"ينبغي" الحصول على طريق الإرادة الحرة

"ينبغي" الحصول على طريق الإرادة الحرة
الصورة عن طريق irioto

قال لي خبير التغذية ذات مرة إن أفضل الفواكه والخضروات لتناول الطعام هي تلك التي تحتوي على عيوب. وقال إن هناك بالفعل تأثيرًا خلويًا إيجابيًا يأتي من استجابة البقاء على قيد الحياة أو ممارسة الشفاء من الفاكهة ، وهو "التغلب على الصعاب" ، إذا جاز التعبير. في هذه العينات "أقل من الكمال" هي الاستعداد للشفاء والنمو. أنا أحب الحكمة في هذا التصور ورأيته على الفور كقياس للعديد من الأشياء ، الصحة والرفاه مركز الصدارة.

أعلم أنني لست وحدي عندما أقول إنني نظرت إلى حد ما من ثمار كدمة. لقد كانت مغامرة تدوم مدى الحياة لإعادة اختراع نفسي في ضوء أحترم وأعترف به وأكون أنا والشوائب وجميعًا. لا يزال هذا عملاً قيد التقدم ، رغم أنني أستطيع الآن رؤية المكان الذي علمتني فيه الكدمات القديمة.

لقد تعلمت أكثر بكثير من المرونة والقوة. أتاح لي التعرض لأحداث الحياة الفرصة لي لإيجاد حالة من الاستسلام التي فتحت نهايتي ، ليس فقط لرفاهي بل لتعلمه أيضًا.

الرفاه وتناقض الضيق

في اليوم الآخر فقط ، شاهدت مثالًا رائعًا على الاعتراف بالرفاهية من خلال تباين الضيق. بلدي الحصان الصغير بوكو هو في أسفل ترتيب مهاجمي القطيع. في ذلك اليوم ، لاحظت أن كل حصان كان يلتقطه. في النهاية ، تم تجنبه من منطقة التغذية وكان يقف في زاوية المراعي.

Poco هو بالتأكيد "الأخ الصغير" ، وأحيانًا يدفع حظه. لم أكن أرى كل ما حدث قبل حدوث ما رأيته ، لكنه بالتأكيد تم تحديده.

خرجت لأخذه لركوب ، وعندما توقفت عنه ، كان ثاباً ومتعرجاً. أستطيع أن أرى الخوف في عينيه. كنت أعلم أنه كان عليّ الانتباه بشكل أفضل إلى ما كان يشعر به خلال رحلتنا. بدا أنه في حالة ضعف.

مشيت أنا وبوكو إلى الساحة ، ولاحظت أنه كان يرتاح على الفور. لقد خفض رأسه العالي ، وبدأ في إفساد الأنفاس العميقة ، والتنهد والنفخ. كان هذا تناقضا قويا مع ما رأيته قبل لحظات. لم يكن هذا ما توقعته على الإطلاق. لقد توقفت حقًا للتأمل في موضوع هذا التغيير. سرعان ما أدركت أنها كانت حالة من النعمة ، إن شئت ، إحساس بالأمان جاء من خلاله. شعر بسلام معي.

ملاذ من صعوبات الحياة

لقد جاء Poco إليّ كقليل من الفاكهة المخدومة. لقد رأى المجاعة والعنف في حياته الصغيرة. لقد أوضحت أنه من المهم دائمًا توفير مكان آمن له.

الساحة هي ملعبنا وملجأ من صعوبات الحياة. إنه المكان الذي نتواصل فيه - عاطفياً ، روحانيًا ، وجسديًا. عندما دخلنا الساحة ، كان يشعر بالراحة والأمان. يمكن أن تترك مخاوفه وراء.

كثيرا ما أسمع هذا من الناس الذين يزورونني في الوادي. عندما يبدأون في السير في الطريق الطويل المتعرج الذي ينحني وينتقل عبر الأشجار ، والتي تقع في التربة المتداول ، فإنها تشعر أنها يمكن أن تترك مخاوفها عند البوابة. يبدو أن الحياة تأخذ طابعًا جديدًا. السر ، كما أخبرتهم ، هو نقل هذا الشعور إلى العالم عندما يغادرون. هذا يتحدث بقوة عن الفرق بين الحصول على السلام وإيجاده. هذا هو الفرق بين التبعية والإرادة. التبعية دائما على شيء خارجنا. الإرادة هي الانفتاح على السلام الموجود في الداخل.

لمراقبة التباين هو رؤية الاختلافات. إن الأقطاب مثل الخير والشر أو الظلام والضوء توفر لنا القدرة على التصنيف والمقارنة. المقارنة هي كيف نقيم ما نريد من ما لا نريده. عندما أعرف هذا ، أستطيع أن أرى الصراع كشيء إيجابي. أستطيع أن أرى أنه مؤشر قوي يشير إلى ما أريد.

إذا كان هناك شيء غير فعال ، يمكنني التفكير في ما يمكن أن يكون فعالا من خلال التباين. أصبحت الحياة أكثر متعة عندما استطعت أن أرى المشقة كأداة والغضب كطريق للسلام.

التباين النهائي في الحياة: الخوف والحب

كان صراع بوكو مثالاً لما أشعر به هو التناقض النهائي في الحياة: الخوف والحب. كان من السهل أن نرى أن بوكو بدأت بالفعل في البحث عن شعور جيد. إنه يعرف الآن أن هناك جانبًا للخوف.

جيد هو أيضا خيار. من الطبيعي والشائع التركيز على الخوف. الخوف هو المكان الذي يغيب فيه الكثير منا عن رفاهيتنا. نحن مصممون لحماية أنفسنا ، ومع ذلك فإننا نصبح ضحايا للحياة إذا لم نر أن هناك دائمًا خياران على الأقل في المقابل وفي الصراع.

يمكننا التمسك بالآراء التاريخية حول مخاوفنا. الآراء والتصورات تأتي من خلال عدد لا يحصى من المدخلات. قدرا كبيرا من هذه المدخلات هو تصور بيئتنا. الاعتماد على بيئتنا ليس تصورا للإرادة ولكن الاعتماد على الظروف. هذا التبعية يمكن أن يشعر وكأنه عكس الحرية.

أعلم أنه عندما أعتمد على شيء أو شخص ما ، فإن هذه التبعية تبدو وكأنها تحمل خوفًا سقيمًا من الخسارة. ماذا يحدث إذا ... ؟ ومع ذلك ، إرادتي يحمل حرية لا حدود لها داخلها.

كنت أعتقد أنه كان علي البحث خارج نفسي عن هذا الشعور بالكمال. لقد بحثت بالتأكيد عن الحب في جميع الأماكن الخاطئة. لكن من خلال هذا التباين أدركت أخيرًا أنني فقدت نفسي في البحث.

سمعت ذات مرة قصة متسول يجلس على صندوق يسأل عن النشرات. بعد وفاته ، فتح سكان البلدة الصندوق ووجدوا أنه ممتلئ بشذرات الذهب. وقال انه لم ينظر في الداخل. لم يكن يعرف ثروته. هذا يرمز إلى ما يمكن أن يحدث عندما نركز صحتنا خارجنا.

استعادة الاراده الحرة

استعادة الإرادة الحرة تأخذ الممارسة. هذا هو أحد الأسباب التي تجعل الممارسة المثالية ذات أهمية حيوية. إذا مارسنا الدفاع والحماية بدلاً من رؤية طريق بديل ، فسينتهي بنا الأمر إلى ارتداء الخوف مثل بشرتنا. يمكننا أن نتعلم أن نقبل الأشياء.

عندما بدأ راي هانت المهور ، ساعدهم على تعلم قبول الأشياء التي يمكن أن تكون مخيفة ، مثل ارتداء السرج. أراد منهم أن يشعروا بالرضا عن السرج كما فعلوا تجاه ذيلهم.

في البداية ، يمكن أن يبدو السرج مهددًا جدًا للخيول. يمكنهم بناء ممارسة رائعة لاكتساب الثقة من خلال إظهار أن لديهم الخيار. نقول ، "تدخل وتخرج". وبعبارة أخرى ، إن إطلاق الضغط والسماح لهما بتعلم القبول أمر حيوي لتحقيق النجاح. يجوز لنا فقط استخدام لوحة السرج للحصول على اعتادوا على السرج. وضع وسادة على ظهورهم ، وبعد ذلك يمكننا أن نذهب إلى السرج. ربما مجرد وضع السرج وإيقاف دون التثبيط عليه. ثم المضي قدما تدريجيا. هذا مهم جدا للحصان. عن طريق تحطيم الخطوات - الممارسة - من الأسهل بكثير استيعابها وفهمها.

في صباح ذلك اليوم ، أوضح لي بوكو أنه كان يعرف أن هناك طريقة أخرى يمكن أن يشعر بها. لم يكن عليه أن يفعل ما فعله دائمًا. يمكن أن يثق ، وفي الثقة يمكن أن يتمتع إطار تعليمي للعقل. هذا هو السبب في أنني أجد الخيول بمثابة استعارة كبيرة للحياة. يمكننا كسب الكثير من النظر إلى أعين التباين. عندما ننظر إلى التباين في حصان ، يمكن أن يكون ذلك لا يمكن إنكاره.

تحول فضفاضة: الاستعداد والعقل المفتوح

تحدث راي عن تحول الخيول. بالنسبة لي ، التراجع هو تأثير الرغبة والعقل المنفتح. الانعطاف ينشأ في العقل ، لكن الآثار تظهر في تصرفات الحصان من خلال جسده. أكد راي أنه في العقل.

بدأت أرى أنه عندما يكون العقل حراً ، فإن العقبات التي تحول دون الاستعداد الحقيقي قد أزيلت. عقليا وعاطفيا وروحيا الحصان مستوحاة من ما يعاني منه. يقبل ويسمح ويتماشى مع ما يتم تقديمه أو اقتراحه. عقليا مستعد ، واثق ، وقادر.

العقل المنفتح هو فني ؛ إنها أقرب إلى الموسيقى أو الرقص. هو شعر من الداخل وأفرج عنه. لا يمكن إنكار فوائد الانقياد لكل من الحصان والإنسان (وبصراحة لكل كائن حاضر). أستطيع أن أقول من أعماق قلبي أنه عندما يكون الحصان والفارس متحدان ومتحدان ، هناك أناقة صوفية تطلق وتحرر أرواح كلاهما.

وهذا هو الحال مع الحياة

بالنسبة لي ، التراجع يعني أن تكون مستعدًا. أشعر بالفرق في جسدي عندما أكون على استعداد وإلهام. الشعور بالاستعداد يفسح المجال لعقل مفتوح وقلب مفتوح ، ويتم التعبير عن هذا الانفتاح من خلال كل خلية.

الإرادة الحرة هي أغلى هدية. إنه المكان الذي أجد فيه شغفي وإلهامي وإبداعي. الاستجابة للحياة من إرادتي الحقيقية والحرة تملأني بالطاقة. يبدو أن الجسد والعقل والروح كلها تعمل معًا بتناغم عندما أعيش من إرادة ملهمة. في حياتي ، كانت الإرادة رسول المعجزات.

التخلي عن أحكامنا المكتسبة ، والانتقادات ، والأفكار التي عفا عليها الزمن يمكن أن يكون صعبا. ولكن بمجرد أن نختبر الشعور الذي يأتي من الإيمان بأنفسنا ، فإننا نتساءل كيف كان بإمكاننا الانتظار لفترة طويلة. عندما أرفض أحكامي وظروفي وتوقعاتي وتناقضاتي ، أفتح عقلي وأجد إيقاع طبيعي ينتظر هناك.

إن فتح عقل مغلق يطلق العنان للإرادة ، ويشعر الجسم بشكل طبيعي بمزيد من الراحة. الممارسة المثالية تأخذ الممارسة ؛ علينا أن نبدأ من حيث نحن.

"الأكتاف" تعرقل تحرير الإرادة

نادراً ما يتم تحرير الإرادة باستخدام الكلمة ينبغي. وينبغي، على ما يبدو ، يتعارض مع الإرادة ؛ لديها هامش حصر. يبدو أن كل ما لدينا يجب أن يعيق طريقنا.

الشيء الوحيد الذي يميل إلى إثارة مقاومتي هو الغسيل. أنا فقط أرى أنه ينبغي أن لا نهاية لها. أريد أن أركب حصاني ، لكن يجب أن أقوم بغسل الملابس. ما تعلمته هو أنه في بعض الأحيان يمكنني التفاوض مع نفسي. سأركب حصاني أولاً ولكن بعد ذلك سألزم بقية اليوم للحاق بالأعمال المنزلية. أو سأقول: "فقط قم بهذين الأمرين ، ثم يمكنك الذهاب". غالبًا ما ينتهي بي الأمر بأكثر من مجرد شيئين في القائمة. المفتاح بالنسبة لي هو الحفاظ على وعي في هذه العملية وعدم ترك نفسي الانجراف إلى الذات أو الحرمان.

الحياة رغبات التعبير. هذا التعبير مجاني عندما يُسمح به بدلاً من القسري. كما هو الحال في الطبيعة أو الفن ، يمكن للتعبير من خلال عقل متفتح إنشاء روائع. الرغبة هي الحرية ، والحرية هي لغة الروح. الحياة تريد التحرك من خلال أجسادنا ، لا تبدأ من لهم.

قيمة الإرادة الحرة

كانت رؤية قيمة الإرادة الحرة مهمة بالنسبة لي للتعلم مع الخيول. لكنه يلعب أيضًا دورًا في كل تجارب حياتي. كان السماح بدلاً من التأثير أمراً حاسماً في كتابة هذا الكتاب. في بعض الأحيان حاولت الكتابة ولم تكن المواد جاهزة للظهور. انها تحتاج الى وقت لامتصاص.

للتعبير عن نفسي يعني أصلي كان عليّ أن أترك المكان والوقت اللازمين لجمع أفكاري. لم أتمكن من فرض تعبيراتي وما زلت أحتفظ بها. كل واحد منا هو تعبير فريد عن إرادة الخلق ، ومع ذلك فإننا نميل إلى مقاطعة الحوار من خلال القوة.

الاستفادة من الإرادة الحرة هي فلسفة رائعة. في الفروسية نادراً ما تكون هناك لحظة أكثر إرضاء مما كانت عليه عندما يكون ذهن الحصان مفتوحًا ومجانيًا. لكي يحدث ذلك ، يتطلب الأمر مستوى مرتفعًا من الثقة. الخيول حيوانات فريسة ، ونحن حيوانات مفترسة. إن إزالة حاجز الخوف يمكن أن يستغرق مدى الحياة ، لكن تلك اللحظة التي يجتمع فيها العقلان على قدم المساواة هي لحظة لن يتم نسيانها قريبًا.

تكامل القلب والعقل: التخلي عن العادة

الرغبة والعقل يمكن أن تكون في بعض الأحيان متضاربة. من السهل أن نرى أن الرغبة تكمن في القلب عندما تريد الإرادة تغيير ما يريد العقل التمسك به. الإدمان هو العادة التي أصبحت غير فعالة. غالبًا ما يكون غير فعال لأننا غير واعين للتطفل الذي يمثله استعدادنا. إن إدراك ذلك هو بداية توجيه الإرادة لأعظم نوايانا. إن الاستماع إلى إرادتنا والتصرف فيها يتطلب نظرة أعمق إلى أنفسنا من الطبقة السطحية للعقل والجسم. يتطلب الأمر مزيجًا من التفكير والتفاني لتجاوز هذا السلوك اللاواعي. أفضل وقود لنار الإلهام هو الاستعداد.

إرادتي الحرة الحقيقية هي دائمًا في صالحي. هذا لا ينبغي الخلط بينه وبين ما أريد. يمكن للعقل الراغب ولا يصبح مجرد عكس المنفعة. يمكن أن تطلقنا في السعي من أجل المزيد وعدم قبول اللحظة الحالية.

إرادتي موجودة دائمًا ولا تتطلب مصدرًا خارجيًا لتحقيقها. إرادتي هي ، في الواقع ، من أكون في لب. من السهل أن نفترض أنه قد لا توجد حياة على هذا الكوكب دون إرادة العيش. الجسم هش للغاية لدرجة أنه لا يستطيع صنعه بمفرده.

هذا الضوء داخلنا غالبا ما يمر دون أن يلاحظه أحد نحن فقط وضع السيارة في القيادة وننسى أن هناك محرك. هذا المحرك المجازي تغذيه إرادتنا. ومع ذلك فإن الكثير من تركيزنا ينصب على الجسم وعلى الأفكار. تشبه الحياة من منظور مادي مجرد قيادة السيارة أثناء النظر إلى عجلة القيادة.

© 2019 by Mary S. Corning. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
الناشر: الدائرة حول النشر.

المادة المصدر

الممارسة المثالية: فلسفة للعيش حياة أصيلة وشفافة
ماري س. كورنينج

الممارسة المثالية: فلسفة للعيش حياة أصيلة وشفافة بقلم ماري إس كورنينجويهدف هذا الكتاب بمثابة بذرة. رسالتها توفر مصدر إلهام للعيش حياة حقيقية وشفافة. كمورد للحياة ، فهو يوحد ما يعتبر منفصلاً ويشفي الجرحى. سيتعلم القراء كيفية تحويل: * الألم إلى غرض * الصراع في الثقة * الخوف في الفضول. هذه هي التحولات التي يمكننا القيام بها لبناء حياة أفضل وعالم أفضل للعيش فيه.

(متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle.)

انقر لطلب على الأمازون

كتب ذات صلة

عن المؤلف

ماري س. كورنينجماري س. كورنينج يغير حياة من خلال تحديد القوة التحويلية للألم. بصفتها معلمة ، متحدثة ، مستشارة وكاتبة ، قامت بتصميم هذه العملية بشكل واضح وعاطف من خلال رسائلها وقصصها. تمتد ماري فلسفتها إلى عالم الخيول ، حيث يستفيد كل من الناس والخيول من إدراك طريقة مختلفة لتفسير التحدي. www.maryscorning.com

فيديو مع ماري كورنينج: كيفية تمكين وجود سلمي أثناء التفاعل الدفاعي

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

“Shoulds” Get In The Way Of Free Will

“Shoulds” Get In The Way Of Free Will
Image by irioto

A nutritionist once told me that the best fruits and vegetables to eat are the ones with blemishes. He said there is actually a positive cellular effect that comes from the survival response or healing practice of the fruit, a "beating the odds," so to speak. In these "less than perfect" spec­imens is a willingness to heal and to grow. I love the wisdom in this perception and immediately saw it as an analogy for many things, health and well-being taking center stage.

I know I am not alone when I say I have considered myself somewhat of a bruised fruit. It has been a lifelong adventure to reinvent myself in a light with which I honor, respect, and appreciate who I am, blemishes and all. This is still a work in progress, though now I can see where my ancient bruises have taught me survival.

I learned so much more than resilience and strength. Being battered by life events offered me opportunities to find a state of surrender that opened my ultimate will not just for having well-being but also for learning it.

Well-Being And The Contrast Of Distress

Just the other day I witnessed a great example of recognizing well-being through the contrast of distress. My young horse Poco is at the bottom of the herd's pecking order. On that day I noticed every horse had been picking on him. Eventually he was even shunned from the feed area and was standing in the corner of the pasture.

Poco is definitely the "little brother," and some­times he pushes his luck. I didn't see everything that happened before what I saw happen, but he was definitely singled out.

I went out to get him for a ride, and when I haltered him, he was jumpy and flinchy. I could see the fear in his eyes. I knew I had better pay close attention to how he was feeling during our ride. He seemed to be in a vulnerable state.

Poco and I walked into the arena, and I noticed he was instantly relaxing. He lowered his high head, and he started letting out deep breaths, sighing and blowing. This was a strong contrast to what I had seen just a moment earlier. It was also not at all what I had expected. I really paused to ponder what this change was all about. I quickly realized that it was a state of grace, if you will, a sense of security that came through him. He felt at peace with me.

A Sanctuary From The Difficulties Of Life

Poco had come to me as a bit of a bruised fruit; he had seen starvation and violence in his young life. I have made it a point to always give him a safe place to be.

The arena is our playground and a sanctuary from the difficulties of life. It is where we con­nect — emotionally, spiritualty, and physically. When we entered the arena, he could feel at ease and safe. He could leave his wor­ries behind.

I often hear this from people who visit me in the canyon. As they start down the long, winding road that curves and twists through the trees, nestled and tucked into the earth’s rolling soil, they feel they can leave their worries at the gate. Life seems to take on a brand-new feel. The secret, I tell them, is to carry that feel back into the world when they leave. This speaks very strongly to the difference between having peace and finding it. It is the difference between dependency and will. Dependency is always on something outside of us. Will is opening to the peace that resides within.

To observe contrast is to see differences. Polarities such as good and bad or dark and light offer us the ability to label and compare. Comparison is how we evaluate what we want from what we don’t want. When I know this, I can see conflict as a positive thing. I can see it as a strong indicator pointing to what I want.

If something is ineffective, I can ponder what would be effective through contrast. Life became much more pleasurable when I could see hardship as a tool and anger as a pathway to peace.

The Ultimate Contrast In Life: Fear And Love

Poco’s conflict was an example of what I feel is the ultimate contrast in life: fear and love. It was plain to see that Poco was really starting to hunt up feeling good. He now knows there is a flip side to fear.

Good is also a choice. It is natural and com­mon to focus on fear. Fear is where many of us lose sight of our well­being. We are geared to protect ourselves, yet we become victims of life if we don’t see there are always at least two choices in contrast and in conflict.

We can hold on to historic opinions about our fears. Opinions and perceptions come through a myr­iad of input. A great deal of this input is the perception of our en­vironment. Dependency on our environment is not a perception of will but a reliance on circumstance. This dependency can feel like the opposite of freedom.

I know that when I am dependent on something or someone, that dependency seems to carry with it a residing fear of loss. What happens if ... ? However, my will holds limitless freedom within it.

I used to believe I had to search outside myself for this feeling of completeness. I have definitely looked for love in all the wrong places. But through that contrast I finally realized I had lost myself in the search.

I once heard a story of a beggar sitting on a box asking for handouts. After he died the townspeople unlocked the box and found it was full of gold nuggets. He had never looked inside. He never knew his wealth. This symbolizes what can happen when we focus our well­being outside of us.

Reclaiming Free Will

Reclaiming free will takes practice. This is one reason perfect practice is so vitally important. If we practice defense and pro­tection rather than seeing an alternate route, we end up wearing fear like our skin. We can learn to accept things.

When Ray Hunt started colts, he helped them learn to accept the things that could be frightening, such as wearing a saddle. He wanted them to feel as good about the saddle as they did about their mane and tail.

At first, the saddle can seem very threatening to horses. They can build a great practice of gaining confidence by being shown they have a choice. We say, “You get in and you get out.” In other words, releasing the pressure and allowing them to learn to accept is vital to success. We may just use the saddle pad to get them accustomed to the saddle. Lay the pad on their back, and then we can go to the saddle. Maybe just put the sad­dle on and off without cinching it down. And then move ahead incrementally. This is very important to the horse. By breaking down the steps — practicing — it is a lot easier to assimilate and to understand.

That morning, Poco demonstrated to me that he knew there was another way that he could feel. He didn’t have to do what he always did. He could trust, and in trusting he could enjoy a learning frame of mind. This is why I find horses to be such a great metaphor for life. We can gain so much from looking into the eyes of contrast. When we look at contrast in a horse, it can be pretty undeniable.

Turning Loose: Willingness and Open Mind

Ray spoke of horses turning loose. To me, turning loose is the effect of willingness and an open mind. Turning loose originates in the mind, but the effects show in the horse’s actions through his body. Ray emphasized that it’s in the mind.

I began to see that when the mind is free, the obstacles blocking true willingness have been removed. Mentally, emotionally, and spiritually the horse is inspired by what he is experiencing. He accepts, allows, and is aligned with what is being offered or suggested. Mentally he is prepared, confident, and capable.

A mind that is turned loose is artistic; it is akin to music or dance. It is felt from within and released. The benefits of turning loose for both horse and human (and frankly for every sentient being) are undeniable. I can say from deep within my heart that when horse and rider are free­spirited and united, there is a mystical elegance that releases and frees the souls of both.

And So It Is With Life

For me, turning loose means being willing. I feel the difference in my body when I am willing and inspired. A sense of willing­ness lends itself to an open mind and an open heart, and that openness is expressed through every cell.

Free will is my most precious gift. It is where I find my passion, inspiration, and cre­ativity. Responding to life from my true and free will fills me with energy. Body, mind, and spirit all seem to work together in harmony when I am living from an inspired will. In my life, the will has been the messenger of miracles.

Letting go of our acquired judgments, criticisms, and out­dated thoughts can be tough. But once we experience the feeling that comes from believing in ourselves, we wonder how we could have waited so long. When I turn loose of my judgments and conditions, and my expectations and contradictions, I open my mind and find my natural cadence waiting there.

Opening a closed mind unleashes the will, and the body naturally feels more at ease. Perfect practice takes practice; we have to begin from where we are.

“Shoulds” Get In The Way Of Freeing The Will

Freeing the will is rarely accomplished by using the word should. Should, it seems, is counterintuitive to the will; it has a confining margin. All our shoulds seem to get in the way of our wants.

One thing that tends to trigger my resistance is laundry. I just see it as an endless should. I want to ride my horse, but I should do laundry. What I have learned is that sometimes I can bargain with myself. I’ll ride my horse first but then commit the rest of the day to catching up on chores. Or I’ll say, “Just do these two things, then you can go ride.” Often I end up doing a lot more than just two things on the list. The key for me is staying conscious in the process and not letting myself drift into self­pity or deprivation.

Life desires expression. This expression is free­willed when it is allowed rather than forced. Just as it is in nature or art, expres­sion through an open mind can create masterpieces. Willingness is freedom, and freedom is the language of the soul. Life wants to move through our bodies, not from them.

The Value of Free Will

Seeing the value of free will was important for me to learn with horses. But it also plays a role in all my life experiences. Allowing rather than forcing was crucial in writing this book. There were times I tried to write and the material just wasn’t ready to come forth. It needed time to soak.

To express myself authentically meant I had to allow the space and time required to gather my thoughts. I couldn’t force my expressions and still have them be authentic. Each one of us is a unique expression of the will of creation, yet we tend to interrupt the dialogue through force.

Tapping into free will is a brilliant philosophy. In horse­manship there is scarcely a moment more fulfilling than when the mind of the horse is open and free. For that to happen, it takes a heightened level of trust. Horses are prey animals, and we are predators. To remove the barrier of fear can take a life­time, but that one moment when the two minds meet as equals is a moment that is not soon forgotten.

The Integration of Heart and Mind: Letting Go of Habit

Willingness and mind can sometimes be conflicting. It is easy to see that willingness resides in the heart when the will wants to change what the mind wants to hold on to. Addiction is a habit that has become ineffective. Often it is ineffective because we are uncon­scious of the intrusion it presents to our willingness. Recognizing this is the beginning of channeling the will for our greatest inten­tions. To listen to and act on our will requires a deeper look into our self than the surface layer of mind and body. It takes a blend of thought and dedication to override such unconscious behavior. The best fuel for the fire of inspiration is willingness.

My true free will is always for my best interest. This is not to be confused with what I want. The wanting mind can and does become just the opposite of beneficial. It can launch us into striving for more and not accepting the present moment.

My will is always present and does not require an outside source to fulfill it. My will is, in fact, who I am at the core. It is pretty easy to assume there may not be life on the planet without the will to live. The body is far too fragile to make it on its own.

This light inside of us often goes unnoticed. We just put the car in drive and forget there is an engine. This metaphorical engine is fueled by our will. Yet so much of our focus is on the body and on thoughts. Living life from a merely physical perspective is like driving a car while looking at the steering wheel.

©2019 by Mary S. Corning. All Rights Reserved.
Publisher:  Circle Around Publishing.

Article Source

Perfect Practice: A Philosophy for Living an Authentic and Transparent Life
by Mary S. Corning

Perfect Practice: A Philosophy for Living an Authentic and Transparent Life by Mary S. CorningThis book is meant as a seed. Its message offers inspiration for living an authentic and transparent life. As a resource for life, it unites what is seen as separate and heals what is wounded. Readers will learn how to transform: * Pain into purpose * Conflict into confidence * Fear into curiosity. These are the shifts we can make to build a better life and a better world in which to live.

(Also available as a Kindle edition.)

click to order on amazon

 

Related Books

About the Author

Mary S. CorningMary S. Corning changes lives by defining the transformative power of pain. As a mentor, speaker, consultant, and writer, she clearly and compassionately models this process through her messages and stories. Mary extends her philosophy into the world of horses, where both people and horses benefit from realizing a different way to interpret challenge. www.maryscorning.com

Video with Mary Corning: How to enable a peaceful presence while in defensive reactivity

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}