ثلاثة أسباب لماذا تغير المناخ الحقيقي ، وتسبب البشر ذلك

ثلاثة أسباب بسيطة لماذا تغير المناخ الحقيقي ، وتسبب البشر ذلك

تحذيرات مريرة وشيك كارثة مناخية بفعل الإنسان هي باستمرار في الأخبار لكن تنبؤات نهاية العالم تمت عبر التاريخ ولم تتحقق بعد. حتى في الفترة القصيرة من التاريخ المسجل ، كان التغير المناخي الطبيعي دائمًا معنا - سواء كان ذلك إخفاق المحصول البركاني الذي ساعد في تعجيل الثورة الفرنسية أو الفترة الدافئة في القرون الوسطى التي سمحت لفايكنغز باستعمار غرينلاند. إذن كيف يمكننا أن نثق بأن نماذج الكمبيوتر التي يستخدمها العلماء تجعل التنبؤات موثوقة؟

هناك في بعض الأحيان تردد في أخذ كلمات الخبراء لأي شيء ، لذلك نود أن نعرض الدليل. لسوء الحظ ، هذا صعب عندما يتم دفن التفاصيل تحت مئات الآلاف من خطوط رمز الكمبيوتر التي تنفذ خوارزميات رياضية من التعقيد العقلاني. ومع ذلك ، هناك فرع من فروع العلم يمكنه تقديم إجابة سهلة الفهم وصعوبة عدم تصديقها.

1. أدلة مكتوبة بالحجر

استخدمت دراسة المناخ القديم - دراسة المناخات الماضية للأرض - الحفريات لإظهار الروابط بين درجات الحرارة العالمية ومستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون. هذا السجل مكتوب بالحجر. هناك أوراق نبات أحفوري من 55m منذ سنوات والتي لديها بنية مجهرية يمكن استنساخها بدقة في النباتات الحديثة فقط عندما تنمو في جو غني بانبعاث ثاني أكسيد الكربون. هل هي مصادفة ، في ذلك الوقت ، كانت دافئة لدرجة أن التماسيح كانت تعيش داخل دائرة القطب الشمالي؟

وهذه ليست حالة معزولة. ويظهر لنا سجل رسوبي يغطي نصف مليار سنة بالضبط ما كنا نتوقع أن نراه في حالة قيام نماذج المناخ بصرف مبالغ صحيحة. تشير الآثار الأحفورية والكيميائية في الصخور إلى أن الفترات الدافئة في تاريخ الأرض مرتبطة بتركيزات أعلى من ثاني أكسيد الكربون و دراسات كمية تبين أن هذا الترابط ، إذا كان أي شيء ، أقوى من المتوقع.

2. حسابات بسيطة

تشير تلك الأوراق عمرها سنة 55m إلى أن تركيزات ثاني أكسيد الكربون كانت حوالي أربعة أضعاف مستويات اليوم وحسابات back-of-the-envelope تشير إلى أن متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة العالمية كانت حول 7 ° C أعلى. للمقارنة ، إلى حد كبير التنبؤات المستندة إلى الكمبيوتر التي نشرتها الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ تشير إلى أن تركيزات ثاني أكسيد الكربون بأربع مرات يجب أن تزيد درجات الحرارة بين 3 ° C و 9 ° C.

قد لا يطبع مثال المناخ القديم البسيط الحالة لعلاقة قوية مثيرة للقلق بين ثاني أكسيد الكربون ودرجة الحرارة ، ولكنه بيانات داعمة جيدة. لكن الأهم هو أن هذا الدليل يصعب دحضه.

3. الحجج المضادة غير مقنعة

ليس هناك شك في أن الزيادة السريعة الأخيرة في ثاني أكسيد الكربون مرتبط للأنشطة البشرية مثل حرق الوقود الأحفوري وإزالة الغابات. ولكن هل يخبرنا الدليل القديم عن حقيقة أن زيادة ثاني أكسيد الكربون يجب أن تعني زيادة درجات الحرارة؟


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


قد يكون أحد الاعتراضات هو أن تغير المناخ القديم هو دليل حقيقي على تباين سطوع الشمس. ومن ثم فإن مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون المتقلبة هي استجابة للتغير المناخي وليس السبب. ومع ذلك، الفيزياء الشمسية يخبرنا أن الشمس كانت خافتة 55m منذ سنوات بدلاً من أكثر إشراقاً ، كما هو مطلوب لدرجة حرارة أعلى.

وهناك شاغل آخر هو أن بعض العمليات الهامة ، مثل تفكك الألواح الجليدية ، تؤثر فقط على المناخ ببطء شديد. قد تستغرق صفائحنا الجليدية الدافئة عدة قرون لتختفي تمامًا ، ولكن عندما تفعل ، فإن استبدال الثلج العاكس عن طريق الصخور التي تمتص الحرارة سوف يعمل على تدفئة كوكبنا بعد ذلك. إن وجود تعقيدات محتملة كهذه يجعل المقارنات بين تغير المناخ القديم والتغير المناخي الحديث أمراً صعباً ، لكنه أيضاً أحد الأسباب التي تدعو الحاجة إلى نُهج متعددة. إذا كان هناك باحثون مختلفون يستخدمون طرقًا مختلفة ، فسيظهر مع ذلك أكثر أو أقل نفس الإجابة، ربما هم على شيء ما.

كما يخلط منكرو تغير المناخ الحجة من خلال الإشارة إلى أنه لا يوجد شيء يمكننا القيام به على أي حال. ستهيمن الصين وغيرها من البلدان النامية بسرعة على إنتاج ثاني أكسيد الكربون في القرن 21st. ولكن هذا لا يهم إذا كنا نسأل ببساطة: "هل ستؤدي زيادة مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون إلى تغيير مناخنا؟"

إن حقيقة أن المشاكل السياسية والتقنية أكثر تعقيدًا بشكل كبير من أي شيء في علم المناخ ليست سببًا للالتفاف على رؤوسنا في الرمال. اتفاق واسع النطاق أن الاحترار العالمي من صنع الإنسان من المرجح للغاية أن يكون التقدم.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على المحادثة


عن المؤلف

والثام ديفيدديفيد والتهام هو القارئ في الجيولوجيا الرياضية في رويال هولواي. هو دكتوراه في معالجة الإشارات. انضم إلى صناعة النفط ل 2 سنوات قبل أن يصبح محاضرا في الجيوفيزياء في قسم علوم الأرض في هولواي الملكي حيث أصبحت رئيس قسم. تشمل الاهتمامات البحثية نمذجة الكمبيوتر للعمليات الجيولوجية من حركة حبة الرمل إلى التأثيرات المناخية في بنية النظام الشمسي.


أوصى كتاب:

إنكار تغير المناخ: رؤساء في الرمال
واشنطن هايدن وجون كوك.

رفض التغير المناخي: رؤساء في الرمال من قبل واشنطن هايدن وجون كوك.لقد استخدم البشر دائما الإنكار. عندما نكون خائفين أو مذنبين أو مرتبكين أو عندما يتداخل شيء ما مع صورتنا الذاتية ، فإننا نميل إلى إنكار ذلك. ومع ذلك فإن الإنكار هو وهم. عندما تؤثر على صحة النفس ، أو المجتمع ، أو العالم يصبح علم الأمراض. إنكار تغير المناخ هو مثل هذه الحالة. يمكن حل تغير المناخ - ولكن فقط عندما نتوقف عن إنكار وجوده. يوضح هذا الكتاب كيف يمكننا اختراق الإنكار ، وقبول الواقع ، وبالتالي حل أزمة المناخ. وسيشرك العلماء وطلاب الجامعات والناشطين في مجال التغير المناخي وكذلك الجمهور العام الذي يسعى إلى رفض الإنكار والعمل.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ديموقراطي أو جمهوري ، الأمريكيون غاضبون ، محبطون وغارقون
ديموقراطي أو جمهوري ، الأمريكيون غاضبون ، محبطون وغارقون
by ماريا سيليست فاغنر وبابلو ج. بوزكوفسكي

Three Reasons Why Climate Change Is Real, And Humans Are Causing it

Three Simple Reasons Why Climate Change Is Real, And Humans Are Causing it

Dire warnings of imminent human-induced climate disaster are constantly in the news but predictions of the end of the world have been made throughout history and have never yet come true. Even in the brief period of recorded history, natural climate change has always been with us – whether it is the volcanically induced crop failures that helped precipitate the French Revolution or the Medieval Warm Period that allowed Vikings to colonize Greenland. So how can we trust that the computer models scientists use to make predictions are reliable?

There is sometimes reluctance to take experts' words for anything and so we would like to be shown the evidence. Unfortunately, that is difficult when the details are buried under hundreds of thousands of lines of computer code which implement mathematical algorithms of mind-numbing complexity. There is, however, one branch of science that can reliably give an answer that is easy to understand and hard not to believe.

1. Evidence Written In Stone

Paleoclimatology – the study of Earth’s past climates – has used fossils to show links between global temperatures and carbon-dioxide levels. This record is written in stone. There are fossil plant-leaves from 55m years ago that have a microscopic structure which can be accurately reproduced in modern plants only when grown in a carbon-dioxide-rich atmosphere. Is it a coincidence that, at the time, it was so warm that crocodiles were living within the Arctic circle?

And this is not an isolated case. A sedimentary record covering half a billion years shows us exactly what we would expect to see if climate modellers have done their sums right. Fossil and chemical traces in rocks indicate that warm periods in Earth’s history are associated with higher concentrations of carbon dioxide and quantitative studies show that this correlation is, if anything, even stronger than predicted.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


2. Simple Calculations

Those 55m year-old leaves suggest that carbon dioxide concentrations were about four times the present-day levels and back-of-the-envelope calculations indicate that global mean temperatures were around 7°C higher. For comparison, the largely computer-based predictions published by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change imply that quadrupling carbon-dioxide concentrations should increase temperatures by between 3°C and 9°C.

The simple paleoclimate example may not nail the case for a worryingly strong link between carbon dioxide and temperature, but it is good supporting data. What is most important, however, is that this evidence is hard to refute.

3. Counter Arguments Are Unconvincing

There is little doubt that the recent rapid increase in carbon dioxide is linked to human activities such as burning of fossil fuels and deforestation. But does the paleoclimate evidence really tell us that increased carbon dioxide must mean increased temperatures?

One objection might be that ancient climate change is really evidence for varying solar brightness. Fluctuating carbon dioxide levels are then a response to climate variation rather than the cause. However, solar physics tells us that the sun was fainter 55m years ago rather than brighter, as would be needed for higher temperature.

Another concern is that some important processes, such as ice-sheet disintegration, only affect climate very slowly. Our warming ice sheets may take centuries to disappear completely but, when they do, the replacement of reflective-ice by heat-absorbing rock will warm our planet yet further. The existence of potential complications like these makes comparisons between paleoclimate change and modern climate change difficult but it is also one of the reasons why multiple approaches are needed. If different researchers using different methods nevertheless come up with more or less the same answer, perhaps they are onto something.

Climate change deniers also confuse the argument by suggesting there is nothing we can do anyway. China and other rapidly developing countries will dominate carbon dioxide output in the 21st century. But that is irrelevant if we are simply asking: “Will increased carbon dioxide levels change our climate?”

The fact that political and technical problems are massively more complex than anything in climatology is not a reason to stick our heads in the sand. Widespread agreement that man-made global warming is highly likely would be progress.

This article originally appeared on The Conversation


About the Author

waltham davidDavid Waltham is Reader in Mathematical Geology at Royal Holloway. Is a PhD in signal processing. Joined the oil industry for 2 years before becoming a lecturer in Geophysics in Royal Holloway's Department of Earth Sciences where I became Head of Department. Research interests involve computer modeling of geological processes from the motion of a grain of sand up to the climatic influences of the solar system's architecture.


Recommended book:

Climate Change Denial: Heads in the Sand
by Washington Haydn and John Cook.

Climate Change Denial: Heads in the Sand by Washington Haydn and John Cook.Humans have always used denial. When we are afraid, guilty, confused, or when something interferes with our self-image, we tend to deny it. Yet denial is a delusion. When it impacts on the health of oneself, or society, or the world it becomes a pathology. Climate change denial is such a case. Climate change can be solved – but only when we cease to deny that it exists. This book shows how we can break through denial, accept reality, and thus solve the climate crisis. It will engage scientists, university students, climate change activists as well as the general public seeking to roll back denial and act.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}