Что древние китайские крыши могут рассказать нам об изменении климата

Запретный город Пекина под легким снегом
Запретный город Пекина под легким снегопадом.
Ола Лундквист / Shutterstock Флориан Урбан, Школа искусств в Глазго

Чтобы восстановить картину климата прошлого, ученые часто изучают пузырьки в ледяных кернах или ширину колец внутри старых деревьев. Новое исследование, опубликованная в журнале Science Advances исследователями из Нанкинского университета в Китае, предполагает, что могут даже быть ключи к разгадке изменений прошлых погодных условий в зданиях.

Исследователи сравнили данные о смене погодных условий между 750 и 1750 годами нашей эры с примерами сохранившихся крыш, построенных в Китае в течение тысячелетия. Они обнаружили, что в периоды обильного снегопада крыши строились с более крутым уклоном, а в более теплые периоды рождались здания с более пологими крышами.

Исследование охватило два больших колебания глобального климата: средневековый теплый период, который примерно длился с десятого по 13 век, и маленький ледниковый период, который видел более короткое лето и суровую зиму между 15 и 19 веками.

Четыре типичных дизайна крыши для четырех разных климатических периодов.
Четыре типичных дизайна крыши для четырех разных климатических периодов.
Ли и др. (2021) / Достижения науки

Изменение погодных условий также могло стимулировать инновации, поскольку исследователи отмечают, что холодная погода около 1700 года совпала с новыми методами, которые сделали строительство более крутых и прямых крыш более безопасным и надежным.

Невероятно думать, что такая тонкая вещь, как углы скатных крыш, может точно отражать изменения погоды за десять веков. Это интересная история, но как человек, много лет изучавший историю архитектуры, я сомневаюсь.

Архитектура и климат

Исследователи сделали два основных вывода. Во-первых, крыши строятся круче в эпохи и в местах с более сильными снегопадами. И, во-вторых, существует тесная корреляция между погодными условиями и углом наклона крыши, что свидетельствует о чувствительности архитектуры к очень небольшим изменениям климата.

Первый пункт довольно легко доказать и, вероятно, неоспорим среди ученых. Плотник исправит угол наклона крыши после того, как здание рухнет под сильным снегопадом, и демонстрация этого на примере исторических зданий в Китае имеет свои достоинства.

Второй момент, на мой взгляд, не доказан этим исследованием последовательно и, возможно, даже невозможно доказать. Исследователи упоминают изучение около «200 [зданий] останков на протяжении тысячелетия», но неясно, равномерно ли они распределены по периоду исследования. Им могло бы сойти с рук историки, а не, скажем, врачи, где размер выборки является лакмусовой бумажкой правильной методологии.


 Получить последнее по электронной почте

Еженедельный Журнал Ежедневно Вдохновение

Также непонятно, почему крыши в теплое время должны становиться менее крутыми. Следует поблагодарить исследователей за попытку решить эту проблему, поскольку в исследовании отмечается, что китайцам, возможно, не удавалось поддерживать более крутые крыши во времена, когда снегопад был менее сильным из-за «затрат и разнообразных потребностей в укрытии от солнца и дождя». Тем не менее исследователи не развивают этот момент и не объясняют, почему более плоские крыши должны быть более рентабельными.

Однако строительство крыши - это не коллективное мероприятие, подобное сокращению численности населения, детской смертности или рыночным ценам. Это зависит от осознанного решения конкретного человека - заказчика, архитектора или ремесленника. Чтобы доказать связь, исследователям понадобится теория о том, как строители смогут реагировать на крошечные изменения климата с помощью крошечных изменений угла наклона крыши. Преувеличение этой климатической связи в архитектуре могло бы ошибочно означать, что досовременные общества были преимущественно сформированы какой-то необъяснимой гармонией между людьми и природой, со способностью реагировать на крошечные изменения в окружающей среде, которые были потеряны в более поздние периоды.

Таких мелкомасштабных реакций между зданием и погодой, насколько мне известно, в настоящее время не бывает. Снегопады стали легче и реже в Великобритании на протяжении ХХ века, но было бы неубедительно связывать это с распространением современных плоских крыш, которые стали столь же популярными в заснеженной России. И даже такое принципиальное решение, как выбор между плоской или скатной крышей, кажется, бросает вызов климатическим условиям, о чем свидетельствует прискорбно большое количество протекающих плоских крыш в залитом дождем Глазго, где я живу.

Тем не менее, исследование является красноречивым напоминанием о том, как естественные колебания погоды влияли на архитектуру на протяжении всей истории, часто в такой же степени, как и изменение стилей и вкусов.

Большинство зданий, в которых мы живем, работаем и общаемся, были спроектированы с небольшая мысль платить за беспрецедентные экстремальные погодные условия, которые, как предупреждают ученые-климатологи, ожидают в этом столетии. Это придется изменить. Историки могут однажды изучить эпоху, в которой мы живем, и заметить, как архитектура вернула чувство экологических ограничений, поскольку негерметичные и неэффективные конструкции были сметены зданиями, которые оказались устойчивыми перед лицом усиливающихся штормов.Беседа

Об авторе

Флориан Урбан, Профессор истории архитектуры, Школа искусств в Глазго

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

 

Человеческий рой: как наши общества возникают, процветают и падают

0465055680Марк У. Моффет
Если шимпанзе зайдет на территорию другой группы, он почти наверняка будет убит. Но житель Нью-Йорка может прилететь в Лос-Анджелес - или на Борнео - без особого страха. Психологи мало что объяснили: в течение многих лет они считали, что наша биология устанавливает жесткий верхний предел - для людей из 150 - размера наших социальных групп. Но человеческие общества на самом деле значительно больше. Как нам удается - по большому счету - ладить друг с другом? В этой потрясающей парадигму книге биолог Марк Моффетт использует результаты психологии, социологии и антропологии для объяснения социальных адаптаций, которые связывают общества. Он исследует, как противоречие между идентичностью и анонимностью определяет, как общества развиваются, функционируют и терпят неудачу. Превосходя Оружие, микробы и сталь и Sapiens, Человеческий Рой раскрывает, как человечество создало огромные цивилизации непревзойденной сложности - и что нужно для их поддержания.   Доступно на Amazon

 

Окружающая среда: наука за историями

Джей Х. Синготт, Мэттью Лапосата
0134204883Окружающая среда: наука за историями является бестселлером вводного курса по науке об окружающей среде, известного своим дружественным для студентов стилем повествования, интеграцией реальных историй и тематических исследований, а также представлением новейших научных и исследовательских работ. 6th издание предоставляет новые возможности, чтобы помочь учащимся увидеть связи между интегрированными тематическими исследованиями и наукой в ​​каждой главе, и предоставляет им возможность применять научный процесс к проблемам окружающей среды. Доступно на Amazon

 

Возможная планета: руководство по более устойчивой жизни

Кен Крус
0995847045Вы обеспокоены состоянием нашей планеты и надеетесь, что правительства и корпорации найдут для нас устойчивый способ жить? Если вы не думаете об этом слишком много, это может сработать, но будет ли? Оставшись один, с драйверами популярности и прибыли, я не слишком уверен, что так оно и будет. Недостающая часть этого уравнения - это ты и я. Люди, которые верят, что корпорации и правительства могут добиться большего. Люди, которые считают, что действуя, мы можем выиграть немного больше времени для разработки и реализации решений наших критических проблем. Доступно на Amazon

 

От издателя:
Покупки на Amazon идут, чтобы покрыть стоимость привлечения вас InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, и ClimateImpactNews.com бесплатно и без рекламодателей, которые отслеживают ваши привычки просмотра. Даже если вы нажмете на ссылку, но не купите эти выбранные продукты, все остальное, что вы купите в этом же посещении Amazon, платит нам небольшую комиссию. Никаких дополнительных затрат для вас нет, поэтому, пожалуйста, внесите свой вклад. Вы также можете пройдите по этой ссылке использовать в Amazon в любое время, чтобы вы могли помочь поддержать наши усилия.


 

Вам также может понравиться

Следуйте за InnerSelf

значок facebookзначок Twitterзначок YouTubeзначок Instagramпиктограммазначок rss

 Получить последнее по электронной почте

Еженедельный Журнал Ежедневно Вдохновение

ДОСТУПНЫЕ ЯЗЫКИ

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

ПОСЛЕДНИЕ СТАТЬИ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

социальный стресс и старение 6 17
Как социальный стресс может ускорить старение иммунной системы
by Эрик Клопак, Университет Южной Калифорнии
Когда люди стареют, их иммунная система естественным образом начинает снижаться. Это старение иммунной системы,…
еда полезнее в приготовленном виде 6 19
9 овощей, которые полезнее в приготовленном виде
by Лаура Браун, Университет Тиссайд
Не всякая пища более питательна, если ее есть сырой. Действительно, некоторые овощи на самом деле более…
зарядное устройство не работает 9 19
Новое правило для зарядных устройств USB-C показывает, как регулирующие органы ЕС принимают решения для всего мира
by Рено Фукарт, Ланкастерский университет
Вы когда-нибудь брали у друга зарядное устройство только для того, чтобы обнаружить, что оно не совместимо с вашим телефоном? Или же…
интервальное голодание 6 17
Действительно ли интервальное голодание полезно для похудения?
by Дэвид Клейтон, Университет Ноттингем Трент
Если вы тот, кто думал о похудении или хотел стать здоровее в последние несколько лет…
человек. женщина и ребенок на пляже
Это день? День отца
by Уилкинсон
День отца. Каково символическое значение? Может ли сегодня произойти что-то, что изменит вашу жизнь…
проблемы с оплатой счетов и психическое здоровье 6 19
Проблемы с оплатой счетов могут сильно сказаться на психическом здоровье отцов
by Джойс Ю. Ли, Университет штата Огайо
Предыдущее исследование бедности в основном проводилось среди матерей с преобладающим вниманием к низким…
оздоровительные эффекты bpa 6 19
Какие десятилетия исследований подтверждают влияние BPA на здоровье
by Трейси Вудрафф, Калифорнийский университет, Сан-Франциско
Слышали ли вы о химическом бисфеноле А, более известном как BPA, исследования показывают, что…
как насчет веганского сыра 4 27
Что вы должны знать о веганском сыре
by Ричард Хоффман, Университет Хартфордшира
К счастью, благодаря растущей популярности веганства производители продуктов питания начали...

Новое отношение - новые возможности

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholistPolitics.com | Рынок InnerSelf
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 Innerself Публикации. Все права защищены.

What Ancient Chinese Roofs Can Tell Us About Climate Change

Bejing's Forbidden City under a light dusting of snow
Beijing’s Forbidden City under a light dusting of snow.
Ola Lundqvist/Shutterstock Florian Urban, Glasgow School of Art

To reconstruct a picture of past climates, scientists often examine trapped bubbles in ice cores or the width of rings inside old trees. A new study, published in Science Advances by researchers at Nanjing University in China suggests that there may even be clues to changes in past weather conditions in buildings.

The researchers compared data on shifting weather patterns between AD750 and 1750 with examples of preserved roofs built in China during the millennium. They found that during periods with heavier snowfall, roofs were built with steeper slopes, while warmer periods gave rise to buildings with more gently sloping roofs.

The study covered two large swings in the global climate: the medieval warm period, which roughly ran from the tenth to the 13th century, and the little ice age, which saw shorter summers and bitter winters between the 15th and 19th centuries.

Four typical roof designs from four different climate periods.
Four typical roof designs from four different climate periods.
Li et al. (2021)/Science Advances

Changing weather patterns may have spurred innovation too, as the researchers note that frigid weather around 1700 coincided with new methods that made the construction of steeper and straighter roofs safer and more reliable.

It’s incredible to think that something as subtle as the angles of pitched roofs might intimately reflect changes in the weather over ten centuries. It’s a compelling story, but as someone who has studied architectural history for many years, I have some doubts.

Architecture and the climate

The researchers made two basic points. One, that roofs are built steeper in eras and places with heavier snowfall. And two, that there is a close correlation between weather patterns and roof angles that betrays a sensitivity in architecture to very small changes in the climate.

The first point is fairly easy to prove and probably undisputed among academics. A carpenter will correct the roof angle once a building has collapsed under heavy snow, and showing this with the example of historic buildings in China has its merit.

The second point, to my mind, is not coherently proven by this study and may even be impossible to prove. The researchers mention studying around “200 [building] remains over a millennium”, but it’s not clear whether these are equally spaced out across the study period. They could get away with it being historians as opposed to, let’s say, medical doctors, where sample size is the litmus test of sound methodology.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

It’s also unclear why roofs in warm times should become less steep. The researchers ought to be commended for trying to address this problem though, as the study notes that Chinese people may have failed to maintain steeper roofs in times when snowfall was less severe due to “costs and the diverse need for sunshine and rainfall sheltering”. The researchers nonetheless do not develop this point or explain why flatter roofs should be more cost effective.

Building a roof is not a collective event akin to population decline, infant mortality or market prices, however. It depends on the conscious decision of a particular person – a client, architect or artisan. To prove a connection, the researchers would need a theory of how builders would be able to react to tiny changes in the climate with tiny changes in roof angles. Exaggerating this climate connection in architecture might imply, wrongly, that premodern societies were predominantly shaped by some inexplicable harmony between people and nature, with an ability to respond to tiny changes in the environment that were lost in later periods.

Such fine-scale responses between building and weather as far as I know, do not happen in the present. Snowfalls became lighter and less frequent in the UK throughout the 20th century, but it would be unconvincing to tie this to the proliferation of modern flat roofs, which have become just as popular in snowy Russia. And even a fundamental decision such as choosing between a flat roof or a pitched one seems to defy climatic necessities, as the lamentably high number of leaking flat roofs in rain-swept Glasgow where I live demonstrates.

Nonetheless, the study provides an eloquent reminder of how natural variation in the weather has been an influence on architecture throughout history, often as much as changing styles and tastes.

Most of the buildings we live, work and socialise in were designed with little thought paid to the unprecedented weather extremes that climate scientists warn are in store this century. That will have to change. Historians may one day study the era we live in and note how architecture regained a sense of environmental limits, as leaky and inefficient designs were swept away by buildings that were resilient in the face of increasing storms.The Conversation

About The Author

Florian Urban, Professor of Architectural History, Glasgow School of Art

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

 

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

0465055680by Mark W. Moffett
If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

 

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

 

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

 

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.


 

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

INNERSELF VOICES

Lunar eclipse, May 12, 2022
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 23 - 29, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
05 21 rewilding the imagination in dangerous times 5362430 1920
Rewilding the Imagination in Dangerous Times
by Natureza Gabriel Kram
In a world that often seems intent on destroying itself, I find myself curating beauty -- the kind…
group of multi-racial individuals standing for a group photo
Seven Ways You Can Show Respect to Your Diverse Team (Video)
by Kelly McDonald
Respect is profoundly meaningful, but costs nothing to give. Here are ways you can demonstrate (and…
elephant walking in front of a setting sun
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 16 - 22, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
photo of Leo Buscaglia from cover of his book: Living, Loving and Learning
How to Change Someone's Life in a Few Seconds
by Joyce Vissell
My life was changed dramatically when someone took that second to point out my beauty.
a composite photograph of a total lunar eclipse
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 9 - 15, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
05 08 developing compassionate thinking 2593344 completed
Developing Compassionate Thinking Towards Self and Others
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
When people speak of compassion, they mostly are referring to having compassion for others... for…
a man writing a letter
Writing the Truth and Allowing the Emotions to Flow
by Barbara Berger
Writing things down is a good way to practice truth telling.
A Season for Everything: The Way Our Ancestors Ate
A Season for Everything: The Way Our Ancestors Ate
by Vatsala Sperling
Cultures on every continent around the world have a collective memory of a time when their…
Dropping the Labels
Dropping the Labels: Stop Devaluing Yourself or Others
by Susan Ann Darley
The biggest trap in the world to fall into is that of making careless and cruel comments about…
No More Saviours: Reclaiming Our Mind from The Tyranny of Fear
No More Saviours: Reclaiming Our Mind from The Tyranny of Fear
by Sarah Varcas
A lunar eclipse in Sagittarius on 26th May begins a sequence of key astrological events, making…

MOST READ

rebuilding environment 4 14
How Native Birds Are Returning To New Zealand’s Restored Urban Forests
by Elizabeth Elliot Noe, Lincoln University et al
Urbanisation, and the destruction of habitat it entails, is a major threat to native bird…
The Story Of Suffering And Death Behind Ireland’s Abortion Ban And Subsequent Legalization
The Story Of Suffering And Death Behind Ireland’s Abortion Ban And Subsequent Legalization
by Gretchen E. Ely, University of Tennessee
If the U.S. Supreme Court overturns Roe v. Wade, the 1973 decision that legalized abortion in the…
how much sleep you need 4 7
How Much Sleep You Really Need
by Barbara Jacquelyn Sahakian, University of Cambridge, et al
Most of us struggle to think well after a poor night’s sleep – feeling foggy and failing to perform…
benefits of lemmon water 4 14
Will Lemon Water Detox Or Energize You?
by Evangeline Mantzioris, University of South Australia
If you believe anecdotes online, drinking lukewarm water with a splash of lemon juice is…
trusting societies are happy 4 14
Why Trusting Societies Are Overall Happier
by enjamin Radcliff, University of Notre Dame
Human beings are social animals. This means, almost as a matter of logical necessity, that humans’…
economy 4 14
5 Things That Economists Know, But Sound Wrong To Most Other People
by Renaud Foucart, Lancaster University
A curious thing about our profession is that when we academic economists largely agree with each…
learning to pay attention 4 14
These Strategies And Life Hacks Can Help Anyone With Attention Problems
by Rob Rosenthal, University of Colorado
Because of the steady stream of negative feedback people receive about their productivity,…
group of multi-racial individuals standing for a group photo
Seven Ways You Can Show Respect to Your Diverse Team (Video)
by Kelly McDonald
Respect is profoundly meaningful, but costs nothing to give. Here are ways you can demonstrate (and…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.