لا يزال العطس؟ تغير المناخ قد يطيل موسم الحساسية

لا يزال العطس؟ تغير المناخ قد يطيل موسم الحساسية
صراع الأسهم.

كل عام ، بدون فشل ، يجلب الصيف تغييرات على محيطنا: المزيد من أشعة الشمس والحرارة والأخضر والزهور ، من بين أشياء أخرى كثيرة. بالنسبة لبعض الأشخاص ، تعني هذه التغييرات أيضًا زيادة الانزعاج البدني لأنه جنبا إلى جنب مع الزهور والأشجار والعشب يأتي حبوب اللقاح.

يمكن أن يشعر العديد من الأشخاص بعدم الراحة التي تسببها حبوب اللقاح ، مثل العيون المائية أو الأنف المتجهم. في كثير من الأحيان ، يلجأ الناس أولاً إلى الإنترنت لاكتشاف ما تعنيه أعراضهم وتحديد بعض الخيارات الممكنة للإغاثة.

في جوهره ، يعني رد الفعل التحسسي أن جهاز المناعة لدينا يبالغ في رد الفعل على جسيم غريب قد يكون غير ضار بخلاف ذلك. في بعض الحالات ، ينشر الجهاز المناعي دفاعًا ، مما ينتج عنه أعراض تهيج مجرى الهواء تشبه نزلة البرد ، بما في ذلك سيلان الأنف ، سقي العينين ، والتعب وصعوبة في التنفس.

على الرغم من أن أعراض رد الفعل التحسسي أو نوبة الربو محسوسة في الغالب في الجهاز التنفسي ، فقد تم ربطها بظروف صحية أخرى مثل احتشاء عضلة القلب و الولادات السابقة في النساء الحوامل.

كما هو موضح في نتيجة اتجاهات Google هذه، تميل عمليات البحث عن مصطلح "الحساسية الموسمية" في كندا إلى الارتفاع تقريبًا في نفس التواريخ التي تحدث فيها تركيزات حبوب اللقاح في الهواء: حوالي الأسبوع الثالث من أبريل.

حبوب اللقاح مواسم متعددة

في مراجعة 2018 لمسببات الحساسية في كندا ، قمنا بوصفنا كيف تختلف فترات حبوب اللقاح للأعشاب والأشجار والأعشاب عن تواريخ بداية ونهاية مختلفة. تقريبًا ، تبدأ مواسم معظم حبوب اللقاح التي تسبب الأوجاع والتهيج في حوالي الربيع ، باستثناء الأعشاب الضارة - مثل الرجويد - التي تميل إلى الازهار في أواخر الصيف.

النباتات المزهرة تعتمد على العديد من العوامل البيئية ، مثل الرطوبة أو درجة الحرارة الدنيا، لذلك من الصعب تحديد تاريخ بدء وطني لمواسم حبوب اللقاح. من المحتمل أن تشهد أماكن مختلفة مواسم حبوب اللقاح التي تتوافق مع درجات الحرارة والنباتات والجوانب الأخرى لجغرافياها.

لأن تركيزات حبوب اللقاح تعتمد إلى حد كبير على الظروف البيئية المحيطة بالنبات الذي ينتجها ، يمكن أن تؤثر العديد من التغييرات في البيئة على تركيزات حبوب اللقاح ومواسم حبوب اللقاح.

تغير المناخ يغير بالفعل مواسم الإزهار في جميع أنحاء العالم وبدوره ، خلق فصول حبوب اللقاح أطول. أصبحت التواريخ التي كانت تعتبر تقليديًا بداية ونهاية مواسم حبوب اللقاح عتيقة لأن الفصول تبدأ عمومًا في وقت مبكر وتنتهي لاحقًا.

حاليا ، في كندا ، نتنفس حبوب اللقاح لعدة أيام أكثر من ذي قبل ، ولأولئك منا الذين تميل أجهزة المناعة لديهم إلى رد فعل مبالغ فيه ، نعاني من الأعراض الجسدية لفترات طويلة من الزمن.

لا يزال العطس؟ تغير المناخ قد يطيل موسم الحساسية
الراجويد شديد الحساسية ، وينتج حبوب اللقاح ابتداءً من أغسطس وحتى الخريف. شترستوك

الفروقات الفردية

بالإضافة إلى الاختلافات البيئية ، يجب علينا النظر في الفروق الفردية أيضًا. ليس الجميع يتأثر حبوب اللقاح في نفس الدرجة. بالنسبة لبعض الأشخاص ، قد يمر موسم حبوب اللقاح دون أن يلاحظه أحد ، إن لم يكن التغيير في المشهد. ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين تم توعية أجهزة المناعة لديهم بالبروتينات المثيرة للحساسية في حبوب اللقاح ، تؤدي الكميات الزائدة من حبوب اللقاح في الهواء إلى ظهور أعراض محددة للغاية.

الجهاز المناعي مسؤول عن استجابة أجسامنا لحبوب اللقاح ويتفاعل مع التهديدات المتصورة في سلسلة متصلة تنبع من الاستجابات المتضائلة ، مثل في الأفراد الذين يعانون من نقص المناعة، إلى أي رد فعل جسدي و ثم إلى الاستجابات المتزايدة (الحساسية).

لأنه لا يوجد سبب واحد معروف لتطوير الحساسية ، فمن المستحيل اقتراح حل لحماية نفسه. ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين يعانون بالفعل من الحساسية ، من المعروف أن بعض الإجراءات فعالة في تقليل الانزعاج الناجم عن أعراضهم:

  1. انتبه لتركيزات حبوب اللقاح في منطقتك و البقاء في الداخل عندما تكون عالية.

  2. اغتسل أو استحم قبل النوم لتجنب استنشاق حبوب اللقاح قد تبقى في شعرك وجسمك بعد الخروج في الهواء الطلق.

  3. إذا تم تشخيصك بالحساسية (أو الربو) ، أو حتى إذا لم تكن قد تم تشخيصك ولكنك شعرت بأعراض في الماضي ، فحدد موعدًا مع استشارة موفر الرعاية الأولية قبل بدء موسم حبوب اللقاح. في هذا الموعد ، يمكنك مناقشة الإجراءات المحتملة للوقاية من الأعراض ، وربما تخطط لاستخدام الأدوية التي تصرف بدون وصفة طبية.

  4. النظر في اختبار الحساسية. هذا يمكن أن تحدد المواد المسببة للحساسية التي تسبب أعراضك وتساعد في خطة العلاج التي سيصممها طبيبك معك.

  5. استخدم مكيفات الهواء أو فلتر هواء عالي الجسيمات (HEPA) عالي الكفاءة في منزلك أو في الغرف التي تقضي فيها معظم من الوقت. لقد أثبتت هذه المرشحات أنها مفيدة لحبوب اللقاح وكذلك بالنسبة للدخان الناتج عن موسم حرائق الغابات الذي يعمل في بعض المدن الكندية بالتوازي مع المرحلة الأخيرة من موسم حبوب اللقاح.

حتى مع التغيرات التي يسببها تغير المناخ بالفعل - وسوف تستمر في التسبب في المستقبل القريب - موسم حبوب اللقاح لا يزال يحدث كل عام.

اتخاذ موقف استباقي والتعرف على الحساسية الخاصة بك وكيف يمكن أن تؤثر حبوب اللقاح عليك خطوة أولى في السيطرة على الأعراض الخاصة بك ، مما يتيح لك أكثر متعة الربيع والصيف والخريف في الهواء الطلق.

عن المؤلفين

سيسيليا سيرا هيريديا ، محاضر ، جامعة سيمون فريزر. جوردان بروبشر ، مساعد باحث ، جامعة سيمون فريزر، وتيم تاكارو ، أستاذ ، عميد مشارك ، أبحاث العلوم الصحية ، جامعة سيمون فريزر

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

الحياة بعد الكربون: التحول العالمي التالي للمدن

by Peter Plastrik ، جون كليفلاند
1610918495مستقبل مدننا ليس هو ما كان عليه من قبل. نموذج المدينة الحديثة الذي ترسخت عالميا في القرن العشرين قد عاشت فائدته. لا يمكنها حل المشكلات التي ساعدت في خلقها - خاصة الاحتباس الحراري. لحسن الحظ ، يظهر نموذج جديد للتنمية الحضرية في المدن لمعالجة حقائق تغير المناخ بقوة. إنه يحول الطريقة التي تصمم بها المدن وتستخدم الفضاء المادي ، وتولد ثروة اقتصادية ، وتستهلك الموارد وتتخلص منها ، وتستغل النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية وتحافظ عليها ، وتستعد للمستقبل. متاح في أمازون

الإنقراض السادس: تاريخ غير طبيعي

من اليزابيث كولبرت
1250062187على مدى نصف مليار سنة مضت ، حدثت خمس حالات انقراض جماعي ، عندما تعاقد تنوع الحياة على الأرض فجأة وبشكل دراماتيكي. العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم يراقبون الآن الانقراض السادس ، وتوقع أن يكون أكثر انقراض حدث مدمر منذ تأثير الكويكبات التي قضت على الديناصورات. هذه المرة ، هذه الجثة هي لنا. في النثر الذي كان صريحا ومسلية ومطلعا في وقت واحد ، نيويوركر تخبرنا الكاتبة إليزابيث كولبير لماذا وكيف غيّر البشر الحياة على كوكب الأرض بطريقة لم يكن بها أي نوع من قبل. البحث المتشابك في ستة مجالات ، وصف للأنواع الرائعة التي فقدت بالفعل ، وتاريخ الانقراض كمفهوم ، يوفر Kolbert سرد مؤثر وشامل للاختفاء الذي يحدث أمام أعيننا. إنها تُظهر أن الانقراض السادس من المرجح أن يكون إرث البشرية الأطول ، ويجبرنا على إعادة التفكير في السؤال الأساسي حول معنى أن تكون إنسانًا. متاح في أمازون

حروب المناخ: الكفاح من أجل البقاء مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم

بقلم جوين داير
1851687181موجات اللاجئين المناخ. العشرات من الدول الفاشلة. حرب شاملة. من واحد من أكبر المحللين الجيوسياسيين في العالم ، تأتي لمحة مرعبة عن الحقائق الاستراتيجية في المستقبل القريب ، عندما يدفع التغير المناخي قوى العالم نحو سياسة البقاء على قيد الحياة. بصمة وراسخة ، حروب المناخ سيكون واحدا من أهم الكتب في السنوات المقبلة. اقرأها واكتشف ما الذي نتجه إليه. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Still Sneezing? Climate Change May Prolong Allergy Season

Still Sneezing? Climate Change May Prolong Allergy Season
shutterstock.

Every year, without fail, summer brings changes to our surroundings: more sunlight, heat, greenness and flowers, among many others. For some people, these changes also mean increasing physical discomfort because along with the flowers, trees and grass comes pollen.

The discomfort caused by pollen can be felt by many people, like watery eyes or a stuffy nose. More often than not, people first turn to the internet to find out what their symptoms mean and to identify some possible options for relief.

At its core, an allergic reaction means that our immune system is overreacting to a foreign particle that may be harmless otherwise. In some cases, the immune system deploys a defence, producing symptoms of airway irritation that resemble a cold, including a runny nose, watering eyes, fatigue and trouble breathing.

Even though the symptoms of an allergic reaction or an asthma attack are mostly felt in the respiratory system, they have been linked to other health conditions like myocardial infarctions and earlier deliveries in pregnant women.

As shown in this Google Trends result, searches for the term “seasonal allergies” in Canada tend to spike around the same dates as the pollen concentrations in the air do: around the third week of April.

Multiple pollen seasons

In our 2018 review of aeroallergens in Canada, we described how pollen seasons for weeds, trees and grasses have different start and end dates. Roughly, the seasons for most of the pollen that cause aches and irritation start around spring, with the exception of weeds — like ragweed — that tend to blossom in late summer.

Plant flowering depends on many environmental factors, such as humidity or minimum temperature, so it’s hard to pinpoint a national start date for the pollen seasons. It’s more likely that different places will experience pollen seasons that match their particular range of temperatures, flora and other aspects of their geography.

Because pollen concentrations depend so much on the environmental conditions that surround the plant that produces it, many changes in the environment can affect pollen concentrations and pollen seasons.

Climate change is already altering flowering seasons worldwide and in turn, creating longer pollen seasons. The dates that were traditionally considered the start and end of pollen seasons have become obsolete because the seasons are generally starting earlier and ending later.

Currently, in Canada, we breathe pollen for more days than before and, for those of us whose immune systems tend to overreact, we suffer from physical symptoms for longer stretches of time.

Still Sneezing? Climate Change May Prolong Allergy Season
Ragweed is highly allergenic, and produces pollen beginning in August and into the autumn. Shutterstock

Individual differences

In addition to the environmental differences, we must consider individual differences too. Not everyone is affected by pollen in the same degree; for some people, the pollen season might go unnoticed if not for the change in scenery. However, for people whose immune systems have been sensitized to the allergenic proteins in pollen, the increased amounts of pollen in the air triggers very specific symptoms.

The immune system is responsible for our bodies’ response to pollen and reacts to perceived threats in a continuum that goes from diminished responses, like in immunocompromised individuals, to no physical reaction and then to heightened responses (allergies).

Because there is no known single cause for the development of allergies, it’s impossible to suggest a solution to protect oneself. However, for people who already suffer from allergies, some actions are known to be effective in decreasing the discomfort caused by their symptoms:

  1. Be aware of the pollen concentrations in your area and stay indoors when they are high.

  2. Take a shower or a bath before bedtime in order to avoid inhaling the pollen that might remain in your hair and body after going outdoors.

  3. If you have been diagnosed with allergies (or asthma), or even if you have not been diagnosed but have felt symptoms in the past, schedule a consultation with your primary care provider before pollen season starts. In this appointment you can discuss potential actions to prevent your symptoms and, maybe even plan to use over-the-counter or prescription medications.

  4. Consider allergy testing. This can pinpoint the allergen causing your symptoms and help in the treatment plan your physician will design with you.

  5. Use air conditioners or a high-efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filter in your house, or in the rooms where you spend most of your oftime. These filters have proven to be useful for pollen as well as for the smoke caused during the wildfire season, which in some Canadian cities runs parallel to the last leg of the pollen season.

Even with the changes that climate change is already causing — and will continue to cause in the near future — pollen season still happens every year.

Taking a proactive stance and learning about your allergies and how pollen might affect you is a first step in controlling your symptoms, allowing you a more enjoyable spring, summer and fall outdoors.

About The Authors

Cecilia Sierra-Heredia, Lecturer, Simon Fraser University; Jordan Brubacher, Research assistant, Simon Fraser University, and Tim Takaro, Professor, Associate Dean, Research Health Sciences, Simon Fraser University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Life After Carbon: The Next Global Transformation of Cities

by Peter Plastrik , John Cleveland
1610918495The future of our cities is not what it used to be. The modern-city model that took hold globally in the twentieth century has outlived its usefulness. It cannot solve the problems it helped to create—especially global warming. Fortunately, a new model for urban development is emerging in cities to aggressively tackle the realities of climate change. It transforms the way cities design and use physical space, generate economic wealth, consume and dispose of resources, exploit and sustain the natural ecosystems, and prepare for the future. Available On Amazon

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert
1250062187Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human. Available On Amazon

Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats

by Gwynne Dyer
1851687181Waves of climate refugees. Dozens of failed states. All-out war. From one of the world’s great geopolitical analysts comes a terrifying glimpse of the strategic realities of the near future, when climate change drives the world’s powers towards the cut-throat politics of survival. Prescient and unflinching, Climate Wars will be one of the most important books of the coming years. Read it and find out what we’re heading for. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}