Как Америка развелась с реальностью: христианские утопии, антиэлитизм, медиа-цирк

Американцы по своей природе немного сумасшедшие. Но теперь сумасшедшие становятся доступными для политиков в Белом доме и в Интернете. Как именно это стало так плохо?

Американцы всегда были волшебными мыслителями и страстными верующими в неправду. Мы были основаны пуританами в Новой Англии, которые хотели создать и создали христианскую утопию и теократию, поскольку они ждали выдающегося второго пришествия Христа и конца дней. И на юге группой людей, которые были убеждены, абсолютно убеждены, что это место, где они никогда не были, были полны золота только для того, чтобы быть вырванным из грязи в Вирджинии, и они оставались там, ища и надеясь на золото в течение 20 лет, прежде чем они наконец, столкнулся с фактами и доказательствами и решил, что они не собираются разбогатеть там за одну ночь. Так что это было начало. И потом, в прошлом столетии у нас были веками остроумный шарлатанство с покупателем и медицинское шарлатанство до крайности, и все более экзотические экстравагантные неправдоподобные религии снова и снова от мормонизма до христианской науки и саентологии.

И у нас была эта новость: «Я не собираюсь доверять экспертам, я не собираюсь доверять элите» от нашего персонажа с самого начала. Теперь все эти вещи собрались вместе и были заряжены в 1960, когда вы имели право на свою собственную правду и свою собственную реальность. Затем появилось поколение спустя, когда появился Интернет, предоставив каждой из этих реальностей, независимо от того, являются ли они ложными, магическими или чокнутыми, свой вид медиа-инфраструктуры. У нас были развлечения, опять же за последние пару сотен лет, но особенно в последние годы 50, пронизывающие всю оставшуюся жизнь, включая президентскую политику от Джона Ф. Кеннеди через Рональда Рагана до Билла Клинтона. Таким образом, Дональд Трамп задумал использовать все эти различные темы и удивительным образом стать президентом, но затем вы смотрите на эту историю, и, похоже, мы не ожидали этого.

Идея Америки с самого начала заключалась в том, что вы можете прийти сюда, изобрести себя, быть кем угодно, жить так, как вам хочется, верить во что угодно. В течение первых нескольких сотен лет, как и везде в мире, знаменитость и слава были результатом какого-то достижения или достижения, иногда не большого достижения или достижения, но вы сделали что-то в мире, чтобы заработать известность. Америка действительно была ключевым местом, которое изобрело современную культуру знаменитостей, которая, начиная с столетия назад, все больше и больше не обязательно о том, чтобы выиграть войну или руководить народом, или написать великую книгу, или нарисовать великую картину, а о том, чтобы стать знаменитым. Слава ради себя. Мы создали это, мы создали Голливуд, мы создали целую индустрию культуры, и тогда это стало тем, что я называю индустриально-фэнтезийным комплексом, где, безусловно, за последние несколько десятилетий больше, чем когда-либо прежде, чем кто-либо мог себе представить, слава сама, однако вы получил, был основной целью для людей.

И опять же, как и многие другие вещи, о которых я говорю в Fantasyland, не только в Америке, но и здесь, больше, чем где бы то ни было. И затем вы получаете телевидение реалити-шоу, которое было этим нечестивым гибридом вымышленного и реального для последнего нынешнего поколения, где эта воля между тем, что реально, а что нет, волей-неволей закачивается в наш медиапоток. Сейчас на телевидении больше реалити-шоу, чем было на телевидении 20 лет назад. И это еще один способ, чтобы никто не стал знаменитым за одну ночь. YouTube - еще один способ стать знаменитостью за одну ночь, когда почти ничего не делает или ничего не делает.

Подробнее на BigThink.com: http://bigthink.com/videos/kurt-andersen-magical-thinking-americas-most-enduring-quality

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = 0812978900; maxresults = 1}

{AmazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = Анти-элитарность; maxresults = 2}


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии

How America Got Divorced from Reality: Christian Utopias, Anti-Elitism, Media Circus

Americans are inherently a little crazy. But now the crazy is being enabled by politicians in the White House and by the internet. How exactly did it get so bad?

Americans have always been magical thinkers and passionate believers in the untrue. We were started by the Puritans in New England who wanted to create and did create a Christian utopia and theocracy as they waited for the eminent second coming of Christ and the end of days. And in the south by a bunch of people who were convinced, absolutely convinced that this place they’d never been was full of gold just to be plucked from the dirt in Virginia and they stayed there looking and hoping for gold for 20 years before they finally faced the facts and the evidence and decided that they weren’t going to get rich overnight there. So that was the beginning. And then we’ve had centuries of buyer-beware charlatanism to an extreme degree and medical quackery to an extreme degree and increasingly exotic extravagant implausible religions over and over again from Mormonism to Christian Science to Scientology in the last century.

And we’ve had this antiestablishment "I’m not going to trust the experts, I’m not going to trust the elite" from our character from the beginning. Now all those things came together and were super-charged in the 1960s when you were entitled to your own truth and your own reality. Then a generation later when the Internet came along, giving each of those realities, no matter how false or magical or nutty they are, their own kind of media infrastructure. We had entertainment, again for the last couple hundred years, but especially in the last 50 years permeating all the rest of life, including Presidential politics from John F. Kennedy through Ronald Ragan to Bill Clinton. So the thing was set up for Donald Trump to exploit all these various American threads and astonishingly become president, but then you look at this history and it’s like no we should have seen this coming.

The idea of America from the beginning was that you could come here, reinvent yourself, be anybody you want, live any way you wanted, believe any thing you wanted. For the first few hundred years, like everywhere else in the world, celebrity and fame were a result of some kind of accomplishment or achievement, sometimes not a great accomplishment or achievement, but you did something in the world to earn renown. America really was the key place that invented the modern celebrity culture, which was, beginning a century ago, more and more not necessarily about having won a war or led a people or written a great book or painted a great painting, but about being famous, fame for its own sake. We created that, we created Hollywood, we created the whole culture industry and that then became what I call the fantasy industrial complex where, certainly in the last few decades more than ever more than anybody thought possible before, fame itself, however you’ve got it, was a primary goal for people.

And again, as so many of the things I talk about in Fantasyland, not uniquely to America but more here than anywhere. And then you get reality television, which was this unholy hybrid of the fictional and the real for the last now generation where that blur between what’s real and what’s not is pumped into our media stream willy-nilly. There are now more reality shows on television than there were shows on television 20 years ago. And that’s another way for nobodies to become famous overnight. YouTube, another way for nobodies to become a famous overnight for doing almost nothing or nothing.

Read more at BigThink.com: http://bigthink.com/videos/kurt-andersen-magical-thinking-americas-most-enduring-quality

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=0812978900;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Anti-Elitism;maxresults=2}


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…