Знают ли они все больше невежества, чем они признают?

Знают ли они все больше невежества, чем они признают?

Люди, которые считают, что их знания и убеждения превосходят других, особенно подвержены переоценке того, что они на самом деле знают, предлагают новые исследования.

Даже после получения обратной связи, показывающей, насколько они не знали соответствующих политических фактов, эти люди все еще утверждали, что их убеждения были объективно более правильными, чем все остальные. Кроме того, они с большей вероятностью будут искать новую информацию необъективно, что подтверждает их чувство превосходства.

Исследование было сосредоточено на людях, которые исповедуют «превосходство веры», или думая, что их взгляды превосходят другие точки зрения, поскольку это касается политических вопросов. Исследователи отмечают, что люди также претендуют на превосходство веры во многих других областях помимо политики, таких как окружающая среда, религия, конфликты отношений и даже относительно тривиальные темы, такие как этикет и личные предпочтения.

«В то время как более скромные участники иногда даже недооценивали свои знания, верховный руководитель, как правило, думал, что они знают намного больше, чем они на самом деле ...»

В исследовании использовалось несколько исследований для ответа на два ключевых вопроса о превосходстве политических убеждений: люди, которые считают, что их убеждения превосходят, имеют больше знаний о проблемах, которые они чувствуют себя выше? И верят ли, что высшие люди используют превосходные стратегии при поиске новых знаний?

Чтобы ответить на первый вопрос, участники сообщили о своих убеждениях и чувствах превосходства веры в нескольких политических темах. Исследователи спросили их, насколько они думали, что они знают об этих темах, а затем у них завершались викторины, проверяющие их фактические знания об этих проблемах.

В шести исследованиях и нескольких политических темах люди, которые высоко ценили веры, думали, что они много знают об этих темах. Однако, сравнивая это воспринимаемое знание с тем, насколько люди действительно знали, они обнаружили, что убеждения - превосходящие люди постоянно переоценивают свои собственные знания.

«В то время как более скромные участники иногда даже недооценивали свои знания, верховный руководитель, как правило, думал, что они знают намного больше, чем они на самом деле», - говорит Майкл Холл, аспирант психологии из Мичиганского университета и ведущий автор исследования.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


По второму вопросу исследователи представили участникам статьи новостей о политической теме и попросили их выбрать те, которые они хотели бы прочитать. Половина статей поддержала собственную точку зрения участников, тогда как другая половина оспаривала их позицию.

Вера - превосходные люди были значительно более вероятны, чем их скромные сверстники, чтобы выбирать информацию, которая поддерживала их убеждения. Кроме того, им было известно, что они ищут предвзятую информацию: когда исследователи задавали им вопрос о том, какие статьи они выбрали, они с готовностью признали свою предвзятость в отношении статей, которые поддерживали их собственные убеждения.

«Мы думали, что если бы убеждения-превосходные люди проявляли тенденцию искать сбалансированный набор информации, они могли бы утверждать, что они достигли своего превосходства веры посредством разумного критического мышления об обеих сторонах вопроса», - говорит Холл.

Вместо этого исследователи обнаружили, что эти люди настоятельно предпочитают информацию, которая поддерживает их взгляды, указывая на то, что они, вероятно, упускают возможность улучшить свои знания.

Итак, почему люди, похоже, избегают противоположных точек зрения? Исследователи предполагают, что, хотя некоторые люди настаивают на том, что они всегда правы, все мы чувствуем себя хорошо, когда убеждения, которые мы считаем важными, подтверждаются.

Другими словами, когда вера сильно удерживается, она привязана к своей личности или ценностям или удерживается с чувством морального убеждения, люди с большей вероятностью будут дистанцироваться от информации и людей, которые бросают вызов их вере.

«Утверждение ваших убеждений чувствует себя хорошо, в то время как ваши убеждения бросают вызов, создает дискомфорт, и этот дискомфорт обычно увеличивается, когда ваши убеждения крепко держатся и важны для вас», - говорит соавтор исследования Кейтлин Рэйми, доцент государственной политики.

Полученные результаты Журнал экспериментальной социальной психологии.

источник: Мичиганский университет

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = отношение и высокомерие; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

3 Причины у вас болит шея
3 Причины у вас болит шея
by Кристиан Ворсфолд

Are Know-It-Alls More Ignorant Than They’ll Admit?

Are Know-It-Alls More Ignorant Than They’ll Admit?

People who think their knowledge and beliefs are superior to others are especially prone to overestimating what they actually know, new research suggests.

Even after getting feedback showing them how much they didn’t know relevant political facts, these people still claimed that their beliefs were objectively more correct than everyone else’s. On top of that, they were more likely to seek out new information in biased ways that confirm their sense of superiority.

The study focused on people who profess “belief superiority”—or thinking their views are superior to other viewpoints—as it relates to political issues. The researchers note that people also claim belief superiority in a variety of other domains besides politics, such as the environment, religion, relationship conflicts, and even relatively trivial topics such as etiquette and personal preferences.

“Whereas more humble participants sometimes even underestimated their knowledge, the belief superior tended to think they knew a lot more than they actually did…”

The research used several studies to answer two key questions about political belief superiority: Do people who think that their beliefs are superior have more knowledge about the issues they feel superior about? And do belief-superior people use superior strategies when seeking out new knowledge?

To answer the first question, participants reported their beliefs and feelings of belief superiority about several political topics. Researchers asked them how much they thought they knew about these topics and then had them complete quizzes testing their actual knowledge about those issues.

Across six studies and several political topics, people who were high in belief superiority thought that they knew a great deal about these topics. However, when comparing this perceived knowledge to how much people actually knew, they found that belief-superior people were consistently overestimating their own knowledge.

“Whereas more humble participants sometimes even underestimated their knowledge, the belief superior tended to think they knew a lot more than they actually did,” says Michael Hall, a psychology graduate student at the University of Michigan and the study’s lead author.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


For the second question, researchers presented participants with news articles about a political topic and asked them to select which ones they would like to read. Half of the articles supported the participants’ own point of view, whereas the other half challenged their position.

Belief-superior people were significantly more likely than their modest peers to choose information that supported their beliefs. Furthermore, they were aware that they were seeking out biased information: when the researchers asked them what type of articles they had chosen, they readily admitted their bias for articles that supported their own beliefs.

“We thought that if belief-superior people showed a tendency to seek out a balanced set of information, they might be able to claim that they arrived at their belief superiority through reasoned, critical thinking about both sides of the issue,” Hall says.

Instead, researchers found that these individuals strongly preferred information that supported their views, indicating that they were probably missing out on opportunities to improve their knowledge.

So why do people seem to shun opposing viewpoints? Researchers suggest that while some people insist that they are always right, all of us feel good when the beliefs we think are important are confirmed.

In other words, when a belief is strongly held, is tied to one’s identity or values, or is held with a sense of moral conviction, people are more likely to distance themselves from information and people that challenge their belief.

“Having your beliefs validated feels good, whereas having your beliefs challenged creates discomfort, and this discomfort generally increases when your beliefs are strongly held and important to you,” says study coauthor Kaitlin Raimi, assistant professor of public policy.

The findings appear in the Journal of Experimental Social Psychology.

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=attitude and arrogance;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…