هل تعرف ما تريد وما تحتاجه؟

هل تعرف ما تريد وما تحتاجه؟

ويمكن لعلم النفس علم الأساسية تكون مفيدة للغاية في إعطائنا نظرة ثاقبة نفوس لدينا حتى نتمكن من معرفة احتياجاتنا الحقيقية. وكان ميلر آن، وهو صديق لي، وهي أم لخمسة أطفال عندما بدأت دراسة علم النفس على بلدها. من هذا تعلمت انها تريد ان يصبح محاميا، وفعلت ذلك. اليوم هي شريك كامل في مكتب للمحاماة ناجحة جدا والتي تتخصص في مجال القانون الجنائي، وصديقاتها لا تزال دهشتها إنجاز لها.

ظنوا أنهم كان مصيرها أن تظل آن في المطبخ في المستقبل المنظور، وخصوصا الأطفال كانت صغيرة عندما بدأت كلية الحقوق. كانت ومع ذلك، مرة واحدة كانت تعرف ما تريد، وقادرة على الحصول على تعاون زوجها كامل في مساعدة من ذلك محليا أنها كانت قادرة على أن تصبح طالب في كلية الحقوق دون إهمال احتياجات الأطفال.

بالطبع، يجب أن أي شخص بالتأكيد الذي خضع التحليل النفسي أو العلاج النفسي مع نتائج جيدة تحققت على علم رغبات الأساسية له أو لها. ومع ذلك، إذا كنت لا تملك تلك التجربة، وأعتقد أنه إذا كنت لقراءة بعض الكتب الأساسية في علم النفس فستجد منهم فقط مفيدة مثل صديقي آن ميلر فعلت.

تعلم احتياجاتك الحقيقية عن طريق تفسير أحلامك

موضوع آخر يستحق البحث فيه هو تفسير أحلامنا. في الأغنية بعنوان "سوف ترغب في جعله هكذا"من قبل BG de Silva ، قيل لنا أن رغباتنا في حين أننا مستيقظين هي ما يعادل الأحلام التي نحلم بها ونحن نائمين. الأحلام هي في الغالب رغبات نتمناها ونحن نائمين ، ومعرفة من معناها يمكن فتح العديد من الأبواب في بحثنا عن معرفة الذات.

إذا كان لديك صعوبة في تفسير الأحلام الخاص بك، قد تسأل صديقا مقربا لمساعدتك. قد يكون من الأسهل بالنسبة لشخص يعرفك جيدا للوصول إلى المعنى الحقيقي لأحلامك لأنك يمكن أن تقمع ما قد لا ترغب في مواجهة عن نفسك. الأحلام هي وسيلة مريحة للتعبير عن كل ما نحن ربما تحاول الاختباء من أنفسنا، لذلك نحن أحيانا تلفيق السيناريوهات التي يبدو أنها تتحدى التحليل. ونحن نفعل ذلك بشكل رئيسي من أجل حماية أنفسنا من الشعور بالذنب أو القلق. ومع ذلك، قد لا بعض اصدقائنا المخلصين ينخدع الرموز التي نستخدمها في أحلامنا، وربما يكون من المستغرب دقيقة في تفسير ما تعنيه.

واحد من أوضح تعليل ما الأحلام هي في معنى أحلامك من قبل صديق عزيز لي، فاليري مولمان. فاليري يقول:

تنسيق الحلم هو بالضرورة مختلفة قليلا عن تلك التي فكر اليقظة. مع العقل الواعي إيقاف، ويقتصر استخدامنا للغة. نحلم التفكير بشكل لا شفهي، بالنسبة للجزء الأكبر، الذي يقيد كل من العرض والموضوع. وبدلا من توحيد كلمة، ونحن نرى الصور. بدلا من أن تصبح على بينة من المفاهيم التجريدية أو دخول رؤوسنا، ونحن نرى أشكال رمزية من تلك الأفكار التي تظهر كما لو على شاشة أمامنا على المسرح أو من حولنا. إذا فكرة غير قادر على عرض بهذه الطريقة، ربما مع قليل من المساعدة من تلوين الصوت أو العاطفية، ونحن ببساطة لا يحلم به.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الصور تمثل نرى أفكارنا، والرموز (في شكل الناس، والمخلوقات، والمنازل، والأشياء، وما إلى ذلك) هي تمثيل أفكارنا المجردة أو المفاهيم. كل حالم يخلق قصته الخاصة، وذلك مؤامرات الشعوب ذلك ان العواطف هي عليه في عواطفه. يتم وضع كافة الإجراءات والشخصيات والمشاعر، والألوان، الظلال، وهناك من قبله وإلا من قبله، على الرغم من انه سيدعو في كثير من الأحيان على أكثر التجارب عارضة من اليوم لتشكيل الحلم الاشياء من الليل. حتى قد الخيال الأقل منا لديه أحلام التي يبدو أن غريبة، ولكن ليست كذلك. لديهم غرابة سطحية لأننا لا نستطيع فك بسهولة رمزية ومعرفة ما هو عليه أننا نتحدث لأنفسنا حول ليلا. مخفية حقا الأفكار ليلة أفكار النهار أخرج من الاختباء من عقولنا النوم - قد وحتى الآن لم يقدم تماما من الاختباء أو صدمة توقظ الاعتراف بنا.

الأفكار التي تشغلنا ليست مجرد التوافه، إما. نحن لا نحلم من الأشياء التي لدينا على الإطلاق أي قلق، ونحن نحلم من المشاكل عميقة الجذور، من رغبات سرا أن تحقيق الطلب، أو النزاعات التي تهمنا كثيرا. حتى عندما يبدو حلما سخيفا - ثم خاصة - بل هو تمثيل لشيء أن قلق لنا. كما أنه لا يأتي لمجرد إزعاج، بل المسيرات الحقائق أمام أعيننا وكثيرا ما يقدم حلولا للمشاكل جدا التي يتيحها.

أحلام: تعبير عن الذات الحقيقية الخاصة

من وقت لآخر الناس يقولون لي لوقف الحلم وتفيق الى الواقع. الحقيقة هي أن في كثير من الأحيان الحلم هو واقع بلدي، في حين أن الواقع هو ما يسمى أكثر من فعل أي شيء - فعل كل ما يمر العواطف أشعر سيساعدني استيعاب لضغوط المجتمع. وبعبارة أخرى، فإن الواقع هو مجرد خدعة - عمل من أعمال النفاق - في حين أن الحلم هو تعبير عن نفسي صحيح، أشواق ي يصح، تمنياتي الأعمق.

وهذه النقطة هي هذه: قد يكون هناك أوقات عندما يكون ألطف وأكثر إنسانية لتلعب دورا بدلا من استخدام الحقيقة كما لو كانت سلاح فتاك. ومع ذلك، عندما نفعل تظليل الحقيقة، يجب أن نكون على ثقة من أننا ندرك تماما أننا بذلك. خلاف ذلك، هناك خطر من أننا قد ينتهي نخدع أنفسنا وتصبح مشوشة حول ما تريد من الحياة.

نتمنى رؤية ما هناك

هل تعرف ما تريد؟ من قبل نورمان Monath.كنت قد سمعت عبارة "الجمال هو في عين الناظر". كلما أسمع ذلك، وأنا أعتقد دائما من مدى صعوبة هو أن نرى الأشياء كما هي بدلا من كما نرغب كانوا. في العلاقات الشخصية، وهذا يمكن أن يسبب مشاكل خطيرة. على سبيل المثال، افترض أن لديك صورة في ذهن هذا النوع من الشخص الذي تريد عن رفيق أو حبيب أو الزوج.

دعنا نقول أن هناك خمس أو ست سمات ذات الأهمية الخاصة بالنسبة لهذا الشخص أن يكون من أجل ترقى إلى المثالية الخاصة بك. سمة واحدة قد يكون حب للموسيقى الكلاسيكية، أو الغولف، أو ركوب الخيل، وآخر قد يكون نوع معين من الملابس أو الذوق في الطعام، وما إلى ذلك الآن، ويأتي على طول شخص لديه ثلاثة من سمات خمس أو ست كنت تسعى. بدلا من الاعتراف بأن، أنت تمنح جميع سمات المتبقية على ذلك الشخص؛ كنت حريصة جدا العثور المثالي الخاص بك الذي كنت في نهاية قبل الأوان البحث عن طريق التنويم نفسك في التفكير كنت قد وجدت كل ما أردت.

والنتيجة هي أن ستة أشهر أو سنة في وقت لاحق تستيقظ ويقول: "ماذا أرى أي وقت مضى في له / لها؟" الجواب: رأيتم ما كنت تبحث عنه - ما كنت تريد أن ترى - وليس ما كان حقا هناك.

خداع أنفسنا بالتفكير لدينا ما نريد

في بنفس الطريقة التي يمكننا نخدع أنفسنا عن الناس من خلال القلق لدينا، ونفاد الصبر، أو الأشواق الداخلية القهر، يمكننا أن نخدع أنفسنا بالاعتقاد لدينا ما نريد في مجالات أخرى - مهمة لدينا، ومنزل أو شقة أننا نعيش في والجزء من البلاد الذي نعيش فيه، وما إلى ذلك على الرغم من أننا قد تكون محتوى مؤقتا في هذا العمل من خداع الذات، في نهاية المطاف نجد أن الشعور بالضيق يبدأ في الظهور ويبدأ تصاعد الاستياء العميق في.

كيف يمكننا منع هذا من الحدوث بالنسبة لنا؟ مرة أخرى، عن طريق اختبار انفسنا وعلى خياراتنا في التعامل مع الدخول في تفاصيل في حياتنا. ومن هذه المسائل التي تبدو بسيطة التي تحصل لنا في العادة من أخذ الأمور من المسلمات والدخول في شبق. ولكن علينا أن نتساءل مرة واحدة سواء أحببنا صوت جرس الباب لدينا، على سبيل المثال، ونحن على الطريق لدراسة خياراتنا في مسائل أهمية أكبر.

تعلم العيش في الحاضر - ليس الماضي أو المستقبل

آخر هذه العادة مهمة جدا يجب علينا تطوير، إذا أردنا أن نعرف ما نريد، هو محاولة للعيش في الحاضر بدلا من الماضي أو المستقبل. قد يبدو غريبا أن في البداية، ولكن إذا كنت تفكر في ذلك، قد نتفق على أنه من المنطقي.

لقد بدأت عندما جئت لاول مرة عبر تلك الفكرة، لاحظت كم منا يعيش في دولة إما من ذكريات الماضي أو حالة من الترقب بشأن المستقبل، بدلا من أن تكون واعية تماما في الوقت الحاضر، لحظة في متناول اليد. ذكريات الماضي وترقب يمكن أن يكون من العناصر المهمة جدا في تحقيق الرضا والسعادة في حياتنا، ولكن المغالاة إما، أو كليهما، يجلب نتيجة مؤسفة: نحن في نهاية المطاف يتساءل لماذا يبدو أن الوقت يطير بها بسرعة كبيرة جدا ان يكون لدينا ما كنا نريد القيام به للقيام، ونحن في نهاية المطاف مع الشعور بأن الحياة قد مرت علينا من قبل.

من ناحية أخرى، إذا كان لنا باستمرار إقناع أنفسنا بأن الوقت الحاضر - لحظة الوعي - هي اللحظة الأكثر أهمية في حياتنا، ونحن لن ندعه يفلت من قبل بلا مبالاة ولكن ذلك لتذوق ما هو عليه قيمتها ولل كيف يمكننا الاستفادة من ذلك. "اغتنام اليوم" هو التعبير المعروفة، ولكن أفضل إعداد للقيام بذلك هو للوصول الى هذه العادة من الاستيلاء على لحظة في متناول اليد.

البقاء وركزت على لحظة في اليد

في المرة التالية التي تجد نفسك تنفق 15-30 دقيقة أو نحو ذلك مع شخص ما، اسأل نفسك كم من الوقت قضيت أن التفكير في الأشياء التي حدثت بالفعل، أو كانوا في طريقهم ليحدث في وقت لاحق. أنا لا أشير إلى المحادثات الفعلية عن الماضي أو المستقبل. على سبيل المثال، إذا كان شخص آخر طلب ما كنت آكل لتناول الإفطار في اليوم السابق، وسوف تشمل إجابتك الماضي على الرغم من أن يمكن أن تتركز على عقلك المحادثة الجارية.

وأشير هنا إلى الحالة التي يكون فيها قد يكون لها محادثة عن الطقس، أو وظيفتك، وبينما كان يجري، في مكان ما في الجزء الخلفي من رأسك كنت تفكر في الحادث الذي وقع يوم أو يومين من قبل، أو كنت تفكر في التاريخ الذي نتطلع إلى الأسبوع التالي. كنت لا تركز حقا على لحظة في متناول اليد، لحظة الحاضر، والتي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى المتاعب.

بالطبع، سيكون لديك دائما أفكار عابرة عن الماضي والمستقبل - لديك لكشخص من الذكاء والذاكرة مع مع الآمال. ومع ذلك، هناك فرق بين عقد الحالي في وجهات النظر على خلفية للماضي والمستقبل بدلا من الوقت الراهن بسبب عدم وضوح يسمح للانشغالات الماضي والمستقبل للتدخل وأنه لأمر مدهش إلى أي مدى نحن نفعل ذلك. نحن في نهاية المطاف في عداد المفقودين تجربة الحاضر وقبل أن نعرف ذلك، على مر السنين.

كنز الحاضر: إنه في اللحظة التي كنت تنتظر

وينبغي أن تعتز الحاضر. هذه هي اللحظة التي كنت قد تعرضت لانتظار كل حياتك. الآن، في حين كنت تقرأ هذه السطور، هي المرة يجب عليك أن تسأل نفسك: هل أنا أفعل ما تريد؟ أنا سعيدة؟ أنا ما أردت أن تنمو لتصبح عندما كنت طفلا؟ إذا لم تتمكن من إعطاء إجابات إيجابية على هذه الأسئلة الآن، ما يجعلك تعتقد أنك سوف تكون قادرة على القيام بذلك في وقت لاحق؟ ربما كان هناك سبب وجيه، ولكن هل كان لديك أفضل ابحث عنه على الفور إذا كنت لا تعرف ذلك الآن.

باعتبارها ممارسة، في محاولة لعلاج كل لحظة من الحاضر كما لو أنه في اللحظة التي كانت تنتظر كل حياتك. كما واقع الأمر، هو عليه. عندما يكون لديك وعيك أثار على طول هذه الخطوط، وسوف يعتبرون كل لحظة كما لو كانت جوهرة ثمينة يجب الحذر مع حياتك. فإنك سوف تجد نفسك الاستماع أفضل، ورؤية أكثر وضوحا، الذين يعيشون حياة الرضا والإشباع، حتى خلال فترات من الحزن. لفإنك سوف تكون السيطرة أفكارك، وتعلم ما هو عليه كنت تريد حقا، مع حياتك إلى جنب، ومتمنيا للالأمور في نصابها الصحيح في الوقت المناسب والحق مع شدة.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
Tom Doherty Associates، LLC. © 1984 ، 2002. www.tor.com

المادة المصدر

تعرف ما تريد وكيفية الحصول عليها!
من قبل نورمان Monath.

تعرف ما تريد وكيفية الحصول عليها! من قبل نورمان Monath.من خلال العديد من الكتب الملهمة وذات العون الذاتي التي نشرها ، تعلم Monath جميع التقنيات العليا لتحقيق النجاح. هنا يوضح لك كيفية جعلها تعمل من خلال:
- تحديد ما تريد حقا ؛ - جذب الحظ السعيد ؛ - وضع القوة الفكرية للآخرين للعمل من أجلك ؛ - التركيز في الوقت الحاضر ؛ - التفكير ثلاثي الأبعاد ؛ - والكثير الكثير . . .

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب.

عن المؤلف

نورمان Monathكان نورمان Monath مسؤول تنفيذي نشر في نيويورك في سايمون اند شوستر، وكان مؤسس المكتبة حجر الزاوية، كبير غير الخيالية منزل في 60s، 70s، و80s. كتب Monath موسيقي ومدرس المشهود، مصنف التعليمية بعنوان كيفية العزف على الغيتار الشعبية في دروس سهلة 10 (Fireside ، 1984) ، وهو برنامج سهل المتابعة لإتقان الغيتار في غضون أسابيع. يوجد الكتاب في طبعته 43rd بعد أن تم بيعه عبر نسخ 300,000. ولد نورمان موناث في شهر يوليو في 3 ، و 1920 في تورنتو ، كندا ونشأ في مدينة نيويورك ، نيويورك. توفي ديسمبر 26 ، 2011 في مستشفى جون كنيدي في أتلانتس ، فلوريدا.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = what you you want؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا حتى فترات قصيرة من الخمول البدني تضر بصحتنا
لماذا حتى فترات قصيرة من الخمول البدني تضر بصحتنا
by توري سبرونج وكيلي بودين ديفيز
كيف تعلمت جعل الهاء يعمل لي
كيف تعلمت جعل الهاء يعمل لي
by سارة شتاين لوبرانو

Do You Know What You Want and What You Need?

Do You Know What You Want and What You Need?

A knowledge of basic psychology can be extremely useful in giving us insights into our psyches so that we can learn our true needs. Anne Miller, a friend of mine, was a mother of five children when she started studying psychology on her own. From this she learned that she wanted to become a lawyer, and did so. Today she is a full partner in a very successful law firm that specializes in criminal law, and her friends continue to be amazed at her accomplishment.

They thought Anne was doomed to remain in the kitchen for the foreseeable future, particularly since the children were small when she started law school. However, once she knew what she wanted, she was able to get her husband's full cooperation in helping out domestically so that she was able to become a law student without neglecting the needs of the children.

Of course, anyone who has undergone psychoanalysis or psychotherapy with good results must certainly have been made aware of his or her basic wishes. However, if you did not have that experience, I believe that if you were to read a few basic books on psychology you would find them just as helpful as my friend Anne Miller did.

Learning Your True Needs by Interpreting Your Dreams

Another subject that is worth looking into is the interpretation of our dreams. In the song entitled "Wishing Will Make It So" by B. G. de Silva, we are told that the wishes we make while we're awake are the equivalent of the dreams we dream while we're asleep. Dreams are very often the wishes we wish while we're asleep, and a knowledge of their meaning can unlock many doors in our search for self-knowledge.

If you have difficulty in interpreting your dreams, you might ask a close friend to help you. It may be easier for someone who knows you fairly well to arrive at the true meaning of your dreams because you may be repressing what you may not want to face about yourself. Dreams are a convenient way to express whatever we may be trying to hide from ourselves, so we sometimes concoct scenarios that seem to defy analysis. We do this mainly in order to protect ourselves from feelings of guilt or anxiety. However, some of our close friends may not be fooled by the symbols we use in our dreams and may be surprisingly accurate in explaining what they mean.

One of the clearest explanations of what dreams are is in The Meaning of Your Dreams by a dear friend of mine, Valerie Moolman. Valerie says:

The format of the dream is necessarily a little different from that of the waking thought. With the conscious mind turned off, our use of language is restricted. We dream-think nonverbally, for the most part, which restricts both the presentation and the subject matter. Instead of articulating words, we see pictures. Instead of becoming aware of concepts or abstractions entering our heads, we see shapes symbolic of those thoughts appearing as if on a screen in front of us or on a stage around us. If an idea is incapable of presentation in this manner, with perhaps a little assist from sound or emotional coloring, we simply don't dream about it.

The pictures we see represent our thoughts; the symbols (in the form of people, creatures, houses, objects and so on) are representations of our abstract ideas or conceptions. Each dreamer creates his own story, plots it and peoples it; the emotions in it are his emotions. The actions, characters, feelings, colors, shadings, are all put there by him and only by him, although he will often call upon the most casual experiences of the day to shape the dream-stuff of the night. Even the least imaginative of us may have dreams that seem to be bizarre, yet are not. They have a superficial weirdness because we cannot readily untangle the symbolism and find out what it is that we are talking to ourselves about at night. The night thoughts are really hidden daytime thoughts brought out of hiding by our sleeping minds -- and yet not brought altogether out of hiding or the shock of recognition might awaken us.

The thoughts that occupy us are not mere trivia, either. We do not dream of things for which we have absolutely no concern; we dream of deeply rooted problems, of secret wishes that demand fulfillment, or conflicts that matter to us very much. Even when a dream appears ridiculous -- particularly then -- it is a representation of something that is troubling us. Neither does it come simply to annoy; it parades the facts before our eyes and quite often offers solutions to the very problems it presents.

Dreams: An Expression of Our True Self

From time to time people tell me to stop dreaming and wake up to reality. The truth is that very often my dreaming is the reality, whereas the so-called reality is nothing more than an act -- an act of going through whatever emotions I feel will help me accommodate to the pressures of society. In other words, the reality is a sham -- an act of hypocrisy -- while the dream is an expression of my true self, my true longings, my innermost wishes.

The point is this: There may be times when it is kinder and more humane to play a part than to use truth as though it were a deadly weapon. However, when we do shade the truth, we must be sure we are fully aware that we are doing so. Otherwise, there is a danger that we might end up deluding ourselves and become confused about what we want out of life.

Seeing What We Wish Were There

Do You Know What You Want? by Norman Monath.You've heard the expression "Beauty is in the eye of the beholder." Whenever I hear it, I always think of how difficult it is to see things as they are instead of as we wish they were. In personal relationships, this can cause serious problems. For example, suppose you have an image in mind of the kind of person you want for a companion, or lover, or spouse.

Let's say that there are five or six attributes that are especially important for that person to have in order to measure up to your ideal. One attribute might be a love for classical music, or golf, or horseback riding; another might be a certain kind of taste in clothes or food, etc. Now, along comes someone who has three of the five or six attributes you are seeking. Instead of recognizing that, you bestow all the remaining attributes on that person; you are so eager to find your ideal that you prematurely end the search by hypnotizing yourself into thinking you have found all that you wanted.

The result is that six months or a year later you wake up and say, "What did I ever see in him/her?" The answer: You saw what you were looking for -- what you wanted to see -- not what was really there.

Fooling Ourselves Into Thinking We Have What We Want

In the same way that we can delude ourselves about people through our impatience, anxiety, or overpowering inner longings, we can fool ourselves into thinking we have what we want in other areas -- the job we have, the house or apartment we live in, the part of the country we live in, etc. While we may be temporarily content in this act of self-delusion, eventually we find that a feeling of malaise begins to appear and starts escalating into deep unhappiness.

How do we prevent this from happening to us? Once again, by testing ourselves as to our preferences in dealing with the minutiae in our lives. It is those seemingly minor matters that get us into the habit of taking things for granted and getting into a rut. But once we question whether we like the sound of our doorbell, for instance, we are on the road to examining our preferences in matters of greater significance.

Learning to Live in The Present -- Not the Past or the Future

Another very important habit we must develop, if we are to know what we want, is to try to live in the present instead of the past or the future. That may sound strange at first, but if you think about it, you may agree that it makes sense.

When I first came across that idea, I began to notice how many of us live in either a state of reminiscence or a state of anticipation about the future, instead of being fully conscious of the present, the moment at hand. Reminiscence and anticipation can be very important components in bringing satisfaction and happiness into our lives, but overemphasizing either, or both, brings about an unfortunate result: we end up wondering why time seemed to fly by too quickly for us to have done what we wanted to do; we end up with a feeling that life has passed us by.

On the other hand, if we continually impress ourselves that the present -- the moment of consciousness -- is the most important moment in our lives, we won't let it slip by carelessly but will savor it for what it is worth and for how we might take advantage of it. "Seize the day" is a well-known expression, but the best preparation for doing that is to get into the habit of seizing the moment at hand.

Staying Focused on the Moment at Hand

The next time you find yourself spending fifteen to thirty or so minutes with someone, ask yourself how much of that time you spent thinking about things that had already happened, or were going to happen later on. I am not referring to actual conversations about the past or future. For example, if the other person asked what you ate for breakfast the day before, your answer will involve the past although your mind can be concentrated on the conversation taking place.

I am referring to a situation where you may be having a conversation about the weather, or your job, and while it is going on, somewhere in the back of your head you are thinking about an incident that took place a day or two before, or you are thinking about the date you are looking forward to the following week. You are not really focused on the moment at hand, the present moment, and that can lead to trouble.

Of course, you will always have fleeting thoughts about the past and future -- you have to as a person of intelligence with a memory and with hopes. However, there is a difference between holding the present in perspective against the background of the past and future as opposed to blurring the present because the past and future preoccupations are allowed to intrude. And it is amazing to what extent we do that. We end up missing the experience of the present and before we know it, the years go by.

Treasure the Present: It Is The Moment You've Been Waiting For

The present should be treasured. This is the moment you have been waiting for all your life. Now, while you are reading these lines, is the time you should ask yourself: Am I doing what I want to? Am I happy? Am I what I wanted to grow up to be when I was a child? If you cannot give positive answers to those questions now, what makes you think you will be able to do so later on? Perhaps there is a good reason, but you had better search for it right away if you don't know it now.

As an exercise, try to treat each moment of the present as though it is the moment you had been waiting for all your life. As a matter of fact, it is. When you have raised your consciousness along these lines, you will regard each moment as though it were a precious jewel to be guarded with your life. Then you will find yourself listening better, seeing more clearly, living a life of greater satisfaction and gratification, even through periods of grief. For then you will be controlling your thoughts, learning what it is you really want, taking your life in hand and wishing for the right things at the right time and with the right intensity.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Tom Doherty Associates, LLC. ©1984, 2002. www.tor.com

Article Source

Know What You Want & How To Get It!
by Norman Monath.

Know What You Want & How To Get It! by Norman Monath. Through the many bestselling inspirational and self-help books he published, Monath learned all the top techniques for achieving success. Here he shows you how to make them work by:
- Determining what you really want; - Attracting good luck; - Putting the intellectual strength of others to work for you; - Concentrating on the present moment; - Thinking three-dimensionally; - And much, much more . . .

Info/Order this book.

About the Author

Norman MonathNorman Monath was a publishing executive in New York at Simon & Schuster, and was the founder of Cornerstone Library, a large non-fiction house in the 60s, 70s, and 80s. An acclaimed musician and teacher, Monath wrote an instructional workbook entitled How to Play Popular Guitar in 10 Easy Lessons (Fireside, 1984), an easy-to-follow program for mastering the guitar in a matter of weeks. The book is in its 43rd printing having sold over 300,000 copies. Norman Monath was born on July 3, 1920 in Toronto, Canada and raised in New York City, NY. He died December 26, 2011 at JFK Hospital in Atlantis, FL.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=what do you want;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}