الازدهار في مواجهة عدم الاستقرار العميق

الازدهار في مواجهة عدم الاستقرار العميق
الصورة عن طريق silviarita 

التحدي هو أن نجد القوة والمعنى في المآسي والمخاوف والاضطرابات التي تواجهنا. في اكتشاف طرق التعامل مع تلك الأحداث الحتمية ، لدينا إمكانية تحويل تجربتنا إلى كيمياء ، وتحويل المعدن الأساسي لألمنا إلى ذهب الحكمة والفهم والإثراء والهدف.

في عام 2014 ، حدث لي أحد أسوأ الأشياء التي يمكن أن تحدث لأي شخص - ابنتي ميليسا انتحرت بنفسها. أجبرتني هذه المأساة على دراسة وجودي ذاته وتوسيع مفهومي عن من أكون. طالبني إما أن أنضج أو أنحل.

كانت ميليسا شابة نابضة بالحياة ولطيفة ومتحمسة عاشت بطرق متنوعة رائعة. كانت متزوجة لمدة عام من إيان ، وهو روح حساسة ولطيفة ، ويبدو أنها كانت سعيدة للغاية. لقد أحببت المتعة في التواجد مع الآخرين وعاشت معظم حياتها في ضوء شمس فرح الآخرين - وقد تعزز وجودها الكثير من تلك الفرحة. واحدة من أعز ذكرياتي عنها هي ضحكها مع صديقاتها ، دون أي شعور بالتراجع ، وترفع من سعادتها ومشاركتها.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أرادت مساعدة الناس. يمكن لأي شخص أن يأتي إليها ويحصل على منظورها الحكيم حول ما كان يجري في حياتهم. على الرغم من كونها ابنتي ، إلا أنني غالبًا ما كنت أتوجه إليها عندما كنت بحاجة إلى التوجيه. كانت متحمسة لدعم أولئك الذين كانوا في حالة اضطراب.

قبل عشر سنوات كانت تعاني من انهيار عقلي خطير. تلقيت مكالمة هاتفية عندما قالت ، "مرحبًا أبي ، أنا في مصح مجنون." أجبتها "مضحك للغاية" ، ومرت الهاتف إلى إحدى الممرضات. كانت في وحدة العناية المركزة للأمراض النفسية ، بعد أن انهارت تمامًا ، وألقت كل شيء بعيدًا وركضت عارية في الشوارع. أخبرتني لاحقًا أنها شعرت بالحرية المطلقة.

استغرق الأمر منها عامًا حتى تتعافى من الانهيار ، وبدا كما لو أنه لن يتكرر أبدًا. استعادت ثقتها بنفسها وكان لها الكثير من الحب في حياتها. عملت في شركة كيدز كومباني ، مع بعض الأطفال والمراهقين الأكثر تضررًا ، وكما فعلت مع كل شيء في حياتها ، ألقت بنفسها مائة بالمائة في عملها.

بعد فوات الأوان...

بعد فوات الأوان ، من السهل أن ترى أنه كانت هناك نقطة كانت فيها تنحرف بين الارتفاعات والانخفاضات ، وتتألم من الحياة ، بينما تسافر في نفس الوقت في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، للاحتفال ، والتواصل الاجتماعي والعمل. كان السكون الذي هو جزء من نفسية صحية غائبا. كانت كل حركة. فقدت ميليسا قبضتها على بوصلتها الداخلية وظهرت أجزاء متطرفة من السلوك.


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


شعرت بالحاجة إلى تولي المسؤولية عن كل حالة وتحقيق نتيجة ناجحة. كما قلت ، عملت مع الأطفال المستضعفين ، وغالبًا ما كانت تتعامل مع أصعب الحالات ، مثل الأطفال الذين تعرضوا لسوء المعاملة أو الذين يعانون من مشاكل سلوكية شديدة. في بعض الأحيان كان للقضايا تأثير قوي عليها لدرجة أنها كانت تتألم بشأن الاستمرار. عادة ، على الرغم من ذلك ، كانت تزيد من كثافة عملها بدلاً من تسليمها إلى الأشخاص الأكثر خبرة.

إن إحساسها بالمسؤولية الشخصية ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الطريقة التي تدار بها أقسام العمل الاجتماعي في المجالس وشركة كيدز كومباني ، جعلها تشعر أنه ليس لديها خيار سوى الاستمرار. على مدى ستة أشهر ، أصبح رادارها الداخلي غير متزامن حيث دخلت واحدة من أحلك المنخفضات التي يمكن تخيلها.

لم تكن قادرة على التحدث إلى الناس. تم استبدال ملابسها المشرقة وأحمر شفاهها وابتسامتها الفائزة بسلوك كئيب ومنسحب. لم أرها في هذه الحالة ، لكن صديقة لها قالت إنها كانت كما لو أن كل الألوان قد استنزف منها.

صنعت شريط فيديو تحدثت فيه عن حالتها العقلية وعكس ارتباكها التام. اعتقدت أنها أصيبت بجنون شديد ، لكنها لم ترغب في السماح لنفسها بالعودة إلى النظام لأنها شعرت بالإساءة الشديدة في المرة الأولى. في مستشفى للأمراض النفسية قبل عشر سنوات ، تم تخديرها بشكل مكثف ؛ أصيب جسدها بكدمات نتيجة الإمساك بها ولم ترغب في استعادة تلك الصدمة.

لا شيء أعدني لهذا ...

طوال سنوات عملي كطبيب نفسي ، لم يعدني شيء لهذا. لقد بذلت قصارى جهدي كأب أحب ابنته بشدة ، وحاولت دعمها بأي طريقة ممكنة ، بما في ذلك الذهاب للعلاج مع ميليسا ووالدتها في محاولة لحل الصعوبات التي نواجهها. كما كان الأمر ، اصطدمنا خلال صراعاتها. بعض الأشياء التي قالتها جاءت على أنها بغيضة.

لقد جاءت إلى مركز خلوة في سكيروس ، حيث كنت أدير مجموعة علاجية ، وصرخت في وجهي ، متحدية مصداقيتي كمديرة للجلسة أمام المشاركين الآخرين. في ذلك الوقت ، كان كل ما يمكنني فعله هو إدارتها. الطريقة التي أراها الآن هي أنها كانت تعاني من ألم عميق وتحتاج إلى أن تكون محبوبًا ومقابلة واحتواء.

تواصلت ميليسا معي ، لكنني لم أتمكن من العثور على حكمتي بشكل كامل. لقد أصبت بالفعل بمفهوم الذهان ، أو الجنون الحقيقي كما رأيته حينها. تعرضت أختي بيفرلي لانهيار عصبي في سن الثامنة عشرة. كانت ممثلة واعدة ، وحصلت على دور بريجيت فيها صوت الموسيقى في مرحلة West End. ذات ليلة بدأت في الهلوسة. ما زلت أسمع صراخها ، "سائقي سيارات الأجرة يأتون لإحراق المنزل". ساءت حالتها. تم تشخيص حالتها على أنها مصابة بمرض انفصام الشخصية وتم علاجها بخمسة وخمسين علاجًا بالصدمات الكهربائية خلال السنوات القليلة التالية. تضررت كليتاها بسبب أدويتها ولم تستعد مركزها أبدًا.

كنت مرعوبًا من حالة بيفرلي ومن أي شخص تظهر عليه علامات مماثلة - وهو الخوف الذي استكشفته بعمق في علاجي الشخصي. من الصعب علينا أن نرى مدى عمق ألم الآخرين عندما يكونون قريبين جدًا منا.

عندما أظهرت ميليسا علامات مماثلة ، لم أستطع تجاوز إحباطي تجاه عنادها الواضح ، ولم أتمكن من التعرف على حاجتي الخاصة لرعايتها ورعايتها ، وبالتالي الاستجابة بهدوء بالطريقة التي قد أفعلها. فعلت مع صديق مقرب أو أحد المعارف أو العملاء ، حيث كان من الأسهل أن أضع نفسي جانبًا. لم أراها مريضة عقليًا فحسب ، بل كانت غاضبة تمامًا. كنت خائفا. لم أكن أعرف كيف أحتضنها تمامًا في مكان المرض والحاجة. بعد حوالي ستة أسابيع من المعاناة في أعماق الاكتئاب واليأس ، تركت رسالة انتحار تقول ببساطة ، "آسف ، س".

عندما نصل إلى مفترق طرق ...

نحن نعلم عندما نصل إلى مفترق طرق. نحن مدعوون للتصرف بشكل مختلف والاستغناء عن الأفكار القديمة والبحث عن آفاق جديدة. غالبًا ما تبدأ هذه الدعوة لتغيير الاتجاه كنوع من عدم الارتياح الهادئ الذي يتراكم حتى يصبح التصعيد لا يطاق وعلينا إجراء تغيير. غالبًا ما تأتي في شكل أحداث خارجية - مرض خطير ، أو فقدان وظيفة ، أو فقدان علاقة ، أو فقدان طفل.

لم أستطع الاستمرار في أن أكون على ما كنت عليه في أعقاب انتحار ابنتي. كان أسوأ شيء حدث في حياتي. ومع ذلك ، بعد بضع سنوات ، أستطيع أن أقول إن موت ميليسا كان له نعمة خفية: لقد جعلني أفحص نفسي بصدق مؤلم. تجرأت على التعمق أكثر في الجوانب المظلمة للحياة ، أرض الظل ، التي تضم القدرة على الشفاء. لقد مكنني هذا من أن أكون أكثر قيمة لأصدقائي وعائلتي وعملائي بطرق عميقة بشكل متزايد.

أدركت أن هذه المأساة قد عمقت التزامي بتخفيف المعاناة حيث لدي القدرة على القيام بذلك ، وفهمي أن هذا كان عمل حياتي. من الصعب أن أصفها بالكلمات ، لكن المعاناة والصدمة ولدت طبقة إضافية بداخلي. في قلبي ، هناك تجربة مزدهرة وأكثر ثراءً. أعيش بمزيد من الضراوة والمعنى. إنني أدرك طبيعة الحياة المؤقتة والحاجة إلى تسليط نوري بأكبر قدر ممكن من السطوع.

الازدهار في مواجهة عدم الاستقرار العميق ...

إن النجاح في مواجهة عدم الاستقرار العميق ليس بالأمر السهل. إنه يتطلب دائمًا مستوى من عدم الراحة. لا توجد عصا سحرية تجعل متاعبنا تختفي وتختفي التجارب المؤلمة. قد يكون المسار في بعض الأحيان مدمرًا وقد نشعر بالتعثر ونخشى ألا يأتي الإلهام مرة أخرى.

وبالمثل ، فإن الازدهار لا يتعلق بجعل الحياة مريحة وممتعة وسعيدة ؛ يتعلق الأمر بإيجاد الهدف وتقديم مساهمتنا الفريدة. الحياة الحقيقية وذات المغزى تدور حول ما نفعله برافعات وسهام الثروة الشنيعة.

في النهاية ، الازدهار ليس ممكنًا فقط - التطور مطالب أن نتوسع لنصبح ما يمكن أن نصبح. يمكننا أن نزدهر ونحافظ على طفونا عندما تنهار الأشياء. إلى أن ندرك الأنماط في حياتنا ، فإننا مثل الكرة والدبابيس التي تتنقل من تجربة إلى أخرى. إذا كرسنا أنفسنا للممارسات التي تغذي وعينا الذاتي ، فيمكننا البدء في اتخاذ خيارات حكيمة لم تعد تجعلنا ضحية للظروف.

اذبح تنانينك بحنان ...

في حين أن لكل شخص مساره الفريد الخاص به ، فإن العديد من التجارب والدروس التي تقوم عليها الرحلة عالمية. لقد اتصلت بهذا الكتاب اقتل تنانينك بالرحمة لأنه أحد استكشافاتي الرئيسية في مجموعات. أستخدمه لتوضيح الأوقات التي يتعين عليك فيها التحدث بحقائق غير مريحة للناس ، وعندما يتعين عليك مواجهة الوهم والعناد داخل نفسك.

من أجل الازدهار ، يجب أن نواجه عقباتنا ، ومقاوماتنا ، وكرهنا لذاتنا ، وإرهابنا ، وشكوكنا الذاتية. بالمعنى الواسع ، كل تحد يعترض طريقنا هو تنين نحن مدعوون لذبحه. إذا تمكنا من مواجهة التحدي بشكل مباشر ، فسنكتشف كنزًا في نفوسنا ، وهو التحول الذي كان ينتظر تطويرنا.

أعتقد أن هذه هي الممارسات التي كان من الممكن أن تساعد ميليسا: التوافق القوي مع نظام الملاحة الداخلي الخاص بها ؛ زيادة الوعي الذاتي والممارسات في المهارات التي تؤسس لنا وتعززنا ، مثل إنشاء نظام دعم (ما يسميه البوذيون سانغا) كان من الممكن أن يتعدى الأحكام الشائعة لحالتها. هذه يمكن أن تنقذها.

© 2020 بواسطة مالكولم ستيرن مع بن كريب. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
مقتطفات بإذن من الناشر واتكينز ،
بصمة Watkins Media Limited. www.WatkinsPublishing.com

المادة المصدر

اذبح تنانينك برأفة: عشر طرق لتزدهر حتى عندما تشعر بأن ذلك مستحيل
بواسطة مالكولم ستيرن وبن كريب

اذبح تنانينك برأفة: عشر طرق لتزدهر حتى عندما تشعر بأن ذلك مستحيل بواسطة مالكولم ستيرن وبن كريبعشرة تعاليم رئيسية من المعالج الشهير مالكولم ستيرن. الكتاب ، الذي يتضمن العديد من التمارين ، هو خلاصة أكثر من ثلاثين عامًا من الخبرة في غرفة العلاج ويظهر لنا أن المعنى يمكن أن يوجد حتى في أسوأ المآسي. من خلال إنشاء مجموعة من الممارسات وجعلها مركزية في حياتنا ، يمكننا أن نجد العاطفة والهدف والسعادة الهادفة أثناء التنقل في أحلك لحظات الحياة بطريقة نكتشف فيها الذهب المخفي بداخلنا.

لمزيد من المعلومات ، أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle وككتب مسموع.)

كتاب آخر لهذا المؤلف: الوقوع في الحب ، البقاء في الحب

عن المؤلف

مالكولم ستيرن ، مؤلف كتاب "اذبح تنانينك برأفة"عمل مالكولم ستيرن كمعالج نفسي جماعي وفرد لما يقرب من 30 عامًا. وهو مؤسس مشارك ومدير مشارك في Alternatives في St James's Church في لندن ويقوم بتدريس وإدارة المجموعات على المستوى الدولي. يتضمن منهجه العثور على مكان القلب ومساعدة الأفراد في الوصول إلى حقيقتهم. له مجموعة لندن سنة واحدة هو محور عمله ويعمل بنجاح منذ عام 1990. حيث يخلق بيئة من الثقة والنزاهة والمجتمع ، حيث يمكن للمشاركين أن يصبحوا ماهرين في العلاقات والتواصل وإدارة المحادثات الصعبة. التعلم النهائي هو ذبح تنانينك برأفة. قم بزيارة موقعه على الإنترنت MalcolmStern.com/ 

فيديو / عرض تقديمي مع مالكولم ستيرن"كيف تزدهر حتى عندما تبدو الحياة مستحيلة."

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

hnob2t7o
لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لماذا يختار بعض العمال العيش في شاحناتهم
لماذا يختار بعض العمال العيش في شاحناتهم
by سكوت ب. رانكين وأنجوس جيه داف
متى ذهب البشر إلى الحرب لأول مرة؟
متى ذهب البشر إلى الحرب لأول مرة؟
by مارتن سميث وجون ستيوارت

من المحررين

لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
أنا وزوجتي ماري زوجان مختلطان. هي كندية وأنا أميركية. على مدار الخمسة عشر عامًا الماضية ، أمضينا فصول الشتاء في فلوريدا وصيفنا في نوفا سكوشا.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: نوفمبر 15 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
هذا الأسبوع ، نفكر في السؤال: "إلى أين نتجه من هنا؟" تمامًا كما هو الحال مع أي طقوس مرور ، سواء كان التخرج ، أو الزواج ، أو ولادة طفل ، أو انتخابات محورية ، أو فقدان (أو اكتشاف) ...
أمريكا: توصيل عربتنا بالعالم والنجوم
by ماري تي راسل وروبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
حسنًا ، أصبحت الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية وراءنا الآن وحان وقت التقييم. يجب أن نجد أرضية مشتركة بين الشباب والكبار ، الديموقراطيين والجمهوريين ، الليبراليين والمحافظين لنجعل ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 25 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إن "الشعار" أو العنوان الفرعي لموقع InnerSelf على الويب هو "اتجاهات جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة" ، وهذا هو بالضبط موضوع النشرة الإخبارية لهذا الأسبوع. الغرض من مقالاتنا ومؤلفينا هو ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...

Thriving In The Face of Deep Instability

Thriving In The Face of Deep Instability
Image by silviarita 

It is our challenge to find strength and meaning in the tragedies, fears and confusions that confront us. In discovering ways of dealing with those inevitable events, we have the possibility of alchemizing our experience, turning the base metal of our pain into the gold of wisdom, understanding, enrichment and purpose.

In 2014, one of the worst things that could happen to anyone happened to me – my daughter Melissa took her own life. This tragedy forced me to examine my very existence and expand my concept of who I was. It demanded that I either mature or disintegrate.

Melissa was a vibrant, kind and enthusiastic young woman who’d lived in a magnificent variety of ways. She’d been married for a year to Ian, a sensitive and gentle soul, and was seemingly very happy. She loved the delight in being with others and lived much of her life in the sunshine of other people’s joy – much of that joy being enhanced by her presence. One of my fondest memories of her is her roaring with laughter with her friends, with no sense of holding back, uplifting them with her happiness and engagement.

In addition, she wanted to help people. Anyone could come to her and get her often wise perspective about what was going on in their lives. Despite her being my daughter, I often turned to her when I needed guidance. She was passionate about supporting those who were in turmoil.

Ten years previously she’d had a serious mental breakdown. I took a phone call when she’d said, “Hello, Dad, I’m in a lunatic asylum.” “Very funny,” I replied, and she passed the phone to one of the nurses. She was in an intensive care psychiatric unit, having completely broken down, thrown everything away and run naked through the streets. She later told me it felt like the ultimate freedom.

It took her a year to recover from the breakdown, and it appeared as though it would never recur. She regained her confidence and self-assurance and had a lot of love in her life. She worked for Kids Company, with some of the most damaged children and adolescents, and, as she did with everything in her life, threw herself one hundred per cent into her work.

With hindsight...

With hindsight, it’s easy to see that there was a point at which she was swerving between highs and lows, agonizing about life, while at the same time travelling all over the country, partying, socializing and working. The stillness that is part of the healthy psyche was absent. She was all movement. Melissa lost hold of her internal compass and extreme pieces of behaviour emerged.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


She felt the need to take charge of every situation and achieve a successful outcome. As I’ve said, she worked with vulnerable children, and would often take on the most difficult cases, such as children who had been seriously abused or who had extreme behavioural problems. Sometimes the cases had such a strong impact on her that she agonized over whether to continue. Usually, though, she increased the intensity of her work rather than hand over to people who were more experienced.

Her sense of personal responsibility, along with the way that councils’ social work departments and Kids Company were run, meant she felt she had little choice but to carry on. Over a period of some six months, her internal radar became out of sync as she entered one of the darkest depressions it’s possible to imagine.

She was unable to speak to people. Her bright clothing, lipsticks and winning smile were replaced by a sombre, withdrawn demeanour. I didn’t see her in this state, but a friend of hers said it was as if all the colour had been drained out of her.

She made a video tape in which she talked about her mental state and which reflected her utter confusion. She thought she had gone incurably mad, but didn’t want to let herself back into the system because she had felt so abused the first time round. In the psychiatric hospital ten years previously, she had been drugged up intensely; her body was bruised from being held down and she didn’t want to relive that trauma.

Nothing prepared me for this...

In all my years as a psychotherapist, nothing prepared me for this. I did the best I could as a father who deeply loved his daughter, and I tried to support her in any way I was able, including going to therapy with Melissa and her mother in an attempt to sort out our difficulties. As it was, we clashed during her struggles. Some of the things she said came across as obnoxious.

She came to a retreat centre in Skyros, where I was running a therapy group, and ranted at me, challenging my credibility as the director of the session in front of the other participants. At the time, all I could do was manage her. The way I see it now is that she was in deep pain and needed to be loved, met and contained.

Melissa reached out to me, but I was unable to fully find my own wisdom. I was already wounded around the concept of psychosis, or, as I viewed it then, real madness. My sister Beverly had had a nervous breakdown at the age of eighteen. She had been a promising actress, gaining the part of Brigitte in The Sound of Music on the West End stage. One night she began hallucinating. I can still hear her screaming, “The taxi drivers are coming to burn down the house.” Her condition worsened. She was diagnosed as schizophrenic and was given fifty-five electric shock treatments over the next few years. Her kidneys were damaged by her medication and she never regained her centre.

I was terrified of Beverly’s condition and of anyone who exhibited similar signs – a fear that I have explored in depth in my own personal therapy. It’s hard for us to see the profundity of another’s pain when they are so close to us.

When Melissa showed similar signs, I couldn’t get past my own frustration at her seeming intransigence, and I was unable to disidentify with my own need to care for and be cared for by her, and therefore respond dispassionately in the way that I might have done with a close friend, acquaintance or client, where it would have been easier to put myself aside. I saw her as not just mentally ill, but completely mad. I was scared. I just didn’t know how to fully embrace her in that place of illness and need. After around six weeks of languishing in the depths of depression and hopelessness, she left a suicide note that simply said, “sorry, x”.

When we arrive at a crossroads...

We know when we arrive at a crossroads; we are called to act differently, dispense with old ideas and seek new horizons. This call to alter direction often begins as a quiet unease which builds until the crescendo becomes unbearable and we have to make a change. Often it will arrive in the form of external events – a critical illness, the loss of a job, the loss of a relationship, or the loss of a child.

I couldn’t carry on being who I was in the wake of my daughter’s suicide. It was the worst thing that had ever happened in my life. However, some years on, I am able to say that Melissa’s death carried a hidden blessing: it made me examine myself with painful honesty. I dared to go further into the darker aspects of life, the shadowlands, which house the capacity for healing. This has enabled me to be of more value to my friends, family and clients in increasingly profound ways.

I realised that this tragedy had deepened both my commitment to relieve suffering where I have the capacity to do so, and my understanding that this was my life’s work. It’s hard to put into words, but the suffering and shock has given birth to an extra layer within me. In my heart, there is a burgeoning, richer experience. I live with more fierceness and meaning. I am aware of life’s temporary nature and the need to shine my light as brightly as I can.

Thriving in the face of deep instability...

Thriving in the face of deep instability is not easy; it always demands a level of discomfort. There is no magic wand that will make our troubles disappear and painful experiences vanish. The path may at times be devastating and we may feel stuck and fear that inspiration may never come again.

Equally, thriving isn’t about making life comfortable, fun and happy; it’s about finding purpose and making our own unique contribution. Meaningful, authentic living is about what we do with the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune.

Ultimately, thriving is not only possible – evolution demands that we expand to become what we can become. We can flourish, and keep our buoyancy, when things fall apart. Until we grow conscious of the patterns in our life, we’re like a pinball bouncing around from experience to experience. If we dedicate ourselves to practices that feed our self-awareness, we can start making wise choices that no longer make us a victim of circumstance.

Slay your dragons with compassion...

While everyone has their own unique path, many of the experiences and lessons underpinning the journey are universal. I’ve called this book Slay Your Dragons With Compassion because it’s one of my key explorations in groups. I use it to articulate the times when you have to speak uncomfortable truths to people, and when you have to face the delusion and obstinacy within yourself.

In order to thrive, we must confront our obstacles, our resistances, our self-loathing, our terror, our self-doubt. In the broadest sense, every challenge that blocks our way is a dragon we are called to slay. If we can meet the challenge head on, we will discover a treasure in our psyches, a transformation that has been waiting to evolve us.

These are the practices I think could have helped Melissa: a strong attunement to her internal navigation system; greater self-awareness; and practices in skills that ground and enhance us, such as the creation of a support system (what the Buddhists call a sangha) that would have seen beyond the common judgements of her condition. These could have saved her.

©2020 by Malcolm Stern with Ben Craib. All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission f the publisher, Watkins,
an imprint of Watkins Media Limited. www.WatkinsPublishing.com

Article Source

Slay Your Dragons With Compassion: Ten Ways to Thrive Even When It Feels Impossible
by Malcolm Stern and Ben Craib

Slay Your Dragons With Compassion: Ten Ways to Thrive Even When It Feels Impossible by Malcolm Stern and Ben CraibTen key teachings from renowned therapist Malcolm Stern. The book, which includes many exercises, is the distillation of over thirty years' experience in the therapy room and shows us that meaning can exist even in the worst tragedy. By creating a set of practices and making them central to our lives we can find passion, purpose, and meaningful happiness while navigating life's darkest moments in such a way that we discover the gold hidden within.

For more info, or to order this book, click here. (Also available as a Kindle edition and as an Audiobook.)

Another Book by this author: Falling in Love, Staying in Love

About the Author

Malcolm Stern, author of Slay Your Dragons with CompassionMalcolm Stern has worked as a group and individual psychotherapist for nearly 30 years. He is co-founder and co-director of Alternatives at St James's Church in London and teaches and runs groups internationally. His approach involves finding where the heart is and helping individuals access their truth. His London One Year Group is the centrepiece of his work and has been successfully operating since 1990. In it he creates an environment of trust, integrity and community, where participants can become skilled in relationships, communication and managing difficult conversations. The ultimate learning is to Slay your dragons with compassion. Visit his website at MalcolmStern.com/ 

Video/Presentation with Malcolm Stern"How to thrive even when life feels impossible."

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to carve our own path and to heal our lives, spiritually…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…