Wer hat mehr als einen Job, um über die Runden zu kommen?

Ungleichheit
Ungefähr 15% der Beschäftigten, deren Hauptberuf in der Kunst- oder Erholungsbranche liegt, haben mehr als einen Arbeitsplatz. www.shutterstock.com

Frauen, die in der Kunst- oder Dienstleistungsbranche tätig sind und noch jung sind, haben mit größter Wahrscheinlichkeit mehr als einen Arbeitsplatz in Australien.

HILDA Umfragedaten zeigen, dass in den letzten Jahren ungefähr 7% bis 8% der Beschäftigten Halten Sie mehr als einen Job. Und obwohl dies nicht zugenommen hat, ist der Anteil der Menschen gestiegen, die mehrere Jobs nutzen, um eine Vollzeitbeschäftigung zu erreichen. Dies ist der Fall, wenn ein Mitarbeiter zwei oder mehr Teilzeitjobs kombiniert, die 35 oder mehr Stunden pro Woche ergeben.

Insgesamt deuten die Daten der HILDA-Umfrage darauf hin, dass es zwei breite Gruppen von mehreren Stelleninhabern gibt. Die erste Gruppe setzt sich aus Personen zusammen, die ihre Vollzeitbeschäftigung mit einer relativ geringen Anzahl zusätzlicher Arbeitsstunden ergänzen und möglicherweise die gleiche Arbeit leisten wie ihre Hauptbeschäftigung - beispielsweise Nachhilfe durch Lehrer oder informelle Kinderbetreuung von Kinderbetreuern.

Die zweite Gruppe besteht aus Teilzeitbeschäftigten, die mehrere Jobs ausüben, um genügend Arbeitsstunden zu erhalten. Für diese Menschen ist es möglicherweise wahrscheinlicher, dass ihr zweiter Arbeitsplatz eine andere Art von Arbeit als ihr Hauptberuf ist.

Diese zweite Gruppe hat seit der globalen Finanzkrise an Größe zugenommen und ist von ungefähr 54% mehrerer Stelleninhaber in 2008 auf ungefähr 62% in 2015 gestiegen. Damit verbunden ist eine Zunahme der Menschen, die mehrere Jobs als Weg zur Vollzeitbeschäftigung nutzen. In 2014 und 2015 war ungefähr jeder vierte Mehrfachjobinhaber in jedem seiner Jobs Teilzeitbeschäftigt, in allen Jobs zusammen jedoch Vollzeitbeschäftigt. Dies war ein Anstieg von ungefähr einem von sechs Mehrfachjobs in der Mitte der 2000.

Dieses Wachstum dürfte in engem Zusammenhang mit dem Anstieg der Unterbeschäftigung - Teilzeitbeschäftigte, die mehr Arbeitsstunden möchten - stehen, der seit der globalen Finanzkrise zu verzeichnen ist.

Wenn immer mehr Menschen keine Vollzeitbeschäftigung finden (oder eine Teilzeitbeschäftigung mit ausreichenden Arbeitsstunden), ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass die Zahl der Teilzeitbeschäftigten, die eine Nebenbeschäftigung annehmen, zunimmt, um die unzureichenden Arbeitsstunden zu beheben .

Frauen mit mehr als einem Job

Es sind Frauen, die mit größerer Wahrscheinlichkeit mehr als eine Arbeit ausüben. Dies hängt wahrscheinlich damit zusammen, dass mehr Frauen als Männer in Teilzeit beschäftigt sind, da Teilzeitbeschäftigte häufiger Mehrfachbeschäftigungen ausüben.

Es gibt auch erhebliche Unterschiede nach Altersgruppen. Beschäftigte im Alter von 15-24 haben am häufigsten mehrere Jobs, und Beschäftigte im Alter von 65 und älter haben am seltensten mehrere Jobs. Frauen im Alter von 45-54 haben ebenfalls relativ wahrscheinlich mehrere Jobs.

Die Unterschiede nach Altersgruppen spiegeln teilweise die Prävalenz der Teilzeitbeschäftigung in jeder Altersgruppe wider. Personen im Alter von 15-24 sind besonders häufig in Teilzeit beschäftigt.

Es ist jedoch wahrscheinlich, dass auch andere Faktoren eine Rolle spielen. Zum Beispiel könnte ein erheblicher Teil der Frauen im Alter von 45-54 versuchen, ihre Arbeitszeit zu verlängern, wenn ihre Kinder älter werden, und für einige wird dies bedeuten, dass sie einen zweiten Job annehmen.

Die Arten von Arbeit, bei denen mehr als ein Job üblich ist

Das Stereotyp des unterbeschäftigten Schauspielers, der als Kellner arbeitet, mag zutreffend sein. Ungefähr 15% der Beschäftigten, deren Hauptberuf in der Kunst- oder Erholungsbranche liegt, haben mehr als einen Arbeitsplatz. Menschen, die in der allgemeinen und beruflichen Bildung sowie im Gesundheits- und Sozialwesen beschäftigt sind, haben ebenfalls eine recht hohe Quote an Mehrfachbeschäftigungen.

Insbesondere in diesen Branchen gibt es mehr Möglichkeiten für zusätzliche Arbeit in derselben Branche. Zum Beispiel können Lehrer möglicherweise außerhalb der Schulstunden privat unterrichten, und Kinderbetreuer (die in der Gesundheits- und Sozialhilfebranche tätig sind) können eine informelle Kinderbetreuung außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten des Kinderbetreuungszentrums anbieten.

Angestellte in der Gemeinde und im persönlichen Dienst, gefolgt von Fachleuten, haben eine relativ hohe Quote an Mehrfachbeschäftigungen. Manager, Maschinenbediener und Fahrer sowie Techniker und Handwerker haben relativ geringe Mehrfachbeschäftigungsquoten. Diese Unterschiede spiegeln sowohl die Teilzeitbeschäftigungsquoten als auch die Möglichkeiten für zusätzliche Arbeit außerhalb des Hauptberufs wider.

Die HILDA-Daten zeigen ferner, dass das Halten mehrerer Jobs in der Regel keine langfristige Vereinbarung ist. Durchschnittlich über 50% der Mehrfachstelleninhaber in einem Jahr haben im folgenden Jahr nicht mehr als eine Stelle inne. Ob dies auch dann der Fall sein wird, wenn die derzeit hohe Unterbeschäftigung anhält, bleibt abzuwarten.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Roger Wilkins, Professor für Forschung und stellvertretender Direktor (Forschung), HILDA-Umfrage, Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research, University of Melbourne

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

books_inequality

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Who Holds More Than One Job To Make Ends Meet?


Approximately 15% of employed people whose main job is in arts or recreation services industries have more than one job. www.shutterstock.com

Women who work in the arts or services industries, and who are young, are the ones most likely to be working more than one job in Australia.

HILDA Survey data show that, in recent years, approximately 7% to 8% of employed people hold more than one job. And while this hasn’t been growing, the proportion of people using multiple jobs as a way of achieving full-time employment has been rising. This is when a worker combines two or more part-time jobs that add up to 35 or more hours per week.

Overall, the HILDA Survey data suggests there are two broad groups of multiple job holders. The first group is made up of those who supplement their full-time employment with a relatively small number of additional hours of employment, perhaps doing the same kind of work as their main job - such as private tutoring done by teachers and informal child care provided by child care workers.

The second group comprises those working part-time in their main job and using multiple jobs as a means to getting enough hours of work. For these people, it may be more likely that their second job is a different type of work to their main job.

This second group has grown in size since the global financial crisis, rising from approximately 54% of multiple job holders in 2008 to approximately 62% in 2015. Associated with this has been growth in people using multiple jobs as a route to full-time employment. In 2014 and 2015, approximately one in four multiple job holders were part-time in each of their jobs, but full-time in all jobs combined. This was up from approximately one in six multiple job holders in the mid-2000s.

This growth is likely to be strongly connected to the rise in underemployment - part-time employed people who want more hours of work - that has occurred since the global financial crisis.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


When an increasing number of people can’t find a full-time job (or a part-time job with sufficient hours), it’s unsurprising that there is a rise in part-time employed people taking second jobs, as a solution to insufficient hours.

Women holding more than one job

It’s women who are more likely to hold more than one job. This is likely to be connected to the higher proportion of women than men who are employed part-time, since multiple job-holding is more common among part-time workers.

There are also substantial differences by age group. Employed people aged 15-24 are the most likely to hold multiple jobs, and employed people aged 65 and over are the least likely to hold multiple jobs. Women aged 45-54 are also relatively likely to have multiple jobs.

The differences by age group in part reflect the prevalence of part-time employment in each age group. People aged 15-24 are particularly likely to be employed part-time.

However, other factors are also likely to play a role. For example, a significant proportion of women aged 45-54 could be seeking to increase their hours of work as their children get older, and for some this will involve taking on a second job.

The types of work where more than one job is common

There may be some truth to the stereotype of the underemployed actor working as a waiter. Approximately 15% of employed people whose main job is in arts or recreation services industries have more than one job. People employed in education and training and health care and social assistance industries also have quite high rates of multiple job holding.

In these industries in particular, there are more opportunities for extra work in the same industry. For example, teachers may be able to privately tutor outside of school hours, and child care workers (who are in the health care and social assistance industry) can provide informal child care outside of child care centre operating hours.

Community and personal service workers, followed by professionals, have relatively high rates of multiple job holding. Managers, machinery operators and drivers and technicians and trades workers have relatively low rates of multiple job holding. These differences also reflect both rates of part-time employment and opportunities for supplemental work outside the main job.

The HILDA data further show that multiple job holding is typically not a long-term arrangement. On average, over 50% of multiple job holders in one year no longer hold more than one job in the following year. Whether this will continue to be the case if current high levels of underemployment persist remains to be seen.The Conversation

About The Author

Roger Wilkins, Professorial Research Fellow and Deputy Director (Research), HILDA Survey, Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research, University of Melbourne

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…