أمن الإنتخابات يعني أكثر بكثير من مجرد آلات تصويت جديدة

أمن الإنتخابات يعني أكثر بكثير من مجرد آلات تصويت جديدة
يعد اختبار آلة التصويت الجديدة بداية جيدة.
AP Photo / David Goldman

في أواخر مارس ، مر الكونغرس فاتورة إنفاق كبيرة ويشمل ذلك مبلغ 380 مليون دولار أمريكي في شكل منح حكومية لتحسين البنية التحتية للانتخابات. مع تصعيد الولايات المتحدة لانتخابات منتصف المدة في 2018 ، قد يبدو هذا مبلغًا كبيرًا من المال ، ولكنه في الحقيقة مجرد بداية لتأمين أنظمة التصويت في البلاد.

تقرير 2015 من مركز برينان معهد القانون والسياسة في جامعة نيويورك قد تقدر تكلفة إصلاح نظام التصويت في البلاد أكثر من $ 1 مليار - على الرغم من أن السعر يمكن تعويضه جزئيا عن طريق التعاقد أكثر كفاءة. لم يتم تحديث معظم معدات التصويت منذ أوائل 2000s. في بعض الأحيان ، يجب على مسؤولي الانتخابات شراء الأجهزة التصويت آلة على موقع ئي بايلأن الشركات التي صنعتها لم تعد في الأعمال التجارية. حتى عندما تعمل بشكل صحيح ، هذه الآلات ليست آمنة: في 2017 DEF CON hacker conference, سيطر المهاجمون على عدة آلات تصويت في غضون دقائق

إن تأمين الأنظمة الانتخابية عبر الولايات المتحدة يمثل مشكلة كبيرة تنطوي على مخاطر كبيرة. قد لا تكون هذه الأموال الفيدرالية المقدمة إلى الولايات الآن هي الأخيرة من نوعها ، ولكنها متوفرة على الفور ، ويجب استخدامها بكفاءة قدر الإمكان.

1. نظام نسخ احتياطي موثوق به: ورقة الاقتراع

لقد كان المجتمع الأمني ​​يتضرع ورقة الاقتراع لسنوات. الان مع دليل على القرصنة الانتخابية في 2016 و مظاهرة حية من الضعف آلة التصويتالفكرة تكتسب قوة

أوراق الاقتراع ليست مثالية - تذكر "شنقا تشادس"؟ - ولكنها تقدم سجلًا فعليًا يمكن مقارنته بالسجلات الإلكترونية. وإذا كانت هناك اختلافات بين الاثنين ، يوفر الورق طريقة لتعقب مصدر المشكلة. حتى لو تم إحصاء الأصوات إلكترونياً ، فإن الاحتفاظ بأوراق الاقتراع يوفر طريقة للتحقق من صحة النتائج والتحقق منها إذا كانت موضع شك - بدلاً من مجرد الأمل في أن تكون الأجهزة الإلكترونية آمنة.

2. دراسة المشكلة برمتها

قال ريتشارد بور ، وهو جمهوري من ولاية كارولينا الشمالية: "ناقشنا التحقيق الذي أجرته لجنة الاختيار في لجنة الاستخبارات في مجلس الشيوخ حول الجهود الروسية للتلاعب بنظم الانتخابات في الولايات المتحدة".من الواضح أن الحكومة الروسية كانت تبحث عن نقاط الضعفيجب على مسؤولي الانتخابات في الولايات المتحدة أن يفعلوا الشيء نفسه: دققوا في الأنظمة الانتخابية لتحديد نقاط الضعف ، لكنهم قاموا أيضًا بإصلاحها.

ومثل الروس ، يجب على الولايات المتحدة أن تفكر في النظام الانتخابي بأكمله. وبالإضافة إلى الآلات التي تقوم بجدولة الأصوات ، والتي كانت محور المحادثة ، هناك العديد من القطع الأخرى في النظام. وتشمل هذه الطرق التي يسجل بها الناس للتصويت ، حيث يتم الاحتفاظ بسجلاتهم ، وكيف يتم التحقق منهم في صناديق الاقتراع كناخبين شرعيين. وهناك ما يحدث بعد أن يتم فرز الأصوات ، حيث يتم إبلاغهم من أماكن الاقتراع الفردية إلى السجلات البلدية المركزية وحتى مسؤولي الانتخابات في الولاية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


على الأقل 10 أنظمة تسجيل التصويت للدول تم المساس بها، على الأرجح من قبل الروس في الفترة التي تسبق الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية في 2016. على الرغم من الارتياح من أن الأصوات نفسها لم تتغير ، فإن أنظمة التسجيل هذه تملي على من يسمح له بالتصويت وأين وكيف يتم توزيع مواد التصويت (مثل معلومات الاستفتاء والانتخابات الغيابية). غالباً ما يتم تحديد الانتخابات بواسطة هوامش صغيرة. بشكل انتقائي حرمان نسبة صغيرة من الناخبين يمكن جدا تأرجح النتائج.

3. تأمين الناخبين ، وليس فقط الآلات

لا يشكل أمن الانتخابات مشكلة سيتم حلها فقط بالتكنولوجيا. تعتمد الديمقراطية على الناس - على وجه التحديد ، ثقتهم بأن النظام صحيح وآمن. إذا استمرت هذه الثقة في التآكل ، فإن عددا أقل منهم سيشارك في الانتخابات ، وقد يبدأ البعض في رفض النتائج المعلنة رسميا.

في 2016، كان إقبال الناخبين عند أدنى مستوى في عام 20، مع فقط 55 نسبة من المواطنين المؤهلين الذين يدلون بأصواتهم. الناخبون الأصغر سنا لديهم إقبال أقل من الناخبين الأكبر سنا - على سبيل المثال ، في حين أن أكثر من نسبة 70 من الناخبين المؤهلين الذين تجاوزوا سن 60 أدلوا بأصواتهم في 2016 ، فإن نسبة 43 فقط من الأشخاص في مجموعة 18-to-29-old فعلوا ذلك.

يجب على الحكومة ليس فقط أن تعمل ، ولكن أيضا طمأنة الناخبين بأن تلك الأعمال تعكس مدى الجدية التي يبديها المسؤولون مخاوف الجمهور. قد ترغب الدول في النظر في شيء مماثل ل برنامج "اختراق البنتاغون"، والتي كانت واضحة للعيان وفعالة في طرد القضايا الأمنية في أنظمة وزارة الدفاع. "سواء كنت حكومة جيدة التمويل مثل الولايات المتحدة أو أي شخص آخر ، عليك العمل مع مجتمع المتسللين" ، قال كاتي موسوريسالذي ساعد في بدء "اختراق البنتاغون" كما أنشأ برنامج مكافآت حشرات مايكروسوفت. إنها خطوة جريئة ، ولكنها دعوة قراصنة قبعة بيضاء من أجل التحقيق بشكل علني في الأنظمة الانتخابية - ودفعها للحصول على معلومات حول نقاط الضعف التي يعثرون عليها - سوف تظهر للناخبين أن الدول جادة في حل المشكلات.

المحادثةهناك الكثير من العمل الذي يجب القيام به لتأمين الانتخابات الأمريكية ، لكن $ 380 مليون طريقة جيدة للبدء. إذا أنفقت الولايات ذلك بأكثر الطرق ذات مغزى - حيث ترمم آلاتها وثقة السكان - فإنها سوف تبني نظامًا آمنًا وجديرًا بالثقة ويعمل لجميع الناس.

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيمي وينترتون ، مدير الإستراتيجية ، مبادرة الأمن العالمي ، جامعة ولاية أريزونا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = الانتخابات وآلات التصويت الإلكترونية ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Election Security Means Much More Than Just New Voting Machines

Election Security Means Much More Than Just New Voting Machines
Testing a new voting machine is a good start.
AP Photo/David Goldman

In late March, Congress passed a significant spending bill that included US$380 million in state grants to improve election infrastructure. As the U.S. ramps up for the 2018 midterm elections, that may seem like a huge amount of money, but it’s really only a start at securing the country’s voting systems.

A 2015 report by the Brennan Center law and policy institute at New York University estimates overhauling the nation’s voting system could cost more than $1 billion – though the price could be partially offset by more efficient contracting. Most voting equipment hasn’t been updated since the early 2000s. At times, election officials must buy voting machine hardware on eBay, because the companies that made them are no longer in business. Even when working properly, those machines are not secure: At the 2017 DEF CON hacker conference, attackers took control of several voting machines in a matter of minutes.

Securing electoral systems across the U.S. is a big problem with high stakes. This federal money being provided to states now may not be the last of its kind, but it’s what’s available right away, and it must be used as efficiently as possible.

1. A reliable backup system: Paper ballots

The security community has been clamoring for paper ballots for years. Now, with evidence of election hacking in 2016 and the vivid demonstration of voting machine vulnerability, the idea is gaining traction.

Paper ballots aren’t perfect – remember “hanging chads”? – but they provide a physical record that can be compared to electronic records. And if there are discrepancies between the two, paper provides a way to track down the source of the problem. Even if votes are counted electronically, keeping paper ballots provides a way to validate and verify the results if they’re in question – rather than just hoping the electronics are secure.

2. Examining the whole problem

Discussing the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence’s investigation into Russian efforts to manipulate state election systems, Chairman Richard Burr, a North Carolina Republican, said, “It’s clear the Russian government was looking for vulnerabilities.” U.S. election officials should do the same: Probe election systems to identify weaknesses, but then also fix them.

And like the Russians, the U.S. must think about the entire electoral system. Beyond the machines that tabulate votes, which have been at the center of the conversation, there are many other pieces in the system. These include the ways people register to vote, where their records are kept, and how they are verified at the polls as legitimate voters. And there’s what happens after votes are tabulated, as they’re being reported from individual polling places to central municipal records and up to state election officials.

At least 10 states’ voting registration systems were compromised, most likely by the Russians in the lead-up to the 2016 U.S. presidential election. Despite relief that votes themselves were not changed, these registration systems dictate who is allowed to vote and where, and how voting materials (like referendum information and absentee ballots) are distributed. Elections are often determined by small margins. Selectively disenfranchising a small percentage of voters could very well swing the results.

3. Securing voters, not just machines

Election security isn’t a problem that will be solved just with technology. Democracy depends on people – specifically, their trust that the system is valid and secure. If that trust continues to erode, fewer of them will participate in elections, and some may begin to reject officially reported results.

In 2016, voter turnout was at a 20-year low, with only 55 percent of eligible citizens casting votes. Younger voters have lower turnout than older voters – for example, while more than 70 percent of eligible voters over the age of 60 cast votes in 2016, only 43 percent of people in the 18-to-29-year-old bracket did so.

The government must not only act, but also reassure the electorate that those actions reflect how seriously officials are taking public concerns. States may want to consider something similar to the “Hack the Pentagon” program, which has been publicly visible as well as effective in flushing out security issues in specific Defense Department systems. “Whether you’re a well-funded government like the U.S. or anyone else, you have to work with the hacker community,” said Katie Moussouris, who helped start “Hack the Pentagon” and also created Microsoft’s bug bounty program. It’s a bold move, but inviting white-hat hackers to publicly probe election systems – and paying them for information on the vulnerabilities they find – would show voters that states are serious about solving problems.

The ConversationThere is a lot of work to do to secure U.S. elections, but $380 million is a good way to start. If states spend it in the most meaningful ways – patching both their machines and the population’s trust – they will build a system that’s secure, trustworthy and works for all the people.

About The Author

Jamie Winterton, Director of Strategy, Global Security Initiative, Arizona State University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

While We Still Have Time: The Perils Of Electronic Voting Machines And Democracy’s Solution: Publicly Observed, Secure Hand-Counted Paper Ballots (HCPB) Elections
electionAuthor: Sheila Parks Ed.D.
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $12.95

Buy Now

Protecting the 2016 Elections from Cyber and Voting Machine Attacks
electionAuthor: Space, and Technology House of Representatives Committee on Science
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $18.95

Buy Now

Electronic Elections: The Perils and Promises of Digital Democracy
electionAuthor: R. Michael Alvarez
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Princeton University Press
List Price: $27.95

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}