حتى في عصر ترامب ، لماذا يهم الأمر

حتى في عصر ترامب ، فإن الحقائق مهمة

Yقبل آذان ، خلال استراحة صيفية من الكلية ، كنت في مكاتب أحد دعاة المصلحة العامة ، وهو محارب قديم من الكفاح من أجل العدالة الاجتماعية. خسرت مجموعة المصلحة العامة التي عمل فيها من أجل معارك سياسية أكثر مما فازت. سألته كيف ، في وجه كل هذه الهزائم ، حافظ على طاقته لمحاربة القتال الجيد. أتذكر قوله "عليك أن تؤمن بالتزايد".

جاء تعليقه إلى الذهن كما قرأت حتى الآن مطالبة أخرى مضللة من قبل الرئيس ترامب حول سجله في مجال حماية البيئة. والواقع أن ميل الرئيس لمثل هذه التلفيقات يبدو أنه يغذي شغف مؤيديه فقط. على الرغم من أن الأكاذيب قد تكون مفيدة سياسياً ، إلا أن الحقائق والأدلة لا تزال مهمة ، لا سيما عندما يتعلق الأمر بالجرأة الشديدة للسياسة. في الهيئات التنظيمية والمحاكم ، يتطلب القانون دعم الإجراءات بالأدلة. حتى في السياسة ، تراكم تدريجي للأدلة حول السياسات العامة يمكن أن يقلب التوازن للرأي العام.

هذه التغييرات من الصعب التنبؤ مقدماولكن التغيير قادم. وبعد ثلاث سنوات بذلت فيها إدارة ترامب قصارى جهدها للتراجع عن الحماية البيئية ، تتزايد الأدلة العلمية لدعم السياسة البيئية القوية - وبدأت تظهر الثغرات في الحجج المناهضة للمنافسة ضد التنظيم.

أحدث ادعاء كاذب كان الانهيار تأكيد ترامب المتكرر بأن الأنظمة البيئية في عهد أوباما ترقى إلى "الحرب على الفحم". في دراسة نُشر في الخريف الماضي ، قام أساتذة القانون كاري كوجليانيز ودانيال والترز بتحليل ثلاثة لوائح وكالة حماية البيئة الرئيسية وقرارات المحكمة العليا ذات الصلة ، لمعرفة كيفية تفاعل المستثمرين مع الأحداث التنظيمية وغير التنظيمية التي كان لها آثار سلبية على شركات الفحم. ووجدوا أن المستثمرين تفاعلوا مع الأحداث غير التنظيمية ، مثل انخفاض أسعار الغاز الطبيعي ، مما تسبب في انخفاض أسعار أسهم شركات الفحم. لكن الأسواق تجاهلت الإعلانات عن التغييرات التنظيمية ، مثل القواعد التي قيدت استخدام الفحم في محطات الطاقة. بقيت أسعار الأسهم كما هي بدون الإعلان. بعبارة أخرى ، على الرغم مما قد يعتقد ترامب أنه لا يعتقد المستثمرون التنظيم البيئي على أنه حرب على الفحم.

ادعاء الحرب على الفحم هو واحد فقط من العديد من التأكيدات الخادعة التي تم تقديمها لتقويض الحماية البيئية. كما يصف الخصوم التنظيميون بشكل شائع التنظيم بأنه "قتل عمل" ، ويؤكدون أن التنظيم يفرضه 2 تريليون دولار في التكاليف السنوية على الاقتصاد. لكن وقد ثبت العمل التجريبي هذا التنظيم له تأثير ضئيل أو معدوم على العدد الإجمالي للوظائف في الولايات المتحدة ويمكنه في الواقع تحفيز نمو الوظائف حيث تنفق الشركات الأموال على الامتثال. وبالمثل ، تم كشف النقاب عن الرقم 2 تريليون دولار ، الذي روجت له الرابطة الوطنية للمصنعين على أنه التكلفة الإجمالية للوائح. كما كتب ريتشارد باركر أستاذ القانون في جامعة كونيتيكت في ورقة الزوار، لم يتم نشر الدراستين وراء المطالبة في المجلات الأكاديمية ، ورفض مؤلفو إحدى الدراسات الكشف عن مصدر بياناتهم ، ويستخدم مؤلف الدراسة الأخرى بيانات لم يتم التحقق منها. باستخدام نفس المنهجية الزائفة من إحدى الدراسات ، على سبيل المثال ، تمكن باركر من صنع ادعاءات خيالية مماثلة ، مثل أن ندرة الثقة في المسؤولين المنتخبين تكلف 1.9 تريليون دولار أمريكي سنويًا.

بالرغم ان إنها صعبة لقياس الفوائد الاقتصادية للحد من المخاطر على الناس والبيئة ، دراسات حكومية تظهر باستمرار أن معظم اللوائح تفيد الجمهور بشكل كبير بتكلفة معقولة للصناعة. ومع ذلك ، فقد تم تكرار الرقم 2 تريليون دولار والمطالبات الأخرى المنحلة من قبل الرئيس وغيرهم من السياسيين المناهضين للتنظيم. السيناتور الأمريكي السابق والمستشار الرئاسي صرح دانيال باتريك موينيهان ذات مرة أن "لكل شخص الحق في رأيه ، ولكن ليس للحقائق الخاصة به." ولكن يبدو أن الكثير من الناخبين يفضلون "حقائق بديلة. " لماذا هذا؟

A مجموعة كبيرة من البحوث العلمية والنفسية يقترح أن أدمغتنا مجدية لمعالجة المعلومات بطرق يمكن أن تضللنا إلى معتقدات خاطئة تتعلق بقضايا مثل تغير المناخ. نميل ، على سبيل المثال ، إلى قبول المعلومات التي تتوافق مع معتقداتنا الحالية ورفض أو مقاومة الحقائق التي لا تفعل ذلك ، وهي مغالطة تعرف باسم تأكيد التحيز. نميل أيضًا إلى اتخاذ قراراتنا بناءً على المعلومات المتاحة لنا بسهولة أكبر. إذا كنت تشاهد فقط Fox News أو MSNBC ، فإن رؤيتك للعالم تخضع لما يسمى تحيز التوفر.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لكن بحث من قبل علماء السياسة كيفين أرسينو وريان جيه. فاندر ويلين يشير إلى أن بعض الأشخاص لديهم دوافع أيضًا للتحقق من دوافعهم الأولية حول القضايا السياسية مع التفكير العقلاني ، مما يجعلهم أقل عرضة للتأثر بالتأكيد والتحيز المتاح. على الرغم من أننا لا نفهم تمامًا مصادر هذا الدافع ، إلا أن أحد التفسيرات هو أنه عندما يكون الأشخاص مهتمين بشدة بقضية سياسية ولديهم معلومات عنها ، فإنهم يبحثون عن معلومات إضافية ويقيمونها لتقييم عقلاني. هذا الاتجاه يمكن أن يقودهم إلى تبديل تصويتهم من حزب إلى آخر إذا كان للأحزاب مواقف واضحة ومعارضة تمامًا. حتى لو لم يكن معظم الأمريكيين منفتحين ، فإن الديمقراطية لا تتطلب من الجميع أن يكونوا ناخبين عقلانيين. يمكن للناخبين المدروسين تقديم فرق حاسم في نتائج الانتخابات.

تشير المنحة الدراسية أيضًا أن مواقف الأمريكيين من التنظيم تصبح أكثر تفضيلاً حيث يصبح من الواضح أكثر أن البلاد تواجه مشاكل لا يمكن لغير الحكومة معالجتها. مع فشل الأسواق وتزايد المشاكل البيئية أو الاجتماعية أو الاقتصادية ، رد فعل الناخبين من خلال انتخاب المسؤولين الذين يعدون بتفعيل الحكومة لتلبية احتياجات الأمة. عندما تحدق بنا الحقيقة في وجهنا ، يرفض الكثير منا الرسائل المعادية للتنظيم.

هذا أحد أسباب تغير المناخ مشكلة سياسية صعبة: آثاره طويلة المدى وتميل إلى أن تكون أقل وضوحا. لدينا الآن عواصف أقوى وصيف أكثر حرارة ، وبينما كنت أكتب هذه القطعة كانت أستراليا مشتعلة. لكن لا يدرك الجميع أن هذه الأحداث مرتبطة بتغير المناخ.

ما يزال، هناك مؤشرات على أن الناخبين بدأوا ببطء في فهم الخطر الوجودي الذي يشكله تغير المناخ لبلدنا. هناك دلائل على أننا نتغلب على تحيزاتنا ، وغرائزنا ، ورسائل المصالح المناهضة للتنظيم. هناك دلائل على أن ديمقراطيتنا ستتغلب في نهاية المطاف على خللها. المدافع عن المنفعة العامة ، أستطيع أن أرى الآن أني ممزق ، كان على حق: معركة الحقيقة والعمل يمكن أن تكون شاقة ، يتم كسبها بزيادات في كل مرة. لكن الحقائق تكسب في النهاية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

سيدني شابيرو هو كرسي فليتشر في القانون الإداري في جامعة ويك فورست ، وعضو في مركز الإصلاح التدريجي.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل Undark. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب_الديمقراطية

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

Even in the Age of Trump, Why Facts Matter

Even in the Age of Trump, Facts Matter

Years ago, during a summer break from college, I was in the offices of a public interest advocate, a grizzled veteran of the fight for social justice. The public interest group he worked for lost more political battles than it won. I asked him how, in the face of all those defeats, he kept up the energy to fight the good fight. “You have to believe in incrementalism,” I recall him saying.

His comment came to mind as I read yet another misleading claim by President Trump about his environmental protection record. Indeed, the president’s penchant for such fabrications seems only to fuel the passion of his supporters. Politically expedient though lies may be, however, facts and evidence still matter, particularly when it comes to the nitty gritty of policy. In regulatory agencies and the courts, law requires that actions be backed up by evidence. Even in politics, the gradual accumulation of evidence about public policies can tip the balance of public opinion.

Such changes are difficult to predict in advance, but change does come. And after three years in which the Trump administration has done its best to roll back environmental protections, the scholarly evidence is mounting in support of strong environmental policy — and the cracks in opponents' anti-regulatory arguments are beginning to show.

The latest false claim to collapse was Trump’s oft-repeated assertion that Obama-era environmental regulations amounted to a “war on coal.” In a study published last fall, law professors Cary Coglianese and Daniel Walters analyzed three major Environmental Protection Agency regulations and related Supreme Court decisions, to see how investors reacted to both regulatory and nonregulatory events that had adverse implications for coal companies. They found that investors reacted to nonregulatory events, such as a drop in natural gas prices, causing stock prices of coal companies to fall. But the markets shrugged off announcements of regulatory changes, such as rules that curbed the use of coal in power plants. Stock prices remained about the same as they would have been without the announcement. In other words, despite what Trump might have you believe, investors do not view environmental regulation as a war on coal.

The war-on-coal claim is only one of many specious assertions made to undercut environmental protections. Regulatory opponents also commonly describe regulation as “job-killing,” and assert that regulation imposes about $2 trillion in annual costs on the economy. But empirical work has established that regulation has little to no impact on the overall number of jobs in the U.S. and can actually spur job growth as companies spend money on compliance. The $2 trillion figure, promoted by the National Association of Manufacturers as the total cost of regulations, has likewise been debunked. As University of Connecticut law professor Richard Parker wrote in a recent paper, the two studies behind the claim were not published in academic journals, the authors of one study refused to disclose the source of their data, and the author of the other study uses data that has not been validated. Using the same bogus methodology from one of the studies, for example, Parker was able to manufacture similarly fantastical claims, such as that a dearth of trust in elected officials costs the U.S. $1.9 trillion a year.

Although it is difficult to measure the economic benefits of reducing risks to people and the environment, government studies consistently show that most regulations substantially benefit the public at a reasonable cost to industry. Yet the $2 trillion cost figure and other debunked claims have been repeated by the president and other anti-regulatory politicians. The former U.S. senator and presidential adviser Daniel Patrick Moynihan once stated that “everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not to his own facts.” But it seems as if many voters prefer “alternative facts.” Why is that so?

A large body of scientific and psychological research suggests that our brains are hardwired to process information in ways that can mislead us into false beliefs concerning issues like climate change. We are inclined, for example, to more readily accept information that accords with our existing beliefs and reject or resist facts that do not, a fallacy known as confirmation bias. We also tend to make up our minds based on the information most readily available to us. If you only watch Fox News or MSNBC, your view of the world is subject to this so-called availability bias.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


But research by political scientists Kevin Arceneaux and Ryan J. Vander Wielen indicates that some people are also motivated to check their initial impulses about political issues with rational thought, which makes them less likely to be influenced by confirmation and availability biases. Although we do not yet fully understand the sources of this motivation, one explanation is that when people are strongly interested in a policy issue and have information about it, they seek out and assess additional information for rational assessment. This tendency can lead them to switch their vote from one party to the other if the parties have clear and diametrically opposed positions. Even if most Americans aren’t so open-minded, democracy does not require everyone to be a rational voter. Thoughtful voters can provide a crucial difference in election outcomes.

Scholarship also indicates that Americans’ attitudes toward regulation become more favorable as it becomes more obvious that the country faces problems that only government can address. As markets fail and environmental, social, or economic problems mount, voters react by electing officials who promise to activate government to meet the nation’s needs. When the truth stares us in the face, many of us reject anti-regulatory messages.

That’s one reason climate change poses such a challenging political problem: Its impacts are long-term and tend to be less obvious. We now have stronger storms and hotter summers, and while I wrote this piece Australia was ablaze. But not everyone recognizes that these events are linked to climate change.

Still, there are signs that voters are slowly starting to understand the existential danger that climate change poses to our country. There are signs that we are overcoming our biases, our knee-jerk instincts, and the messages of anti-regulatory interests. There are signs that our democracy will eventually overcome its dysfunction. The grizzled public interest advocate, I can see now that I’m grizzled myself, was correct: The battle for truth and action can be an uphill one, won in increments at a time. But the facts do eventually win out.

About The Author

Sidney Shapiro is the Fletcher Chair in Administrative Law at Wake Forest University, and a Member Scholar at the Center for Progressive Reform.

This article was originally published on Undark. Read the original article.

books_democreacy

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…