لماذا نصف أكثر من 55s مفتوحة لتقليص حجمها وما هي العقبات

نصف أكثر من 55S مفتوحة لتقليص حجمها karenfoleyphotography / شترستوك

أكثر من نصف الأستراليين فوق سن 55 مفتوحة للتقليص ، وفقا ل تقرير جديد بناءً على دراسة استقصائية شملت 2,400 أسرة. العائق الرئيسي أمام الانتقال إلى منزل أصغر هو الافتقار إلى السكن الذي يلبي احتياجاتهم وتفضيلاتهم. يضيف النمو السريع في عدد كبار السن الأستراليين إلى التحدي الكبير الذي تواجهه أسواق الإسكان في تلبية احتياجاتهم السكنية المتنوعة.

تقليص حجم ، أو إضفاء الطابع الشخصي ، يعتبر عنصرا أساسيا في تلبية تطلعات الإسكان من كبار السن الأستراليين. في الوقت نفسه ، يعمل تقليص حجم المنازل على توفير فرص إسكان للأسر الشابة عن طريق تحرير المنازل العائلية.

يخلق السكان المسنون أيضًا تحديات مالية للحكومة ، من حيث تقديم الخدمات إلى المنزل وتوفير الرعاية السكنية. يمكن أن يقلل حجم الأستراليين كبار السن من العمر جيدًا والعمر في مكانهم بدلاً من الانتقال قبل الأوان إلى رعاية منزلية.

إن تقرير صدر اليوم من قبل المعهد الأسترالي لبحوث الإسكان والحضر (AHURI) ، والذي تم مسح 2,400 أسرة له أكثر من 55 عامًا ، وجد أن 26٪ من هذه الأسر قد تم تقليص حجمها. ثالث آخر قد فكر في ذلك. بشكل عام ، تشير النتائج إلى وجود رغبة قوية لدى كبار السن الأستراليين لتقليص مساكنهم.

مع تقريبا 6.5 مليون أسترالي تتراوح أعمارهم بين 55 عامًا أو أكبر، الذين يعيشون في حوالي 4.3 مليون أسرة، تشير نتائجنا إلى أن تقليص حجمها قد يكون ذا صلة بـ 2.5 مليون أسرة.

لماذا تقليص حجمها؟ وما هي العقبات؟

نحن نعلم أن الأستراليين الأكبر سناً يتقلصون استجابةً لأحداث الحياة مثل التغييرات في الحالة الصحية والعلاقة ، أو الأطفال الذين يغادرون منزل الوالدين. تفضيلات نمط الحياة وصعوبات الحفاظ على الحديقة أو المنزل أيضا تشكيل سلوك تقليص حجم.

العوائق التي تحول دون تقليص حجم السكن تشمل عدم وجود سكن مناسب نقص الحوافز المالية. هناك أيضا حواجز عاطفية وجسدية أمام التحرك. العوامل المالية ، ومع ذلك ، لا تؤثر بشكل كبير على قرار التحرك ، ولا زيادة الرفاه المالي بمجرد تقليص حجمها.


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


عندما كان أولئك الذين تم تقليص حجمهم غير راضين ، كان هذا أكثر شيوعًا فيما يتعلق بالمسكن الجديد ، خاصة حجمه والحي.

هل هو في الواقع تقليص حجمها؟

واحدة من مبررات السياسة لتقليص حجم هو الحد من قلة استخدام المساكن. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذا يتعارض مع موقف العديد من كبار السن الأستراليين. يعتبرون غرف النوم "الاحتياطية" ضرورية لاستخدامها كغرف ضيوف دائمة (58٪) أو دراسات (50٪) أو غرف مخصصة للأطفال أو الأحفاد (31٪).

لا يزال الفضاء مهمًا لتقليص عدد الأستراليين. ينتقل أكثر من نصفهم إلى مسكن يضم ثلاث غرف نوم أو أكثر. خطوة ثالثة إلى شقة.

ومع ذلك ، فإن ثلثي المصغرين الذين شملهم الاستطلاع انتقلوا إلى مسكن مع عدد أقل من غرف النوم. كانت ثلاث غرف نوم هي المسكن المفضل لكبار السن في أستراليا. تقليص حجم الحديقة كان من الضروري بالنسبة لمعظم.

نصف أكثر من 55S مفتوحة لتقليص حجمها نصف أكثر من 55S مفتوحة لتقليص حجمها مؤلف المنصوص

يطمح الأستراليون المسنون إلى الحصول على ملكية المنزل أو الاحتفاظ بها. حيهم المفضل لديه خدمات التسوق والطبية والترفيهية والعامة كلها على مسافة قريبة.

Downsizers تظهر المحمول. بينما أقل من ربع حجمه داخل حيهم الأصلي ، انتقل 42 ٪ إلى حي جديد تماما لهم.

قد يفسر الاستقصاء المتعلق بعدم وجود خيارات مناسبة للسكن المطابق لتفضيلات المُقلّص المحتمل سبب قلة عدد هؤلاء الذين تمكنوا من تقليص حجمهم في حيهم الأصلي.

تقديم ما يريده كبار السن الأستراليين

إذا لم يكن لدى السوق المحلية خيارات كافية متاحة لتلبية احتياجات الأسر الأكبر سنا ، فمن الصعب للغاية تقليص حجمها داخل مجتمع قائم. يمكن أن يكون الانتقال إلى موقع آخر مرغوب فيه مشكلة.

إن تلبية احتياجات كبار السن الأستراليين تعني عمومًا زيادة في المساكن متوسطة الكثافة. من المحتمل أن يحتاج المطورون إلى حوافز لإنتاج هذه المنتجات متوسطة الكثافة بدلاً من التطوير عالي الكثافة الذي يحتمل أن يكون أكثر ربحية - على الرغم من وجود سوق تقليص حجم الشقق ذات الموقع الجيد.

نصف أكثر من 55S مفتوحة لتقليص حجمها يريد معظم المصغرين الحفاظ على حديقة أقل ، لكنهم ما زالوا يريدون منزلاً من ثلاث غرف نوم. بن روماليس / شترستوك

بدأت صناعة التقاعد الاستجابة لتطلعات كبار السن الأستراليين. تعمل على تطوير مساكن أكبر وتقدم مجموعة متزايدة من الخيارات ، من الراقية إلى بأسعار معقولة - وكلها يمكن الوصول إليها ومناسبة للشيخوخة في المكان.

قد يرغب الأستراليون كبار السن الأثرياء في الأسهم في بناء مسكن جديد لتقليص حجمه. لكنهم غالبًا ما يكونون غير قادرين على الاقتراض من أجل ذلك ما لم يكن لديهم رأس مال كبير متاح.

لدعم هذا الطريق ، يمكن إنشاء نماذج جديدة لتمويل التنمية للسماح لكبار السن من الأستراليين بالتطوير دون الحاجة أولاً إلى بيع المنزل الرئيسي. هذا التحول من شأنه أن يتيح المزيد من أشكال التعاون التعاونية ، مثل مجموعة من الأفراد مثل التفكير النامية موقع كسكن لمجتمع صغير.

لأولئك المستأجرين من القطاع الخاص المعرضين للخطر الانتقال إلى التقاعد ، وأكثر أمنا السكن الإيجار من خلال قطاع الإسكان الاجتماعي وتسليمها من القطاع الخاص أمر ضروري. قطاع الإسكان المجتمعي له دور رئيسي يلعبه.

أين بعد ذلك؟

يجب أن يتحول المشهد السكني الأسترالي إلى نموذج للتنوع في المسكن مع حيازة آمنة - الملكية والتأجير - في الأحياء حيث يمكن للمقيمين المشي بسهولة إلى الخدمات الأسبوعية ومرافق الترفيه والمشاركة اجتماعيا والاقتراب من خيارات النقل العام.

التصميم مهم بنفس القدر. الاستراليين بحاجة مساكن قابلة للتكيف يمكن أن تتغير لتلبية الاحتياجات السكنية.

سوف يوفر مثل هذا المشهد خيارات تقليص فعالة يمكن للعائلات فيها التقدم في السن في الأماكن التي تلبي احتياجاتها وتطلعاتها على أفضل نحو.

عن المؤلفين

اميتي جيمس ، محاضر أول في كلية الاقتصاد والمالية والملكية ، جامعة كيرتن. ستيفن رولي ، مدير المدرسة ، الاقتصاد ، المالية والملكية ، جامعة كورتين. مدير المعهد الأسترالي لبحوث الإسكان والحضر ، مركز أبحاث كيرتن ، جامعة كيرتنوويندي ستون ، أستاذ مشارك ، مركز التحولات الحضرية ومديرة المعهد الأسترالي لبحوث الإسكان والحضر ، مركز أبحاث سوينبرن ، جامعة سوينبرن للتكنولوجيا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

أخذ الجانبين الطبيعة لا تختر الجانب! يعامل الجميع على قدم المساواة
by ماري رسل
الطبيعة لا تنحاز إلى أحد الجوانب: فهي ببساطة تمنح كل نبات فرصة عادلة للحياة. تشرق الشمس على الجميع بغض النظر عن حجمهم أو عرقهم أو لغتهم أو آرائهم. لا يمكننا أن نفعل نفس الشيء؟ ننسى قديمنا ...
كل ما نقوم به هو خيار: أن تكون على دراية بخياراتنا
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في ذلك اليوم ، كنت أعطي نفسي "حديثًا جيدًا إلى" ... وأقول لنفسي أنني بحاجة حقًا إلى ممارسة الرياضة بانتظام ، وتناول الطعام بشكل أفضل ، والاعتناء بنفسي بشكل أفضل ... تحصل على الصورة. لقد كان أحد تلك الأيام عندما ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: 17 يناير 2021
by InnerSelf الموظفين
هذا الأسبوع ، ينصب تركيزنا على "المنظور" أو كيف نرى أنفسنا ، والأشخاص من حولنا ، ومحيطنا ، وواقعنا. كما هو موضح في الصورة أعلاه ، فإن الشيء الذي يبدو ضخمًا بالنسبة للخنفساء ، يمكنه ...
جدل مختلق - "نحن" ضد "هم"
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
عندما يتوقف الناس عن القتال ويبدأون في الاستماع ، يحدث شيء مضحك. يدركون أن لديهم الكثير من القواسم المشتركة أكثر مما اعتقدوا.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: 10 يناير 2021
by InnerSelf الموظفين
في هذا الأسبوع ، بينما نواصل رحلتنا إلى ما كان - حتى الآن - عام 2021 صاخبًا ، نركز على ضبط أنفسنا وتعلم سماع الرسائل البديهية ، حتى نعيش الحياة التي ...

Why Half of Over-55s Are Open To Downsizing and What Are The Obstacles

Half Of Over-55s Are Open To Downsizing karenfoleyphotography/Shutterstock

More than half of Australians over the age of 55 are open to downsizing, according to a new report based on a survey of 2,400 households. The main barrier to moving to a smaller home is a lack of housing that matches their needs and preferences. The rapid growth in the number of older Australians adds to the major challenge housing markets face in meeting their diverse housing needs.

Downsizing, or rightsizing, is considered an essential component of meeting the housing aspirations of older Australians. At the same time, downsizing creates housing opportunities for younger households by freeing up family homes.

The ageing population also creates fiscal challenges for government, in terms of delivering services to the home and providing residential care. Downsizing can enable older Australians to age well and age in place rather than potentially move prematurely into residential care.

The report released today by the Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute (AHURI), for which 2,400 households over 55 were surveyed, found 26% of such households had downsized. Another third had thought about it. Overall, the findings point to a strong appetite among older Australians to downsize their dwellings.

With about 6.5 million Australians aged 55 or older, living in about 4.3 million households, our findings suggest downsizing could be relevant to 2.5 million households.

Why downsize? And what are the obstacles?

We know older Australians downsize in response to life events such as changes in health and relationship status, or children leaving the parental home. Lifestyle preferences and difficulties maintaining their garden or house also shape downsizing behaviour.

Barriers to downsizing include a lack of suitable housing and a lack of financial incentives. There are also emotional and physical barriers to moving. Financial factors, however, do not greatly impact the decision to move, nor does perceived financial well-being increase once they have downsized.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Where those who had downsized were dissatisfied, this was most commonly related to the new dwelling, particularly its size, and the neighbourhood.

Is it actually downsizing?

One of the policy rationales for downsizing is to reduce the underutilisation of dwellings. However, this is at odds with the attitude of many older Australians. They consider “spare” bedrooms necessary for use as permanent guest rooms (58%), studies (50%), or dedicated rooms for children or grandchildren (31%).

Space remains important to Australian downsizers. Over half of them move to a dwelling with three or more bedrooms. A third move to an apartment.

However, two-thirds of downsizers surveyed did move to a dwelling with fewer bedrooms. Three bedrooms was the preferred dwelling size for older Australians. Downsizing the garden was essential for most.

Half Of Over-55s Are Open To Downsizing Half Of Over-55s Are Open To Downsizing Author provided

Older Australians aspire to attain or retain home ownership. Their preferred neighbourhood has shopping, medical, recreational and public transport services all within walking distance.

Downsizers appear mobile. While under a quarter downsized within their original neighbourhood, 42% moved to a neighbourhood completely new to them.

The survey finding of a lack of suitable housing options matching would-be downsizers’ preferences may explain why so few were able to downsize in their original neighbourhood.

Delivering what older Australians want

If the local market does not have enough options available to meet the needs of older households, it is very difficult to downsize within an existing community. Moving to another desired location can also be problematic.

Meeting the needs of older Australians generally means an increase in medium-density housing. Developers are likely to require incentives to produce these medium-density products rather than potentially more profitable high-density development – although there is, of course, a downsizing market for well-located apartments.

Half Of Over-55s Are Open To Downsizing Most downsizers want less garden to maintain, but still want a three-bedroom home. Ben Romalis/Shutterstock

The retirement industry has begun responding to the aspirations of older Australians. It is developing larger dwellings and offering a growing range of options, from high-end to affordable — all of which are accessible and suitable for ageing in place.

Equity-rich older Australians may wish to build a new dwelling in which to downsize. But they are often unable to borrow for this unless they have considerable capital available.

To support this avenue, new development finance models could be created to allow older Australians to develop without first having to sell the primary home. This shift would allow more collaborative forms of development, such as a group of like-minded individuals developing a site as housing for a small community.

For those vulnerable private renters moving into retirement, more secure rental accommodation through the social housing sector and delivered privately is essential. The community housing sector has a key role to play.

Where next?

The Australian housing landscape must shift towards a model of dwelling diversity with secure tenures – ownership and rental – in neighbourhoods where residents can walk easily to weekly services and recreation facilities, participate socially and be close to public transport options.

Design is equally important. Australians need adaptable dwellings that can change to meet housing needs.

Such a landscape will provide effective downsizing options in which households can age well in the places that best meet their needs and aspirations.

About The Authors

Amity James, Senior Lecturer, School of Economics, Finance and Property, Curtin University; Steven Rowley, Head of School, Economics, Finance and Property, Curtin University. Director, Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute, Curtin Research Centre, Curtin University, and Wendy Stone, Associate Professor, Centre for Urban Transitions and Director, Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute Swinburne Research Centre, Swinburne University of Technology

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

3 Posture Correction Methods For Too Much Screen Time
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In the 21st century, we all spend a ot of time in front of a screen... whether at home, at work, or even at play. What this often does is cause a distortion of our posture that then leads to problems…
What Works For Me: Asking Why
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
For me, learning often comes from understanding "why". Why things are the way they are, why things happen, why people are the way they are, why I act the way I do, why other people act the way they…
The Physicist and The Inner Self
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I just read a wonderful article by Alan Lightman, a writer and physicist who teaches at MIT. Alan is the author of "In Praise of Wasting Time". I find it inspiring to find scientists and physicists…
The Hand Washing Song
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
We all heard it many times in the past few weeks... wash your hands for at least 20 seconds. OK, one and two and three... For those of us who are timing-challenged, or perhaps slightly ADD, we've…
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.