لدينا ثروة تواجه مخاطر أكبر بسبب المناخ المتغير

مخاطر الثروة العالمية 4 8مخاطر الثروة العالمية 4 8

هل تريد أن تعرف كم من التغيير المناخي يمكن أن يكلف الاقتصاد العالمي؟ لقد توصل الباحثون في المملكة المتحدة إلى إجابة ، والتي يقدمونها مع بعض المؤهلات المدهشة.

إذا ارتفع متوسط ​​درجة حرارة سطح الأرض بواسطة 2.5 ° C على مستوى ما قبل الصناعة بواسطة 2100 ، كما يقولون ، فإن متوسط ​​2.5 تريليون دولار أمريكي ، أو 1.8٪ ، من الأصول المالية العالمية سيكون عرضة لخطر تغير المناخ .

وجد الباحثون أن الحد من الاحترار إلى 2 ° C في 2100 من شأنه أن يقلل بشكل كبير من "المناخ" القيمة المعرضة للخطر"(VaR) ، الذي يقيس المخاطر على الاستثمارات ، ويقدر مقدار ما قد يخسرونه - نظرا لظروف السوق العادية - في فترة زمنية محددة.

ويضيفون أن متوسط ​​قيمة الأصول المالية العالمية المعرضة للخطر هو 1.7 تريليون دولار ، مع احتمال أن يكون احتمال 13.2 تريليون دولار واحد في خطر.

حالات عدم اليقين التي لا مفر منها

في مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة حول المناخ في باريس في ديسمبر الماضي ، وافقت دول 195 على العمل الحفاظ على ارتفاع درجة الحرارة العالمية هذا القرن أقل بكثير من 2 درجة مئوية، ودفع الجهود للحد من الزيادة إلى أبعد من ذلك ، إلى 1.5 درجة مئوية فقط فوق مستويات ما قبل الصناعة. لذلك يبدو هذا التقدير مطمئنا إلى حد ما.

لكن لنفترض أن العالم يتجاوز هدف باريس وينتهي فوق 2 ° C بنهاية القرن؟ لا يعتبر تقدير القيمة المعرضة للمخاطر بأي حال من الأحوال علمًا دقيقًا ، ووجد الباحثون أن حالات عدم اليقين التي لا مفر منها في محاولة تأسيسها تعني أن متوسط ​​المخاطرة يفشل مرة أخرى في سرد ​​القصة بأكملها.

ويقولون إن هناك فرصة بنسبة 1 في المائة ، في عالم 2.5 ° C أكثر دفئا ، فإن المستوى الإجمالي للأصول المالية العالمية المعرضة للخطر في 2100 قد يصل إلى 24 تريليون دولار ، أو 16.9٪ من الأصول.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ويشير المؤلفون إلى أن هذا الإجمالي يزيد خمس مرات تقريبًا عن تقديرات 5 تريليون دولار لإجمالي القيمة السوقية لأسهم شركات الوقود الأحفوري في سوق الأسهم اليوم.

"نتائجنا قد تفاجئ المستثمرين ،
لكنهم لن يفاجئوا العديد من الاقتصاديين
العمل على تغير المناخ "

الباحثون من معهد أبحاث غرانثام بشأن تغير المناخ والبيئة في كلية لندن للاقتصاد والعلوم السياسية و اقتصاديات حية، نشر النتائج التي توصلوا إليها في طبيعة تغير المناخ المجلة.

يقول المؤلف الرئيسي ، الأستاذ سيمون ديتز: "قد تفاجئ نتائجنا المستثمرين ، لكنهم لن يفاجئوا العديد من الاقتصاديين الذين يعملون في مجال تغير المناخ ، لأن النماذج الاقتصادية على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية كانت تولد تقديرات متشائمة بشكل متزايد آثار الاحترار العالمي على النمو الاقتصادي في المستقبل.

الأصول المالية

"عندما نأخذ في الاعتبار الآثار المالية للجهود المبذولة لخفض الانبعاثات ، ما زلنا نجد أن القيمة المتوقعة للأصول المالية أعلى في عالم يحد من ارتفاع درجة الحرارة إلى 2 ° C. وهذا يعني أن المستثمرين المحايدين للمخاطرة سيختارون خفض الانبعاثات ، كما أن المستثمرين الذين يميلون إلى تجنب المخاطر سوف يكونون أكثر حرصاً على القيام بذلك.

يوضح بحثنا مخاطر تغير المناخ على عوائد الاستثمار على المدى الطويل ويوضح سبب ذلك قضية مهمة لجميع المستثمرين على المدى الطويل، مثل صناديق التقاعد ، فضلا عن المنظمين الماليين. "

من عوامل عدم اليقين في تقدير المناخ ، يقول: "على الرغم من أننا أول من ينتج تقديرًا شاملاً للقيمة المناخية المعرضة للخطر باستخدام نموذج اقتصادي ، فمن المهم أن نتذكر أن هناك الكثير من الشكوك والصعوبات في تنفيذ النمذجة الاقتصادية تغير المناخ ، لذلك ينبغي أن ينظر إلى هذا على أنه الكلمة الأولى في هذا الموضوع ، وليس الأخير. "

- شبكة أخبار المناخ

عن المؤلف

اليكس كيربي هو صحفي بريطانياليكس كيربي صحفي بريطاني متخصص في القضايا البيئية. عمل في مجالات مختلفة في هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) لسنوات 20 تقريبا وتركت بي بي سي في 1998 للعمل كصحفي مستقل. وقال انه يوفر أيضا مهارات إعلامية التدريب للشركات والجامعات والمنظمات غير الحكومية. وهو أيضا حاليا مراسل البيئي ل بي بي سي نيوز أون لاينواستضافت بي بي سي راديو 4"سلسلة بيئة الصورة، تكلف الأرض. يكتب أيضا ل الحارس . شبكة أخبار المناخ. يكتب أيضا عمود منتظم ل بي بي سي الحياة البرية مجلة.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه

Our Wealth Faces A Greater Risk Due To The Changing Climate

global wealth risks 4 8global wealth risks 4 8

Do you want to know how much climate change could cost the global economy? UK-based researchers have come up with an answer, which they present with some surprising qualifications.

If global average surface temperature rises by 2.5°C over its pre-industrial level by 2100, they say, then an average of US$2.5 trillion, or 1.8%, of the world’s financial assets would be at risk from the impacts of climate change.

The researchers found that limiting warming to 2°C in 2100 would significantly reduce the “climate Value at Risk” (VaR), which measures the risk to investments, estimating how much they might lose  given normal market conditions  in a set time period.

The average value of global financial assets at risk would be $1.7 trillion, with a one per cent chance of $13.2 trillion being at risk, they add.

Inevitable uncertainties

At the UN climate conference in Paris last December, 195 countries agreed to work to keep global temperature rise this century well below 2°C, and to drive efforts to limit the increase even further, to only 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels. So this estimate sounds fairly reassuring.

But suppose the world overshoots the Paris target and ends up above 2°C by the end of the century? Estimating VaR is by no means an exact science, and the researchers found that the inevitable uncertainties in trying to establish it mean the average risk fails again to tell the whole story.

They say there is a one per cent chance that, in a world 2.5°C warmer, the total level of global financial assets at risk in 2100 could reach $24 trillion, or 16.9% of assets.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The authors point out that this total is almost five times greater than the estimates of $5 trillion for the total stock market capitalisation of fossil fuel companies today.

“Our results may surprise investors,
but they will not surprise many economists
working on climate change” 

The researchers, from the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment at the London School of Economics and Political Science and Vivid Economics, publish their findings in Nature Climate Change journal.

The lead author, Professor Simon Dietz, says: “Our results may surprise investors, but they will not surprise many economists working on climate change, because economic models have over the past few years been generating increasingly pessimistic estimates of the impacts of global warming on future economic growth. 

Financial assets

“When we take into account the financial impacts of efforts to cut emissions, we still find the expected value of financial assets is higher in a world that limits warming to 2°C. This means risk-neutral investors would choose to cut emissions, and risk-averse investors would be even more keen to do so.

“Our research illustrates the risks of climate change to investment returns in the long run and shows why it should be an important issue for all long-term investors, such as pension funds, as well as financial regulators.” 

Of the uncertainties in estimating the climate VaR, he says: “Although we are the first to produce a comprehensive estimate of the climate Value at Risk using an economic model, it is important to remember there are huge uncertainties and difficulties in performing economic modelling of climate change, so this should be seen as the first word on the topic, not the last.”

– Climate News Network

About the Author

Alex Kirby is a British journalistAlex Kirby is a British journalist specializing in environmental issues. He worked in various capacities at the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) for nearly 20 years and left the BBC in 1998 to work as a freelance journalist. He also provides media skills training to companies, universities and NGOs. He is also currently the environmental correspondent for BBC News Online, and hosted BBC Radio 4's environment series, Costing the Earth. He also writes for The Guardian and Climate News Network. He also writes a regular column for BBC Wildlife magazine.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}