الهجمات ضد الانتخابات أمر لا مفر منه - إستونيا تظهر ما يمكن فعله

الهجمات ضد الانتخابات أمر لا مفر منه - إستونيا تظهر ما يمكن فعله لقد تم الدفاع عن انتخابات آذار / مارس 3 ، 2019 ، في إستونيا بشكل جيد ضد التأثيرات المناهضة للديمقراطية. صور AP / راؤول

المهاجمون المدعومون من الكرملين هم العمل على التأثير في المستقبل انتخابات البرلمان الأوروبي، وفقا ل شركة الأمن السيبراني FireEye. حملة القرصنة لديها الحكومات والمنظمات السياسية المستهدفة طالما مراكز الفكر والمنظمات غير الربحيةبما في ذلك تلك البارزة مثل المجلس الألماني للعلاقات الخارجية ومعهد أسبن وصندوق مارشال الألماني، كما ذكرت مايكروسوفت.

تسليط الضوء على هذه التقارير الجديدة تزايد المخاوف of الهجمات الرقمية على الديمقراطية حول العالم ، بما في ذلك الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية في 2020.

تشمل الأهداف المحتملة تكنولوجيا الانتخابات مثل قوائم الناخبين وأجهزة الكمبيوتر التي تسجل الأصوات ومواقع الويب التي تقدم نتائج للجمهور. لكن التهديدات تذهب إلى أبعد من ذلك ، إلى الحملات الإلكترونية ضد المؤسسات التي تدعم العمليات الديمقراطية مثل الأحزاب السياسية ومراكز الفكر ووسائل الإعلام ، فضلاً عن استهداف حرب المعلومات. الرأي العام.

المشكلة القديمة للتدخل في الانتخابات

التدخل الروسي في الغرب هو لا جديد. تجارب استونيا - أول دولة ضحية على الإطلاق إلى عملية إلكترونية منسقة بوضوح وذات دوافع سياسية - يمكنها إبلاغ الدفاعات الأمريكية والأوروبية بهذه التهديدات المعقدة.

جنبا إلى جنب مع جيرانها لاتفيا وليتوانيا ، وفازت استونيا الاعتراف الدولي ل فعالية دفاعاتها ضد القرصنة ذات الدوافع السياسية والتضليل ، والتي تجمع بين الحكومة والصناعة والجهود العامة. في الانتخابات البرلمانية في آذار / مارس 3 ، 2019 ، وعرض الاستونيون الثقة لديهم في الأمن الرقمي لبلدهم.

قبل ثلاثة أيام من يوم الانتخابات ، كان ما يقرب من 40 من الناخبين المؤهلين قد أدلوا بأصواتهم بالفعل. معظم هؤلاء الناخبين في وقت مبكر فعلت ذلك على الانترنت ، و 44 في المئة من مجموع الأصوات تم إلقاءها عبر الإنترنت.

تستعد للدفاع

لم تتأثر هذه الانتخابات الإستونية الأخيرة إلى حد كبير بالهجمات الإلكترونية أو عمليات المعلومات المنسقة. من المحتمل أن يكون السبب هو أن البلد وشعبه قد حسنوا فهمهم للمشاكل ، ودفاعهم ضدها ، على مدى العقدين الماضيين.

مرة أخرى في 2007 ، أدى نقل النصب التذكاري من الحقبة السوفيتية في العاصمة الإستونية تالين في الاحتجاجات العامة و عدة موجات منسقة موزعة الحرمان من الخدمة الهجمات. هؤلاء لم يسرقوا بيانات المواطنين ، لكنهم فعلوا ذلك اغلاق العديد من الخدمات الرقمية لعدد من الساعات في كل يوم من الأيام. وقد سلط هذا الضوء على اعتماد الجمهور المتزايد على التكنولوجيا الرقمية ونقاط الضعف في الأنظمة الإلكترونية.

تعد الأنظمة الرقمية التي طورتها الحكومات والشركات الإستونية في السنوات التي تلت 2007 قوية وآمنة وموثوق بها من قبل المستخدمين - الذين يرحبون بالمزيد من رقمنة حياتهم لأنه مريح وآمن. الأنظمة المصرفية الإلكترونية ، وصفات الدواء الرقمية, المدارس الإلكترونية وآلاف الخدمات الأخرى عبر الإنترنت تعتمد بشدة على الهوية الرقمية الآمنة المدعومة من الحكومةو سجل السكان الرقمي و طبقة تبادل بيانات قوية بين قواعد البيانات والخدمات.

هذه النظم أيضا تسهيل العناصر الرقمية لل انتخابات, بما في ذلك التصويت عبر الإنترنت.

الهجمات ضد الانتخابات أمر لا مفر منه - إستونيا تظهر ما يمكن فعله يفحص خبراء أمن الانتخابات من جميع أنحاء العالم ، على الملأ ، الكمبيوتر الذي يستخدم لتسجيل الأصوات عبر الإنترنت من الانتخابات البرلمانية في إستونيا في مارس 2019. إريك بينار / مكتب إستونيا الحكومي الانتخابي

الدفاعات السيبرانية الشاملة

درس رئيسي من إستونيا هو أنه بوجود العديد من التهديدات المختلفة ، لا يوجد دفاع واحد يمكنه حماية كل جزء من النظام الديمقراطي والمجتمع. بدلاً من ذلك ، يجب على المدافعين تقييم المهاجمين المحتمل أن يكونوا بعد - وما هو على المحك.

في 2017 ، وحدت وكالتان حكوميتان إستونيا ، مكتب الانتخابات الحكومي وسلطة نظام المعلومات - حيث كان أحدنا ، ليزا باست ، كبير مسؤولي الأبحاث في الأمن السيبراني - جهودًا لتحليل شامل للتهديدات والمخاطر التي تهدد الانتخابات المحلية. بالإضافة إلى المخاطر التقنية ، مثل حالات الفشل في الاتصالات أو العيوب في البرنامج ، أولى الفريق عن كثب القضايا في الإدارة وكذلك إمكانيات حرب المعلومات.

انخرطت الحكومة الإستونية في تحليلات مماثلة في الفترة التي سبقت انتخابات 2019. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أخذت الوكالات درسًا من الفرنسيين و تجربة الولايات المتحدة في 2016 وعلم الأحزاب السياسية والمرشحين الأفراد كيفية حماية أنفسهم ومعلوماتهم على الإنترنت.

وبالمثل، تتبادل الحكومات في جميع أنحاء الاتحاد الأوروبي أفضل أفكارها حول تصميم أنظمة انتخابات جديرة بالثقة. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن يساعد تسجيل الوصول إلى الشبكة ومراقبتها مسؤولي الكمبيوتر في اكتشاف الأنشطة غير المصرح بها والرد عليها بسرعة.

فهم التهديد المزدوج لعمليات المعلومات

قد تكون دروس إستونيا مفيدة في مكان آخر. في السنوات الخمس الماضية ، استهدفت الهجمات الروسية كلا النظامين المخصصين للانتخابات ، مثل النظام الأوكراني موقع لجنة الانتخابات الوطنية في 2014 ، و مناقشة عامة أكبر حول الانتخابات والقضايا السياسية الحالية.

الجهود على الانترنت تسعى ل التلاعب وجهات نظر الناس في الفترة التي تسبق 2016 تصويت بريكسيت، وكذلك خلال الحملات الرئاسية في الولايات المتحدة و فرنسا، تشبه إلى حد كبير أساليب الحرب الباردة المعروفة باسم "عمليات المعلومات".

يستخدم الممارسون أدوات من القرن 21st مثل وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية و الأتمتة لزرع قصص كاذبة و استغلال الانقسامات الاجتماعية. إنهم لا يسعون بالضرورة لاختراق جدران الحماية للشبكة أو المساس بأي أنظمة حكومية آمنة ، بل يبدو أنهم يرغبون في جذب الجماهير عبر الإنترنت المساهمين زميل حقيقي في نقاش حر ومفتوح.

سلوكيات البوت المميزة يمكن أن يعطيهم بعيدا. ومع ذلك هناك الكثير منهم أن يتمكنوا من مزاح الأصوات البشرية وتقويض مبدأ الديمقراطية مشاركة حقيقية من قبل أشخاص حقيقيين.

الدفاع في العمق

تعتمد شرعية الانتخابات على أكثر من مجرد الأمن التقني. يجب أن ينظر إليها على أنها خالية من التأثير الخارجي. ينبغي للحكومات أن تتبنى وجهات نظر شاملة حول أمنها والتهديدات التي تواجهها - مع مراعاة عناصر متنوعة مثل الدفاعات الإلكترونية للأنظمة الأساسية وتأثيرات حرب المعلومات على الناخبين.

إنها مشكلة عالمية ، حيث تمارس روسيا نفوذها ليس فقط في الولايات المتحدة وإستونيا ولكن أيضًا أيضا مصرو الصين تهاجم استرالياالنظام السياسي.

الاستجابة ، لذلك ، يجب أن تشمل نقاش مفتوح وصحي ومحو الأمية الإعلامية وكذلك منع وكشف وتخفيف آثار الهجمات الإلكترونية على السرية والتوافر والنزاهة في صميم النظم الديمقراطية.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ليزا باست ، قائد الجيل القادم ، معهد ماكين للقيادة الدولية ، جامعة ولاية أريزونا وكيث براون ، أستاذ السياسة والدراسات العالمية ، جامعة ولاية أريزونا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Attacks Against Elections Are Inevitable – Estonia Shows What Can Be Done

Attacks Against Elections Are Inevitable – Estonia Shows What Can Be Done The March 3, 2019, elections in Estonia were well-defended against anti-democracy influences. AP Photo/Raul

Kremlin-backed attackers are working to influence the upcoming European Parliament elections, according to cybersecurity firm FireEye. A hacking campaign has targeted governments and political organizations as well as think tanks and nonprofits, including prominent ones such as the German Council on Foreign Relations, the Aspen Institute and the German Marshall Fund, as Microsoft has reported.

These new reports highlight rising fears of digital attacks on democracy around the world, including on the U.S. presidential elections in 2020.

Potential targets include election technology such as voter lists, computers that tally the votes and websites that report results to the public. But the threats go farther, to cyber campaigns against institutions supporting democratic processes like political parties, think tanks and the media, as well as information warfare targeting public opinion.

Old problem of election interference

Russian interference in the West is not new. The experiences of Estonia – the first country ever victim to a clearly coordinated and politically motivated cyber operation – can inform American and European defenses to these complex threats.

Together with its neighbors Latvia and Lithuania, Estonia has won international recognition for the effectiveness of its defenses against politically motivated hacking and disinformation, which combine government, industry and public efforts. In the parliamentary elections of March 3, 2019, Estonians showcased the confidence they have in their country’s digital security.

Three days before Election Day, close to 40 percent of those eligible had already cast their vote. Most of those early voters did so online, and 44 percent of the total votes were cast over the internet.

Preparing to defend

This recent Estonian election was largely unaffected by cyberattacks or coordinated information operations. Some of the reason is likely because the country and its people have improved their understanding of the problems, and their defenses against it, over the past couple of decades.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Back in 2007, the relocation of a Soviet-era memorial in the Estonian capital Tallinn resulted in public protests and several waves of coordinated distributed denial of service attacks. These did not steal citizens’ data, but they did shut down many digital services for a number of hours on each of several days. This highlighted both the public’s increasing reliance on digital technology and the weaknesses of online systems.

The digital systems that Estonian governments and businesses have developed in the years since 2007 are strong, secure and trusted by users – who welcome further digitization of their lives because it is convenient and safe. Electronic banking systems, digital medication prescriptions, e-schools and thousands of other online services rely heavily on government-backed secure digital identity, a digital population registry and a robust data exchange layer between databases and services.

These systems also facilitate the digital elements of elections, including internet voting.

Attacks Against Elections Are Inevitable – Estonia Shows What Can Be Done Election security experts from around the world examine, in public, the computer used to tally the online votes from Estonia’s parliamentary elections in March 2019. Erik Peinar/Estonia State Electoral Office

Comprehensive cyber defenses

A key lesson from Estonia is that with so many different threats, no single defense can protect every part of a democratic system and society. Rather, defenders must evaluate what attackers are likely to be after – and what’s at stake.

In 2017, two Estonian government agencies, the State Electoral Office and the Information System Authority – where one of us, Liisa Past, was chief research officer for cybersecurity – joined forces to comprehensively analyze the threats and risks to local elections. In addition to the technical risks, like failures in connections or flaws in software, the team paid close attention to issues in management as well as the possibilities for information warfare.

The Estonian government engaged in similar analyses in the lead-up to the 2019 elections. In addition, the agencies took a lesson from the French and U.S. experience in 2016 and taught political parties and individual candidates how to protect themselves and their information online.

Similarly, governments across the European Union are sharing their best ideas about designing trustworthy election systems. Logging and monitoring network access, for example, can help computer administrators quickly detect and respond to unauthorized activity.

Understanding the double threat of information operations

Estonia’s lessons may be useful elsewhere. In the past five years, Russian attacks have targeted both election-specific systems, like the Ukrainian national election commission website in 2014, and the larger public discussion around the election and current political issues.

Online efforts seeking to manipulate people’s views in the run-up to the 2016 Brexit vote, as well as during presidential campaigns in the U.S. and France, are quite similar to Cold War tactics known as “information operations.”

The practitioners use 21st-century tools like social media and automation to plant false stories and exploit social divisions. They don’t necessarily seek to break through network firewalls or compromise any secure government systems, but rather appear to unwitting online audiences as authentic fellow contributors in a free, open debate.

Bots’ characteristic behaviors can give them away. Yet there are so many of them that they can crowd out human voices and undermine the democratic principle of real participation by actual people.

Defense in depth

Elections’ legitimacy depends on more than just technical security. They must also be seen to be free of external influence. Governments should take comprehensive views of their security, and threats to it – accounting for elements as diverse as cyber defenses of essential systems and the effects of information warfare on voters.

It’s a worldwide problem, with Russia exerting influence not just in the U.S. and Estonia but also Egypt, and China attacking Australia’s political system.

The response, therefore, has to include open, healthy public debate and media literacy as well as preventing, detecting and mitigating the effects of cyberattacks on the confidentiality, availability and integrity at the very core of democratic systems.The Conversation

About The Author

Liisa Past, Next Generation Leader, McCain Institute for International Leadership, Arizona State University and Keith Brown, Professor of Politics and Global Studies, Arizona State University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}