Wie sich Amerika von der Realität scheiden ließ: Christliche Utopien, Anti-Elitismus, Medienzirkus

Amerikaner sind von Natur aus ein bisschen verrückt. Aber jetzt wird der Wahnsinn von Politikern im Weißen Haus und durch das Internet ermöglicht. Wie genau ist es so schlimm geworden?

Amerikaner waren schon immer magische Denker und leidenschaftliche Anhänger der Unwahrheit. Wir wurden von den Puritanern in Neuengland ins Leben gerufen, die eine christliche Utopie und Theokratie schaffen wollten und schufen, während sie auf das bedeutende zweite Kommen Christi und das Ende der Tage warteten. Und im Süden von ein paar Leuten, die überzeugt waren, absolut davon überzeugt, dass dieser Ort, an dem sie noch nie gewesen waren, voller Gold war, nur um aus dem Dreck in Virginia gerissen zu werden. Sie blieben dort und suchten und hofften für 20 Jahre danach Schließlich stellten sie sich den Tatsachen und Beweisen und entschieden, dass sie dort nicht über Nacht reich werden würden. Das war also der Anfang. Und dann haben wir Jahrhunderte käufer passen Scharlatanerie zu einem extremen Grad und medizinische Quacksalberei zu einem extremen Grad haben und immer mehr exotische extravagant unplausibel Religionen immer und immer wieder von Mormonentum zu Christian Science zu Scientology im letzten Jahrhundert.

Und wir hatten von Anfang an diese Anti-Etablierung "Ich werde den Experten nicht vertrauen, ich werde der Elite nicht vertrauen" von unserem Charakter. Jetzt kamen all diese Dinge zusammen und waren in den 1960s überladen, als Sie Anspruch auf Ihre eigene Wahrheit und Ihre eigene Realität hatten. Dann, eine Generation später, kam das Internet und gab jeder dieser Realitäten, egal wie falsch oder magisch oder verrückt sie sind, ihre eigene Art von Medieninfrastruktur. Wir hatten wieder Unterhaltung für die letzten paar hundert Jahre, aber besonders in den letzten 50 Jahren, die den Rest des Lebens durchdrangen, einschließlich der Präsidentschaftspolitik von John F. Kennedy über Ronald Ragan bis Bill Clinton. Also war das Ding für Donald Trump eingerichtet, um all diese verschiedenen amerikanischen Fäden auszunutzen und erstaunlicherweise Präsident zu werden, aber dann sehen Sie sich diese Geschichte an und es ist so, als hätten wir nicht das Kommen sehen sollen.

Die Idee von Amerika war von Anfang an, dass Sie hierher kommen, sich neu erfinden, jeder sein können, wie Sie wollen, wie Sie wollen, glauben, was Sie wollen. In den ersten paar hundert Jahren waren Berühmtheit und Ruhm, wie überall auf der Welt, das Ergebnis irgendeiner Errungenschaft oder Errungenschaft, manchmal keine große Errungenschaft oder Errungenschaft, aber Sie haben etwas auf der Welt getan, um Ansehen zu erlangen. Amerika war wirklich der zentrale Ort, an dem die moderne Promi-Kultur erfunden wurde. Zu Beginn des letzten Jahrhunderts ging es nicht unbedingt darum, einen Krieg zu gewinnen, ein Volk zu führen, ein großartiges Buch zu schreiben oder ein großartiges Gemälde zu malen, sondern darum, berühmt zu sein , Ruhm um seiner selbst willen. Wir haben das geschaffen, wir haben Hollywood geschaffen, wir haben die gesamte Kulturindustrie geschaffen, und das wurde dann, wie ich es nenne, der Fantasy-Industriekomplex, in dem sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten mehr als je zuvor für möglich gehalten hat, wie auch immer bekam es, war ein primäres Ziel für die Menschen.

Und wieder, wie so viele Dinge, über die ich in Fantasyland spreche, nicht nur in Amerika, sondern hier mehr als irgendwo anders. Und dann gibt es Reality-Fernsehen, eine unheilige Mischung aus Fiktion und Realität für die letzte Generation, bei der diese Unschärfe zwischen Realität und Nicht-Realität wohl oder übel in unseren Medienstrom gepumpt wird. Es gibt jetzt mehr Reality-Shows im Fernsehen als vor 20-Jahren. Und das ist ein weiterer Weg, wie Nobodys über Nacht berühmt werden können. YouTube, eine andere Möglichkeit für Niemande, über Nacht berühmt zu werden, weil sie fast nichts oder nichts tun.

Lesen Sie mehr auf BigThink.com: http://bigthink.com/videos/kurt-andersen-magical-thinking-americas-most-enduring-quality

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; keywords = 0812978900; maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; keywords = Anti-Elitism; maxresults = 2}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

How America Got Divorced from Reality: Christian Utopias, Anti-Elitism, Media Circus

Americans are inherently a little crazy. But now the crazy is being enabled by politicians in the White House and by the internet. How exactly did it get so bad?

Americans have always been magical thinkers and passionate believers in the untrue. We were started by the Puritans in New England who wanted to create and did create a Christian utopia and theocracy as they waited for the eminent second coming of Christ and the end of days. And in the south by a bunch of people who were convinced, absolutely convinced that this place they’d never been was full of gold just to be plucked from the dirt in Virginia and they stayed there looking and hoping for gold for 20 years before they finally faced the facts and the evidence and decided that they weren’t going to get rich overnight there. So that was the beginning. And then we’ve had centuries of buyer-beware charlatanism to an extreme degree and medical quackery to an extreme degree and increasingly exotic extravagant implausible religions over and over again from Mormonism to Christian Science to Scientology in the last century.

And we’ve had this antiestablishment "I’m not going to trust the experts, I’m not going to trust the elite" from our character from the beginning. Now all those things came together and were super-charged in the 1960s when you were entitled to your own truth and your own reality. Then a generation later when the Internet came along, giving each of those realities, no matter how false or magical or nutty they are, their own kind of media infrastructure. We had entertainment, again for the last couple hundred years, but especially in the last 50 years permeating all the rest of life, including Presidential politics from John F. Kennedy through Ronald Ragan to Bill Clinton. So the thing was set up for Donald Trump to exploit all these various American threads and astonishingly become president, but then you look at this history and it’s like no we should have seen this coming.

The idea of America from the beginning was that you could come here, reinvent yourself, be anybody you want, live any way you wanted, believe any thing you wanted. For the first few hundred years, like everywhere else in the world, celebrity and fame were a result of some kind of accomplishment or achievement, sometimes not a great accomplishment or achievement, but you did something in the world to earn renown. America really was the key place that invented the modern celebrity culture, which was, beginning a century ago, more and more not necessarily about having won a war or led a people or written a great book or painted a great painting, but about being famous, fame for its own sake. We created that, we created Hollywood, we created the whole culture industry and that then became what I call the fantasy industrial complex where, certainly in the last few decades more than ever more than anybody thought possible before, fame itself, however you’ve got it, was a primary goal for people.

And again, as so many of the things I talk about in Fantasyland, not uniquely to America but more here than anywhere. And then you get reality television, which was this unholy hybrid of the fictional and the real for the last now generation where that blur between what’s real and what’s not is pumped into our media stream willy-nilly. There are now more reality shows on television than there were shows on television 20 years ago. And that’s another way for nobodies to become famous overnight. YouTube, another way for nobodies to become a famous overnight for doing almost nothing or nothing.

Read more at BigThink.com: http://bigthink.com/videos/kurt-andersen-magical-thinking-americas-most-enduring-quality

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=0812978900;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Anti-Elitism;maxresults=2}


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…