren und wie die Politik diese Veränderungen vorantreibt“, sagt Fussell.

Das Papier erscheint in Nature Climate Change. Der Bericht stammt von Fussell und 19 anderen Mitgliedern eines internationalen Forschungsnetzwerks, das das National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center an der University of Maryland versammelt hat. Die Universität von Maryland und die National Science Foundation finanzierten die Forschung.

Original-Studie

Über die Autoren

Elizabeth Fussell ist Professorin für Bevölkerungsstudien am Population Studies and Training Center der Brown University. Der Hauptautor David Wrathall ist Assistenzprofessor am College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences der Oregon State University.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

How Computer Models Predict Where We’ll Go As Seas Rise

How Computer Models Predict Where We’ll Go As Seas Rise

A new modeling approach can help us better understand how policy decisions will influence human migration as sea levels rise across the globe.

The new study indicates that global policy decisions about greenhouse gas emissions, and a range of policy decisions that determine where people live and work in coastal areas, will determine whether people need to migrate as a result of sea level rise and where they may go.

The study also shows that best way to weigh the potential effects of these policies is to build new climate change models, computer-generated predictions of how and when global temperatures and landscapes will change.

“We’ve been looking at this problem the wrong way…”

“This paper homes in on policy as the key to managing climate change impacts,” says Elizabeth Fussell, an associate professor of population studies at Brown University’s Population Studies and Training Center. “Analyzing the effects of current and potential policies on sea-level rise can bring real data, real investigations, and real analyses to the table in political discussions that will shape our future.”

Global policy decisions will play a major role in determining not only how many people will migrate away from the coast due to climate change but also where those migrants will go, says lead author David Wrathall, an assistant professor at Oregon State University’s College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences.

“We’ve been looking at this problem the wrong way,” Wrathall says. “We’ve been asking how many people will be vulnerable to sea level rise and assuming the same number of people will migrate. In reality, policies being made today and moving forward will exert a strong influence in shaping migration. People will move in very specific ways because of these policies.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The researchers suggest that policymakers who are seeking to understand how their decisions affect migration cannot afford to experiment on vulnerable populations in the real world with expensive and potentially dangerous policies. Instead, decision-makers can anticipate the effects of realistic policy alternatives using simulations thanks to advances in computation and modeling, taking into account a wide range of economic policies, planning decisions, infrastructure investments, and adaptation measures.

For example, Wrathall says, some current tax codes incentivize businesses to locate near ports, which could potentially put whole industries at risk in the face of rising sea levels. High interest rates could prevent some homeowners from borrowing money to protect their coastal homes, which may cause them to leave. And global decisions about the management of greenhouse gas emissions could affect how quickly the planet warms and sea levels rise.

“Modeling allows us to look at all kinds of scenarios to identify the specific policies that might work to help people migrate and anticipate the policies that cause problems,” Wrathall says.

“Whatever losses and damage are caused by sea level rise, they are human losses—so understanding how humans react to changes, and how policy drives those changes, is crucial,” Fussell says.

The paper appears in Nature Climate Change. The report comes from Fussell and 19 other members of an international research network the National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center at the University of Maryland assembled. The University of Maryland and the National Science Foundation funded the research.

Original Study

About the Authors

Elizabeth Fussell is an associate professor of population studies at Brown University’s Population Studies and Training Center. Lead author David Wrathall is an assistant professor at Oregon State University’s College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)