هذا ما تسبب في تغير المناخ الكبير في الماضي

ما الذي تسبب في تغير المناخ الكبير في الماضي؟ شترستوك

شهدت الأرض عدة مستويات من مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون المرتفعة في الغلاف الجوي وارتفاع درجات الحرارة على مدى عدة ملايين من السنين الماضية. هل يمكنك تفسير سبب هذه الفترات ، بالنظر إلى عدم وجود حرق للوقود الأحفوري أو مصادر أخرى لإطلاق ثاني أكسيد الكربون من صنع الإنسان خلال تلك الأوقات؟

إن حرق الوقود الأحفوري أو الغطاء النباتي هو إحدى الطرق لوضع ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الهواء - وهو شيء أصبحنا جيدًا جدًا فيه. البشر يولدون ما يقرب من 40 مليار طن من ثاني أكسيد الكربون كل عام ، في الغالب عن طريق حرق الوقود الأحفوري.

يبقى ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الهواء لقرون إلى آلاف السنين ويتراكم بمرور الوقت. منذ أن بدأنا الاستخدام المنهجي للفحم والنفط في الوقود ، منذ حوالي 300 عام ، ارتفعت كمية ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الهواء بمقدار النصف تقريبًا.

هذا ما تسبب في تغير المناخ الكبير في الماضي نوا

بصرف النظر عن الانبعاثات التي نضيفها ، فإن تركيزات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الهواء ترتفع وتنخفض كجزء من الطبيعي دورة الكربون، مدفوعًا بالتبادل بين الهواء والمحيطات والغلاف الحيوي (الحياة على الأرض) ، وفي نهاية المطاف من خلال العمليات الجيولوجية.

التغيرات الطبيعية في ثاني أكسيد الكربون

في كل عام ، ترتفع تركيزات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وتنخفض قليلاً مع نمو النباتات في الربيع والصيف وتموت في الخريف والشتاء. توقيت هذا الارتفاع والانخفاض الموسمي ترتبط بمواسم نصف الكرة الشمالي ، حيث توجد معظم سطح الأرض على الأرض.

تلعب المحيطات أيضًا دورًا نشطًا في دورة الكربون ، مما يساهم في الاختلافات على مدى بضعة أشهر لإبطاء التحولات على مر القرون. تستهلك مياه المحيطات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في التبادل مباشرة بين الهواء ومياه البحر. تستخدم النباتات البحرية الصغيرة ثاني أكسيد الكربون لعملية التمثيل الضوئي والعديد من الكائنات البحرية المجهرية تستخدم مركبات الكربون لصنع الأصداف. عندما تموت هذه الكائنات الحية الدقيقة البحرية وتغرق في قاع البحر ، فإنها تأخذ الكربون معها.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


مجتمعة ، تمتص المحيط الحيوي (النظم البيئية على الأرض وفي التربة) والمحيطات نصف كل ثاني أكسيد الكربون المنبعث من الإنسان، وهذا يبطئ معدل تغير المناخ. ولكن مع استمرار تغير المناخ وتسخن المحيطات أكثر ، ليس من الواضح ما إذا كان المحيط الحيوي والمحيطات سيستمرون في امتصاص هذا الجزء الكبير من انبعاثاتنا. مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة المياه ، تصبح أقل قدرة على امتصاص ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، ومع تغير المناخ ، تصبح العديد من النظم البيئية مجهدة وأقل قدرة على التمثيل الضوئي لثاني أكسيد الكربون.

تاريخ مناخ الأرض العميق

على نطاقات زمنية تتراوح بين مئات الآلاف وملايين السنين ، اختلفت تركيزات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الهواء بشكل كبير ، وكذلك المناخ العالمي.

هذا دورة الكربون طويلة المدى ينطوي على تكوين وتحلل سطح الأرض نفسه: نشاط الصفائح التكتونية ، وتكوين سلاسل الجبال وتجويةها ، والنشاط البركاني المطول ، وظهور قاع البحر الجديد في أعطال وسط المحيط النشطة.

معظم الكربون المخزن في قشرة الأرض يكون في شكل حجر كلسي ، تم إنشاؤه من قذائف الكربون القائمة على الكائنات الحية البحرية التي غرقت في قاع المحيط منذ ملايين السنين.

يضاف ثاني أكسيد الكربون إلى الهواء عندما تنفجر البراكين ، ويتم أخراجه من الهواء مع تآكل الصخور وسلاسل الجبال وتآكلها. تستغرق هذه العمليات عادةً ملايين السنين لإضافة أو طرح ثاني أكسيد الكربون من الغلاف الجوي.

في الوقت الحاضر ، تضيف البراكين القليل من ثاني أكسيد الكربون إلى الهواء حولها 1٪ مما يساهم به النشاط البشري حاليا. ولكن كانت هناك أوقات في الماضي حيث كان النشاط البركاني أكبر بكثير وأخرج كميات كبيرة من ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الهواء.

أحد الأمثلة منذ حوالي 250 مليون سنة ، عندما رفع النشاط البركاني المطول مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي بشكل كبير. كانت هذه الانفجارات البركانية على نطاق واسع - استمرت لحوالي مليوني سنة و مما تسبب في الانقراض الجماعي.

في الماضي الجيولوجي الأحدث ، على مدى الخمسين مليون سنة الماضية ، انخفضت مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون تدريجيًا بشكل عام وكان المناخ يبرد ، مع بعض الارتفاعات والانخفاضات. بمجرد أن أصبحت تركيزات ثاني أكسيد الكربون منخفضة بما يكفي (حوالي 50 جزء في المليون) قبل مليوني وثلاثة ملايين سنة مضت ، بدأت دورة العصر الجليدي الحالية ، ولكن الاحترار الذي تسببه انبعاثاتنا أكبر من اتجاه التبريد الطبيعي.

في حين أن مناخ الأرض قد تغير بشكل كبير في الماضي ، فقد حدث على نطاق زمني جيولوجي. يمثل الكربون الموجود في الزيت والفحم الذي نحرقه ثاني أكسيد الكربون الذي تمتصه النباتات منذ مئات الملايين من السنين ثم ترسب من خلال العمليات الجيولوجية على مدى آلاف السنين. لقد أحرقنا نسبة كبيرة خلال بضعة قرون.

إذا استمرت انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون البشرية في الزيادة خلال هذا القرن ، فقد نصل إلى مستويات لم ير لعشرات الملايين من السنين، عندما كان للأرض مناخ أكثر دفئًا مع ارتفاع مستويات سطح البحر وعدم وجود طبقات من الجليد.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيمس رينويك ، أستاذ الجغرافيا الفيزيائية (علم المناخ) ، تي هيرينجا واكا - جامعة فيكتوريا في ويلينغتون

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته

جوزيف روم
0190866101التمهيدي الأساسي على ما سيكون موضوع تعريف عصرنا ، تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته هي نظرة عامة واضحة على العلوم والصراعات والآثار المترتبة على كوكبنا الدافئ. من جوزيف روم ، كبير مستشاري العلوم في ناشيونال جيوغرافيك سنوات من العيش تحت الخطر سلسلة واحدة من "الناس 100 الذين يغيرون أمريكا" في رولينج ستون تغير المناخ يقدم إجابات سهلة الاستخدام وصارمة من الناحية العلمية على أصعب الأسئلة (وأكثرها تسييسًا) المحيطة بما اعتبره عالم المناخ لوني تومبسون "خطرًا واضحًا وحاضرًا على الحضارة". متاح في أمازون

تغير المناخ: علم الاحترار العالمي ومستقبل طاقتنا الطبعة الثانية

بقلم جيسون سميردون
0231172834هذه الطبعة الثانية من تغير المناخ هو دليل يمكن الوصول إليها وشاملة للعلوم وراء الاحتباس الحراري. يتضح بشكل رائع ، يتم توجيه النص نحو الطلاب في مجموعة متنوعة من المستويات. يقدم كل من إدموند ماثيز وجايسون سميردون مقدمة واسعة ومفيدة للعلم الذي يقوم عليه فهمنا لنظام المناخ وتأثيرات النشاط البشري على ارتفاع حرارة كوكبنا. يصف ماثيز وسميردون الأدوار التي يقوم بها الغلاف الجوي والمحيطات. لعب في مناخنا ، وإدخال مفهوم توازن الإشعاع ، وشرح التغيرات المناخية التي حدثت في الماضي. كما أنها توضح بالتفصيل الأنشطة البشرية التي تؤثر على المناخ ، مثل انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة والهباء الجوي وإزالة الغابات ، وكذلك آثار الظواهر الطبيعية. متاح في أمازون

علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية

بقلم بلير لي ، ألينا باخمان
194747300Xيستخدم علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية النص و 18 نشاطًا عمليًا لشرح وتعليم علم الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ ، وكيف يتحمل البشر المسؤولية ، وما الذي يمكن فعله لإبطاء أو إيقاف معدل الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ. هذا الكتاب هو دليل كامل وشامل لموضوع بيئي أساسي. تشمل الموضوعات التي يتناولها هذا الكتاب ما يلي: كيف تنقل الجزيئات الطاقة من الشمس لتسخين الغلاف الجوي ، وغازات الدفيئة ، وتأثير الاحتباس الحراري ، والاحتباس الحراري ، والثورة الصناعية ، ورد فعل الاحتراق ، وحلقات التغذية الراجعة ، والعلاقة بين الطقس والمناخ ، وتغير المناخ ، أحواض الكربون ، الانقراض ، بصمة الكربون ، إعادة التدوير ، والطاقة البديلة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

This Is What Caused Major Climate Change In The Past

What Caused Major Climate Change In The Past? Shutterstock

Earth had several periods of high carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere and high temperatures over the last several million years. Can you explain what caused these periods, given that there was no burning of fossil fuels or other sources of human created carbon dioxide release during those times?

Burning fossil fuels or vegetation is one way to put carbon dioxide into the air – and it is something we have become very good at. Humans are generating nearly 40 billion tons of carbon dioxide every year, mostly by burning fossil fuels.

Carbon dioxide stays in the air for centuries to millennia and it builds up over time. Since we began the systematic use of coal and oil for fuel, around 300 years ago, the amount of carbon dioxide in the air has gone up by almost half.

This Is What Caused Major Climate Change In The Past NOAA

Apart from the emissions we add, carbon dioxide concentrations in the air go up and down as part of the natural carbon cycle, driven by exchanges between the air, the oceans and the biosphere (life on earth), and ultimately by geological processes.

Natural changes in carbon dioxide

Every year, carbon dioxide concentrations rise and fall a little as plants grow in spring and summer and die off in the autumn and winter. The timing of this seasonal rise and fall is tied to northern hemisphere seasons, as most of the land surface on Earth is there.

The oceans also play an active role in the carbon cycle, contributing to variations over a few months to slow shifts over centuries. Ocean water takes up carbon dioxide directly in an exchange between the air and seawater. Tiny marine plants use carbon dioxide for photosynthesis and many microscopic marine organisms use carbon compounds to make shells. When these marine micro-organisms die and sink to the seafloor, they take the carbon with them.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Collectively, the biosphere (ecosystems on land and in soils) and the oceans are absorbing about half of all human-emitted carbon dioxide, and this slows the rate of climate change. But as the climate continues to change and the oceans warm up further, it is not clear whether the biosphere and oceans will continue absorbing such a large fraction of our emissions. As water warms, it is less able to absorb carbon dioxide, and as the climate changes, many ecosystems become stressed and are less able to photosynthesise carbon dioxide.

Earth’s deep climate history

On time scales of hundreds of thousands to millions of years, carbon dioxide concentrations in the air have varied hugely, and so has global climate.

This long-term carbon cycle involves the formation and decay of the Earth’s surface itself: tectonic plate activity, the build-up and weathering of mountain chains, prolonged volcanic activity, and the emergence of new seafloor at active mid-ocean faults.

Most of the carbon stored in the Earth’s crust is in the form of limestone, created from the carbon-based shells of marine organisms that sank to the ocean floor millions of year ago.

Carbon dioxide is added to the air when volcanoes erupt, and it is taken out of the air as rocks and mountain ranges weather and wear down. These processes typically take millions of years to add or subtract carbon dioxide from the atmosphere.

In the present day, volcanoes add only a little carbon dioxide to the air, around 1% of what human activity is currently contributing. But there have been times in the past where volcanic activity has been vastly greater and has spewed large amounts of carbon dioxide into the air.

An example is around 250 million years ago, when prolonged volcanic activity raised atmospheric carbon dioxide levels dramatically. These were volcanic eruptions on a vast scale - lasting for around two million years and causing a mass extinction.

In the more recent geological past, the past 50 million years, carbon dioxide levels have been gradually dropping overall and the climate has been cooling, with some ups and downs. Once carbon dioxide concentrations became low enough (around 300 parts per million) between two and three million years ago, the current ice age cycle began, but the warming our emissions are causing is larger than the natural cooling trend.

While Earth’s climate has changed significantly in the past, it happened on geological time scales. The carbon in the oil and coal we burn represents carbon dioxide taken up by vegetation hundreds of millions of years ago and then deposited through geological processes over millennia. We have burned a significant proportion within a few centuries.

If human emissions of carbon dioxide continue to increase through this century, we could reach levels not seen for tens of millions of years, when Earth had a much warmer climate with much higher sea levels and no ice sheets.The Conversation

About The Author

James Renwick, Professor, Physical Geography (climate science), Te Herenga Waka — Victoria University of Wellington

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know

by Joseph Romm
0190866101The essential primer on what will be the defining issue of our time, Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know® is a clear-eyed overview of the science, conflicts, and implications of our warming planet. From Joseph Romm, Chief Science Advisor for National Geographic's Years of Living Dangerously series and one of Rolling Stone's "100 people who are changing America," Climate Change offers user-friendly, scientifically rigorous answers to the most difficult (and commonly politicized) questions surrounding what climatologist Lonnie Thompson has deemed "a clear and present danger to civilization.". Available On Amazon

Climate Change: The Science of Global Warming and Our Energy Future second edition Edition

by Jason Smerdon
0231172834This second edition of Climate Change is an accessible and comprehensive guide to the science behind global warming. Exquisitely illustrated, the text is geared toward students at a variety of levels. Edmond A. Mathez and Jason E. Smerdon provide a broad, informative introduction to the science that underlies our understanding of the climate system and the effects of human activity on the warming of our planet.Mathez and Smerdon describe the roles that the atmosphere and ocean play in our climate, introduce the concept of radiation balance, and explain climate changes that occurred in the past. They also detail the human activities that influence the climate, such as greenhouse gas and aerosol emissions and deforestation, as well as the effects of natural phenomena.  Available On Amazon

The Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course

by Blair Lee, Alina Bachmann
194747300XThe Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course uses text and eighteen hands-on activities to explain and teach the science of global warming and climate change, how humans are responsible, and what can be done to slow or stop the rate of global warming and climate change. This book is a complete, comprehensive guide to an essential environmental topic. Subjects covered in this book include: how molecules transfer energy from the sun to warm the atmosphere, greenhouse gases, the greenhouse effect, global warming, the Industrial Revolution, the combustion reaction, feedback loops, the relationship between weather and climate, climate change, carbon sinks, extinction, carbon footprint, recycling, and alternative energy. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to heal our lives, spiritually and emotionally, as well…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…