Эмпатия и новые способы подключения возросли на протяжении истории человечества

Социальное дистанцирование усилилось в ходе истории человечества - но вместе с тем сочувствие и новые способы подключения Чтение позволяет вам испытать другое время, место, даже ум. Бен Уайт / Unsplash, CC BY

Социальное дистанцирование жизненно важно в настоящий момент. В то время как усиление изоляции и интервалов между новыми радикальными мерами шокирует многих, социальное дистанцирование не ново, если вы посмотрите на долгую перспективу - очень долгую.

Как учёный и ученый, изучающий эмпатиюЯ вижу историю человечества как процесс усиления социального дистанцирования. Попутно возникла эмпатия, чтобы преодолеть расширяющиеся разрывы, позволяя физически дистанцироваться, в то же время поощряя психические узы. Фактически, я предполагаю, что культурные практики эмпатии со временем менялись, от простого отслеживания других до «совместное переживание ситуаций других" издалека.

Оставаться на связи через более широкие пространства

Наши древние африканские предки жили группами по 150 человек. По мнению эволюционного психолога Робин Данбарлюди могли жить в этих больших группах, потому что они разработали новые формы социального взаимодействия их предшественники не имели.

Социальное дистанцирование усилилось в ходе истории человечества - но вместе с тем сочувствие и новые способы подключения Уход - это способ поддерживать отношения для нечеловеческих приматов. Ануп Шах / Каменная коллекция с помощью Getty Images

Наши человеческие предки заменили физический уход, который связывал других обезьян сплетнями. Посредством социальной болтовни эти первые люди могли сосредоточить внимание на членах своей группы. Физическая дистанция может увеличиваться, в то время как члены группы остаются близкими по-новому, отслеживая друг друга через разговорный язык. Груминг устарел.

Где-то в переходе нашего вида от полностью кочевого существования к более постоянным жилищам возникли разлуки. Пещеры и стены объединяют небольшие группы, но отделяют их от других. Хотя исследователи мало что знают об этом периоде времени, у них есть обнаружил потрясающие наскальные рисунки датируясь много тысячелетий, которые изображают сцены охоты. Невозможно сказать, представляют ли эти образы воспоминания о прошлых охотах или мифологических сценах, но они иллюстрируют, как воображение преодолевает стены.

Перенесемся в раннюю современность: живые сообщества стали меньше и нуклеарная семья мать-отец-ребенок стала новой нормой, Эта семейная структура стала исключать дальнейшее удаление родственников и членов семьи. В эпоху нуклеарной семьи социальная дистанция чрезвычайно возросла. Не просто разделение, но конфиденциальность стала ключевой ценностью, Около 1800 года Романтики праздновали пребывание в очень маленькой группе и одиночество.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Снова появилась новая техника эмпатии, которая сделала новую социальную дистанцию ​​приемлемой: Роман, Романы дали людям возможность испытать то, что чувствовали другие издалека. Эмпатия теперь стала оторванной от близости времени и пространства, а фактически и реальности. Вы можете сидеть один в своей комнате и чувствовать себя вместе с другими.

Сочувствие может стать универсальным и распространяться на всех, в том числе и в отдаленных местах. Как утверждал историк Линн Хант, Идея прав человека родилась и возникла параллельно к сентиментальному роману.

Как эмпатия изолирует себя

Социальное дистанцирование усилилось в ходе истории человечества - но вместе с тем сочувствие и новые способы подключения Открытие Коха помогло превратить контакт с другими в узнаваемый риск. Фото 12 / Универсальная группа изображений с помощью Getty Images

В 1882 году микробиолог Роберт Кох идентифицировал бактерии которые вызывают и передают туберкулез. Его открытие изменило то, как люди видят друг друга - возможность передачи микробов делает контакт с другими риском.

Следовательно, международное движение гигиены возникла на рубеже 20-го века. Стратегия победы, чтобы справиться с риском контакта, тогда и теперь, является самоконтролем: тактика как режимы очистки и самоизоляция. В отношении себя и других, я стало доминирующим в западной культуре.

В это же время произошло кое-что интересное: Эмпатия также стала больше относиться к себе, чем к другим. На самом деле, примерно в это время само слово «эмпатия» было придумано, Он был создан, чтобы перевести понятие «Einfühlung» из немецкой теории искусства, что буквально означает чувствовать себя в произведении искусства. В этой концепции человек, практикующий эмпатию, сталкивается с артефактом, а не с другим человеком.

С 2000 года социальные сети создали новую смесь социальной дистанции и эмпатии. Пока исследователи не сошлись во мнении, будут ли социальные сети снижение or увеличить социальные связи, время, проведенное в социальных сетях, - это время, проведенное без физической близости с другими людьми.

Эти технологии превратили небольшую группу друзей в аморфную группу последователей на расстоянии. Эти сети увеличивают социальную дистанцию, удовлетворяя потребность в социальной связи. Лайки и ретвиты обеспечивают приятное чувство значимости для других. Таким образом, наличие резонанса в Интернете обеспечивает физическое социальное дистанцирование и, возможно, психическое социальное дистанцирование.

Социальное дистанцирование усилилось в ходе истории человечества - но вместе с тем сочувствие и новые способы подключения Поскольку бизнес закрыт и многие общественные места закрыты, люди не могут собираться и общаться лично. AP Photo / Patrick Semansky

Социальное дистанцирование в 2020 году

Человеческая траектория увеличения социальной дистанции в сочетании с новыми формами эмпатии и смежными техниками, от чтения романа до социальных сетей, может свидетельствовать о том, что люди настроены выдерживать нынешнюю социально отдаленную ситуацию.

И тем не менее, есть и другая сторона того, что происходит сейчас. Хотя на протяжении тысячелетий люди приспосабливались к различным формам дистанцирования, мы не теряли призывов к близости. Большинство людей жаждут присутствия людей, настоящих физических существ с телами и эмоциями.

Как вид, так и индивидуально, люди действительно могут адаптироваться к социальной дистанции. Но я предлагаю, чтобы время от времени мы хотели оставить все эти приспособления позади и просто встречаться с людьми и общаться. Мы можем даже заново открыть для себя некоторую форму ухода.

Об авторе

Фриц Брайтаупт, профессор-проректор по когнитивным наукам и германистике, Университет Индианы, Университет Индианы

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Три шага для пересмотра наших планетарных историй
Три шага для пересмотра наших планетарных историй
by Элизабет Э. Мичам, доктор философии

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Как поддерживать более медленный темп жизни после блокировки
Как поддерживать более медленный темп жизни после блокировки
by Джана М. Экхардт и Катарина С. Гусеманн

ОТ РЕДАКТОРОВ

Голубые глаза против коричневых глаз: как учат расизму
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний
В этом эпизоде ​​Oprah Show 1992 года отмеченная наградами активистка и пропагандист антирасизма Джейн Эллиотт преподала аудитории сложный урок о расизме, демонстрируя, насколько легко выучить предрассудки.
Изменения придут ...
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний
(30 мая 2020 г.) Когда я смотрю новости о событиях в Филадельфии и других городах страны, мое сердце болит от того, что происходит. Я знаю, что это часть больших перемен, которые происходят ...
Песня может поднять сердце и душу
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний
У меня есть несколько способов, с помощью которых я могу избавиться от темноты, когда обнаружу, что она закралась. Один из них - садоводство или времяпровождение на природе. Другое молчание. Еще один способ чтения. И тот, который ...
Почему Дональд Трамп может быть самым большим неудачником в истории
by Роберт Дженнингс, InnerSelf.com
Вся эта пандемия коронавируса стоит целого состояния, может быть, 2, 3 или 4 состояния, неизвестного размера. О да, и сотни тысяч, а может и миллион людей умрут преждевременно как прямая ...
Талисман для пандемии и тематической песни для социального разделения и изоляции
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний
Недавно я натолкнулся на песню и, слушая тексты песен, подумал, что это будет идеальная песня как «тематическая песня» для времен социальной изоляции. (Тексты под видео.)

Empathy And New Ways To Connect Have Increased Over The Course Of Human History

Social Distancing Increased Over The Course Of Human History – But So Did Empathy And New Ways To Connect Reading lets you experience another time, place, even mind. Ben White/Unsplash, CC BY

Social distancing is vital in the present moment. While the increased isolation and spacing of the new drastic measures come as shock to many people, social distancing is not new if you take the long view – the very long view.

As a cognitive scientist and scholar who studies empathy, I see human history as a process of increasing social distancing. Along the way, empathy emerged to bridge the widening gaps, allowing physical distance while encouraging mental bonds. In fact, I suggest that cultural practices of empathy changed over time, from mere tracking of others to “co-experiencing the situations of others” from a distance.

Staying connected over wider spaces

Our ancient African ancestors lived in groups of perhaps 150 individuals. According to evolutionary psychologist Robin Dunbar, human beings could live in these larger groups because they developed new forms of social interaction their predecessors didn’t have.

Social Distancing Increased Over The Course Of Human History – But So Did Empathy And New Ways To Connect Grooming is a way of maintaining relationships for nonhuman primates. Anup Shah/Stone Collection via Getty Images

Our human ancestors replaced the physical grooming that bonded other apes with gossiping. By means of social chitchat, these first humans could focus attention on the members of their group. Physical distance could grow, while group members stayed close in a new mental way by tracking each other through spoken language. Grooming became obsolete.

Somewhere in our species’ transition from a fully nomadic existence to more permanent dwellings, separations emerged. Caves and walls unite smaller groups, but separate them from others. While researchers don’t know much about this time period, they have discovered stunning cave paintings dating back many thousands of years that depict hunting scenes. It’s impossible to say whether these images represent memories of past hunts or mythological scenes, but they illustrate how imagination transcends the walls.

Fast forward to the early modern age: Living communities became smaller and the nuclear family of mother-father-child became the new norm. This family structure started to exclude further removed relatives and members of the household. In the age of the nuclear family, social distance grew tremendously. Not just separation, but privacy became a key value. Around 1800, the Romantics celebrated being in a very small group and being alone.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Again, a new technique of empathy emerged that made the new social distance palatable: the novel. Novels provided people with a way to experience what others felt from a far off distance. Empathy now became detached from proximity of time and space, and in fact, reality. You can sit alone in your room and feel with and for others.

Empathy could become universal and apply to everyone, including in far away places. As the historian Lynn Hunt has argued, the idea of human rights was born and emerged parallel to the sentimental novel.

How empathy isolates the self

Social Distancing Increased Over The Course Of Human History – But So Did Empathy And New Ways To Connect Koch’s discovery helped transform contact with others into a recognizable risk. Photo 12/Universal Images Group via Getty Images

In 1882, the microbiologist Robert Koch identified the bacteria that cause and transmit tuberculosis. His discovery changed how people view each other – the possibility of passing germs makes contact with others a risk.

Consequently, the international hygiene movement emerged around the turn of the 20th century. The winning strategy to cope with the risk of contact, then and now, is self-control: tactics like cleaning regimes and self-isolation. In the relation of self and other, the self became dominant in Western culture.

Something interesting happened at the same time: Empathy also became more about the self than the other. In fact, it was around this time that the very word “empathy” was coined. It was born to translate the concept of “Einfühlung” from German art theory, which literally means feeling yourself into an artwork. In this concept, the individual who practices empathy faces an artifact, not another human being.

Since 2000, social media have cultivated a new mixture of social distance and empathy. While researchers have not generally agreed whether social media decrease or increase social bonds, time spent on social media is time spent without physical proximity to other people.

These technologies have transformed one’s small cliques of friends to an amorphous collection of followers at a distance. These networks increase social distance by satisfying the need for social connection. Likes and retweets provide the pleasant feeling of mattering to others. Having resonance on the internet thus enables physical social distancing and perhaps mental social distancing, too.

Social Distancing Increased Over The Course Of Human History – But So Did Empathy And New Ways To Connect With businesses closed and many public spaces off-limits, people aren’t able to gather and interact in person. AP Photo/Patrick Semansky

Social distancing in 2020

The human trajectory of increasing social distance paired with new forms of empathy and related techniques, ranging from novel-reading to social media, might suggest that people are set to weather the current socially distanced situation.

And yet, there’s another side to what is happening now. While over the millennia, human beings have adapted to various forms of distancing, we have not lost the appeals of being close. Most people crave the presence of people, real physical beings with bodies and emotions.

As a species and individually, people indeed can adapt to social distance. But I suggest that once in a while we want to leave all of these adaptations behind and just meet people and rub shoulders. We may even rediscover some form of grooming.

About The Author

Fritz Breithaupt, Provost Professor in Cognitive Science and Germanic Studies, Indiana University, Indiana University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Our culture has relegated aging to the closet. It is not something to be discussed, or even done,…
citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
women peering through an opening in a dark wall
Nourishing the Sunrise of Peace with Love and Music
by Christopher Grosso
Yes, love your brother. Yes, live in harmony with nature. But first and foremost, pave the way for…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.