كيف انفصلت أمريكا عن الواقع: كريستيان يوتوبيا ، معاداة النخبة ، السيرك الإعلامي

الأمريكيون بطبيعتهم مجنونون بعض الشيء. ولكن الآن يتم تمكين الجنون من قبل السياسيين في البيت الأبيض والإنترنت. كيف بالضبط حصلت عليه سيئة للغاية؟

لقد كان الأمريكيون دائمًا مفكرين سحريين ومؤمنين متحمسين في الحقيقة. بدأنا من قبل المتشددون في نيو إنجلاند الذين أرادوا إنشاء وعمل يوتوبيا مسيحية وثيوقراطية بينما كانوا ينتظرون المجيء الثاني البارز للمسيح ونهاية الأيام. وفي الجنوب من قبل مجموعة من الأشخاص الذين كانوا مقتنعين ، كانوا مقتنعين تمامًا بأن هذا المكان الذي لم يكن لديهم أبدًا من الذهب لمجرد انتزاعهم من الأوساخ في فرجينيا وبقوا هناك يبحثون ويأملون في الحصول على الذهب قبل سنوات 20 في النهاية واجهت الحقائق والأدلة وقرروا أنهم لن يثريوا هناك بين عشية وضحاها. كانت تلك هي البداية. وبعد ذلك ، كانت لدينا قرون من الدجال ، حذار من مشعوذ إلى درجة شديدة ، و quackery الطبية إلى أقصى درجة والديانات غير المعقولة الغريبة بشكل متزايد مرارا وتكرارا من المورمونية إلى العلوم المسيحية إلى السيانتولوجيا في القرن الماضي.

ولدينا هذه المؤسسة "لن أثق بالخبراء ، ولن أثق في النخبة" من شخصيتنا منذ البداية. الآن كل هذه الأشياء اجتمعت وتم تحميلها على 1960s عندما كان يحق لك الحصول على الحقيقة الخاصة بك وحقيقتك الخاصة. ثم بعد ذلك بجيل ، عندما جاء الإنترنت ، مع إعطاء كل هذه الحقائق ، بغض النظر عن مدى كاذبتها أو سحريتها أو جوزيها ، نوع البنية التحتية للوسائط الخاصة بها. كان لدينا الترفيه ، مرة أخرى على مدى المائتي سنة الماضية ، ولكن بشكل خاص في سنوات 50 الأخيرة التي تعمت طوال الحياة ، بما في ذلك السياسة الرئاسية من جون ف. كينيدي إلى رونالد راجان إلى بيل كلينتون. لذلك تم إعداد الأمر لدونالد ترامب لاستغلال كل هذه الخيوط الأمريكية المتنوعة وأصبح رئيسًا بشكل مدهش ، ولكن بعد ذلك تنظر إلى هذا التاريخ ، وليس مثلما كان ينبغي لنا أن نرى هذا قادمًا.

كانت فكرة أمريكا منذ البداية هي أنه يمكنك القدوم إلى هنا ، وإعادة اختراع نفسك ، أي شخص تريده ، تعيش بالطريقة التي تريدها ، تصدق أي شيء تريده. خلال المئات من السنين الأولى ، كما هو الحال في أي مكان آخر في العالم ، كان المشاهير والشهرة نتيجة نوع من الإنجاز أو الإنجاز ، وأحيانًا لم يكن إنجازًا أو إنجازًا رائعًا ، لكنك فعلت شيئًا في العالم لكسب شهرة. كانت أمريكا حقًا هي المكان الرئيسي الذي ابتكر ثقافة المشاهير الحديثة ، والتي كانت منذ قرن مضى أكثر وأكثر لا تعني بالضرورة الفوز في حرب أو قيادة شعب أو كتابة كتاب عظيم أو رسم لوحة رائعة ، ولكن عن كونها مشهورة ، الشهرة من أجلها. أنشأنا ذلك ، أنشأنا هوليود ، أنشأنا صناعة الثقافة بأكملها وأصبح ذلك ما أسميه المجمع الصناعي الخيالي ، حيث بالتأكيد ، في العقود القليلة الماضية أكثر من أي وقت مضى أكثر من أي وقت مضى أكثر من أي وقت مضى من قبل أي شخص كان من الممكن ، الشهرة نفسها ، ومع ذلك كنت حصلت عليه ، وكان الهدف الأساسي للناس.

ومرة أخرى ، مثل الكثير من الأشياء التي أتحدث عنها في Fantasyland ، ليس بشكل فريد لأمريكا ولكن هنا أكثر من أي مكان آخر. ثم تحصل على تلفزيون الواقع ، الذي كان هذا الهجين غير المقدس للجيل الخيالي والحقيقي للجيل الأخير الآن حيث يتم طمس ذلك بين ما هو حقيقي وما لا يتم ضخه في تدفق وسائل الإعلام لدينا بشكل رائع. يوجد الآن المزيد من برامج الواقع على شاشات التليفزيون مقارنة بما كانت عليه في برامج 20 منذ سنوات. وهذه طريقة أخرى لكي لا يصبح أي شخص مشهورًا بين عشية وضحاها. يوتيوب ، طريقة أخرى لكي لا يصبح أي شخص مشهورًا بين عشية وضحاها لأنه لم يفعل شيئًا أو لا شيء تقريبًا.

اقرأ المزيد في BigThink.com: http://bigthink.com/videos/kurt-andersen-magical-thinking-americas-most-enduring-quality

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 0812978900. maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = مكافحة النخبية، maxresults = 2}


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How America Got Divorced from Reality: Christian Utopias, Anti-Elitism, Media Circus

Americans are inherently a little crazy. But now the crazy is being enabled by politicians in the White House and by the internet. How exactly did it get so bad?

Americans have always been magical thinkers and passionate believers in the untrue. We were started by the Puritans in New England who wanted to create and did create a Christian utopia and theocracy as they waited for the eminent second coming of Christ and the end of days. And in the south by a bunch of people who were convinced, absolutely convinced that this place they’d never been was full of gold just to be plucked from the dirt in Virginia and they stayed there looking and hoping for gold for 20 years before they finally faced the facts and the evidence and decided that they weren’t going to get rich overnight there. So that was the beginning. And then we’ve had centuries of buyer-beware charlatanism to an extreme degree and medical quackery to an extreme degree and increasingly exotic extravagant implausible religions over and over again from Mormonism to Christian Science to Scientology in the last century.

And we’ve had this antiestablishment "I’m not going to trust the experts, I’m not going to trust the elite" from our character from the beginning. Now all those things came together and were super-charged in the 1960s when you were entitled to your own truth and your own reality. Then a generation later when the Internet came along, giving each of those realities, no matter how false or magical or nutty they are, their own kind of media infrastructure. We had entertainment, again for the last couple hundred years, but especially in the last 50 years permeating all the rest of life, including Presidential politics from John F. Kennedy through Ronald Ragan to Bill Clinton. So the thing was set up for Donald Trump to exploit all these various American threads and astonishingly become president, but then you look at this history and it’s like no we should have seen this coming.

The idea of America from the beginning was that you could come here, reinvent yourself, be anybody you want, live any way you wanted, believe any thing you wanted. For the first few hundred years, like everywhere else in the world, celebrity and fame were a result of some kind of accomplishment or achievement, sometimes not a great accomplishment or achievement, but you did something in the world to earn renown. America really was the key place that invented the modern celebrity culture, which was, beginning a century ago, more and more not necessarily about having won a war or led a people or written a great book or painted a great painting, but about being famous, fame for its own sake. We created that, we created Hollywood, we created the whole culture industry and that then became what I call the fantasy industrial complex where, certainly in the last few decades more than ever more than anybody thought possible before, fame itself, however you’ve got it, was a primary goal for people.

And again, as so many of the things I talk about in Fantasyland, not uniquely to America but more here than anywhere. And then you get reality television, which was this unholy hybrid of the fictional and the real for the last now generation where that blur between what’s real and what’s not is pumped into our media stream willy-nilly. There are now more reality shows on television than there were shows on television 20 years ago. And that’s another way for nobodies to become famous overnight. YouTube, another way for nobodies to become a famous overnight for doing almost nothing or nothing.

Read more at BigThink.com: http://bigthink.com/videos/kurt-andersen-magical-thinking-americas-most-enduring-quality

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=0812978900;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Anti-Elitism;maxresults=2}


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…