النساء الذين رانوا للكونجرس تجنبوا قضايا النساء في إعلانات حملاتهم

النساء الذين رانوا للكونجرس تجنبوا قضايا النساء في إعلانات حملاتهم
لقطة شاشة لـ 'Elaine Luria for Congress: Sea Change. يوتوب

وأدى عدد قياسي من النساء اليمين الدستورية في الكونغرس 3 يناير، 2019.

وقد ساعد تدفق المرشحات على تحويل انتخابات التجديد النصفي إلى ما أطلق عليه العديد من المراقبين "سنة المرأة".

ولكن على الرغم من موجة من مشاعر الناخبين التي تفضل النساء ، فإن هؤلاء الفائزين حصلوا على الكونجرس أو دار الولاية ليس من خلال تعريف أنفسهم "بمرشحات النساء" ، ولكن بدلاً من ذلك عن طريق تجنب القضايا المرتبطة عادة بنوع جنسهم ، من الأجر المتساوي إلى الحرية الإنجابية.

نحن خبراء في المرأة والسياسة، وفي الآونة الأخيرة الدراسة التي أجريناها في جامعة ميريلاند مركز روزنكر للاتصالات السياسية والقيادة المدنيةفحصنا الإعلانات السياسية لـ 2018 لفهم كيفية تعريف المرأة لترشيحاتها ومؤهلاتها للمناصب.

وجدنا أنه على الرغم من زخم حركة #MeToo ، كانت النساء حريصات في لعب "بطاقة الجندر". لقد تجنبن ما يفسر في الغالب على أنه "قضايا المرأة"المرتبطة بالمساواة بين الجنسين مثل الإجهاض والإنصاف في الأجور والعنف الجنسي والمضايقة.

قوة الإسقاط

درسنا إعلانات الانتخابات العامة التي تنتجها منافسات النساء الترشح لكونغرس الولايات المتحدة أو لحاكم ولايتهم. استخدمنا إعلانات 52 من مرشحي 25 - تسعة من الجمهوريين و 16 Democrats. على الرغم من وجود عدد أكبر من النساء الديمقراطيات اللواتي يتنافسن على المنصب مقارنة بالجمهوريين ، فقد حرصنا على موازنة الإعلانات من قِبل الحزب (إعلانات 29 من قبل الجمهوريين وإعلانات 23 من قبل الديمقراطيين). وقد تم إنتاج جميعهم من قبل المرشحين في ما عرفناه على أنه سباقات تنافسية ، مما يعني أن 10 يشير أو لا يفصل بين المرشح وخصمهم في سبتمبر 30 ، 2018.

إن الفكرة المهيمنة التي عبرت كل من الإعلانات الديمقراطية والجمهوريّة هي قوة المرشح وإنجازاته الخاصة في المهن التي استبعدت تاريخياً النساء. تُظهِر هذه الإعلانات مواطن القوة الفردية للمرأة التي تُعدّها على ما يبدو لعالم السياسة الأمريكية الوعر.

في بلدها إعلان "الرنين"، ديمقراطي مشارك ديفيسالتي كانت ترشح لمقعد في مجلس النواب الأمريكي في كانساس ، ظهرت عليها وهي تضرب حقيبة مثقوبة - اعتادت أن تكون مقاتلة مختلطة في فنون الدفاع عن النفس. وعرفت نفسها بأنها "مقاتلة" لن "تتراجع أبداً".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


{يوتيوب} {quH2kI6Sbis / يوتيوب |

ديمقراطي الين لوريا ركض لمقعد البيت الأمريكي في ولاية فرجينيا واختار لتسليط الضوء على حياتها العسكرية في البحرية. فيها "تغير البحر"إعلان ، وتظهر أنها تجريب سفينة حربية. يؤكد الإعلان أنها "تم نشرها ست مرات" خلال مسيرتها العسكرية.

النساء الجمهوريات عبرن عن قوتهن بكلمات القوة: "ثبت" "يقاتل" و "بلا خوف".

جمهوري مارثا ماكسيلي، التي شاركت في سباق مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي في ولاية أريزونا ، عرفت نفسها بأنها أول امرأة تطير بطائرة مقاتلة في الخدمة الفعلية في إعلانها "نشر." جمهوري يونغ كيمعرّفت نفسها ، التي ترشحت لمنصب البيت الأمريكي في كاليفورنيا ، على أنها زعيمة أعمال "عصاميّة" وعدت بعدم التخلي "أبدًا" في إعلان عنوانه "مجتمعي."

طور أحد المرشحين في دراستنا إعلانًا يركز حصريًا على الحقوق الإنجابية للمرأة (دكتور كيم شراير "باب" إعلان - مرشح مجلس النواب الأمريكي من واشنطن). الإعلانات الأخرى ، التي أنتجها الديمقراطيون والجمهوريون ، تتجاهل التفاوتات بين الجنسين التي لا تزال تواجه المرأة. بدلا من ذلك ، فإنها تعني ذلك المساواة بين الجنسين وقد تم بالفعل تحقيقه لأن المرشحين قد حطموا بمفرده حواجز جنسانية. مثل ميريدا إل. جونز ل مركز مونرا لتنمية القيادات النسائية يوضح ، فقط لأن النساء فرادى من الناجيات عالية لا يعني أن الحواجز الهيكلية التي تحول دون تقدم المرأة قد أزيلت.

معضلة المرأة الجمهورية

كان على النساء الجمهوريات ، أكثر من الديموقراطيين ، التحرك بحذر حول قضايا المساواة بين النساء. بعد كل شيء ، وقفت غالبية الجمهوريين مع العدالة Kavanaugh والرئيس ترامب بعد أن وجهت إليهم الاتهامات سوء السلوك الجنسي.

رأينا هذه المسرحية في حقيقة أن عددًا أكبر من المرشحات الجمهوريات انضمن إلى رجال أقوياء أكثر مما فعل المرشحون الديمقراطيون. أحد الأسباب التي تجعلهم يفعلون ذلك هو التقليل من فكرة ترشيحهم كتهديد للناخبين الذين اعتادوا على ذلك قيادة الذكور.

{يوتيوب} {nJyEPlESgJ4 / يوتيوب}

على سبيل المثال ، قامت المرشحة الجمهورية كارول ميلر ، التي ترشحت في البيت الأمريكي في وست فرجينيا ، بعرض إعلان يضم قدامى الرجال لتحدي "عظمة" البلد. في نهاية الإعلان ، يحيط بها رجلان عضليان - أحدهما عامل مناجم الفحم والآخر من مشاة البحرية.

بعض ركض صراحة على معاطف دونالد ترامب. ومرشح مجلس الشيوخ في ولاية تينيسي الامريكية مارشا بلاكبيرن عرض إعلانًا يعرضها يعانق الرئيس ويفخر بتأييده لها.

واستخدم المرشحون الجمهوريون الآخرون القوالب النمطية الجنسانية لتحييد خصومهم. على سبيل المثال ، في بلدها الإعلان "Walk", إليزابيث هنغهاجمت البيت الأمريكي في كاليفورنيا ، رجولة خصمها ، الممثل جيم كوستامن خلال تصويره وهو يمشي في الشوارع بكعب عالٍ أحمر بينما كان صوته ساخراً: "تسير كوستا في أحذية نانسي بيلوسي".

الوجبات الجاهزة

هذه الإعلانات تكشف عن استخدام الجنس كميزة، أو محاولة الترويج لقضايا المرأة ، أو الدعوة إلى السلوك الجنسي لا تزال تمثل تحديا للنساء في السياسة. الإعلانات في دراستنا تعكس الكلمات التحذيرية التي استطلاعات الديمقراطي بحيرة سيليندا عروض للمرشحات: "تظل الأدوار التقليدية للجنسين قوية ، مما يؤثر على ما نعتبره سلوكًا مقبولًا ومناسبًا للرجال والنساء".

في 2018 ، باسم واشنطن بوست وفي بعض التقارير ، اتهم بعض المرشحين خصومهم بسلوك "جنسي" بينما استخدم آخرون على الأرجح "بديلين" لإصدار مثل هذه الاتهامات. ابتعد المرشحون عن مثل هذه الاتهامات المثيرة للجدل في الإعلانات التي درسناها.

في بحثه المنشور ، عالم الاجتماع روبرت د. فرانسيس يكتب ذلك ل "التحيز الجنسي الحديث" يفترض "التغلب على التمييز ضد المرأة" ، بمعنى "الاستياء" يتبع أولئك الذين يدعون "التحيز الجنسي". بدلاً من معالجة عدم المساواة التي تواجهها المرأة في القطاعين العام والخاص ، أظهر العديد من المرشحين في هذه الدراسة أنهم يستطيعون جعلها في الرجل اللكمات رمي ​​العالم ، البنادق اطلاق الناروتوجيه السفن الحربية وطائرات الاستكشاف وإدارة الشركات ومواءمة أنفسهم مع رجال أقوياء.

ومع دخول هؤلاء النساء المنتخبات حديثًا دورًا قياديًا هذا الأسبوع ، يبقى السؤال حول ما إذا كانوا سيتجنبون أو يتعاملون مع قضايا المساواة بين الجنسين التي ستجعل في النهاية "عام المرأة" بقايا ماضينا.

عن المؤلفين

شون باري جايلز ، أستاذ الاتصالات ، جامعة ميريلاند. آية حسين فرحات ، دكتوراه. طالب علم، جامعة ميريلاند. ماثيو سالزانو ، طالب دراسات عليا ، جامعة ميريلاند، و Skye دي سانت فيليكس ، طالب الدكتوراه ، جامعة ماري لاند. ساهمت في هذه القصة جينا باكمان ، دارين كارول ، لورين هنتر ، نايتي لي ، هازل فيجنبلات روخاس وسارة فيك.المحادثة

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = women in congress؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Women Who Ran For Congress Avoided Women's Issues In Their Campaign Ads

Women Who Ran For Congress Avoided Women's Issues In Their Campaign Ads
Screenshot of ‘Elaine Luria for Congress: Sea Change.’ YouTube

A record number of women were sworn into Congress on Jan. 3, 2019.

The influx of women candidates helped turn the midterm election into what many observers dubbed a “Year of the Woman.”

But despite a tide of voter sentiment favoring women, these winners got to Congress or a statehouse not by defining themselves as “women’s candidates,” but instead by sidestepping issues typically associated with their gender, from equal pay to reproductive freedom.

We are experts on women and politics, and in a recent study we conducted at the University of Maryland’s Rosenker Center for Political Communication & Civic Leadership, we examined 2018 political ads to understand how woman defined their candidacies and qualifications for office.

We found that, despite the momentum of the #MeToo movement, women were careful in playing the “gender card.” They avoided what are often construed as “women’s issues” that are associated with gender equality such as abortion, pay equity, sexual violence and harassment.

Projecting power

We studied general election ads produced by women challengers running for the U.S. Congress or for governor of their state. We used 52 ads from 25 candidates – nine Republicans and 16 Democrats. Although there were more Democratic women vying for office than Republicans, we made sure to balance the ads by party (29 ads by Republicans and 23 ads by Democrats). All of them were produced by candidates in what we defined as competitive races, meaning 10 points or less separated the candidate and their opponent on Sept. 30, 2018.

A dominant theme that crossed both Democratic and Republican ads is the candidate’s own power and achievements in careers that have historically excluded women. These ads showcase these women’s individual strengths that seemingly prepares them for the rough-and-tumble world of U.S. politics.

In her “Ring” ad, Democrat Sharice Davis, who was running for a U.S. House seat in Kansas, featured her hitting a punching bag – she used to be a mixed martial arts fighter. She identified herself as a “fighter” who will “never back down.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


{youtube}quH2kI6Sbis{/youtube|

Democrat Elaine Luria ran for a U.S. House seat in Virginia and chose to highlight her military career in the Navy. In her “Sea Change” ad, she is shown piloting a warship. The ad emphasizes that she was “deployed six times” during her military career.

Republican women similarly communicated their strength with words of power: “Proven,” “Fight” and “Fearless.”

Republican Martha McSally, who ran in Arizona’s U.S. Senate race, identified herself as the first woman to fly a fighter jet in active duty in her ad “Deployed.” Republican Young Kim, who ran for the U.S. House in California, defined herself as a “self-made” business leader who promised to never “give up” in an ad titled “My Community.”

One candidate in our study developed an ad exclusively focused on women’s reproductive rights (Dr. Kim Schrier’s “Door” ad – U.S. House candidate from Washington). The other ads, produced by Democrats and Republicans, glossed over the gender inequities women continue to face. Instead, they imply that gender equality has already been achieved because the candidates have single-handedly shattered gender barriers. As Merida L. Johns of the Monarch Center for Women’s Leadership Development makes clear, just because individual women are high achievers does not mean the structural barriers inhibiting women’s advancement have been removed.

Republican women’s dilemma

Republican women, more than Democrats, had to tread carefully around issues of women’s equality. After all, a majority of Republicans sided with Justice Kavanaugh and President Trump after they were charged with sexual misconduct.

We saw this play out in the fact that more Republican women candidates aligned themselves with powerful men more than the Democratic candidates did. One reason they may have done this is to lessen the perception of their candidacy as a threat to voters accustomed to male leadership.

{youtube}nJyEPlESgJ4{/youtube}

For example, Republican Carol Miller, who ran for the U.S. House in West Virginia, ran an ad featuring male veterans for challenging the country’s “greatness.” At the end of the ad, she is flanked by two muscular men – one a coal miner and the other a Marine.

Some explicitly ran on Donald Trump’s coattails. And Tennessee’s U.S. Senate candidate Marsha Blackburn featured an ad showing her hugging the president and boasting about his endorsement of her.

Other Republican candidates used gender stereotypes to demean their opponents. For example, in her “Walk” ad, Elizabeth Heng, running for the U.S. House in California, challenged the masculinity of her opponent, Representative Jim Costa, by depicting him walking the streets in red high heels as the voice over mocked: “Costa’s walking in Nancy Pelosi’s shoes.”

The takeaway

These ads reveal that using their gender as an advantage, trying to promote women’s issues, or calling out sexist behavior are still a challenge for women in politics. The ads in our study reflect the cautionary words that Democratic pollster Celinda Lake offers to women candidates: “Traditional gender roles remain powerful, influencing what we perceive to be acceptable and appropriate behavior for men and women.”

In 2018, as The Washington Post reports, some candidates charged their opponents with “sexist” behavior while others more likely used “surrogates” to issue such accusations. Candidates stayed away from such controversial accusations in the ads we studied.

In his published research, sociologist Robert D. Francis writes that because “modern sexism” presumes “discrimination against women has been overcome,” a sense of “resentment” follows those who allege “sexism.” Rather than tackle the inequalities that women confront in public and private, many candidates in this study showed they could make it in a man’s world – throwing punches, shooting guns, steering warships, piloting planes, running corporations, and aligning themselves with powerful men.

As these newly elected women step into their leadership role this week, the question remains as to whether they will sidestep or tackle the gender equity issues that will finally make the “Year of the Woman” a relic of our past.

About The Authors

Shawn Parry-Giles, Professor of Communication, University of Maryland; Aya Hussein Farhat, Ph.D. Student, University of Maryland; Matthew Salzano, Graduate Student, University of Maryland, and Skye de Saint Felix, Doctoral Student, University of Maryland. Jenna Bachman, Darrian Carroll, Lauren Hunter, Naette Lee, Hazel Feigenblatt Rojas and Sarah Vick contributed to this story.The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=women in congress;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)