كيف التراجع من ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر سوف تؤثر على صحتنا؟

كيف التراجع من ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر سوف تؤثر على صحتنا؟

يتوقع الباحثون أن التراجع المدار في مواجهة ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر سيكون بمثابة حقيبة مختلطة.

يمثل ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر المرتبط بتغير المناخ مصدر قلق للعديد من المجتمعات الجزرية والساحلية. في حين أن المخاطر قد تبدو بعيدة بالنسبة للمدن الساحلية الكبيرة مثل ميامي أو نيو أورليانز ، فإن المحيطات المتقدمة بدأت بالفعل في تشريد بعض المجتمعات الأصلية الصغيرة ، وكثير غيرها في خطر في جميع أنحاء العالم.

"النقل ... لا يتعلق بنقل المنازل ، بل يتعلق بنقل الأرواح".

قبل حدوث الفيضانات الكارثية المتوقعة خلال العقود القليلة المقبلة ، يمكن للأشخاص الذين يعيشون في هذه المجتمعات البدء في عملية منظمة من التراجع المدار ، أو النقل المخطط له ، إلى مناطق مرتفعة إما في مكان قريب أو على مسافة بعيدة.

يقول المؤلف الرئيسي أندرو ل. داننبرغ ، وهو أستاذ مشارك في كلية الصحة العامة بجامعة واشنطن وفي كلية البيئات المبنية: "إن التراجع المدار له آثار مدمرة تتعلق بالصحة والاجتماعية والثقافية والاقتصادية على المجتمعات التي تنتقل".

وتشمل تلك الآثار الصحة العقلية والشبكات الاجتماعية والأمن الغذائي وإمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي والأمراض المعدية والإصابة والحصول على الرعاية الصحية. وجد التحليل أن الانتقال قد يجلب بعض التغييرات الإيجابية مثل تحسين الظروف المعيشية وكذلك بعض التحديات ، مثل ضعف سبل العيش المعيشية.

"يمكن أن يكون نعمة مختلطة" ، يقول Dannenberg.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ثماني قرى

ركز الباحثون على ثماني قرى - أربع في أمريكا الشمالية والوسطى وأربع في جنوب المحيط الهادئ - لمعرفة ما يحدث للناس والمجتمعات عندما يجبر ارتفاع المحيطات الناس بموارد محدودة على الانتقال.

بحث الباحثون في الأدبيات الموجودة ، بما في ذلك الأوراق الأكاديمية والتقارير الإخبارية ، لدراسة الآثار المترتبة على عمليات النقل هذه على الصحة العامة. تراوح عدد أفراد المجتمع من 60 إلى 2,700 ، في أماكن مثل ألاسكا ولويزيانا وولاية واشنطن ، بالإضافة إلى بنما وفيجي وبابوا غينيا الجديدة وجزر سليمان وفانواتو.

واحدة من المجتمعات المتضررة في الشمال الغربي هي قرية كينولت نايشن إنشن التي تضم سكان 660 في تاهوله بواشنطن ، والتي تتعرض لخطر متزايد من ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر وعرام العواصف وموجات المد. من خلال منحة فدرالية بقيمة 700,000 $ ، أكمل السكان خطة رئيسية لإعادة البناء على أرض مرتفعة قريبة وإدماج أفضل ممارسات التنمية بما يتوافق مع مدخلات المجتمع. يقول دانينبرغ إنه ستكون هناك حاجة إلى أموال إضافية كبيرة لإكمال عملية النقل.

نقل

يقترح مؤلفو الدراسة الجديدة أن تكون صحة الإنسان من الاعتبارات في عملية التراجع المدار ، على الرغم من أن القضايا الصحية لم تحظ إلا باهتمام ضئيل نسبياً في معظم دراسات الحالة التي تمت مراجعتها. في حين نجحت بعض عمليات الترحيل ، واجهت مجتمعات أخرى حواجز ، مثل عدم وجود موقع جديد مناسب أو تمويل أو إجماع مجتمعي على زمان ومكان التحرك. وكما علق أحد المسؤولين في فيجي: "النقل ... [لا] يتعلق بنقل المنازل ، إنه يتعلق بنقل الأرواح".

"هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من البحث لفهم الآثار الصحية العامة للتراجع المدار وكيفية تسهيل مرونة السكان قبل وأثناء وبعد النقل" ، يكتب دانينبرغ.

تظهر النتائج في دورية التغيير المناخي. المشاركون في الدراسة من جامعة واشنطن وويلكوم ترست ، لندن.

مصدر: جامعة واشنطن

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How Retreating From The Sea Level Rise Will Affect Our Health?

How Retreating From The Sea Level Rise Will Affect Our Health?

Managed retreat in the face of sea level rise will be a mixed bag, researchers predict.

Sea-level rise associated with climate change is a concern for many island and coastal communities. While the dangers may seem far off for large coastal cities like Miami or New Orleans, the advancing oceans are already displacing some small indigenous communities, and many others are at risk around the world.

“Relocation …[is] not about moving houses, it’s about moving lives.”

Prior to catastrophic flooding expected during the next few decades, people living in these communities can begin an orderly process of managed retreat, or planned relocation, to higher ground either nearby or at a distance.

“Managed retreat has disruptive health, sociocultural, and economic impacts on the communities that relocate,” says lead author Andrew L. Dannenberg, an affiliate professor in the University of Washington School of Public Health and in the College of Built Environments.

Those impacts include mental health, social networks, food security, water supply, sanitation, infectious diseases, injury, and health care access. The analysis found that relocating may bring some positive changes such as improved living conditions as well as some challenges, such as impairment to subsistence livelihoods.

“It can be a mixed blessing,” Dannenberg says.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Eight villages

The researchers focused on eight villages—four in North and Central America and four in the South Pacific—to learn what happens to people and communities when rising oceans force people with limited resources to relocate.

Researchers looked at existing literature, including academic papers and news reports, to examine the public health impacts of these relocations. The community populations ranged from 60 to 2,700 people, in places including Alaska, Louisiana, and Washington state, as well as Panama, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, and Vanuatu.

One of the affected communities in the Northwest is the Quinault Indian Nation village of 660 people in Taholah, Washington, that is at growing risk from sea level rise, storm surges, and tsunamis. With a $700,000 federal grant, the residents have completed a Master Plan to rebuild on nearby higher ground and to incorporate best development practices consistent with community input. Substantial additional funds will be needed to complete the relocation, Dannenberg says.

Relocation

The authors of the new study suggest that human health should be a consideration in the managed retreat process, although health issues received relatively little attention in most of the case studies reviewed. While some relocations were successful, other communities faced barriers, such as lack of a suitable new location, funding, or community consensus on when and where to move. As one official in Fiji commented: “Relocation …[is] not about moving houses, it’s about moving lives.”

“Further research is needed to better understand the public health implications of managed retreat and how to facilitate population resilience before, during and after relocation,” Dannenberg writes.

The findings appear in the journal Climatic Change. Coauthors are from the University of Washington and Wellcome Trust, London.

Source: University of Washington

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=sea level rise;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}