Les femmes qui ont couru pour le Congrès ont évité les problèmes des femmes dans leurs annonces de campagne

Les femmes qui ont couru pour le Congrès ont évité les problèmes des femmes dans leurs annonces de campagne
Capture d'écran de 'Elaine Luria for Congress: Sea Change.' YouTube

Un nombre record de femmes ont été assermentées au Congrès le Janvier 3, 2019.

L’afflux de candidates a contribué à transformer les élections de mi-mandat en ce que de nombreux observateurs ont qualifié de «Année de la femme".

Mais malgré le flot d'opinions favorables aux femmes, les lauréats se sont rendus au Congrès ou dans un palais de justice non pas en se définissant comme des «candidates», mais en contournant les problèmes généralement associés à leur sexe, allant de l'égalité des salaires à la liberté de reproduction.

Nous sommes des experts sur les femmes et la politiqueet dans une récente étude que nous avons menée à l'Université du Maryland Centre Rosenker pour la communication politique et le leadership civique, nous avons examiné les publicités politiques 2018 pour comprendre comment les femmes définissaient leurs candidatures et leurs qualifications.

Nous avons constaté que, malgré le dynamisme du mouvement # MeToo, les femmes jouaient avec précaution en jouant la «carte de genre». Elles évitaient ce qui est souvent interprété comme «les problèmes des femmes»Qui sont associés à l'égalité des sexes, tels que l'avortement, l'équité salariale, la violence sexuelle et le harcèlement.

Puissance de projection

Nous avons étudié les annonces électorales générales produites par des femmes challengers pour le Congrès américain ou pour le gouverneur de leur État. Nous avons utilisé les annonces 52 de candidats 25 - neuf républicains et démocrates 16. Bien qu'il y ait plus de femmes démocrates en lice que de républicaines, nous avons veillé à équilibrer les annonces par parti (annonces 29 par les républicains et annonces 23 par les démocrates). Tous ont été produits par des candidats dans ce que nous avons défini comme des courses compétitives, c'est-à-dire que les points 10 ou moins séparaient le candidat et son adversaire le 7 septembre, 30.

Un thème dominant qui a traversé à la fois les publicités démocrates et républicaines est le pouvoir du candidat et ses réalisations dans des carrières qui ont historiquement exclu les femmes. Ces publicités illustrent les forces individuelles de ces femmes, qui les préparent apparemment au monde difficile de la politique américaine.

En elle "Bague" annonce, Démocrate Sharice Davis, qui courait pour un siège à la US House au Kansas, l’avait vue frapper un sac de boxe - elle était une combattante d’arts martiaux mixtes. Elle s'est identifiée comme une «combattante» qui «ne reculera jamais».

{youtube} quH2kI6Sbis {/ youtube |

Démocrate Elaine Luria a couru pour un siège à la US House en Virginie et a choisi de souligner sa carrière militaire dans la marine. En elle "Changement de la mer”Ad, elle est montrée pilotant un navire de guerre. La publicité souligne qu'elle a été "déployée six fois" au cours de sa carrière militaire.

Les femmes républicaines ont également communiqué leur force avec des paroles de pouvoir: "Éprouvé," "Bats toi" et "Sans peur."

Républicain Martha McSally, qui a couru dans la course au Sénat américain de l'Arizona, s'est identifiée comme la première femme à piloter un avion de chasse en service actif dans sa publicité "Déployé." Républicain Jeune Kim, qui a couru pour la US House en Californie, se définit elle-même comme un chef d’entreprise «autodidacte» qui a promis de ne jamais «abandonner» dans une publicité intitulée "Ma communauté."

Une candidate à notre étude a développé une publicité exclusivement consacrée aux droits des femmes en matière de procréation (Dr. Kim Schrier's "Porte" ad - candidat américain à la US House). Les autres publicités, produites par les démocrates et les républicains, ont passé sous silence les inégalités de genre que les femmes continuent de subir. Au lieu de cela, ils impliquent que l'égalité des sexes a déjà été atteint parce que les candidats ont brisé à eux seuls les barrières de genre. Comme Merida L. Johns de l' Centre Monarch pour le développement du leadership des femmes Il est clair que le fait que des femmes réussissent très bien ne signifie pas que les obstacles structurels qui nuisent à leur promotion ont été supprimés.

Le dilemme des femmes républicaines

Les femmes républicaines, plus que les démocrates, devaient faire preuve de prudence en ce qui concerne les questions d'égalité des femmes. Après tout, une majorité de républicains s’est ralliée au juge Kavanaugh et au président Trump après avoir été accusés de inconduite sexuelle.

Nous avons vu cela se jouer dans le fait que plus de candidates républicaines se sont alignées avec des hommes puissants que plus de candidates démocrates. Une des raisons pour lesquelles ils ont pu le faire est de réduire la perception de leur candidature comme une menace pour les électeurs habitués leadership masculin.

{youtube} nJyEPlESgJ4 {/ youtube}

Par exemple, la républicaine Carol Miller, candidate à la US House en Virginie occidentale, a publié une annonce mettant en vedette des anciens combattants pour avoir défié la «grandeur» du pays. À la fin de la publicité, elle est entourée de deux hommes musclés - un mineur de charbon et l’autre un marin.

Certains ont explicitement couru sur les attaques de Donald Trump. Et le candidat du Sénat américain du Tennessee Marsha Blackburn en vedette une annonce lui montrant étreignant le président et se vantant de son soutien envers elle.

D'autres candidats républicains ont utilisé des stéréotypes de genre pour rabaisser leurs opposants. Par exemple, chez elle Annonce "à pied", Elizabeth Heng, courant pour la US House en Californie, a contesté la masculinité de son adversaire, Représentant Jim Costa, en le représentant marchant dans les rues avec des talons hauts rouges alors que la voix off se moquait: «Costa marche dans les chaussures de Nancy Pelosi."

Les plats à emporter

Ces publicités révèlent que l'utilisation de leurs le sexe comme avantage, essayer de promouvoir les problèmes des femmes ou dénoncer un comportement sexiste reste un défi pour les femmes en politique. Les publicités de notre étude reflètent les paroles de prudence du sondeur démocrate Lac Celinda offre aux candidates: "Les rôles traditionnels des hommes et des femmes restent puissants, influençant ce que nous percevons comme un comportement acceptable et approprié pour les hommes et les femmes."

Dans 2018, comme Washington Post Selon certaines informations, certains candidats auraient reproché à leurs adversaires un comportement «sexiste», tandis que d’autres auraient plutôt eu recours à des «substituts» pour lancer de telles accusations. Les candidats sont restés à l'écart de telles accusations controversées dans les annonces que nous avons étudiées.

Sociologue Robert D. Francis écrit que parce que «Sexisme moderne» présume que "la discrimination à l'égard des femmes a été surmontée", un sentiment de "ressentiment" suit ceux qui prétendent "sexisme". Plutôt que de s'attaquer aux inégalités auxquelles les femmes sont confrontées en public et en privé, de nombreux candidats à cette étude ont montré qu'ils pouvaient le faire chez un homme monde - coups de poing, fusils de chasse, dirige des navires de guerre, pilote des avions, dirige des sociétés et s’aligne avec des hommes puissants.

Alors que ces femmes nouvellement élues assument leur rôle de leadership cette semaine, la question de savoir si elles éviteront ou s’attaqueront aux problèmes d’équité entre les sexes qui feront enfin de l’Année de la femme une réalité relique de notre passé.

À propos des auteurs

Shawn Parry-Giles, professeur de communication, Université du Maryland; Aya Hussein Farhat, Ph.D. Étudiant, Université du Maryland; Matthew Salzano, étudiant diplômé, Université du Marylandet Skye de Saint Felix, doctorante, Université du Maryland. Jenna Bachman, Darrian Carroll, Lauren Hunter, Naette Lee, Hazel Feigenblatt Rojas et Sarah Vick ont ​​contribué à cette histoire.La Conversation

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = femmes au congrès; maxresults = 3}

Women Who Ran For Congress Avoided Women's Issues In Their Campaign Ads

Women Who Ran For Congress Avoided Women's Issues In Their Campaign Ads
Screenshot of ‘Elaine Luria for Congress: Sea Change.’ YouTube

A record number of women were sworn into Congress on Jan. 3, 2019.

The influx of women candidates helped turn the midterm election into what many observers dubbed a “Year of the Woman.”

But despite a tide of voter sentiment favoring women, these winners got to Congress or a statehouse not by defining themselves as “women’s candidates,” but instead by sidestepping issues typically associated with their gender, from equal pay to reproductive freedom.

We are experts on women and politics, and in a recent study we conducted at the University of Maryland’s Rosenker Center for Political Communication & Civic Leadership, we examined 2018 political ads to understand how woman defined their candidacies and qualifications for office.

We found that, despite the momentum of the #MeToo movement, women were careful in playing the “gender card.” They avoided what are often construed as “women’s issues” that are associated with gender equality such as abortion, pay equity, sexual violence and harassment.

Projecting power

We studied general election ads produced by women challengers running for the U.S. Congress or for governor of their state. We used 52 ads from 25 candidates – nine Republicans and 16 Democrats. Although there were more Democratic women vying for office than Republicans, we made sure to balance the ads by party (29 ads by Republicans and 23 ads by Democrats). All of them were produced by candidates in what we defined as competitive races, meaning 10 points or less separated the candidate and their opponent on Sept. 30, 2018.

A dominant theme that crossed both Democratic and Republican ads is the candidate’s own power and achievements in careers that have historically excluded women. These ads showcase these women’s individual strengths that seemingly prepares them for the rough-and-tumble world of U.S. politics.

In her “Ring” ad, Democrat Sharice Davis, who was running for a U.S. House seat in Kansas, featured her hitting a punching bag – she used to be a mixed martial arts fighter. She identified herself as a “fighter” who will “never back down.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


{youtube}quH2kI6Sbis{/youtube|

Democrat Elaine Luria ran for a U.S. House seat in Virginia and chose to highlight her military career in the Navy. In her “Sea Change” ad, she is shown piloting a warship. The ad emphasizes that she was “deployed six times” during her military career.

Republican women similarly communicated their strength with words of power: “Proven,” “Fight” and “Fearless.”

Republican Martha McSally, who ran in Arizona’s U.S. Senate race, identified herself as the first woman to fly a fighter jet in active duty in her ad “Deployed.” Republican Young Kim, who ran for the U.S. House in California, defined herself as a “self-made” business leader who promised to never “give up” in an ad titled “My Community.”

One candidate in our study developed an ad exclusively focused on women’s reproductive rights (Dr. Kim Schrier’s “Door” ad – U.S. House candidate from Washington). The other ads, produced by Democrats and Republicans, glossed over the gender inequities women continue to face. Instead, they imply that gender equality has already been achieved because the candidates have single-handedly shattered gender barriers. As Merida L. Johns of the Monarch Center for Women’s Leadership Development makes clear, just because individual women are high achievers does not mean the structural barriers inhibiting women’s advancement have been removed.

Republican women’s dilemma

Republican women, more than Democrats, had to tread carefully around issues of women’s equality. After all, a majority of Republicans sided with Justice Kavanaugh and President Trump after they were charged with sexual misconduct.

We saw this play out in the fact that more Republican women candidates aligned themselves with powerful men more than the Democratic candidates did. One reason they may have done this is to lessen the perception of their candidacy as a threat to voters accustomed to male leadership.

{youtube}nJyEPlESgJ4{/youtube}

For example, Republican Carol Miller, who ran for the U.S. House in West Virginia, ran an ad featuring male veterans for challenging the country’s “greatness.” At the end of the ad, she is flanked by two muscular men – one a coal miner and the other a Marine.

Some explicitly ran on Donald Trump’s coattails. And Tennessee’s U.S. Senate candidate Marsha Blackburn featured an ad showing her hugging the president and boasting about his endorsement of her.

Other Republican candidates used gender stereotypes to demean their opponents. For example, in her “Walk” ad, Elizabeth Heng, running for the U.S. House in California, challenged the masculinity of her opponent, Representative Jim Costa, by depicting him walking the streets in red high heels as the voice over mocked: “Costa’s walking in Nancy Pelosi’s shoes.”

The takeaway

These ads reveal that using their gender as an advantage, trying to promote women’s issues, or calling out sexist behavior are still a challenge for women in politics. The ads in our study reflect the cautionary words that Democratic pollster Celinda Lake offers to women candidates: “Traditional gender roles remain powerful, influencing what we perceive to be acceptable and appropriate behavior for men and women.”

In 2018, as The Washington Post reports, some candidates charged their opponents with “sexist” behavior while others more likely used “surrogates” to issue such accusations. Candidates stayed away from such controversial accusations in the ads we studied.

In his published research, sociologist Robert D. Francis writes that because “modern sexism” presumes “discrimination against women has been overcome,” a sense of “resentment” follows those who allege “sexism.” Rather than tackle the inequalities that women confront in public and private, many candidates in this study showed they could make it in a man’s world – throwing punches, shooting guns, steering warships, piloting planes, running corporations, and aligning themselves with powerful men.

As these newly elected women step into their leadership role this week, the question remains as to whether they will sidestep or tackle the gender equity issues that will finally make the “Year of the Woman” a relic of our past.

About The Authors

Shawn Parry-Giles, Professor of Communication, University of Maryland; Aya Hussein Farhat, Ph.D. Student, University of Maryland; Matthew Salzano, Graduate Student, University of Maryland, and Skye de Saint Felix, Doctoral Student, University of Maryland. Jenna Bachman, Darrian Carroll, Lauren Hunter, Naette Lee, Hazel Feigenblatt Rojas and Sarah Vick contributed to this story.The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=women in congress;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)