من المتوقع أن تصل الأعاصير في فلورنسا إلى المنازل التي تكلف الحكومة بالفعل الملايين

من المتوقع أن تصل الأعاصير في فلورنسا إلى المنازل التي تكلف الحكومة بالفعل الملايين

على الرغم من توقع حدوث الفيضانات الناجمة عن إعصار فلورنسا بشكل غير مسبوق ، إلا أن سكان بلدات نورث كارولينا الساحلية المهددة بفعل اندفاع العاصفة يعلمون ما يشبه أخذ المياه. وقد تعرضت بعض المنازل في هذه المناطق للفيضان بشكل متكرر - وكثيراً ما تم إنقاذها بواسطة التأمين الفيضان الفيدرالي.

فحصت ProPublica تنبؤات ارتفاع العاصفة من قبل المركز الوطني للأعاصير ، ووضع خريطة للمناطق التي من المتوقع أن تتأثر بفلورنسا على خريطة أكثر المناطق المعرضة للفيضانات والتي تتبعها وكالة إدارة الطوارئ الفيدرالية ، والتي توفر معظم التأمين ضد الفيضانات لمالكي المنازل في الولايات المتحدة. .

لطالما جادل النقاد بأن البرنامج يدعم التطوير المحفوف بالمخاطر ، لكن الجهود الرامية إلى الإصلاح تتعطل حتما لأن زيادة العلاوات من شأنها أن تجعل التأمين ضد الفيضانات لا يمكن تحمله بالنسبة للمقيمين ذوي الدخل المنخفض. مطلوب التأمين لقروض الرهن العقاري المدعومة من الحكومة الاتحادية في المناطق المعرضة للفيضانات. البرنامج أكثر من $ 20 مليار من الديون.

بالنظر إلى بعض المدن ، من السهل معرفة السبب.

وتشمل المناطق عالية المخاطر مجتمعات على طول نهر Pamlico وشاطئ North Topsail ، الذي يقع على جزيرة حاجزة بالقرب من Wilmington. حصلت المنازل هناك على العديد من دفعات الفيضانات من البرنامج الوطني للتأمين ضد الفيضانات التابع لـ FEMA والذي يعود إلى 1978. تلقت منشأة واحدة في North Topsail Beach تسع دفعات منفصلة ، بإجمالي $ 77,000 ، على الرغم من أن المبنى لا يستحق سوى $ 37,125. تلقى شخص آخر في شاطئ توبسيل القريب دفعات 10 بقيمة $ 467,000. يستحق هذا المبنى $ 300,000.

تضع FEMA مبانٍ كهذه - بما في ذلك 1,132 عبر ولاية كارولينا الشمالية - على قائمة خاصة تسمى "خسائر متكررة وخيمة" لأنها تم إغراقها وإعادة بناءها مرة أخرى مع تأمين FEMA الفيضان. حققت الخصائص المؤهلة لهذه القائمة ما لا يقل عن أربع مطالبات أكثر من $ 5,000 لكل 1978 ، أو مطالبتان بقيمة مجمعة تساوي أكثر من المبنى نفسه. هناك أكثر من 35,000 مثل هذه الخصائص على الصعيد الوطني.

بشكل جماعي ، تبلغ قيمة المباني في ولاية كارولينا الشمالية ما لا يقل عن $ 280 مليون ، وتلقوا $ 164 مليونًا ، وفقًا لبيانات FEMA التي قدمها مجلس الدفاع عن الموارد الطبيعية ، وهي مجموعة للدفاع البيئي. ومن المؤكد أن هذه القائمة ستنمو بعد إعصار فلورنسا ، مما سيضع ضغوطا إضافية على برنامج يعاني من الديون يقول الخبراء إنه في حاجة ماسة للإصلاح.

المناطق التي تواجه أسوأ تأثير من إعصار فلورنسا هي من بين أكثر المناطق ضعفا في البلاد عندما يتعلق الأمر بارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر. أجزاء من شمال توبسيل بيتش ، على سبيل المثال ، تتآكل في 5 قدم في السنة. واختتم فريق من العلماء يوم الأربعاء ذلك تغير المناخ أدى إلى زيادة العاصفة - زيادة هطول الأمطار المتوقعة بنسبة تقريبًا 50 في المائة وحجمها بمقدار 50 من الأميال.

وقال روب مور ، وهو محلل سياسي بارز في مجلس الدفاع عن الموارد الطبيعية ، إن هذه المنازل "أمثلة مثالية لما سنراه مع استمرار ارتفاع مستويات البحار".

ولاية كارولينا الشمالية لديها تاريخ صخري من مواجهة ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر. في 2012 ، بعد أن تنبأ المستشارون العلميون للدولة بمستوى 39 بوصة من ارتفاع منسوب مياه البحر خلال القرن القادم ، تمرير القانون فقال إن ولاية كارولينا الشمالية لن تبني سوى سياسات على الدراسات التي تستخدم البيانات التاريخية حصرا ، وتحظر بشكل فعال علوم المناخ. تراجع الحاكم الحالي ، وكارولينا الشمالية لديها انضم إلى جهد متعدد المراحل للتصدي لتغير المناخ.

وقال مور إنه يتعين على الحكومة تمويل المزيد من عمليات الاستحواذ على العقارات من أجل إزالة المنازل بشكل دائم من المناطق الخطرة. على الصعيد الوطني ، فإن غالبية المنازل المدرجة في القائمة تنتمي إلى المقيمين ذوي الدخل المنخفض والطبقة الوسطى ، وبما أن عمليات الاستحواذ تستغرق في الغالب سنوات للتنفيذ ، فإن معظم مالكي المنازل لا يستطيعون الانتظار ويضطرون إلى استخدام مطالبات التأمين لإعادة البناء. في نفس المكان.

وسيستمر الإعصار البطيء في التحرك نحو كاروليناس خلال عطلة نهاية الأسبوع.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على ProPublica

نبذة عن الكاتب

تقارير ليزا سونغ حول البيئة والطاقة وتغير المناخ. انضمت إلى ProPublica في 2017 بعد ست سنوات في InsideClimate News ، حيث غطت علوم المناخ والصحة البيئية.

Al Shaw هو مطور لتطبيقات الأخبار في ProPublica. مصمم أجزاء متساوية ، مطور ومراسل ، يستخدم البيانات والرسومات التفاعلية لتغطية القضايا البيئية والكوارث الطبيعية والسياسة.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = التأمين الفيدرالي ضد الفيضانات ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Hurricane Florence’s Surge Is Expected to Hit Homes That Already Cost the Government Millions

environment

Hurricane Florence’s Surge Is Expected to Hit Homes That Already Cost the Government Millions

Though the flooding from Hurricane Florence is predicted to be unprecedented, residents of the coastal North Carolina towns threatened by the storm surge know what it’s like to take on water. Some homes in these areas have been repeatedly flooded — and repeatedly bailed out by federal flood insurance.

ProPublica examined storm surge predictions by the National Hurricane Center, layering a map of areas expected to be affected by Florence over a map of the most flood-prone properties tracked by the Federal Emergency Management Agency, which provides most of the flood insurance for U.S. homeowners.

Critics have long argued that the program subsidizes risky development, but efforts at reform inevitably stall because raising premiums would make flood insurance unaffordable for lower-income residents. The insurance is required for federally backed mortgages of homes in flood-prone areas. The program is more than $20 billion in debt.

Looking at some of the towns, it’s easy to see why.

High-risk areas include communities along the Pamlico River and North Topsail Beach, which is on a barrier island near Wilmington. Homes there have gotten multiple flood payouts from FEMA’s National Flood Insurance Program going back as far as 1978. One property in North Topsail Beach has received nine separate payments, totaling $77,000, though the building is worth just $37,125. Another in nearby Topsail Beach has received 10 payments worth $467,000. That building is worth $300,000.

FEMA places buildings like these — including 1,132 across North Carolina — on a special list called “severe repetitive loss” structures because they’ve been flooded and rebuilt again and again with FEMA flood insurance. Properties that qualify for the list have made at least four claims of more than $5,000 each since 1978, or two claims with a combined value that’s worth more than the building itself. There are more than 35,000 such properties nationwide.

Collectively, the buildings in North Carolina are worth at least $280 million, and they’ve received $164 million in payments, according to FEMA data provided by the Natural Resources Defense Council, an environmental advocacy group. The list undoubtedly will grow after Hurricane Florence, placing additional strain on a debt-ridden program that experts say is in desperate need of reform.

The areas facing the worst impact from Hurricane Florence are among the most vulnerable in the country when it comes to sea-level rise; parts of North Topsail Beach, for instance, are eroding at 5 feet per year. And a team of scientists concluded on Wednesday that climate change had supercharged the storm — increasing its projected rainfall by roughly 50 percent and its size by 50 miles.

Rob Moore, a senior policy analyst at the Natural Resources Defense Council, said these homes are “perfect examples of what we’ll see as sea levels continue to rise.”

North Carolina has a rocky history of confronting sea-level rise. In 2012, after scientific advisers for the state predicted up to 39 inches of rising sea levels over the next century, state legislators passed a law saying North Carolina would only base policies on studies that exclusively used historical data, effectively outlawing climate science. The current governor has backtracked, and North Carolina has joined a multistate effort to tackle climate change.

Moore said the government should fund more property buyouts to permanently remove homes from risky areas. Nationwide, a majority of the homes on the list belong to low-income and middle-class residents, he said, and since buyouts often take years to process, most homeowners can’t afford to wait and are forced to use insurance claims to rebuild in the same place.

The slow-moving hurricane will linger over the Carolinas through the weekend.

This article originally appeared on ProPublica

About The Author

Lisa Song reports on the environment, energy and climate change. She joined ProPublica in 2017 after six years at InsideClimate News, where she covered climate science and environmental health.

Al Shaw is a news applications developer at ProPublica. Equal parts designer, developer and reporter, he uses data and interactive graphics to cover environmental issues, natural disasters and politics.

Related Books

Answers to Questions About the National Flood Insurance Program (FEMA F-084 / March 2011)
environmentAuthor: Federal Emergency Management Agency
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

National Flood Insurance Program Adjuster Claims Manual
environmentAuthor: U. S. Department of Homeland Security
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $24.99

Buy Now

Oversight of the Federal flood insurance program hearings before the Subcommittee on Housing and Community Development of the Committee on Banking, ... Congress, first session, September...
environmentAuthor: Finance, and Urban Affairs. Subcommittee on Housing and Community Development., . United States. Congress. House. Committee on Banking
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: University of Michigan Library
List Price: $34.99

Buy Now

environment
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}