كيف يصحح تصحيح التحيز المعرفي يجعل الحياة أكثر عدلا

هناك حقيقة مثيرة للاهتمام وهي أنه بينما يُنظر إلى البرمجة اليوم على أنها مجال يهيمن عليه الذكور ، إلا أنه كان عكس ذلك تماماً في فجر الحوسبة. لذا إذا نظرت إلى من كان المبرمجون الأصليون ، كانوا في الواقع نساء! كان جميع المبرمجين منذ البداية من النساء ، وكان ذلك بسبب اعتبار هذا العمل "تحت" الرجال.

وبطريقة أو بأخرى في سنوات 30 و 40 و 50 المتداخلة ، تحول جنس الديناميكيات بشكل كامل. لكن ما نراه الآن هو أنه في بعض الأحيان يكون التحيز الضمني الذي نواجهه هو الذي يمنع النساء والأقليات من دخول سوق العمل ، إما كعلماء بيانات أو كمهندسي كمبيوتر ومهندسي برمجيات.

ولقد رأينا الكثير من الأبحاث في هذا المجال تبين أنه يمكن أن يكون هناك بعض التحيز الضمني في كيفية الحكم على الناس بمجرد معرفتنا لاسمهم أو جنسهم أو عرقهم. وما نفعله عندما نقيم الأشخاص الذين سيعملون لنا هو أننا نتجاهل هذه الأشياء تمامًا. نحن نزيل الاسم في الواقع عندما نعتبر تطبيقات الناس.

نحن ننظر فقط إلى كيفية أدائهم في سلسلة من التحديات التي نمنحها لهم والتي تحاول فعليًا اختبار قدرتهم على أن يكونوا علماء بيانات وأن يختبروا فهمهم لهذا النوع من مفاهيم البرمجة الرياضية الأساسية الأساسية. وعندما نفعل ذلك ، أعتقد أنه في واقع الأمر يصبح عملية أكثر عدالة بكثير ، ويمكن أن يساعد في الواقع على زيادة عدد النساء والأقليات الممثلة تمثيلاً ناقصًا الذين يصنعون نوعًا ما من خلال عملية الفرز.

فقط لإعطائك نوعًا من الحكاية السريعة حول هذا الموضوع ، هناك قصة مشهورة حول اختبارات الموسيقى في 1970s حيث كانت الأوركسترا تحتوي على نسبة ضئيلة جدًا جدًا من أعضائها أو لاعبيها هناك - الأشخاص الذين كانوا يلعبون في الأوركسترا كنساء.

وما حدث هو أنهم قرروا في مرحلة ما أن يحاولوا التحرر من هذا ، وكانوا يضعون ستارة بين المؤدي ، أي المدقق ، ولجنة التحكيم التي تحاول تحديد ما إذا كان ينبغي السماح له باللعب في الأوركسترا. وعندما فعلوا كانت النتائج ليلا ونهارا.

هناك دراسة مشهورة على الموقع الإلكتروني للمكتب الوطني للبحوث الاقتصادية التي نشرها باحثان مشهوران من جامعة هارفارد يتحدثان عن هذا. يطلق عليه "ينظم التنوع" ويتحدث عن كيف كانت النتائج اختلافا ليلا ونهارا: الجزء من النساء اللواتي نجحوا في تجاوز جولة التصفية أدى إلى شيء مثل سبعة أضعاف بين عدم وجود الستارة لأسفل والخروج من الستارة.

ويذهب الأمر إلى نوع من إظهار أنه في هذا الوقت كان هناك تحيز ضمني بأن النساء لم يكن في الحقيقة نوعًا من العيار الموسيقي الذي احتاجت إليه لكي تتمكن من الأداء في قاعة كارنيجي ، أليس كذلك؟ في هذا النوع من الأداء السمفوني عالي المستوى.

وعندما تضع ستارة وتستمع إليهم فقط بدلاً من أن تكون قادراً على رؤية ما إذا كانوا رجلاً أو امرأة ، فإنك - بدون هذا النوع من المعرفة - أجبرت فجأة على إصدار أحكام تستند فقط إلى الموسيقى ، فقط على أساس قدرتها ورأيت أنك كنت أكثر استعدادًا لترك النساء أكثر من قبل.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Bognes Cognitive Biases؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Correcting For Cognitive Biases Makes Life More Fair

A sort of interesting fact is that, while today programming is viewed as an extremely male dominated field, it was totally the opposite at the dawn of computing. So if you look at who the original programmers were, they were actually women! All programmers from the very beginning were women and it was because this job was seen as being “beneath” men.

And so somehow in the interceding 30, 40, 50 years, that gender of dynamics has completely shifted around. But what we’re seeing now is that sometimes it’s the implicit biases that we have which are holding back women and minorities from entering the workforce, either as data scientists or as computer engineers and software engineers.

And we’ve seen a lot of research in this area that’s shown that there can be some implicit biases in how we judge people once we know their name, their gender or their race. And what we do when we assess the people who are going to be working for us is we are completely blind to these things. We actually strip away the name when we consider people’s applications.

We just look at how they perform on a series of challenges that we give them that really try to test their ability to be data scientists and test their understanding of these kind of core fundamental mathematical programming concepts. And when we do that I think it actually becomes a much more fair process and it actually can help increase the number of women and underrepresented minorities who sort of make it through the screening process.

Just to give you one sort of quick anecdote about this there’s a famous story about music auditions in the 1970s where orchestras had a very, very tiny percentage of their members or their players there – the people who were playing in the orchestra as women.

And what happened is at some point they decided to try to break free from this and they would put down a curtain between the performer, that is the auditioner, and the judging panel that was trying to determine whether she or he should be allowed to play in the orchestra. And when they did the results were night and day.

There’s a famous study that’s up on the National Bureau of Economic Research’s website published by two famous researchers from Harvard talking about this. It’s called “orchestrating diversity” and it talks about how the results were a night and day difference: the fraction for women who made it past the screening round shot up something like sevenfold between not having the curtain down and having the curtain down.

And it just goes to sort of show that at this time there was an implicit bias that women weren’t really the kind of caliber of musician that you needed to be able to perform at Carnegie Hall, right? At these kind of top level symphonic performance.

And when you put down a curtain and you just listened to them as opposed to being able to see whether they were a man or a woman, you then—without that kind of knowledge you suddenly were forced to make judgments just based on the music, just based on their ability and you saw that you were much more willing to let in women than before.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Cognitive Biases;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}