Sont-ils plus ignorants qu'ils admettront?

Sont-ils plus ignorants qu'ils admettront?

Les personnes qui pensent que leurs connaissances et leurs croyances sont supérieures aux autres sont particulièrement enclines à surestimer ce qu'elles savent réellement, suggère une nouvelle recherche.

Même après avoir reçu des commentaires leur montrant à quel point ils ne connaissaient pas les faits politiques pertinents, ces gens prétendaient toujours que leurs croyances étaient objectivement plus correctes que celles des autres. En plus de cela, ils étaient plus susceptibles de rechercher de nouvelles informations de manière biaisée qui confirme leur sentiment de supériorité.

L'étude s'est concentrée sur les personnes qui professent la «supériorité de la croyance» - ou pensent que leurs opinions sont supérieures à d'autres points de vue - en ce qui concerne les questions politiques. Les chercheurs notent que les gens revendiquent également la supériorité de la croyance dans une variété d'autres domaines en dehors de la politique, tels que l'environnement, la religion, les conflits relationnels et même des sujets relativement triviaux comme l'étiquette et les préférences personnelles.

"Alors que les participants plus humbles ont parfois même sous-estimé leurs connaissances, la croyance supérieure a tendance à penser qu'ils en savaient beaucoup plus que ce qu'ils ont réellement fait ..."

La recherche a utilisé plusieurs études pour répondre à deux questions clés sur la supériorité des croyances politiques: Est-ce que les personnes qui pensent que leurs croyances sont supérieures ont plus de connaissances sur les problèmes qu'elles estiment supérieures? Et est-ce que les croyants supérieurs utilisent des stratégies supérieures lorsqu'ils cherchent de nouvelles connaissances?

Pour répondre à la première question, les participants ont rapporté leurs croyances et sentiments de supériorité de croyance sur plusieurs sujets politiques. Les chercheurs leur ont demandé ce qu'ils pensaient savoir de ces sujets, puis leur ont demandé de répondre à des questionnaires pour tester leurs connaissances sur ces sujets.

À travers six études et plusieurs sujets politiques, les personnes qui étaient élevées dans la supériorité croyance pensaient qu'ils connaissaient beaucoup de choses sur ces sujets. Cependant, en comparant cette connaissance perçue à ce que les gens savaient réellement, ils ont constaté que les personnes supérieures croyaient systématiquement surestimer leurs propres connaissances.

«Alors que les participants plus humbles sous-estimaient parfois leurs connaissances, la croyance supérieure avait tendance à penser qu'ils en savaient beaucoup plus qu'ils ne le faisaient», explique Michael Hall, étudiant en psychologie à l'Université du Michigan et auteur principal de l'étude.

Pour la deuxième question, les chercheurs ont présenté aux participants des articles sur un sujet politique et leur ont demandé de choisir ceux qu'ils aimeraient lire. La moitié des articles soutenaient le point de vue des participants, tandis que l'autre moitié contestait leur position.

Les personnes croyant-supérieurs étaient significativement plus susceptibles que leurs homologues modestes de choisir des informations qui soutenaient leurs croyances. De plus, ils savaient qu'ils cherchaient des informations biaisées: lorsque les chercheurs leur demandaient quel type d'articles ils avaient choisi, ils admettaient volontiers leur parti pris pour des articles qui soutenaient leurs propres croyances.

"Nous avons pensé que si les personnes croyant-supérieurs montraient une tendance à rechercher un ensemble équilibré d'informations, elles pourraient être en mesure d'affirmer qu'elles sont parvenues à leur supériorité par une pensée raisonnée et critique sur les deux côtés de la question".

Au lieu de cela, les chercheurs ont trouvé que ces personnes préféraient fortement les informations qui soutenaient leurs points de vue, indiquant qu'elles manquaient probablement des occasions d'améliorer leurs connaissances.

Alors pourquoi les gens semblent-ils éviter les points de vue opposés? Les chercheurs suggèrent que si certaines personnes insistent sur le fait qu'elles ont toujours raison, nous nous sentons tous bien lorsque les croyances que nous pensons importantes sont confirmées.

En d'autres termes, lorsqu'une croyance est fermement ancrée, est liée à son identité ou à ses valeurs, ou est tenue avec un sens de la conviction morale, les gens sont plus susceptibles de se distancier de l'information et des personnes qui remettent en question leur croyance.

«Avoir validé vos croyances est une bonne chose, alors que vos croyances suscitent un malaise, et cette gêne augmente généralement lorsque vos croyances sont fortement ancrées et importantes pour vous», explique la coauteure de l'étude, Kaitlin Raimi, professeure adjointe de politique publique.

Les résultats apparaissent dans le Journal de psychologie sociale expérimentale.

La source: Université du Michigan

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = attitude et arrogance; maxresults = 3}

Are Know-It-Alls More Ignorant Than They’ll Admit?

Are Know-It-Alls More Ignorant Than They’ll Admit?

People who think their knowledge and beliefs are superior to others are especially prone to overestimating what they actually know, new research suggests.

Even after getting feedback showing them how much they didn’t know relevant political facts, these people still claimed that their beliefs were objectively more correct than everyone else’s. On top of that, they were more likely to seek out new information in biased ways that confirm their sense of superiority.

The study focused on people who profess “belief superiority”—or thinking their views are superior to other viewpoints—as it relates to political issues. The researchers note that people also claim belief superiority in a variety of other domains besides politics, such as the environment, religion, relationship conflicts, and even relatively trivial topics such as etiquette and personal preferences.

“Whereas more humble participants sometimes even underestimated their knowledge, the belief superior tended to think they knew a lot more than they actually did…”

The research used several studies to answer two key questions about political belief superiority: Do people who think that their beliefs are superior have more knowledge about the issues they feel superior about? And do belief-superior people use superior strategies when seeking out new knowledge?

To answer the first question, participants reported their beliefs and feelings of belief superiority about several political topics. Researchers asked them how much they thought they knew about these topics and then had them complete quizzes testing their actual knowledge about those issues.

Across six studies and several political topics, people who were high in belief superiority thought that they knew a great deal about these topics. However, when comparing this perceived knowledge to how much people actually knew, they found that belief-superior people were consistently overestimating their own knowledge.

“Whereas more humble participants sometimes even underestimated their knowledge, the belief superior tended to think they knew a lot more than they actually did,” says Michael Hall, a psychology graduate student at the University of Michigan and the study’s lead author.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


For the second question, researchers presented participants with news articles about a political topic and asked them to select which ones they would like to read. Half of the articles supported the participants’ own point of view, whereas the other half challenged their position.

Belief-superior people were significantly more likely than their modest peers to choose information that supported their beliefs. Furthermore, they were aware that they were seeking out biased information: when the researchers asked them what type of articles they had chosen, they readily admitted their bias for articles that supported their own beliefs.

“We thought that if belief-superior people showed a tendency to seek out a balanced set of information, they might be able to claim that they arrived at their belief superiority through reasoned, critical thinking about both sides of the issue,” Hall says.

Instead, researchers found that these individuals strongly preferred information that supported their views, indicating that they were probably missing out on opportunities to improve their knowledge.

So why do people seem to shun opposing viewpoints? Researchers suggest that while some people insist that they are always right, all of us feel good when the beliefs we think are important are confirmed.

In other words, when a belief is strongly held, is tied to one’s identity or values, or is held with a sense of moral conviction, people are more likely to distance themselves from information and people that challenge their belief.

“Having your beliefs validated feels good, whereas having your beliefs challenged creates discomfort, and this discomfort generally increases when your beliefs are strongly held and important to you,” says study coauthor Kaitlin Raimi, assistant professor of public policy.

The findings appear in the Journal of Experimental Social Psychology.

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=attitude and arrogance;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…