الأديان والمعتقدات

ما يمكن أن تتعلمه الرأسمالية من الدين

 الرأسمالية مقابل الدين
الإجابات موجودة إذا بحثت عنها. يوغندرا سينغ, CC BY-SA

قد يكون هذا هو موسم السلام على الأرض وحسن النية لجميع الرجال ، لكن لا يتعين عليك البحث بعيدًا في الصفحات المالية للعثور على قصص حول الشركات التي تفعل العكس تمامًا. NatWest ، على سبيل المثال ، لديها وافق للتو لدفع 35 مليون دولار أمريكي (26 مليون جنيه إسترليني) إلى السلطات الأمريكية بعد الاعتراف بالذنب بارتكاب أنشطة احتيالية في الأسواق المالية.

KPMG ، واحدة من أكبر شركات الخدمات المهنية في العالم ، لديها استقال مؤقتا من العطاءات للحصول على عقود الحكومة البريطانية. تتعرض لضغوط من السلطات للإصلاح بعد تغريمها 13 مليون جنيه إسترليني من قبل محكمة الصناعة لسوء السلوك الجسيم المتعلق بانهيار النائبة Silentnight ، والتحقيق الذي أجراه مجلس التقارير المالية وجد أن شركاء KPMG قدموا معلومات خاطئة ومضللة أثناء عمليات التفتيش الروتينية للتدقيق.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، الرؤساء التنفيذيون وغيرهم من المطلعين على الشركات تم تفريغها سجل 69 مليون دولار أمريكي من الأسهم في عام 2021. ويتم الكثير من هذا من خلال نوع شرعي من التداول من الداخل في الولايات المتحدة ، حيث يستخدم التنفيذيون نظامًا يُعرف باسم خطط 10b5-1 لبيع الأسهم حتى عندما يكون لديهم معلومات جوهرية حول الشركة التي لديها لم يتم الكشف عنها علنًا. وقد دفع هذا إلى تقديم مقترحات جديدة متسرعة من السلطات الأمريكية لتضييق الخناق على كيفية تنفيذ مثل هذه المبيعات.

كل هذه الأنشطة تتعارض مع المعايير العالية للنزاهة وحماية المصلحة العامة التي يفترض وجودها بين البنوك والشركات المدرجة والاستشارات. من المغري التفكير في وجود حل بسيط عندما تظهر مثل هذه الأشياء: تغيير القواعد هنا ، وغرامة هناك ، وفرض حظر مؤقت على المزايدة على العقود في مكان آخر.

لسوء الحظ ، هناك حاجة إلى شيء أعمق. هنا توجد أوجه تشابه مع الجدل الضخم حول كيفية الانتقال إلى صافي انبعاثات صفرية. ينصب معظم التركيز على الانتقال إلى تقنيات الصفر الصافي مثل مزارع الرياح أو المركبات الكهربائية ، بدلاً من معالجة المشكلة الأساسية للعلاقة الأساسية للشركة مع الطبيعة.

سواء كنا نتحدث عن انبعاثات الكربون أو المديرين التنفيذيين للشركات الذين يتصرفون بشكل أخلاقي ، فإن القضية هي نفسها: لقد أصبح الاقتصاد والأعمال منشارًا في نسيج عالمنا المترابط. لا يمكننا الهروب من إعادة الفحص الأساسي لمعتقداتنا حول المال والأسواق ومجتمع المعاملات والفردية والتنافسية.

تعلم الرأسمالية من الدين

لحسن الحظ بالنسبة لنا ، كانت الأديان تفكر في طبيعة وحدود المال لمئات السنين. إنهم يرون العمل كخادم للمجتمع وليس سيده. تمنحنا التقاليد القديمة موقفًا مهتمًا ومحترمًا لكوكب الأرض ، حيث يتم تقييد الجشع البشري ، ويتم تشجيع اللطف والرحمة تجاه جميع الكائنات الحية.

في المسيحية ، لطالما كان الاهتمام بالضعفاء والفقراء محوريًا في ممارساتها ، ويهدف عيد الميلاد إلى أن يكون وقتًا للأعمال الخيرية والكرم. إنه يعلمنا أن نتحكم في جشعنا وأن نختبر الاعتماد المتبادل وفرحة العطاء.

لم تعامل تقاليد الدرمية في الهند - الهندوسية والبوذية والسيخية وتقاليدي الخاصة ، اليانية - الحيوانات والطبيعة على أنها منفصلة عن الإنسانية. لقد حقق بوذا التنور تحت شجرة بوذا. توفر الأشجار ملاذًا آمنًا للطيور دون دفع رسوم لها مقابل وقوف السيارات ، وتوفر لهم أفضل أنواع الفاكهة دون محاولة تحويل أنفسهم إلى مطاعم.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

تقف الأشجار ثابتة حتى في الأيام الحارة ، وتظلل بحرية أولئك الذين يحتضنونها. تدرك الشجرة الترابط بين الشمس والتربة والمطر. تعطينا الأفعال الصامتة للأشجار علمًا خالدًا عن اللاعنف (أهمسا) ، عدم الحيازة (aparigraha) والتواضع (نامراتا)

في الأساس ، كان المال دائمًا وسيطًا للتبادل ، وهو خيال صنعناه نحن البشر لمساعدتنا في التعامل مع الاحتياجات اليومية. تنبع قيمته من الثقة التي نمنحها لبعضنا البعض. كلما حوّلنا الأموال إلى واقع واقعي ومادي وشامل ، أصبحنا كمجتمع أكثر انعدامًا للأمان وأنانية.

لقد نسيت المؤسسات والمهن المالية هذه الحقائق الأساسية حول طبيعة وحدود المال. لقد نأوا بأنفسهم عن الثقة والعلاقات والضمير التي يجب أن تكون مركزية في كيفية التعامل معها. لقد أصبحوا في كثير من الأحيان أدوات لنشر انعدام الثقة وعدم المساواة ، من خلال استخدام قوتهم السياسية والاقتصادية لإفادة أنفسهم على حساب الطبيعة والمجتمع.

الرأسمالية مقابل الدين 3
المال مجرد خيال من المفترض أن يساعد المجتمع. عقيق فتاح, CC BY-SA

اخترعت الهند الصفر ، ولديها أيضًا الآلاف من القديسين الذين يعيشون اليوم بدون ثروة. هؤلاء الناس مكرسون لاستكشاف إمكانيات الأمن الداخلي والحرية التي تكمن وراء الوجود المادي.

بطريقة مماثلة ، يحتاج عالم الشركات والتعليم المالي إلى العودة إلى أساسيات المال وجذوره الاجتماعية لتجديد ثقافته. لقد سمعنا الكثير عن الحاجة إلى الانتقال إلى صافي انبعاثات صفرية ، لكننا نحتاج أيضًا إلى محاولة خلق ثقافة قانعة ومشاركة. يحتاج العمل إلى العيش في وئام مع الحيوانات والطبيعة ، والمساعدة في دعم الضعفاء وتمكين الجميع من البقاء على قيد الحياة ، وليس مجرد قلة مختارة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

أتول ك. شاه ، أستاذ محاسبة ومالية ، سيتي، جامعة لندن

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


 

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا المضخات الحرارية 6 12
لماذا المضخات الحرارية والألواح الشمسية ضرورية للدفاع الوطني
by دانيال كوهان ، جامعة رايس
تعتبر الألواح الشمسية والمضخات الحرارية والهيدروجين بمثابة اللبنات الأساسية لاقتصاد الطاقة النظيفة. ولكن ل…
الإجهاد الاجتماعي والشيخوخة 6
كيف يمكن للضغوط الاجتماعية تسريع شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي
by إريك كلوباك ، جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا
مع تقدم الناس في السن ، تبدأ أجهزتهم المناعية بشكل طبيعي في التدهور. شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي ، ...
الأطعمة الصحية عند طهيها 6
9 خضروات صحية عند طهيها
by لورا براون ، جامعة تيسايد
ليست كل الأطعمة مغذية أكثر عند تناولها نيئة. في الواقع ، بعض الخضروات أكثر ...
الصوم المتقطع 6 17
هل الصيام المتقطع مفيد فعلاً لخسارة الوزن؟
by ديفيد كلايتون ، جامعة نوتنغهام ترنت
إذا كنت ممن فكرت في فقدان الوزن أو أرادت أن تصبح أكثر صحة في الماضي ...
عدم قدرة الشاحن 9
توضح قاعدة شاحن USB-C الجديدة كيف يتخذ المنظمون في الاتحاد الأوروبي قرارات للعالم
by رينو فوكارت ، جامعة لانكستر
هل سبق لك أن استعرت شاحنًا لأحد الأصدقاء لتجد أنه غير متوافق مع هاتفك؟ أو…
التواصل مع الحيوانات 6
كيف تتواصل مع الحيوانات
by مارتا وليامز
تحاول الحيوانات دائمًا الوصول إلينا. إنهم يرسلون إلينا باستمرار رسائل بديهية ...
رجل. المرأة والطفل على الشاطئ
هل هذا هو اليوم؟ تحول يوم الأب
by ويلكنسون
إنه عيد الأب. ما المعنى الرمزي؟ هل يمكن أن يحدث شيء يغير حياتك اليوم في ...
مشاكل في عمل الفواتير والصحة النفسية 6
يمكن أن تؤدي مشكلة دفع الفواتير إلى خسائر فادحة في الصحة العقلية للآباء
by جويس واي لي ، جامعة ولاية أوهايو
أجريت أبحاث الفقر السابقة بشكل أساسي مع الأمهات ، مع التركيز بشكل كبير على ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Religions & Beliefs

What Capitalism Can Learn From Religion

 capitalism vs religion
The answers are there if you look for them. Yogendra Singh, CC BY-SA

It may be the season for peace on Earth and goodwill to all men, but you don’t have to look very far in the financial pages to find stories about businesses doing exactly the opposite. NatWest, for example, has just agreed to pay US$35 million (£26 million) to the US authorities after pleading guilty to fraudulent activities in the financial markets.

KPMG, one of the largest professional services firms in the world, has temporarily resigned from bidding for UK government contracts. It is under pressure from the authorities to reform after being fined £13 million by an industry tribunal for serious misconduct relating to the collapse of bedmaker Silentnight, and an investigation by the Financial Reporting Council that has found that KPMG partners provided false and misleading information during routine audit inspections.

Meanwhile, chief executives and other corporate insiders have offloaded a record US$69 million in shares in 2021. Much of this is through a legitimate type of insider trading in the US, where executives use a system known as 10b5-1 plans to sell shares even when they have material information about the business which has not been publicly disclosed. This has prompted hasty new proposals from the US authorities to clamp down on how such sales can be carried out.

All these activities fly in the face of the high standards of integrity and protection of the public interest that are supposed to exist among banks, listed companies and consultancies. It’s tempting to think that there is a simple solution when such things come to light: a change of the rules here, a fine there, a temporary ban on bidding for contracts somewhere else.

Unfortunately something deeper is required. Here there are similarities to the huge debate about how to move to net zero emissions. Most of the emphasis is on moving to net zero technologies like wind farms or electric vehicles, rather than addressing the underlying problem of the corporation’s fundamental relationship with nature.

Whether we are talking about carbon emissions or corporate executives acting ethically, the issue is the same: economics and business have become a chainsaw on the very fabric of our interconnected world. We cannot escape a fundamental re-examination of our beliefs about money, markets, and a transactional, individualist and competitive society.

Capitalism Learning From Religion

Fortunately for us, faiths have been reflecting on the nature and limits of money for hundreds of years. They see business as a servant of society, never its master. Ancient traditions give us a caring and respectful attitude to planet Earth, where human greed is restrained, and kindness and compassion towards all living beings encouraged.

In Christianity, caring for the weak and the poor has always been central to its practices, and Christmas is intended to be a time for charity and generosity. It teaches us to control our greed, to experience interdependence and the joy of giving.

The Dharmic traditions of India - Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism and my own tradition, Jainism – have never treated animals and nature as separate from humanity. It was under the Boddhi tree that the Buddha attained enlightenment. Trees provide safe havens to birds without charging them for parking, and offer them the choicest fruits without trying to turn themselves into restaurants.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Trees stand firm even on hot days, freely giving shade to those who come under their embrace. The interdependence of sun, soil and rain is understood by the tree. The silent actions of trees give us a timeless science of non-violence (ahimsa), non-possession (aparigraha) and humility (namrata)

At root, money has always been a medium of exchange, a fiction which we humans have created to help us deal with everyday needs. Its value derives from the trust that we give to each other. The more we turn money into a factual, materialistic and overarching reality, the more insecure and selfish we become as a society.

Financial institutions and professions have forgotten these basic truths about the nature and limits of money. They have distanced themselves from the trust, relationships and conscience which ought to be central to how it is handled. Too often they have become the vehicles for spreading distrust and inequality, by using their political and economic power to benefit themselves at the expense of nature and society.

capitalism vs religion3
Money is merely a fiction that is supposed to help society. afiq fatah, CC BY-SA

India invented the zero, and it also has thousands of saints who even today live with zero wealth. These people are devoted to exploring the possibilities of inner security and freedom that lies beyond material existence.

In a similar way, the corporate world and finance education needs to go back to the fundamentals of money and its social roots to renew its culture. We have heard a lot about the need to transition to net zero emissions, but we also need to try and bring about a contented and sharing culture. Business needs to live in harmony with animals and nature, help support the weak and enable everyone to survive, not just a chosen few.The Conversation

About The Author

Atul K. Shah, Professor, Accounting and Finance, City, University of London

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


 

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

is it covid or hay fecer 8 7
Here’s How To Tell If It's Covid or Hay Fever
by Samuel J. White, and Philippe B. Wilson
With warm weather in the northern hemisphere, many people will be suffering from pollen allergies.…
changing peoples minds 8 3
Why It’s Hard To Challenge Someone’s False Beliefs
by Lara Millman
Most people think they acquire their beliefs using a high standard of objectivity. But recent…
sage smudge sticks, feathers, and a dreamcatcher
Cleansing, Grounding, and Protecting: Two Foundational Practices
by MaryAnn DiMarco
Many cultures have a ritualistic cleansing practice, often done with smoke or water, to help remove…
overcoming lonliness 8 4
4 Ways To Recover From Loneliness
by Michelle H Lim
Loneliness isn’t unusual given it’s a natural human emotion. But when ignored or not effectively…
changing attitude about climate 8 13
Why Climate and Extreme Heat Are Affecting Our Attitude
by Kiffer George Card
The rising frequency and intensity of heat waves has been affecting people’s mental health by…
how to break bad habits 8 13
How To Break Unhealthy Habits By Not Obsessing About Willpower
by Asaf Mazar and Wendy Wood
One question we set out to answer in our recent research. The answer has far-reaching implications…
young woman sitting with her back against a tree working on her laptop
Work-Life Balance? From Balancing to Integrating
by Chris DeSantis
The concept of work-life balance has morphed and evolved over the approximately forty years it has…
avoiding closed mind 8 13
Why Facts Often Don’t Change Minds
by Keith M. Bellizzi,
“Facts First” is the tagline of a CNN branding campaign which contends that “once facts are…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.