Warum Jeffersons Vision des amerikanischen Islam heute wichtig ist

Warum Jeffersons Vision des amerikanischen Islam heute wichtig ist
Jefferson kaufte einen Koran, bevor er die Unabhängigkeitserklärung ausarbeitete.
SSk Graphy, CC BY

An geschätzte 3.3 Millionen amerikanische Muslime feiern Ramadan.

Der Monat Ramadan markiert die Zeit, in der man glaubt, dass der Prophet Muhammad erstmals Offenbarungen von Gott und Gott erhalten hat wurde gefeiert im Weißen Haus seit 1996. Es war Hillary Clinton, die die Tradition als First Lady begann. Letztes Jahr jedoch das Trump White House nicht host der traditionelle Empfang. Das Außenministerium auch nicht unter Sekretär Rex Tillerson, obwohl der Feiertag dort seit 1999 gefeiert wurde.

Nach letztem Vorsatz brechen Sie mit der TraditionPräsident Donald Trump hat das Iftar-Dinner wieder aufgenommen - das Sonnenuntergangsmahl während des Fastenmonats des Islam im Ramadan. Trotz des relativ jungen Charakters dieser Feierlichkeiten ist die Tatsache, dass die Präsenz des Islam in Nordamerika auf die Gründung der Nation zurückgeht, und noch früher, wie mein Buch, "Thomas Jeffersons Koran: Islam und die Gründer" demonstriert.

Islam, eine amerikanische Religion

Muslime kamen bereits im 17-ten Jahrhundert in Nordamerika an und machten schließlich 15 zu 30-Prozenten aus versklavte westafrikanische Bevölkerung von Britisch Amerika. Muslime aus dem Nahen Osten begannen erst im späten 19. Jahrhundert als freie Bürger in die Vereinigten Staaten auszuwandern. Wichtige amerikanische Gründerväter zeigten ein ausgeprägtes Interesse am Glauben und seinen Praktizierenden, allen voran Thomas Jefferson.

Als 22-jähriger Jurastudent in Williamsburg, Virginia, Jefferson kaufte einen Koran - 11 Jahre vor der Ausarbeitung der Unabhängigkeitserklärung.

Der Kauf ist symbolisch für eine längere historische Verbindung zwischen der amerikanischen und der islamischen Welt und für eine umfassendere Sicht auf die frühe, robuste Sicht der Nation auf religiösen Pluralismus.

Obwohl Jefferson keine Notizen zu seiner unmittelbaren Reaktion auf den Koran hinterließ, kritisierte er den Islam als "Stickige freie Anfrage" in seinen frühen politischen Debatten in Virginia, eine Anklage, die er auch gegen den Katholizismus erhoben hat. Er glaubte, dass beide Religionen Religion und Staat miteinander verbanden, als er sie in seinem Gemeinwesen trennen wollte.

Trotz seiner Kritik am Islam setzte sich Jefferson für die Rechte seiner Anhänger ein. Beweise existieren, dass Jefferson hatte privat nachgedacht über muslimische Eingliederung in sein neues Land seit 1776. Ein paar Monate nachdem er die Unabhängigkeitserklärung verfasst hatte, kehrte er nach Virginia zurück, um ein Gesetz über die Religion für seinen Heimatstaat zu erarbeiten, und schrieb in seinen privaten Notizen eine Umschreibung des 1689 des englischen Philosophen John Locke "Brief über Toleranz":


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


"(Er) sagt, dass weder Pagan noch Mahometan (Muslim) noch Jude aufgrund seiner Religion von den Bürgerrechten des Commonwealth ausgeschlossen werden sollte."

Die Präzedenzfälle, die Jefferson von Lockes Nachahmung in seinem Virginia-Statut für Religionsfreiheit kopierte, was verkündet:

"(O) Ihre Bürgerrechte sind nicht abhängig von unseren religiösen Ansichten."

Das in 1777 verfasste Statut wurde Gesetz in 1786 und inspirierte die Verfassungsklausel „Kein religiöser Test“ und die Erste Änderung.

Jeffersons pluralistische Vision

Dachte Jefferson an Muslime, als er seine berühmte Gesetzgebung in Virginia formulierte?

Beweise dafür finden wir in der 1821-Autobiographie des Gründervaters, in der er feststellte, dass ein letzter Versuch, die Worte „Jesus Christus“ in die Präambel seiner Gesetzgebung aufzunehmen, gescheitert ist. Und dieses Versagen veranlasste Jefferson, zu bestätigen, dass er beabsichtigte, die Anwendung des Statuts als „universell“ zu betrachten.

Damit meinte er, dass Religionsfreiheit und politische Gleichheit nicht ausschließlich christlich sein würden. Jefferson in seiner Autobiografie behauptet Seine ursprüngliche gesetzgeberische Absicht war gewesen, "im Rahmen seines Schutzes die Juden und die Heiden, die Christen und Mahometaner (Muslim), die Hindus und die Ungläubigen jeder Konfession zu begreifen"

Durch die Definition der Muslime im 18-Jahrhundert als zukünftige Bürger in Verbindung mit einer ansässigen jüdischen Minderheit, erweiterte Jefferson seinen „universellen“ gesetzgeberischen Geltungsbereich auf alle Glaubensrichtungen.

Vorstellungen über den religiösen Pluralcharakter der Nation wurden auch in der Außenpolitik von Jeffersons Präsidentschaft mit den islamischen Mächten Nordafrikas getestet. Präsident Jefferson begrüßte den ersten muslimischen Botschafter, der aus Tunis kam, im Weißen Haus in 1805. Weil es Ramadan war, verlegte der Präsident das Staatsdinner von 3: 30 pm "Genau bei Sonnenuntergang" eine Anerkennung der religiösen Überzeugungen des tunesischen Botschafters, wenn nicht sogar die erste offizielle Feier des Ramadan in Amerika.

Eine Tradition des Weißen Hauses

Muslime stellen erneut einen Lackmustest für die Bürgerrechte aller US-Gläubigen bereit. Obwohl diese Regierung die traditionelle Feier des Weißen Hauses Ramadan in 2018 fortsetzt, sind viele prominente amerikanische Muslime dabei habe öffentlich gesagt selbst wenn sie eingeladen würden, würden sie nicht teilnehmen. Viele amerikanische Muslime haben die vielen Trumps nicht vergessen falsche Behauptungen gegen sie. Derzeit ist die Rechtmäßigkeit dieser Verwaltung Muslim Verbot ist beim Obersten Gerichtshof anhängig.

Ungeachtet der erklärten antiislamischen politischen Ansichten dieses Präsidenten bietet der Ramadan immer noch einen Moment, um daran zu erinnern, dass der Islam in Amerika seit langem praktiziert wird. Ihre Anhänger bleiben ein zentraler Bestandteil ihrer Gründungsgeschichte. Das Vorhandensein von Muslime in Amerika, als amerikanische Bürger, wurde nun von der Trump-Regierung in der diesjährigen deutlich umfassenderen 2018-Erklärung über Ramadan anerkannt. Das Anweisung liest sich zum Teil:

„Der Ramadan erinnert uns an den Reichtum, den Muslime dem religiösen Wandteppich des amerikanischen Lebens hinzufügen. In den Vereinigten Staaten sind wir alle gesegnet, unter einer Verfassung zu leben, die die Religionsfreiheit fördert und die religiöse Praxis respektiert. “

Heute sind Muslime Mitbürger und ihre gesetzlichen Rechte repräsentieren ein amerikanisches Gründungsideal, das immer noch von belagert wird Panikmache, eine Praxis im Widerspruch zu den besten unserer Ideale universeller religiöser Freiheiten. Obwohl der Islam im Ramadan im Weißen Haus in diesem Jahr mehr Feindseligkeit der Öffentlichkeit gegenüber dem Islam gezeigt hat, unterstreicht er die Bedeutung einer impliziteren historischen Realität: Muslime haben hier jahrhundertelang ihren Glauben ausgeübt und werden dies auch weiterhin tun.

Über den Autor

Denise A. Spellberg, Professorin für Geschichte und Nahostwissenschaften, University of Texas at Austin

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = amerikanischer Islam; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Jefferson’s Vision Of American Islam Matters Today

Why Jefferson’s Vision Of American Islam Matters Today
Jefferson purchased a Qur'an much before drafting the Declaration of Independence.
SSk Graphy, CC BY

An estimated 3.3 million American Muslims celebrate Ramadan.

The month of Ramadan marks the time when Prophet Muhammad is believed to have first received revelations from God and has been celebrated at the White House since 1996. It was Hillary Clinton who started the tradition as first lady. However, last year, the Trump White House did not host the traditional reception. Neither did the State Department under Secretary Rex Tillerson, even though the holiday has been commemorated there since 1999.

After last year’s deliberate break with tradition, President Donald Trump has resumed the iftar dinner – the sundown meal during the Islamic fasting month of Ramadan. Despite the relatively recent nature of these formal celebrations, the fact is that Islam’s presence in North America dates to the founding of the nation, and even earlier, as my book, “Thomas Jefferson’s Qur'an: Islam and the Founders,” demonstrates.

Islam, an American religion

Muslims arrived in North America as early as the 17th century, eventually composing 15 to 30 percent of the enslaved West African population of British America. Muslims from the Middle East did not begin to immigrate to the United States as free citizens until the late 19th century. Key American Founding Fathers demonstrated a marked interest in the faith and its practitioners, most notably Thomas Jefferson.

As a 22-year-old law student in Williamsburg, Virginia, Jefferson bought a Qur’an – 11 years before drafting the Declaration of Independence.

The purchase is symbolic of a longer historical connection between American and Islamic worlds, and a more inclusive view of the nation’s early, robust view of religious pluralism.

Although Jefferson did not leave any notes on his immediate reaction to the Qur’an, he did criticize Islam as “stifling free enquiry” in his early political debates in Virginia, a charge he also leveled against Catholicism. He thought both religions fused religion and the state at a time he wished to separate them in his commonwealth.

Despite his criticism of Islam, Jefferson supported the rights of its adherents. Evidence exists that Jefferson had been thinking privately about Muslim inclusion in his new country since 1776. A few months after penning the Declaration of Independence, he returned to Virginia to draft legislation about religion for his native state, writing in his private notes a paraphrase of the English philosopher John Locke’s 1689 “Letter on Toleration”:

“(He) says neither Pagan nor Mahometan (Muslim) nor Jew ought to be excluded from the civil rights of the commonwealth because of his religion.”

The precedents Jefferson copied from Locke echo strongly in his Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom, which proclaims:

“(O)ur civil rights have no dependence on our religious opinions.”

The statute, drafted in 1777, became law in 1786 and inspired the Constitution’s “no religious test” clause and the First Amendment.

Jefferson’s pluralistic vision

Was Jefferson thinking about Muslims when he drafted his famed Virginia legislation?

Indeed, we find evidence for this in the Founding Father’s 1821 autobiography, where he recorded that a final attempt to add the words “Jesus Christ” to the preamble of his legislation failed. And this failure led Jefferson to affirm that he had intended the application of the Statute to be “universal.”

By this he meant that religious liberty and political equality would not be exclusively Christian. Jefferson asserted in his autobiography that his original legislative intent had been “to comprehend, within the mantle of its protection, the Jew and the Gentile, the Christian and Mahometan [Muslim], the Hindoo, and Infidel of every denomination.”

By defining Muslims as future citizens in the 18th century, in conjunction with a resident Jewish minority, Jefferson expanded his “universal” legislative scope to include every one of every faith.

Ideas about the nation’s religiously plural character were tested also in Jefferson’s presidential foreign policy with the Islamic powers of North Africa. President Jefferson welcomed the first Muslim ambassador, who hailed from Tunis, to the White House in 1805. Because it was Ramadan, the president moved the state dinner from 3:30 p.m. to be “precisely at sunset,” a recognition of the Tunisian ambassador’s religious beliefs, if not quite America’s first official celebration of Ramadan.

A White House tradition

Muslims once again provide a litmus test for the civil rights of all U.S. believers. Even though this administration resumes the traditional White House Ramadan celebration in 2018, many prominent American Muslims have publicly stated that, even if invited, they would not attend. Many American Muslim have not forgotten Trump’s many wrong assertions against them. Currently, the legality of this administration’s Muslim ban is pending before the Supreme Court.

Regardless of the stated anti-Islamic political views of this president, Ramadan still provides a moment to remember that Islam has long been practiced in America. Its adherents remain a pivotal part of its founding history. The presence of Muslims in America, as American citizens, has now been acknowledged by the Trump administration, in this year’s markedly more inclusive 2018 statement about Ramadan. The statement reads in part:

“Ramadan reminds us of the richness Muslims add to the religious tapestry of American life. In the United States, we are all blessed to live under a Constitution that fosters religious liberty and respects religious practice.”

Today, Muslims are fellow citizens, and their legal rights represent an American founding ideal still besieged by fear mongering, a practice at odds with the best of our ideals of universal religious freedoms. Despite demonstrating more public hostility toward Islam than any previous administration, the White House celebration of Ramadan this year underscores a more important, implicit historical reality: Muslims have practiced their faith here for centuries and will continue to do so.

About The Author

Denise A. Spellberg, Professor of History and Middle Eastern Studies, University of Texas at Austin

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=american islam;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

Rachael Wallis
What happens if you decide to jump in, Escape to the Country-style, and flee the city rat race?

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

Nicole Racine and Sheri Madigan
Bubble-wrapping children doesn’t work. They need to experience mild adversity, to know how to overcome it when they inevitably face it in life.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

Lynne Harris
What would you think was happening to you if out of nowhere your heart started to race, you were drenched in sweat, you found yourself trembling uncontrollably, short of breath, with chest pain and feeling nauseated, dizzy and lightheaded as though you might…