Der Weg zu Elektrofahrzeugen mit niedrigeren Aufkleberpreisen als Gasautos - Batteriekosten erklärt

Der Weg zu Elektrofahrzeugen mit niedrigeren Aufkleberpreisen als Gasautos - Batteriekosten erklärtUm gasbetriebene Autos mit COXNUMX-Emissionen durch Elektrofahrzeuge zu ersetzen, muss die Preisprämie für Elektrofahrzeuge gesenkt werden, und das hängt von einer Sache ab: den Batteriekosten. Westend61 über Getty Images

Verkauf von Elektrofahrzeugen sind in den letzten Jahren exponentiell gewachsen, begleitet von fallenden Preisen. Die Akzeptanz von Elektrofahrzeugen bleibt jedoch durch ihre begrenzt höherer Aufkleberpreis im Vergleich zu vergleichbaren Gasfahrzeugen, obwohl Die Gesamtbetriebskosten für Elektrofahrzeuge sind niedriger.

Elektrofahrzeuge und Fahrzeuge mit Verbrennungsmotor dürften irgendwann im nächsten Jahrzehnt die Preisparität für Aufkleber erreichen. Das Timing hängt von einem entscheidenden Faktor ab: den Batteriekosten. Der Akku eines Elektrofahrzeugs macht ungefähr aus ein Viertel der gesamten FahrzeugkostenDies macht es zum wichtigsten Faktor für den Verkaufspreis.

Die Preise für Akkus sind schnell gefallen. Ein typischer EV-Akku speichert 10-100 Kilowattstunden (kWh) Strom. Zum Beispiel hat der Mitsubishi i-MIEV eine Batteriekapazität von 16 kWh und eine Reichweite von 62 Meilen, und das Tesla Model S hat eine Batteriekapazität von 100 kWh und eine Reichweite von 400 Meilen. Im Jahr 2010 lag der Preis für einen EV-Akku bei über 1,000 USD pro kWh. Das fiel auf 150 USD pro kWh im Jahr 2019. Die Herausforderung für die Automobilindustrie besteht darin, herauszufinden, wie die Kosten weiter gesenkt werden können.

Die Ziel des Energieministeriums Für die Industrie ist es, den Preis für Akkus auf weniger als 100 USD / kWh und letztendlich auf etwa 80 USD / kWh zu senken. Bei diesen Batteriepreisen ist der Aufkleberpreis eines Elektrofahrzeugs wahrscheinlich niedriger als der eines vergleichbaren Fahrzeugs mit Verbrennungsmotor.

Die Prognose, wann dieser Preisübergang stattfinden wird, erfordert Modelle, die die Kostenvariablen berücksichtigen: Design, Materialien, Arbeitskräfte, Fertigungskapazität und Nachfrage. Diese Modelle zeigen auch, wo sich Forscher und Hersteller auf die Reduzierung der Batteriekosten konzentrieren. Unsere Gruppe An der Carnegie Mellon University wurde ein Modell der Batteriekosten entwickelt, das alle Aspekte der Herstellung von Elektrofahrzeugbatterien berücksichtigt.

Von unten nach oben

Modelle zur Analyse der Batteriekosten werden entweder als „von oben nach unten“ oder „von unten nach oben“ klassifiziert. Top-down-Modelle prognostizieren Kosten hauptsächlich basierend auf Nachfrage und Zeit. Ein beliebtes Top-Down-Modell, das es kann prognostizierte Batteriekosten ist Wrights Gesetz, das vorhersagt, dass die Kosten sinken, wenn mehr Einheiten produziert werden. Skaleneffekte und die Erfahrung, die eine Branche im Laufe der Zeit sammelt, senken die Kosten.

Wrights Gesetz ist generisch. Es klappt über alle Technologien hinweg, was es möglich macht, vorherzusagen Der Rückgang der Batteriekosten basiert auf dem Rückgang der Solarmodulkosten. Das Wright-Gesetz erlaubt jedoch - wie andere Top-Down-Modelle - keine Analyse der Ursachen der Kostensenkungen. Dafür ist ein Bottom-Up-Modell erforderlich.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Der Akku, der große graue Block, der das Chassis in diesem Diagramm eines Elektroautos ausfüllt, trägt den größten Teil aller Komponenten zum Preis eines Elektrofahrzeugs beiDer Akku, der große graue Block, der das Chassis in diesem Diagramm eines Elektroautos ausfüllt, trägt den größten Teil aller Komponenten zum Preis eines Elektrofahrzeugs bei. Sven Loeffler / iStock über Getty Images

Um ein Bottom-up-Kostenmodell zu erstellen, ist es wichtig zu verstehen, wie eine Batterie hergestellt wird. Lithium-Ionen-Batterien bestehen aus einer positiven Elektrode, der Kathode, einer negativen Elektrode, der Anode und einem Elektrolyten sowie Hilfskomponenten wie Anschlüssen und Gehäuse.

Für jede Komponente fallen Kosten für Material, Herstellung, Montage, Kosten für die Instandhaltung der Fabrik und Gemeinkosten an. Bei Elektrofahrzeugen müssen Batterien auch in kleine Gruppen von Zellen oder Modulen integriert werden, die dann zu Packs kombiniert werden.

Unser Open Source, Bottom-Up-Batteriekostenmodell folgt der gleichen Struktur wie der Batterieherstellungsprozess selbst. Das Modell verwendet Eingaben in den Batterieherstellungsprozess als Eingaben in das Modell, einschließlich Batteriedesignspezifikationen, Rohstoff- und Arbeitspreisen, Kapitalinvestitionsanforderungen wie Produktionsanlagen und -ausrüstungen, Gemeinkosten und Herstellungsvolumen, um Skaleneffekte zu berücksichtigen. Diese Eingaben werden verwendet, um Herstellungskosten, Materialkosten und Gemeinkosten zu berechnen. Diese Kosten werden summiert, um die endgültigen Kosten zu erhalten.

Möglichkeiten zur Kostensenkung

Mithilfe unseres Bottom-up-Kostenmodells können wir die Beiträge jedes Teils der Batterie zu den Gesamtbatteriekosten aufschlüsseln und anhand dieser Erkenntnisse die Auswirkungen von Batterieinnovationen auf die EV-Kosten analysieren. Materialien machen mit rund 50% den größten Teil der gesamten Batteriekosten aus. Die Kathode macht etwa 43% der Materialkosten aus, und andere Zellmaterialien machen etwa 36% aus.

Verbesserungen bei Kathodenmaterialien sind die wichtigsten Innovationen, da die Kathode die größte Komponente der Batteriekosten darstellt. Das treibt stark an Interesse an Rohstoffpreisen.

Die gebräuchlichsten Kathodenmaterialien für Elektrofahrzeuge sind Nickel-Kobalt-Aluminiumoxid in Tesla-Fahrzeugen verwendet, Nickel-Mangan-Kobaltoxid verwendet in die meisten anderen Elektrofahrzeugeund Lithiumeisenphosphat wird in den meisten Elektrobussen verwendet.

Nickel-Kobalt-Aluminiumoxid hat die niedrigsten Kosten pro Energiegehalt und die höchste Energie pro Masseneinheit oder spezifische Energie dieser drei Materialien. Niedrige Kosten pro Energieeinheit ergeben sich aus einer hohen spezifischen Energie, da weniger Zellen zum Aufbau eines Akkus benötigt werden. Dies führt zu geringeren Kosten für andere Zellmaterialien. Kobalt ist das teuerste Material innerhalb der Kathode, daher führen Formulierungen dieser Materialien mit weniger Kobalt typischerweise zu billigeren Batterien.

Inaktive Zellmaterialien wie Tabs und Behälter machen etwa 36% der gesamten Zellmaterialkosten aus. Diese anderen Zellmaterialien fügen der Batterie keinen Energiegehalt hinzu. Das Reduzieren inaktiver Materialien reduziert daher das Gewicht und die Größe von Batteriezellen, ohne den Energiegehalt zu reduzieren. Dies weckt das Interesse an einer Verbesserung des Zelldesigns mit Innovationen wie Tabless-Batterien wie die, die von Tesla gehänselt werden.

Die Kosten für Akkus sinken ebenfalls erheblich, da die Anzahl der Zellenhersteller jährlich steigt. Da mehr EV-Batteriefabriken komm onlineSkaleneffekte und weitere Verbesserungen bei der Herstellung und dem Design von Batterien sollten zu weiteren Kostensenkungen führen.

Weg zur Preisparität

Die Vorhersage eines Zeitplans für die Preisparität mit ICE-Fahrzeugen erfordert die Vorhersage eines zukünftigen Verlaufs der Batteriekosten. Wir schätzen, dass die Reduzierung der Rohstoffkosten, die Verbesserung der Leistung und das Lernen durch gemeinsame Herstellung bis 80 wahrscheinlich zu Batterien mit Packungskosten unter 2025 USD / kWh führen werden.

Vorausgesetzt, Batterien repräsentieren ein Viertel der EV-KostenEin 100-kWh-Akku mit 75 US-Dollar pro Kilowattstunde kostet etwa 30,000 US-Dollar. Dies sollte zu Preisen für EV-Aufkleber führen, die niedriger sind als die Aufkleberpreise für vergleichbare Modelle von gasbetriebenen Autos.

Über den Autor

Venkat Viswanathan, außerordentlicher Professor für Maschinenbau, Carnegie Mellon University;; Alexander Bills, Ph.D. Kandidat im Maschinenbau, Carnegie Mellon Universityund Shashank Sripad, Ph.D. Kandidat im Maschinenbau, Carnegie Mellon University

Abhinav Misalkar hat als Doktorand an der Carnegie Mellon University zu diesem Artikel beigetragen.Das Gespräch

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

VON DEN HERAUSGEBERN

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Wir sehen das Leben durch die Linsen unserer Wahrnehmung. Stephen R. Covey schrieb: „Wir sehen die Welt nicht so wie sie ist, sondern so wie wir sind oder wie wir konditioniert sind, um sie zu sehen.“ Also schauen wir uns diese Woche einige an…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Die Straßen, auf denen wir heutzutage unterwegs sind, sind so alt wie die Zeit, aber für uns neu. Die Erfahrungen, die wir machen, sind so alt wie die Zeit, aber sie sind auch neu für uns. Gleiches gilt für die…
Wenn die Wahrheit so schrecklich ist, dass es weh tut, ergreifen Sie Maßnahmen
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Inmitten all der Schrecken, die heutzutage stattfinden, inspirieren mich die Hoffnungsschimmer, die durchscheinen. Gewöhnliche Menschen, die sich für das einsetzen, was richtig ist (und gegen das, was falsch ist). Baseballspieler,…
Wenn dein Rücken an der Wand steht
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Ich liebe das Internet. Jetzt weiß ich, dass viele Leute viele schlechte Dinge darüber zu sagen haben, aber ich liebe es. So wie ich die Menschen in meinem Leben liebe - sie sind nicht perfekt, aber ich liebe sie trotzdem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Jeder kann wahrscheinlich zustimmen, dass wir in seltsamen Zeiten leben ... neue Erfahrungen, neue Einstellungen, neue Herausforderungen. Aber wir können ermutigt werden, uns daran zu erinnern, dass immer alles im Fluss ist,…

The Road To Electric Vehicles With Lower Sticker Prices Than Gas Cars – Battery Costs Explained

The Road To Electric Vehicles With Lower Sticker Prices Than Gas Cars – Battery Costs ExplainedReplacing carbon-emitting gas-powered cars with EVs requires whittling away EVs’ price premium, and that comes down to one thing: battery cost. Westend61 via Getty Images

Electric vehicle sales have grown exponentially in recent years, accompanied by dropping prices. However, adoption of EVs remains limited by their higher sticker price relative to comparable gas vehicles, even though overall cost of ownership for EVs is lower.

EVs and internal combustion engine vehicles are likely to reach sticker price parity sometime in the next decade. The timing hinges on one crucial factor: battery cost. An EV’s battery pack accounts for about a quarter of total vehicle cost, making it the most important factor in the sales price.

Battery pack prices have been falling fast. A typical EV battery pack stores 10-100 kilowatt hours (kWh) of electricity. For example, the Mitsubishi i-MIEV has a battery capacity of 16 kWh and a range of 62 miles, and the Tesla model S has a battery capacity of 100 kWh and a range of 400 miles. In 2010, the price of an EV battery pack was over $1,000 per kWh. That fell to $150 per kWh in 2019. The challenge for the automotive industry is figuring out how to drive the cost down further.

The Department of Energy goal for the industry is to reduce the price of battery packs to less than $100/kWh and ultimately to about $80/kWh. At these battery price points, the sticker price of an EV is likely to be lower than that of a comparable combustion engine vehicle.

Forecasting when that price crossover will occur requires models that account for the cost variables: design, materials, labor, manufacturing capacity and demand. These models also show where researchers and manufacturers are focusing their efforts to reduce battery costs. Our group at Carnegie Mellon University has developed a model of battery costs that accounts for all aspects of EV battery manufacturing.

From the bottom up

Models used for analyzing battery costs are classified either as “top down” or “bottom up.” Top-down models predict cost based primarily on demand and time. One popular top-down model that can forecast battery cost is Wright’s law, which predicts that costs go down as more units are produced. Economies of scale and the experience an industry acquires over time drive down costs.

Wright’s law is generic. It works across all technologies, which makes it possible to predict battery cost declines based on solar panel cost declines. However, Wright’s law - like other top-down models - doesn’t allow for the analysis of the sources of the cost declines. For that, a bottom-up model is required.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The battery pack, the large gray block filling the chassis in this diagram of an electric car, contributes the most of any component to the price of an EVThe battery pack, the large gray block filling the chassis in this diagram of an electric car, contributes the most of any component to the price of an EV. Sven Loeffler/iStock via Getty Images

To build a bottom-up cost model, it’s important to understand what goes into making a battery. Lithium-ion batteries consist of a positive electrode, the cathode, a negative electrode, the anode and an electrolyte, as well as auxiliary components such as terminals and casing.

Each component has a cost associated with its materials, manufacturing, assembly, expenses related to factory maintenance, and overhead costs. For EVs, batteries also need to be integrated into small groups of cells, or modules, which are then combined into packs.

Our open source, bottom-up battery cost model follows the same structure as the battery manufacturing process itself. The model uses inputs to the battery manufacturing process as inputs to the model, including battery design specifications, commodity and labor prices, capital investment requirements like manufacturing plants and equipment, overhead rates and manufacturing volume to account for economies of scale. It uses these inputs to calculate manufacturing costs, material costs and overhead costs, and those costs are summed to arrive at the final cost.

Cost-cutting opportunities

Using our bottom-up cost model, we can break down the contributions of each part of the battery to the total battery cost and use those insights to analyze the impact of battery innovations on EV cost. Materials make up the largest portion of the total battery cost, around 50%. The cathode accounts for around 43% of the materials cost, and other cell materials account for around 36%.

Improvements in cathode materials are the most important innovations, because the cathode is the largest component of battery cost. This drives strong interest in commodity prices.

The most common cathode materials for electric vehicles are nickel cobalt aluminum oxide used in Tesla vehicles, nickel manganese cobalt oxide used in most other electric vehicles, and lithium iron phosphate used in most electric buses.

Nickel cobalt aluminum oxide has the lowest cost-per-energy-content and highest energy-per-unit-mass, or specific energy, of these three materials. A low cost per unit of energy results from a high specific energy because fewer cells are needed to build a battery pack. This results in a lower cost for other cell materials. Cobalt is the most expensive material within the cathode, so formulations of these materials with less cobalt typically lead to cheaper batteries.

Inactive cell materials such as tabs and containers account for roughly 36% of the total cell materials cost. These other cell materials do not add energy content to the battery. Therefore, reducing inactive materials reduces the weight and size of battery cells without reducing energy content. This drives interest in improving cell design with innovations such as tabless batteries like those being teased by Tesla.

The battery pack cost also decreases significantly with an increase in the number of cells manufacturers produce annually. As more EV battery factories come on-line, economies of scale and further improvement in battery manufacturing and design should lead to further cost declines.

Road to price-parity

Predicting a timeline for price parity with ICE vehicles requires forecasting a future trajectory of battery costs. We estimate that reduction in raw material costs, improvements in performance and learning by manufacturing together are likely to lead to batteries with pack costs below $80/kWh by 2025.

Assuming batteries represent a quarter of the EV cost, a 100 kWh battery pack at $75 per kilowatt hour yields a cost of about $30,000. This should result in EV sticker prices that are lower than the sticker prices for comparable models of gas-powered cars.

About The Authors

Venkat Viswanathan, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University; Alexander Bills, Ph.D. Candidate in Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, and Shashank Sripad, Ph.D. Candidate in Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University

Abhinav Misalkar contributed to this article while he was a graduate student at Carnegie Mellon University.The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Our culture has relegated aging to the closet. It is not something to be discussed, or even done,…
citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
women peering through an opening in a dark wall
Nourishing the Sunrise of Peace with Love and Music
by Christopher Grosso
Yes, love your brother. Yes, live in harmony with nature. But first and foremost, pave the way for…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.