كيف يساعد الجيش الهندي معركة التغيير المناخي

إزالة التلال من الأشجار بواسطة زراعة القطع والحرق في أروناشال براديش ، شمال شرق الهند. الصورة: Prashanth NS عبر Flickrإزالة التلال من الأشجار بواسطة زراعة القطع والحرق في أروناشال براديش ، شمال شرق الهند. الصورة: Prashanth NS عبر Flickr

يلعب جنود فرقة العمل البيئية دورًا رئيسيًا في الحفاظ على الغابات والتربة والماء لمساعدة الهند على تحقيق أهداف الحد من الانبعاثات المنصوص عليها في قمة المناخ في باريس.

كجزء من جهودها لتحسين الغطاء الحرجي وامتصاص انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة المتغيرة بالمناخ ، لدى الحكومة في الهند شريك غير متوقع - الجيش الهندي.

في مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للمناخ في باريس في ديسمبر الماضي ، قامت الهند بتوسيع وتحسين غطاء الغابات لديها كجزء مركزي من تعهدها بمكافحة تغير المناخ.

واحدة من العديد من الوكالات - بصرف النظر عن إدارة الغابات - التي وظفتها الحكومة للقيام بأعمال تحسين الغابات هي جزء من الجيش الهندي المعروف باسم قوة المهام البيئية (ETF).

وفقا لوزارة الدفاع الهندية ، قامت وحدات من مؤسسة التدريب الأوروبية ، على مدار السنوات الماضية 30 ، بزرع 65 مليون شجرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. كما تشارك مؤسسة التدريب الأوروبية في إعادة تأهيل الغابات المتدهورة ، والحفاظ على التربة وإدارة الموارد المائية.

تعمل الغابات كمصارف كربونية حيوية ، حيث تمتص كميات من ثاني أكسيد الكربون المتغير بالمناخ. عندما يتم تدمير الغابات ، وهذا ثاني أكسيد الكربون المخزنة2 يتم إطلاقها في الغلاف الجوي ، مما يزيد من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة ويزيد من تفاقم مشكلة تغير المناخ.

بالوعة الكربون

المبلغ الإجمالي من CO2ويقدر التكافؤ في الوقت الحاضر المخزنة في غابات الهند أن يكون أكثر من 7 مليار طن. كجزء من التزامها بتحقيق الأهداف الموضوعة في باريس لمحاربة التغير المناخي ، تخطط الهند لإنشاء مصفاة إضافية من الكربون من 2.5 إلى 3 مليار طن من CO2-معادلة من خلال غطاء الغابات والأشجار الإضافي بواسطة 2030.

إن مكافئ ثاني أكسيد الكربون هو طريقة مبسطة لوضع انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة المختلفة على أساس مشترك من خلال التعبير عنها من حيث كمية ثاني أكسيد الكربون التي سيكون لها نفس تأثير الاحترار العالمي (عادةً ما يزيد على قرن من الزمن).

أحدث الإحصاءات الواردة في تقرير حالة الغابات في الهند 2015 تشير إلى أن البلاد لديها ما يزيد قليلاً عن 7 مليون كيلومتر مربع من غطاء الغابات - أكثر من 21٪ من مساحتها الجغرافية. وتقول الحكومة إنها تخطط لزيادة هذا الرقم إلى 33٪.

شهدت المنطقة تحولاً كاملاً ، حيث عادت أراضي الغابات المتدهورة الآن إلى منطقة التنوع البيولوجي الغني "

تشارك مؤسسة التدريب الأوروبية في مجموعة متنوعة من المشاريع ، مثل الجهود المبذولة لاستصلاح الأراضي الحرجية الملوثة بأنشطة التعدين غير القانونية في ضواحي العاصمة نيودلهي.

في غابات جبال الهيمالايا السفلى بالقرب من موسوري ، في ولاية أوتارانتشال ، تحاول إعادة تأهيل مناطق الغابات المتدهورة بشدة ، وبالقرب من تيزبور في ولاية أسام الشمالية الشرقية - جزء من البلاد التي شهدت العديد من تفشي التمرد - إنها تحاول منع المستوطنين من التعدي على مناطق الغابات المحمية.

الواجبات تتبع نمط مماثل. في السنة الأولى ، هناك إعداد الأرض وتزرع الأشجار. في السنة الثانية ، يتم تنفيذ عدد الشجرة ويتم استبدال الشتلات الميتة. في نهاية خمس سنوات من عمليات المراقبة ، يتم تسليم المنطقة إلى إدارة الغابات.

في أحد المواقع التابعة لمؤسسة التدريب الأوروبية في سفوح جبال الهيمالايا في شمال شرق البلاد ، بالقرب من الحدود الفاصلة بين ولايتي آسام وأروناتشال براديش ، تنتشر بقع من الغابات عبر المناظر الطبيعية التي تنتشر بشكل رئيسي في حقول الأرز والمجموعات الصغيرة من المنازل. وقام القرويون بتقطيع الأشجار للحصول على الحطب ، كما قاموا بتطهير مساحات من الغابات للزراعة.

ولكن بفضل الجهود التي بذلتها كتيبة من جنود مؤسسة التدريب الأوروبية ، شهدت المنطقة تحولًا كاملًا ، حيث عادت أراضي الغابات المتدهورة الآن إلى منطقة التنوع البيولوجي الغني.

قطع الارض

"إن المساحة المخصصة ليست امتداداً مستمراً من الأرض ، ولكن قطع الأراضي الصغيرة في جميع أنحاء المنطقة سلمت لنا واحدة تلو الأخرى" ، يقول العقيد KS Jaggi ، قائد الكتيبة.

تختلف قطع الأرض في الحجم والحالة. تتم استشارة إدارة الغابات الحكومية طوال عملية إعادة التأهيل - اختيار الأنواع التي سيتم زرعها ، مما يساعد على رفع الوعي بين القرويين المحليين لأهمية الحفاظ على الغابات ، والتعامل مع الفيضانات وغيرها من المشاكل. كما يساعد أفراد قسم الغابات في تدريب وحدات الجيش على صيانة وإدارة الغابات.

تأسست كتائب مؤسسة التدريب الأوروبية في أوائل 1980s كجزء من مخطط لمعالجة مشاكل الغابات ، لا سيما في المناطق النائية ، أو في أجزاء من البلاد مع مشاكل القانون والنظام.

وكان المخطط - نفذت بالاشتراك بين وزارة الدفاع ووزارة البيئة والغابات وتغير المناخ - فكرة الدكتور نورمان بورلوغالحائز على جائزة نوبل في الولايات المتحدة وعلم الأحياء الذي غالباً ما يشار إليه على أنه أب الثورة الخضراء. تمت معالجة الخطة في وقت لاحق من قبل رئيس الوزراء آنذاك ، أنديرا غاندي. - شبكة أخبار المناخ

نبذة عن الكاتب

كتبت نيفيديتا خانديكار ، وهي صحافية مستقلة مقرّها في نيودلهي ، الهند ، عن القضايا البيئية والإنمائية والمتعلقة بتغير المناخ. البريد الإلكتروني: محمي عنوان البريد الإلكتروني هذا من المتطفلين و برامج التطفل. تحتاج إلى تفعيل جافا سكريبت لتتمكن من مشاهدته.. تويتر @ nivedita_Him

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = keywords change، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How The Indian Army Helps Battle Climate Change

Hillside stripped of trees by slash-and-burn agriculture in Arunachal Pradesh, northeast India. Image: Prashanth NS via FlickrHillside stripped of trees by slash-and-burn agriculture in Arunachal Pradesh, northeast India. Image: Prashanth NS via Flickr

Soldiers of the Eco Task Force are playing a key role in forest, soil and water conservation to help India meet emissions reduction targets set at the Paris climate summit.

As part of its effort to improve forest cover and so soak up climate-changing greenhouse gas emissions, the government in India has an unlikely partner – the Indian Army.

At the UN climate conference in Paris last December, India made enlarging and improving its forest cover a central part of its pledge on fighting climate change.

One of the many agencies – apart from the forest department – the government has recruited to carry out the work of forest improvement is a part of the Indian army known as the Eco Task Force (ETF).

According to India’s Ministry of Defence, units of the ETF have, over the last 30 years, already planted 65 million trees across the country. The ETF is also involved in rehabilitating degraded forests, conserving soils and managing water resources.

Forests act as a vital carbon sink, soaking up quantities of climate-changing carbon dioxide. When forests are destroyed, that stored CO2 is released into the atmosphere, adding to emissions of greenhouse gases and further exacerbating the problem of climate change.

Carbon sink

The total amount of CO2-equivalent at present stored in India’s forests is estimated to be more than 7 billion tonnes. As part of its commitment to meeting the targets put forward in Paris to fight climate change, India plans to create an additional carbon sink of 2.5 to 3 billion tonnes of CO2-equivalent through additional forest and tree cover by 2030.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Carbon dioxide equivalency is a simplified way to put emissions of various greenhouse gases on a common footing by expressing them in terms of the amount of carbon dioxide that would have the same global warming effect (usually over a century).

Latest statistics contained in the India State of Forest Report 2015 indicate that the country has a total of just over 7 million square kilometres of forest cover – more than 21% of its geographical area. The government says it plans to increase this figure to 33%.

The area has seen a complete transformation, with degraded forest land now returned to an area of rich biodiversity”

The ETF is involved in a variety of projects, such as efforts to reclaim forest land polluted by illegal mining activities on the outskirts of New Delhi, the capital.

In the forests of the lower Himalayas near Mussoorie, in the state of Uttarakhand, it is attempting to rehabilitate severely degraded areas of woodland, and near Tezpur in the north-eastern state of Assam – part of the country that has experienced various insurgency outbreaks – it is trying to stop settlers encroaching on protected forest areas.

Assignments follow a similar pattern. In the first year, there is ground preparation and trees are planted. In the second year, a tree count is carried out and dead saplings are replaced. At the end of five years of monitoring developments, the area is handed over to the forest department.

At one ETF site in the Himalayan foothills in the north-east of the country, near the border separating the states of Assam and Arunachal Pradesh, patches of forest are spread across a landscape dotted mainly with paddy fields and small clusters of houses. Villagers cut trees for firewood, and have also cleared stretches of forest for farming.

But, thanks to the efforts of a battalion of ETF soldiers, the area has seen a complete transformation, with degraded forest land now returned to an area of rich biodiversity.

Land parcels

“The area allotted is not a continuous stretch of land but small land parcels across the district handed over to us one after another,” says Colonel K S Jaggi, the battalion commander.

The land parcels vary in size and condition. The government’s forest department is consulted throughout the rehabilitation process – selecting species to be planted, helping raise awareness among local villagers of the importance of forest conservation, and dealing with flooding and other problems. Forest department personnel also help train the army units in forest conservation and management.

The ETF battalions were established in the early 1980s as part of a scheme to tackle forest problems, particularly in more remote areas, or in parts of the country with law and order problems.

The scheme – jointly implemented by the Ministry of Defence and the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change – was the idea of Dr Norman Borlaug, the American Nobel laureate and biologist who is often referred to as the father of the green revolution. The scheme was later taken up by the then prime minister, Indira Gandhi. – Climate News Network

About The Author

Nivedita Khandekar, an independent journalist based in New Delhi, India, writes on environmental, developmental and climate change-related issues. Email: [email protected]; Twitter @nivedita_Him

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=climate change;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)