Les Panaméens rejettent le plan forestier des Nations Unies

Les Panaméens rejettent le plan forestier des Nations Unies

Les populations autochtones du Panama demandent aux Nations Unies de fermer leur programme forestier mondial, REDD, dans leur pays.

REDD - Réduire les émissions provenant de la déforestation et de la dégradation des forêts - est conçu pour ralentir le changement climatique en empêchant la destruction des forêts les plus vulnérables du monde. C'est un élément clé des efforts de l'ONU pour lutter contre le réchauffement climatique, et l'échec au Panama aura des impacts bien plus lointains.

La demande de l'Organe national de coordination des peuples autochtones du Panama (Coonapip) testera une disposition de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, qui dit qu'ils ont le droit de refuser des projets et des investissements qui affectent leurs ressources naturelles.

«En ce qui concerne les forêts du Panama, nous ne sommes pas de simples parties prenantes à consulter», a déclaré Betanio Chiquidama, président de Coonapip et cacique (chef) d'une réserve qui abrite plus de 33,000 dans l'est du pays.

"Plus de la moitié des forêts du pays se trouvent sur les terres des peuples autochtones. Comment un plan efficace pour sauver ces forêts peut-il être négocié si les leaders autochtones ne sont pas à la table?

"La pression sur les forêts n'a jamais été aussi grande - pour l'exploration des aliments, des combustibles, des fibres et des minéraux. Mais nous savons aussi qu'il y a d'autres terres qui pourraient être utilisées à ces fins; la réponse n'est pas de tuer nos forêts. "
Méfiance

Au lieu de protéger les forêts pour le peuple autochtone du Panama, le chef de l'ONU affirme que le système des Nations Unies est utilisé pour arracher le contrôle des forêts à des fins d'exploitation par des étrangers.

Coonapip affirme que les plans d'application de la REDD au Panama se sont transformés en une tentative visant à affaiblir le contrôle des peuples autochtones sur leurs terres et à réduire la résistance à l'exploitation possible des ressources naturelles.

Il accuse le programme REDD de marginaliser les dirigeants autochtones, les empêchant de jouer pleinement leur rôle dans les activités de planification REDD et ne garantissant pas le respect de leurs droits.

Chiquidama a été cité par le London Guardian: "Nous pensions que la REDD allait nous aider à renforcer nos droits sur nos territoires parce que personne ne s'occupe des forêts comme nous. Il a cherché à faire le contraire, et nous avons perdu toute confiance dans l'ONU. "

Pour sa part, l'ONU dit qu'elle pense que le conflit concerne l'argent et le contrôle des projets, et que cela est compliqué par les relations entre les groupes autochtones et le gouvernement panaméen.

Des chercheurs canadiens ont découvert qu'un peu plus de la moitié des forêts matures du Panama se trouvent dans des zones indigènes, où la couverture forestière est en moyenne 70-80%. Une estimation 2010 a trouvé près de 60%, ou 4,294,000 hectares, de Panama à boiser.

Christine Halvorson, de Rainforest Foundation US, a déclaré que le travail des chercheurs canadiens a renforcé d'autres études qui ont montré que les peuples autochtones étaient significativement plus capables que n'importe quel autre propriétaire public ou privé de protéger les forêts biologiquement précieuses.
Premier exemple

Elle a déclaré: "Tout plan visant à réduire les changements climatiques devrait renforcer les droits des populations autochtones sur les forêts qui sont essentielles à leur vie et à leurs moyens de subsistance. Sans la participation des personnes les plus susceptibles d'être touchées, les efforts pour sauver les forêts du monde échoueront probablement. "

Le Panama a été l'un des premiers pays à mettre en œuvre la REDD et a été salué comme un exemple de réussite du programme et comme un exemple des avantages de droits fonciers forts pour les populations autochtones.

"En théorie, la mise en œuvre de la préparation REDD au Panama aurait dû être plus facile que la plupart, compte tenu de la force de ses peuples autochtones et de leur succès dans la gestion forestière", a déclaré Andrew Davis du Programme Salvadorien de Recherche sur le Développement et l'Environnement (PRISMA). ONG américaine.

"Ce devrait être un drapeau rouge que la REDD a rencontré des problèmes aussi graves liés à la participation des peuples autochtones."

Hector Huertas Gutierrez, un avocat qui travaille avec Coonapip, a déclaré que le groupe comprenait la valeur de REDD et avait essayé de négocier avec le gouvernement du Panama pour un rôle plus significatif dans les négociations à ce sujet.

"Nous n'étions pas entendus", a déclaré Huertas. "Mais maintenant que nous sommes ici, nous avons l'impression qu'une porte peut s'ouvrir. Nos gens sont prêts à écouter. »Les responsables REDD ont commandé une évaluation répondant aux préoccupations du groupe. - Climate News Network

Panamanians Reject UN Forest Plan

Panamanians Reject UN Forest Plan

Indigenous people in Panama are asking the United Nations to close down its global forestry programme, REDD, in their country.

REDD – Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and forest Degradation – is designed to slow climate change by preventing the destruction of the world’s most vulnerable forests. It is a key part of the UN’s attempts to tackle a warming climate, and failure in Panama will have impacts much further afield.

The demand, by the National Coordinating Body of Indigenous Peoples in Panama (Coonapip), will test a provision of the 2007 UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, which says they have the right to refuse projects and investments which affect their natural resources.

“When it comes to the forests of Panama, we are not mere stakeholders to be consulted”, said Betanio Chiquidama, president of Coonapip and cacique (chief) of a reserve that is home to more than 33,000 people in the east of the country.

“More than half the country’s forests are on the lands of indigenous people. How can an effective plan to save these forests be negotiated if the indigenous leaders are not at the table?

“The pressure on the forests has never been greater – for food, fuel, fibre and mineral exploration. But we also know that there are other lands that could be used for these purposes; the answer is not to kill our forests.”
Mistrust

Instead of safeguarding the forests for the indigenous people of Panama, the chief argues, the UN scheme is being used to wrest control of the forests from them for exploitation by outsiders.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Coonapip says plans to apply REDD in Panama were turning into an attempt to weaken indigenous people’s control over their land and to wear down resistance to the possible exploitation of natural resources.

It accuses the REDD programme of sidelining indigenous leaders, preventing them from playing a full part in REDD planning activities, and failing to guarantee respect for their rights.

Chiquidama was quoted by the London Guardian as saying: “We thought REDD was going to help us strengthen our rights over our territories because no one looks after the forests like we do. It sought to do the opposite, and we have lost all trust in the UN.”

For its part, the UN says it thinks the dispute is about money and the control of projects, and that it is complicated by relations between the indigenous groups and the Panamanian Government.

Canadian researchers have found that slightly more than half of Panama’s mature forests lie in indigenous areas, where forest cover averages 70-80%.  A 2010 estimate found nearly 60%, or 4,294,000 hectares, of Panama to be forested.

Christine Halvorson, of the Rainforest Foundation US, said the Canadian researchers’ work reinforced other studies which showed that indigenous peoples were significantly more able than any other public or private land-owner to protect biologically valuable forests.
Prime example

She said: “Any plan aimed at reducing climate change should strengthen the rights of the indigenous people to the forests that are central to their lives and livelihoods. Without the participation of those most likely to be impacted, efforts to save the world’s forests likely will fail.”

Panama was one of the first countries to implement REDD and has been praised as a success story for the programme and as an example of the benefits of strong land rights for indigenous people.

“In theory, implementing REDD readiness in Panama should have been easier than most, given the strength of its indigenous peoples and their success in forest management,” said Andrew Davis of the Salvadoran Program for Research on Development and Environment (PRISMA), a Central American NGO.

“It should be a red flag that REDD has run into such serious problems related to the participation of indigenous peoples.”

Hector Huertas Gutierrez, a lawyer who works with Coonapip, said the group understood REDD’s value and had tried to negotiate with the Government of Panama for a more meaningful role in the negotiations over it.

“We were not being heard,” Huertas said. “But now that we are here, we feel as if a door may be opening. Our people are ready to listen.” REDD officials have commissioned an evaluation responding to the group’s concerns. – Climate News Network

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)