أشياء 5 الآباء بحاجة إلى معرفته عن خسارة الصيف

أشياء 5 الآباء بحاجة إلى معرفته عن خسارة الصيف
الأبحاث مختلطة حول ما إذا كان الأطفال يفقدون التعلم خلال العطلة الصيفية. صور أعمال القرد / www.shutterstock.com

عندما يتعلق الأمر بمقالات إخبارية حول تأثير الصيف على تعلم الطلاب ، فإن الأخبار تكون غالبًا سيئة.

على سبيل المثال، أعلن الخبير الاقتصادي في 2018: "العطلة الصيفية الطويلة سيئة للأطفال ، وخاصة الفقراء".

هذا عنوان رئيسي هو نموذجي إلى حد ما لكيفية تصوير خسارة الصيف. لقد حان الصيف ليكون بمثابة وقت للأطفال فقد بقدر شهر من التعلم المدرسي.

ما يقرب من 50,000 قصص وسائل الإعلام على التعلم الصيفي - مثل التعليم من قبل The Economist - ظهر في 2018. الرسالة تؤثر على السياسة كذلك. قدم المشرعون فواتير حالة 293 المتعلقة البرمجة الصيفية في 2017. تعاملت هذه الفواتير مع التعلم الصيفي بعدة طرق - من اعترض بيل مين التي حاولت إنشاء "صندوق برنامج النجاح الصيفي" ل مشروع قانون كاليفورنيا التي تتيح ما يصل إلى 30٪ من الأموال للالتحاق ببرنامج المدرسة قبل وبعد المدرسة.

على الرغم من الإجماع الظاهر على أن الأطفال يفقدون التعلم خلال فصل الصيف ، تقرير 2017 من معهد بروكينغز أظهرت أن البحث عن التعلم الصيفي مختلط بالفعل.

آخر تحليل 2018 وجدت أدلة على فقدان التعلم كل صيف بين الصف الثاني والتاسع ، ولكن النتائج تختلف اختلافا كبيرا من دراسة واحدة إلى أخرى.

وقد أدى هذا بعض الباحثين - مثل me - إلى سؤال إذا خسارة الصيف يحدث حتى.

باستخدام البيانات الحالية الممثلة على المستوى الوطني ، حاولت تحديد حجم مشكلة فقدان التعلم في الصيف. ركزت على طلاب المدارس الابتدائية.

وإليك ما وجدت:

1. معظم الأطفال لا يتأثرون

دراستي باستخدام البيانات الوطنية يشير إلى أن قضية فقدان التعلم الصيفي مبالغ فيها إلى حد كبير. على وجه التحديد ، يفقد 7٪ فقط من الطلاب ما يعادل شهر واحد من تعلم السنة الدراسية في القراءة و 9٪ في الرياضيات خلال فصل الصيف بين رياض الأطفال والصف الأول. خلال الصيف قبل الصف الثاني ، يرتفع هذا إلى 15٪ في القراءة و 18٪ في الرياضيات. هذا يشير إلى أن غالبية الشباب لا يعانون من خسارة التعلم الصيفي.

في الواقع، بحثي يشير إلى أن معظم الأطفال يكتسبون مهاراتهم أو يحافظون عليها خلال فصل الصيف.

2. الخسائر ليست طويلة الأجل

أردت أيضًا أن أعرف إذا كان الأطفال الذين انزلقوا خلال فصل الصيف سيبقون وراءهم خلال المدرسة الابتدائية. باستخدام البيانات الوطنية، تشير نتائجي إلى أن المتزلجون والرابحون في الصيف لا يختلفون كثيرًا بحلول نهاية الصف الرابع. على سبيل المثال ، كان متوسط ​​النقاط بالنسبة للأطفال الذين كسبوا مقابل تراجع خلال فصل الصيف قبل الصف الثاني يختلف باختلاف نقاط 0.04 في الرياضيات ونقاط 0.12 للقراءة بعد ذلك بعامين.

3. أقوى الطلاب يخسرون أكثر

كنت فضوليًا أيضًا لمعرفة ما إذا كان من الممكن معرفة أنواع خصائص الطالب وعوامل الخلفية المتعلقة بفقدان التعلم الصيفي. قد تتنبأ - كما فعلت - بأن الأطفال ذوي المهارات الأضعف قبل الصيف سيكونون أكثر عرضة لفقدهم خلال الصيف. وسوف تكون مخطئا - كما كنت.

في الواقع ، كان الأطفال الذين حصلوا على درجات قراءة أو رياضيات أعلى قبل بداية الصيف هم الأكثر عرضة لتجربة صيفية.

4. الصيف "الواجبات المنزلية" ليست بهذه الأهمية

قد تعتقد أيضًا أن الطلاب الذين يقومون بالرياضيات بانتظام أو الكتابة أو القراءة خلال فصل الصيف سوف يحتفظون بمزيد من المعرفة خلال فصل الصيف. عموما ، لم يكن هذا هو الحال. على سبيل المثال ، 78٪ من أولياء أمور الرابحين و 79٪ من أولياء أمور المتزلجون يقرؤون الكتب لطفلهم بانتظام ؛ حوالي نصف تفعل أنشطة الكتابة بانتظام.

الاستثناء الوحيد هو أن الأطفال الذين يقرؤون لأنفسهم على نحو أكثر تواترا كانوا أقل عرضة للانزلاق في القراءة بين الصف الأول والثاني. هذا يعتمد على دراستي الذي يظهر أن 71.44٪ من آباء الرابحين قد أبلغوا أن أطفالهم يقرؤون بانتظام أنفسهم ، مقارنة بـ 67.81٪ من آباء المتزلجون.

5. دعهم يلعبون

كل هذا لا يعني أن العطلة الصيفية لا تأتي مع نصيبها من المخاطر التي يتعرض لها الأطفال ، لأنها كذلك. ولكن إذا كنت قلقًا بشأن تهديد تمثله العطلة الصيفية لطفلي ، فلن تكون هذه خسارة الصيف. سأكون أكثر قلقا حول بحث هذا يظهر الأطفال زيادة الوزن خلال فصل الصيف مما يفعلون خلال العام الدراسي.

ليس لدي أي خلاف مع أولياء الأمور أو المعلمين الذين يرغبون في أن يقرأ الأطفال الكتب أو يدرسوا الرياضيات خلال فصل الصيف حتى يظلوا أكاديميين. ولكن دعونا نتأكد من خروجهم واللعب حتى يتمكنوا من الحفاظ على لياقتهم البدنية.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

Abel J. Koury ، باحث رئيسي مشارك ، جامعة ولاية أوهايو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

5 Things Parents Need To Know About Summer Loss

5 Things Parents Need To Know About Summer Loss
Research is mixed about whether children lose learning during summer break. Monkey Business Images/www.shutterstock.com

When it comes to news articles about the impact that summer has on student learning, the news is often bad.

For instance, The Economist proclaimed in 2018: “Long summer holidays are bad for children, especially the poor.”

This headline is fairly typical of how summer loss is portrayed. Summer has come to be seen as a time when children lose as much as a month of school learning.

Nearly 50,000 media stories on summer learning – such as the one by The Economist – appeared in 2018. The message influences policy as well. Lawmakers introduced 293 state bills related to summer programming in 2017. These bills dealt with summer learning in a number of ways – from a vetoed Maine bill that tried to establish a “Summer Success Program Fund” to a California bill that enables up to 30% of funds for before and after school programs go to summer learning.

Despite the seeming consensus that children lose learning during the summer, a 2017 report from the Brookings Institute showed that the research on summer learning is actually quite mixed.

Another 2018 analysis found evidence of learning loss every summer between second and ninth grade, but findings differ vastly from one study to the next.

This has lead some researchers – like me – to question if summer loss even occurs.

Using current, nationally representative data, I attempted to determine how big of an issue is summer learning loss. I focused on elementary school students.

Here’s what I found:

1. Most kids aren’t affected

My study using national data suggests that, by and large, the issue of summer learning loss is overblown. Specifically, only 7% of students lose the equivalent of one month of school year learning in reading and 9% in math over the summer between kindergarten and first grade. Over the summer before second grade, this increases to 15% in reading and 18% in math. This suggests that the majority of youngsters don’t experience summer learning loss.

In fact, my research suggests most children gain or maintain their skills over the summer.

2. Losses aren’t long-term

I also wanted to know if children who slid over the summer would stay behind during elementary school. Using national data, my findings suggest that summer sliders and gainers are not much different by the end of fourth grade. For instance, the average score for children who gained versus slid over the summer before second grade differed by just 0.04 points for math and 0.12 points for reading two years later.

3. Strongest students lose the most

I was also curious to see if it was possible to figure out what kinds of student characteristics and background factors relate to summer learning loss. You might predict – as I did – that children with weaker skills before summer would be more likely to lose over the summer. And you would be wrong – as I was.

It was actually children with higher reading or math scores before the start of summer who were more likely to experience a summer slide.

4. Summer ‘homework’ not that important

You also might think that students who do regular math, writing or reading over the summer would hold onto more knowledge over the summer. Overall, this was not the case. For instance, 78% of parents of gainers and 79% of parents of sliders read books to their child regularly; about half do writing activities regularly.

The only exception is that children who read to themselves more frequently were less likely to slide in reading between first and second grade. This is based on my study that shows 71.44% of parents of gainers reported that their child regularly read to themselves, compared to 67.81% of parents of sliders.

5. Let them play

All this is not to say that summer vacation doesn’t come with its share of risks to children, because it does. But if I were going to worry about a threat that summer break poses to my child, it wouldn’t be summer loss. I’d be more concerned about the research that shows children gain more weight over the summer than they do during the school year.

I have no quarrel with parents or educators who want children to read books or study math over the summer to stay sharp academically. But let’s make sure they get to go outside and play so that they can stay in shape physically as well.The Conversation

About The Author

Abel J. Koury, Senior Research Associate, The Ohio State University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}