كيف يمكن أن يطير الوقت بسرعة أكبر؟

حياة التغييرات

كيف يمكن أن يطير الوقت بسرعة أكبر؟

على الأقل مرة في الأسبوع ، أجد نفسي أسأل: كيف يكون ذلك ممكنا؟

كيف يكون ذلك ممكنا أنه بالفعل ديسمبر عندما كان بالأمس فقط أننا كنا نضغط على الكؤوس الكريستالية الخاصة بنا من الشمبانيا للتحميب في 2017؟

تطير سنوات بسرعة أكبر كلما تقدمت في العمر. كفتاة شابة ، زحف فصل الشتاء والربيع وأنا في انتظار العطلة الصيفية لمدة ثلاثة أشهر. استغرق الوقت معنى مختلفًا عندما كنت صغيراً ، لأنني شعرت أني أمتلك الكثير من ذلك وقريبًا من عمري. الآن ، أحاول ألا أهدر أيامي ، واختيار كيفية قضاء الوقت الذي بقيت فيه ، سواء أشهر أو سنة أو سنوات عديدة.

استجواب عمري

هذا يقودني إلى نفس السؤال عن عمري.

كيف يكون ذلك ممكنا عندما أشاهد صور والدي في نفس العمر الذي أكون فيه اليوم ، فإنها تبدو أكبر مني بكثير ، لكن ربما هذا تفكير بالتمني وغير صحيح. هل يعتقد جميع الأطفال المتقدمين في السن أنهم أصغر سناً مما فعل أبواهم في نفس العمر؟ هل كل جيل ينطق العبارة ، "Seventy هو 60 الجديد و 50 هو 40 الجديد؟

مرة أخرى ، أنا أسأل كيف يكون ذلك ممكنا أن طفلي لديه الآن أطفال خاصين به؟ كان بالأمس فقط أنني أمسك يده وهو يعبر الشارع ، لكنه الآن يحمل يد ابنه البالغ من العمر 3. حفيدي يعترف بي كما نانا وليس لديه فهم بعد أن والده هو في الواقع واحد من my أطفال.

أتذكر أيام الحمل الخاصة بي كما لو كانت بالأمس ، لكنها كانت قبل أكثر من ثلاثة عقود. و، كيف يكون ذلك ممكنا تلك الكلمات مثل جليسة الأطفال ، مرافقي ، أنشطة ما بعد المدرسة تم استبدالها بكلمات أخرى: التقاعد والضمان الاجتماعي ، والرعاية الطبية ، وخصم كبار؟

العيش والنمو

اشترينا منزلنا قبل أسبوع واحد من ولادة ابننا الثالث ، لذا كيف يكون ذلك ممكنا أننا عشنا هنا لسنوات 32؟ داخل جدران منزلنا ، أصبح الصبيان الصغار رجالًا. لقد عانى جميعنا من نوبات غضب لا حصر لها وعناق من المغفرة. لقد قمنا بتربية Teddy لسنوات 14 ولدينا الآن طفلنا الثاني الغاضب ، Emma ، لسنوات 11 ½.

كيف يكون ذلك ممكنا أن العديد من الكائنات تعيش وتنمو وتضاف إلى عمق حبنا داخل جدران منزل عائلتنا؟

الانتقال من مهنة

كيف يكون ذلك ممكنا لقد أمضيت حياتي لأتمكن من بناء مسيرتي المهنية ، وأقفز عن قرب من خلال الأطواق اللازمة لإثبات وجودي الأكاديمي والمهني فقط للتقاعد هذا العام ، وإغلاق باب المثل على مهنة التدريس المتفرغة.

خلال العقود التي قضيتها في تلقي التعليمات التي أعطيها إرضاءً ، قمت بجمع حيل مجدية من الطلاب وضعتها بشكل استراتيجي حول مكتبي. كان من المؤلم جداً تفكيك مكتبي ، لإزالة أساس ذكريات الطلاب المبهجة.

لقد وجدت عزاءًا كبيرًا في مكتب كليتي وأتساءل كيف من الممكن أن يكون هناك أستاذ آخر يسكن الآن في مكتبي. تمت إزالة اسمي من الباب وصندوق البريد الخاص بي يمتلك اسم أستاذ آخر. كيف يكون ذلك ممكنا؟

سرعة الحياة

يبدو أن هناك فاصل زمني لبضع سنوات فقط بين الشباب والشيخوخة ، بين الأم والجدة ، لأن ذلك هو مرة أخرى مدى سرعة سير الحياة.

في هذا الوقت من العام ، غالبا ما أنظر إلى الوراء لنرى إلى أي مدى قد أتيت ، وأعطت نظرة متأخرة لي وجهة نظر ضرورية لنمو شخصي خاص بي ، وخاصة الآن أنه يكاد يكون 2018.

لذلك ، أقوم بإزالة نظارة الشامبانيا من الرف وقم بتقشير الشمبانيا لاحتفالنا ليلة رأس السنة.

كيف يكون ذلك ممكنا؟

ترجمات أضيفت بواسطة InnerSelf

حقوق الطبع والنشر 2017 من قبل باربرا جافي. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

كتاب من هذا المؤلف

متى سأكون جيد بما فيه الكفاية ؟: رحلة استبدال الطفل إلى الشفاء
بقلم باربرا جافي إد.

متى سأكون جيد بما فيه الكفاية؟: رحلة استبدال الطفل إلى الشفاء من قبل باربرا جافي Ed.D.ولدت بربارا لملء الشاغر الذي تركه شقيقها الصغير ، الذي توفي عن عمر يناهز الثانية. يروي هذا الكتاب عددًا كبيرًا من القراء الذين كانوا "أطفالًا بديلين" لأسباب عديدة ، أنهم أيضًا يستطيعون العثور على الأمل والشفاء ، كما فعل باربرا.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب. قبول

عن المؤلف

باربرا جافيBarbara Jaffe، Ed.D. هو أستاذ اللغة الإنجليزية الحائز على جائزة في كلية El Camino ، بولاية كاليفورنيا ، وهو زميل في قسم التعليم بجامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس أنجلوس. وقد قدمت ورش عمل لا تعد ولا تحصى للطلاب لمساعدتهم في العثور على أصوات كتابهم من خلال الكتابة غير الخيالية. كرمت كليتها بتسمية المرأة البارزة لهذا العام والمعلم المتميز للسنة. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت في BarbaraAnnJaffe.com

كتب ذات صلة

حياة التغييرات
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Is It Possible That Time Flies By More Quickly?

How Is It Possible That Time Flies By More Quickly?

At least once a week, I find myself asking: How is it possible?

How is it possible that it is already December when it was just yesterday that we were clicking our respective crystal glasses of champagne to toast in 2017?

Years fly by more quickly as I age. As a young girl, winter and spring crawled as I awaited my three-month summer vacation. Time took on a different meaning when I was young, for I felt I had so much of it and relative to my age, I did. Now, I try not to squander my days, choosing how to spend the time I have left, whether months, a year or many years.

Questioning My Age

This leads me to the same question about my age.

How is it possible that when I view photos of my parents at the same age as I am today, they appear much older than I, but perhaps this is wishful and incorrect thinking. Do all aging children believe they look younger than their parents did at the same age? Does every generation utter the phrase, “Seventy is the new 60 and 50 is the new 40?

Again, I ask How is it possible that my child now has children of his own? It was just yesterday that I was holding his hand as he crossed the street, yet now he holds his 3-year old son’s hand. My grandson recognizes me as Nana and has no understanding yet that his daddy is actually one of my babies.

I remember my own pregnancy days as if they were yesterday, yet they were over three decades ago. And, how is it possible that words like babysitter, carpool, after-school activities have been replaced with other words: retirement, social security, Medicare, and senior discount?

Living and Growing

We purchased our house one week before our third son was born, so how is it possible that we have lived here for 32 years? Within the walls of our home, little boys became men. Countless temper tantrums and hugs of forgiveness were experienced—by all of us. We raised Teddy for 14 years and now have our second fury child, Emma, for 11 ½ years.

How is it possible that so many beings lived and grew and added to the depth of our love within the walls of our family home?

Moving On From A Career

How is it possible that I spent my lifetime building my career, willingly jumping through the necessary hoops to prove my academic and professional worth only to retire this year, closing the proverbial door on my full-time teaching career.

During the decades of my gratifying instruction, I collected meaningful trinkets from students that I placed strategically around my office. It was quite traumatic to disassemble my office, to remove the foundation of joyful student memories.

I found great solace in my college office and I wonder how it is possible that another professor now inhabits ‘my’ office. My name has been removed from the door and my mailbox possesses another professor’s name. How is it possible?

The Speed of Life

There seems to be a time lapse of only a few years between youth and aging, between mother and grandmother, for that is again how fast life is going.

At this time of year, I often look back to see how far I have come, hindsight providing me a necessary perspective to my own personal growth, especially now that it is almost 2018.

So, I remove the champagne glasses from the shelf and chill the bubbly for our New Year’s Eve celebration.

How is it possible?

 Subtitles added by InnerSelf

Copyright 2017 by Barbara Jaffe. All Rights Reserved.

Book by this Author

When Will I Be Good Enough?: A Replacement Child’s Journey to Healing
by Barbara Jaffe Ed.D.

When Will I Be Good Enough?: A Replacement Child’s Journey to Healing by Barbara Jaffe Ed.D.Barbara was born to fill the vacancy left by her little brother, who died at the age of two. This book tells the multitude of readers who have been “replacement children” for many reasons, that they, too, can find hope and healing, as did Barbara.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.accepting

About the Author

Barbara JaffeBarbara Jaffe, Ed.D. is an award-winning English professor at El Camino College, California and is a Fellow in UCLA’s Department of Education. She has offered countless workshops to students to help them find their writers’ voices through writing non-fiction. Her college has honored her by naming her Outstanding Woman of the Year and Distinguished Teacher of the Year. Visit her website at BarbaraAnnJaffe.com

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=time aging women;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}