بعض نصائح البستنة من مزارعي الأغذية الأصليين

بعض نصائح البستنة من مزارعي الأغذية الأصليين

تنتج الكوسة العملاقة من التربة الممتازة والكثير من الرعاية في الحديقة بمساحة 2 فدان بمشروع شباب نهر شايان في عام 2017. صورة من مشروع شباب نهر شايان

يعاني العديد من الأمريكيين الآن من إمدادات غذائية غير منتظمة للمرة الأولى. من بين اضطرابات COVID-19 هي رفوف السوبر ماركت والعناصر المتاحة أمس ولكن لا يوجد مكان يمكن العثور عليه اليوم. بينما تبحث عن طرق لاستبدالها ، يمكنك النظر إليها حدائق الأم للأفكار والإلهام.

يقول أوبري سكاي: "العمل في الحديقة يطور علاقتك بالأرض". وهو بستاني Hunkpapa Lakota. لقد فهم أسلافنا ذلك. انظر إلى الصور القديمة. إنه محفور على وجوههم. عندما تفهم ذلك أيضًا ، فإن الشعور بالندرة وانعدام الأمن يتحول إلى شعور بالوفرة والسيطرة - وهو أمر نحتاجه جميعًا هذه الأيام. " لعدة سنوات ، ركض سكاي برنامج البستنة برعاية مركز السيطرة على الأمراض على ستاندينغ روك ، تحفظ يمتد بين شمال وجنوب داكوتا. خلق المئات من المؤامرات المنتجة ، الكبيرة والصغيرة ، لزملائه من أفراد القبائل.

تطورت مشكلات ندرة الغذاء للقبائل بعد توقيع المعاهدات مع الولايات المتحدة في القرنين الثامن عشر والتاسع عشر. بموجب هذه الاتفاقيات ، عادة ما تنقل القبائل الأراضي إلى الحكومة الفيدرالية مقابل التعليم والرعاية الصحية والخدمات الأخرى. تضاءلت الأوطان القبلية المتضائلة التي أسفرت ، إلى جانب الجهود الفيدرالية المستمرة للحد من حيازة أراضي السكان الأصليين ، بشدة الصيد وصيد الأسماك وغيرها من الأنشطة التي كانت القبائل تغذي بها شعوبها منذ الأزل. يضيف سكاي ، لإجبار القبائل على التحفظات ، دمرت الولايات المتحدة عن قصد مصادر الغذاء الحرجة ، مثل قطعان الجاموس الضخمة التي كانت تجوب السهول.

بعض نصائح البستنة من مزارعي الأغذية الأصليينأوبري سكاي ، عضو قبيلة روك صخرة الدائمة ، يحرث الحدائق لنفسه ولأفراد القبائل الآخرين. يفعل بعض باليد ، والبعض الآخر مع هذا الجرار. تصوير ستيفاني وودارد.

مدى الحياة وفيرة تم تدميرها. تلا ذلك المجاعة والموت. المذابح ، مثل Wounded Knee و Sand Creek ، قتلت هنودًا أمريكيين إضافيين ، كما فعلت عمليات الإزالة القسرية من الأوطان ، مع طريق Cherokee Trail of Tears و Navajo Long Walk من بين أشهرها. تستمر الظلم اليوم. يمكن تحديد خطوط أنابيب النفط والغاز والمناجم والمزارع الحيوانية الصناعية وغيرها من المشاريع تهدد الأراضي القبلية بدلاً من شعوب أخرى. الفقر ، والرعاية الصحية المحدودة ، وفي بعض المناطق ، نقص المياه الجارية لغسل اليدين المتكرر المضاد للفيروسات ، يعني أن جائحة COVID-19 قد أصاب بعض القبائل ، ولا سيما نافاجو نيشن ، بشدة.

تزايد القوة

خلقت الكوارث المتواصلة أعباء اقتصادية واجتماعية ، بما في ذلك الجوع ، والتي تقع على عاتق الأطفال بشكل كبير. تقول جولي غاريو مديرة مشروع شباب نهر شايان: "هذه المآسي شديدة على الأطفال". يقع المشروع في محمية Cheyenne River Sioux ، في داكوتا الجنوبية ، جنوب Standing Rock. تقول: "لا تدع الناس يخبرك أبداً بأن الأطفال لا يعرفون ما يجري". "إن الوباء يخلق ضغطا إضافيا هائلا يتجاوز ما كانوا يعانون منه بالفعل."


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يعمل برنامجها لتعويض الفرق. بفضل الحديقة التي تبلغ مساحتها 2.5 فدان ومقهى وصالة ألعاب رياضية ومكتبة ، قدمت المنظمة للأطفال طعامًا جيدًا ومكانًا آمنًا للتعلم والمرح. والآن بعد أن لجأ أطفال القبائل في المنزل ، فإن حديقة مشروع الشباب والوجبات التي تقدمها منظمتها تضمن ، على الأقل ، أن يحصلوا على طعام صحي كل يوم ، كما يقول غاريو ، وهو عضو قبلي.

تقول: "أنا ممتن للغاية". "نحن مؤسسة غير ربحية ، واتصل بنا الممولون - لم نذهب إليهم - وقدموا لنا الدعم للوجبات مع المقبلات الساخنة والعصير ووجبة خفيفة صحية مثل الفاكهة أو المكسرات. بدأنا في القيادة في سيارة النقل الخاصة بنا مع الطعام لـ 35 طفلًا ، ثم 50 ، ثم 75 عامًا. " يعمل مشروع الشباب على نشر الخبر. يقول غاريو: "نأمل أن نصل إلى 250 طفلاً".

بعض نصائح البستنة من مزارعي الأغذية الأصليينيشارك المراهقون في برنامج التدريب على السيادة الغذائية الأصلية لمشروع شباب نهر تشيين في عام 2017. وينظر جولي غاريو ، مدير مشروع الشباب ، إلى المركز الثالث من اليمين. صورة من مشروع شباب نهر شايان.

يركز Dream of Wild Health أيضًا على الشباب لأنه يعيد المجتمع متعدد المدن الحضرية الهندية في مينيابوليس وسانت بول إلى الرفاهية البدنية والعلاقة الروحية مع الأرض. يقول هوب فلاناغان ، مدرس التوعية المجتمعية والثقافة ، وهو سينيكا ، "نحن ننمي القادة والبذور." "التنشئة الحضرية يمكن أن تعني أن شبابنا يفقدون طريقتنا القديمة في المشي على هذه الأرض." وتقول إن Dream of Wild Health يساعد الأطفال على إعادة تعلم هذه المعرفة.

في هذه العملية ، تساعد أنشطة المجموعة المجتمع على استعادة السيادة الغذائية - الوصول بسهولة إلى الغذاء الصحي والميسور التكلفة والملائم ثقافياً - وفقًا للمديرة التنفيذية نيلي سنايدر ، عضو قبيلة سانت كروا شيبيوا. تلبي Dream of Wild Health هذه الحاجة من خلال توزيع المحاصيل التي تنمو في مزرعة قريبة تبلغ مساحتها 30 فدانًا: تشارك في سوق المزارعين ، وتقدم حصصًا منزلية من المنتجات الزراعية إلى مواقع في أحياء السكان الأصليين في كل من مينيابوليس وسانت بول ، وشركاء مع منظمات المجتمع الأخرى ، مثل مركز مينيابوليس الهندي الأمريكي.

"تمثل الحدائق أكثر من ذلك بكثير."

منذ أن بدأت تحديات COVID-19 ، كان الابتكار هو المفتاح. لمواصلة تقديم دروس الطهي التي يقودها الطهاة للشباب ، مع الحفاظ على المسافة الاجتماعية ، تقدم Dream of Wild Health المكونات إلى منازل الأطفال وتدير البرنامج عبر رابط فيديو. أثبتت الأنشطة الافتراضية شعبية. عندما الأدوية الموفرة للبذور والمقدسة ورشة عمل وانتقل عبر الإنترنت ، وزاد الجمهور النموذجي من 40 إلى 50 شخصًا في حدث مباشر إلى حوالي 220 ، كما يقول سنايدر.

تتطلب زراعة محاصيل حقيقية في حديقة حقيقية الخروج على الأرض - مع اختلاف في الوقت الحاضر. ويتوقع سكاي أن يعمل البستانيون في هذا الصيف إما بمفردهم أو في مجموعات يمارسون التباعد الاجتماعي. يكتشف مزارعو Dream of Wild Health كيف يمكن للطلاب المتدربين ، الذين يسمونهم Garden Warriors ، العمل في مزرعة المجموعة والحفاظ على المسافة.

بعض نصائح البستنة من مزارعي الأغذية الأصلييناستريد كليم ، وهو محارب حديقة ، يتفقد الخضر الكرنب في مزرعة Dream of Wild Health. الصورة مجاملة من Dream of Wild Health.

يقول سكاي ، أثناء البستنة ، إن البستانيين القبليين سيطبقون ممارسات تقليدية تنشأ عن الملاحظات الدقيقة للطبيعة والاعتقاد بأن البشر والنباتات والحيوانات والجوانب الأخرى من العالم الطبيعي تشكل مجتمع يعتمد بشكل متبادل. يقول سكاي ، نحن جميعًا مترابطون. "البستنة وتناول الطعام الذي رفعته يمنحك اتصالاً مباشراً بأمنا الأرض."

البستانيون بالضرورة متفائلون. في الوقت الذي يكون فيه عالمنا خطيرًا جدًا ، الحديقة مكان ملجأ. قال جاريو في رسالة بريد إلكتروني: "سوف نخرج من هذه الأزمة". للقيام بذلك ، يجب ألا نتوقف عن التخطيط والزراعة. يمكن أن يساعد أخذ الإشارات من ممارسات البستنة الأصلية حتى البستانيين المبتدئين على النمو في هذه الظروف الصعبة.

اتبع نصيحة البستانيين الأصليين لزراعة مؤامرة خاصة بك ، مهما كانت صغيرة أو تجريبية. في الوقت الذي تواصل فيه أوامر البقاء في المنزل محاولة الحفاظ على صحة السكان ، يلخص Garreau أهمية غرق يديك في التربة: "تمثل الحدائق أكثر من ذلك بكثير" ، تابع Garreau. "الطعام ، نعم ، ولكن الإيمان بمستقبلنا. تمثل الحدائق المرونة والقوة والعافية والثقافة ".

1. ارسم نجاحك

قد يكون البستانيون ذوو الخبرة مرتاحين لزراعة حقول كبيرة من محاصيلهم المفضلة. لدى سكاي قطعة أرض مساحتها 1 فدان تقع على منحدر منزله "ستاندينغ روك". ولكن إذا كان هذا هو ظهورك الأول في البستنة - كما كان الحال بالنسبة لبعض أفراد القبائل التي زودها بحدائق من خلال مشروع مركز السيطرة على الأمراض - تأكد من النجاح من خلال البدء بشكل صغير. جرب بعض الأواني أو الأسرة المرتفعة ، أو ربما قطعة أرض صغيرة في الأرض ، مع نباتات سهلة النمو. قد تكون الخيارات الجيدة هي الطماطم أو الفلفل أو الفاصوليا الخضراء أو الفجل أو القرع الصيفي أو الشتوي أو البصل أو الأوراق الخضراء. "لا تعض أكثر مما يمكنك مضغه!" سكاي سخرية.

2. ازرع صداقات النبات

يعرف العديد من البستانيين الأمريكيين عن الأخوات الثلاث - في الثلاثي الشهير ، تعمل أشجار الذرة بمثابة تعريشات للفاصوليا ، والتي بدورها تعمل على إصلاح النيتروجين (الأسمدة) ، بينما تحافظ أوراق القرع الكبيرة المسطحة على رطوبة التربة وتقلل من الأعشاب الضارة. تسمى هذه التجمعات النباتية أيضا النباتات المصاحبة، هي عبارات عن التعاون والمشاركة ، يقول مدير الموهوك لجمعية المزارعين الأمريكيين الأصليين ، كلايتون براسكوبي. ويقول: "يجب أن تكون حديقتك مثل غابة صحية بها أشجار بأحجام مختلفة". "انظر إلى الطبيعة ، واكتشف تركيبات تحاكيها."

في حدائقه في Tesuque Pueblo ، شمال سانتا في ، يمكنك رؤية البازلاء تلتف حول نباتات الذرة والريحان ترتفع فوق الأوراق العريضة المسطحة للبطيخ. "تجربة!" هو يقول. "النباتات يمكن أن تفاجئك. اكتشفنا ذات مرة أن garbanzos والذرة يستمتعان حقًا ببعضهما البعض. "

3. إفساح المجال للجمال الجاد

زين حديقتك بالزهور الملونة، خصوصا تلك الأصلية لمنطقتك. يقول سكاي ، "إنها تجذب النحل والفراشات والطيور الطنانة والملقحات الأخرى" ، مضيفًا أن الملقحات جزء لا يتجزأ من دورة حياة النبات. لولا الحصاد لما حدث الحصاد ، وسننظر في النقص الحاد في الغذاء ، وليس فقط الفجوات العرضية. بإعطاء الملقحات أزهارًا تحبها ، فإننا ندعمها ، تمامًا كما تدعمنا ".

4. حافظ على المحاصيل مريحة

حصلت على نبات يكافح؟ اعطها صخرة! تشرح براسكوبي أنه في حدائق جنوب غرب السكان الأصليين ، يتم وضع الصخور عادةً بجوار الشتلات أو النباتات التي تحتاج إلى المساعدة. إنها تعمل كمصارف حرارية ، تعمل على تهدئة اختلافات درجات الحرارة ليلا ونهارًا حيث تمتص حرارة الشمس وتطلقها في برودة المساء. ويقول إن هذه الممارسة ربما كانت أكثر انتشارًا ، حيث ظهرت في أقصى الشمال حتى حدائق الايروكوا في شمال شرق الولايات المتحدة. يقول إنه منطقي. في منطقة باردة ، تحمي الصخور الشتلات من الصقيع غير المتوقع في وقت مبكر من الموسم.

5. مواد المصدر محليا ومجانا

للري بالتنقيط بدون تكلفة ، تستخدم Brascoupé إبرة رفيعة لثقب فتحة في عنق زجاجات الصودا النظيفة أو أباريق الحليب. ثم يملأ الحاويات بالماء ويستبدل أغطيةها ويدفع رقابها المثقوبة في التربة.

حافظ على رطوبة التربة وقلل الأعشاب الضارة من خلال إحاطة النباتات بمواد التغطية التي كان يمكن التخلص منها لولا ذلك. يقول براسكوبي إن الناس يقضون الوقت والمال في التخلص من الورق المقوى وورق المكتب الممزق ومقاطع العشب والأوراق. "أخبر الجيران ،" يمكنني نزع هذا عن يديك. " بناء العلاقات البشرية ".

6. احتضان الهندباء

لا تطرد الهندباء. نرحب بهذه الأعشاب المفترضة! تعلمت من أوراقهم الأصلية أن أوراقهم لذيذة ومغذية ، وجذورهم تكسر التربة الصلبة ، اعتاد بلدي الفناء الخلفي لمدينة نيويورك أن يكون مضغوطًا جدًا ، ولم ينموا كثيرًا هناك. حاولت تشتيت بذور الهندباء حول الفناء. لقد نمت وازدهرت ، وسرعان ما انتقلت ديدان الأرض. أصبحت التربة ناعمة وقابلة للتفتيت وصديقة للنبات. وفقًا لسكاي ، فإن ديدان الأرض تعمل على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع. "أكثر ما يمكن أن تسأل عنه؟" هو يقول.

7. تضمين الأعشاب الشافية

يوجد في سكاي حديقة صغيرة لعجلة الطب بجوار منزله ، حيث يسعده بزراعة نبات القنفذية والبابونج والريحان والأدوية الأخرى من البذور التي يحفظها من عام إلى آخر. مثل هذه المؤامرات الدائرية هي الأماكن التقليدية لزراعة الأعشاب ، وبالتالي تجربة النكهات اللذيذة و الشفاء الطبيعي الذي يروجون له.

8. احفظ البذور

في نهاية الموسم ، حفظ البذور من النباتات التي ازدهرت - والتي استمتعت بها - في حديقتك. يمكنك المساعدة في ضمان إمدادك الغذائي المستقبلي ، وإذا قمت بتضمين أنواع غير عادية أو تراثية ، فقم بدورك في الحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي.

يقول سكاي إن إنقاذ البذور يحافظ على التاريخ أيضًا. دعا كبسولات الوقت البذور. "نحن السكان الأصليون ننقذهم دائمًا. وبينما نزرع ، ونحفظ ، ونعيد الزراعة ، تمر البذور بكل ما نمر به ، والأوقات الجيدة والسيئة. " تشمل مجموعة بذور Dream of Wild Health ، على سبيل المثال ، هدية من عائلة Cherokee من الذرة التي نجت من درب القبيلة القاتل ، وهي مسيرة قسرية شردت أسلافهم من أوطانهم الأصلية.

اليوم ، الخطر يواجهنا جميعًا على هذه الأرض. يقول سكاي: "كنا نواجه بالفعل تغير المناخ ، والآن هناك جائحة". ويقول إن البذور ستكون موجودة دائمًا ، لتوفير الغذاء والارتباط الروحي بالأرض. "إنهم كيف سنعيش".

يردد غاريو هذا الشعور: "عندما نخرج من هذا الوباء الرهيب ، نكون قد تعلمنا كيف نكون أقوى. سنكون لا يقهر ".

نبذة عن الكاتب

ستيفاني وودارد صحفي حائز على جوائز يكتب عن حقوق الإنسان والثقافة مع التركيز على قضايا الأمريكيين الأصليين. هي مؤلفة كتاب الفصل العنصري الأمريكي: الكفاح الأمريكي الأصلي من أجل تقرير المصير والاندماج.

ظهر هذا المقال في الأصل على YES! مجلة

جي

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Cybersex والتكنولوجيا المثيرة والحميمية الافتراضية في ازدياد
Cybersex والتكنولوجيا المثيرة والحميمية الافتراضية في ازدياد
by سيمون دوبي وديف أنكتيل وماريا سانتاجويدا

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

Some Gardening Advice from Indigenous Food Growers

Some Gardening Advice from Indigenous Food Growers

Giant zucchini result from excellent soil and lots of care in the Cheyenne River Youth Project’s 2-acre garden in 2017. Photo from the Cheyenne River Youth Project

Many Americans are now experiencing an erratic food supply for the first time. Among COVID-19’s disruptions are bare supermarket shelves and items available yesterday but nowhere to be found today. As you seek ways to replace them, you can look to Native gardens for ideas and inspiration.

“Working in a garden develops your relationship to the land,” says Aubrey Skye, a Hunkpapa Lakota gardener. “Our ancestors understood that. Look at the old pictures. It’s etched on their faces. When you understand it as well, a sense of scarcity and insecurity transforms into a feeling of abundance and control—something we all need these days.” For several years, Skye ran a CDC-sponsored gardening program on Standing Rock, a reservation that straddles North and South Dakota. He created hundreds of productive plots, large and small, for fellow tribal members.

Tribes’ food-scarcity problems developed after signing treaties with the United States in the 18th and 19th centuries. Under these agreements, tribes typically transferred land to the federal government in return for education, health care, and other services. The diminished tribal homelands that resulted, along with continual federal efforts to decrease Native land holdings, severely restricted the hunting, fishing, and other activities with which tribes had fed their people since time immemorial. To force tribes onto reservations, Skye adds, the United States purposely destroyed critical food sources, such as the huge buffalo herds that once roamed the Plains.

Some Gardening Advice from Indigenous Food GrowersAubrey Skye, Standing Rock Sioux tribal member, tills gardens for himself and other tribal members. He does some by hand, and others with this tractor. Photo by Stephanie Woodard.

Abundant lifeways were decimated. Starvation and death ensued. Massacres, such as Wounded Knee and Sand Creek, killed additional American Indians, as did forced removals from homelands, with the Cherokee Trail of Tears and the Navajo Long Walk among the best-known. The injustices continue today. Oil and gas pipelines, mines, industrial animal farms, and other projects may be sited to imperil tribal lands rather than those of other peoples. Poverty, limited health care, and, in some areas, lack of running water for frequent anti-virus hand-washing, means the COVID-19 pandemic has hit certain tribes, notably the Navajo Nation, hard.

Growing Strength

Incessant disasters have created economic and social burdens, including hunger, that fall heavily on children. “These tragedies are so hard on kids,” says the Cheyenne River Youth Project’s director Julie Garreau. The project is on the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation, in South Dakota, just south of Standing Rock. “Don’t ever let people tell you children don’t know what’s going on,” she says. “The pandemic is creating enormous additional stress, beyond what they were already struggling with.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Her program works to make up the difference. With its 2.5-acre garden, café, gym, and library, the organization has long provided children with good food and a safe place to learn and have fun. Now that tribal children are sheltering at home, the youth project’s garden and the sack meals her organization delivers ensure that, at the very least, they have healthy food each day, says Garreau, who is a tribal member.

“I’m so grateful,” she says. “We’re a nonprofit, and our funders contacted us—we didn’t go to them—and gave us support for meals with a hot entrée, juice, and a healthy snack like fruit or nuts. We started driving around in our pickup with food for 35 kids, then 50, then 75.” The youth project is working to get the word out. “We hope to reach 250 kids,” Garreau says.

Some Gardening Advice from Indigenous Food GrowersTeens take part in the Cheyenne River Youth Project’s Native Food Sovereignty Internships in 2017. Julie Garreau, the youth project’s director, is seen third from the right. Photo from the Cheyenne River Youth Project.

Dream of Wild Health also focuses on youth as it restores the multitribal urban-Indian community of Minneapolis and St. Paul to physical well-being and a spiritual relationship to the Earth. “We grow leaders and seeds,” says Community Outreach and Culture Teacher Hope Flanagan, who is Seneca. “An urban upbringing can mean our youth lose track of our old way of walking on this Earth.” Dream of Wild Health helps the children relearn this knowledge, she says.

In the process, the group’s activities help the community reclaim food sovereignty—ready access to healthy, affordable, culturally appropriate food—according to Executive Director Neely Snyder, a St. Croix Chippewa tribal member. Dream of Wild Health meets this need by distributing crops that it grows on its nearby 30-acre farm: It participates in a farmers market, delivers household shares of farm produce to locations in Native neighborhoods of both Minneapolis and St. Paul, and partners with other community organizations, such as the Minneapolis American Indian Center.

“Gardens represent so much more.”

Since the COVID-19 challenges began, innovation has been key. To continue to offer chef-led cooking lessons for youth, yet maintain social distance, Dream of Wild Health delivers ingredients to the children’s homes and runs the program via a video link. Virtual activities have proven popular. When a seed-saving and sacred medicines workshop moved online, the typical 40- to 50-person audience for a live event burgeoned to some 220, Snyder says.

To grow real crops in a real garden requires getting out on the land—with a difference nowadays. This summer, Skye anticipates, reservation gardeners will either work alone or in groups practicing social distancing. Dream of Wild Health farmers are figuring out how student interns, whom they call Garden Warriors, can work on the group’s farm and maintain distance.

Some Gardening Advice from Indigenous Food GrowersAstrid Clem, a Garden Warrior, inspects collard greens at the Dream of Wild Health farm. Photo courtesy Dream of Wild Health.

While gardening, Skye says, tribal gardeners will put into action traditional practices that arise from close observations of nature and the belief that humans, plants, animals, and other aspects of the natural world form a mutually reliant community. We are all related, Skye says. “Gardening and eating food you’ve raised give you a direct connection to Mother Earth.”

Gardeners are necessarily optimists. At a time when our world is so dangerous, the garden is a place of refuge. “We will come out of this crisis,” Garreau said in an email. “To do so, we must not stop planning and planting.” Taking cues from Native gardening practices can help even novice gardeners get growing in these difficult circumstances.

Follow Indigenous gardeners’ advice to grow your own plot, however small or experimental. At a time when stay-at-home orders continue to try and keep populations healthy, Garreau sums up the importance of sinking your hands into the soil: “Gardens represent so much more,” Garreau continued. “Food, yes, but a belief in our future. Gardens represent resiliency, strength, wellness, culture.”

1. Plot Your Success

Experienced gardeners may be comfortable planting big fields of their favorite crops. Skye has a nearly 1-acre plot just downhill of his Standing Rock home. But if this is your gardening debut—as it was for some tribal members he provided with gardens through the CDC project—ensure success by starting small. Try a few pots or raised beds, or perhaps a small in-ground plot, with easy-to-grow plants, he says. Good options might be tomatoes, peppers, green beans, radishes, summer and winter squash, onions, or leafy greens. “Don’t bite off more than you can chew!” Skye quips. 

2. Cultivate Plant Friendships

Many American gardeners know about the Three Sisters—in the celebrated trio, cornstalks serve as trellises for beans, which in turn fix nitrogen (fertilizer), while big, flat squash leaves conserve soil moisture and keep down weeds. Such plant groupings, also called companion plants, are expressions of cooperation and sharing, says the Mohawk director of the Traditional Native American Farmers Association, Clayton Brascoupé. “Your garden should be like a healthy forest, which has trees of various sizes,” he says. “Look at nature, and figure out combinations that mimic it.”

In his gardens at Tesuque Pueblo, north of Santa Fe, you can see peas twining up corn plants and basil rising above the broad, flat leaves of watermelon. “Experiment!” he says. “Plants can surprise you. One year, we discovered that garbanzos and corn really enjoy each other.”

3. Make Room for Hard-working Beauties

Embellish your garden with colorful flowers, particularly those native to your area. “They attract bees, butterflies, hummingbirds, and other pollinators,” says Skye, adding that pollinators are an integral part of a plant’s life cycle. “Without them, the harvest wouldn’t happen, and we would be looking at extreme food shortages, not just occasional gaps. By giving pollinators flowers they like, we support them, just as they support us.”

4. Keep Crops Cozy

Got a plant that’s struggling? Give it a rock! Brascoupé explains that in Southwest Native gardens, rocks are commonly set next to seedlings or plants that need help. They act as heat sinks, smoothing out day-night temperature variations as they soak up the sun’s heat and release it in evening’s chill. The practice may have been more widespread, he says, appearing as far north as Iroquois gardens in the U.S. Northeast. It makes sense, he says; in a cold region, rocks protect seedlings from unexpected early-season frost.

5. Source Materials Locally and For Free

For no-cost drip irrigation, Brascoupé uses a fine needle to poke a hole in the neck of clean soda-pop bottles or milk jugs. He then fills the containers with water, replaces their caps, and pushes their pierced necks into the soil.

Conserve soil moisture and keep weeds down by surrounding the plants with mulching materials that would otherwise have been discarded. People spend time and money getting rid of cardboard, shredded office paper, lawn clippings, and leaves, Brascoupé says. “Tell neighbors, ‘I can take that off your hands.’ Build human relationships.”

6. Embrace Dandelions

Don’t banish dandelions. Welcome these supposed weeds! Their leaves are delicious and nutritious, and their taproots break up hardened soil, I learned from Native gardeners. My New York City backyard used to be so compacted, little grew there. I tried scattering dandelion seeds around the yard. They grew and blossomed, and soon earthworms moved in. The soil became soft, friable, and plant-friendly. Earthworms are at it 24-7, working on your behalf, according to Skye. “What more could you ask for?” he says.

7. Include Healing Herbs

Skye has a small medicine-wheel garden by his home, where he delights in growing echinacea, chamomile, comfrey, and other medicinals from seed he saves from one year to the next. Such circular plots are traditionally places to grow herbs, thereby experience their delectable flavors and the natural healing they promote.

8. Save your Seeds

At the end of the season, save the seeds of plants that thrived—and that you enjoyed—in your garden. You can help ensure your future food supply and, if you include unusual or heritage varieties, do your part to sustain biodiversity.

Seed-saving preserves history as well, Skye says. He called seeds time capsules. “We Native people have always saved them. As we plant, and save, and replant, the seeds go through all we are going through, the good times and the bad.” The Dream of Wild Health seed collection, for example, includes a Cherokee family’s gift of corn that survived the tribe’s deadly Trail of Tears, a forced march that displaced their ancestors from their original homelands.

Today, danger confronts all of us on this Earth. “We were already facing climate change, and now there is the pandemic,” Skye says. The seeds will always be there, to provide both food and a spiritual connection to the Earth, he says. “They are how we will survive.”

Garreau echoes this sentiment: “When we come out of this terrible pandemic, we will have learned to be stronger. We will be invincible.”

About The Author

Stephanie Woodard is an award-winning journalist who writes on human rights and culture with a focus on Native American issues. She is the author of American Apartheid: The Native American Struggle for Self-Determination and Inclusion.

This article originally appeared on YES! Magazine

ing

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to carve our own path and to heal our lives, spiritually…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…