الصدق: إن الأمل الوحيد للعلاقات

(ملاحظة المحرر: في حين أن هذا المقال يتناول الصدق في التعارف، والمعلومات والمشورة واجبة التطبيق على جميع العلاقات.)

الجميع يقدر الاتصالات صادقة،
ولكن كم من لديهم المهارات اللازمة والصدق؟

في عملي مع مئات من تقصي الحقائق في الفردي من نيويورك الى ولاية كاليفورنيا، استنتاج واحد لا مفر منه: كل شخص تقريبا ويبدو أن الاتصالات قيمة صادقة، ولكن عدد قليل جدا من لديهم المهارات أو ثقة لممارسة ذلك باستمرار. وفقا لمعظم العزاب الذين التقيت بهم في أسفاري، والحالة التي يرجع تاريخها نموذجي محفوف خوف. ويبدو أن الناس عندما يعتقدون أن هناك الكثير على المحك، ويحصلون على الجهاز العصبي، وبدلا من أن تكون قدراتهم الإبداعية، لذيذ الأنفس، فإنهم يلجأون إلى مختلف استراتيجيات إدارة القلق.

التقى لويس جيف في حفلة عيد ميلاد أحد الأصدقاء وشعرت على الفور رسم له. ولكن بدلا من إنفاق الوقت في الحديث معه في الحزب، وجدت نفسها يمزح مع رجال آخرين على أمل أن جيف سوف تلاحظ لها. تركت الحزب في تلك الليلة دون أن يتحدث كلمة واحدة إلى جيف.

سلوك لويس هو مثال على ما أسميه "نمط السيطرة". وثمة نمط سيطرة أي شيء تفعله تلقائيا، من دون وعي، لإدارة القلق من الشعور "ليست في السيطرة". وثمة نمط مفضل لكثير من الناس هو أن يكون لطيفا أكثر من اللازم أو مقبول. البعض الآخر حاول أن يظهر بارد أو غير مبال، كما فعل لويس. بعض محاولة لإقناع من خلال العمل على ثقة فائقة. آخرون انكماش في الخشب وحاول أن تبقى غير مرئية. عندما كنت في نمط التحكم الخاصة بك، وأنت عادة "التلقائي"، والتصرف من هذه العادة بدلا من خيار.

يلجأ الناس إلى مثل هذه التصرفات لأنهم لا يستطيعون تحمل عدم اليقين أو قلق من لقاء التعارف نموذجي. ورأى لويس لجذب جيف، لكنها ليست لديه فكرة عن شعوره حول لها. أرادت أن يكون له جذب بالنسبة إليها وكانت له، ولكن نظرا لأنها لم تكن قادرة على السيطرة على الوضع لضمان النتيجة المرجوة لها، وقالت انها حاولت البقاء في السيطرة عن طريق اللعب باردا.

الحقيقة في التاريخ يركز على ملاحظة وتعلم العيش من دون هذه الأنماط المعتادة. انها تعلم للتعبير عن نفسك أصلي - في قول ما كنت تشعر حقا والتفكير، أو أن يكون مجرد الصمت والاستماع.

اليوم المناظر الطبيعية التي يرجع تاريخها

مع ظهور وازدياد شعبية من الإعلانات الشخصية، وصانعي الزيجات مقابل تأجير، وعلى الخط الخدمات التي يرجع تاريخها، فإنه من السهل الآن من أي وقت مضى لتكون على قدم عدد كبير من الشركاء المحتملين مع إنفاق الحد الأدنى من الوقت والطاقة. ما إذا كنت فعلا استخدام أي من هذه الخدمات أم لا، وانت تعرف انهم المتوفرة لديك، حتى تعرف أنك يمكن أن تكون على الأقل وجود الكثير من التواريخ أولا إذا كنت تريد حقا أن. أنت لم تعد تعتمد على الحصول على دعوة للأحزاب، والذهاب إلى الحانات أو النوادي الليلية، أو تقديم نفسك للغرباء في السوبر ماركت. هذا هو الخبر السار.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الأنباء السيئة هي أن العديد من هذه المواقع التي يرجع تاريخها أجدد التأكيد على نهج قائمة على التعارف. يطلب منك تقديم قائمة من ما تريد من الناحية المثالية، ما يمكن أن يقبل، وماذا لديك لتقدمه في المقابل. هذا يميل إلى تعزيز الوهم بأن إذا أنت وشخص آخر تتطابق من حيث الصفات والأفضليات، وكنت جيدا على طريقك إلى نجاح العلاقة.

المشكلة مع عقلية المرجعية هو أن هناك أكثر من ذلك بكثير على الناس من التعميمات التي يقدمونها عن أنفسهم. التعميمات مثل "أنا من النوع الذي يحب الهواء الطلق ... وتتمتع الاحزاب ... بحاجة الى الكثير من الوقت وحده ... ترى الأشياء بعمق" اقول شيئا عن قدرة الشخص على العلاقة. ومن قدرتك على ربط صراحة إلى شخص آخر أن يوضح الفرق بين النجاح والفشل في العلاقات. معظم الفردي (والأزواج أيضا) لا تتعلق بشكل جيد للغاية. وتركز أيضا على أنهم يشعرون في السيطرة عليها. فيما هو عكس السيطرة.

في مهنة 35 عاما لي كمدرب العلاقة وزعيم ندوة، ولقد وجدت أن القدرة على ربط هو نوعية واحدة من الضروري أن تمكن شخص من التمتع إرضاء العلاقات الشخصية / حميم. بدون هذه القدرة، وأنه مقدر لك للحفاظ على تكرار السيناريو نفسه القديم مرارا وتكرارا. نادرا ما يذكر بهذه الصفة في الإعلانات الشخصية. انها ليست شيئا يمكنك جمع حول شخص ما من خلال قراءة الحيوي له. ليس من شيء يمكن أن أقول لكم من خلال مشاهدة لها من عبر غرفة مزدحمة. أنها لا تعتمد على نوع الجسم أو الجمال الجسدي. وهو أمر يمكن لأي شخص أن يتعلم، وإذا كان هو أو هي على استعداد لممارسة 10 الأساسية "مهارات الحقيقة". أبسط المهارات الحقيقة 10 هو القدرة على ملاحظة ما إذا كان القصد من الاتصال بك هو السيطرة أو تتصل.

المتعلقة مقابل السيطرة على

عندما كنت تتصل، كنت ببساطة مفتوحة والحاضر إلى كل ما هو - إذا كانت هذه هي ممتعة أو مؤلمة أو في مكان ما في الوسط. عند السيطرة، وأنت تحاول أن تجعل شيئا ما يحدث، على سبيل المثال، قد تكون محاولة للظهور واثق، والحفاظ على نفسك من يبحث الحماقة، والحصول على الآخرين لمثلك أو إيلاء الاهتمام للكم، وتجنب المواجهة أو الصراع، تأكد من جهة أخرى شخص ليس غير مريح، والحصول على طريقتك الخاصة، والحفاظ على الأشياء من الحصول مكثفة جدا، أو إدارة القلق من أن تكون مجرد الحالي.

عندما كنت تتصل، كنت غريبة عن نتائج، بدلا من محاولة السيطرة عليه. كنت أكثر اهتماما في اكتشاف وتعاني ما هكذا، بدلا من محاولة التعامل مع الامور للخروج كما هو مخطط لها. إذا كان قد عرف لويس كيف تتصل جيف فلربما كانت تصل اليه وقال له كان يشعر أنها تعادل أكثر من أن يأتي والتحدث معه. ثم قالت إنها قد استمع إلى علنا ​​ردا على ذلك، ما إذا كان ما كانت تأمل في الحصول أم لا.

فمن مهارتكم والثقة في التعامل مع النتائج، وغير معروف غير المخطط لها التي تجعلك جيد في العلاقة. اذا كنت تفتقر الى مهارة وهذه الثقة، عليك أن تكون أكثر عرضة للجوء إلى السيطرة على أنماط. وثمة نمط سيطرة أي التلقائي، وطريقة نمط من التفكير أو التصرف الذي يبقى لك من شعور ما يجري حقا في داخلك، ويساعد بدلا من ذلك أنت تبدو أكثر راحة وتحكم في من كنت تشعر فعلا.

ممارسة الحق في التعارف يساعدك تتفوق هذه الحاجة لحماية نفسك من واقع. من خلال هذه الممارسة، يمكنك تطوير القوة الداخلية المطلوبة للتعامل مع ما يحدث في الواقع. أنت تعلم أن تقبل حقيقة أنه لا يمكنك التحكم في كيفية الآخرين يشعرون تجاهك.

اذا كنت تعتمد على أنماط التحكم الخاصة بك لمساعدتك في التعامل، وعليك أن تكون أقل ثقة وأكثر خوفا وأقل عفوية وأكثر جمودا، ومجرد الحيلة عموما أقل. عليك أن تكون أيضا أقل جاذبية بالنسبة للشعب، واعية تدرك الذين يسعون للحصول على الزوج مع غيرها من الناس، واعية تدرك.

عندما كنت اشتعلت في نمط السيطرة، لا يمكنك أن تكون موجودة. عندما تتعلم ان يلتفتوا الى ما كنت تشعر حقا، أصيلة، التي تركز على الحاضر المتعلقة يصبح أكثر طبيعية. هل تعلم لتحرير نفسك من الطرق منقوشة أنت إفراط في الإهتمام بنفسك، والطرق التي تحاول اقناع، والطرق التي تغطي مشاعرك الحقيقية.

معظم التقرير الفردي أنهم قبض على أنفسهم في محاولة لإقناع وتظهر في التحكم في كثير من الأحيان عندما يكونون خائفين، العصبي، أو غير مستقر بالمقارنة عندما يشعرن بالاسترخاء. هذا هو الحاجة إلى إقناع، وهذا القلق حول نتائج التفاعل، الذي يمنع القدرة للحصول على "وجود".

الوجود هو القدرة على الشعور والإحساس نفسك ومحيطك في هنا والآن. وجود يختفي عند التركيز على النتيجة، كما هو الحال في "لو كنت تفعل ذلك، وقال انه لا تزال ترغب لي؟" أو "كيف يمكنني الحصول عليه ليسألني من جديد؟" وجود أمر بالغ الأهمية في وجود علاقة لأنه إذا كنت لم يكن موجودا، وهناك "بيت لا أحد" لتتصل الشخص الآخر، وليس من ستحصل على الاستفادة من التعلم من التجارب الخاصة بك. ونحن نعلم من خلال إيلاء اهتمام. وجود يسمح لك أن تولي اهتماما.

بعض أنماط رقابة مألوفة لمعظمنا هي: المبالغة في الحديث، موضحا؛ حكمي النفس الحديث، تهنئة ذاتية النفس الحديث، خوفا النفس الحديث، والنظر بشكل مكثف في عيني شخص ما من أجل إقناع، وليس النظر في عيني شخص ما من أجل تجنب شدة أكثر من اللازم، في انتظار أن يتكلم حتى إذا كنت متأكدا سوف يكون لك استقبالا حسنا، متحدثا باندفاع حتى قبل أن تعرف ما تريد أن تقوله.

أنماط السيطرة تنشأ كلما كنت تخشى عن التعرض للرفض، التي تسيطر عليها، هاجم وانتقد، المهجورة، والحكم على ذلك، تجاهل والإحباط، أو فضحهم. وقد شعرت معظم الفردي واحد على الأقل من هذه المخاوف مألوفة. كيف يمكن لشخص عادي مع هذه المخاوف التي يرجع تاريخها من أي وقت مضى الحصول على الاسترخاء بما فيه الكفاية لتجربة أداء حقيقية تتعلق مع إنسان آخر؟ كيف يمكننا تطوير المهارات اللازمة حتى يمكننا أن نثق بأنفسنا بما يكفي للسماح باستمرار دفاعاتنا - يثق أنه حتى لو الامور لا تتحول بشكل جيد، ونحن سوف يكون لا يزال بخير؟

تذكر، والسبب في اننا استخدام أنماط السيطرة لأننا خائفون. نحن نخشى أن يشعر ما نشعر به، ويقول ما نشعر به، أو سماع ما لشخص آخر يشعر عنا.

أزرار الكشف عن المخاوف الخاصة بك

بعد أن دفع زر وسائل وجود خوف اللاواعي اثار. هذا يقودك إلى الرد بطريقة تلقائية اللاوعي. خلال مقابلة واحدة، وأكد رجل واحد يدعى بروس fiftyish أمر واقعا، "أنا أعتبر نفسي أن أكون صادقا جدا، ولكن هناك شيء واحد أنا لن اقول امرأة أنا التي يرجع تاريخها. أنا لم يفصح عن القليل من المال لدي ".

واضاف "والسبب في ذلك؟" سألت.

"ولأن الصورة النمطية للنساء سوف رجل يسكن الطريق أفعل. وسوف يحكم تلقائيا لي. لذا أود أن ننتظر حتى بعد أن تعرف على لي قبل أن أتحدث عن بلدي قيمتها الصافية ... أو عدم وجوده!"

ما رأيك في بيان بروس؟ يمكنك أن تضع نفسك في حذائه؟ انه ربما تم رفض أكثر من مرة، وهذا ربما كان مؤلما بالنسبة له. يشاء من المفهوم لتجنب هذا الألم في المستقبل. لكن رفض امرأة القادم من له ما لم يحدث حتى الآن. فهو يتصور هذا الرفض يحدث في المستقبل. وعلى هذا فهو كتوم والدفاعية حول الوضع أمواله - فقط لتكون آمنة. انه غير موجود. فهو الانخراط في نمطين لسيطرة مشتركة إلى حد ما: تجنب موضوع معين يخشى، وترشيد سبب له للقيام بذلك.

اعتقد انه يخدع نفسه أيضا عندما كان يفترض أن افتقاره الى الموارد المالية هو السبب وراء بعض النساء حتى الآن لن له. أي وقت يكون لديك معيار، ذات حجم واحد يناسب الجميع سبب لماذا يحدث شيء لكم، وهذا هو ببساطة آخر من أعراض عدم التواجد. إذا كانوا موجودين على بروس مشاعره الحقيقية، وقال انه يمكن الشعور مشاعره - وليس التفكير في الأسباب التي تؤدي إلى رفض. موضحا "لماذا" وعادة ما يكون لعبة السيطرة. انها وسيلة لتجنب الانزعاج من عدم معرفة أو عدم في السيطرة على النتيجة.

الشعور يؤدي إلى شفاء

من معرفة بروس كما أفعل أنا، أتصور أن الرفض يرجع تاريخها التي عانى منها في الماضي الحصول على مزيد من القيام به مع الاعتقاد الأساسية حول الجدارة بلده. قد وضعه المالي يكون من أعراض أعمق الشكوك الذاتية. بروس لديه خوف عميق الجذور من الرفض المتعلقة بهذا المعنى اللاواعي عدم الجدارة، الذي كان قد لعبت بها بطرق مختلفة طوال حياته. دافع له صورة الذات من خلال ايجاد الأسباب يبقى الحصول على رفض، بدلا من السماح لنفسه يشعر بالألم من كل تجربة الرفض. لو كان قادرا على أن تكون موجودة على تجربته، وقال انه يشعر ببساطة له الألم والإحباط والغضب. هذا من شأنه أن نقدم له فرصة للشفاء. شعور مشاعرك تعطيك فرصة للراحة وشفاء نفسك. إذا كنت تخفي مشاعرك الحقيقية من نفسك، فإنك لن تشفى.

في كثير من الأحيان فإن التجربة الحالية مؤلمة تثير الجراح القديمة، مثل، لبروس، ومرات في طفولته عندما الاطفال في المدرسة رفضت أن تلعب معه خلال ساعة الغداء. لو كان على استعداد ليشعر مشاعره حول هذا الموضوع، وقال انه لديهم فرصة لتضميد جروحه القديمة. لتضميد الجراح من مرحلة الطفولة، فإن الشخص يحتاج إلى يسمح لنفسه لتجربة كشخص بالغ ما كان كثيفا جدا أو مؤلم أن يشعر وهو طفل. باستخدام له "منطق الكبار،" يبقى عالقا في نمط إدارة الألم القديمة. منصبه الحالي "سبب" له علاقة بالمال. لكن هذا النوع من التفكير هو ليس أكثر من التركيبة العقلية. على هذا النحو، فإنه ليس حقيقي. حتى انه يربط مع ويشعر بالألم له عن أعمال العاطفية التي لم تنته من ماضيه، فإنه سوف يستمر في توخي الحذر والخوف عن التعرض للرفض. وطالما انه يتجنب التعامل مع المصدر الحقيقي للألم له، وقال انه سوف تستمر في الحصول تسبب أي وقت امرأة فسأله عن وضعه المالي.

أنماط التحكم في العمل

دعونا النظر في ما يمكن أن يحدث عندما يحصل أثار بروس في الحالة التي يرجع تاريخها. وقالت امرأة يحب يستفسر: "هل الاستثمار في الأسهم أو الصناديق المشتركة، أو لماذا تبقى مجرد كل شيء في صندوق الأسواق المالية؟" (انها محاولة غير مباشرة لمعرفة كم من المال لديه.) في تلك اللحظة، الأمعاء بروس يشد ويضيق رقبته، لكنه يخفي مشاعره وردود وعرضا، "يا ولدي قليلا هنا وقليلا هناك". من هذه النقطة، يتم المساس فيما بين هذين الاثنين. وقالت إنها لا تطلب صراحة على ما أرادت، وحصل له "ليست جيدة بما فيه الكفاية" زر دفع، حاول إخفاء هذه الحقيقة، وقدم لها جوابا مراوغة. جدار يبدأ في النمو بينهما. لم يستطع أي منهما يلاحظ هذا لأن قد حصلت اعتادوا على حد سواء إلى زائف هذه العلاقة. أنها لا تزال حتى الآن لعدة أشهر، ولكن الاتصالات غير المباشرة ومراوغة تستمر حتى يحدث شيء في نهاية المطاف أن يجلب الأشياء إلى الرأس، وتوقفوا عن رؤية كل منهما الآخر.

في العالم يعود تاريخها مثل هذه التفاعلات تحدث في كل وقت. يذهب الناس للحظات "فاقد الوعي" عندما مخاوفهم الخروج، وأنهم لا يدركون حتى يحدث هذا. عندما بروس يسمع سؤال المرأة عن حالة الموارد المالية له، رد فعل له الخوف التلقائي "، وقالت انها سوف اعتقد انني لست جيدا بما فيه الكفاية". المرأة في هذا المثال يحدث لديهم مخاوف حول اللاوعي "لم يتم الاعتناء بهم." لذلك عندما قال انه يعطي لها جوابا المراوغة، وقالت انها يتصور أنه انه ينأى بنفسه عنها. الشريط تسمعه هو، واضاف "انه لا يهتم بما فيه الكفاية عن لي أن تكون مفتوحة معي".

في التاريخ، يمكن أن المخاوف من اللاوعي تعيث فسادا مع التفاعلات الشعبية. عندما شخصين عازمون على تجنب الألم الذي يصاحب المخاوف الأساسية، وأنها تبقي فقط على فعل الرقص نفسه مع شريك واحد بعد آخر - على أمل سرا إلى العثور على شخص لن تدفع أي من الأزرار الخاصة بهم! بالطبع هذا لا يعمل. فإنها قد تجد شركاء جدد للتاريخ، ولكن عاجلا أو آجلا إذا كان الخوف هو هناك، وسوف تحصل على تشغيله.

من الحصول على الحفز على التواجد

الحقيقة في التاريخ هو حول اعتماد مجموعة من المواقف والممارسات التي من شأنها مساعدة لاحظت عندما تصبح خائفة ومن ثم تساعدك على العودة إلى حاضر. تصبح مألوفة مع مشاعرك كل شيء، بما في ذلك الخوف، والغضب، ويضر، بدلا من التظاهر هذه لا وجود لها. ذات مرة كنت تقبل نفسك كما أنت، فإنه من السهل أن يكون حاضرا في كل وقت. بالنسبة لمعظم الناس وهذا هو المثالي أنهم بالكاد يجرؤ على أن نحلم. ولكن عندما كنت تعلم أن تعيش في الوقت الحاضر، والخوف من ردود فعل الآخرين يختفي. تكتشف أن الخوف هو عادة ما يكون وجها لرحلة حول المستقبل - حول بك لا يريد الماضي ليكرر نفسه في المستقبل أو عدم الرغبة في المستقبل لتتحول خاطئ. عندما كنت قادرا على ملاحظة حالة من الهياج الداخلية الخاصة بك، لديك وسيلة للفت الانتباه مرة أخرى إلى اللحظة الراهنة. يمكنك أن تكون متاحة علنا ​​إلى الإمكانيات الفعلية للموقف لديك. هذا هو جزء كبير من ما هو الحب - الانفتاح على كل لحظة مع كل امكانياتها.

ملخص الفصل

• معظم الفردي تجد أنه من الصعب أن نكون صادقين تماما لأنها تعطي الكثير من الوزن لنتائج كل تفاعل التاريخ. فهم يتصورون بها الذات هو على المحك.

• يذهب الناس لحظات اللاوعي عندما أنهم يخشون أن بعض تجربة مؤلمة في الماضي على وشك أن يعيد نفسه. ثم أنهم لا يستطيعون سماع ما الشخص الآخر يقوله فعلا. هذا يسبب كل أنواع الحيرة والألم لا لزوم لها.

• العمل الذي لم ينته من الماضي المحاصيل دائما وعبث معنا. عندما كنت تجد صعوبة في البقاء الحالي، فمن المحتمل ان يكون علامة على أن تفجرت واحدة من المخاوف القديمة أو المعتقدات السلبية. وهذا يعني أن هناك بعض الألم مدفون في داخلك (الألم الذي ربما كان أكثر من اللازم بالنسبة لك تجربة في مرحلة الطفولة). هذا الألم هو الشيء الذي كنت في حاجة الآن لتجربة كاملة والتعامل معها بوعي.

• عندما نتعلم لقول الحقيقة لأنفسنا عن مخاوفنا، ثم يمكننا التعرف عندما يتم دفعها أزرار لدينا ويعودون للحاضر.

• القدرة على الربط هي مهارة أساسية للعلاقات الناجحة. فيما يعني أن تكون موجودة على ويجري على استعداد لكشف ما كنت تواجه في الوقت الحاضر - مشاعرك، ويريد بك، نواياكم.

• معظم الناس مدمنون على السيطرة ولا يعرفون ذلك. السيطرة هي عكس المترابطة.

• الحقيقة في التاريخ يمكن أن تساعدك على تعلم أن نلاحظ ببساطة المخاوف الخاصة بك، وليس تحديد معهم، حتى تتمكن من البقاء مفتوحة إلى الجوهر الأساسي الخاص المحبة والنفس المحبة لل.

المادة المصدر:

الحقيقة في التاريخ من قبل سوزان م. كامبل.الحقيقة في التاريخ: البحث عن الحب عن طريق الحصول على ريال مدريد
كامبل من قبل م. سوزان.


أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر، جديد المكتبة العالمية. © 2004. www.newworldlibrary.com

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب.

كتب أخرى كتبها هذا الكاتب.

عن المؤلف

سوزان م. كامبل، دكتوراه عملت نفسي سوزان كامبل كمستشار العمل الجماعي لشركات 500 فورتشن، وهي اللغة المهنية، وعلى مدى أكثر من سنة 35، وذلك يرجع تاريخها، وعلاقة المدرب. وهي مؤلفات أخرى عديدة، بما في ذلك كسر الأرض لها في رحلة شهر العسل (أكثر من 100,000 المباعة) الذي أدخل فكرة في صلب باستخدام العلاقات الحميمة كممارسة روحية. موقعها على الانترنت هو www.susancampbell.com.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Honesty: The Only Hope for Relationships

(Editor's Note: While this article deals with honesty in dating, its information and advice are applicable to all relationships.)

Everyone values honest communication,
but how many have the necessary honesty skills?

 In my work with hundreds of truth-seeking singles from New York to California, one conclusion is inescapable: almost everyone seems to value honest communication, but very few have the skills or the confidence to practice it consistently. According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught with fear. It seems that when people believe there's a lot at stake, they get nervous and instead of being their creative, delightful selves, they resort to various anxiety management strategies.

Lois met Jeff at a friend's birthday party and felt immediately drawn to him. But instead of spending time talking with him at the party, she found herself flirting with other men in hopes that Jeff would notice her. She left the party that night without having spoken a word to Jeff.

Lois's behavior is an example of what I call a "control pattern." A control pattern is anything you do automatically, without awareness, to manage the anxiety of feeling "not in control." A favorite pattern of many people is to be overly nice or agreeable. Others try to appear cool or indifferent, as Lois did. Some try to impress by acting super confident. Others shrink into the woodwork and try to remain invisible. When you're in your control pattern, you are usually "on automatic," acting from habit rather than choice.

People resort to such behaviors because they cannot tolerate the uncertainty or anxiety of the typical dating encounter. Lois felt attracted to Jeff, but she had no idea how he felt about her. She wanted him to be as attracted to her as she was to him, but since she was not able to control the situation to insure her desired outcome, she tried to stay in control by playing it cool.

Truth in Dating focuses on noticing and learning to live without these habitual patterns. It is about learning to express yourself authentically — to say what you really feel and think, or to simply be silent and listen.

Today's Dating Landscape

With the advent and increasing popularity of personal ads, matchmakers-for-hire, and on-line dating services, it's easier now than ever before to be introduced to a large number of potential partners with a minimal outlay of time and energy. Whether you actually use any of these services or not, you know they're available to you, so you know that you could at least be having a lot of first dates if you really wanted to. You are no longer dependent on getting invited to parties, going to bars or nightclubs, or introducing yourself to strangers at the supermarket. That's the good news.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The bad news is that many of these newer dating venues emphasize the checklist approach to dating. You are asked to make a list of what you ideally want, what you might settle for, and what you have to offer in exchange. This tends to foster the illusion that if you and another person match up in terms of traits and preferences, you're well on your way to successful relating.

The problem with the checklist mentality is that there is so much more to people than the generalizations they make about themselves. Generalizations like "I'm the kind of person who loves the outdoors... enjoys parties . . . needs a lot of alone time ... feels things deeply" tell nothing about a person's capacity for relating. It is your ability to openly relate to another person that spells the difference between success and failure in relationships. Most singles (and couples too) do not relate very well. They are too focused on feeling in control. Relating is the opposite of controlling.

In my thirty-five-year career as a relationship coach and seminar leader, I have found that the capacity to relate is the one essential quality that enables a person to enjoy satisfying interpersonal/intimate relationships. Without this capacity, you're doomed to keep repeating the same old script over and over. This capacity is rarely mentioned in personal ads. It is not something you can glean about a person by reading his bio. It is not something you can tell by watching her from across a crowded room. It is not dependent on body type or physical beauty. It is something that anyone can learn, if he or she is willing to practice ten fundamental "truth skills." The most basic of the ten truth skills is the ability to notice whether the intent of your communication is to control or to relate.

Relating vs. Controlling

When you are relating, you are simply open and present to whatever is — whether this is pleasurable or painful or somewhere in-between. When you are controlling, you are trying to make something happen; for example, you may be trying to appear confident, keep yourself from looking foolish, get others to like you or pay attention to you, avoid confrontation or conflict, make sure the other person is not uncomfortable, get your own way, keep things from getting too intense, or manage the anxiety of simply being present.

When you are relating, you are curious about the outcome, instead of trying to control it. You're more interested in discovering and experiencing what's so, rather than trying to manipulate things to come out as planned. If Lois had known how to relate to Jeff, she might have gone up to him and told him she was feeling drawn to come over and talk to him. Then she would have listened openly to his response, whether it was what she was hoping for or not.

It is your skill and confidence in dealing with unknown, unplanned outcomes that make you good at relating. If you lack such skill and confidence, you'll be more apt to resort to control patterns. A control pattern is any automatic, patterned way of thinking or behaving that keeps you from feeling what is really going on inside you and instead helps you appear more comfortable and in control than you actually feel.

Practicing Truth in Dating helps you outgrow this need to protect yourself from reality. Through this practice, you develop the inner strength required to deal with what is really going on. You learn to accept the fact that you cannot control how others feel toward you.

If you are dependent on your control patterns to help you cope, you'll be less confident and more fearful, less spontaneous and more rigid, and just generally less resourceful. You'll also be less attractive to conscious, aware people who are seeking to pair with other conscious, aware people.

When you are caught in a control pattern, you cannot be present. When you learn to pay attention to what you're really feeling, authentic, present-centered relating becomes more natural. You learn to free yourself from the patterned ways you overprotect yourself, the ways you try to impress, and the ways you cover your true feelings.

Most singles report that they catch themselves trying to impress and appear in control more often when they are fearful, nervous, or uneasy as compared to when they are relaxed. It is this need to impress, this worry about the outcome of the interaction, that blocks your capacity for "presence."

Presence is the ability to feel and sense yourself and your surroundings in the here and now. Presence disappears when you focus on the outcome, as in "If I do this, will he still like me?" or "How can I get him to ask me out again?" Presence is critical in a relationship because if you're not present, there's "nobody home" to relate to the other person, and neither of you will get the benefit of learning from your experiences. We learn by paying attention. Presence allows you to pay attention.

Some control patterns that are familiar to most of us are: over-talking, explaining; judgmental self-talk, self-congratulatory self-talk, fearful self-talk; looking intensely into someone's eyes in order to impress, not looking into someone's eyes in order to avoid too much intensity, waiting to speak until you are sure you'll be well received, impulsively speaking up before you know what you want to say.

Control patterns arise whenever you are fearful about being rejected, controlled, attacked, criticized, abandoned, judged, ignored, frustrated, or shamed. Most singles have felt at least one of these familiar fears. How can a person with these normal dating fears ever get relaxed enough to experience truly fulfilling relating with another human being? How can we develop the necessary skills so that we can trust ourselves enough to let down our defenses — trusting that even if things don't turn out so well, we will still be okay?

Remember, the reason we use control patterns is because we are afraid. We are afraid to feel what we feel, say what we feel, or hear what someone else feels about us.

Buttons Reveal Your Fears

Having a button pushed means having an unconscious fear triggered. This leads you to react in an automatic, unconscious way. During one interview, a fiftyish single man named Bruce asserted matter-of-factly, "I consider myself to be very honest, but there's one thing I won't tell a woman I'm dating. I never disclose how little money I have."

"And why is that?" I asked.

"Because women will stereotype a man who lives the way I do. They will automatically rule me out. So I like to wait until after they get to know me before I talk about my net worth ... or lack of it!"

What do you think about Bruce's statement? Can you put yourself in his shoes? He has probably been rejected more than once, and this has probably been painful for him. He understandably wishes to avoid this pain in the future. But the next woman's rejection of him has not even happened yet. He is imagining this rejection happening in the future. So he's secretive and defensive about his money situation — just to be safe. He is not present. He is engaging in two fairly common control patterns: avoiding a particular feared topic, and rationalizing his reason for doing so.

I believe he is also deceiving himself when he assumes that his lack of financial means is the reason some women won't date him. Any time you have a standard, one-size-fits-all reason for why something happens to you, this is simply another symptom of lack of presence. If Bruce were present to his actual feelings, he would be feeling his feelings — not thinking up reasons why he might be rejected. Explaining "why" is usually a control game. It's a way to avoid the discomfort of not knowing or not being in control of the outcome.

Feeling Leads to Healing

From knowing Bruce as I do, I imagine that the dating rejections he has experienced in the past have more to do with a core belief about his own unworthiness. His financial situation may be a symptom of deeper self-doubts. Bruce has a deep-seated fear of rejection related to this unconscious sense of unworthiness, which he has played out in different ways all his life. He has defended his self-image by finding reasons why he keeps getting rejected, instead of allowing himself to feel the pain of each rejection experience. If he were able to be present to his experience, he would simply feel his pain, frustration, and anger. This would offer him an opportunity to heal. Feeling your feelings gives you a chance to comfort and heal yourself. If you hide your real feelings from yourself, you will not heal.

Often a current painful experience will trigger old wounds, such as, for Bruce, the times in his childhood when the kids at school refused to play with him during lunch hour. If he were willing to feel his feelings about this, he would have a chance to heal his old wounds. To heal wounds from childhood, a person needs to allow himself to experience as an adult what was too intense or painful to feel as a child. By using his "adult reasoning," he stays stuck in an old pain management pattern. His current "reason why" has to do with money. But such reasoning is nothing more than a mental construct. As such, it is not real. Until he connects with and feels his pain about the unfinished emotional business from his past, he will continue to be vigilant and fearful about being rejected. And, as long as he avoids handling the real source of his pain, he will keep getting triggered any time a woman asks him about his financial situation.

Control Patterns in Action

Let's consider what might happen when Bruce gets triggered in a dating situation. A woman he likes inquires, "Do you invest in stocks or mutual funds, or do you just keep it all in a money market fund?" (She's indirectly trying to find out how much money he has.) At that moment, Bruce's gut tightens and his throat constricts, but he hides his feelings and replies casually, "Oh I have a little here and a little there." From this point on, the relating between these two is compromised. She did not openly ask for what she wanted, and he got his "not good enough" button pushed, tried to hide this fact, and gave her an evasive answer. A wall begins to grow between them. Neither of them notices this because both have gotten accustomed to such inauthentic relating. They continue to date for several months, but the indirect communication and evasiveness continue until finally something happens that brings things to a head, and they stop seeing each other.

In the dating world interactions like this occur all the time. People go momentarily "unconscious" when their fears come up, and they don't even realize this is happening. When Bruce hears a woman's question about the state of his finances, his automatic fear reaction is, "She'll think I'm not good enough." The woman in this example happens to have unconscious fears about "not being cared for." So when he gives her an evasive answer, she imagines that he's distancing himself from her. The tape she hears is, "He doesn't care enough about me to be open with me."

In dating, unconscious fears can wreak havoc with people's interactions. When two people are intent on avoiding the pain associated with their core fears, they just keep on doing the same dance with one partner after another — secretly hoping to find someone who won't push any of their buttons! Of course this never works. They may find new partners to date, but sooner or later if a fear is there, it will get triggered.

From Getting Triggered to Being Present

Truth in Dating is about adopting a set of attitudes and practices that will help you notice when you become afraid and then help you come back to being present. You become familiar with all your feelings, including fear, anger, and hurt, instead of pretending these don't exist. Once you accept yourself as you are, it's easier to be present all the time. For most people this is an ideal they hardly dare to dream about. Yet when you learn to live in the present, your fear of others' reactions disappears. You discover that fear is usually a head-trip about the future — about your not wanting the past to repeat itself in the future or not wanting the future to turn out wrong. When you are able to notice your internal state of agitation, you have a way to bring your attention back to the present moment. You can be openly available to the actual possibilities of your situation. This is a big part of what love is — being open to each moment with all its possibilities.

Chapter Summary

• Most singles find it difficult to be honest because they give entirely too much weight to the outcome of each dating interaction. They imagine their self-worth is at stake.

• People go momentarily unconscious when they fear that some painful past experience is about to repeat itself. Then they can't hear what the other person is actually saying. This causes all sorts of confusion and unnecessary pain.

• Unfinished business from the past always crops up and messes with us. When you find it hard to stay present, it's probably a sign that one of your old fears or negative beliefs has been triggered. This means that there's some buried pain inside you (pain that was perhaps too much for you to experience as a child). This pain is something that you now need to fully experience and deal with consciously.

• When we learn to tell the truth to ourselves about our fears, then we can recognize when our buttons are being pushed and come back to being present.

• The ability to relate is the essential skill for successful relationships. Relating means being present to and being willing to reveal what you are experiencing in the moment — your feelings, your wants, your intentions.

• Most people are addicted to control and don't even know it. Controlling is the opposite of relating.

• Truth in Dating can help you learn to simply notice your fears, and not identify with them, so you can stay open to your essential loving and self-loving essence.

Article Source:

Truth in Dating by Susan M. Campbell.Truth in Dating: Finding Love by Getting Real
by Susan M. Campbell.


Reprinted with permission of the publisher, New World Library. ©2004. www.newworldlibrary.com

Info/Order this book.

Other books by this author.

About the Author

Susan M. Campbell, Ph.D. Psychologist Susan Campbell has worked as a teamwork consultant to Fortune 500 companies, a professional speaker, and, for over 35 years, as a dating and relationship coach. She is author of several other books, including her ground-breaking The Couples Journey (over 100,000 sold) which introduced the idea into the mainstream of using intimate relationships as a spiritual practice. Her website is www.susancampbell.com.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}