Faire germer les graines de la grandeur: le saint d'à côté

une main ouverte pleine de graines
Image Şahin Sezer Dinçer 

J'ai rencontré un musicien du nom de Jack qui a grandi à Harlem et a joué du jazz dans les clubs de nuit locales dans les années 1950. «Je coincé avec mes amis beaucoup», me dit-il. "L'un d'eux était Charley Parker." Jack se mit à rire et ajouta: «Il suffit de penser - je me suis accroché avec l'un des grands noms du jazz de tous les temps, je n'avais aucune idée de l'homme en jouant à côté de moi, un jour, devenir une légende.».

Jack m'a fait réfléchir. Toute personne grande, de Galilée à Saint-François à Martin Luther King Jr., a grandi comme une personne normale et fait des choses normales avec des gens normaux. Probablement aucun de leurs copains s'attend à ce que ces âmes serait un jour changer le cours de la vie sur la planète et se rééquiper le destin de l'humanité.

Que faire si votre meilleur ami s'est avéré être un héros?

Que faire si quelqu'un proche de vous, peut-être votre meilleur ami, s'est avéré être un héros pour des millions? "Oh, qui ne pouvait pas arriver à n'importe qui je sais," vous pourriez répondre à la hâte. Mais peut-être les amis du jeune Louis Pasteur aurait pu parler aussi vite.

Les graines de la grandeur peuvent germer n'importe où, à travers n'importe qui - parfois dans la situation la moins probable. Je connais un hypnothérapeute qui a été approché par un homme cherchant de l'hypnothérapie pour son fils de dix-sept ans qui avait des problèmes avec son jeu de golf. Sentant que ce ne serait pas une utilisation précieuse de son temps, elle refusa l'homme. "Je suis désolée, M. Woods," lui dit-elle, "je ne pourrai pas voir votre fils Tiger ..."

C'est juste un type ordinaire de Guy ... Pas un saint!

Il ya des années j'ai joué dans un groupe avec un gars nommé Ernie, qui était une sorte de gars ordinaire. J'ai perdu le contact avec Ernie pour un certain nombre d'années, puis une nuit, il s'est présenté à la maison d'un ami. Quand j'ai demandé à Ernie ce qu'il avait fait dernièrement, il a offert ce compte étonnante:

"Il ya quelques années je suis allé voir un ami en Amérique du Sud, et un soir, un voisin est venu visiter. Elle m'a dit qu'elle avait un mal de tête, et je lui ai demandé si elle voulait que je prie pour elle. Je l'ai fait, et elle se sentait mieux. Cette nuit-là elle est revenue avec sa fille, qui souffrait de douleurs menstruelles. je lui ai offert la prière fille, et elle éprouvé un soulagement. La nuit suivante, la femme était de retour, cette fois suivie par tous les membres de sa famille! En espérant que je pouvais être de service, j'ai prié pour eux. Le lendemain, la moitié de la ville a été aligné pour la guérison. Après je suis rentré, j'ai reçu un appel d'un représentant de la ville qui m'a dit que les gens paieraient mon billet d'avion retour, si je suis retourné. Alors je l'ai fait, et maintenant je retourne régulièrement, ils me volent de ville en ville dans un hélicoptère ".

Après avoir entendu cette histoire, ma première pensée a été: «Ernie? L'année dernière, un bassiste, cette année, un saint?" J'ai eu un moment difficile de concilier les deux images, mais alors j'ai réalisé que j'avais un choix: je ne pouvais nier le bien qu'il faisait, ou je pourrais me réjouir des bénédictions. Il se sentait beaucoup mieux d'être excité au sujet de son succès que d'être cynique à ce sujet.


 Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Le Saint Next Door pourrait être vous

Maintenant, voici le meilleur: le saint à côté pourrait être vous. Qu'est-ce qu'un saint, mais quelqu'un qui laisse passer la lumière de l'esprit de son briller purement et créative?

Si vous n'êtes pas tout à fait prêt à aller à la sainteté, alors peut-être vous tout simplement se contenter de la grandeur. Ou succès. Peut-être que le livre que vous avez joué avec dans votre esprit; cette chanson, ou que la peinture, ou que le dispositif d'économie de travail, n'est pas une pensée aléatoire, mais une vision d'inspiration divine. Peut-être tous les grande invention ou d'un séminaire a commencé avec une seule pensée petite graine, et la différence entre une vie de succès la lutte ou fabuleux et le service, est tout simplement que certaines personnes ont cru en leur idée, et d'autres pas.

Une chose mène à une autre ...

En 1985 j'ai été invité à participer à un voyage diplomatie citoyenne de l'Union soviétique, et l'organisateur m'a demandé si je connaissais quelqu'un d'autre qui serait approprié d'y assister. J'ai immédiatement pensé à mon ami Patch Adams et lui a parrainé. Sur le Patch voyage a rencontré l'acteur Mike Farrell (de M * A * S * H) la célébrité, et les deux sont devenus des amis. Quatorze ans plus tard Hollywood a produit un film majeur de la vie Patch, et elle a été produite par: Mike Farrell.

Je ne savais pas, comme je l'ai invité Patch pour être du voyage, que je participe à un lien-up qui aurait une incidence sur des millions de personnes, ainsi que de recueillir des fonds considérables pour l'hôpital sans Patch (Gesundheit Institute) en Virginie-Occidentale.

On dit que n'importe qui peut compter le nombre de graines dans une pomme, mais seul Dieu peut compter le nombre de pommes dans une graine. En fait, il y a un nombre infini de pommes dans une graine; combien en sortent réellement n'est que le résultat de la cultivation.

En ce moment, il y a un nombre infini d'idées et de talents en vous, des idées qui peuvent changer votre vie ainsi que celle de millions - peut-être la planète entière. Qui sait, le saint d'à côté pourrait très bien être vous.

 

Livre de cet auteur:

Dare to Be Yourself: Comment cesser d'être un extra dans les films des autres peuples et devenir la star de votre propre
par Alan Cohen.

couverture du livre: Osez être vous-même: comment cesser d'être un extra dans les films d'autres peuples et devenir la star de votre propre par Alan Cohen.Dans cette puissante carte de découverte de soi, Alan Cohen puise dans des sources allant du bouddhisme à la Bible, de Gandhi et Einstein à A Course In Miracles, partageant plusieurs de ses propres moments radieux de révélation sur le chemin spirituel. Il montre comment nous pouvons abandonner le passé, surmonter la peur et découvrir le pouvoir de l'amour dans nos vies. Une fois que nous sommes engagés dans l'œuvre d'être vraiment nous-mêmes, chaque défi devient une opportunité de croissance, chaque choix une leçon d'engagement, chaque relation un renouvellement de l'œuvre de Dieu. Oser être vous-même vous éclairera, vous responsabilisera et vous animera de façon spectaculaire lorsque vous vous éveillerez à la vie, à l'amour et aux dons uniques qui sont à vous pour donner au monde.

Info / Commander ce livre.

A propos de l'auteur

Alan CohenAlan Cohen est l'auteur de nombreux livres inspirants, notamment A Course in Miracles Made Easy et son nouveau guide éclairant, Les clés maîtresses de la guérison. Devenez un coach de vie holistique certifié grâce au programme de formation qui change la vie d'Alan débutant en septembre 2021. Pour plus d'informations sur ce programme et les livres, vidéos, audios, cours en ligne, retraites et autres événements et matériels inspirants d'Alan, visitez AlanCohen.com 


 

LANGUES DISPONIBLES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

INSPIRATION QUOTIDIEN

Inspiration quotidienne d'InnerSelf.com: 4 mars 2021
Inspiration quotidienne: 4 mars 2021
Quand nous pensons à la cupidité, nous pensons généralement à l'argent et aux biens matériels. Cependant, la cupidité peut s'appliquer à tant de choses dans notre vie.
Inspiration quotidienne: 3 mars 2021
Inspiration quotidienne: 3 mars 2021
Les gens confondent souvent un ego fort avec une haute estime de soi. Cependant, l'un ne mène pas nécessairement à l'autre.
Inspiration quotidienne: 2 mars 2021
Inspiration quotidienne: 2 mars 2021
Ouvrir notre capacité sensorielle nous permet d'être à l'écoute des besoins des autres, de faire preuve d'empathie et de travailler avec eux plutôt que contre eux. C'est notre objectif ...

Nouvelles attitudes - nouvelles possibilités

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. Tous les droits sont réservés.

Sprouting the Seeds of Greatness: The Saint Next Door

an open hand full of seeds
Image by Şahin Sezer Dinçer 

I met a musician named Jack who grew up in Harlem and played jazz at local night clubs in the 1950’s. "I jammed with my friends a lot," he told me. "One of them was Charley Parker." Jack laughed and added, "Just think -- I hung out with one of the jazz greats of all time. I had no idea the guy playing right next to me would one day become a legend."

Jack got me thinking. Every great person, from Galileo to St. Francis to Martin Luther King Jr., grew up as a normal person and did normal things with normal people. Probably none of their buddies expected that these souls would one day change the course of life on the planet and retool the destiny of humanity.

What If Your Best Friend Turned Out To Be A Hero?

What if someone close to you, maybe your best friend, turned out to be a hero to millions? "Oh, that couldn’t happen to anyone I know," you might answer hastily. But perhaps the friends of young Louis Pasteur might have spoken equally hastily.

The seeds of greatness can sprout anywhere, through anyone -- sometimes in the least likely situation. I know a hypnotherapist who was approached by a man seeking hypnotherapy for his seventeen-year-old son who was having trouble with his golf game. Feeling this would not be a valuable use of her time, she turned the man down. "I’m sorry, Mr. Woods," she told him, "I won't be able to see your son Tiger..."

He's Just A Regular Kind of Guy... Not A Saint!

Years ago I played in a band with a fellow named Ernie, who was a regular kind of guy. I lost contact with Ernie for a number of years, and then one night he showed up at a friend’s house. When I asked Ernie what he had been doing lately, he offered this astounding account:

"A few years ago I went to see a friend in South America, and one evening a neighbor came to visit. She told me she had a headache, and I asked her if she wanted me to pray for her. I did, and she felt better. That night she came back with her daughter, who was suffering from menstrual pain. I offered the girl prayer, and she experienced relief. The next night the woman was back, this time followed by all of her relatives! Hoping I could be of service, I prayed for them. The next day half the town was lined up for healing. After I came home I received a call from a town representative who told me that the people would pay my air fare back if I returned. So I did, and now I go back regularly; they fly me from town to town in a helicopter."

Upon hearing this story, my first thought was, "Ernie? Last year a bass player, this year a saint?" I had a hard time reconciling the two pictures, but then I realized I had a choice: I could negate the good that he was doing, or I could rejoice in the blessings. It felt a lot better to be excited about his success than to be cynical about it.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The Saint Next Door Could Be You

Now here’s the kicker: the saint next door could be you. What is a saint, but someone who lets the light of his or her spirit shine purely and creatively?

If you’re not quite ready to go for sainthood, then perhaps you would simply settle for greatness. Or success. Perhaps that book you’ve been playing with in your mind; that song, or that painting, or that labor-saving device, is not some random thought, but a divinely-inspired vision. Perhaps every great invention or seminar started with just one little seed thought, and the difference between living a life of struggle or fabulous success and service, is simply that some people believed in their idea, and others didn’t.

One Thing Leads to Another...

In 1985 I was invited to participate in a citizen diplomacy trip to the Soviet Union, and the organizer asked me if I knew anyone else who would be appropriate to attend. I immediately thought of my friend Patch Adams and sponsored him. On the trip Patch met actor Mike Farrell (of M*A*S*H) fame, and the two became friends. Fourteen years later Hollywood produced a major motion picture of Patch’s life, and it was produced by: Mike Farrell.

Little did I know, as I invited Patch to be on the trip, that I was participating in a link-up that would affect millions of people, as well as raise considerable funds for Patch’s free hospital (Gesundheit Institute) in West Virginia.

It is said that anyone can count the number of seeds in an apple, but only God can count the number of apples in a seed. Actually, there are an infinite number of apples in a seed; how many actually come forth is a result only of cultivation.

At this moment there are infinite number of ideas and talents within you, ideas that can change your life as well as that of millions -- maybe the whole planet. Who knows, the saint next door may very well be you.

 

Book by this author:

Dare to Be Yourself: How to Quit Being an Extra in Other Peoples Movies and Become the Star of Your Own
by Alan Cohen.

book cover: Dare to Be Yourself: How to Quit Being an Extra in Other Peoples Movies and Become the Star of Your Own by Alan Cohen.In this powerful map to self-discovery, Alan Cohen draws on sources from Buddhism to the Bible, from Gandhi and Einstein to A Course In Miracles, sharing many of his own radiant moments of revelation on the spiritual path. He shows how we can let go of the past, overcome fear, and discover the power of love in our lives. Once we are engaged in the work of truly being ourselves, each challenge becomes an opportunity for growth, each choice a lesson in commitment, each relationship a renewal of God's work. Dare To Be Yourself will dramatically enlighten, empower, and enliven you as you awaken to life and love and the unique gifts that are yours to give the world.

Info/Order this book.

About The Author

photo: Alan CohenAlan Cohen is the author of many inspirational books including A Course in Miracles Made Easy and his new illuminating guide, The Master Keys of Healing. Become a certified holistic life coach through Alan’s life-changing training program beginning in September 2021. For information on this program and Alan’s books, videos, audios, online courses, retreats, and other inspirational events and materials, visit AlanCohen.com 


 

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...
InnerSelf.com Daily Inspiration: March 4, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 4, 2021
When we think of greed, we usually think about money and material possessions. However, greed can…

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
Transformation: Taking Back our Power from People and Parasites
Transformation: Taking Back our Power from People and Parasites
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
I believe that both Lyme disease and parasites are teaching us to love ourselves, claim our power,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
a model standing on a runway facing her shadow... all in green
Befriending the Shadow: Transforming Darkness Into Light
by Robert Ohotto
When we don't recognize or accept certain parts of our own nature - positive and negative - we'll…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…
boy covering up his face as if afraid of the tall city landscape behind him
Awakening to the Power of Healing Our Core Wounds
by Lisa Tahir
It is our human condition to experience wounding on the earthly plane of existence. It is our…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.