الله في المدينة. أينما أكون ، الله هو!

الله في المدينة. أينما أكون ، الله هو!

لست ذاهبة إلى برنامج الغد "، وقالت السيدة براون عبر الهاتف." لقد قلت للمدرسة في حي الخام والطلاب قد استاء مني حيث إنني من الخارج. "السيدة براون كان مرب الموسيقى من لندن، هنا على منحة خاصة لزيارة المدارس في الولايات المتحدة في العديد من المدن، وهذا الصباح بالذات قد أعربت عن الإثارة حول رؤية البرنامج التي من شأنها أن تشمل أفضل جوقات، والعصابات، وفرق السلسلة في مدارسنا واشنطن العاصمة، والآن، لم أستطع أن أصدق أنني كنت أسمع هذا، ونحن كنا بالفعل جميع الترتيبات.

"لا أحد يؤذيك،" أنا مقتنع أخيرا لها. "انا التقي بكم في الباب". تقدم طالب واحد عندما وصلت في اليوم التالي، لجلب أكياس لها في المدرسة. فتح باب آخر لها، وعرضت لاصطحابها إلى المكتب. شاهدت بكل فخر والطلاب وكانت ودية تجاه لها كما هو الحال لجميع الزوار إلى مدرستهم. ثم أخذت لها إلى القاعة.

بعد البرنامج، واعترفت بأنها فكرت عنف وقعت على أساس يومي في مدارس المدينة الأميركية. وقالت انها ليس من المتوقع منضبط الطلاب أو جمهور يقدر موسيقيا. فكرت كيف الرهيبة لا بد أن يكون،، للسفر إلى المكان الذي أنت فيه باستمرار في الخوف على حياتك.

الخوف من المدينة

كثير من الناس هذا الخوف من المدينة. انها مفهومة. كل ليلة، في نشرات الأخبار المسائية، وتركيز كبير ويبدو أن على أحدث طعن وإطلاق نار وعمليات الاغتصاب، وحالات الانتحار. وغالبا ما يكون الخبر السار لم يسمع. لكن الخوف من خطر الشخصية ليست هي المشكلة الوحيدة لدى الناس مع المدينة، والخروج من towners ليسوا وحدهم مذنب من المفاهيم الخاطئة.

منذ سنوات، يتوق أنا عندما أصبحت في البداية مهتما دراسات الميتافيزيقي، للانتقال إلى دير للعيش، ودراسة، ووضع مبادئ الحقيقة إلى واقع عملي دون انقطاع الدنيوية. وأعتقد أن أعظم المعلمين الروحية كانت في الأديرة وأعظم نمو بالنسبة لي ستجرى هناك في "دولة الله". لقد تعلمت منذ أن شهدت نموا من خلال التفاعل مع الناس اليومية والمشاكل اليومية، وأحيانا للشعب مزعج في حياتنا هي أعظم المعلمين لدينا.

عندما بدأت أكتب مسرحيات وأغانٍ للأطفال ، استمتعت بقراءة السير الذاتية للكتاب المشهورين. يبدو أن كل منهم كان لديهم منازل صيفية في نيو إنجلاند حيث يمكنهم أن ينظروا إلى نوافذ الصور الكبيرة عند أمواج المحيط ويكتبون عن جمال الطبيعة. كان أقرب ما يمكن أن أحضره لمحاكاة هذا السيناريو هو أثناء إجازتنا العائلية التي كانت مرة واحدة في السنة في الجبال أو على شاطئ البحر.

لفترة من الوقت ، أقنعت نفسي بأن هذه هي المرة الوحيدة التي أستطيع فيها الكتابة. وكان هذا هو الوقت الوحيد الذي كتبت فيه. كنت أجلس لساعات وأنا أنظر إلى البحيرة الهادئة الممتدة أمامي خلف خلفية من الأشجار ذات الألوان العديدة التي تعكس الماء. بدت السماء أكثر زرقة ، والغيوم البياض والنجوم في الليل أكثر براعة. كان الأمر كما لو أن الله وضع كل هذا الجمال بالنسبة لي. أود أن أبدأ بفكرة بسيطة وبحلول الوقت الذي غادرناه للمنزل ، تم الانتهاء من المسودة الأولى لمخطوطة مسرحية أو قصة.

واحد في الصيف وجدت عندما كنت بحاجة لكتابة مسرحية لطلابي، ولا يمكن الخروج من المدينة، وحديقة هادئة حول ماء التي كانت غير مأهولة خلال ساعات العمل. قضيت اليوم هناك، وكتب المسرحية احتاجه. كيف كان ممتنا أنني قد وجدت بلادي "شاطئ البحر" في المدينة.

في الشتاء التالي ، مرة أخرى ، لم أتمكن من الخروج من المدينة وكان المنتزه الهادئ باردًا وكليًا ، كتبت مسرحيتي في غرفة طعامي الهادئة في الصباح الباكر قبل أن تستيقظ بقية أفراد العائلة. ثم أدركت القيود التي فرضتها على نفسي. ما كنت أتوقع ، تلقيت.

عندما كنت أتوقع الله على شاطئ البحر ، كان هناك. عندما توقعت وجوده في غرفة الطعام الخاصة بي ، كان هناك. الآن ، عندما أتوقعه في خضم الناس والنشاط ، هو هناك. أينما كنت وما أحتاج إلى القيام به ، أنا متأكد من أن الله هناك معي ، يرشدني.

"أينما وأنا وأيا كان يجب أن أفعل، أنا متأكد أن الله موجود معي، وتوجيه لي."

اغتنام كل فرصة لمباركة شخص ما

كيف كان حكيم الله لشخص ما أعطت فكرة تصميم مدينة، مكان حيث يستطيع الناس أن لديهم فرصة لرؤية الله في كل دقيقة من اليوم في وجوه من زملائهم، والجيران، والناس يمرون. تخيل كيف يمكن أن ينمو روحيا إذا علينا اغتنام كل فرصة للتقدم المدينة لمباركة شخص ما.

عندما أكون على زاوية شارع مزدحم والناس يتحركون في كل الاتجاهات دفع والتسرع، وأنا التنحي ويبارك لهم. "الله، صلى الله والحفاظ على كل هؤلاء الناس، وأنا من بينهم، في رعايتك. نقل لنا أقرب إلى الحب والسلام". ثم أنتقل، مع العلم أن كل شخص في الحشد الذي يستعجل، ودفع، وأنا من بينهم، وأحرز أفضل من قبل بركتي. هذا هو السبب في أنني كنت هناك.

في المدينة ، يمكن أن أكون جزءًا من الحشود في المتاحف وقاعات الحفلات الموسيقية ، حيث تجمع الآلاف في نزهة في الرابع من يوليو. أستطيع أن أبارك الناس الذين يذهبون إلى العمل ، والناس الذين يقفون على الزوايا لأنهم لا يستطيعون العثور على عمل ، والناس الذين لا مأوى لهم ينامون على الشبكات. يمكن أن أكون في المنزل وأجلس لوحدي على الشرفة الخلفية - أنظر إلى أعلى ورقة على شجرة الظل الوحيدة على الكتلة واحتضان سكون تلك الورقة.

أستطيع أن أنظر إلى زهور التوليب المزروعة في صندوق الشجرة عبر الشارع مني أو في مصنع المطاط داخل نافذتي - وأعلم أن الله موجود هناك. يمكنني أن أنظر إلى الأطفال الأبرياء الذين يتوقون إلى اللعب على رصيف مزدحم أو على زوجي جالسًا على المنضدة لي على الإفطار وأفرح أن الله موجود هناك.

أكثر إيجابية من السلبية

وعلى الرغم من أنني أعي دائما من أصوات سيارات الاطفاء وسيارات الشرطة وسيارات الإسعاف، ونشرات الأخبار في التلفزيون، وأنا أعلم أن هناك أكثر إيجابية من الأنشطة السلبية التي شارك فيها، ونوع الناس، صادق المحبة. وفي المدينة، والله هو في وسطهم جميعا.

كل ما أرى، ويشعر، ومعرفة الخير من حولي لا يجوز أبدا جعل أخبار المساء، ولكن أنا هنا لأنها تجربة، ليتعرف عليه، ليكون جزءا منه، إلى الكتابة عن ذلك، ونشكر الله عليها . كل ما لدي دروس للتعلم، ومهما كانت جيدة لا بد لي من إعطاء يمكن أن تحدث هنا حيث الله هو الحق. وحيثما كان في العالم اخترت أن تكون، وأنا أعرف أن ...

"نور الله يحيط بي:
محبة الله يطوى لي:
قوة الله يحمي لي؛
وجود الله يسهر لي.
أينما وأنا، والله! "
(الوحدة "صلاة من أجل حماية ')

والله هو هنا، في المدينة!

المادة طبعها بإذن المؤلف
ونشر لأول مرة في مجلة الوحدة ،
الطبعة التذكارية 1989.

نبذة عن الكاتب

غريس برادفورد هي مؤلفة وكاتبة مسرحية للعديد من الأغاني والمسرحيات الموسيقية التي تم عرضها في منطقة العاصمة واشنطن. تحمل أعمالها ، بما في ذلك أغنيتها المنشورة حديثًا ، "كل حاجة للحب إلى الجسد" رسالة للشباب تهدف إلى تعزيز الحياة الإيجابية. يمكن الوصول إلى Grace في: 641 Ingram Street NW، Washington، DC 20011.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = الروحانية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

عقلك الحجري يأكلك حيًا
عقلك الحجري يأكلك حيًا
by مايكل كوتون ، دي سي
هناك طرق لا حصر لها لممارسة الجنس وليس هناك شيء غير طبيعي عن أي منهم
هناك طرق لا حصر لها لممارسة الجنس وليس هناك شيء غير طبيعي عن أي منهم
by غونزالو ر. كوينتانا زونينو وكونال يوغان ماك سيونيث
تحديات 30-Day Resilience-Builder
تحديات 30-Day Resilience-Builder
by إيما ماردلين ، دكتوراه.

God Is In The City; Wherever I Am, God Is!

inspiration

God Is In The City; Wherever I Am, God Is!

I'm not coming to the program tomorrow," Mrs. Brown said over the phone. "I've been told the school is in a rough neighborhood and the students may resent me since I am an outsider." Mrs. Brown was a music educator from London, here on a special grant to visit U.S. schools in several cities. That very morning she had expressed excitement about seeing the program that would include the best choirs, bands, and string ensembles in our Washington, D.C. schools. Now, I couldn't believe I was hearing this. We'd already made all of the arrangements.

"No one will harm you," I finally convinced her. "I'll meet you at the door." When she arrived the next day, one student offered to bring her bags into the school. Another opened the door for her and offered to take her to the office. I watched with pride as the students were friendly toward her just as they are to all visitors to their school. Then I took her to the auditorium.

After the program, she admitted that she thought violence took place on a daily basis in American city schools. She had not expected well-disciplined students or a musically appreciative audience. How terrible it must be, I thought, to travel to a place where you are constantly in fear for your life.

Fear of the City

Many people have this fear of the city. It's understandable. Each night, on the evening news, the major emphasis seems to be on the latest stabbings, shootings, rapes, and suicides. The good news is often not heard. But fear of personal danger isn't the only problem people have with the city, and out-of-towners are not the only ones guilty of misconceptions.

Years ago, when I first became interested in metaphysical studies, I longed to go to a monastery to live, study, and put Truth principles into practice without mundane interruptions. I thought that the greatest spiritual teachers were in monasteries and the greatest growth for me would take place there in "God's country". I have since learned that growth is experienced through interaction with everyday people and everyday problems; sometimes the troublesome people in our lives are our greatest teachers.

When I was beginning to write plays and songs for children, I enjoyed reading biographies of famous writers. It seemed that all of them had summer homes in New England where they could look out their big picture windows at the ocean waves and write about the beauty of nature. The closest I could come to simulating this scenario was during our once-a-year family vacation in the mountains or at the seashore.

For a while, I convinced myself that this was the only time I could write. And it was true, that was the only time I wrote. I would sit for hours gazing at the calm lake stretched out before me against a backdrop of trees of many hues reflecting in the water. The sky seemed bluer, the clouds whiter and the stars at night far more brilliant. It was as if God put all that beauty out there for me. I would start with a simple idea and by the time we left for home, the first draft of a play or story manuscript was completed.

One summer when I needed to write a play for my students and couldn't get out of the city, I found a quiet park around the waterside that was unpopulated during work hours. I spent the day there and wrote the play I needed. How grateful I was that I had found my "seashore" in the city.

The following winter, when again, I couldn't get out of town and the quiet park was cold and bare, I wrote my play in the quiet of my dining room early in the morning before the rest of the family had awakened. I then realized the limitations I had placed on myself. That which I expected, I received.

When I expected God at the seashore, He was there. When I expected Him in my dining room, He was there. Now, when I expect Him in the midst of people and activity, He is there. Wherever I am and whatever I need to do, I am assured that God is there with me, guiding me.

"Wherever I am and whatever I need to do, I am assured that God is there with me, guiding me. "

Seizing Every Opportunity to Bless Someone

How wise God was to have given someone the idea of designing a city, a place where people could have the opportunity to see God every minute of the day in the faces of their co-workers, neighbors, and people they pass. Imagine how we can grow spiritually if we seize every opportunity the city offers to bless someone.

When I'm on a busy street corner and people are moving in all directions pushing and rushing, I step aside and bless them. "God, bless and keep all of these people, including me, in your care. Move us closer to your love and peace." Then I move on, knowing that everyone in that rushing, pushing crowd, including me, has been made better by my blessing. That's why I was there.

In the city, I can be a part of the crowds in the museums and concert halls, the thousands gathered at a Fourth of July picnic. I can bless the people going to work, the people who stand on the corners because they can't find work, the homeless people sleeping on the grates. I can be home and sit alone on my back porch -- gaze up at the topmost leaf on the only shade tree on the block and embrace the stillness of that leaf.

I can look at the tulips planted in the tree box across the street from me or at the rubber plant just inside my window -- and know that God is there. I can look out at the innocent and eager children playing tag on the crowded sidewalk or at my husband sitting across the table from me at breakfast and rejoice that God is there.

More Positive Than Negative

And though I am constantly aware of the sounds of the fire engines, police cars, ambulances, and the TV news, I know that there are far more positive than negative activities being participated in by kind, honest, loving people. And in the city, God is in the midst of them all.

All that I see, feel, and know about the goodness around me may never make the evening news, but I am here to experience it, to recognize it, to be part of it, to write about it, and to thank God for it. Whatever lessons I have to learn, whatever good I have to give, can take place right here where God is. And wherever in the world I choose to be, I know that...

"The light of God surrounds me: 
The love of God enfolds me: 
The power of God protects me; 
The presence of God watches over me. 
Wherever I am, God is!"
(Unity "Prayer for Protection')

And God IS here, in the city!

Article reprinted with the author's permission
and first published in Unity Magazine,
Commemorative Edition 1989.

About The Author

Grace Bradford is a composer and playwright of numerous songs and musical plays which have been performed in the Washington metropolitan area. Her works, including her most recently published song, "Every Body Needs Love," carry a message for youth that is designed to promote positive living. Grace can be reached at: 641 Ingram Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20011.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=spirituality;maxresults=3}

inspiration
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}