5 طرق ينقذ فيها كبار السن العالم الآن

5 طرق ينقذ فيها كبار السن العالم الآن
الصورة عن طريق جيرد التمان

حان الوقت لإعادة التفكير في قوة كبار السن لدينا. إنهم أي شيء سوى الهش. إنهم أقوى ، وأكثر ذكاءً ، وأكثر مرونة مما يحصلون عليه. والآن ، هم مورد لا يقدر بثمن ولا يمكننا تحمله.

يعتبر كبار السن من بين أقوى القادة والنشطاء اليوم - والعديد منهم على الخطوط الأمامية. لنأخذ على سبيل المثال الدكتور أنتوني فوسي ، الذي يبلغ من العمر 79 عامًا نموذجًا للخبرة والتركيز والهدوء ، وكان المسؤول الأعلى في المعاهد الوطنية للصحة منذ عام 1984. رئيسة مجلس النواب نانسي بيلوسي تبلغ من العمر 80 عامًا ولا تظهر أي علامات على التباطؤ. ولا قاضية المحكمة العليا روث بدر جينسبيرغ ، التي كانت في 87 من عمرها قد كتبت للتو معارضة شديدة ورائعة ستنتهي في كتب التاريخ.

يكشف الحزم والقوة الذي يظهره كبار السن عن مدى خطأ الشيخوخة المضللة - ولماذا يترك مجتمعنا بأكمله في حيرة. نحن بحاجة إلى طريقة جديدة لعرض هذه المرحلة في الحياة واحتضان هداياها. ويبدأ بالاعتراف بالمساهمات المذهلة التي يقدمها كبار السن. فيما يلي خمسة أمثلة لكبار السن يثبتون أنه في ما يسمى سنوات الشفق ، هم أضواء مشرقة كما لو كانت مشرقة:

1. العودة إلى حقولهم لرد الجميل

أعادت الدعوة الأخيرة لموظفي الرعاية الصحية لمحاربة COVID-19 MD من ولاية بنسلفانيا ، الدكتور جون غالاغر مرة أخرى تطوع بعد أشهر قليلة فقط من تقاعده عن عمر 65 عامًا. وهو يعتبر الحاجة أكبر من مخاوفه الفردية - ويقول ، "علينا أن نؤدي دورنا. لا يمكننا ترك الناس معلقين هناك."

إن الممرضات والأطباء المتقاعدين وشبه المتقاعدين من سن 60 عامًا عائدون إلى العمل للمساعدة. ينضم الكثيرون من خلال منظمات مثل فيلق الاحتياطي الطبي في مدينة نيويورك ، والذي يوفر عددًا كبيرًا من الموظفين المتطوعين الطبيين المدربين من جميع الأعمار.

2. المساهمة في الاقتصاد

عندما تعود الأمور إلى طبيعتها ، سيظل كبار السن هم الذين يساهمون في الاقتصاد - إذا تم استبعاد العمر من المعادلة. An تحليل من التكلفة الاقتصادية للتمييز على أساس السن من قبل AARP وجدت أن الاقتصاد الأمريكي خسر ما يقدر بـ 850 مليار دولار من خلال فقدان الأجور وإنفاق المستهلكين بسبب التمييز على أساس السن في عام 2018.

إزالة التحيز العمري والمساهمة الاقتصادية للأمريكيين الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 50 عامًا أو أكثر يمكن أن تزيد بمقدار 3.9 تريليون دولار سنويًا ، لتضيف ما يصل إلى 32.1 تريليون دولار إلى الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الأمريكي بحلول عام 2050. حتى ونحن نعمل على إعادة بدء الاقتصاد على المدى القصير ، نحن بحاجة إلى مساهمة كبار السن.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


3. التعبئة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

اتخذ كبار السن وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لقيادة حملات فعالة للغاية. شاهد جين فوندا ، 81 عامًا الآن ، والتي تستخدم وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي منذ عام 2009. لقد قامت بتوجيهها ببراعة إلى أداة لا تصدق للنشاط ، حيث جمعت مئات الآلاف وهي ترفع الوعي باحتجاجاتها المناخية "Fire Drill Fridayays".

استفادت مؤخرًا من شهرتها كملكة تمرين لجمع التبرعات لتغير المناخ والأسباب ذات الصلة بـ COVID-19: أعادت تدريباتها الشهيرة على Tik-Tok ، وهي الآن تتبرع بجميع العائدات من بيع ملابس التمرين إلى الفوائد خارج خدمة العمل الموظفين.

4. إلهام الأطفال ليصبحوا مواطنين عالميين

أصبحت كاثي شيرير ، 77 عامًا ، متخصصة في المهام الدولية ، حيث تساعد المديرين التنفيذيين ورجال الأعمال على الانتقال إلى الأدوار العالمية وخارجها. في تصميم التدريبات المؤثرة في المهام الدولية ، رأت أهمية المنظور العالمي في الأعمال التجارية اليوم. ثم حولت خبرتها إلى كتابة الكتب وتصميم البرامج لمساعدة الأجيال القادمة على التفكير كمواطنين عالميين.

عملها يساعد الشباب على إدراك أنهم جزء من كوكب ، وليس دولة - وهو شيء سيستمر في أن يكون نهجًا حاسمًا في المستقبل بعد COVID-19.

5. الشهادة ضد ICE

دكتور جيلبرت كليمان هو خبير في الصدمة النفسية للأطفال ويعمل في عدد من المجالس الرئيسية. كما أنه طيار مرخص. وألغى خططه "لإبطاء" في سن 88 ، عندما بدأ ICE يفصل بين الأطفال والآباء على الحدود. وبدلاً من ذلك ، بدأ حملة نشطة للقتال نيابة عن الأطفال.

بالاعتماد على خبرته الهائلة في البحث والعلاج وكشاهد في عدد لا يحصى من قضايا المحاكم ، بدأ في تقديم شهادة الشهود الرئيسية في القضية المتزايدة ضد حكومة الولايات المتحدة نيابة عن المعتقلين. للوصول إلى المحاكم في جميع أنحاء البلاد والحدود بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك ، يسافر ببساطة هناك بنفسه.

هؤلاء كبار السن المميزون هم مجرد قطرة في الدلو. إنهم والمواهب والمساهمات الهائلة التي يمثلونها هي قضية مقنعة ضد التحيز ضد الشيخوخة والسياسات المضللة. بدلاً من عزل كبار السن في دور رعاية المسنين - حيث قد يكونون أكثر عرضة للخطر ، وليس أكثر أمانًا ، خلال هذا الوباء - نحن بحاجة إلى دعوتهم لمشاركة حكمتهم وطاقتهم ونشاطهم.

نحن نرى أن بعض أقوى الأصوات في مكافحة هذا الوباء جيدة على مدى سن التقاعد. إنها دليل على أننا بحاجة إلى التوقف عن اعتبار كبار السن هشاشة. إنهم أي شيء ولكن. القيود الصحية أم لا ، نحن بحاجة إلى الترحيب بقوتهم. العالم بحاجة إليهم.

© 2020 بقلم ثيلما ريس. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

تأليف هذا المؤلف

كيف ينقذ كبار السن العالم: نشاط التقاعد للإنقاذ!
بواسطة Thelma Reese و BJ Kittredge.

كيف ينقذ كبار السن العالم: نشاط التقاعد للإنقاذ! بواسطة Thelma Reese و BJ Kittredge.في الوقت الذي تصنع فيه وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي "خبراء نقر" ضحالين للكثيرين ، فإن الأشخاص في كتابنا هم ناشطون حقيقيون. إن تفانيهم يتخطى جميع الخطوط المجتمعية - العرقية والسياسية والدينية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية. البعض اعتبروا أنفسهم نشطاء. يجد البعض أن هذه المرحلة من الحياة تجلب منظورًا جديدًا ينتج عنه الحاجة إلى القيام بأكثر من القول. إنهم يخبروننا ، بكلماتهم الخاصة ، لماذا ولماذا ومعنى نشاطهم المحدد. بالنسبة لهم ، فإن الوقت يحمل فرصة حتى مع أن الشيخوخة تجلب إحساسًا بالإلحاح. إن شغفهم وتوقعاتهم رائعة ، وبطرق عديدة ملهمة. بالنسبة للبعض ، يقدم نشاطهم إجابة واحدة على السؤال ، "لماذا أنا (ما زلت) هنا؟" وأسباب مباشرة للنهوض في الصباح.

لمزيد من المعلومات ، أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle.)

حول المؤلف

ثيلما ريسثيلما ريس وهو مؤلف من المرأة العليا الجديدة ومنظمة الأغذية الرجل الجديد الكبير ومبدع المدونة ، www.ElderChicks.com. وهي أستاذة متقاعدة في اللغة الإنجليزية والتعليم ، والمتحدث الرسمي السابق لـ Hooked on Phonics ، وكانت نشطة منذ فترة طويلة في المبادرات التعليمية والثقافية الوطنية ومقرها فيلادلفيا. BJ Kittredge هو اختصاصي ومعلم سابق في الرعاية الصحية. كتابهم الجديد هو كيف ينقذ كبار السن العالم: نشاط التقاعد للإنقاذ!

مقابلة مع ثيلما ريس: المرأة الجديدة
(تبدأ المقابلة الساعة 7:02)

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
by كاثرين موفيت برادفورد وآخرون
لماذا قد لا يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم أفضل مؤشر لصحتنا
لماذا قد لا يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم أفضل مؤشر لصحتنا
by كارين كولمان وسارة ساوتشيلي توران

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

5 Ways Seniors Are Saving The World Right Now

5 Ways Seniors Are Saving The World Right Now
Image by Gerd Altmann

It's time to rethink the strength of our seniors. They're anything but fragile. They're stronger, smarter and more resilient than they're getting credit for. And right now, they're an invaluable resource we can't afford to overlook.

Seniors are among today's most powerful leaders and activists — and many are on the front lines. Consider Dr. Anthony Fauci, who at 79 is a model of expertise, focus and composure and has been the top official at the NIH since 1984. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi is 80 and shows no signs of slowing down. Nor does Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, who at 87 just wrote a blistering and brilliant dissent that will wind up in the history books.

The grit and strength seniors are showing is revealing just how wrong and misguided ageism is — and why it leaves our whole society at a loss. We need a new way to view this phase in life and to embrace its gifts. And it starts by recognizing the amazing contributions seniors are making. Here are five examples of seniors proving that in the so-called twilight years, they are lights that are shining as brightly as ever:

1. Returning to their fields to give back

The recent call for health care personnel to fight COVID-19 has brought a Pennsylvania M.D, Dr. John Gallagher back as a volunteer just a few months after retiring at age 65. He considers the need greater than his individual fears — and says, "We've got to play our part. We can't leave people hanging out there."

Retired and semi-retired nurses and doctors from the age of 60 on are getting back in action to help. Many are joining through organizations such as New York City's Medical Reserve Corps, which provides surge staffing of trained medical volunteers of all ages.

2. Contributing to the economy

When things return to normal, it will continue to be seniors that contribute to the economy — if ageism is taken out of the equation. An analysis of the economic cost of age discrimination by AARP found that the U.S. economy lost an estimated $850 billion through lost wages and consumer spending because of age discrimination in 2018.

Remove age bias and the economic contribution of Americans ages 50 and older could increase by $3.9 trillion annually, adding up to $32.1 trillion to US gross domestic product (GDP) by 2050. Even as we work to restart the economy in the short-term, we need seniors' contribution.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


3. Mobilizing on social media

Seniors have taken to social media to spearhead highly effective campaigns. Witness Jane Fonda, now 81, who has been using social media since 2009. She's masterfully channeled it into an incredible tool for activism, gathering hundreds of thousands as she raises awareness with her "Fire Drill Fridays" climate protests.

Recently she leveraged her fame as a workout queen to fundraise for climate change and COVID-19 related causes: she brought back her iconic workouts on Tik-Tok, and is now donating all the proceeds from selling her workout wear to benefits out of work service employees.

4. Inspiring children to become global citizens

Cathy Scherer, 77, became a specialist in international assignments, helping executives and business people make transitions to and out of global roles. Designing influential trainings on international assignments, she saw the importance a global perspective would have in business today. She then turned her expertise to writing books and designing programs to helping the next generations think as global citizens.

Her work is helping young people realize they're part of a planet, not a country — something that will continue to be a critical approach in a post COVID-19 future.

5. Bearing witness against I.C.E.

Gilbert Kliman, M.D. is an expert on children's psychological trauma and serves on a number of major boards. He's also a licensed pilot. He scuttled his plans to "slow down" at the age of 88, when I.C.E began separating children and parents at the border. Instead, he began an active campaign to fight on the children's behalf.

Drawing on his formidable expertise in research, treatment and as a testifying witness in countless court cases, he began providing key witness testimony in the growing case against the U.S. government on behalf of detainees. To reach courts around the country and the U.S./Mexico border, he simply flies there himself.

These remarkable seniors are just a drop in the bucket. They and the formidable talents and contributions they represent are a compelling case against ageism and misguided policies. Rather than isolating seniors in nursing homes — where they may be increasingly vulnerable, not safer, during this pandemic — we need to be inviting them to share their wisdom, energy and activism.

We're seeing that some of the strongest voices in the fight against this pandemic are well over retirement age. They're proof that we need to stop pigeonholing seniors as fragile. They're anything but. Health limitations or not, we need to welcome their power. The world needs them.

©2020 by Thelma Reese. All Rights Reserved.

Book co-authored by this Author

How Seniors Are Saving the World: Retirement Activism to the Rescue!
by Thelma Reese and BJ Kittredge.

How Seniors Are Saving the World: Retirement Activism to the Rescue! by Thelma Reese and BJ Kittredge.In a time when social media make shallow “clicktivists” of so many, the people in our book are true activists. Their dedication crosses all societal lines – ethnic, political, religious, and socio-economic. Some have always considered themselves activists. Some find that this stage of life brings a new perspective that results in the need to do more than say. They tell us, in their own words the what, why, and meaning of their specific activism. Time, for them, holds opportunity even as aging brings a sense of urgency. Their passion and outlooks are fascinating and, in many ways, inspirational. For some, their activism provides one answer to the question, “Why am I (still) here?” and immediate reasons to get up in the morning.

For more info, or to order this book, click here. (Also available as a Kindle edition.)

About the Authors

Thelma ReeseThelma Reese is the author of The New Senior Woman and The New Senior Man and creator of the blog, www.ElderChicks.com. She's a retired professor of English and Education, the former spokesperson for Hooked on Phonics, and has long been active in national and Philadelphia-based educational and cultural initiatives. BJ Kittredge is a former health care professional and educator. Their new book is How Seniors Are Saving the World: Retirement Activism to the Rescue!

Interview with Thelma Reese: The New Senior Woman
(interview starts at 7:02)

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…