Pourquoi la vision de Jefferson sur l'islam américain compte-t-elle aujourd'hui?

Pourquoi la vision de Jefferson sur l'islam américain compte-t-elle aujourd'hui?
Jefferson a acheté un Coran bien avant la rédaction de la déclaration d'indépendance.
SSk Graphy, CC BY

An 3.3 millions estimés de musulmans américains célébrer Ramadan.

Le mois de Ramadan marque le moment où on pense que le prophète Mahomet a reçu pour la première fois les révélations de Dieu et a été célébré à la maison blanche depuis 1996. C'est Hillary Clinton qui a commencé la tradition en tant que première dame. Cependant, l'année dernière, la Maison Blanche Trump n'a pas hébergé la réception traditionnelle. Le Département d'Etat n'a pas non plus sous-secrétaire Rex Tillerson, même si la fête a été commémorée depuis 1999.

Après délibéré de l'année dernière rompre avec la tradition, Le président Donald Trump a repris le dîner à l'iftar - le repas du coucher du soleil pendant le mois de jeûne islamique du Ramadan. Malgré le caractère relativement récent de ces célébrations officielles, le fait est que la présence de l'Islam en Amérique du Nord remonte à la fondation de la nation et même avant, comme le dit mon livre, "Le Coran de Thomas Jefferson: l'Islam et les fondateurs" démontre.

L'islam, une religion américaine

Les musulmans sont arrivés en Amérique du Nord dès le 17e siècle, composant finalement 15 à 30, pour cent des population ouest africaine asservie de l'Amérique britannique. Les musulmans du Moyen-Orient n’ont immigré aux États-Unis en tant que citoyens libres qu’à la fin du 19e siècle. Des pères fondateurs américains ont manifesté un intérêt marqué pour la foi et ses praticiens, notamment Thomas Jefferson.

En tant qu'étudiant en droit âgé de 22 à Williamsburg, en Virginie, Jefferson a acheté un Coran - 11 ans avant la rédaction de la déclaration d'indépendance.

Cet achat est le symbole d'un lien historique plus long entre les mondes américain et islamique et d'une vision plus inclusive de la vision primitive et robuste du pluralisme religieux de la nation.

Bien que Jefferson n'ait laissé aucune note sur sa réaction immédiate au Coran, il a toutefois critiqué l'Islam «Enquête gratuite étouffante» Dans ses premiers débats politiques en Virginie, il l'accusa également contre le catholicisme. Il pensait que les deux religions fusionnaient religion et État à un moment où il souhaitait les séparer dans son État.

Malgré ses critiques de l'islam, Jefferson a défendu les droits de ses adhérents. Il existe des preuves que Jefferson avait réfléchi en privé sur l'inclusion musulmane dans son nouveau pays depuis 1776. Quelques mois après avoir rédigé la déclaration d'indépendance, il retourna en Virginie pour rédiger un projet de loi sur la religion pour son État d'origine, écrivant dans ses notes personnelles une paraphrase du philosophe anglais John Locke, 1689. «Lettre sur la tolérance»:

"(Il) dit que ni le païen, ni le mahométan (musulman) ni le juif ne doivent être exclus des droits civils du Commonwealth à cause de sa religion."

Les précédents copiés de Locke par Jefferson font écho dans son Statut de la Virginie pour la liberté de religion, qui proclame:

«Nos droits civils ne dépendent pas de nos opinions religieuses.»

Le statut, rédigé en 1777, est devenu loi en 1786 et inspiré la clause de la Constitution «pas de test religieux» et le Premier amendement.

La vision pluraliste de Jefferson

Jefferson pensait-il aux musulmans quand il a rédigé sa célèbre loi sur la Virginie?

En effet, nous trouvons des preuves à ce sujet dans l'autobiographie 1821 du père fondateur, dans laquelle il notait qu'une dernière tentative pour ajouter les mots «Jésus-Christ» au préambule de sa législation avait échoué. Et cet échec a conduit Jefferson à affirmer qu'il avait voulu que l'application du Statut soit «universelle».

Il entendait par là que la liberté religieuse et l'égalité politique ne seraient pas exclusivement chrétiennes. Jefferson affirmé dans son autobiographie que son intention législative initiale était «de comprendre, dans le cadre de sa protection, le juif et le gentil, le chrétien et le mahométan [musulman], l'hindouisme et l'infidèle de toute dénomination».

En définissant les musulmans comme de futurs citoyens du 18e siècle, en association avec une minorité juive résidente, Jefferson a élargi son champ d'application législatif «universel» pour inclure toutes les religions.

Les idées sur le caractère pluriel de la nation sur le plan religieux ont également été testées dans la politique étrangère présidentielle de Jefferson avec les puissances islamiques d'Afrique du Nord. Le président Jefferson a accueilli le premier ambassadeur musulman, originaire de Tunis, à la Maison Blanche à 1805. Parce que c'était le Ramadan, le président a déplacé le dîner d'État de 3: 30 pm à «Précisément au coucher du soleil» une reconnaissance des convictions religieuses de l'ambassadeur tunisien, sinon la première célébration officielle du ramadan par les États-Unis.

Une tradition de la Maison Blanche

Les musulmans fournissent à nouveau un test décisif pour les droits civils de tous les croyants américains. Même si cette administration reprend la traditionnelle célébration du Ramadan de la Maison Blanche à 2018, de nombreux musulmans américains de premier plan ont déclaré publiquement que, même si invités, ils ne participeraient pas. De nombreux musulmans américains n'ont pas oublié les nombreux trump fausses affirmations contre eux. Actuellement, la légalité de cette administration interdiction musulmane est en instance devant la Cour suprême.

Indépendamment des opinions politiques anti-islamiques déclarées par ce président, le Ramadan est toujours un moment pour se rappeler que l’islam est pratiqué depuis longtemps en Amérique. Ses adhérents restent un élément central de son histoire fondatrice. La présence de Musulmans en Amérique, en tant que citoyens américains, a maintenant été reconnu par le gouvernement Trump, dans la déclaration 2018 sur le Ramadan nettement plus inclusive de cette année. le déclaration lit en partie:

«Le Ramadan nous rappelle la richesse que les musulmans ajoutent à la tapisserie religieuse de la vie américaine. Aux États-Unis, nous avons tous la chance de vivre dans le cadre d'une constitution qui favorise la liberté religieuse et respecte la pratique religieuse. "

Aujourd'hui, les musulmans sont des concitoyens et leurs droits légaux représentent un idéal fondateur américain toujours assiégé par peur de la peur, une pratique en contradiction avec le meilleur de nos idéaux de libertés religieuses universelles. Bien que l'hostilité du public à l'égard de l'islam ait été plus grande que celle de tout autre gouvernement précédent, la célébration du Ramadan à la Maison Blanche cette année souligne une réalité historique implicite plus importante: les musulmans pratiquent leur foi ici depuis des siècles et continueront de le faire.

A propos de l'auteur

Denise A. Spellberg, professeure d'histoire et d'études du Moyen-Orient, Université du Texas à Austin

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = islam américain; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Jefferson’s Vision Of American Islam Matters Today

Why Jefferson’s Vision Of American Islam Matters Today
Jefferson purchased a Qur'an much before drafting the Declaration of Independence.
SSk Graphy, CC BY

An estimated 3.3 million American Muslims celebrate Ramadan.

The month of Ramadan marks the time when Prophet Muhammad is believed to have first received revelations from God and has been celebrated at the White House since 1996. It was Hillary Clinton who started the tradition as first lady. However, last year, the Trump White House did not host the traditional reception. Neither did the State Department under Secretary Rex Tillerson, even though the holiday has been commemorated there since 1999.

After last year’s deliberate break with tradition, President Donald Trump has resumed the iftar dinner – the sundown meal during the Islamic fasting month of Ramadan. Despite the relatively recent nature of these formal celebrations, the fact is that Islam’s presence in North America dates to the founding of the nation, and even earlier, as my book, “Thomas Jefferson’s Qur'an: Islam and the Founders,” demonstrates.

Islam, an American religion

Muslims arrived in North America as early as the 17th century, eventually composing 15 to 30 percent of the enslaved West African population of British America. Muslims from the Middle East did not begin to immigrate to the United States as free citizens until the late 19th century. Key American Founding Fathers demonstrated a marked interest in the faith and its practitioners, most notably Thomas Jefferson.

As a 22-year-old law student in Williamsburg, Virginia, Jefferson bought a Qur’an – 11 years before drafting the Declaration of Independence.

The purchase is symbolic of a longer historical connection between American and Islamic worlds, and a more inclusive view of the nation’s early, robust view of religious pluralism.

Although Jefferson did not leave any notes on his immediate reaction to the Qur’an, he did criticize Islam as “stifling free enquiry” in his early political debates in Virginia, a charge he also leveled against Catholicism. He thought both religions fused religion and the state at a time he wished to separate them in his commonwealth.

Despite his criticism of Islam, Jefferson supported the rights of its adherents. Evidence exists that Jefferson had been thinking privately about Muslim inclusion in his new country since 1776. A few months after penning the Declaration of Independence, he returned to Virginia to draft legislation about religion for his native state, writing in his private notes a paraphrase of the English philosopher John Locke’s 1689 “Letter on Toleration”:

“(He) says neither Pagan nor Mahometan (Muslim) nor Jew ought to be excluded from the civil rights of the commonwealth because of his religion.”

The precedents Jefferson copied from Locke echo strongly in his Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom, which proclaims:

“(O)ur civil rights have no dependence on our religious opinions.”

The statute, drafted in 1777, became law in 1786 and inspired the Constitution’s “no religious test” clause and the First Amendment.

Jefferson’s pluralistic vision

Was Jefferson thinking about Muslims when he drafted his famed Virginia legislation?

Indeed, we find evidence for this in the Founding Father’s 1821 autobiography, where he recorded that a final attempt to add the words “Jesus Christ” to the preamble of his legislation failed. And this failure led Jefferson to affirm that he had intended the application of the Statute to be “universal.”

By this he meant that religious liberty and political equality would not be exclusively Christian. Jefferson asserted in his autobiography that his original legislative intent had been “to comprehend, within the mantle of its protection, the Jew and the Gentile, the Christian and Mahometan [Muslim], the Hindoo, and Infidel of every denomination.”

By defining Muslims as future citizens in the 18th century, in conjunction with a resident Jewish minority, Jefferson expanded his “universal” legislative scope to include every one of every faith.

Ideas about the nation’s religiously plural character were tested also in Jefferson’s presidential foreign policy with the Islamic powers of North Africa. President Jefferson welcomed the first Muslim ambassador, who hailed from Tunis, to the White House in 1805. Because it was Ramadan, the president moved the state dinner from 3:30 p.m. to be “precisely at sunset,” a recognition of the Tunisian ambassador’s religious beliefs, if not quite America’s first official celebration of Ramadan.

A White House tradition

Muslims once again provide a litmus test for the civil rights of all U.S. believers. Even though this administration resumes the traditional White House Ramadan celebration in 2018, many prominent American Muslims have publicly stated that, even if invited, they would not attend. Many American Muslim have not forgotten Trump’s many wrong assertions against them. Currently, the legality of this administration’s Muslim ban is pending before the Supreme Court.

Regardless of the stated anti-Islamic political views of this president, Ramadan still provides a moment to remember that Islam has long been practiced in America. Its adherents remain a pivotal part of its founding history. The presence of Muslims in America, as American citizens, has now been acknowledged by the Trump administration, in this year’s markedly more inclusive 2018 statement about Ramadan. The statement reads in part:

“Ramadan reminds us of the richness Muslims add to the religious tapestry of American life. In the United States, we are all blessed to live under a Constitution that fosters religious liberty and respects religious practice.”

Today, Muslims are fellow citizens, and their legal rights represent an American founding ideal still besieged by fear mongering, a practice at odds with the best of our ideals of universal religious freedoms. Despite demonstrating more public hostility toward Islam than any previous administration, the White House celebration of Ramadan this year underscores a more important, implicit historical reality: Muslims have practiced their faith here for centuries and will continue to do so.

About The Author

Denise A. Spellberg, Professor of History and Middle Eastern Studies, University of Texas at Austin

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=american islam;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

Rachael Wallis
What happens if you decide to jump in, Escape to the Country-style, and flee the city rat race?

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

Nicole Racine and Sheri Madigan
Bubble-wrapping children doesn’t work. They need to experience mild adversity, to know how to overcome it when they inevitably face it in life.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

Lynne Harris
What would you think was happening to you if out of nowhere your heart started to race, you were drenched in sweat, you found yourself trembling uncontrollably, short of breath, with chest pain and feeling nauseated, dizzy and lightheaded as though you might…