من هو المثل الأعلى الخاص بك؟ حبك الأول قد يكون لديك شيء لتفعله به

صلة

من هو المثل الأعلى الخاص بك؟ حبك الأول قد يكون لديك شيء لتفعله به
Matheus فيريرو / Unsplash

قد يكون شريكك الجنسي الأول أكثر إخبارك عن زوجك أو حبيبك الحالي مما قد تفكر به. على الرغم من أن هذا قد يبدو مفاجئًا لك ، دراسات أظهرت التجارب المبكرة دورًا في اختيارنا كشريك جنسي.

تخيل أنك وحيد. إنه صيف حار في ليلة السبت في المدينة. أنت في النادي ، تشرب في يدك ، تدفع حديثًا وشعورًا رائعًا. بما أن الموسيقى تلعب في الخلفية بينما تتعرّض مشاهدتك عبر العارضة ، فإنك تكتشف الشخص الأكثر جمالًا وروعةً على الإطلاق. أغلق عينيك لبضع ثوان وفكر: كيف تبدو؟

معظمنا لديه نوع (أو نوع) عندما يتعلق الأمر بشريك جنسي. ولكن "النوع" الخاص بنا يمكن أيضًا أن يتغير ويتغير طوال مدة خدمتنا استنادًا إلى تجاربنا. العلماء لديهم أظهرت مرارا وتكرارا أن عدة عوامل تؤثر على زميلنا المثالي.

أنا أعمل في مختبر جيمس ج، في قسم علم النفس في جامعة كونكورديا. تساءلنا عما إذا كان شريكك الجنسي الأول يمكن أن يحدد كيف اخترت شريكًا جنسيًا حاليًا ، وإذا كان الأمر كذلك ، كيف ولماذا.

أبحاثنا يظهر أن شركاءنا الجنسيين الأوائل يمكن أن يؤثروا على خياراتنا الحالية للشريك الجنسي. من أجل دراسة التجارب الجنسية الأولى ، يعمل مختبرنا مع الجرذان ، لأن - صدقوا أو لا - الطريقة التي يمارسون بها الجنس بشكل ملحوظ على غرار لنا.

الآليات الكامنة وراء هذه الظاهرة

كل شيء نختبره يتم معالجته بواسطة دماغنا. إن نظامنا العصبي مجهز ببنية تحتية نفسية وبيوكيميائية تسمح لنا بالتعرف على بيئتنا وخبراتنا.

ربما الاسم إيفان بافلوف يدق جرس لك؟ بافلوف ، الحائز على جائزة نوبل ، اكتشف أنه تحسبًا لتغذيته ، سوف تلغى الكلاب على صوت الجرس ، من خلال إنشاء علاقة بين صوتها والطعام إذا تم مزاوجة كلتا العظة من قبل.

وبالمثل ، فإن البشر مجهزون بنظام عصبي يشترك في نفس آليات التعلم. يساعد ذلك على تفسير سبب شعورك بالإحساس اللطيف عند فتح علبة بيرة في يوم حار ، أو لماذا يمكن أن يؤدي "الحديث القذيف" إلى إثارة الشهوة الجنسية في صورة تدفق الدم التناسلي.

ميزات الشريك مثل الارتفاع ولون الشعر وأبعاد الجسم ، بالإضافة إلى الإشارات السياقية مثل السرير أو البار أو الوقت من اليوم أو اليوم من الأسبوع هي الجرس ، والإشباع الجنسي هو الطعام. هذه هي الطريقة التي نتعلم بها أشياء عن الجنس: صب نوعنا ، وكذلك كيف ومتى لممارسة الجنس ، جنبا إلى جنب مع ما يجب القيام به ، مع من ولماذا.

إذاً كيف يمكن أن يكون "الأول" لديك أي علاقة بحبيبك الحالي؟

دراستنا: الملابس الداخلية والعطور على الفئران

وقد تبين ذلك يمكن تدريب ذكور الفئران على ربط أنثى تتقبل جنسياً والمكافأة الجنسية من الجماع مع جديلة ذات رائحة محايدة ترتديها الإناث، مثل العطور. عندما تقرن أوقات كافية ، فإن الفئران الذكور ستطور تفضيل هذه الأنثى على أنثى غير معطرة.

مع أخذ هذا في الاعتبار ، في دراستنا ، تلاعبنا التجربة الأولى من هؤلاء الفئران الذكور من خلال السماح لهم بالاقتران مع الإناث المتقبلة. في وقت لاحق ، قمنا بتدريبهم على تفضيل الإناث اللاتي يرتدين العطور.

أخيرًا ، قمنا باختبار تفضيلاتهم - مما سمح لهم بالتقاط بحرية مع إثنين من الإناث: واحد يحمل العطر و "الأول". ما وجدناه هو أن الذكور لم يظهروا تفضيلاً لشريكهم الحالي (الأنثى مع العطر) ، على عكس المجموعات الأخرى التي تصادف فقط مع الإناث المعطرة.

وبعبارة أخرى ، على الرغم من أن ذكور الفئران تميل إلى تطوير تفضيل الشريك لشريكهم الحالي ، فبمجرد تقديمهم مع شريكهم الأول ، تمكنا من التدخل في هذا التفضيل المعرف.

هذا يدل على أن تجربتهم الجنسية الأولى يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير عميق في تفضيل الشريك.

علاوة على ذلك ، تساءلنا عما إذا كان هذا خاصًا بالإشارات الشمولية. لذلك ، عندما كنا تبادل جديلة الرائحة لسترة (نعم ، الملابس الداخلية الفئران!) ، مماثلة النتائج تم العثور عليها ، وهذا يعني أن الفئران فضلت شركاءها الأولين - يرتدي سترات - على تلك التي لم ترتدي سترات.

تظهر التجارب أن الفئران يمكن "تعلم لربط الجنس مع مجموعة متنوعة من الإشارات السياقية ، بما في ذلك نسيج الملابس" مشيرا إلى أن الاوثان الجنسية هي في أساس نفس آليات التعلم.

من الحاضر ، إلى الماضي ، إلى المستقبل

هذه النتائج لا تستوعب جميع تعقيدات خيارات تفضيل الشركاء ، ولا تشير إلى أن أحدهم هو سجين من اختيارات الماضي عندما يتعلق الأمر باختيار شريك جنسي أو زوج أو زوجة. ومع ذلك ، يلقي الضوء على كيفية تشكيل نوع.

قد يكون هناك نمط يمكن أن يفسره ماضيك ، وإلى حد ما ، من تختار كشريك مستقبلي. هناك عدد لا حصر له من العوامل أو الميزات التي نختارها كشريك.

على الرغم من أن النتائج تدعم بوضوح استنتاجاتنا ، فمن المهم الإشارة إلى أن بعض الفئران لا تزال تفضل شريكها الحالي ، أو حتى لا أحد منهم. وهذا يعني ، مثل الفئران ، أن الأشخاص المختلفين لديهم تفضيلات مختلفة ، وسوف يتأثرون بالتجارب الأولى بشكل مختلف.

إذا كنت تتساءل عما إذا كان يمكن تطبيق هذه النتائج على التوجهات الجنسية الأخرى بخلاف الجنس الآخر ، فإن الإجابة هي نعم. على الرغم من أن النتائج أجريت بين ذكور وإناث الجرذان ، إلا أن آليات التعلم نفسها تنطبق على الأشخاص الذين هم مثليون جنسياً ، وكئيبون وكل لون في قوس قزح الملونة التوجهات الجنسية.

نوع وتفضيلاتنا فريدة ولا تضاهى. ببساطة لا يوجد خطأ أو خطأ - حتى إذا كنت تعتقد أنك لا تملك نوعًا ما. طالما هناك موافقة واحترام ، وكيف ، وأين ، ومتى ، ومن أو حتى لماذا نختار أن ننام مع شخص ما لا ينبغي أن يهم أي شخص غيرك أنت وشريكك.

المحادثةسواء كان شريكك الحالي أو زوجك الحالي يشبه "الأول" أم لا ، فمن الواضح أننا نتعلم أشياء من تجاربنا الماضية ، والجنس ليس استثناء.

نبذة عن الكاتب

Gonzalo R. Quintana Zunino، PhDc Behavioral Neuroscience and Public Scholar، جامعة كونكورديا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=relationship choices;maxresults=3}

صلة
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Who's Your Ideal Mate? Your First Love May Have Something To Do With It

relationship

Who's Your Ideal Mate? Your First Love May Have Something To Do With It
Matheus Ferrero/Unsplash

Your first sexual partner may have more to tell you about your spouse or current lover than you may think. Although this may sound surprising to you, studies have shown early experiences play a role in who we choose as a sexual partner.

Imagine you’re single. It is a warm summer Saturday night in the city. You’re in a club, drink in hand, freshly paid and feeling great. As the music plays in the background while your gaze meanders across the bar, you spot the most beautiful and sexy person you have ever seen. Close your eyes for a few seconds and think: How do they look?

Most of us have a type (or sort of) when it comes to a sexual partner. But our “type” can also vary and change throughout our lifespan based on our experiences. Scientists have shown repeatedly that several factors influence our ideal mate.

I work in the the lab of James G. Pfaus, in the Department of Psychology at Concordia University. We wondered if your first sexual partner can determine how you choose a current sexual partner, and if so, how and why.

Our research shows that our first sexual partners can influence our current choices of sexual partner. In order to study first sexual experiences, our lab works with rats, because - believe it or not - the way they have sex is remarkably similar to ours.

The mechanisms behind this phenomenon

Everything we experience is processed by our brain. Our nervous system is equipped with a psychological and biochemical infrastructure that allows us to learn about our environment and experiences.

Perhaps the name Ivan Pavlov rings a bell to you? Pavlov, a Nobel Prize winner, discovered that in anticipation of being fed, dogs would salivate to the sound of a bell, by establishing an association between its sound and the food if both cues had been previously paired.

Similarly, humans are equipped with a nervous system that shares the same learning mechanisms. This helps to explain why you experience that pleasurable sensation when you open a can of beer on a hot day, or why just “talking dirty” can trigger sexual arousal in the form of genital blood flow.

Partner features such as height, hair colour and body dimensions, along with contextual cues such as your bed, a bar, the time of day or day of the week are the bell, and sexual gratification is the food. This is how we learn things about sex: Moulding our type, and also how and when to have sex, along with what to do, with who and even why.

So how could your “first” have anything to do with your current lover?

Our study: Lingerie and perfume on rats

It has been shown that male rats can be trained to associate a sexually receptive female and the sexual reward from intercourse with a neutral odor cue worn by the female, like a perfume. When paired enough times, the male rat will develop a preference for this female over an unscented female.

With this in mind, in our study, we manipulated the first experience of these male rats by allowing them to copulate with a receptive female. Later on, we trained them to prefer females that wore perfume.

Finally we tested their preference — allowing them to copulate freely with two females: One bearing the perfume and their “first.” What we found is that males did not show a preference for their current partner (the female with the perfume), unlike in the other groups who only copulated with scented females.

In other words, although male rats tend to develop a partner preference for their current partner, once they were presented with their first partner we were able to interfere with that learned preference.

This shows that their first sexual experience can have a profound effect in partner preference.

Furthermore, we wondered if this was specific to olfactory cues. Therefore, when we swapped the odor cue for a jacket (yes, rat lingerie!), similar results were found, meaning the rats preferred their first partners — wearing jackets — over the ones that did not wear jackets.

The experiments show that rats can “learn to associate sex with a variety of contextual cues, including the texture of clothing,” indicating that sexual fetishes are at the base of the same learning mechanisms.

From the present, to the past, to the future

These findings do not capture all the complexities of partner preference choices, nor suggest that one is a prisoner of the past choices when it comes to choosing a sexual partner or a spouse. However, they shed light on how we form a type.

There may be a pattern your past can explain, and to a certain extent, who you choose as your future partner. There are an infinite number of factors or features by which we choose as a mate.

Although the findings clearly support our conclusions, it’s important to mention that some rats still preferred their current partner, or even none of them. That means, like rats, different people will have different preferences, and will be influenced by first experiences differently.

If you’re wondering if these results could be applied to other sexual orientations other than heterosexual, the answer is yes. Although the results were conducted between male and female rats, the same learning mechanisms apply to people who are homosexual, queer and every hue in colourful rainbow of sexual orientations.

Our type and preferences are unique and incomparable. There is simply no right or wrong — even if you believe you don’t have a type. As long there is consent and respect, how, where, when, who or even why we choose to sleep with someone should not matter to anyone but you and your partner.

The ConversationWhether your current partner or spouse resembles your “first” or not, it is clear that we learn things from our past experiences, and sex is no exception.

About The Author

Gonzalo R. Quintana Zunino, PhDc Behavioral Neuroscience and Public Scholar, Concordia University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Choices in Relationships: An Introduction to Marriage and the Family
relationshipAuthor: David Knox
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Cengage Learning
List Price: $199.95

Buy Now

Love Is a Choice: The Definitive Book on Letting Go of Unhealthy Relationships
relationshipAuthor: Robert Hemfelt
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

Love Is A Choice Recovery for Codependent Relationships
relationshipAuthor: Robert Hemfelt
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Thomas Nelson Inc
List Price: $12.99

Buy Now

relationship
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}