الطريق إلى السيارات الكهربائية بأسعار ملصق أقل من سيارات الغاز - تكلفة البطارية موضحة

الطريق إلى السيارات الكهربائية بأسعار ملصق أقل من سيارات الغاز - تكلفة البطارية موضحةيتطلب استبدال السيارات التي تعمل بانبعاث الكربون بالغازات الكهربائية EVs التخلص من علاوة سعر EVs ، وهذا يرجع إلى شيء واحد: تكلفة البطارية. Westend61 عبر Getty Images

مبيعات السيارات الكهربائية نمت بشكل كبير في السنوات الأخيرة ، مصحوبة بانخفاض الأسعار. ومع ذلك ، لا يزال اعتماد المركبات الكهربائية محدودة من قبلهم ارتفاع سعر الملصق بالنسبة لمركبات الغاز المماثلة ، على الرغم من ذلك التكلفة الإجمالية لملكية المركبات الكهربائية أقل.

من المرجح أن تصل المركبات الكهربائية ومركبات محرك الاحتراق الداخلي إلى سعر تعادل الملصقات في وقت ما في العقد المقبل. يتوقف التوقيت على عامل حاسم واحد: تكلفة البطارية. تمثل حزمة بطارية EV حوالي ربع التكلفة الإجمالية للمركبةمما يجعله العامل الأكثر أهمية في سعر البيع.

انخفضت أسعار البطاريات بسرعة. تقوم حزمة بطارية EV النموذجية بتخزين 10-100 كيلوواط / ساعة من الكهرباء. على سبيل المثال ، ميتسوبيشي i-MIEV لديها سعة بطارية 16 كيلوواط ساعة ومدى 62 ميلا ، ونموذج تيسلا S لديه سعة بطارية 100 كيلوواط ساعة ومدى 400 ميل. في عام 2010 ، كان سعر حزمة بطارية EV أكثر من 1,000 دولار لكل كيلوواط ساعة. التي سقطت 150 دولارًا لكل كيلوواط ساعة في عام 2019. التحدي الذي يواجه صناعة السيارات هو معرفة كيفية خفض التكلفة بشكل أكبر.

جميع هدف وزارة الطاقة بالنسبة للصناعة ، يتم تخفيض سعر حزم البطاريات إلى أقل من 100 دولار / كيلوواط ساعة وفي النهاية إلى حوالي 80 دولارًا / كيلووات ساعة. عند نقاط سعر البطارية هذه ، من المرجح أن يكون سعر الملصق EV أقل من سعر سيارة محرك الاحتراق المماثلة.

يتطلب التنبؤ بموعد تقاطع السعر هذا نماذج تأخذ في الاعتبار متغيرات التكلفة: التصميم والمواد والعمل والقدرة التصنيعية والطلب. توضح هذه النماذج أيضًا أين يركز الباحثون والمصنعون جهودهم لخفض تكاليف البطارية. مجموعتنا قامت جامعة كارنيجي ميلون بتطوير نموذج لتكاليف البطارية يراعي جميع جوانب تصنيع بطاريات EV.

من القاع فصاعدا

يتم تصنيف النماذج المستخدمة لتحليل تكاليف البطارية إما على أنها "من أعلى إلى أسفل" أو "من أسفل إلى أعلى". تتوقع النماذج من أعلى إلى أسفل التكلفة استنادًا بشكل أساسي إلى الطلب والوقت. نموذج شهير من أعلى إلى أسفل يمكنه ذلك توقعات تكلفة البطارية هو قانون رايت ، الذي يتوقع أن تنخفض التكاليف مع إنتاج المزيد من الوحدات. وفورات الحجم والخبرة التي تكتسبها الصناعة بمرور الوقت تخفض التكاليف.

قانون رايت عام. إنها تعمل عبر جميع التقنيات، مما يجعل من الممكن التنبؤ انخفاض تكلفة البطارية على أساس انخفاض تكلفة الألواح الشمسية. ومع ذلك ، فإن قانون رايت - مثل النماذج الأخرى من أعلى إلى أسفل - لا يسمح بتحليل مصادر انخفاض التكاليف. لذلك ، مطلوب نموذج من أسفل إلى أعلى.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تساهم حزمة البطارية ، وهي الكتلة الرمادية الكبيرة التي تملأ الهيكل في هذا الرسم التخطيطي لسيارة كهربائية ، بأكبر قدر من أي عنصر في سعر EVتساهم حزمة البطارية ، وهي الكتلة الرمادية الكبيرة التي تملأ الهيكل في هذا الرسم التخطيطي لسيارة كهربائية ، بأكبر قدر من أي عنصر في سعر EV. سفين لوفلر / iStock عبر Getty Images

لبناء نموذج تكلفة من أسفل إلى أعلى ، من المهم فهم ما يدخل في صنع البطارية. تتكون بطاريات أيونات الليثيوم من قطب موجب ، القطب السالب ، قطب سالب ، أنود وكهرل ، بالإضافة إلى المكونات الإضافية مثل المحطات والغلاف.

كل مكون له تكلفة مرتبطة بمواده ، التصنيع ، التجميع ، النفقات المتعلقة بصيانة المصنع ، والتكاليف العامة. بالنسبة للمركبات الكهربائية ، يجب أيضًا دمج البطاريات في مجموعات صغيرة من الخلايا أو الوحدات ، والتي يتم دمجها بعد ذلك في حزم.

المصدر المفتوح ، نموذج تكلفة البطارية من الأسفل إلى الأعلى يتبع نفس هيكل عملية تصنيع البطارية نفسها. يستخدم النموذج مدخلات لعملية تصنيع البطاريات كمدخلات للنموذج ، بما في ذلك مواصفات تصميم البطاريات وأسعار السلع والعمالة ومتطلبات الاستثمار الرأسمالي مثل مصانع ومعدات التصنيع ومعدلات النفقات العامة وحجم التصنيع لمراعاة وفورات الحجم. تستخدم هذه المدخلات لحساب تكاليف التصنيع وتكاليف المواد والتكاليف العامة ، ويتم جمع هذه التكاليف للوصول إلى التكلفة النهائية.

فرص لخفض التكاليف

باستخدام نموذج التكلفة من أسفل إلى أعلى ، يمكننا تقسيم مساهمات كل جزء من البطارية إلى التكلفة الإجمالية للبطارية واستخدام هذه الأفكار لتحليل تأثير ابتكارات البطارية على تكلفة EV. تشكل المواد الجزء الأكبر من إجمالي تكلفة البطارية ، حوالي 50٪. يمثل الكاثود حوالي 43٪ من تكلفة المواد ، بينما تمثل المواد الخلوية الأخرى حوالي 36٪.

التحسينات في مواد الكاثود هي أهم الابتكارات ، لأن الكاثود هو أكبر مكون لتكلفة البطارية. هذا يدفع بقوة الفائدة في أسعار السلع.

أكثر مواد الكاثود شيوعًا للسيارات الكهربائية هي أكسيد الألومنيوم والنيكل والكوبالت المستخدمة في مركبات تسلا، أكسيد النيكل المنغنيز الكوبالت المستخدمة في معظم السيارات الكهربائية الأخرىوفوسفات الحديد الليثيوم تستخدم في معظم الحافلات الكهربائية.

يحتوي أكسيد الألمنيوم والنيكل والنيكل على أقل تكلفة من حيث التكلفة لكل طاقة وأعلى طاقة لكل وحدة من الكتلة ، أو طاقة محددة ، من هذه المواد الثلاثة. تنتج التكلفة المنخفضة لكل وحدة طاقة عن طاقة محددة عالية لأن هناك حاجة إلى عدد أقل من الخلايا لبناء حزمة بطارية. وينتج عن ذلك تكلفة أقل لمواد الخلايا الأخرى. الكوبالت هو أغلى مادة داخل الكاثود ، لذا فإن تركيبات هذه المواد ذات الكوبالت الأقل تؤدي عادةً إلى بطاريات أرخص.

تمثل مواد الخلايا غير النشطة مثل علامات التبويب والحاويات حوالي 36٪ من إجمالي تكلفة مواد الخلية. لا تضيف مواد الخلايا الأخرى هذه محتوى طاقة للبطارية. لذلك ، يقلل تقليل المواد غير النشطة من وزن وحجم خلايا البطارية دون تقليل محتوى الطاقة. هذا يدفع الاهتمام بتحسين تصميم الخلية مع ابتكارات مثل بطاريات تابلس مثل تلك التي أثارها تسلا.

كما تنخفض تكلفة حزمة البطارية بشكل كبير مع زيادة عدد الخلايا المنتجة من قبل الشركات المصنعة سنويًا. كما المزيد من مصانع البطاريات EV ادخل اونلاين، يجب أن تؤدي وفورات الحجم والمزيد من التحسين في تصنيع البطاريات والتصميم إلى مزيد من الانخفاضات في التكلفة.

الطريق إلى تكافؤ الأسعار

يتطلب توقع جدول زمني لتكافؤ الأسعار مع مركبات ICE توقع المسار المستقبلي لتكاليف البطارية. نحن نقدر أن انخفاض تكاليف المواد الخام ، والتحسينات في الأداء والتعلم عن طريق التصنيع معًا ، من المحتمل أن يؤدي إلى بطاريات ذات تكاليف تغليف أقل من 80 دولارًا / كيلووات ساعة بحلول عام 2025.

بافتراض تمثل البطاريات ربع تكلفة EV، حزمة بطارية 100 كيلووات ساعة بسعر 75 دولارًا للكيلوواط / ساعة تنتج تكلفة حوالي 30,000،XNUMX دولار. يجب أن يؤدي ذلك إلى أسعار الملصقات EV التي تكون أقل من أسعار الملصقات للنماذج المماثلة من السيارات التي تعمل بالغاز.

عن المؤلفين

فينكات فيسواناثان ، أستاذ مشارك في الهندسة الميكانيكية ، جامعة كارنيجي ميلون؛ ألكسندر بيلز ، دكتوراه مرشح في الهندسة الميكانيكية ، جامعة كارنيجي ميلون، وشاشانك صريباد ، دكتوراه. مرشح في الهندسة الميكانيكية ، جامعة كارنيجي ميلون

ساهم أبهيناف ميسالكار في هذا المقال عندما كان طالب دراسات عليا في جامعة كارنيجي ميلون.المحادثة

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

The Road To Electric Vehicles With Lower Sticker Prices Than Gas Cars – Battery Costs Explained

The Road To Electric Vehicles With Lower Sticker Prices Than Gas Cars – Battery Costs ExplainedReplacing carbon-emitting gas-powered cars with EVs requires whittling away EVs’ price premium, and that comes down to one thing: battery cost. Westend61 via Getty Images

Electric vehicle sales have grown exponentially in recent years, accompanied by dropping prices. However, adoption of EVs remains limited by their higher sticker price relative to comparable gas vehicles, even though overall cost of ownership for EVs is lower.

EVs and internal combustion engine vehicles are likely to reach sticker price parity sometime in the next decade. The timing hinges on one crucial factor: battery cost. An EV’s battery pack accounts for about a quarter of total vehicle cost, making it the most important factor in the sales price.

Battery pack prices have been falling fast. A typical EV battery pack stores 10-100 kilowatt hours (kWh) of electricity. For example, the Mitsubishi i-MIEV has a battery capacity of 16 kWh and a range of 62 miles, and the Tesla model S has a battery capacity of 100 kWh and a range of 400 miles. In 2010, the price of an EV battery pack was over $1,000 per kWh. That fell to $150 per kWh in 2019. The challenge for the automotive industry is figuring out how to drive the cost down further.

The Department of Energy goal for the industry is to reduce the price of battery packs to less than $100/kWh and ultimately to about $80/kWh. At these battery price points, the sticker price of an EV is likely to be lower than that of a comparable combustion engine vehicle.

Forecasting when that price crossover will occur requires models that account for the cost variables: design, materials, labor, manufacturing capacity and demand. These models also show where researchers and manufacturers are focusing their efforts to reduce battery costs. Our group at Carnegie Mellon University has developed a model of battery costs that accounts for all aspects of EV battery manufacturing.

From the bottom up

Models used for analyzing battery costs are classified either as “top down” or “bottom up.” Top-down models predict cost based primarily on demand and time. One popular top-down model that can forecast battery cost is Wright’s law, which predicts that costs go down as more units are produced. Economies of scale and the experience an industry acquires over time drive down costs.

Wright’s law is generic. It works across all technologies, which makes it possible to predict battery cost declines based on solar panel cost declines. However, Wright’s law - like other top-down models - doesn’t allow for the analysis of the sources of the cost declines. For that, a bottom-up model is required.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The battery pack, the large gray block filling the chassis in this diagram of an electric car, contributes the most of any component to the price of an EVThe battery pack, the large gray block filling the chassis in this diagram of an electric car, contributes the most of any component to the price of an EV. Sven Loeffler/iStock via Getty Images

To build a bottom-up cost model, it’s important to understand what goes into making a battery. Lithium-ion batteries consist of a positive electrode, the cathode, a negative electrode, the anode and an electrolyte, as well as auxiliary components such as terminals and casing.

Each component has a cost associated with its materials, manufacturing, assembly, expenses related to factory maintenance, and overhead costs. For EVs, batteries also need to be integrated into small groups of cells, or modules, which are then combined into packs.

Our open source, bottom-up battery cost model follows the same structure as the battery manufacturing process itself. The model uses inputs to the battery manufacturing process as inputs to the model, including battery design specifications, commodity and labor prices, capital investment requirements like manufacturing plants and equipment, overhead rates and manufacturing volume to account for economies of scale. It uses these inputs to calculate manufacturing costs, material costs and overhead costs, and those costs are summed to arrive at the final cost.

Cost-cutting opportunities

Using our bottom-up cost model, we can break down the contributions of each part of the battery to the total battery cost and use those insights to analyze the impact of battery innovations on EV cost. Materials make up the largest portion of the total battery cost, around 50%. The cathode accounts for around 43% of the materials cost, and other cell materials account for around 36%.

Improvements in cathode materials are the most important innovations, because the cathode is the largest component of battery cost. This drives strong interest in commodity prices.

The most common cathode materials for electric vehicles are nickel cobalt aluminum oxide used in Tesla vehicles, nickel manganese cobalt oxide used in most other electric vehicles, and lithium iron phosphate used in most electric buses.

Nickel cobalt aluminum oxide has the lowest cost-per-energy-content and highest energy-per-unit-mass, or specific energy, of these three materials. A low cost per unit of energy results from a high specific energy because fewer cells are needed to build a battery pack. This results in a lower cost for other cell materials. Cobalt is the most expensive material within the cathode, so formulations of these materials with less cobalt typically lead to cheaper batteries.

Inactive cell materials such as tabs and containers account for roughly 36% of the total cell materials cost. These other cell materials do not add energy content to the battery. Therefore, reducing inactive materials reduces the weight and size of battery cells without reducing energy content. This drives interest in improving cell design with innovations such as tabless batteries like those being teased by Tesla.

The battery pack cost also decreases significantly with an increase in the number of cells manufacturers produce annually. As more EV battery factories come on-line, economies of scale and further improvement in battery manufacturing and design should lead to further cost declines.

Road to price-parity

Predicting a timeline for price parity with ICE vehicles requires forecasting a future trajectory of battery costs. We estimate that reduction in raw material costs, improvements in performance and learning by manufacturing together are likely to lead to batteries with pack costs below $80/kWh by 2025.

Assuming batteries represent a quarter of the EV cost, a 100 kWh battery pack at $75 per kilowatt hour yields a cost of about $30,000. This should result in EV sticker prices that are lower than the sticker prices for comparable models of gas-powered cars.

About The Authors

Venkat Viswanathan, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University; Alexander Bills, Ph.D. Candidate in Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, and Shashank Sripad, Ph.D. Candidate in Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University

Abhinav Misalkar contributed to this article while he was a graduate student at Carnegie Mellon University.The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Our culture has relegated aging to the closet. It is not something to be discussed, or even done,…
citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
women peering through an opening in a dark wall
Nourishing the Sunrise of Peace with Love and Music
by Christopher Grosso
Yes, love your brother. Yes, live in harmony with nature. But first and foremost, pave the way for…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.